The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Fye Vip Backstage Passwon't cancel/keeps charging after cancellation

I had received (without prior permission, nor any notification of) the FYE Backstage VIP Pass. I say I was not informed because when purchasing a few last minute christmas gifts, the clerk asked if I would like to save 15% on my NEXT purchase (notice the 'next', because there was no savings advertised for the current one) to which I replied no thank you. I guess the clerk just decided to add the card on and then after wrapping all the presents I found at least 2-3 packets of the same information, as well as cards detailing information on the VIP Backstage Pass. I promptly discarded these packets due to the fact that I had made no purchase of them (to my knowledge) and I was under the impression they were some sort of promotional product I need not worry myself with. After about a month or so, I check my credit card online statement (which should have been a balance of 0.00$, I had just made a payment) only to find that a product marked as FYE VIP Pass had charged me a total of 11.99$. I am beside myself with rage, the company CIC Triple Advantage has previously attempted to access my account for a total of 3 months in the past, and I made one complaint to the BBB (Better Business Bureau) and POOF, the whole mess was gone and I received my money back in full. I do not want to have to do this again, and I am hoping this works and clears out this charge and any further charges to my credit. This is fraud in the highest form and companies that commit it should be stripped and shut down.

Responses

  • Aa
    aasg5697 Oct 19, 2016

    As an employee of FYE, who is 100% honest with her customers, please know that some of us aren't trying to trick you. I've heard of horrible managers at stores nearby mine, and how they've had customers do dishonest stuff just to get VIPs & Magazines. But not all stores are like that. Yes, 11.99 is crazy. Us employees, know that. But we have quotas to live up to. And honestly, we sign up for it as well. I've personally never had a problem cancelling, I tend to do it online because I know the hassle of talking on the phone, but the people at customer service are just doing their jobs. They obviously have a script, anytime I've called it's been the same. But anyways, my main point is that - not all the stores are terrible, not all the employees are. I go out of my way to help customers, to help them find a movie or a funko pop. And when it comes to "selling" the discount card, I tell them everything. I let them know it's a free trial, to test out the benefits, but there is no obligations to keep it. I circle where to cancel, as does everyone else in my store. We aren't all terrible. We aren't all scammers.

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    MoiveFan2012 Sep 01, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    It's ridiculous how much there charging for this DVD I want, How could you not have the DVD in any of your 9 locations in the state of GA, but course you only have it online. I might as well not use the damn gift card, ordering online means paying the bull ### shipping and handling that the mail service charges, I don't trust those idiots. Every time I order something, it seems to be missing or damaged. Hell best-buy has the damn thing for cheaper, bunch of idiots F.Y.E for not carrying it in stores.

    Regular Price:$34.99
    Our Price: $29.99
    Member Price $26.99
    Members Save: $8.00 (23%)

    Comments

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Chester McClecker Aug 26, 2016

    Just bought an inexpensive GPC player for $29.99 that has an iPod dock for charging/playing. While unpacking, I noticed it had been opened previously, because of sloppy repackaging, but didn't pay much attention to that. After hooking it up, it sounded terrible and went to return it about an hour after buying it. There were six people in line and one person behind the counter. The clerk kept telling everyone in line he was the only one there, so please be patient. I waited about 20 minutes in line, and when I got up to the register, the clerk saw my return and asked if he could let the rest of the line (3 more people) go ahead of me. I said no, that we were all in queue, and it's my turn now, and returns don't take that long anyway. He then leaves the register and returns with another employee who will help me do the return (where was this other sales clerk hiding while everyone was at a single register, while the other two registers sat idle?) The new clerk says I will need to send the unit back to the company as it is still under warranty. I was stunned. I said the thing will cost more to ship than I paid for it, plus I only bought it an hour ago. He then told me that I had opened the box, so I had no choice. I then said that it had previously been opened because the interior packing was already messed up and re-taped when I bought it. He then suggested that I was making this up and there was no way to prove that I wasn't the first one to open the package. I then said that I didn't have to prove anything to him, and asked to speak to his manager, or give me a contact for a regional manager. He then said he might be able to get me a store credit, and said he would check with someone in the back. (And here is yet another person/clerk/mgr who was not up front when everyone was standing in line.) He returns to offer me a store credit, which I accepted but noted I would be making this transaction public, so others can be warned about FYE's return practices, and how hard you will need to fight just to get fair treatment.

    0 Votes
  • Lm
    lmc330 Aug 26, 2016

    Without my consent or knowledge FYE charged my debit card $11.99 for a program I know nothing about. I want my money refunded immediately!

    0 Votes
  • Be
    Beefborn Apr 22, 2015

    I just read through all 2 pages of complaints about this Backstage Pass VIP card. I took it to myself to look up what it is all about and here is what I found out. There are 2 types of memberships: Backstage Pass Platinum and Backstage Pass VIP. Platinum is a $25 annual payment that provides discounts at FYE only. VIP is a $12 monthly membership that provides discounts at FYE and other participating stores. I can honestly say that the VIP membership is a complete waste of money and a definite scam in my book. DO NOT GET FOOLED BY THIS MONEY LEECH OF A "MEMBERSHIP"!!!

