Geico Insurancemy claim

A Review updated:

09.05.2017
I have been waiting for my direct deposit from Geico to get my car fixed from an accident that was not my fault. Now, everytime I have talked to a customer service agent from Geico, they have all told me that they use Bank Of America to issue out their payments and that for each payment they send out they would send me a email having me provide my bank information so that way they can direct deposit it into the account that I want. NOW, this did NOT happen and they are trying to BLAME me and say that someone on my end must have put in my information because they have no access to any of my bank information. BUT, when I received my payment from them in the account THAT WAS NOT SUPPOSED TO HAVE ANY MONEY IN IT because it was negative, that's what it went into without my knowledge or authorization. AND ON TOP OF THIS, the payment was not even from BANK OF AMERICA, it was from QUICKPAY ZELLE. But, from Geico's point of view.. they have no idea who it was that sent it out to my account that was not authorized and how it is someone sent it from a system they don't use. Now because they messed up and put the money into the wrong account, their is no way to get a refund because the negative already ate the money up. I WANT MY MONEY ONE WAY OR ANOTHER!! Geico is the one who screwed up and they need to take responsibility for messing up and re issue out another payment to me. Their saying that they wont reissue out my payment because they need the money first that went into the wrong account---SORRY---that is geico's fault and geico's fault on why they are not getting the money back. I STILL WANT MY MONEY TO GET MY CAR FIXED!!! THIS NEEDS TO HAPPEN IMMEDIATELY OR I WILL CONTACT SOMEONE HIGHER AND MAKE IT HAPPEN!!!

Responses

  • Ma
    Marytree Jan 30, 2018

    So did you ever get your money back? Just curious...I am having an issue with them right now myself. I got the email about payment of a claim for direct deposit but when I follow the simple directions it just takes me to online banking checking account screen and doesn't prompt you to do anything else so I am just stuck there. I tried calling geico (because the email literally says to if any problems) and the rep. couldn't really help me. The only explanation she could give (which didn't help the issue at all) was that maybe it was not working because my email address that it was sent to is not associated with the account i was trying to deposit in. It was my friend's account as I don't have one but I asked when i set it up if i could deposit it in an account that wasn't associated with me at all and they said that it was fine and wouldn't be a problem. Evidently there is a problem somewhere and it seems to me that it's just that their system doesn't prompt you at that point with SunTrust anyway or audio least forbme or didn't.

    0 Votes
  • Jj
    JJ Astor Oct 23, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    How long did it take you to receive your direct deposit notification from Gieco/BOA? Thanks.

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jessi Burbank Dec 05, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @JJ Astor They supposedly sent my payment out Monday around noon and now it’s wednesday at 9am with no link from any email from zelle... did you get your link? If so in how many days? And did it come first thing in the AM... or can you get it mid day?

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Caramel Kiss May 16, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Geico just did me the same way. The liability lady DID NOT send me an email with a link to upload my bank information. She only sent me the invitation to schedule an appointment with the adjuster. I received the email this morning saying the funds were deposited into an account I do not even use or have access to. They used Zelle. WTH! I called to tell her this and she was no help. She gave me a number to Citizens bank and they had no idea what I was talking about. This is a bunch of BS. It was their customer who plowed into me yesterday! Im not even signed up to use Zelle for anything. Has Geico fixed any of your payment issues?

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Sandra Smiths Jun 02, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    For everyone that has a GEICO direct deposit request I’m going to tell you how it works.

    1. Your rep should ask if you want check or direct deposit. Make sure they ask or you tell them which one. A) for Checks they will be mailed so make sure your address on file is where you want it to go to. B) direct deposit make sure you provide your current and email address.

    2. Direct deposit are issued through the company’s main bank of payments, Bank of America. BoA then sends an electronic payment to the 3rd party company Zelle, and then Zelle deposits it into your account.

