SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

TD Bankbeing an employee at td bank

Review updated:

Currently I work at the newly labeled 'TD Bank'. I was a customer of Banknorth for years before I began working as a part time employee there just several months ago. This employment is a result of being laid off from my previous job and trying to find work in an unforgiving economy.

I've spent the last week getting yelled at because of the bank's computer issues. It is most certainly understadable that customers are angry and outraged by this occurrence, however, it is far worse to be the employee getting yelled at when this customer has no idea that my money is also tied up in the same very bank. I am at work frustrated myself, working for a company that I have little faith in as of late. What choice do I have but to go to work? I look for alternative employment every single day before and after work.

It is not easy to work for TD Bank. It is not easy to break people's hearts and ruin their entire day by telling these people that go to work every day to try to keep their heads above water that their account is now overdrawn because they couldn't keep the 'minimum balance' in their account. These are certainly not enjoyable moments at work, but I have to go to work too.

I just wanted to say that, we are not all careless unsympathetic employees and that is not an easy job.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Su
      Oct 08, 2009

    i feel for you, I am a unhappy x - employee - I left because I just couldn't take the
    merge... i felt sick at first now I'M FREE - FREE FREE FREE

    +2 Votes
  • Pj
      Nov 20, 2009

    Good morning,

    I am also a very disgusted customer of TD Bank. I am trying to pull together the collective anger of folks that are experiencing these same poor, unethical, and unsavory banking practices from TD Bank. Would you be interested in seeing if we can work together to make some noise about these issues? I have contacted my state Senators, representatives, and local news outlets. but it would be more effective if more folks would do the same. I am a NH resident myself, but I would be happy to contact your legislature and congressional delegation. Let me know if you are interested in making some noise with me. thanks in advance for your response.

    Sincerely,

    Philippe J. R. Fortin [protected]@thewholetree.com

    +1 Votes
  • Td
      Feb 21, 2010

    Hello Philippe,

    I hope that your efforts are successful. An approach that I used that helped me to vent my just been robbed feeling was to educate residents of towns that have new TD Branches being announced. Sure some of the folks will be wealthy enough to avoid charges (God willing I'll be in that category with my recent degree although I wont be at TD Bank investing). Many of the folks are like us; responsible with our bills yet not able to always avoid their lending practices of Excessive Charges. Bottom line: TD Bank knows how to get good PR with Charity events yet there was nothing "Convenient" about the charges that they gave thousands of us. I paid $15.00 for one day during a month of less than $100. & if a person ever bounces a check they will pay Excessive Charges. Bottom Line: Their products don't match up with their competitors.

    This is what I sent to an on-line newspaper RE a New Branch of TD Bank

    Hello Residents of (List Town):

    If you decide to choose TD Bank you may experience Excessive Fees as I have. I had a Simply Free Checking account that the bank switched to a Convenience Checking. I was notified by letter that there was an account change about to happen. In my busyness with work & school I did not take the time to read the letter. Page 6 mentioned an account balance minimum requirement change to $100. TD Bank began automatically charging me $15 per month. In my loyalty & busyness with life I stayed with them (my mistake). As money got tighter I also began to have car problems. I transferred money from another account to help my situation. It cleared the other account more than a day earlier & yet TD Bank had it listed as pending. They then charged me $140 (35 x 4). I do not want this to happen to you if you go through a tough time financially or are just not wealthy enough to avoid their charges in order to have a free checking account. My suggestion to you is do yourself a favor & choose Citizens bank they will actually pay you to bank with them with financial incentives for transactions or choose a credit union where you will also not be taken advantage of.

    +1 Votes
  • 1j
      Oct 02, 2010

    Since TD Bank changed the senior managers of the company in retail. We are not an equal opportunity employer to the TD Banknorth legacy employees. We will never know what this means as long as we have commerce controlling our company. Mr. CEO you should take a look at what we are today, the reality of working for TD Bank is now based on preference who you know, what circle you are a citizen of. A successful, quality, producer, or experiences employee will not qualify the employee as a candidate for any opportunity to comcast their career at TD Bank. So many of them left beause of what is right and wrong, and more will follow. Make Change, or prepare to fix the problems that this will cause later as TD Banknorth did when they took over because of the same problems.. And so much more that will unfold when you decide to take a closer look at the people who you gave the key to run your company.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
      Dec 27, 2010

    TD does not at all care about the people who work in the branch. They are paid very little and are expected to do it all. America's most convenient bank does not care if its employees have to drive in trecherous conditions to get to work. Even if there is a state of emergency, the branch is expected to be open and you are expected to be there. They never close. In term of moving up, it is true- it all depends on who you know. If you are liked and become part of the click you will succeed. It is hard to know the click at the branch level. If you don't know the click you will stay in the branch unless you leave for other work. TD branch employees are not paid well and raises per year run about .25 per hour. That's twenty five cents per hour- it isn't worth the time it takes to walk into and out of the manager's office. It's insulting.

    0 Votes
  • Mo
      Dec 30, 2010

    teller's have a front line job in customer service and proper training is needed to help customers whether they are happy or annoyed. people don't usually walk in and start yelling right away. if someone is yelling, you allowed their anger to build to where there was no other recourse in their minds. that is a hard situation to turn back around. secondly, what competant manager would let a situation get out of hand like that without stepping in. thirdly, the td/commerce conversion screw up should never have gone live before it was ready. if there were test runs, they must not have mirrored real life situations, and the person in charge didn't know what the heck they were doing. i wonder if they still work there? To address customer fears and frustration required mgt to do a little work and come up with a plan so the first line employees have something worthwhile to tell customers. They were probably in the dark too. invest a little training and get some good people in there so customers want to come back.

