Fast Growing Trees NurseryItems sold not as described / Merchant refuses to accept return and refuses to refund charges

E
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer
Review updated:

Had to deal with Fast Growing Trees Nursery http://www.fast-growing-trees.com/indexT.htm... An online merchant offering plants for sale - wanted to save myself from having to move the trees from the nursery as they promised them to be shipped to my doorsteps ... Trees arrived and wasn't what I was expecting, and since there is no visual aid on the merchant's page http://www.fast-growing-trees.com/ThujaGiantT.htm, I called back to request authorization to ship them back - was told they wouldn't take them back and wouldn't give me a refund... Can provide pictures of Fast Growing Trees Nursery trees as they compare to the once I had to go pick out in the local nursery - for barely under 2ft /10 inch wide at the Fast Growing Trees Nursery I was charged $37.46 v. 5ft /20 inch wide for $25 a pieces I got from a local nursery. Never again will I deal with Fast Growing Trees Nursery - their customer service reps are rude and not as nearly as knowledgeable as they want to be...

Responses

  • Ar
    ARshad Nazar Mar 08, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    One of the certified seller of fast-growing Citrus - USCitrus
    https://uscitrus.com/blogs/citrus-simplified/tagged/meyer-lemon-tree

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Karin evans Sep 21, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Laughable scam, except it will cost you whatever you paid. My "tree" was a 6 inch high beat up little plant. I immediately got in touch, sent photos of plant and box as requested, and requested a refund. No answer. Repeated my communication. No answer. They are a professional rip-off business. Order something and you can expect to pay three times the cost at your local nursery, to receive a plant that is far smaller than shown on their site, and to be solidly ignored after that. They have your money, you have a sick twig.

    0 Votes
  • Su
    Support Your Local Merchants Sep 05, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Ditto on these complaints. Do not order from these people. I paid $120 plus shipping for a 5'-7' tree that arrived as a 5' twig with no branches and just a few yellow/brown leaves. Not a single green leaf on this supposedly healthy tree. The tree was shipped in August so it wasn't a question of going dormant. I went to a local nursery as I should have done in the first place and there they had 20' monsters fully branched with green leaves for $235. Basically four times the value had I bought locally. The warranty states that you have to call within five days of receiving it to put a note on the sale and then, if the plant dies within 45 days, they will give you 100% credit. The problem is, this "tree" will probably live past the 45 days but even if it did die I wouldn't want another twig from these people. Note the reply from the company above that their warranty is the same as others in the industry. Bull. I have purchased shrubs from Wayside Gardens and Park Seed and rec'd a free replacement plant when the original plant died.

    0 Votes
  • Ty
    Tyler123 Jun 25, 2012

    This is the worst tree scam site ever. I ordered a $40 cold hardy banana tree and I got a royal empress tree for free. I got two leaves, not trees, that weren't even two inches tall. Don't waste your money at this horrible site.. They false advertise and they have terrible customer service, don't shop from them!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    RobertIsley May 26, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I placed an order in 2010 for a hybrid poplar tree. I got a skinny 1/2 wide twig in a narrow box, not what I was expecting after you check out their website. I am into my third growing season and it still is a skinny little twig in my back yard. I called them after it was planted for a few months complianing about the lack of growth and they said I would have to wait till the 2nd growing season to see some significant growth. I called them last year 2011 and complained and they said it was out of warrenty for any type of refund. It has only grown a couple inches in 3 seasons. DO NOT BUY FROM THESE PEOPLE. I wish I had spent a little more and went to the local nursery. Here is a recent picture.

    Comments

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    ScamBuster007 May 12, 2012

    Crappy customer service to say the least. The trees arrived wilted with the soil completely dry. I emailed their so-called customer service and got a canned response pointing me to a web site with planting directions. Whether the wilted trees will come back to life is still unknown but one thing is a certainty: I am not ordering plants from that fast-growing-trees.com ever again.

    0 Votes
  • Ar
    ARCZ Oct 27, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am so glad I found this post! I was going to order a few trees from them and now I won't! Thank you for the heads up!

    0 Votes
  • Ga
    Gardener from Ohio Oct 07, 2011

    My experience with www.fast-growing-trees.com was disappointing and frustrating. I would never order from them again and will take any opportunity to let others know not to deal with this company. The tree was dead on arrival. In my opinion, a tree that doesn't even start out alive shouldn't be covered by the warranty--any warranty would assume that you start with satisfactory product--especially a $100 product. It appears to me they are now hiding behind a warranty. It feels like they ship inferior product, make their profit and then retain that profit by having the customer foot the bill for the real cost for any replacement and shipping. In my opinion, it felt like a rip-off. "Customer Service" was insulting and frustrating to deal with (including the part where they insinuated I was lying)--they had me in tears. DO NOT ORDER FROM WWW.FAST-GROWING-TREES.COM. As a side note, I ordered an orchard full of trees from Miller Nurseries and had great results (we do know how to plant trees). We had a tree that didn't make it. Miller Nurseries sent a replacement at no charge (and didn't even charge for shipping). Totally happy with Miller--both products and service. They know how to treat customers right.

    0 Votes
  • Kl
    klgkiwi Jun 02, 2011

    I ordered a Dwarf Red Delicious Apple Tree for my son as an Easter gift. I thought the price was a bit high but it was supposed to bear fruit the first year and be 6-7 feet tall.
    I visited him this Memorial Day weekend and saw the tree which was planted one month ago. I was grossly dissappointed in the tree. It was small, and very skimpy. Appears to be dying with dried branches. It was planted properly in a partially shaded area and watered regularly. We visited a local nursery for advice on how to treat the tree and was told they are not indiginous to South Carolina and won't grow well there. I picked it from the website's page for South Carolina. Also we bought two more trees from the nursery for only 12 dollars each and they were 2-3 times the size and heartier trees. I called the company when I returned home and was told their trees are grown indoors and measured from the bottom of the pot to the top of the tree. They made no offer of replacement or apology for the inferior product. Needless to say I would not order from this company again and would advise anyone shopping for trees to go to a local nursery instead.

    0 Votes
  • Gh
    G. Heaney May 25, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I ordered an azalea and a hydrangea. They arrived in the same box and half of the azalea branches were knocked off by the hydrangea and the hydrangea had 49 leaves (which is more than what are left on the plant after they told me I could cut the bad leaves off) which were turning black so I asked for a replacement of that too. They are replacing the azalea but refuse to replace the hydrangea because they are an outside nursery and because of the rain this year, the plants have water damage. No apology for sending it in this condition but I should plant it and wait 2-3 weeks and new leaves should come out. They will not replace it and I consider this to be deceptive advertising because if the stock is water damaged that should have been noted on their website so you would have the option of ordering from that stock.

    I would never recommend ordering from them, I'm sorry I ever heard of them. They could have absorbed the business loss for the water damage and not inflicted the damaged plants on the public.

    0 Votes
  • Te
    texas gardener Apr 18, 2011

    Same problem here -- not as described and dead within 2 weeks! The "tree" was really a stick the diameter of a pencil, no leaves. Wendy Sea from Fast Growing Trees posted a comment on here that speaks volumes for her company -- "I sincerely wish consumers would read the terms of service before placing an order on any website." Perhaps we all should have read these reviews instead of their terms of service to get the truth.

    0 Votes
  • Mh
    mhoran Mar 09, 2011

    ordered nagami kumquat tree 3-5 feet-tree came in 2 weeks -large specimen-well packed good condition-will order again

    0 Votes
  • Ea
    earthcrazy Jan 07, 2011

    It sounds to me that "Wendy Sea, " from Fast-Growing Trees, and "20WahWah10" are the same person. I was going to purchase several trees from them this spring, but now I am DEFINITELY not going to. If I were buying a $15 or $20 tree, I would expect the poor service. You get what you pay for, right? Fast-Growing Trees has some of the highest prices on the web and even locally. When you are paying $99 for a tree, it better arrive alive and ready to thrive. It appears that they assume that someone who is willing to buy a "quality" tree and has money to spend on some of the highest priced trees would NEED to try to rip them off. They are misrepresenting their product and should be dealt with accordingly. Sending a dead tree is THEIR responsibility and not the customer's. Mail order is also regulated, so this shouldn't be taking place. I think it's clear that their customer service is only good when it benefits them. I noticed there is not a "chat" like "Wendy Sea" had mentioned on a previous post. If their business is so good and they are thriving with loyal customers, you would think they wouldn't even hesitate to refund the few that have complaints; although, I bet there are many more out there that just haven't posted on this site yet. I also noticed that they have several growers all over the U.S. and I think that makes it difficult for them to control quality. Go somewhere else! Put less of your money at risk. That's what I'm doing and if that doesn't work, I will have to find a local nursery that can order the trees I want since we don't have much of a variety of the dwarfs where I live. That way, hopefully someone will take responsibility for their product.

    0 Votes
  • Aj
    A,J Dec 29, 2010

    Thank You folks for your posting I was about to order 26 Thujas I will be heading to my local nursery Thank You for saving me a head ache just like most buisnesses in north carolina are ripp offs and scammers BBB gives all buisnesses a C rating in north carolina

    0 Votes
  • Si
    simon from NJ Nov 22, 2010

    I bought a weeping willow tree from them. It claimed to be 5-7 feet. I received the tree, and the height is right. but it is so thin, literately only one branch. It cost me $100. I would have bought a better one in local nursery with the same price!! I would not recommend buying tree from this company!

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    John90 Nov 12, 2010

    So the scam continues, another well-documented complaint: http://www.poloniainfo.com/fast-growing-trees-scam.html

    1 Votes
  • Ct
    ctbcomplain Sep 26, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Elisabeth_Burch - I called my bank about what to do. Their suggestion was to return the plants with proof of delivery and if they refused to process the refund, initiate a chargeback.

    Unfortunately, that costs a good bit of money, so I ultimately chose instead to simply eat my mistake in doing business with these [censor], rip out the underdeveloped, sickly crap they sent me and replace it with real trees from a local nursery. Live and learn.

    Also, consider filing a complaint with the BBB. They already have a C rating with 75 complaints against them. Can't hurt to help warn others about these crooks.

    0 Votes
  • El
    Elisabeth_Burch Sep 24, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This place is horrible. I wish I had read these reviews before I ordered. Everything on their website is nothing but glowing recommendations. It's obvious they only publish the positive reviews.

    I ordered blueberry bushes from them and paid almost $30 each for what was supposed to be 3 year old stock. Definitely did not receive three year old stock and if it was 3 years old, it must have been living in some horrible conditions. Plants are extremely small and the leaves all have leaf spot on them. They look horrible. I tried submitting a complaint through their online contact form and got a bounce back. I'm sure this will end up being $200 wasted. I'll try Visa first thing in the morning to see if they will do anything.

    0 Votes
  • Ct
    ctbcomplain Aug 12, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    To anybody in this situation - my credit card company advised me that I could simply return the items whether they liked it or not and, then, if they did not issue a refund, a dispute could be started over the charge on the card.

    Don't let them try and tell you that you can't return things. They can't stop you from resealing the box and shipping it back if (when?) they ship you complete garbage that barely qualifies as a tall weed. They can try and refuse the package or not process a

    Best bet if you're reading this though? Just don't buy from them. They have a C- rating with the BBB, dozens of complaints lodged against them with the BBB (including mine) and the complaints in reviews about them all come back to the same thing: particularly poor quality product and high prices.

    The most telling part of all this about their real status, though? Read their bizarre responses to these complaints. They never really try to address the complaints or reach out to come to an equitable resolution, they just keep saying "but our website has this policy or that policy and it's your fault you didn't read it!"

    That's not customer service, that's a sign of a company that knows bloody well it's ripping people off and just doesn't care. They appear to be trying to play the numbers game: buys lots of domains, hide behind different names and just hope that the volume of purchases generated from this practice outweighs the volume of complaints, returns, and chargebacks.

    Just go to a local nursery and pay for delivery or rent a truck. It'll be cheaper, you'll get a better product you can review before you buy, and if you have a problem you don't have to deal with their attitude through email (although, to be fair, I was so infuriated at the awful quality trees they sent that I couldn't restrain myself from tearing into them right from the start when I contacted them).

    0 Votes
  • Bd
    bdell17 Jul 20, 2010

    I ordered a 7ft Tulip Poplar tree. What I received was a 7Ft Tulip Poplar BRANCH with some leaves. My index finger is thicker then the so called trunk. I emailed customer service to complain and they said the tree is fine. If you want to return it pay the freight and a 25% restocking charge plus more costs if the tree is not received in good condition. No where on their site do they indicate they will be shipping a branch. Any slight wind will knock it down; and won't hold the weight of a bird. What a rip-off, stay away. I disputed the charge with amex and have no intention of paying it.

    0 Votes
  • Js
    j s olsen Jul 01, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    heres the pics

    Comments
    Comments
    Comments
    Comments

    0 Votes
  • Js
    j s olsen Jul 01, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    DO NOT BUY FROM FAST GROWING TREES!!!

    I purchased 2 cherry trees, 1 heritage raspberry, and 4 thornless blackberry bushes. The first shipment came with acceptable results except the thornless blackberry bushes. First thing I did was email this company pictures of the unacceptable blackberry bushes, i waited over an hour for a response. Tired of waiting for a response i called [protected] and the guy on their end tries to weasel his way out of a bad product costing me $160, i wouldn't budge and he finally agreed to send 4 replacements for the blackberry bushes. I figured they got it right this time... Today the "replacements" came in. These people are ridiculous all 4 are dead plants. So i email the "replacements" pics to them and state at the end of the message that I will call in 15 minutes. I called and was told they would send 4 more blackberry bushes, I said hell no i'm not doing this again either refund or let me pick something you guys cant screw up. Shortly after this conversation I received an email with a code for $159.80 so again i figured this company might be okay... I was wrong the website wont let me order anything. It will accept the code and then will promptly state that there is no shipping options available for this address (mine) and to either input a different address or click here to contact them, once you click on the link provided it transfer you to a product review page. I called this company back and was told i had to input my credit card for shipping (someone named Brian([protected]) heres the catch the only place to enter the code is on the page previous to the credit card info, and once you use the code it skips the credit card page. To use the credit card page you must skip the code page. So these D-bags are trying to get me to pay another $160 which would not be refunded once i was "tricked" into paying with my card. As stated previous DO NOT ORDER FROM FAST GROWING TREES!

    0 Votes
  • Cd
    CDT Jun 17, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Received Cleveland Pear tree on 4/15/10. Lime green worm inside box and had eaten leaves. Notified company. Sent pictures 4/23/10 and have not received any response.
    On 5/20/10 sent in another note. As of 6/17/10 have received n0 notice. Very dissapointed as the tree has further detiereated and now is a stick. This is after I have watered the tree every day since it was placed in the ground. This is not a way to do business. I would NOT RECCOMEND BUYING anything from this company.
    CDT in Highland Village, Texas.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    shegrows May 27, 2010

    Bought raspberries, grapes and peach and cherry trees. One peach arrived in decent shape, the other arrived half dead with no leaves or buds anywhere to be found. Cherry trees were terribly droopy and arrived in cracked pots...as did all of the raspberry plants. Customer service replied that I should give them a couple of weeks but now the cherry trees are yellowing and browning and the leaves are falling off and still wilted and the peach still has no leaves or buds. I again contacted customer service who tells me they will replace them but I have to pay 25% of the tree cost plus shipping. I understand the shipping but when reading the FAQ is states that replacement includes the cost of shipping and handling and not shipping and handling plus 25% of the tree cost.
    This is simply not right as the trees did not bounce back in a couple of days as promised and one arrived nearly dead and now I have to pay to replace it when it should have never been packed and sent in the condition it was in.
    Called a friend who was getting ready to order 100 trees for her acreage and stopped her before she made a huge mistake. Should have listened to friends and bought locally.
    Grapes and raspberries however are doing well...so far.
    I am a very experienced gardener and even called our city arborist to come take a look. he told me the peach tree the cherry trees were incorrectly potted for shipping and the peach was partially dead when it was sent to me.
    Don't make the same mistake I did. Buy local...unless you are purchasing grapes and raspberries.

    0 Votes
  • Lj
    L. J. May 19, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I ordered tow shrubs from their site called "Brighter Blooms" nursery. I only figured out the two were connected when FGT was the one that actually sent the trees. One was absolutely great (until winter hit), but one was a different plant than I ordered. I called within an hour, only to find that thier "message mailbox was full". I sent several emails with pics and continued to call MULTIPLE times (thanksfully, I noted each time I contacted, so they could not use the 48 hour rule; which they tried anyway). They kept saying that they didn't get my emails, or that their customer service girl I spoke with was "no longer with the company", etc., etc. I was more than happy to return the wrong shrub to them, but THEY refused, and tried to make it sound like my fault. Hello?! I have my order form and the shrub they sent was incorrect. How can that possibly be my fault? I understand they have the right to make ridiculous customer service requirements, and they do, but not fulfilling an order properly IS NOT THE FAULT OF THE CUSTOMER!!! After I disputed it with my credit card company, to which they never responded, my credit card company credited me back the amount. After that, the manager called an insisted that she was sending my correct shrub and would be charging my account. She claimed she had a "right" to do that, but I explained that she had chosen not to respond to my complaints, had not answered the credit card company within the 90 days, any attempt to resubmit my order would be frauldulent. She said she was still going to. I told her to go ahead and try and that I would have her prosecuted to the full extent of the law if she did. She ended the call insisting she had "rights". I guess she thought better of it, because i never received a shipment and she never attempted to charge my card.

    If you have complaints about this company, contact the NC atty general's office. That was going to be my next step, but she gave up. As for the wrong tree that I still kept trying to send back to them...it died during the "negotiations". No surprise.

    0 Votes
  • Dc
    dclady May 11, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    DO NOT BUY FROM FAST GROWING TREES. i called to cancel my order of 1 tree jsut 1 day after placing the order which of course was no where near ready to ship...and they charged me a $10 cancellation fee. WTF! they have yet to refund my debit card. i wish i had read these posts first before placing the order.

    I glad it was jsut one $39.99 tress and not 20 of them like I was planning. i'm not edpecting a refund. i may have to callmy bank to tell them that i have no idea what the charge is and let them send it back to fast growing trees.

    0 Votes
  • 20
    20WahWah10 May 01, 2010

    I recently purchased a few Royal Empresses, Crepe Myrtles, and Purple Ash Trees from Fast Growing Trees and I was extremly pleased with my trees when I recieved them. Of course, some were small but I was not under the impression that they sold mature trees from the get go, so I was not disappointed when my so-called twigs arrived. This is because they sell young trees, with a few exceptions. And if most of the people on here would have actually read their entire website, which is slam full of information, they would not have expected to recieve some huge, overflowing with leaves tree, that was ready to be planted with no waiting for the end results. I for one, like to watch my trees grow with me throughout the years, so this was not a big deal to me. As well, their terms of service, replacement and refund policy were as reasonable as anyone elses. If you get the tree and just dont like it, you are gonna pay to send it back to them, and also pay a restocking fee of 10 bucks. This is fair. They took the time to take your order, process your order, pick your tree, package your tree, and ship your tree to you, and be there for any questions or concerns you may have. They cannot help you just did not like the tree. And if you recieve the tree damaged, then all they ask is that you take a pic, fill out their replacement form online, and submit. I think they want to see thatt he trees damaged because anyone could call in claiming they got a damaged tree so that they could get a free one. Dang, they would go out of business if they allowed that because everyone would take advantage of it. They also have one year guarantee if your tree does not grow as expected. Up to 90 days and you get 75% store credit, which is only fair. If I have had the tree for 90 days and it does not grow, I could be doing something wrong, so it is not fair they issue me every dime of my purchase back. After all, they sold me the tree; a tree they will never get back; and exspecially not after it has died. And who can guarentee that ever tree is absolutely going to grow and not die. It depends where the person is planting it and how they are taking care of it; what region they are in, the kind of tree it is, etc. And anywhere from the 90 days up to a year, you get a 50% store credit if it dies or just will not grow. Duh! This is all on their website. I seen some people comment on how others give lifetime guareentees. What, so ten years later because you got lazy and did not take care of the tree, you can call in and get a free tree. Or a bad storm comes and rips it down, you can scream free tree. Whatever people. I called in and got nothing but the nicest and most helpful people on the phone, and they even sent me out more info on my tree so that I could understand how to fully care for it. Get A Grip. You shop online and all you want to do is complain complain when what you should really do is read the info that is provided and quit talking about companies being deceptive just because you interpretted what you read in the way you wanted it to read. Personally I will be shopping with them again

    0 Votes
  • Co
    Coach Mac Apr 20, 2010

    You all just saved me $1, ooo... Too bad the company is allowed to continue ripping the consumer like they do... Maybe congress ought to loom into it, they have their nose in everyone else's business...

    0 Votes
  • Mr
    Mr. Green Jeans Apr 05, 2010

    This company's site should really be called fast-growing-twigs.com

    Buyer beware! Check out their rating at BBB online. It's terrible with an abundance of complaints. I suggest you spend the money at your local nursery ang get the trees you really need. There are no deals here and I doubt I'll live long enough to ever see this thing bloom! $60 down the drain...

    A picture speaks a thousand words. Here's mine...

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    julia glenn Mar 09, 2010

    I have just got off the phone after two days of frustrating conversations with Debbie the Office Manager.
    We ordered some crepe myrtles for my brotherin law and sister from this company because we had had very good luck with five crepe myrtles the same height ordered two years ago. The new shrubs were a quarter the size of the ones I received two years ago and $10 more. I was horrified since I had recommended the company.
    They insisted that I go all the way back to the house with another person and take a picture of the trees with a yard stick, or they would not give me the discount. When I sent the pictures, Debbie said it was hard to see the plants. OF COURSE IT WAS. THEY WERE BARELY WISPS!!! so she would only give me the $5 discount per tree anyway.
    I am really disgusted and horrified by the unsympathetic way I was treated. I don't know how I am going to explain all this to my sister and brother in law who thought they would get nice big shrubs like mine.
    They have certainly lost my business and that of all my family and they deserve to lose more business from the people who check this site.

    0 Votes
  • Sb
    S_B Oct 28, 2009

    This company has NO INTEGRITY. Do not order from them!!!

    I ordered a weeping cherry tree from them and I was very dissatisfied with its condition. I have a feeling that it is a rare occasion that the product arrives healthy. The tree arrived in a timely manner but past that, there is not much more that I can say positive about it. The tree was dry, limp and dead upon arrival. Nearly all the leaves have been eaten by a parasite of some sort (you could see the holes where they ate through the leaf). I took it out of the box and promptly watered it and placed it outside, but instead of "perking up" as FastGrowingTrees promises it will, it had instead dropped 90% of its leaves. It looked more pathetic than the Charlie Brown Christmas Tree. I thank my lucky stars that I had this sent to my house rather than to my friend as the gift I was going to give her as a memorial for her father's passing. How awful would that be to receive a dead tree for your father's passing???

    On August 29th, I both called and emailed within ONE HOUR of receiving the tree - definitely within the 24-48 hrs policy that this website so much likes to tout. The memorial service for my friend's father was the following weekend (I receive the tree on a Saturday) and in my estimation if FastGrowingTrees had even BOTHERED to return either my call or email, they could have easily sent me another tree (hopefully alive). But no, they did not even contact me. On September 9th, the Tuesday following the memorial (where I had to present a different gift to my friend since FGT does not honor even their return policy), I filed a dispute with my credit card company. On that same day, I submitted a negative comment on their website reviews page. Guess what? I all the sudden received an email from FGTs asking about the tree.

    By that time it was too little too late, dont you think? When I wrote another comment on their review website asking why my prior comments were not published (I would never have purchased from this company if I had known that they screened negative comments... shame on me to be so naive as to think that they allowed true customer comments), I received another email saying that they didnt think they needed to publish comments from a customer who chooses not to work with them. HUH? How did my contacting you via email AND phone within ONE HOUR of receipt not met the policy of your company??? When I asked them this same question noting the dates that I called and emailed them and then the date of their response, their customer service representative, Alyson, had the unmitigated gall to lie and say that she did talk with me. This is a bald faced lie. When I responded as such she hid behind the website policy.

    My credit card company may or may not be able to help me fight this horrible company with terrible customer service that is obviously lacking in integrity, but I want to let anyone and everyone know that if given the opportunity you should run, not walk, away from doing business with them.

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    Kendal Oct 02, 2009

    I ordered a cryptomeria japonica radicans from Fast growing Tree's, and I got it in good time with no damage. I'm very happy with them. The problem with people is we like to complain when something goes wrong, but when something goes right we don't bother with compliments. I am changing that.

    I give Fast Growing Trees an A+ Read everything on a website before ordering, know what you are getting. If you get the smallest tree available make sure you know that seedling probably isn't going to look all that impressive.

    0 Votes
  • We
    wendypl Aug 26, 2009

    I also am sorry I did not see this site yesterday. That when I order 3 trees from Fast -Growing-Trees.com. They told me only yesterday that it would take 2-3 weeks to process. After reading the negative comments here I try to cancel the order. I try calling the company, which proved impossible. I did get on a live chat with "Ben" who informed me that my trees were already processed (surprise) and the order thus could not be cancelled. He advised me to return the trees when I receive them, which I understand they make it impossible to do. I will contest the charge with my credit card but have to wait for those trees to arrive first.

    0 Votes
  • OH PLEASE! YOUR TERMS OF SERVICE IS NOT THE ISSUE. YOU send crappy tiny twigs of trees and yet show beautiful blooming trees and even state on your website that the trees you sell are "well started" what is well started about a pencil thin two leaf half dead tree? You people are crooks who go running behind a company policy anytime someone corners you and calls you out as the frauds you are! CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT ANYONE????

    2 Votes
  • Ch
    Chase Have Jul 30, 2009

    DO NOT BUY FROM FAST GROWING TREES! I ordered three aspen trees less than 60 days ago. When they arrived they were nearly dead; not a single healthy leaf, almost completely brown. I could not reach anyone by phone and was only able to chat live. The chat operator told me that it was because of the rain they had been having. Rain killing trees?! Are they kidding? Do they know anything about trees? The trees have all since died, and now they expect me to pay 25% to get new trees. Are they kidding? Why would I want to pay 25% to get three new almost dead trees? I just purchased a new home on 10 acres and was planning on sending them a lot of business. I certainly will not be doing that. I will also be registering complaints everywhere I possibly can and will be contacting Martha Stewart to remove her association with this company.

    1 Votes
  • Bo
    bonapartenapolione Jul 25, 2009

    I ordered a Summers red maple from them also, me and my wife planted it when we got married so we could see it grow and it died also... I babied it from a twig in a box and it did not make through the winter, and yes it is in the correct zone ...I wish I would have come across this 1st? I have one that I bought from Lowe's and it is doing great...Nice websight with great pictures and a total rip off !!!

    1 Votes
  • An
    angelaw Jul 23, 2009

    Wow, I can't thank you all enough for posting your stories. I was going to buy 6 or so apple trees, a couple of cherries, and some peach. But, now after hearing what you have said I will go local. This is one benefit of the internet is that you do have a voice. I was alittle suspicious of their claims of perfection in their trees when there was nothing to be said on their review board. That is why I began to search the internet for complaints. So, you may not get your money back, but your suffering is not in total vain, I will not give them my business, and eventually maybe they will go out of business for such shady practices.

    Thanks so much.

    1 Votes
  • Er
    Erum Jul 20, 2009

    I am glad I read these comments. My wife had selected about 4 trees from their site and wanted me to place the order this afternoon. I dont feel like placing the order with this company now.

    1 Votes
  • Mi
    michelleo Jul 13, 2009

    Do not buy from them go to your local Nursery they are much cheaper. They also do not tell you if the trees are not ready to be shipped and have a delayed shipping. So when you call and cancel they want to still charge you the 10% cancelation fee even if they did not have them ready to ship. No where on there site do they mention that there could be a delay in the shipping of the tree. DO NOT BUY FROM THEM. I am one more customer that will never do business with them again and will let everyone I know to not do business with them either. I do not know of any online business that charges you 10% to cancel your order they are stubborn and do not work with you at all even if you decide to keep the one tree that is on the order that they had ready to ship. They should keep better control of their inventory.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Samuel R. Jul 08, 2009

    Last spring, I ordered several trees from Fast-growing-trees.com. The trees survived the summer and had beautiful blooms, but didn't grow any taller--just bushier. After the winter (we live in zone 6), one of the trees completely died, and the others still looked dead in June with the exception of some new shoots around the bases of the dead-looking trees. I did a live chat with the nursery, and they said that I live in the coldest zone that the trees will survive in. I asked if that meant the tree's new growth would die every year, and if I would be stuck with 2 foot "bushes "every summer, and their live chat person told me "yes." I purchased these trees because they were in my zone, and I was expecting them to grow taller each year. I was told by live chat that "the zones can change." The trees have been listed as zone 6-9 for at least the past two years, but within about an hour after my complaint today, the website suddenly changed and listed the trees as zones 7-9. I made a copy of the web page before they had a chance to change it, so I will include that with my complaint to the Better Business Bureau. I am very upset that I was led to believe these trees would grow in my state. I realize that my 90 day guarantee period is over, but how was I supposed to know that these trees won't survive my winters here? Very misleading. No wonder they have a C- rating with the BBB. Buy local.

    2 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.