    I shop at FYE frequently because it is the only entertainment store near me. I like to buy CDs and Best Buy or WalMart don't sell used CDs so FYE is my best choice. After hearing time and time again about this great program that provides tons of benefits I decided to try the month free just to read the booklet and see what its about. After knowingly signing the receipt and looking over all the discounts I decided that same day I didn't want it. $12 a month is a little too much for coupons. Here is where I made my mistake though. I forgot to call.

    A month later I receive the $12 charge and am disgruntled because I knew I forgot to call, I knew it was my fault. So as soon as I saw that I called, refused almost 5 times to keep it subscribed and got my $12 back in full. There is nothing hard about calling a customer service number and being assertive to get your money back, ESPECIALLY if its on a credit card.

    Although I feel stupid for forgetting to call I'm glad I got my money back and I'm currently a Platinum member. I spent $25 in January and its already paid itself off. FYE is only half the problem, the other half is the customers for not reading, listening, or paying attention. READ EVERYTHING YOU SIGN!!! There is nothing wrong with making people wait in line for you to read the fine print your credit card is being linked to. That being said, I still don't support the amount of trickery the FYE employees use to sign people up for this card. I think we can all agree on that.

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    kelg Apr 07, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was also a part of their salesperson scam...I turned it down with a Christmas purchase and realized in February there was a monthly charge to my credit card I used for payment.. It took me 3 months of being charged to get a cancellation from them. They cost me so much for their lousy 5% off. I think a company this sneaky and disreputable should be banned. I don't have they energy to spend on them or the double talking phone reps( that forced me to raise my voice) another second but I will never step foot in their store again. And you shouldn't either..

    0 Votes
  • Rm
    RMarie221b Mar 27, 2015

    On February 11, 2015 I was shopping at fye for something for my dad's birthday. I found what I was looking for and went up to the cash register to pay. Two associates were working and the one girl calls me over to be rung out. I put my item down and she starts asking me if I'd like to save 10% off my next purchase, not mentioning that there is a fee after 30 days. I work in retail, as well. My store has a free loyalty program where customers get point for every purchase they make which can turn into free stuff. Knowing how difficult it can be for sales associates to get people to sign up, I said yes. Why would I say no to an extra 10% off my next purchase if it's "free", right? So after I said I'd sign up, she says "Yay! This will be my first customer sign up!" (oh joy). She starts asking me all of my information and typing it into the computer. At this point I'm really confused because she never told me she'd need this much, but I just went with it. She finishes doing all of that, puts all of my stuff in a bag, and I go on my merry way. A month later, though, I notice that $11.99 has been taken out of my account by fye. I had kept my receipt, so I read it over. This is when I noticed that there is a monthly charge after 30 days. The associate completely failed to tell me this, I guess assuming that I would opt out, which is what I would have done. There is even a customer agreement line on the receipt that says I agree to pay the fee if I sign that line, which she just decided not to have me sign or even show me so I wouldn't be tipped off as to what I was really being signed up for. Nice.

    So today I just called the fye backstage pass cancellation number. I spoke to some guy who I could not even understand about my problem, saying that I would like to cancel so that I'm not charged anymore. He asks me my information, tells me that he's keeping me signed up so I can still enjoy all of their "wonderful" benefits (that I'll never use), that he will waive my fees for this month (so I have until May 15th to cancel now before I'm charged again), tells me to have a nice day, and promptly hangs up. I am so disappointed. If this was how I treated customers at my job, I'd be fired immediately. I am calling again tomorrow and this time I will not take no for an answer, that is if they even let me give them an answer. Keep it classy fye, not whatever you call this sad excuse for customer service.

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    Justin 45 Jan 22, 2015

    This place sucks $11.99 charge for some stupid VIP pass this place has been scaming me for 2 years I never signed up for this . I will never shop at this pos fye again I will go to best buy or hh gregg if I need headphones or CDs or my electronics

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    Justin 45 Jan 22, 2015

    This place I terrible who the hell is going to pay 11.99 a month for so stupid VIP pass .I never signed up for this such a scam terrible compay I will never shop here again I will go to best buy or hh gregg if I need CDs or headphones ...what a pos company fye is

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    TinaVer Jan 08, 2015

    I have been charged and I never authorized anyone to charge my account. I never signed up for a membership or got any information about it either. I was asked my info at the register like 75% of stores do now a days to help market their products. I have been trying to work with F.Y.E about this but it is impossible to get someone to answer you and when they do it is in circles. I would like to see the proof of me signing up for this service????? Training your cashiers to trick people is so unprofessional and you will lose more customers than gain memberships. I am having my credit card company fully investigate and dispute these charges. I also will be reporting to the Better Business Bureau and I no longer will be shopping at F.Y.E. I also work at a Huge university and I will assure to tell every person I see about this so they do not support this company either. I also have a huge social media following and I will voice my incident with them as well.