    0 Votes
  • Ra
      Feb 01, 2011

    Seriously, what the heck do you want TD to do; call every freakin' customer? You get mail for a reason. Banks merge. Where have you been for the past twenty years? You get a notice, YOU don't bother to read it and then complain? TD mails out these notices a few times, just because of people like you. Here's a suggestion. READ YOUR MAIL, ESPECIALLY WHEN IT'S FROM YOUR OWN BANK!!!

    0 Votes
  • An
      Aug 28, 2011

    Unfortunately I agree with many of the comments above, because they are the truth. I understand how corporate world functions, but TD Bank is in a world by itself. There are positive things about the company, but the negative seems to outweigh it. There is absolutely no employee recognition or motivation and they are very cheap compared to all banks in many aspects. I was shocked when I was told I could not expense milage for going to training and some events outside of the store. They say they want to WOW the customers; however, just because they are open late hours ; it is not enough for customers to give outstanding reviews about the bank. They have the employees jump around from Penny Arcade to teller line to platform and are on their feet all day. They say that they WOW their employees but they do not; infact employees who have been there since Commerce Bank and new hires are burnt out. At hire they promise that there are great incentives and then when you join there is no incentives. Its as if they have to trick people to join their company. People who started with Commerce Bank seem more loyal to their job and company at the timem but TD Bank ichanged all that and is making them look elsewhere. And those who recently joined TD Bank know what a traditional bank is all about and how much more they can get without the late hours; they are not planning to stay long. They have some good concepts, but are not strong enough to come close to their expectation because they take for granted their employees and are dillusional if they think staying open a few hours longer and dog treats are going to make a customer loyal. They are trying to fool employees, customers and themselves if they think they are going to be the best of the best. The reason is the disrespect and disregard for their employees and not taking a moment to listen without faulting a person for speaking the truth. At this time people stay with the bank because of the economy, but not everyone is that desperate. TD Bank better start being more considerate and appreciate their employees more. In regards to incentives the bank made out large last year; therefore, giving to their employees a bit more in their paycheck.would be the wisest thing to do. All the regional manager, presidents and so on are playing games with the employees and that makes the company unethical.

    +1 Votes
  • An
      Sep 04, 2011

    I just got hired and everyday I am looking for a new job... I wont be their long and on my exit interview I will be professional and very VERY specific!!!

    0 Votes
  • An
      Sep 04, 2011

    I have worked for other banks before, but I just got here and I want to espcape. I am not one bit exaggerating. This is a horrible horrible bank. Everyone is so depressed and the managers just wait for you to make a mistake and document everything instead of being a bit human and coach. This place pathetic. I am digging a hole out of here...The CSR are miserable I feel so bad for them. They fool the very young tellers that this is all they are worth. What a disgrace...

    0 Votes
  • Kb
      Jan 27, 2014

    I have worked for TD as a teller for 9 mths. I was on probation 2 x. Finally I had been error free for over 3 mtgs. I am over 50, and working part time 20 hrs. The first 5 months there was such an amazing turnover that we were all working 25 to 30 hours and the lines were out the door. That was mostly the reason that we were all having problems with the new tellers balancing. Anyways, I had just started feeling confident in my job and was balancing everyday and was number 1 in SR. Last Sunday I was trying to get out on time which was 3:00pm, so I started to balance at 2:45. I balanced just fine, but was still taking customers that had no cash deposits to help out. Just before 3:00 I was going to balance again and when I checked my count, I was still balanced since I didn't take any cash in after balancing. I noticed I was over the drawer limit by $2000 so did a quick sell to another teller, who signed my sell and I put the ticket in my drawer. That was the mistake. Now it's 3:05 and I am trying to get out on time. Staying over is frowned upon. I forgot to put the ticket thru, stupid error. I wrapped up my drawer, put it away and left for the day. The next day when I show up for work, my manager is there to audit me. As soon as I bring up my drawer I see the balance over the limit and realize my mistake. For failing to put the ticket thru and for not deducting the sell off the drawer I got fired. I feel so stupid, such a dumb mistake. Anyway, I am trying to file for unemployment and I am having a hard time getting their registration number to file with. Anyone know it????

    0 Votes
  • Se
      Mar 07, 2017

    having experienced roles across multiple departments - from Wealth Management to Credit Cards to TD Insurance, where focus is on achieving cost efficiencies by:
    1. Reducing workforce - laying off over 40 people last year in one department alone
    2. Increasing the workload on frontline "colleagues" to unmanageable levels and setting unachievable goals - processing of over 200 claims per claims analyst, which results in severage pay cost avoidance when "colleagues" quit,
    3. Freezing compensation and forcing overtime - resulting an increase in number of employees on stress leaves, followed by an increase in long-term disability deductible from paycheques to unprecented levels, currently at over $400 per month, and
    4. Minimizing customers' claim payouts to reduce claims costs and improve profitability at the expense of poor customer experience as demonstrated by missing Net Promoter Scores

    0 Votes

Post your comment