SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

wilco hess / employee gave my wife and I a middle finger

rt 32 virginia road, Edenton, NC, United States Review updated:

employee was standing outside talking to a friend in a car who was parked bocking a gas pump...not even in a parking spot...totally obviously blocking spot, and she knew it. fat slob of an employee was looking at us with a nasty look because we were trying to get into the pump spot. as we slowly passed the wrongfully parked car i said " you know your blocking this spot". i could hear the additude from the lady in the car and the employee did nothing but look lazy, with an additude. after we pumped gas my wife got some stuff inside the store. as we were leaving i noticed the employee rubbing her hands with sanitizer...well as she was rubbing a bright middle finger raised through the glass...i know it was so because i saw those bling bling crazy long nails women have nowadays. i immedietly jumped out of the car and went inside the store. i asked" did you just give me the middle finger" she replies "yes...and you know why". i said, "oh yea...why". she proceeds to tell me that i was talking about her...through the two big windows and my car window...this lady apparently heard me? which is false because i paid her no attention. as i was in there i got a little heated because this fat, slob of a beast just looked like she needed a swift smacking across her fat face. i told her that she doesnt deserve to give people attitudes, your not saving peoples lives, your job isnt high stress...its a gas station. i asked for the manager and it seemed that the manager was a clone? so as i walked out i called her a slob and her time on this earth is meaningless if thats the attitude you give everyone who comes in here. so bottom line is that this slob gave me the finger because i stated nicely that the car was blocking the pump...she goes and thinks i was talking about her in our vehicle. what a mess...i can garantee this slob will not be popping up that finger in the near future...i think i scared the grease right out her hair!!! cant wait to go in there again...make my day!

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Ma
      Jun 13, 2011

    i noticed fat slobs that work at gas stations have nasty attitudes too...what a waste of life.

    0 Votes
  • He
      Jun 20, 2011

    We are sorry that you had an issue at one of our locations. Thank you for calling and giving us the opportunity to address what took place. If you have any other questions or concerns, please contact the WilcoHess customer service center at 800.642.0945, extension 1011 or [protected]@wilcousa.com.

    0 Votes
  • Al
      Jun 27, 2011

    On 06/22/11 @7:35 (#105) Paid for gas, newspaper. Instead of pump #5 I was on #6. Told the attendan what type of automobile I was driving! How confusing was [email protected]#... Once I realized that the newspaper was yesterdays paper and the pump was not on I went Back into the store to return the newspaper and let her know that the pump was not turned on still! She assured me that she would turn it on. Went back outside to pump gas Still the pump was NOT turned on!!! Now I am on my way back into the store AGAIN to find out WHY the pump isn't on. NOW she tries to tell me how I paid for my gas and that I've already pumped my gas(NO, I WAS LONEY HAD NOWHERE ELSE TO GO 98 DEGREES OUTSIDE). The attendant told me there was nothing that she could do but call the police so that I could get a police [email protected]# but no GAS by the way her name is Eyvette. The manager was not helpful at all he said that it was my fault (TAKING HER SIDE) Where are your principles and check her drawer if somebody pumped my gas she should have known it !^****

    0 Votes
  • Kj
      Nov 11, 2011

    I got a pack of ciggs only to find out they where not lights, like i asked, turned around and asked for an exchange and was absolutly refused! saying I already bought them and that it was my fault that they where they wrong type!. i dont understand the intelagence of these people!

    0 Votes
  • He
      Nov 11, 2011

    We were sorry to hear you had a problem. Please call WilcoHess Corporate Office at 1-800-642-0945 to provide further details so we can get this addressed. Thank you.

    0 Votes
  • Wi
      Nov 11, 2011

    Alice Friend & kjcrs: We are so sorry for your experience at our locations and would love to get more information regarding these scenarios. We have sent you both private messages in hopes to obtain your contact information so that we may better serve you. As always, please feel free to contact our customer service center at 800.642.0945. We recognize that you made the choice to come to WilcoHess and we do not take that lightly. Thank you for your business and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

    0 Votes
  • Ed
      Feb 11, 2012

    Someone from Hess corp really needs to come to the Edenton store and do a complete attidute adjustment! Those have to be the rudest, non-caring, totally lacking in customer service employees I have ever seen. Further, with Edenton being a small town, it doesn't take much for a store to get a repuation and it's not long before those businesses are closed. It's a shame. Hess has great coffee, DD, and it's convenient, but truly not worth the attitude you have to endure when you want to give THEM BUSINESS! Hey Hess Corp...WAKE UP! Send a spy down here and check our your staff!

