Rip off - extra charges
We picked up a rental car from Goldcard at Palma Airport on 22.08.2019 which was reserved through Ryan Air. According to the reservation voucher ES595283750 the amount left to pay was 67, 31 EUR plus 34 EUR = 101, 31 EUR.
After arriving at the desk to pick up the car we were told that we had to get insurance. Since the insurance was already included in the rental agreement we did not want to take it. However the lady at the desk got unfriendly and told us that we had to get the insurance or else go to a different car rental company. She also demanded that we pay 1000 EUR in cash for deposit. Since we already had insurance for this we did not want to pay and did not have that amount in cash with us. So my girl friend [name removed] had to pay with her credit card and also had to be added to the contract as extra driver. We would not receive the car unless we signed and paid an additional amount of 411.87 EUR for which we have not received
a receipt or a signed rental agreement and we do not know what it is for.
We are officialy filing a complaint claiming the refund of 310, 56 EUR which was paid too much. Also, we would like to get a detailed breakdown of the extra charges. We have contacted Goldcar via email but have not received an answer and probably never will.
Car hire
I have just returned from a lovely holiday in Spain. The only issue which upset the holiday was my experience of car hire with GoldCar.
We arrived at the desk - queued for sometime as there was quite busy. We were then greeted by the assistant. We were clear with the assistant that we did not need any insurance extras as we were already covered by Annual Car Hire insurance which we had already purchased. The assistant tried to persuade us that our policy was no use and inferior but we insisted we would stick with our policy.
When the card transaction was attempted it was declined. We then had to come out of the queue and called our bank (TESCO Bank) to clarify the situation. We were advised that there was no issue at the bank at that the issue was with GoldCar.
We therefore queued a second time however the same situation with the card occurred. The assistant again tried to persuade us to take the insurance policy as he felt this would resolve the situation. We tried to get the bank to talk to the GoldCar rep about why the card transaction was failing as the bank insisted there was no problem with the bank.
We had to then queue a third time. By this time queuing for the car hire had taken up 2.5 plus hours of our holiday, our children were getting upset and we were running late for a family gathering which we were attending. The assistant again reiterated that by taking the insurance policy the problem would be resolved. At this point we felt that we had no option but to take the additional insurance policy so we were charged €320.19 which can be seen on the attached invoice.
The most concerning thing was that there were also another two couples in the queue who had exactly the same experience. This seems very suspicious. At the same time the assistant was boasting to us that he had a good salary as he was on commission and was a very good salesman.
Another lady in the queue had returned to query a bill she had received for damage to the vehicle which Goldcar seemed to be unable to provide any evidence of.
The whole experience left us with a bad taste. On looking later on Facebook and Google I can now see that we are not alone. Taking into account the amount we had already paid for the car hire I feel we have been totally ripped off and cheated and that GoldCar does not seem a very honest organisation. We have now paid way over the odds and wish we had checked the reviews more carefully before booking.
I have a letter confirming the failure of the card transaction was with Gildcar and not the bank but I still have not been able to obtain a refund despite many emails.
I hope you can look into this matter for us.
Thank You
Thomas Main
Insurance scam
OK like hundreds of others as it transpires, we have fallen victims of a Goldcar insurance scam…
As seasoned travellers we have started to purchase an annual car insurance policy in the UK to cover us for additional charges that we would incur should we be unfortunate enough to cause damage to a rental car overseas. This obviously is designed for two principal reasons 1. Because it is a lot cheaper and 2. to address the heavy selling that can result when collecting a‘rental' from staff who are on commission to sell the company insurance at inflated rates.
Anyway, last week having booked our rental from Goldcar at Murcia International Airport we returned it, somewhat dusty, to their compound, where a representative from Goldcar, holding an iPad, checked it for any damage…and having rubbed the dust off a specific area of the off side passenger door ‘low and behold' discovered the kind of inconsequential hairline blemish that you can get when the vehicle is washed. Indeed the blemish (which could be polished out in seconds) was so inconsequential that when we checked the body work on collection, had we have seen it we would have disregarded it.
It appears from all the negative reviews (there are hundreds) I have subsequently read about Goldcar this is a widely used scam, primarily used against those who refuse to buy their insurance policy, and one which is yielding them some serious money from us hapless travellers, because having had to pay a 1197 euro deposit when we collected the car, within 20 minutes of the inspection we received an email from Goldcar telling us that they had charged us 200 euros for the damage (blemish)…which clearly was on the vehicle when we collected because the representative, having consulted her iPad went straight to the spot, even though it was covered in dust with no outwardly tell-tale marks. (ironically recently my wife caused some substantial damage to the driver's door of my Audi Q5, which a local body repair and spray-shop fixed for £320).
The problem is Goldcar had our deposit so what recourse do we really have except hope that our tale might make other travellers think twice before handing out their hard earned cash to a despicable company who appear to have been fleecing travellers with various scams for many years…with impunity. Check out Goldcarcomplaints.com
P.S. having waited until Goldcar returned my deposit before posting this for obvious reasons, I note having checked my account that they have withheld over £300!
Be warned and PLEASE share
Goldcar rental-palma pmi airport 17-27 june 2019 booking ref [protected]
Complaint is made on the grounds that we were forced to pay an extra 436.54 euros to be allowed to collect our hire car, having already pre-paid for the hire online in the uk through jet2carhire.com. (booked with rhodium, whose desk at palma is operated by goldcar.
What we expected to be charged on pick up of the vehicle was 79.50 euros for 1 additional driver (i.E. Approx. £71). The amounts charged to our credit card on 18th june 2019 are as follows :- £390.51 + non sterling fee £10.74.
We should not have been made to pay for the following "nett of iva" items
Recargo aeropuer 20.14 euros (a "surcharge" - unknown what it was for);
C. Extra v diesel 20.66 eu; (why charged? We already pre-paid for full to full?)
Upgrade 41.32 eu; (was told it was a free upgrade - apparently not)
Coberatura super 112.99 eu; (did not need this extra "super" insurance)
Smart return 12.36 eu - not even sure what that is
Random 16.54 eu (20 eu incl iva) which is included in total but never itemised anywhere.
= 224.01 euros + 21% iva = 271.05 euros overcharge*
Goldcar have now refunded an 86 euro "card deposit", and we are aware we were due to settle 79.50 euros on the day to pay for one additional driver, meaning we were forced to pay an unauthorized extra charge of 271.05 euros for us to be able to drive a hire car away and start our vacation.
Goldcar staff were heard and seen visibly bullying us and other clients at the hire desk to pay all this extra money to be allowed to drive away a vehicle they had already pre-paid for in the uk. We and others were told "no money, no car"
Have reported to jet2carhire.com, and also to natwest chargeback team.
Anita benson & roger guy benson
24 breedon street, long eaton, nottingham ng10 4ff uk
[protected]
[protected]@gmail.com
Unauthorized credit card charges, deceitful staff
our complaint is as follows:
1. We have full insurance cover and did not require any additional insurance cover.
2. At the GoldCar desk, we stated, we did not need any additional insurance cover and therefore we agreed to pay the refundable deposit, as outlined on your website and as per your previous response.
3. An amount was taken from our account and the GoldCar representative took my signature on an electronic signature pad, agreeing to the rental terms and the refundable deposit (including fuel charge).
4. Your GoldCar representative reassured us, that we had taken the refundable option (as per your email and website) and that the full amount would be refunded back to our account
5. We were not provided with nor sighted any documentation and were not provided with an invoice for any non-refundable charges.
6. Records provided to us via the booking company do not align - including different changes and different amounts and unmatching partial amounts have been refunded back to our account.
7. Your GoldCar representative fraudulently used my e-signature to sign up for insurance we did not agree to.
8. A full refund has not been provided (176€ outstanding)
The issue is that we agreed to the refundable deposit and were told explicitly by the GoldCar representative that the amount we were paying, was the refundable deposit and a fuel deposit. We have not received our deposit back.
This blatant lie, coupled with the discrepancies in the paperwork provided to us when we escalated and the unmatched money coming back into our account reinforces the dishonest practices being undertaken to fraudulently scam customers out of money.
We have been in communication with GoldCar for weeks now and they have just stopped responding despite our attempts at resolution.
Deposit has not been refunded
I contact you because the security déposit I paid on 31 May 2019 at the airport Pisa had not been refunded until today.
I rented a car from you via Booking.com. I picked up the car at the airport Pisa on 31 May and I droped off at the airport Bologna on 04 Jun 2019.
Booking reference: [protected]
Usually the security déposit is only blocked, only pre-authorised on our card (and not debited). When I picked up the car at the airport Pisa I wanted to pay the security déposit with my card but they told me that they cannot do the pre-authorisation with debit card they can only use the credit card for this transaction.
