[Resolved] Empire Carpetfraudulent quote!

5

On 2/21/07, a sales representative from Empire came to my house to give me a quote. The representative measured the two rooms (living room and bedroom), advising me that it totaled 80 square yards. I picked out two different samples. For the less expensive sample, he advised that it cost $29 per square yard, including removal of the existing carpet, padding and installation. Including taxes, he quoted a price slightly more than $2,500. After I hesitated, he stated that the "sale" would end that day. I asked him what the "regular price" was, and he responded that it was $38 per square yard. After I hesitated further, he asked how much I would be willing to pay. I paused, then stated, "maybe $2,000." He said, "Okay, but I need to know now." I hesitated again, and then I left the room to call a contractor-contact of mine to ask if that price was reasonable. He advised me that the price was high. I told the sales representative that I had to think about it, and I would call him the following week. After he left, I had an independent carpeting contractor come to the house to give me a competitive quote. The other contractor came to my house later in the day to take measurements. He advised me that the two rooms totaled only 68 square yards. Thus, the Empire sales representative lied to me about the total yardage. I decided to drop it, and not call Empire back.

The most egregious act by Empire, however, was still to come. On 2/25/07, I received a call from an Empire telephone representative, who asked me if I was interested in purchasing the carpet. Without explanation, I said no. She responded that Empire could beat the last quote. I stated that I was still not interested. She asked me why. I then started to explain the entire story, including that Empire lied about the amount of square yards. Before I was finished explaining what had happened, but after I told her that Empire lied about the total yardage, the Empire telephone representative hung up on me. I fully expected her to apologize and tell me that Empire would undertake an investigation, but instead she did just the opposite. By hanging up on me, she exposed Empire for the fraud it really is. Obviously, this was not a situation where the sales representative who went to my home was a "bad egg." To the contrary, by hanging up on me, she proved that Empire is in on the fraud. Empire's fraudulent scheme, among other things, is to overquote the amount of square yards needed. Empire should be shut down.

  • Updated by Company Response · Jan 20, 2010

    Thank you for bringing your carpet experience to our attention. We apologize for any inconvenience, and our team would like to work with you to explore a resolution. Please contact us at [email protected] so that we may be able to assist. You can also visit our online customer center at http://www.empiretoday.com/Customer-Service.

    Sincerely,
    Consumer Advocate Team
    Empire Today, LLC

  • Empire Today's response · Apr 30, 2012

    Jerome, we’re disappointed that you’ve experienced issues with your product post-installation, as we always want to work with our customers to ensure they have a positive experience. We understand that we’ve been in contact with you and that we’ve scheduled repairs for later this week. If you have any additional questions or concerns, please call us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email us at [email protected] Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager

  • Empire Today's response · Jul 02, 2012

    Thomas, we regret that your product has not been meeting your expectations. We understand that we’ve been in contact with you about this issue recently and that an inspection was done. We will have a member of out customer service team follow up with you soon to discuss the results of the inspection and your concerns in more detail. If you have any questions or concerns, please contact us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email us at [email protected] Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager

  • Empire Today's response · Oct 08, 2012

    Linduska, we regret the issues that occurred during your installation. We would like to opportunity to learn more about your situation and help make things right. Unfortunately, we cannot locate your account with the information provided here. Please call us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email [email protected], and a member of our customer service team will reach out you. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager

  • Empire Today's response · Feb 21, 2013

    We’re disappointed that you were not satisfied with your experience working as an independent contractor, as we always strive to create a positive work environment. We would be happy to discuss the concerns you have expressed here. Please contact our Human Resources department at 888-588-2315 ext. 3007. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager

  • Empire Today's response · Feb 28, 2014

    Wilbow, thank you for bringing your missed appointments to our attention. We realize that this is a frustrating situation, and we are disappointed, as this is not the level of service that we expect for our customers. We would appreciate the opportunity to make things right for you, but unfortunately, we cannot locate your account with the information posted here. Please call us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email your information to [email protected], and we will reach out to you to discuss a resolution. Thank you. Jeanette Ramey, National Customer Service Manager

