Having problems with TaxAct?

File a complaint and get it resolved. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!
Proudly resolving consumer concerns since 2004

TaxAct Customer Service Contacts

+1 319 373 3600 (Customer Service)
+1 319 731 2682 (Professional Customer Service)
+1 319 731 2680 (Professional Tax Help)
1425 60th St NE
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
United States - 52402-1284
Mon8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tue8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wed8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thu8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Fri8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
SatClosed
SunClosed

ComplaintsBoard.com is not affiliated, associated, authorized, endorsed by, or in any way officially connected with TaxAct Customer Service. Initial TaxAct complaints should be directed to their team directly. You can find contact details for TaxAct above.

ComplaintsBoard.com is an independent complaint resolution platform that has been successfully voicing consumer concerns since 2004. We are doing work that matters - connecting customers with businesses around the world and help them resolve issues and be heard.

Use this comments board to leave complaints and reviews about TaxAct. Discuss the issues you have had with TaxAct and work with their customer service team to find a resolution.

Complaints & Reviews

TaxActFree Tax Act online

I usually use TurboTax, but last year, I thought I'd try this. DON'T! It's a complete rip-off! Halfway through a simple tax return I've been doing myself with TurboTax since 2004, I got hit up for a large fee 'because the return was more complicated'... Baloney! How can a return with 1099's and dividend income be 'more complicated'? I'm a retired, disabled widow. With the higher personal deduction, I didn't even itemize!
I got out of there as fast as I could. This was for 2018.
I'm appalled that IRS recommends this service. It's a total scam. Find Turbo Tax with State return (if applicable) for $50 online. It's well worth it.

Add your opinion

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Nov 12, 2019

    TaxAct — poor customer service & support

    I've used TaxAct for years. I'm a professional preparer and left TaxAct, for another software...

    TaxActunethical behavior

    My most recent TaxAct experience [protected]) has been terrible and I hope thousands of people find this helpful and choose to do their online taxes elsewhere. TaxAct has put me into a continuous loop for payment. I had already gone through the Basic version and only needed to e-file and print the payment voucher, however, TaxAct would not allow me to proceed unless I paid for the Deluxe version upgrade. That, by the way, is extortion. Out of sheer desperation, I paid for the Deluxe version, which was $32 just to be able to e-file and print the payment voucher. However, TaxAct will still not allow me to e-file nor will it allow me to print the payment voucher. TaxAct wants me to pay for the Deluxe version again. At this point, I am going to have to print the View Only summary and get a blank 1040, fill in the information, send in all applicable forms with it and the payment. In conclusion, TaxAct is horrible and I will never use it again! -ronaldmccraw

    Add your opinion

      By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

      Mar 08, 2019

      TaxAct — Gift card scam

      I opted for part of my refund to be given on an Amazon gift card. I checked with Republic Bank who told me...

      TaxActsoftware downloads

      Your offices are closed but, you website says you should be open
      January (mid-month) — April (through IRS deadline)

      Monday - Friday 8am - 8pm
      Saturday 9am - 5pm
      Sunday 10am - 5pm
      My complaint is that I cannot down load the State of Kansas tax forms. I called a week or so and they said they should be ready, but still says coming soon. I have been using your software for many years then now this. Help with this or I need to get refund I have several people that I cannot do because of this.
      James Erwin
      Harrisonville MO

      Add your opinion

        By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

        We are here to help

        • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
        • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
        • Honest and unbiased reviews
        • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free

        TaxActonline tax preparation

        I was attempting to file my daughters taxes with taxact Wendy L Oliver [protected] and was charged 34.95 instead of 9.95. The I tried repeatedly to e file and never successfully transmitted her taxes. I finally filed with another provider but was still charged $34.95. I have spent all day trying to contact taxact to rectify this situation but to no avail.

        Add your opinion

          By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

          TaxActbasic vs. plus online edition

          4/15/2018

          My return is a 1040A but I am being charged for 1040 at the plus rate, and will have to pay too much for the state return. Why can't I change back to the Basic rate with reasonable rates for federal and state?

          Also, there was no easy way to email TaxAct if not using gmail or yahoo. The email account for the company was not displayed, it was only a link type.

          Add your opinion

            By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

            TaxActonline filing

            The IRS never received my 2016 return. According to TaxAct, I didn't finish clicking various buttons to e-file. I know I went all the way through the process. I have a copy of the return. I paid what I owed through a 3rd party online. TaxAct took my money as well. Now they say it's my fault! I'm out $27 and may be facing penalties for late filing! All they can say is I have to mail it in!

            Add your opinion

              By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

              TaxActfederal income tax software

              Here is my experience with Tax act bait and switch. You can get a refund of upgrade cost also!
              Original Message
              From: "greengroth"
              Date Received:4/17/2016 8:32:04 PM
              To: ""
              Subject:Trash Act
              I buy the basic edition and find after completing my return I must buy the premium edition. That is UNETHICAL. BAIT and SWITCH!!. Then all the NAGS for upgrades and state programs. Very annoying when concentrating on my taxes.
              I will let everyone know Tax Act is now a rip off and stay with better options.
              ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
              On 4/18/2016 1:12 PM, [protected]@taxact.com wrote:
              This year, TaxAct introduced a new product line designed to provide customers with a more personalized experience based on each person's unique tax situation. Our new products include different tax forms, schedules and worksheets specific to those tax situations. Although you started a TaxAct Basic return, your tax situation requires at least one IRS tax form, schedule or worksheet that is not included in Basic but is included in Premium. The form(s) that your tax situation requires was listed on the screen where you were given the option to upgrade to TaxAct Premium or proceed with the product you had.

