SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Olive Gardenpork in the meat sauce

Review updated:

I had the pleasure of eating at one of the restaurants on 1/16/17. Now on the menu I ordered a dish that advertised that it has traditional meat sauce that comes along with it. Now to me, meat sauce just meant ground beef. No where on the menu does it say pork is included in that meat sauce. I do not eat pork.See the Top 10 Worst Complaints in Atlanta, GA I was told after I had consumed some of the meal that low and behold it included pork which had my stomach turning all night long. I think it's false advertising. Your consumers should know right away what type of meat is in the sauce as to not have someone get violently ill by consuming it. Please let me know what you intend to do to rectify this.

Talibah Wilson

Bk
Jan 17, 2017
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  •   Jan 17, 2017

    What do you want them to do? Olive Garden is an Italian eatery. Italians use beef and pork in their recipes. Just because you 'thought' something does not mean they are wrong or have anything to 'fix'.

    -1 Votes
  • Mi
      Jan 18, 2017

    Wine is Good is correct. Italians use beef AND pork in their recipes, particularly the sauces.

    +1 Votes
  • Ch
      Mar 19, 2018

    There is a growing number of people who eschew pork. Pigs are as smart as dogs, and I wouldn't ever eat a dog. I have specifically asked my server at OG if the meat sauce contains pork. Depending on which restaurant I was in, I have gotten different answers, yes or no. I wish they would just simplify and make it all 100% beef chain-wide so this concern would go away.

    +1 Votes
  •   Mar 20, 2018

    @ChrisNorth So you are so special that no one should be able to eat pork in their sauce because you don't? What about the people who don't eat meat? Maybe their choice should be more important than yours?

    0 Votes
  •   Mar 20, 2018

    @Wine Is Good I had the same thought. Vegetarians can’t eat beef do let’s exclude them, too. One guy dislikes pork so let’s ban it

    0 Votes
  • Os
      Jan 28, 2019

    @ChrisNorth Their meat sauce doesn't even have pork in it though.

    -1 Votes
  •   Mar 19, 2018

    Next time, do an Internet search beforehand for the ingredients. I do that for national chain restaurants in case the food contains something I don't like. If a local place, I ask to speak to the chef and inquire about the ingredients. If they say "no xxxxxx" and I taste it, I'll refuse to pay and get something else. It's happened just once to me but if you say there's no mustard in or on it, and I taste or see it, you'd better grovel!

    0 Votes
  • Os
      Jan 28, 2019

    Actually, Olive Garden's meat sauce does not include pork. Neither do their meatballs. They actually have charts you can pull up on google that show which items at Olive Garden have pork.

    -1 Votes
  • Md
      Feb 28, 2019
    Best Best Advice

    to Ostentatious Savant, I beg to differ on your above comment that states, " Olive Garden's meat sauce does not include pork. Neither do their meatballs." BE CARFEUL WHAT YOU POST - ALWAYS GOOD TO HAVE THE FACTS FIRST!

    I ate at Olive Garden (Whitehall, PA) last evening, 2/27/19 with my children and the menu CLEARLY reads, **Our meat-sauce is made with pan-seared beef and Italian sausage.**

    I am a person who does not eat pork as well (same as many other people who posted above) and I chose to order chicken dishes when I dine at Olive Garden. Even the zuppa tuscana soup has Italian sausage in it = PORK, so people who do not eat pork should KNOW what a restaurants ingredients are prior to ordering and consuming certain menu items.

    +4 Votes
  •   Apr 21, 2019

    It is meat sauce, not beef sauce. Meat is a lot more than beef and even pork. Chicken, sheep, rabbits... Are all considered meat.

    -1 Votes
  •   Apr 21, 2019

    @Um is not an answer! My spaghetti and meatballs is sheep and rabbit meat?!?!?!

    It’s probably mystery meat sauce. Ground gizzards (giblets), testicles, toes and butt parts. I’m always careful when ordering food at a new restaurant. I always ask what’s in the hamburger besIdes hamburg meat? Often there are breadcrumbs, eggs, onion, etc.

    +1 Votes

Post your comment