SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

ReMax Preferred Choice Properties Timeshare Sales / took my money and did nothing

1819 Highway 76, Suite E, Branson, MO, United States Review updated:
Contact information:
Phone: 800-454-1192

I paid $600 to this company with the agreement that they would sell my timehsare within one year, two years maximum. After I paid the money and signed my contract, which they mailed to me, I never heard from them again, except for a few more advertising brochures that they sent to me after I'd already become a customer! They did ABSOLUTELY NOTHING to sell my timeshare and did not contact me at either the one-year or two-year point -- obviously because they took my money and ran.

This company sends brochures via snail mail to timeshare owners all over the US in hopes of collecting exhorbitant fees for doing nothing. Do not EVER pay a fee up front to a company to sell your timeshare. Demand that the fee be taken from the proceeds once the timeshare is sold.

Dr
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Bd
      Nov 17, 2009

    I was contacted by REMAX TIMESHARE VACATIONS, Lakeworth FL regarding selling my timeshare. I was told they had a pre-authorized/financed buyer for my timeshare. They gave me a full name, address, telephone number, and sales rep name. I paid
    $1, 995.00 and John Heff (I'm sure is not his name) was to call me the next day to make sure I received the overnight letter they were sending which would include the contract to sell my timeshare. He even had another person come on the phone to verify my information, however after I got off the phone with the verfication guy - he didn't ask all the questions I was told he would. This made me suspicious. Therefore, I immediately searched the internet and found this post. THANK GOD I did and I THANK YOU to WHOMEVER wrote the complaint about the $600 that was paid and the company did nothing. I was able to STOP the transaction from going through for a small fee of $20 otherwise I would have lost my EMERGENCY CASH FUND. We're warned to watch out for internet/email fraud, now I know I have to beware of every purchase I make. Guess what? I didn't receive any phone calls or overnight letters either. BIG SURPRISE!!! Just out of curiosity I called the telephone number he gave me for the business office and it was not in service.
    DO NOT GIVE THESE PEOPLE ANY OF YOUR MONEY OR INFORMATION !!! Again, THANK YOU to the person who wrote the complaint regarding the $600. There are not enough words to express my appreciation that someone took the time to post the information. While to some people $1, 995.00 might not be a lot of money, to me it is. I am a single mother living paycheck to paycheck and trying to put some money away each month even if it is only $25.00. With the economy the way it is, I am thankful I have the Emergency Cash Fund I have and that I have a job. Thanks to the indvidual who wrote the post, I was able to retrieve my money, except for the $20 which I can handle!!! THANK YOU and GOD BLESS YOU!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      Apr 15, 2010

    I had the same experience. Did you ever wind up selling your timeshare? If so, how?

    0 Votes
  • Bd
      Apr 15, 2010

    No I never sold my timehare. There are too many scams going on. I learned a sellor should not have to put any money upfront for a legitimate sale. Any title search fees should be able to be taken out of the proceeds if the agent is truly going to sell your timeshare. I have been contacted by other companies as well, promising the same thing and even telling me it won't cost me anything. Then later in the conversation I needed to pay $699 of which would be refunded to me when the sale (Which again was guaranteed already had buyers) was final, which would only take 20 days. If they honestly were selling it for me, it wouldn't cost me anything, they are right about that. The problem is you give them $699 for title search and more than likely would not hear from them again. After I lost money from another comapny and looked on E-Bay and Timeshares only I found timeshares the same as mine selling for as little as $2, 000 - don't believe them if you are told they are working with European clients because anyone that has internet access can purchase on the internet, it doesn't matter where in the world they are located. I believe the ONLY way a person has a chance to sell their timeshare is in person, either atyour home resort or locally. I have heard of people going to the meetings at the resorts and potential buyers actually buying from owners by the pool instead of the resort because the prices have gone up so much. If anyone comes up with a way to share a timeshare without being scammed, I would love to know. I'd like to sell my timeshare, however, I might as well pay the money for my maintenance fees and still be able to one day use my timeshare rather then giving the scambags money.

    0 Votes
  • Al
      May 27, 2010

    OMG!! THANKS!! I was talking to someone form "REMAX timeshare" and she wanted me to pay 650. i sent her an email saying that that didnt make sense. i have worked with remax on all my transactions with real estate and never paid upfront and I have gotten zero response. Will keep you posted...thanks for your messages!! we need to create a REAL company that sells this because this timeshares are wrong...the SCAM starts since you purshase them. how sad :(

    0 Votes
  • Sa
      Sep 07, 2010

    These guys are just like everyone else in this industry except they sound more professional. Paid the $650 fee and never recieved one call back from anyone. I called every now and then just to check the status and same old story, alot of activity but no offers yet. Dont waste your money!!

    0 Votes
  • Bi
      Sep 30, 2010

    I wished I read this before I paid them. I paid $680 in Aug 2008 to sell my timeshare. They would call me 2-3 times a day trying to get my money. I relunctly gave them my money because I was trying to sell it asap. They have never called me with a status or update. I would always have to call them. When I called them today to get an update, they told me I had to pay them an additional $290 to keep the advertisement going. I immediately told them I wanted a refund and of course, they are playing hard ball. So, I opened a case with BBB. I suggest that everyone who got scammed to do the same thing.

    +1 Votes
  • Me
      Apr 09, 2011

    I paid $650 for a Remax preferred choice propertien in Gainesville, MO. and never heard from the agent after that. She's never around when I called and never return my phone calls. How do I get a Refund back?

    0 Votes
  • Di
      Jun 14, 2011

    same thing about remax timeshare in missouri a total ripoff do not use

    0 Votes
  • Li
      Jun 28, 2011

    I suppose I am being taken for a ride as well since I have not heard a thing from anyone!!! I'm going to play hardball now and get my money back as well!!

    0 Votes

Post your comment