    3. After you confirm your intended payment method of direct deposit contact your bank immediately to verify if they allow Zelle payments. Note: (you cannot use a prepaid card bank)

    4. If they do, your bank will advise you of how to register your cell phone number and/or email address to receive payments with Zelle. Again you should call your bank immediately after speaking to your insurance rep.

    5. Once your email address has been registered directly with your bank it takes 1-3 business days to receive the funds. However, if your bank is not a general bank such as BoA or Wells Fargo you will then get an email link to register your email address through your bank.
    Try this link to see if your bank is listed for zelle.
    https://www.zellepay.com
    Then click “get started”

    6. IF your bank is not able to accept Zelle payments, IF you’re unfamiliar with technology (such as registering your email), or just don’t feel comfortable with this process to receive funds - PLEASE opt for the paper check.

    3 Votes
  • An
    AngreeDee2019 Sep 30, 2019

    If they put the money in an account that had a negative balance how would they get that account number? Makes no sense . But if it actualky went into an account you had with a negative balance they did pay you. They won’t pay off a negative balance and then repay you again.
    Somethings not making sense. You’re leaving something out.
    My issue with them is 2 GEICO adjusters were supposed to get estimates after my car was in a flood. It needed body work and electrical which required car to have work at 2 seperate shops. The reason for the estimates were that in a flood more than likely the car will cost more to repair than the car is worth.
    So when I brought the car to a body shop the 1st adjuster recommended car go to a dealership for estimate on electric problems first. The car was then sent to dealership.1st adjuster goes on vacation.
    A second adjuster now inspects the car and issues the check to someone in the dealership !and it issued with my name and dealerships name. Now at this point I’m 500 miles away at this point because I didn’t live in area where car was damaged. I get a call from dealership that they need me to come sign the check for $7, 500 that Geico issued to them. I agree then tell the dealership employee I’ll be there the next day.. He replies “ no the car won’t be done till next week.”
    A week goes by and I call this employee at dealership. He’s on vacation and my cars not there. So I now think to myself that the car must have been done and he sent it back to the body shop to get the body work finished .
    I call body shop and the cars not there either.
    My cars lost!!! Turns out that dealership had Geico re issue the check without my name and my signature was not required any more.
    This is now last week of August 2019 and the car was in flood July 22 2019.
    I finally find out from the police that the car was impounded because the dealership just put it out on the street parked illegally for a week.
    I had to pay $1200 to get it out of the impound yard and the car had not had any of the work done at the dealership other than changing 2 seatbelts!?!? Plus there’s now more damage to it than it got from the flood! .
    I start making calls and leaving messages to both adjusters.
    No reply’s for days . I call GEICO customer service and they call adjusters for me. This is the only time I get to speak to them. I explain that 1. they issued a check to dealership when it was supposed to be an estimate 2. The work wasn’t even close to being finished 3. The check was supposed to be issued to the place “ I “ brought it to on 7/23/2019 which was the body shop 4. The car should have been a total los!!!
    . The answer I got from both adjusters was that Geico paid for the claim and that dealership said car was done!?!?. I said the body work was never even started and I get told I will get called back.
    They never call back.
    I have lost my job, my apartment and I feel like I’m starting to lose my mind because of this. I have the car and had to borrow money from my family to fix.
    It’s still being worked on and now that I lost my job I have fallen behind on car payments so my credits ruined and the bank will probably repossess the car at this point . I can’t even look for a new job as unfortunately where I’m currently living There’s no public transportation and I have run through my savings.
    I finally got Geico to have another adjuster to look at the car and the latest BS I’m being told is that the body work looks like it’s from another accident not the flood.
    I guess I should have seen it coming . They screwed this up so bad and dragged it out this long it’s drastically changed my life for the worst as I was also supposed to be moving 1000 miles out of state on 8/1/19 to live with my GF and start a new life, new career..
    I explained this to every adjuster, every supervisor, every customer service agent and they used this info against me.

    Geico Sucks !!!

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem