Menu
Register
Write a review File a complaint
CB Retail Stores Goodwill Industries Greatly disappointed in the goodwill store
Goodwill Industries

Goodwill Industries review: Greatly disappointed in the goodwill store 24

B
Author of the review
12:00 am EDT
Review updated:
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

The concerning the Goodwill industry Winston Salem NC. I found a pair of sandal shoes on the rack that stated they would be $3.50. After trying them on and seeing if they were going to be comfortable and upon arriving at the check-out was advised that the shoes would be $25.00. A far cry from the rack price.

The check-out person said it was marked on the bottom of the shoe that it was priced $25.00. It was in very light magic marker. I failed to see it and I had examined them very carefully. I am greatly disappointed in the Goodwill store in Winston Salem N C. If one is not careful they will run all the business off with higher prices on ALL merchandise.

PS - the dollar General and the Dollar store as well as some other places of business are getting cheaper than the Goodwill.

More Goodwill Industries reviews & complaints

Goodwill Industries - Rude managers 44
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Goodwill Industries - Scam and theft 24
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Goodwill Industries - Unethical behavior/employee attitude 9
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Goodwill Industries - Price changing and thieft 2
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Goodwill Industries - badwill 4
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
24 comments
Add a comment
G
G
Glenn Merrill
, US
May 12, 2024 9:25 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Bought table payed for it, Went back to pick it up a week later table had been moved and damaged, Wanted my money back I was advised no refund will be given.i

Bought table at Goodwill Store Lompoc CA.

Payed approx. $50.00 for table that was purchased and paid for in full on April 30 2024.

R
R
Rene Rodriguez
, US
Oct 11, 2023 9:07 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Received two goodcents returned merchandise cards for $20 each and when I tried to use them they told me they have already expired. I donate twice a year to Goodwill and now they are even taking away the gift cards they give to me for returned merchandise.

Card #[protected]

Card #[protected]

W
W
WilliamT Farley
, US
Sep 12, 2023 2:43 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Melony Jones doing dope at work y'all need the drug tester

R
R
Richel Bean
Aurora, US
Aug 23, 2023 8:34 pm EDT

I asked a supervisor to put a box of accessories on the floor I would sort it, He dumps it on top of my boxes anyway! This has happemore than once!

J
J
JCheatham
Indianapolis, US
Aug 20, 2023 11:47 am EDT

The "service and handling fee" is price gauging and many consumers are going to get together and file a class action lawsuit. Goodwill has become "greedwill" and these handling fees prove it on the shopgoodwill.com auction site.

Yet people go into brick-and-mortar GW stores and steal everything without restraint.

P
P
Patti75835
Killeen, US
Jul 25, 2023 11:12 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

While in Florida my daughter & I visited Goodwill in Fort Myers. I purchased a box of cards for 99¢ & tax & started giving the clerk the exact change, 4 quarters & 3 or 4 pennies. Seeing tarnished quarters & said, I cant take those. When asked why, she stated the manager told her not to. Now if you remember, Florida was hit by Hurricane Ian.

S
S
susan jaber
MILWAUKEE, US
Jul 15, 2023 2:26 pm EDT

Employee at the register of suggested very rudely that the thing on the item wife Sanford way we excepted to change a phrase that she suggested she continues to be rude. We found $150 and compensation compensation for the embarrassment and the hour and a half we had to wait for her to come out and apologize

A
A
Angel Rosado
, US
Jul 06, 2023 2:26 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I no longer work for goodwill industries I was trying to take out money from a 403 wanna be for a 401 k Try to transfer it to my bank account only for goodwill to take it. Money that was taken for my checks. To be put into that Retirement found Goodwill industry is no good No ethics no morals

R
R
Rita Chaney
NEW VIENNA, US
May 08, 2023 2:38 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

It has been months since I filled this complaint with no action taken at all. I am so sick of people ignoring their duties.

A
A
anscmoeify
, US
May 01, 2023 12:06 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

your driver at 11:55 AM on Monday April 24 pass through recklessly our service station at

7029 Columbia pike Annandale VA 22003 to get to tobaccoMAX almost hit our

front canopy

he was very nasty and professional to us

truck tag# PKU 2614 OHIO

thank you

moe

R
R
Rita Chaney
NEW VIENNA, US
Apr 26, 2023 1:08 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

no

V
V
Vertie
Myrtle Beach, US
Mar 18, 2023 7:00 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Very unprofessional management team..Store#250 a lot of unfairness to the employees. Needs to be investigated .They never ever give any compliments to their employees..Don't pay a lot of attention to the needs either.

A
A
Alex Richards
, US
Mar 14, 2023 1:38 pm EDT

At 625pm we were told the fitting rooms were closed for the day. No refunds. Had 9 items that we couldn’t buy because we were denied fitting room.

N
N
nick1100lee
, US
Jan 28, 2023 3:25 pm EST

1/20/23

I was giving information about an employee that was harassed by a manager. This employee was called "useless." and she quit immediately that day. I was not informed on the managers name that said such thing to a employee.