    0 Votes
  • Us
    user1394670 Jul 15, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    These people are very sneaky to say the least. I agreed to the backstage pass club and also understood the free magazine arrangement which basically was in my hands, because if I did not cancel in time I would start being charged $11.99 per month. So I think it was a year and I cancelled the magazine script. It went fine, they stopped charging me and I actually had a credit for $16.99 on my bank statement. However I noticed another charge on my e-bank statement which was from F.Y.E.and had no telephone number next to it like the magazine charges did. I called the bank to see if they had a phone number and replied no. So FYE has taken $11.99 from my account two months in a row. If I cant get this matter resolved with FYE my bank explained to me that for $35.00 I can issue a stop payment order from these snakes in the grass. As expensive as there products are you would think they would not have to scam consumers as they do.


    Regards and good luck to fellow consumers in getting there problems solved,
    Frustrated

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    Scam alert 2012 Feb 20, 2014

    I fallen for this as well. I'd like to call it a scam, but it was more of a case of not being up-front. I bought a cheap dvd at an FYE and the cashier asked if I'd like to sign up for their backstage pass. I asked her " is it like a rewards points program? " to which she replied yes. I then asked " is it free? " and she again said "yes, it's free to sign up". So I said, fine and she starts asking me all these personal questions about where I live and so on. I should have known right there to just stop her and walk out, that was dumb on my part. Even dumber when she tells me to sign the bottom of this long receipt ( I thought she ran my debit card as credit and was having me sign that ) and I didn't read what was on it. After my transaction was finished, and everything was bagged, THEN she mentioned, "You have 30 days to cancel or you will be charged $11.99 a month. The number is on the bottom of your receipt."
    I accept it was a dumb-dumb thing on my part to sign anything without reading it, but I felt like I was tricked into signing up.
    I used to work at Frys Electronics when I was younger and they put a lot of pressure on saleman to sign people up for their credit card. It sucks when companies do this because it turns alot of people dishonest just to save from getting fired.

    1 Votes
  • Na
    NalaNacious Dec 30, 2013

    Here's my experience:

    I was at my local Sam Goody, purchasing Christmas Presents. My total was high and the cashier offered me 10% off, and explained to me the card and that I could cancel within 30 days without a charge. I agreed; It lowered my total by a bit and I was in a rush. Today, I called the company and asked to be removed. The woman on the phone began to steamroll me with a barrage of nonsense. She is apparently going to send me a $20 gift card (Yeah, right), and urges me to look at the benefits before I cancel. I made the mistake of calling while I was at work, and had to do something midway through, and ended up just agreeing to get her off the phone. I'll call tomorrow to cancel.

    HERE IS WHERE I GOT IRRITATED:

    I decided to check out this AMAZING service, so I log on. First of all, seriously, my password needs an upper and lowercase letter, a number, AND a special character?!?! Insanity. That nonwithstanding, I found a really good deal (30% off eye exam and glasses), and since I have been needing to get my eyes re-examined, I called the company the deal was for. When I did, I was informed that the optometrist had been out of practice since 2005 and had DIED in 2009. Apparently, they never took this "deal" off. So, according to the site, I could also use this same deal at my local Sears. So I called them. They do not take this discount and have no idea what I'm talking about. Apparently, this company is just willing to call peoples' bluff on the deals, and that makes me angry. I don't mind calling to cancel services. I understand the run-around; I've worked phone jobs. They have a script that they have to stick to, as do the employees who push the card in the first place. What grinds my gears is the clear lac of ethics presented by this company.

    0 Votes
  • Li
    liesandlovenotes Feb 21, 2013

    Oh and that first response is also wrong because there are 2 cards one is $25 for the year strictly just for fye and the second card is free for 1 month then its 11.99 a month but this card saves you at other places over 100, 000 different stores its like a AAA card

    0 Votes
  • Li
    liesandlovenotes Feb 21, 2013

    First of all they cant sign you up for the vip without asking for your personal information and second you would of had to sign a paper which clearly states that you will be charged monthly then gets sent to their home office.

    0 Votes
  • Ne
    NearlyScammed12324 Feb 07, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Also, what is with the people here saying "Just listen to the cashier"?

    It is extremely easy for the cashier to just blatantly lie to you. I know because it happened today. You can't listen if THEY WON'T TELL YOU.

    2 Votes
  • Ne
    NearlyScammed12324 Feb 07, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I've had this happen to me today. I purchased something from F.Y.E and used my card. The cashier asked for a birth date and I gave him it (I figured he needed to verify my debit card like how some places ask for ID). Then he asked for my address and full name. At this point I got suspicious, so I asked, "Why do you need it?". He said, "Oh, I'm just trying to get you a 10% discount."

    "Is there anything else I need to know about this?"

    "Nah, I just give you this catalogue and you get a 10% discount. Please sign the receipt"

    "Oh, okay."

    I figured that I was getting the 10% discount because they would send me junk mail or something; but to just to be sure I re-read my receipt to see if I was charged for anything I didn't buy.

    Apparently, I was about to be. On the middle of the receipt it says that if I don't cancel a subscription in 30 days, I will get charged 11.99$ per month ( for how many months exactly? indefinitely?). What the cashier played off as me signing a regular receipt for identity verification was actually him making me sign up for that subscription. He intentionally did not inform me of any subscription or any charges when I asked him if there was anything I needed to know.