  • Empire Today's response · Apr 21, 2014

    Thanks for sharing, Bradley! We love receiving feedback from our customers, and we’re thrilled that you enjoyed your experience with us. We truly appreciate the recommendation and hope you’re enjoying the new look and feel of your home!
    Jeanette Ramey, National Customer Service Manager

  • Empire Today's response · Oct 24, 2014

    Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We always strive to provide a positive work environment, and we would like the opportunity to discuss these issues with you in more detail. Please contact our human resources department so that we can learn more about your concerns.

  • Empire Today's response · Jul 28, 2016

    We regret that your experience did not meet your expectations. We never want our customers to be disappointed in the products or services that they receive. Although you have decided to go with another company, we would be happy to discuss any questions or concerns that you may still have. Please feel free to contact us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or [email protected] Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager

  • Empire Today's response · Aug 01, 2016

    Thank you for making us aware of your concerns, Ralph. We regret that you did not agree with the pricing for the additional work that was required to complete your installation. We will be following up with you shortly to discuss this matter in more detail. You can also reach us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or [email protected] Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager

  • Empire Today's response · Aug 01, 2016

    We’re sorry for the difficulties you had scheduling your appointment and that you weren’t kept informed throughout the installation process. We do expect our sales representatives to work with each individual customer’s budget and needs during your sales appointment and we’re disappointed to hear that your sales appointment didn’t meet your expecations. However, your feedback is very important to us and we’d like the chance to speak with you further to address your concerns and to learn more. We never want anyone to leave their experience with us unhappy and want to make things right. If you’re willing to speak with us, please email your information to [email protected] or call us at 888-588-2315 x4195 and we’ll follow back with you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager

  • Resolution Statement

    Customer Service has done everything in their power to resolve the complaint. All attempts to contact the customer have failed. Therefore, the complaint has been annulled and must not be considered where image of the company in question and its services are concerned.

Responses

  • Em
    Empire-Today Apr 30, 2007

    Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Total customer satisfaction is important to us here at Empire Today.  We take customer feedback very seriously and we are always striving to improve the customer’s experience. Unfortunately, we were not able to locate any of your information that may link us to your account being that you did not identify yourself at any time. Please give us the opportunity to correct your issues at a suitable time. You can reach us at 800-583-3000 and ask to speak to one of our resolution experts and please give us either your telephone number that links to your account or your contract number. Thank you have a great day.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Karla Meehan Jul 30, 2007

    I had a similar experience, except that I was naive enough to purchase the cheaper carpet they recommended that I was grossly overcharged for. The carpet shredded so excessively that it clogged every vacuum cleaner I tried. Within one year the carpet was so worn that it looked at least 5 years old. When I complained and Empire came out to inspect it, I still did not get a response back. I had to call customer service only to be told that it needed to be steam cleaned. When I filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau they made up all kinds of things to say that I voided the warranty. They have refused to give me any kind of credit. I ended up having to give a carpet allowance when I finally sold my house. I agree that they are crooks and selling extremely cheap products at above market prices. It seems that there should be some kind of recourse against companies like this.

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    Barbra Mathewson Aug 13, 2007

    Thanks for this site as well as the complaints. I have an appointment for an Empire free estimate next week and am canceling. There commercial sounded too good to be true.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Michael Shampine Aug 28, 2007

    To make my home more attractive for sale on the market, I will be recarpeting it. In addition to getting my first quote from one retailer, I wanted to get a second quote. I thought I'd check out Empire, since they do such a huge amount of TV and radio advertising. I went online to get their phone number & noticed this "Complaint" listing. Thanks to this listing and complaints, I won't even be calling Empire. I appreciate whoever set up this site and those who wrote up their feelings about Empire -- what a despicable operation!