              We encourage you to compare TaxAct to other major brands. We are confident you will find that TaxAct is the best deal in tax at a fraction of the cost of other major brands.

              If you have specific questions about your fees or our products, please feel free to reply to this email.

              Sincerely,
              Jessi D.
              TaxAct Customer Service
              -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


              [protected]@toast.net is my tax act username
              On 4/18/2016 2:58 PM, [protected]@taxact.com wrote:
              We do not want customers to have the impression that we utilize "bait and switch" tactics. I am happy to research your situation to see why you were required to upgrade. Please reply to this email with your TaxAct Account username, as your email address of xxx is not in our system.


              Sincerely,
              Jessi D.
              TaxAct Customer Service
              -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
              ________________________________________
              From: "greengroth" Date Received:4/18/2016 4:48:28 PM
              To: ""
              Subject:Re: Trash Act[6253353:6322551]
              I may have been given the option after i purchased basic. Too late, for I didn't have an opportunity to shop for other tax programs after I spent money on basic.

              I in fact was a victim of your 'bait and switch'. I had to upgrade at the last minute to be able to file. I've always used Tax Act Basic and it did the job.

              I expect the charge of $20.00 to be removed from my credit card ASAP.

              Thomas W.Schroeder


              Your TaxAct order number [protected] has been refunded in the amount of $20.00. Please allow up to 15 business days for the credit to post to your account.

              If you have questions concerning the billing of your account, or believe you have received this email in error, please contact Customer Service via e-mail at [protected]@TaxActService.com.

              Customer Service
              TaxAct
              [protected]@TaxActService.com

              Below is my purchase receipt for basic.

              Order Summary
              Product Format Qty. Unit Price Total
              TaxAct 2015 Basic Edition Download 1 $19.99 $19.99
              No State Income Tax Download 1 $0.00 $0.00
              Sub-total $19.99
              Tax $0.00
              Grand Total $19.99

              This is for the required upgrade to file my taxes
              Billing address:
              THOMAS SCHROEDER
              Order Summary
              Product Format Qty. Unit Price Total
              TaxAct 2015 Basic to Premium Upgrade Download 1 $20.00 $20.00
              Sub-total $20.00
              Tax $0.00
              Grand Total $20.00

              Billing address:
              THOMAS SCHROEDER

              Add your opinion

                By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                TaxActtax filing software

                I started using Tax Act free but couldn't continue because it didn't support Schedule C. There is no option to delete an incomplete return or account. Online help suggests that this used to be an option but no longer. Company representative in response to a customer complaint advises to go in and enter invalid information to avoid identity theft risk. This is a poor solution. Given the risks for any online service to be hacked, not allowing a customer to delete their incomplete return or their account is a very bad design. I will not use Tax Act again.

                Add your opinion

                  By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                  Taxact.com — they took fee for the late payment. scam.

                  I used the website www.taxact.com in order to prepare all the documents. The company asked me to fill too...

                  Taxactonline.com — rude and unprofessional company

                  I decided to return my tax, so I went to the website www.taxactonline.com. I filled the form and made the...

                  Taxact/banckcorp — my money

                  I recieved my taxact card used it at Walmart went to get somemoney the next day and I called the bank and...

                  TaxActscreweing me over

                  I e-filed for my first time this year, and I decided to use TaxACT online because a family member of mine had recommended it. The whole process was unusually simple and I received my confirmation emails that the IRS had received my return that day. Great!

                  Last week, a whole 4 MONTHS after the deadline, the IRS sent me a letter stating that I had never sent in my forms. I calmly called the TaxACT tech support line, where they told me if I wanted to know what went wrong with my filing I would have to pay to upgrade my membership. PAY AGAIN TO SEE WHAT THEY DID WRONG?!?!?!?! It is ridiculous and a scam, and I would hope that nobody would use their program ever again. I hope nobody else is put into my poor position now, thanks TaxACT for SCREWING ME OVER!

                  Add your opinion

                    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                    • Su
                      Suzyblue Jun 01, 2011
                      This comment was posted by
                      a verified customer
                      Verified customer

                      Just got screwed myself! Got all the paperwork done, hit send, everything seemed okay. They showed me a copy of my taxes and said to print it out & put it in a safe place. Now here I am in June being told that it was never transmitted and I am liable for all penalties. No recourse.

                      0 Votes

                    Taxactonline.comI would never use them again

                    After paying for the return and looking at it, I knew something was wrong, I did it myself and had to pay $285.00 less then what taxact said I had to pay, and there is no way to contact them to try and get my money back, I would never use them again.

                    Add your opinion

                      By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                      TaxAct — cannot delete account/bad experience

                      Other than TaxAct having minimal and useless customer service, an all around horrible product that you can...

                      IN THE NEWS

                      Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
                      If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
                      One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
                      A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
                      ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
                      You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
                      Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.