    So I immediately called the number on the receipt to cancel and it asked for my member ID # (which I also was not informed of by the cashier). I looked on the receipt and found it. To think, if I would have thrown it away there'd be no way for me to access the account in order to cancel it. After entering the number, I was put on hold for 3 minutes before reaching a customer service rep who asked me for my name and birth date again to verify if I was me. After giving it to him, he told me that I was not yet in the system (because it makes sense that he would have my name and birth-date if I weren't?); and I would have to call back in 5 days in order to cancel. Obviously that is just a ### hurdle they put in the way hoping I would forget to call. So I cancelled my debit-card and ordered a new one (so that they would not have my card #), and will be calling them in a few days.

    I have absolutely no respect for this business and will never be going back. How quickly and smoothly the cashier tricked me into signing up for the membership makes me think he has done this multiple times before; and if he is doing it again and again he is probably ordered by management to do so.

    F.Y.E is a bunch of lousy scammers; never pay with a card if you go there.

    2 Votes
  • Da
    dawn02 Sep 28, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    VIP Backstage Pass is a RIP OFF!!! We did the 30 day free trial and decided where we live that we do not benefit for it so we called to cancel it. Apparently the D-bag who took the call couldn't understand English very well and documented that we want to continue the services. Needless to say the charges kept rolling in despite our efforts to cancel. I spoke with several Indians and Hindu's and such before I got to speak with a English speaking supervisor. I filed a huge complaint and intend to have the representative fired who caused all of this grief. I will also be filing as many complaints as I can everywhere I can and this included my local FYE store. What a bunch of crap!!! DO NOT SIGN UP FOR THE VIP BACKSTAGE PASS MEMBERSHIP!!! No matter how hard they push you and if they sign you up without your permission sue their ###!!!

    2 Votes
  • Je
    jessxcorexx Mar 27, 2012

    I had success, this is what everyone needs to do. Speak in a harsh (not yelling) tone. When they refuse to help you or anything, say that you want to speak to a supervisor, NOW or you'll keep calling until you get to one. Tell the supervisor the problem, they will refund you for 4 of the months right then and there and then you have to submit a form in writing to get your remaining credits. Also tell them that you're never shopping there again, they apologize 10 times. I hope this solves everyones problem. Here's the phone number for everyones referenece: [protected]. GOOD LUCK! (:

    2 Votes
  • Je
    jessxcorexx Mar 27, 2012

    Keep in mind, I don't typically do online banking for security purposes. I signed up for this card in June of 2011, and the employee told me that if I change my mind within 30 days I can go back and cancel it, he never mentioned fees or ANYTHING. I didn't even get a "booklet" like everyone else is talking about. He just handed me a credit card sized card. I worked for a retail company who always did the same thing (but the catch is: OURS WAS TRULY FREE) so I thought nothing of it. Sure enough, I thought about it and realized "why would I have 30 days to cancel something that is free, especially since I only shop here once a year?" I went back to the store and the same associate was there, and I told him I had changed my mind. He took my membership card from me and cancelled it. I thought that was that and I was on my way. Well, last night in my rare instance of checking my bank account, I noticed an $11.99 charge for FYE VIP BSP. I was like "What in God's name is this?" So I looked it up, sure enough it was this pesky little card. Going on a history search with my card, they have been charging me $11.99 since July. So I sent the company an e-mail (a not very nice one mind you) basically stating that I want ALL of my money back since they have dishonest, lying employees, or I'm going to get a lawyer (heh I may have went a little overboard). I got a return e-mail within 2 hours. It stated "We're sorry to inform you of this, but if you did not cancel within the 30 day grace period, you must wait a year before you can cancel your account." ARE YOU SERIOUS?! I'm going to give the company a call when they open, I'm going to give them a piece of my mind, and I will NOT let them push me around. I work in customer service and I know how to get what I want, and what I want is my money back. This company is nothing a but a bunch of ### who feel the need to push things on you, and then lie to you when you want to cancel your account. I don't care about your damn ~quota~, what everyone at FYE is doing is WRONG and FRAUDULENT. This company needs to shut down. I'm so done.

    1 Votes
  • Ld
    LDavi74 Mar 14, 2012

    i never signed my name on any paper to authorize any charges, although the receipt says "by signing below and giving my birthdate, i agree to..." there is no signature. plus, the receipt says, in black and white "unless i call to cancel during the 30 day trial, i authorize to autimatically charge $11.99" however, on fye's website it says nothing SAME DAY it was purchased. Now tell me that doesn't sound misleading, especially because i have it in their own written words.

    1 Votes
  • Su
    SummerSin Feb 25, 2012

    Well... I willingly signed up for it.. but because of financial new financial issues I can't' afford to be having almost 12 bucks being taken out of my account for benefits I can't really use in the first place right now. I called to have my membership cancelled... but the guy was almost infuriatingly persistent with trying to convince me to keep the membership. But, after four times of saying "I'd just like the membership cancelled, " he gave me a cancellation number, and that was it. We'll see what happens next month.

