Menu
ADVERTISIMENT
Home Travel & Vacations Getaroom Billed for cancellation plus tax recovery and cleaning charges
More

Getaroom  - Billed for cancellation plus tax recovery and cleaning charges

R
Author of the complaint
1:58 pm
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more
Review updated:
Replied
The company left an official comment on this complaint.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

We made reservations via toll-free number on March 19, 2022 at the Tru by Hilton Hotel in Oxford Mississippi. The reservations were for June 23-27, so approximately 60 days prior to arrival. Within hours we realized that the dates for our trip had to be changed so we called to cancel our reservations. At no time in either phone call was there any mention of there being a non-refundable policy. We thought we were dealing directly with Hilton! Were we surprised to discover that we had been billed $716.00 on our credit card! We tried to call hotelvalues (who sent us notice of cancellation and billing) to no success — no phone nor website. But I did notice complaints against Getaroom.com and traced them as being the company who made the reservations. After failed attempts at calling Getaroom, we contacted our credit card company and filed a dispute. Just heard back from Capital One who said no cancellation policy was on Getaroom's website therefore there was nothing they could do. But this policy was not stated in two phone calls! How were we to know? I should also mention that we are held liable for $216 of tax recovery & service fees which are the estimated amount "we pay the hotel for occupancy related taxes owed by the hotel and any amount charged to us for resort fees, cleaning fees, and other fees." How can we be charged occupancy and cleaning fees when we're not in the room? Getaroom.com or hotelvalues.com is a SCAM!

ADVERTISIMENT
Helpful? 0 0
Share
Reply
Apr 29, 2022 4:10 pm
Please know that we do take our customers' reviews very seriously. In follow-up, as you did not provide a booking number, we cannot work toward a favorable resolution. We will note this case as closed due to no reply from customer. If you change your mind and wish for assistance, please provide your booking number as requested on this review platform. Thank you.

Sincerely,

Getaroom
Apr 28, 2022 6:49 pm
We apologize for the negative experience with your online booking. Your noted booking reference number will need to be provided so that a Service Resolutions Specialist can review this and reach out to you directly. Thank you.

Sincerely,

Getaroom

More Getaroom complaints & reviews

Getaroom - I have a charge on my credit card that needs explaining. the name listed is cci*hotel reservation 855-707-6654 tx
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment to this complaint.
Getaroom - No refund
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment to this complaint.
Getaroom - Wrong room trickery
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment to this complaint.
Getaroom - Huge scam
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Getaroom - tax recovery charges and service fees
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment to this complaint.
Getaroom - Incorrect booking date
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment to this complaint.
Getaroom - Sucks!!
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Getaroom - Please get a full refund and don't ruin our honeymoon!!!
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment to this complaint.
Getaroom - room charge
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment to this complaint.
Getaroom - internet hotel booking service
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment to this complaint.
0 comments
Add a comment
ADVERTISIMENT

Learn how the rating is calculated

397 complaints
312 resolved 85 unresolved

Getaroom contacts

(added by reviewer)
3010 LBJ Freeway Suite 1550, Texas United States
ADVERTISIMENT