    0 Votes
  • Wi
      Feb 13, 2012

    Edentonshopper: We are truly sorry for your recent experience at our WilcoHess store. This kind of behavior is not acceptable and we have made contact with the appropriate people within our company to resolve the issue. As a privately-owned and family operated company we understand and value our small town atmosphere and customers. We have sent you a private message in hopes of getting more information regarding the situation. We thank you for choosing WilcoHess and hope that in the future we will better serve you.

    0 Votes
  • Va
      Mar 02, 2012

    I wish Hess Corporation would investigate some of the orders managers/regional managers are handing the employees in Massachusetts this week. From 3 to 7pm employees are told to stand outside handing out fliers for free water when an item in the store is purchased. These fliers are on the pumps and on the windows, so why have the employees stand outside in the cold? They are going to get sick with colds, the flu that's going around, could get frostbite, all sorts of issues arrive from this inane gimmick to get customers inside of the stores. Plus shouldn't the employees be provided some sort of reflectors so drivers can see them in the parking lot?? Once the sun goes down the temperature drops to under 30 degrees F. This violates OSHA laws does it not?

    0 Votes
  • Pi
      Mar 04, 2012

    I was actually looking for a phone number when I found this page. I must say I hate to hear some of you had such a terrible visit at some of the stations, I have a wilco that I frequent when I work at Vidant in Greenville, (its a smaller store and is actually in front of a fairly rough neighborhood) and I have a completely different experience. The manager goes out of her way to try to help out even when the customers are wrong. Yes, that happens too. When I was getting my undergrad I actually worked at a gas station, anyone who has or who has worked with the public period will tell you it can be very stressful. I visit a few others wilcos when I travel to different hospitals, and most are pretty good.
    s, you shouldn't judge someone based on where they work, in case you haven't noticed there are a lot of over qualified people working at places that you may not consider important,

    -1 Votes
  • Pi
      Mar 04, 2012

    Sorry, my phone went a little haywire. The last part was in response to the "waste of a life" observation.

    0 Votes
  • Ga
      Mar 13, 2012

    I am a local truck driver living in Hopewell, Virginia. The only difference in an over-the-road driver and myself is that the over-the-road driver is not in one place all the time but I am. We both follow the same DOT rules for driving and working. We can drive no more than11 hours in a 14 hour day. This is what i do on a local level. Yesterday, when i got back to the wilco truck stop in Disputanta, Virginia where i park my tractor overnight. One of the mangers saw me going to my car. He came over and told me i can't park my car on the lot during the day. I explained i was a local truck driver and i park my tractor here over nite. I buy my fuel here and it is convenient for me. He then said i can't park my tractor here overnight either unless I'm in it. I have been parking there for over a year. Last year i spent over $25, 000 in fuel at this wilco truck stop, not to mention i by coffee everyday, oil, and other fluid, I just purchase my second blue tooth in there on Saturday. And i don't bother anyone. I don't have any problem not parking there. I went across the street and asked East Coast if i could park there if i bought my fuel there. They said yes. So, tomorrow i will move my tractor and car across the street to East Coast. However, the thing that bother me the most is that i know i was singled out because of the color of my skin. There are so many other local drivers that park at wilco, so why am i being single out? When i ask the manager about the other local drivers, he said they will be told as well. Why not tell them first or post a sign out where everyone can see?

    0 Votes
  • Wi
      May 02, 2012

    Piratenurse: Thank you for your comment(s). Our goal is to serve our communities and customers in the best way possible and it sounds as if we have succeeded for you. Thank you for being a loyal customer and we hope to "see" you again soon!

    0 Votes
  • Wi
      May 02, 2012

    Garland: We cannot stress how sorry we are for your recent inconvenience. We have privately messaged you in hopes to get more specific information regarding your experience. We thank you for your past loyalty to WilcoHess and hope that we'll be able to serve you in the future.

    0 Votes
  • Wi
      May 02, 2012

    VaFungu: The Hess station you are referring to is not a WilcoHess, but instead a Hess Express. Visit our website and more specifically, our store locator to find a list of WilcoHess stations near you: http://wilcohess.com/Home.