    1 Votes
  • De
    DeercaughtinHeadlights Aug 31, 2011

    Well I'm a sales person and I don't convince anyone to get anything. Its wrong but U can;t force anyone to get something they really don't need, I mean come on how often is the average person going to shop at an entertainment center unless you're a DJ or a game addict. I'm paying for something i didn't even know I was signing for, all i know is that the sales person told me I was going to B saving 10% on my purchase today because of a special promotion they had going on. Of course the only thing I heard was 10%. I had no idea I was going to B VIP of anything...So what did I do?...I called my bank and change my ACCOUNT #...Lesson Learned, ..Always listen to what anybody has to say especially when they're trying to sell U something.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    shodges87 Aug 12, 2011

    Please everyone, raise hell with this one. I have called the store manager and have spoken to two people in corporate. I have demanded, and after a lot of ###, finally gotten my signed copies. First of all, the first problem is that they tell you that it is $25 a year, even their WEBSITE it says $25 a year, but they will charge you $11.99 a month. I found out that the only way you agree to it is this: you know how when you use your credit card and you have to sign a slip? The agreement for the $11.99 charge is on THAT.

    Second, even if you cancel it they will continue to charge you. You have to cancel over and over again.


    FILE COMPLAINTS WITH THE FEDERAL TRADE COMMISSION AND THE BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU!!! THIS IS THE ONLY WAY THIS WILL STOP!!! PLEASE DO THIS ASAP!! What they are doing is illegal. It is deceptive business practices and fraud. Please do this for yourself and others.

    2 Votes
  • Cu
    Customer Dan Jul 01, 2011

    I would like to say that during my FYE purchase I was told about the VIP Backstage Pass, I agreed to it, because I planned on canceling the plan within the first few days. Yes, I am a jerk because I wanted to exploit the company 20% (the initial 10 and the other 10 being my birthday) for a Blu Ray video I wanted to buy. Yes, the sales reps from my experience walk you through it so you'd probably have to be pretty dumb to just sign up for something you don't completely understand.

    THAT BEING SAID: Canceling my service was a ###ing NIGHTMARE. My account was created, I called the number and explained. I was *told* that my account would stay active (and that it needed to sit there for a few more days for me to "think about it" and all the "benefits" I'd miss out on blah blah whatever).

    I call in a few days later after sitting on all the "fabulous" benefits and such, and in the call I was told *twice* that they would be keeping my account active. Mind you, they didn't state something like "Are you sure you would like this canceled? Here's all of our great blah blah" no, first they would give you the sales pitch and slip in there that your account would be active and to have a nice day. Luckily for me, before whoever was on the other end hung up I said "No, I do not agree to what you've said and I will keep calling here until this membership is canceled. May I speak to your supervisor?" Then I was given a cancellation number.

    I swear if I see a charge on my card heads will roll.

    0 Votes
  • Fy
    FYE VIP scam Apr 02, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    In response to LoyaltoFYE:
    1. The VIP card is a joke. There is no reason anyone would willingly pay for it. Once I knew I was scammed, I actually did try to see if the thing had any value to it. But as I mentioned in my earlier post, that "large variety of stores" you mention was basically just a bunch of Dunkin Donuts and Dominos Pizza locations, for which you can probably get the same exact coupons online for free.

    2. The cashiers don't take your information. They (well the register does) just save your credit card number. Which is why when I actually checked out my VIP account online the address they had for me was wrong, since I never actually gave them one.

    1 Votes
  • Lo
    LoyaltoFYE Apr 01, 2011

    I understand the frustration of having sales associates omitting information but this can all be avoided if everyone would just pay a little attention to what is going on and read a receipt before signing. These offers are for FYE customers who are loyal and the program can be very useful if utilized correctly. All the information you need can be found on the web site fyevip.com or by calling the number previously listed.

    There are two card available for FYE, first is the The Backstage Pass which is $25 for the year. After you spend $250 it pays for itself then you save 10% on every purchase after that, clearly for someone who shops there often. Then the VIP is Free for one month and a monthly charge of $9.99 or $11.99 per month after that which is for people who love coupons and has a printer. You save 10% in FYE stores and can print coupons from the website for a large verity of stores.

    Another thing that bothers me is all this talk of FYE associates somehow inputting information they haven't been given. Are they faking the information or getting it out of you without your knowledge? If the case is a bad associate not letting you know all the information for what you are signing up for then that really sucks for the company because they don't intend on ripping people off. Yes FYE is under pressure with the increase of ILLEGAL downloading but they still have customers who choose to support their favorite artist or actor or go just because (in a good case) knows an associate and trusts their judgement on entertainment. This is a specialty entertainment store with many different options for their loyal customers and people passing by take that for granted.

    These are hard times and a lot of people and companies are strapped for money so when things like this happen blood starts to boil and when that happens people don't always draw the right conclusion or react in a manor of sense. Read receipts that you sign or packets of info you receive, call and talk to a manager or go online for additional info. All these things can help aid you in preventing a bad experience with one associate and taking it out on the entire company.