M
M
MissPissonthat
, US
Oct 26, 2022 6:32 pm EDT

I was at my local GW store after not having been in about a year and my MY the store was not only horrifically over priced but horridly overpriced for donated junk! Way down hill. Terrible. 8 flipping dollars for someones worn sweater is just CRIMINAL

D
D
Doubled588
Princeton, US
Oct 02, 2022 5:28 am EDT

I asked a cashier who was looking at a book at the counter if it was sold and she said yes the other cashier said ? Why are you biting it? She said yes

C
C
clouds24usa
Peoria, US
Sep 06, 2022 1:54 am EDT

I believe clothes accidentally given away trying retrieve from goodwill. Cloudy light blue aqua marine tye dye capri, and dark grey leggings along with grey ankle socks.

H
H
howe1125
, US
Oct 07, 2019 9:20 am EDT

I went to Goodwill on Beechmont today. The sale sign said 50% off everything NO EXCLUSIONS! I went to by a glass pumpkin for $8 and was told it was not on sale. This is false advertising. I think the manager Tammy makes her own rules. Disappointed in Goodwill!

D
D
Dee7669
, US
Jan 22, 2019 8:19 pm EST

The bathrooms are discusting. I took photos. Every time I use the bathroom at goodwill it's nasty. There's never paper towels or soap. The toilet paper is practically nonexistent. It stinks & it looks like it never gets cleaned. It's a health hazard. They obviously don't take pride in their store.

View 0 more photos
B
B
Bad26253
, US
Sep 01, 2018 10:09 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Messaging my Girlfriend she has a nice [censored] is uncalled for

View 0 more photos
R
R
rosesmamaw
Clemmons, US
Jun 28, 2011 2:08 pm EDT

Goodwill may not let their employees steal but Goodwill is taking anything worth a crap and auctioning it either online at their own site, in their store, on ebay, or on amazon. They have auctions everywhere~just check online~these people are making a killing~long gone are the days where you can go in a goodwill store and get deals on things the way you used to could. It is a travesty for all the disadvantaged people that shop there. They have become the auction kings. Just look for them at their own website or look them up on ebay or amazon. And the items that do stay in the stores are priced by all kinds of employees~one day an item will be $2, the next identical one that comes in might be $10~this "charity" needs to be regulated somehow. I think they are not focusing on what they were born to do but focusing on making mega bucks. Yes, they might help train people and get them jobs but if you ask me they are getting a little too big for their britches. They also cherry pick items and hide them in the back for their favorite customers and give them unreal discounts when they buy in bulk~I have witnessed this personally on several occasions and even reported it a few times~the way goodwill operates now is shameful. I would rather give my donations to another charity that actually is trying to help people on both ends rather than see them take items out of their stores and try to make a fortune on them.

E
E
educateyourselfNOW
Lansing, US
Jan 24, 2010 2:29 pm EST

Educate yourselves. Goodwill's Mission is not to help the needy. It is to provide employment opportunities to people with barriers. The do this by selling donated and new goods to the public at a discounted price. And just for your information also, Goodwill International does not condone stealing or taking advantage of donations. (Employees taking / buying merchandise in an innappropriate manner). If these practices are indeed going on, then eventually these folks will be found out and fired. Just one more thing...Goodwill, and ALL thrift stores have the same overhead as other businesses. They have to pay rent for the building, pay the same employees and taxes on those employees. They have to pay the phone bill and the electric. They have to pay the trash bill as well as the snow removal and lawn maintainance. Goodwill does not LET people that work for them steal. The people just do it like they do in anyother business. Stop sending donations, and you will only hurt the people who need it most. The good people with barriers that need places like Goodwill to hire them and work with them to go beyond their barrier and be self supportive.

T
T
tina
,
Oct 16, 2008 9:28 pm EDT

Thats all Goodwills, not just in your area, the ones in Pa allow the managers and clerks to take out all the valuables and jewelry for themselves and friends. The manager at the Thorndale Store Ginger Haase and her friend and co worker Barb take out all the jewelry and other expensive items and place in a bag for their friends to pick up, one friend in particular Joanne Pacana of the brandywine Health foundation in Coatesville makes daily pick ups. She calls ahead on her lunch break for pick up. The CEO Ron Kratofil who runs that store and regional goodwill manager April Marconi allow it and cover for them. They warn them. Also they mark stuff up high so no one will buy so they can buy when on break or when their shift is over. They also place items out right before closing hoping no one will come in. The Stores run in Pa have got to be the worse. Stop donating to them, they do not donate to the needy, its a myth in my opinion. Its a shill to bring in high dollar items than sell the junk for high prices and let the managers steal the valuables.

L
L
lawrence tucker
,
Oct 06, 2007 5:08 pm EDT

it's not just the winston salem store it's all of the goodwill stores, not long ago you could get a good price on anything in the store but not now, i was in the asheboro store today and there price's have gotten higher,goodwill was supposed to help the needy now it's looking like the greedy