    Hess Express can be contacted here: http://hessexpress.com/ContactUs

    0 Votes
  • Jo
      Jul 09, 2012

    I have been going to my local Wilco Hess for years, for gas coffee and other items, I know most of the staff by name and they do me. Last night I went in to buy a pack of cigarettes and as I walked up to the counter the employee was on her cell phone yakking away I waited a moment and she told whoever was on the other end to hold on.
    I bought my cigarettes and she became confused about the change, she then asked me if she had already given me my change I replied no and she gave me a look as though she had given it to me and I was lying. I simply stated that if she stayed off the phone for a minute she may be able to concentrate as the person was still holding on so I felt she was distracted. She said she was not on the phone I said no not now but you were.
    By now a line had formed behind me and as I went to leave she called me an [censored]ing ###!! I retaliated and said "You are the [censored] ### and left. As i walked to my car I thought what the hell just happened I am being called an [censored] ### at a place where I spend a lot of money in a year I am helping to pay this employees wages.
    I did call the manager of the store who said she will look into it as they do not condone talking on cell phones when you are supposed to be serving customers!! The fact that she called me an [censored] ### does not matter. This is laughable and I for one will not spend another penny at Wilco Hess.

    0 Votes
  • Ju
      Jul 10, 2012

    I'm glad to know I'm not the only human in the US that has had issues with HESS. I have shopped HESS for a long time and so has many of my friends and family. I was impressed with the way a store on Hwy 210 in Lillington, NC was friendly and courteous...so stupid me told my daughter she should go to work there. Boy oh boy...did she go to work there. She was hired at $8.25 an hour because she was going to work night shift. After working a couple of days she was told that because she is female, she couldn't work night shift. Well...with a couple of work days behind her, she got wrote up for doing doughnuts incorrectly. Well, a couple more days went by and she was wrote up for cigarettes being stolen. It just so happened that is was another employee and finally, she got fired. Well, after working for a couple of weeks, without being told, her pay rate dropped to $7.25. This store mgr. (chris) if you want to call her that, hires 4 people and then fires four people. This must be a game for her because I have only noticed one person that stays familiar and that is only because he works for the Lillington Police Dept. (go figure) This store had been the cleanest I have ever ever seen while my girl worked there and I had heard this from many people. Well, today my daughter had run into an emergency situation and had to call in to say she wouldn't be there. The store manager told her it was "###". And then told her she was fired. All I can say is..."IF YOU HAVE ANY SENSE AT ALL...DON'T SHOP WITH THESE CRAZY PEOPLE. TELL ALL OF YOUR FRIENDS AND FAMILY TO NOT WASTE THEIR HARD EARNED MONEY . THERE ARE TOO MANY STORES AROUND THAT OFFER PLEASANT SERVICE AND DON'T SCREW YOU OR MISTREAT EMPLOYEES. IF ENOUGH PEOPLE JOIN IN...HESS WOULD BE FORCED TO CLOSE. IT'S HAPPENED IN THE PAST TO BIG PLACES...LOOK AT WINN DIXIE...SEARS...KMART...AND MANY OTHERS.
    I don't know how a big corporation like this can fire someone that hasn't had any training and has worked harder than any human there and loved her job. She has never been told where the 911 button is for emergencies...the emergency cut off for gas pumps...and then she has been told that she can't work any time over. If she needs to count her drawer, she should sign out and do it on her own time. Now that is "###", and I think the labor board will kindly find out about it.
    And I have always been taught growing up..."what goes around ...comes around." Her day will come because a good company will not continue to put up with complaints and mouthy managers that don't give a flip about others. I honestly think a lawyer looks and sounds good about right now. And to think, all Hess can say is "Thanks for your business...I'm sorry and I hope we can serve you in the future". Wow!!! Bright people...HUH? Another thing...if someone attempts to drive off without paying for gas...they have to chase them and try to collect. Hello...we are talking a lawsuit here, if someone gets killed or hurt. WAKE UP people. If you hire people that care and are in the job for the right reasons, you may get some good ones...like you just lost. And by the way...she didn't sign the write ups because she was advised that if she was innocent...not to sign it because a signature is admitting guilt.