    -3 Votes
  • Ph
    PHHowes Nov 24, 2010

    I signed up at the store, received the discount on my BluRay. I was interested in the discount at AMC and when that didn't work I called and cancelled. I spoke with Martin who was very helpful and that was it. The number for the customer service is [protected] and after that there was a little bit of automation and then Martin.

    0 Votes
  • Bu
    bugmenot2 Oct 28, 2010

    I bought a CD (stupid) from FYE for $20 (stupid) and got hit with the same scam on my debit card. I occasionally make dumb mistakes, though: circa 2003, I bought a copy of Jesus Christ Superstar from FYE, and ended up with a $40 charge to Sam Goody's and a subscription to People Magazine.

    Basically, this company exists by ripping people off, because the price of entertainment has dropped almost to zero. I can watch the movie I bought on Hulu for free now. I can listen to the CD on youtube, or buy it for 6 dollars on Amazon or iTunes. FYE's market is gone, and that's why they're so heavy-handed about these promotions.

    I cancelled my debit card and got a new one, rather than deal with getting them to stop the charge. Today I finally got my first letter from them, asking me to put my card information on a "charge authorization form" so that my "benefits" won't expire. I'm shivering. I'll never go there again, they're on their way out of business, and soon their assets will be liquidated and/or donated to Goodwill for tax write-offs. CDs and DVDs are obsolete.

    2 Votes
  • Ka
    kailin_aisling Sep 07, 2010

    You don't have to give any information. These A-holes are linking this card to DEBIT CARDS without any prior information. NOTHING else was provided by myself. I declined the card, and paid for my purchase with my debit card. 3 months later, I notice I've been being charged 11.99 monthly for this effing card. I don't like accusing people of dishonesty, but this is ridiculous. So I go into my local FYE store today, after reading this stuff. I ask about the VIP card. I'm explained to that it's free, blah blah, so i ask to see the paper work and sign up- to which the cashier tells me, to come back when I'm ready to make my purchase, and they'll link the card to my credit or debit card to save me having to fill the paper work out, and so its discount is applied with every purchase! I respond, that's ok I'm not buying today, so I'll just take a look at the paperwork, and fill it out. They said they cant do that. I ask why. Get a run around. So then I say, "could it be, because its not free and you're fraudulently charging people for this card even when they decline it, and fail to sign ANYTHING asking for it?" I got asked to leave the store for "Disturbing customers". Screw FYE. And RedNinja, they are doing this to people. Without consent. Without a signature.

    1 Votes
  • Hu
    HumanScam Aug 27, 2010

    Pay attention to what a cashier is saying to you dumb dumb.

    At my local FYE I was purchasing $50+ worth of merchandise. The cashier told me that I would save 10% on my purchase so I did. they also explained that if I did not call and cancel I would be charged after the first 30 days of having the card. I went home and hung the discount card on my fridge. The following Monday I called and cancelled my card. The man on the phone tried again to get me to keep my card. To which I replied "I want to cancel my card". He then gave me a confirmation number. I checked my records and there was no charge. People always look for someone else to blame when things don't go their way. I'm sure that there are associates who are unethical, that's undeniable. To criticize the organization as a whole is ridiculous. If you were talking to a customer and they told you about a discount card and you were not paying attention to them because you didn't think they deserved your attention then you deserve to be scammed I say. but in my situation the person spoke, I listened, and I benefitted.

    -2 Votes
  • Ay
    ayoungbird Jul 01, 2010

    Well my husband and I have never even heard of f.y.e. as we do not have one here. I do not know how we got charged 11.99. we do not have a card or packet or anything so i had to call the number on my bank statement to even find out who this charge was. So like the Slovakian i am confused who/how this charge appeared on my card. No i am not stupid, i did not sign any papers at any store (again there are none here--had no idea who they are) and I did not give out information to a sales associate unless f.y.e has another store name possibly. I have a JUSTICE for girls club card, lol.

    0 Votes
  • Fy
    FYE VIP scam May 21, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I too was scammed by the FYE Backstage Pass VIP club.

    I shop at FYE occasionally, and know about their yearly membership to get a discount just at FYE, but had never signed up for it. I worked at a mall this holiday season and whenever I shopped at FYE the clerk would ask me if I wanted it and usually I would just say no thanks. But one time they were offering what I thought was a free trial of it and you could get a $20 gift card as well. I was told the first month is free but after that it's $12. Silly me for thinking that it was $12 a year to get discounts on a few CD's, when in reality it was $12 A MONTH (which the clerk failed to mention).

    I had planned on cancelling it after the month anyway, but forgot, so I got the initial $12 charge. So I'm thinking, well I guess I have it for a year now. But the next month I got charged again so I called to see what was up. I come to find out it is in fact $12 a month, because it's not just for FYE, it's also for "thousands of locations nationwide, " which were pretty much just a bunch of Domino's Pizza and Dunkin Donuts locations. When I called they also verified my name and address, which was somewhat close to what it really was but was completely wrong. So they said since they had the wrong information, they would give me a month for free, and since I didn't even know it could be used at other places, I said fine. Since I now had it for another two months, not long after that I filled out the form for the gift card (with the correct address on it).

    So the two months go by, and still no gift card. I figured I wouldn't cancel it right away because I was still waiting for the gift card (but by now of course I had spent more on the membership than the $20, but I wanted to use the gift card along with the discount). More time goes by and still no gift card, so a little over a week ago I give up on the gift card and call to cancel before it charges me for the month. The guy answers and asks if I got the gift card, I said no. He said the address it was sent to, which was the WRONG ADDRESS that they had from before. He says my membership is still active until the 18th, I said fine. He then mumbles something like "OK we will keep your account active" and hangs up without giving me any type of confirmation number or anything. Silly me again for thinking that it was actually cancelled and he meant we will keep your account active until the 18th, when he really meant we will keep your account active until forever. Of course, a few days later, I get the $12 charge again (actually it was still processing). As soon as I see that I call again, and this time I talk to a woman, and she tries to give me a different spiel about sending me 4 $10 rebates in addition to another free month. I said no you had my address wrong last time what makes me think you'll get it right this time, and eventually she gives up and says my account is cancelled as of that day and gives me a confirmation number.

    Silly me one last time for thinking that that last charge wouldn't go through. It did, so if I get charged another month I will be filing a complaint with the BBB.

    0 Votes
  • Si
    Sioela Apr 20, 2010

    I have had the regular Backstage Pass for a while. It was 25$ a year, and saved me a percentage at the store. That was great considering I worked at a mall, and like shopping at my local suncoast.

    Well I moved to another state, and much to my glee I found a suncoast in my podunk miserable little town. I went in to browse, chose a few movies, and found out I needed to renew my Backstage Pass. Well, I wasn't worried, its was 25$ a year, I verified with the clerk.

    She said, Yes it is 25$ a year. If you want to upgrade, you can for 10$ a month. Its called Backstage VIP

    Me: No thanks. I only want the regular Backstage Pass. I dont need or want the VIP.

    She asked: Are you certain?

    Me: Yes, I do not want the additional charge.

    I checked my receipts read everything before buying and asked the clerk to double check that I only had the regular Backstage Pass. She confirmed it.

    LO AND BEHOLD... i am getting charged 10$ a &^&*^( month for a service i SPECIFICALLY said no to.

    So, FYE needs to get their ### together, and quit cheating their customers. This is ridiculous. I have cancelled my membership.

    1 Votes
  • Pi
    PinkNinja Apr 07, 2010

    Who the hell do you think you're calling uneducated? How about I give you my address and I'll show you just how uneducated I am!? You little twit... You sit there and cry about poor you losing your job if you don't ram enough of these VIP cards down peoples' throats! Did you ever think maybe you should look for a better job, that maybe lying to people in order to get ahead isn't morally responsible?
    Because, in essence, that's what you're doing.
    But let me guess: not you. You NEVER left out *any details! Whatever. You're a piece of sh--.
    I'm smarter than you honey and make far more money, I'm sure.
    And did I mention anywhere in my complaint that my child was screaming or that my child was even with me?? LMAO

    -1 Votes
  • Re
    redninja Apr 04, 2010

    I'm not supporting ANYTHING! I tell my customers 100% what they are getting. Before I let them sign, I tell them that "If you don't call this number in 30 days, it's 11.99 a month that gets charged to this card."

    Half of these complaints are BULL! You can't just sign someone up without all of their information!

    And do you know what it's like to LOSE YOUR JOB if you don't get enough sales? I agree that some cashiers can trick you into something... but you, the customer, still need to AGREE TO IT!

    "I'd love to see you stand there, in public, and thoroughly read the crap most cashiers hand people."
    Um... if someone just signed me up for something... using my credit card... you damn well believe I'd take the time to read a small paragraph that is not only on my packet... but on my damn reciept! In about 10 words!! It's the contract you sign for us! So don't sit there and blame Fye.

    You know what? the backstage bass and fye AREN'T RELATED! We could care less if you keep it. Either does the company. It's not our job to make you keep it.

    Bottom line:
    As Sean claims, it's pressure. DMs will fire you in a heartbeat if you don't meet your quota. And while I don't "trick" people, I do know some cashiers do. But, even so, you'd have to be a complete idiot to fall for it. Even if a cashier uses a fake phone number, zip code... whatever... and just slides your card... you still need to sign a seperate sheet of paper that has the contract of you signing the card. And, they have to scan the actual card... then sit there and fill everything in... most customers would question what the cashier was doing.
    Most people would read a contract before signing something that isn't a credit card slip...
    And you get your money back ANYWAY if you complain enough to the backstage pass company.
    Even if the FYE was closed... it doesn't matter. FYE can't cancel the card for you. Can't get your money back. As I said, they are two seperate things. It's the backstage pass the screws you over, NOT FYE.

    And I'm stupid? Who signs up for something when their kid is screaming? Most educated people would say "I'm sorry, I'm busy." Because, when people do sign up for the backstage pass, THEY ASK ABOUT IT FIRST! They just don't go "oh, okay!"... sign a contract... then run off.

    -1 Votes
  • Se
    SeanRuediger Apr 03, 2010

    &&& Pinkninja:

    The $20.00 gift card you don't automatically get in the mail, you have to mail out for it yourself using the slip included in the VIP discount card package. It's in the little folder. A lot of people were confused about this and I agree -- it's confusing and misleading. The whole thing is a big scam, and I don't support it, but guess what -- I sold it to hundreds of people for 10 months, and I regret it entirely. It's honestly a rip-off.

    2 Votes
  • Se
    SeanRuediger Apr 03, 2010

    My name is Sean. I was a previous sales associate working for FYE (Trans World Entertainment). I am very familiar with this VIP discount card you all are talking about. It's called a "Backstage Pass Card." There are two versions of it the BSP and the BSPVIP. The Backstage Pass is only a $25.00 fee a year to have the card, and you save 10% off your purchase everytime oyu come in to FYE. The Backstage Pass VIP is a discount card that works for FYE, but also thousands of other locations in the area, such as restaurants, airfare, hotels, etc. You also save the same 10% discount for FYE as well. It was originally $9.99 a month to keep the card, prior to November 2009, but after November, the company changed the card's renewal fee to $11.99 a month. To even get the BSPVIP card, you'll have to pay by a credit card, so if you WANT TO keep it, it'll be a $11.99 renewal fee.

    The information above is listed in the fine print on the card's booklet, as well as the receipt you HAD TO sign to even be charged for the card. If you were signed up for the card, the company's rules were you had to sign two receipts -- One approving of the transaction, and another one which AGREES to the FINE PRINT that if you DO NOT CANCEL AFTER THE FIRST MONTH, it will be an $11.99 charge to your card to KEEP the discount card. You also get a $20.00 FYE gift card if you kept it for two months, meaning, you get the first month free and you pay $11.99 to keep the card for the month.

    To even sign up for the card though you need the following information for our records and computers: First & Last Name, Full Address (City, State, Zip), Phone Number, Email Address. Without the above information, it would be a fraud to even charge someone with the card UNLESS you STILL signed both receipts WITHOUT reading the fine print on them. (Note: ALWAYS read the fine print!!!) The sales associate might have put in fake information to charge you though, so who knows.

    The experience I have had with this card isn't pleasant, nor is the time I have had working for FYE or Trans World Entertainment. I have seen the true colors of this company for whom they really are, and I'll be honest -- It has disappointed me. To one of the commenters above, yes, there is a quota each sales associate has to obtain a day and a week for these Backstage Pass VIP cards. Actually, we have a quota for a lot of things; reserves, bsp, bspvip, special orders, magazine subscriptions, etc... This is part of the reason why I left the company, because of this quota. It was rather demeaning to my own being having to sell these discount cards to people that obviously didn't want them.

    I do not support FYE, Trans World Entertainment, nor these Backstage Pass VIP cards. To put this all on a lighter note, I believe that the experiences you guys have had might have been a misunderstanding, or just crooked sales associates trying to make their quota, because believe me -- I have had my managers and district managers breathing down my neck if I didn't make the quota or make "good numbers."

    I apologize to everyone that has had a hard time with the company. I am on your side and I'm quite familiar with the frustration. I just wish that you all will understand that it probably wasn't the sales associates fault. It might have been pressure to push harder for the company or the risk of losing your job. It's a shame honestly. It really is.

    2 Votes
  • Du
    Dummy1234 Mar 30, 2010

    Now I see why Redninja is such an advocate! I had no idea you worked for them! Is this your job, to sit here and defend?? Why don't you get to work on the cashiers who conveniently forget to tell the stupid customer there is a monthly fee?!

    4 Votes
  • Pi
    PinkNinja Mar 30, 2010

    I feel the same way about this VIP crap! I was in a hurry, shopping for a picky 10 year old in a massive crowd-- all fighting for overpriced dvd's and cd's-- when the cashier asked me to sign up for the rewards program! She knew I was distracted and was in a hurry so she quickly asked for my zip code and phone number. I never gave my actual address and she had my name from my credit card. She looked me right in the eye and said to go online and finish the registration. Here I thought it was like a bonus card-- one you'd use at a grocery store. She NEVER mentioned there is a monthly fee!
    Of course my bank statement came and there it was... $11.99. I *immediately* cancelled. He said he was sending a $20 gift card for being an "active member" for 2 months. (I shopped there ONCE) Another month went by... no gift card but yet another charge for the membership! About a week later the gift card arrived. How nice! I was *thrilled*!! And so was my 10 year old! Here I thought it was sent for being inconvenienced! LOL!! Yeah... it wasn't.
    I called to cancel the membership, yet again, only to find the offices were closed until Monday. Typical.
    I immediately took my son back to FYE to quickly use the card. Well... we get there and the friggen store had CLOSED!! Not just closed for the night, but no longer in business!! I was LIVID to say the least! I drove 28+ miles to another location to find that that store was also in mid closing sales--- which meant there wasn't much left.
    So...REDNINJA, congrats to you for being so smart! You *never have done something inadvertently?? BULL-----! I'd love to see you stand there, in public, and thoroughly read the crap most cashiers hand people. LMAO
    "Get a life"??? Really? Do you normally go to random sites and tell people how it is?? You're an idiot.

    2 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.