They told me that I can pick up the car if
- I pay full insurance or
- I pay the deposit and they will pay it back in maximum 60 days.
If I do not pay either of them they cannot give me the car... which was already paid by internet.
I was very upset since this was the first time that I had problem with the security deposit although I already rented cars everywhere in the world.
I received the documents from Goldcar par mail which show that they were not additional charges at the end of the renting period and also the operation between my bank account and Goldcar.
I would kindly ask you to do the necessary and refund the deposit as soon as possible.
Car rental scam
This company is about ripping customers off. I rented a vehicle from this company in August, I had pre-paid the rental, when I went to collect the vehicle I was told that I had to take additional insurance at 28.00 Euro per day or pay a ludicrous deposit, the vehicle deposit + another fuel deposit for 120.00Euro came to a total of over 2000 .00! when I said I didn't need additional insurance I was shown an extensive list of damages and what it would cost me if any of those damages were on the vehicle when I return it. Needless to say that the charges were quite steep! Moreover, I was to return the vehicle early in the morning at 6am before the agency opens, which means that they could list any damage on the vehicle if they wanted to and bill me for them. I felt this is exactly what they would do, and this is what the agent clearly threatened me with as well. The attitude of the staff was very aggressive and clearly bullied every customer on taking that additional insurance, every customer that was dealt with was treated very badly while I was there, questions were answered in a very rude manner and other staff members shouted and made comments on questions asked as a side comment as if to put pressure. They guaranteed me that I would end up paying more if I didn't take the insurance and that with the deposit amount I wouldn't have any money left on my credit card to spend while on holiday. The whole scam and arguments provided are clearly staged! They inflate the deposit amount to force customers into taking the additional insurance.
This car rental company is a total scam, I have seen many complaints from customers since I had to deal with them, they shouldn't be in business and should have been closed down long ago, I have seen countless complaints about the same, this from any country. The way they do business is totally unethical and I am sure it is not in line with EU standard and consumer protection.
This rental ended up costing me a lot of money, way more than what II had budgeted for a 10 days car rental, the final cost was ludicrous for the most basic vehicle; I had to take on the 28.00 Euro per day insurance and the 140.15 Euro rental rate added on. That is 420.50 Euro for a 10 days rental on the cheapest model! I could have rented a top of the range vehcile from any other gaency at that price!
I am requesting a refund from GoldCar!
Reservation Number: [protected]
Vehicle collected on 29 July and returned on 8 August 2019 - Toulouse Airport
e-mail : [protected]@boutiquewines.info
Rental on a goldcar company web page
While making a reservation on a goldcar web page, I was shown a final price of 1150PLN (reservation number [protected]). When I hit the pay button I was charged 360 euro (1550PLN). This is almost 100 euro more than the final costs displayed on the "PAY button".
I would like to understand where this price came from. I did not have to put any additional SMS confirmation from the bank (which is required) so did not have a chance to stop that transaction.
Unethical behaviour and charges
Just returned from Malaga on 10 August 2019 and had the unfortunate experience of renting a car from Goldcar. I originally booked through a broker called Argus car hire, who I used before without issues. However, when I went to the Goldcar desk at Malaga airport, they told me they had the booking reference but I had to pay 459 euros to take the car. I explained and showed that the payments for the car, as well as 60 euros in additional insurance cover, had already been paid. They told me that they could not see record of payment on their system and I would have to pay a deposit for the fuel/key to get the car. It turns out that they deducted these charges as 2 additional insurances as well as additional admin fees. I complained about this when returning the car and they told me they had no access to process refunds. Now dealing with my credit card company to try to get these charges back. Please never consider booking with Goldcar.
Paul, Dublin (Ireland)
Unethical behaviour
Agent holds me for over 15 minutes at check in to inspect the car and states that a plastic part is missing on the back seat where seatbelt exits the seat. I can not say that the part was there when I rented the car, but since this is a 5 - 10 EUR part and I had to catch up to plane I accepted that he will investigate and advise the cost. Later I receive an email clearly stating that the plastic part is 570 EUR.
I filed a complaint that this is not the cost of a plastic part, but after one week they sent me new photos on other things that had nothing to do with me, not mentioned earlier by their agent, and not in their original communication and claim, saying the cost was accurate.
Please see attached the Goldcar statement and the picture attached to specify the "missing part" that in accordance to Goldcar was in place when I rented the car. For a company operating in Europe they have a very suspicious and deceptive business approach.
Deposit
I rented a car from Palma airport on the 19th for 10 days I got my own personal insurance to use on their car which was cheaper the guy told me it wasn't valid on the car and proceeded to charge me €442 I asked if I get it all back to which he replied yes other than if fuel was not refilled then I would be charged the difference I filled the tank up at the garage round the corner to the airport to which they said I left it half full which was a lie. I only received £40.07 back which I have clearly been fleshed when I tried to get in contact after getting home the complaints page on their website kept saying my contract didn't exists so what I'm wondering is when do I get the rest of my deposit back which I agreed to at the desk
Charges for damage
I would be grateful if you could please look into what I have been charged. When we collected the black car in the dark, we did our best with the light we had to check for damage which was not recorded. When we found a chip and a long scratch on the car, we spoke to a member of your staff who told us that it is not enough for them to record and to take a picture, which we did. I would like to add that the car was parked so closely to the pillar and the car next to us that I had to climb over the passenger seat to get in to drive. We found it very hard to believe that a car had so much damage on 3 of the sides but the 4th was immaculate as the paper work stated. We took a picture of what we could see in the dark and left. When we checked out, the very rude lady walked over to our car and rubbed the dirt off in the exact spot of the scratch as if she knew exactly where the marks were (it was daylight this time). When she pointed out to us we told her we had evidence of the damage from when we collected and she was not interested. No other damage was pointed out to us at this time. I asked if we were going to be charged and she said she didn't know, she'd have to speak to her supervisor. By the time we got on the plane, I had a bill for £700 and more pictures. The marks around the drivers door handle have CLEARLY been done over time and can only be seen in these pictures with a light shining on it. The other marks I believe will have been done as the lady wiped the sand/dirt off the car with her hand as they are so small and light. From the beginning we were scaremongered into taking out extra insurance but as i was already covered, I declined. I would like you to look into this as we really looked after your car and we feel very unfairly treated. I can send you the photo if you give me an email address to send it to. (its not very clear as the reflection blocks it but look closely)
All i can say is you really know how to ruin someones holiday. I won't stop until this is resolved.
Don't rent a car here!!!
In one week I had too change my car 3 times. Each time they give me a broking car! I rented a car for 15 days. In 7 days at the last time I changed my car I said to them that I don't want a car any more. Just take my money for the days I had the cars en give my money back for the other remaining 8 days! Even that wasn't possible. The people who are working there where very brutal and they just don't care! Dear people, pay 50 or 100 euro's more and please rent somewhere else. It will save you a lot of stress!
Charged for insurance
Hi, we hired a car with Goldcar from 14/07/19 till 28/07/19. Prior to travelling to Mallorca we took out a yearly car hire insurance policy.
Our flight was delayed arriving in Mallorca & then had some trouble with our bags so were late getting to Goldcar counter. We got our car & off we went. On return my husbands credit card has been charged £293.01 which on looking the documents would appear to be for insurance.
At no time did the employee offer us insurance, it wasn't even discussed.
I have contacted Goldcar, also contacted Expedia as we booked car through them & I awaiting a reply.
This is obviously a scam & im furious.
Our contract no is [protected] & client number is [protected].
Car rental
We've rented a car in Goldcar company at the Ciampino Airport branch, in the beginning of June - it was for a couple of days. At the desk their representative (Davide - very helpful lad) wanted my credit card to block the deposit amount, told him don't have any, but can use my debit card.
After some struggle my debit card was charged with £142.61 which was supposed to be returned up to 30 days after returning the car.
Never seen that money again. I've raised four complaints using the Goldcar online system describing that it was DEBIT CARD CHARGED not CREDIT CARD BLOCKED, but none of your employees seems to have a clue what the difference is:
1. Case [protected].07 signed by Ignacio S. :
"Please bear in mind that when the payment method chosen by the costumer it's a credit card the amount is not charged, just blocked and afterwards unblocked. Therefore client doesn't see any refund".
2. Case 2173270 - 24.07 signed by Paloma:
"As you were informed before your deposit was released already."