    0 Votes
  • Le
      Jul 15, 2012

    Imagine if nearly every customer dealt with in a day was like that "mad as hell but laughing" guy? Imagine gas pumps dinging to be turned on, the lady in front of you (holding up the line) cant decide which cigarettes she wants, then some kid wants to argue with you because his ID is expired... Just then someone drops a 64oz fountain drink in the middle of the sales floor and a little old lady thinks she used her credit card at the pump and starts to drive off after youve turned the pump on for her...then this "mad but laughing" customer feels he can talk to you any type of way because after all, your job isnt hard...all you do is push buttons all day..right?? We do our best to make people happy but some customers you will never please. Its tough not to take customer's ridiculous attitudes personally. 9.99 times out of 10 customer's rude attitudes arent even about you. The way people talk and the actions of their behavior reflect who they truly are at heart. And that my friends has nothing to do with you. You can fix stupid and stupid is as stupid does.

    0 Votes
  • Wi
      Jul 16, 2012

    Josephine Lee & justme4ever: We're sorry to hear of your poor experience at WilcoHess. We take your comments very seriously and have passed them along internally for further review. We also encourage you to let us know here: http://www.wilcohess.com/ContactUs or call our customer service line directly: 1 (800) 642-0945 Ext. 1011 so we may better understand your issues.

    0 Votes
  • Ju
      Jul 16, 2012

    Trust me...lead by example...been there and done that. I do know how hard it is. Honestly, if a person can't handle the stress of the job, it's not the job for them. I have seen many, many times, situations at other stores, that have been very stressful and busy as crap...but the cashiers and employees handled everything very well. Some of these employees are wonderful, but just like everywhere, there is always a bad apple in the group. I think a great deal of the problems with HESS comes from the store management. These poor people are brought in and not trained on what is expected. This makes for a horrible attitude toward the job and deep, deep stress. The corporation needs to come up with a way to give these managers and employees a great training. It would certainly help these people enjoy their jobs more. I know a corporation this size knows better and can offer more to these employees to make it easier. This way they won't have such a huge turnover. That is something that makes it hard for everyone involved.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
      Jul 17, 2012

    I have worked in the customer service field for many years which does make me a little more tuned in to the customer service offered to me. In my profession we have trainings every year to include diversity training.
    I agree totally with the previous comment that part of the problem does lie with management and the lack of training. Years ago when I was first starting out I applied to be a bagger at a Safeway store, once hired I was given a week of training in not ony how to bag groceries but also in customer service training, at the time I thought "What the hell?" all this to be a bagger! But now I totally understand what they were doing.
    Ultimatley Wilco Hess in my opinion needs to vet their potential employees a little better it does seem that they hire just about anyone and they also need to set up some customer service training even if it is just a day to prepare potential employees for different scenarios.
    I totally get working with the general public is no easy feat I know this from experience however that is the job and as with any retail establishment customer service is key to a succesful business.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
      Jan 10, 2013

    yes to all the people i worked at wilcohess for about 2 years and now they hired a woman that came in to be my manager. SHE was rude to all the other worker and she never did her job as a manager.she used us to keep people off her back . when she came there i was there for at least there1 year before she came there and i do understand we must listen to her as her being our manager. AT the time she came to work there i got hired as a cashier and in awhile i was pomoted to be head cashier which i really enjoyed alittle more money plus alway helping people when manager wasnt there to asset cust. ok well alot of things started to happen at this store and cashier was always at blame and no1 wanted to listen to the cashier.then all of a sudden i got into it with her it was bad yes lord it was she called me out using the N word up and down my face and i told her that was not the way i was raised up we treat people like we want to be treated. Iasked for a meeting with our distict manager and never heard it anymore for a coulple of weeks.THEN the next thing i knew she was telling me that i had to be moved out of that store if i wanted to keep my job and she told me this at the end of my shift for that day which like the next day i would be working at another store.which at that time i had no way to get to work at another store and plus they would of be cuting my pay rate .where you do that at i guess wilcohess i havnt find a job since then i do believe that by wilco putting in the system i was fried i cant get another job i really fill like i have been railroaded over this please wilco either give me a job or please take my name off you all list as being not able to work for you all please i ask of you guys.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
      Jan 11, 2013