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Dave Sep 11, 2007

    Im actualy waiting right now for the empire estimate guy, Im glad I got to read these reports, thank you

    1 Votes
  • Ja
    janet killian Sep 26, 2007

    I had purchased flooring a year ago, a few months after installation the floor was scratched. It took many phone calls to empire and one phone call to finance company when i finally got someone to come out and replace the damaged areas. Now the floor is buckling at the seams. Someone did come out and took pictures and said someone else would get back with me. After a few week i called customer service (answering machine) and left messages. As of this date no one has returned my calls. I will never buy from empire again. The floor doesn't hold up like they said it should.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    joe bowen Oct 15, 2007

    I'm so glad I saw this ! I was looking for empires number via the web and saw this comment thread.

    I'll find somebody else to quote it.

    Thanks,
    Joe!

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    SHARON Nov 07, 2007

    JUST TRIED TO GET INFO ON PHONE TO NO VALE. THEY TOLD ME TO GET INFO I WOULD HAVE TO SET APT FOR SOMEONE TO COME TO MY HOME, I'VE NEVER HEARD OF ANYTHING LIKE THAT BEFORE... I'M GLAD I SAW THE COMPLIANT LIST.. I'LL BE LOOKING ELSEWHERE FOR MY CARPET... THEY SHOULD BE OUST...

    0 Votes
  • Me
    Melinda Rolfes Nov 07, 2007

    I had a similar experience. I felt highly pressured in my home and ended up calling and canceling, however the carpet installers arrived at my home the following day to install the carpet and they stated they had no record of me canceling despite the fact that I spoke with the person who came out and measured. I felt humiliated and embarrassed when the installers came out anyway and I felt pressured once again to have them install the carpets/flooring anyway. I finally just called and spoke to the sales rep and was quite angry I felt as if I was being duped.

    A few months later, I received several quotes for comparable flooring with a much lower price tag!

    I think they get customers who are desperate to get things done and get those of us who are impatient and impulsive- and... naive.

    0 Votes
  • Ex
    ex installer for empire Nov 23, 2007

    overpriced, high pressure, arrogant, they are not helping our industry at all. Buy from your local experienced installer. Lower price, one on one service. I know, I am that guy. I value ALL of my customers. ALL OF THEM

    0 Votes
  • El
    elpenseroso Nov 28, 2007

    Thank you for the ten Complaint postings. I read every one of them and then called to cance tomorrows appointment which I just made this afternoon.

    Got through to a live body but when she heard that I was cancelling my appointment and that I was not interested in re-scheduling said she would transfer me to the person who could do that. Ten minutes later she returned and said I should call back tomorrow.

    That caused me to become very factual and described my findings and consider this notice as a cancellation.

    She put me thru to another person who offered me $50.00 off my purchase ( ON WHAT PRICE ???) if I re-scheduled.
    That confirmed my readings and intent. We cancelled tomorrow's appointment. Thank you for the insight.

    0 Votes
  • Wa
    waiting for estimator Dec 01, 2007

    called yesterday for appointment to estimate said would be there between 9 and 11 on sat. it is now 12:30 and not hear yet! what a bunch of losers! I will go with my local HOME DEPOT! Thanks for the site. Later losers

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    Kehau Dec 03, 2007

    Thanks for all the posts! It seems they operate similar to how carpet cleaners operate. I was going to schedule an appointment and have now decided to look elsewhere based on what I learned here.

    0 Votes
  • Cn
    c.nickerson Dec 05, 2007

    I own a duplex and I am currently remodeling both sides. Thank you to all of you for your feedback on that company! I was going to set up an appointment with them but forgot their phone number from the TV add. I had to look it up on line and saw what a nightmare company they are !!! I will let all of my friends know about that "caca" company.

    0 Votes
  • Kw
    K Wogomon Dec 13, 2007

    I'm really glad to have found this site, I had just called to setup an appointment to get an estimate on carpet. Which by reading this Won't happen. I want to say thanks to all that have taken their time to help others not get scammed by companies like this one.

    0 Votes
  • Du
    Durian Dec 17, 2007

    I just got online to look for Empire's phone number after seeing their tv commercial and I am so glad to come across this complaint listing. Thank you so much for the information. IF IT SOUNDS TOO GOOD TO BE TRUE, THEN IT PROBABLY IS!!!

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    Shawn Johnson Dec 19, 2007

    Go to the top of this website and type in Home Depot in the website search bar and over 200 complaints come up. That's less than Empire. Anyone who has every been to Home Depot knows what you get from minimum wage workers. Good luck at Home Depot, 3-4 weeks for special orders or the crap they have on hand in 3-4 days. Had nothing but horrible experiences with Home Depot.

    Good Luck Dealing with HD, they are real professionals that get paid minimum wage, of course they don't care to work hard for you.

    Laughing about the buttons to push when trying to find someone to help you in the departments. Just walk in and look around and ask questions most workers walk by you with their head down as if please don't dare ask me a question. Dealing with the managers is even better, have fun.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    Shawn Johnson Dec 19, 2007

    I'm sorry to mis-quote the complaints from typing in Home Depot above in the website search box. There are only 210 complaints and 21 pages of complaints.

    0 Votes
  • Ed
    Edwin Rivera Jan 01, 2008

    I do home inspections, and I can't tell you how many complaints I hear and see about Empire. Carpet is thin and the installation is often substandard, particularly around seems and baseboards. I would never, ever have Empire install anything for me.

    0 Votes
  • St
    Steven Duke Jan 23, 2008

    Had a very similar experience. I measured up after the rep had gone and my measurements came in smaller by over 25%. I did this to try and get a per foot cost (they wouldn't give me one - not their policy I was told) to compare and found the carpet was way overpriced as well.

    The manager told me that I didn't know what I was doing and tried to spin me a line that the measurements were out because of the wastage they had to build in due to roll width.

    Needless to say I didn't proceed.

    They prey on our impatience and a desire for immediacy.

    Do your homework and get reputable suppliers in.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Jo Sonny Jan 24, 2008

    Steve,

    No matter where you get carpet you'll find that you need 15%-20% EXTRA in order to size the rooms correctly and put the seams in the best locations, this is NOT an underhanded move or spin. Carpet comes in 12 foot widths only. If your room is 10 foot by 8 foot, you're going to need a piece of carpet 12 x 8 and who do you think is supposed to pay for the waste? the company you buy from? Get real.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Jack Daniels Feb 07, 2008

    I was going to give Empire a call on getting a quote on two houses I recently purchased. After reading all these negative comments I have now decided NOT to even bother calling them. Obviously they are NOT even trying to please the public for IF they wanted to they would fix and repair their ways of doing business. Thank you so much for this site for I would have been mad to pay out all the money to find it was totally inadequate and NOT what I wanted.

    0 Votes
  • To
    Tony Edwards Feb 23, 2008

    I am in the carpet business. If you have 10 carpet estimators come to your house and measure you will have 10 different yardage amounts. We all do it differently and in fact, the guy who estimates higher is actually doing you a favor. The guy with the low estimate is going to put a bunch of scraps on your floor when seaming. He may even turn the carpet one direction in one room and another direction in an adjacent room. They do these things to lower their bid price and yes you will pay less for your carpet, but in the end the low guy has done you no favor. There are right ways and wrong ways to install carpet and ways that would be considered short cuts. Short cuts don't wear well and in the end you will not be happy when the imperfections become apparent. I would fear the low yardage guy over the higher yardage guy any day.

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    Ken Bednarik Feb 23, 2008

    You have no idea what I have been going through with this company. They have been installing ceramic tile here since Feb, 1, 2008 and they still are not done. Today the guy comes in and tells me that he doesn't have a shop vac and if he couldn't use mine he couldn't do the job. I can't wait to call the company and tell them that one. They act as if they care. I know what a ripoff they are. My price on one room of carpeting and one room of ceramic tile was $7800.00 I almost fainted and I said way too high. He then told me the exact same thing he told you. " What do you want to pay" I really thought this was a reputable company. I guess money and advertising can really change minds. Maybe we should SERIOUSLY THINK ABOUT A CLASS ACTION LAW SUIT. I am so glad that I found your website. Please call me if you wish my name is Ken Bednarik, 11879 Cook Rd. , Canfield Ohio 44406 and my phone number is 330-549-5712 please feel free to call me and discuss this matter further. Have a good day.

