Emirates Airlinespoor service

R
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

I would like to bring to attention, I flied with emirates on the 1st dec to dubai which was a good flight onthe whole then on the 8th we flew to mumbai, and on the 30th we flew from mumbai via dubai back to south africa, I had my 20 month ol grandchild with me, and I had booked meals for her knowing that she eats well. Besides the flight to dubai my grand kid was not given any meals nor were we even asked if we wanted, I requested for milk which also I did not get, I booked for a basonet, the only time I got it was on the flight from mumbai to dubai, taken into consideration the price we pay for flights and I mean the kid was paid for, I am very dissapointed at the poor service I was given, for any further details please contact me on +[protected], many thanks.

Responses

  • Km
    kmonje Apr 24, 2012

    We are from Australia visiting the US. My husband and I along with our 12-day old baby were booked on last night's EK212 IAH-DXB flight. My baby and I had a revenue ticket but my husband was holding an ID90 ticket which was given to him by his brother who works for Emirates. We took the chance of him travelling on ID90 because the flight was very light with only one third of the seats booked (100+ seats empty)
    We arrived at the airport 2.5 hours before the flight’s expected time of departure. Everything seemed alright at check-in, I even asked the staff if my husband can already check in since he’s holding an ID90. The staff confidently said that they are already checking in staff as the flight is very light. We were given boarding passes and was told to board at 1800 so we went around George Bush Airport, did some last minute shopping and had a rest and bite first at the restaurant inside the airport because we were very tired having had only 2hours of sleep the night prior as we were busy packing our almost 400lbs of baggages.

    At 1810, we approached the lounge to board, they took our boarding passes and gave us the small part passenger copy of the passes. We went through security and when we were already at the passenger boarding bridge near the aircraft door, a staff told us that they have to offload my husband because of “cargo.” The staff holding the radio saw that we had an infant, he told the other person on the radio but they still offloaded us. I kept asking the staff for help, I was almost begging them to let my husband fly with me, I asked them what else can we can do or if we can buy a revenue ticket for him but they still said no and that they have to close the flight. They asked me if I will still go if my husband is left behind, I told them that I cannot because I have a baby and over 50 lbs of hand carry baggages plus my husband wont have anyone to pick him up as our friend where we’re staying at was on duty until 01h00. The boarding staff told us to wait then another staff escorted us to belt 61 and told us our baggages will come out from there. I asked the staff if she can check again if we can still get on the plane, but she said that she cannot check because she does not have a radio and suggested that we go to the ticketing counter which we did but was told there’s no chance anymore because the flight was closed. She told us to just try again the next day.

    So we were stranded at George Bush Airport with a 12-day old baby and almost 400lbs of luggage trying to figure out where will we stay for the night and how we’ll get a transportation from the airport who can take that much of luggage and with a car seat.

    We completely understand the restriction of the discounted ID ticket, however Emirates should have had a little consideration and thought of the inconvenience they’re causing us. We are visitors in the US with a 12-day old infant and 400lbs of baggage, where did they expect us to stay? If they were going to offload my husband, they should have not checked us in or they should have told us earlier and not right before they close the flight so we still could have opted to by a revenue ticket and avoided the hassle they caused us.

    I was suppose to have an important meeting to attend to in Dubai today that I missed because of Emirates’ inefficiency and inconsideration. It also cost us a lot more on cab and re-booking fees.

    I remember on my way to Houston from Dubai a month ago, I was still heavily pregnant then, the flight was at 0900ish so I was at the airport very early. Emirates served their first meal only at lunch time which I thought was again a very poor service. They did not think that people would be at the airport early and may not have had breakfast yet.

    During the DXB-IAH flight, I fell asleep and when I woke up, I was starving and asked a crew for food, she told me that they already served the snacks an hour ago so she can’t give me food anymore. I had to go to the back and asked another crew for food, she gave me 2 small packets of crackers.


    On another occasion, I flew to Mauritius on Emirates, on my way back to DXB, I asked a cabin crew for a pair of socks, she told me “sorry but I am a crew for business class, you can ask an economy crew” I was very tired from my business trip then that I didn’t even bother to argue, I just used a blanket to cover my feet.

    For an airline who claims to be award-winning, Emirates’ standards and actual service is appalling. You are good at advertising but sorry to say that you do not have the goods to back it up. Your service is actually atrocious and certainly is inferior to that of your competitors like Etihad, Qantas, Singapore Airlines etc. We only fly Emirates when we absolutely have no other choice.

    Is Emirates so desperate to earn profit that you fail to see the service aspect of the business? Of was it because we’re Asians travelling on economy that we were not given consideration and priority?

    I hope that this letter finds the desk of someone, if any, who still has the heart and right frame of mind. I will certainly circulate this on social networks and to my family and friends so that they will think twice before flying on Emirates.

    As for us, we will go to the airport again tonight and hopefully the Emirates crew and dispatcher know what they’re doing and will do it efficiently and considerately.

    I expect a call from your management staff to know what steps do you intend to do to improve your service.

    From a very unhappy passenger
    Mary Cristaine Monje-Altera

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Realistic_Reader Apr 04, 2012

    "The kid was paid for"

    As the child was under 2yrs- did you book a seat for the child (i.e. full fare) or the 'infant' fare (10% of the full fare)

    If so then meals are not included aside from jar baby food & biscuits, therefore it is not possible to "book a meal" for an infant. Plus any smart parent travels with some alternative in case for any reason something is not available.

    Bassinettes generally are too small for a child of 20 months, I'd say you were lucky to get it the one time as 20months is toddler size and bassinettes are designed for babies only.