3. Case 2175347 - 26.07 signed by Begonia:
"After checking your case with our local office we confirm that the fuel deposit was only blocked not charged and it's already released. "
4. Case 2188811 - today 03.08 signed by Juan Carlos:
"Thank you for your email about the deposit relating to your recent Goldcar vehicle rental. Our records show that the deposit has been processed correctly and the amount retained has been released. If you still have not received confirmation I suggest that you contact your bank or credit card provider for more information."
On two occasions I've replayed with an email - no one even bothered to answer those.
I've attached the picture of mentioned DEBIT card (which according to you can be blocked). Picture has a red arrow pointing to words DEBIT - it means that it is NOT A CREDIT CARD.
Hope that everything is clear now - if I won't receive my money back within 7 working days I'll seek a legal advice.
Regards
A.Janowski
Agency number IT566847830
Contract number [protected]
Client [protected]
Contact address: [protected]@krudfurniture.co.uk
Return of fuel moneys
rented 2 cars from you on a full to full basis and have yet to recieve moneys owed on both.No1 may/8th/2019 con no.16283510.No2 june/20th/2019 con.no.16297854.Could you please explain why you have not returned our moneys as stated in contracts.On both occasions we rented from alicante airport and found staff very rude.We have contacted you before and were told bank would not accept payment but they say there is no record of this ever taking place.So could you please on reciept of this complaint return moneys owed. REGARDS MR.DEREK VERNON
Credit card charges
Nous avons loué un véhicule chez goldcar par internet le 31/12/2018 pour une récupération du véhicule le 20/7/2019 à l'aéroport de funchal. numéro de contrat [protected]. ( numéro de client [protected]) Nous avons été abusé par la vendeuse. Elle nous a facturé 468 euros d'options supp sans nous le dire et en cachant le contrat dans la pochette sans rien expliqué
Deduction of 200 euros for damage not caused by my rental.
Bkg ES571989790 (client [protected]) 7th to 10 June 2019. Car had many scratches/scuffs on pick up and I photographed each panel and complained to office, who assured me that my pictures would be sufficient evidence.
On returning car, no further damage had occured and again I photographed each panel. On 14 June Goldcar charged 200 Euros to my account and on questioning sent a photo of a scratched door. I replied with photo showing that the damage was exactly the same when I received the car at 10.41pm on the 7th June. They have repeatedly refused to respond to my emails/requests for repayment.
Geoff Furneaux (UK) [protected]@yahoo.co.uk
We had exactly the same experience in June this year in Italy. There was actually a placard in their office showing damage that was acceptable as wear and tear. We saw scratches on the car that were of this nature so didn't report them. We added none yet at the return desk the operative was able to identify one small scratch on the rear bumper as new. It wasn't and I signed to say just this. I was assured by the office staff, however, that there would be no charge. They lied. We were hit with a EUR 240 charge. I wrote immediately to tell them to remove this bogus charge. They have yet to respond. We have put this in the hands of our credit card provider. I will never, ever use this disgraceful company again and would urge others to avoid.
Fuel policies
We have been renting cars from you on a regular basis from Alicante Air port.But on the last 2 occasions have not recieved our full to full fuel payments as are written in your rental aggrement.The nos for the a aggrremnts are as follows no1 may/8th/2019 [protected], no2 june/20th/[protected] We would be most greatfull if you could resolve this issue as we do not wish to take this any further Regards MR D VERNON
Gold car super relax & mega relax cover that I didn’t want
I have just received my credit card statement to see that I have been charged €125.98 for super relax cover & €11.38 for mega relax cover. I didn't want or need this as I have taken out an additional insurance policy with AXA for a much lower price that had more cover than this! I was not told that this would be added to my bill. Only told to sign the electronic pad after I had shown my booking confirmation for what I had booked. Disgusting company
About GoldCar Rental
Most discussed GoldCar Rental complaints
no spare tyre, terrible service, no response to complaint!Recent comments about GoldCar Rental company
Rip off




Our Commitment
We make sure all complaints and reviews are from real people sharing genuine experiences.
We offer easy tools for businesses and reviewers to solve issues together. Learn how it works.
We support and promote the right for reviewers to express their opinions and ideas freely without censorship or restrictions, as long as it's respectful and within our Terms and Conditions, of course ;)
Our rating system is open and honest, ensuring unbiased evaluations for all businesses on the platform. Learn more.
Personal details of reviewers are strictly confidential and hidden from everyone.
Our website is designed to be user-friendly, accessible, and absolutely free for everyone to use.