    0 Votes
  • Cd
    cde Feb 25, 2008

    WOW after reading all these complaints I CANCELLED my appointment.

    0 Votes
  • No
    Norita Dean Mar 10, 2008

    I am so glad that I found this website. It has saved my family not only lots of money but lots of frustration also. I will be looking for local companies to do my entire house and not worrying about Empire Carpet.

    0 Votes
  • Ny
    nygirl6 Mar 13, 2008

    Empire Carpets does't go into african american neiborhoods!!

    0 Votes
  • Ed
    Edith Matthews Mar 17, 2008

    As a result of watching your many Carpet Commercial Advertisements on TV, I decided to call Empire Carpeting to set up an appointment to have a representative bring carpeting samples to my house. Since I just recently had my kitchen totally renovated, I felt a need to have an upgrade of my entire apartment. Therefore, I reached out to Empire Carpeting for improving my floors. However, when I called the number 212 588-2300, one of your representatives answered and she asked me several questions. The last question she asked me was for my ZIP Code. When I gave her my ZIP Code number 10451, she informed me that Empire Carpeting does not service my area. I asked her why they are not servicing my area and she responded, I do not know.

    Consequently, I became very angry that in today’s world we have businesses like yours discriminating against various areas in New York. The mere fact that you are allowed to select the areas you service is a disgrace and insult to those neighbor hoods that you are refusing to service, especially in the Bronx. I am totally against your type of business making money off of certain people in the State of New York and then refusing to service other areas. Therefore, I am going to write the Mayor, Governor and the Attorney General about you discriminatory practices and ask that they ban your company from conducting business in our State.

    0 Votes
  • Se
    Seth Aronow Mar 20, 2008

    Empire today carpets is the most unprofessional company I have ever dealt with.

    ****** DO NOT BUY FROM THEM AT ALL***************

    I purchased blinds for my windows and they said I could finance the order on their credit card thru GE money. No payments for 1 year. They needed an 800.00 deposit and that would be refunded to me minus the 25.00 fee once the order was installed. That was on 12/29/07. The install date was on 2/6/08. I have yet to be refunded and have gone thru three billing cycles on my credit card. I now need to be refunded the 775.00 plus the three billing cycles finance charges. I have left 15 messages for the person that I have been dealing with, and have yet to get one return call. It is now 3/20/08 and I am fighting for what they owe me on my other card. I repeat do not buy from this horrible company.

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Rebekah Clerk Apr 03, 2008

    Thank you for brining your concerns to the attention of Empire. We are dedicated to providing world-class customer service to every customer. We are currently looking into the concerns mentioned in your post. We will contact you within the next three business days. Please feel free to contact us at [email protected] for further assistance.

    0 Votes
  • Br
    Bridgette Grene Apr 16, 2008

    I purchased carpet from Empire in 2001. Over a period of 2 years I begain to notice that the carper seem to have what I thought to be dust around the edges. I would vacuum but it would not go away. I pointed out to my husband who said it may be just dirt. By 2004 it was evident that the carpet had faded not just on the edges but now it was under the dinning room table. I began calling Empire I spoke with customerservice who said they would put a claim in and send someone out. When no one came out I put in another request. This went on until the fourth time I was given the District Manager in my area. She was no help. She told me that the company did not cover fading. Finally I got her to agree to come out. She never did. I spoke with customerservice again. This time I was given the Chicago office who offered to send a rep out to sell me more carpet. This was unacceptable. After speaking with customer service yet again I was given back to the Chicago office. This time an attempt was made to put me through to the Regional Manager. I was told he was on the phone and I was being connected. I got his voicemail instead. Lastly, after calling Chicago yet again a person who identified herself as the manager said Empiere was not responsible and that perhaps the o zone or bad air had caused the problem but either way my warranty had now expiired. I responded the warrantyt had not expired when I initially called and defective carpet should always be covered as it should not have been sold in the first place!