    0 Votes
  • Mr
    Mr. Banna Aug 22, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Please see attached file

    0 Votes
  • Dy
    dys Feb 01, 2010

    i completely agree. Emirates does not really care about customer issues, they only care about generating sales.
    join us at facebook group "Emirates Airline-poor customer service"

    0 Votes
  • No
    Nousheen Abid May 10, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I absolutely agree, its the worst airline to travel with. the staff are so rude and arrogant . though I am a frequent traveler of Emirates airline because of skywards but I am only travelling with Emirates to earn more miles. it takes ages for staff to clear the trays after your meal. no matter how many times you press the attendant button nobody bothers to even look at you. on my very last journey from Dubai to toronto on 8th of May 2009 unluckily I again made the decision to travel by emirates and bear the attitude of staff. the lady who was standing right at the entrance of aircraft Hameeda was just standing like a dummy I requested her if its possible that me and my husband get the seats next to each other as our tickets were for two different seats. the lady rudely replied that I will try but first you go and sit according to your seat no. luckily the passenger next to me was really nice and he agree to switch his seat on my request but madam Hameeda never came back to check the status. the story didnt end here as I wanted to take my medicine so I press the attendant button which is of no use if you are travelling through Emirates . Carlos an attendant appears after 15 mins to distribute warm towel. I requested him if I can get a glass of water he didnt even bother to reply then I asked my husband to check his name. the attendant become afraid of me and bring the glass immediately after my remarks. after that there was no head set there so I press the attendant button. nobody came to check why the attendant calling light is on till I became really upset and checked with one of the attendant that which attendant is responsible to look after my seats. she never replied but bring the head set finally I get the attendants name was libby who was not responsible at all.
    Its not my first experience with Emirates but I have received the same experience each time I travel with Emirates airline.

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    Fred Mar 09, 2009

    I was on an "Emirates Airlines" flight heading from Dubai to Bahrain.

    Fifteen minutes after boarding schedule long lines af passengers were moving very slow to head out of the boarding terminal as there was only one person checking the boarding passes.

    To everybody's surprise instead allowing the people to go inside the plane they were all gathered into another terminal hall???

    And once there they were only allowed to go into the plane with priority to the Emirates Airlnes Club Members, Business, First Class and then people with different zone indications. This was a very tedious process which resulted in late take off.

    Once inside there was a very rude flight attendant by the name of Indranil. I was surrounded by Asians coming on a transfer flight from india and this was his opportunity to mistreat these people by shouting:
    "If you want to eat open your trays."

    The passenger in front of me put back his seat so I half opened my tray otherwhys it would have hit my stomach if fully opened. Indranil came over and without saying a word slammed the tray open and hit my stomach with it. I asked a flight attendant by the name of Susan to summon the cabin crew manager, and towards the end of the flight was informed by Susan that the cabin crew manager couldn't come because she was busy.

    later on the rude flight attendant asked me if I wanted the cabin crew manager and I told him no because I didn't want to speak to him.


    As I was leaving the airpline I found the cabin crew manager at the exit and she confirmed to me that nobody informed her that she was needed.

    0 Votes
  • Ko
    komala nayager Apr 02, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am appalled at the total lack of responsibility and concern over my lost luggage. I flew from London via Dubai to South Africa. Upon arrival, I was shocked to discover that my luggage didn't accompany me.

    After 3 days of phoning around, I received my luggage with half its contents missing. I will NEVER EVER fly with Emirates again and I am going to write a letter to the editor to inform others about my bad experience. I think everyone should do this so that Emirates will catch a wake up call.

    0 Votes
  • Ji
    Jitra Nakawan Feb 06, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    It was my bad experience with my first flight with Emirates on 9 Jan 2008. I flew from Bangkok - Dubai - London. I lost a baggage..threr're some clothes and some very important paper in the baggage. The ground staff said to me ' DON'T WORRY' . I filled the form and called Emirates baggage claim at the Gatwick airport in the next day but they still say ' don't worry' till one week but still no answer and no one from Emirates contact me. I kelp calling the airport till 2 weeks but still same question and look like they didn't care so much about my problem.

    I called to Emirates office in London and explained them everything about I lost my baggage but they asked me ' WHAT CAN I HELP YOU '... ohh my god !!! they should say something better...i think that was very bad service...

    till now ( 1 month) still no one from Emirates call me back... look like i will never see my bage again...

    0 Votes
  • Bi
    bindu ravindran Sep 18, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I returned back to UK from India. left TVR international airport on 4th of Sept 07. with my 9 year old daughter together with our our 1 main luggage and 2 samll luggage. I traveled via Dubai reaching at LGW on 5th Sept. On arrival i noticed 2 out 3 luggage have arrived and my main luggage was still missing i waited over 40 minutes, then i inquired about my 3rd luggage and I was told it was left behind and will be delivered with in 24 hr and told to report to the missing desk. I was given some ref. no and told to call if luggage is not delivered within 24 hr. So no luggage arrived the next 24 hr so even 13 days later. I still haven't been able to get hold of anyone to raise my concern or just find out if anyone is looking for my bag! It is very heart breaking to know that all my personnel items which have no meaning to others but to me is everything is lost forever or in some unknown place.

    I have wrote a letter to emirates but no reply or not even acknowledgment to say we have received your letter and we are looking into my missing luggage.
    A very unhappy emirates passenger.

    0 Votes
  • Ib
    Ibrahim El Sayed Abd El Hady Sep 16, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I lost m bag during my trip from DUBAI to Burg Al Arab (ALEXANDRIA) on 2/9/2007, i submitted a claim on arrival but they found no trace on the bag... I'm now back to dubai & it's not found yet... 16/9/2007... I have sent a Baggage Inventory Form to Emirates Baggage Service & no reply from their side & their phones are always BUSY!!!

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.