    First of all Discrimination is against the law if this person called you the N word and you are the one forced to move to another store with a pay cut this is blatant discrimination. I urge you to call the department of labor legal division ask to speak to Jane Ammons Gilchrist (919) 733-0368. You may well have some legal recourse.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
      Apr 21, 2013

    I go into the Wilco-Hess # 381 on hwy52n Albemarle N.C. a lot and that manager needs help she has same very good cashier the one that works 3rd is not very nice lady and I go in there tonight and fine out one of the good ones is not there no more what I like to know is where do wilco
    get there manager cause this manager is one mess up person she is high on same thing all the time if you want to see a show go there but I will be going else where to do my shopping and prayers that same one will look into this and the good workers fine better jobs

    0 Votes
  • Lu
      Jul 11, 2013

    What's Wilco-Hess policy on overtime worked ? I work at one of your stores and I have been told to clock out when my shift is over but if the guy for the next shift shows late I don't get paid that time, or if I have extra work to complete I do not get paid for staying working past my shift, what's that ?

    0 Votes
  • Po
      Mar 03, 2014

    Now I use to work for hess express and I know In there policy you werent suppose to stalk people nor be absolutely rude to them either. if someone could contact me reguarfing this individual employee that works at wilco hess. I would gladly appreciate it. Thank you. My email is [protected]@yahoo.com

    0 Votes
  • Jb
      Aug 03, 2014

    Tonight I visited the wilcohess on south Stratford road in winston salem, as I walked in and attempted to fill out my lottery slips the time read 1030, the rude and very Manish attendant told me the lottery had closed. She lied and attempted to tell me that they have to reconcile at 1030. I know that the lottery here shuts down at eleven o clock. If wilcohess closes at eleven i should have been helped. The lady assumed I didn't know the rules I suppose, but the fact that she didn't want to serve me is simply despicable. More or less because I was an African American male. I will be contacting the north Carolina education lottery board to notify them that they are not complying with the rules of their games, as well as inquiring information about filing a civil suit for being racially discriminated against. I will also notify all of my friends family and peers that wilcohess is a racist organization and I will not be returning to any wilcohess In the future.

    0 Votes
  • De
      Oct 13, 2014

    at the store in newport, n.c.28570., would like to some men working at the store, all you have is girls, my boyfriend goes in there and flirts and teases them and i hate it...if we have some men i can do the same so he can feel how i feel about it...thanks

    0 Votes
  • Em
      Nov 24, 2014

    Store 235 has one of the most disrespectful managers and un professional district manager I have seen. I come in a lot and she treats her cashiers like trash and brings outside work inside from what I here behind the counter. when I walk in the big boss he is always with Racheal the manager in the office she is all over him and they go an smoke none stop leaving one cashier on register with lines. I think there is something going on and it is unprofessional. I go to all Hess's and he is at that one with her all the time I remember last year that store had a great manager and before that. I also remember him with this manger everyday at the 1853 store about a year ago and he was always all over her and nothing has been done. I will be going hirer then this because thing has been done and the poor cashiers there work hard and she is still there. I will not ever go in a Hess and will be letting a lot of people know! Thank you!

    0 Votes
  • Mi
      Nov 30, 2014

    It was over the summer of 2014 I took a bike ride and I was wearing yoga paints and a tank top and had a back pack on so I go into Hess in Whitensville ma 01588 while I was standing in line I was browsing at all the gadgets on an end cap while in line and so I see a small Bluetooth speaker I pick it up was reading how long the charge lasts by now I move up in line order my coffee than I proseed over to the chip area and decided I did not want the speaker and just set it down. Somewhere neer the chips next thing I no the lady (manager) is saying that I stole the speaker so I said where the hell did I put it in wearing spandex clothing I think u wood see a box of that size and I dumped my back pack out was not in there all of a sudden she make me and a male employe to the back where the tv monitors are and she started touching my breast and that whole area of my body in front of this boy that worked there than she pulled my shirt down and exposed my breast now reminde you I was wearing a spandex tank top there was no need of that nor as an employe she should not have put her hands on me expecaly in the area she did I have not said anything till now I was embarrassed this lady sexually harassed me infront of a male employe than she made me leave the store when it was established that I did not steal anything as I was standing out side looking in tho the door I seen her find what she thought I was stealing I have thought of this and then actions over and over and I get so up set because she violated me the way she did

    0 Votes

Post your comment