    0 Votes
  • Wi
    william gaughan Apr 16, 2008

    I will not buy anything from Empire. There Ad. on the TV and radio is driving me an others I Know nuts. Every stupid station has it on. I would like to smash that little ###. I am a easy going guy but this gets my goat. This is as bad as the head on AD. You turn to next station and there he is again. I go to work and turn on the radio, there the ### is again. Lets shut him down. Bill

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Carpet guy May 13, 2008

    Yes it is very true that actual verses what you really need to carpet a room/house will not be the same. For those that are inexperienced 20% over actual is a save bet, for those that know carpet and how to truly measure that might not be the case. An experience carpet person will measure the entire job and then minimize the extra that it will take, based on the layout of the job and the width of the carpet chosen. Most carpet does come in 12 ft width's there are others that are wider, but those are very few.

    0 Votes
  • Bo
    bob gale May 27, 2008

    Empire is a rip off

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Karen Jun 18, 2008

    Every 3 months since I purchased rugs from this crooked place they need to be stretched again and I paid 75 dollars the 1st time, 3 months later they needed to be stretched again. They were stretched about 5 times already now EMPIRE wants me to sign a release letting them off the hook and not letting them be resonsible for the stretching ever again. IF they were installed properly this would not happed unless they were poor carpets which seems to be the case. If anyone can advise me if they had a similar situation please contact me.

    They are crooks, and the guy who comes out to stretch them is nuts too saying he owned a rug company, then why the hell is he working for Empire the CROOKED rug place? Call for action on your local news station, alert anyone you know not to buy from them!!!

    0 Votes
  • Lu
    Lucille Jun 18, 2008

    Thanks for all the information, I am calling to cancel my appointment for myself and my mother in law, my sister and her husband also. I will stick with a reputable company.
    thanks for all the feedback.

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    juan Jul 08, 2008

    I am trying to find information about Empire like the owners name and I can not find it. That company appears to be very simmiular to a company by the name of Pacsetters Corp. That company had many companints they caused many problems for home owner than one day they sold the company than the company filed Bankrupcy. I am in the opinion that those two companies are one in the same. Maybe somebody can add information inorder to make the connections.

    0 Votes
  • Ap
    Apprehensive in Gardena Jul 14, 2008

    I had a very bad experience with Empire Carpet. The sales rep who came to my house in Gardena was drunk and talking with a force selling - I was ready to give him the "Karate chop" and throw him out of the stair. I would not patronize Empire Carpet even if they were the only existing carpet store.

    Apprehensive in Gardena

    0 Votes
  • Dw
    D Wedington Jul 15, 2008

    I bought carpeting from Empire, and I have to say it is the worst carpeting I've ever seen. I was overcharged and the carpet is very cheap quality. The samples they bring is the not the same type of carpeting they install. My carpets are 5 years old, and they look like they been in my home for over ten years. Even when I had them cleaned, it made them worst. The carpeting was not installed properly, I called them back, when they returned they did not correct the problem. I have loose carpeting all over my house. I hate the carpeting and believe me, I'm telling everybody I know to never, ever us this company. They are crooks and rip-off artists.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Ron Collins Jul 16, 2008

    As I read the complaints, I couldn't get over how one person (who never bought anything) lays down a complaint and everyone falls in line like blind ducks and does whatever the first person tells them to do. An intelligent person would at least investigate any company and find that there are two parts to every story. The waste factor of 15% to 20% is normal, but people can't figure that out. I'll bet someone is also comparing an expensive carpet from one company to another person's cheap carpet and think they are getting ripped off on the price by the first company. A good job isn't cheap and a cheap job isn't good.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    In The News

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem