The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Maytag Washer & Dryer / maytag neptune washer may cause serious injury or death

1 United States Review updated:

On December 5, 206 our Maytag Neptune washer started a fire in our home. We have an Engineer's report stating that the cause of the fire was the Maytag Neptune washer. Maytag has shown no interest in settling this matter, says that there is no proof, but refuses to participate in studying the washer. This fire caused over $70,000 in damage and might have caused serious injury or death. We would like for others to know of the potential risk.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Jo
      7th of Sep, 2006
    0 Votes

    Today has been amazing. I have been on hold or on the phone for better than five hours trying to solve a problem with my/your Maytag Neptune washer. The first six of your representatives could NOT resolve the situation and had no interest in elevating it to a supervisor and I was promptly placed into a music box cue or disconnected each time. On the seventh call, I reached Gene (said he was a supervisor hold time 77 minutes) who first informed me that Maytag would not be responsible for either the parts or the labor for repairs based on a memo (Reference # 16023121) that I told him about. When I reminded him that I still had a warrantee period remaining on the parts he placed me on hold and I am still holding… wait he just came back on and now is requesting that I hold while he calls the warrantee people to clarify what can be done… I it likely a Neptune motor conversion kit costing $235.88 plus labor $137.95 will fix the problem. (Humm… lets see what a new system would cost).

    My expensive washer is broken: Model MAH5500BWW Serial # 73924805ZS

    The code on the listed on the dial is Lr (motor not running properly)…

    I contacted all of the repair vendors provided by your representatives and they all said they could not fix the problem without your expressed authorization. Only one vendor (Brown) gave me the reason why… (see reference memo above). Pacific and Gorden, were rude and did not want to work on your systems period…humm, I wonder what that means…

    For the record, your people are untrained, unskilled in common communications, cannot find information that is germane to the situation and all should be terminated immediately, if for no other reason to set an example to other and stop the unswerving inability to simply do a job to the best of their abilities.

    Maytag Customer Service
    240 Edwards Street SE
    Cleveland, TN 37311

    Re: Thursday, July 13, 2006 - Conversations with your representatives –

    Kelly ID # 8651
    Kashia ID # 8611
    LaTonya ID # 4689
    Tanana ID # 8646
    Patrick ID # 45
    Patrice (refused to give me her ID #)
    Gene # 4328 (Supervisor)

  • Sc
      8th of Sep, 2006
    0 Votes

    My name is Scott Baclawski and I am what I would consider a loyal Maytag customer. In 1991 I purchase my first Maytag washer and dryer. They are still going and my wife and I decided to keep the pair and move them to our second home while we upgraded to the Neptune washer and dryer in our primary home. This was last October. We also purchased the pedestals for both units as the elevated load height seemed convenient. Unfortunately, within a few days we learned of a problem with the washing machine.

    The torque produced by the spin cycle of the machine caused it to ‘walk’. We at first thought this was a load problem but adjustment proved ineffective. I also adjusted the machine’s feet assuring that the machine was level. Both attempts were ineffectual. On two occasions the machine walked to the point of dislodging the drain hose from the stand-pipe causing flooding in the laundry room as well as my basement below.

    I contacted my local Maytag repairmen, Allstar Maytag in Waterbury, and worked via them to find a solution to the walking problem. After months of going back and forth, and after the installation of the sandpaper pads to the rubber feet with no change, I had to utilize a curtain rod to hold the machine in place which as you can imagine caused quite a racket.

    Yesterday Allstar returned and we removed the machine as well as the dryer from the pedestals. It was determined by Allstar that this was the only recourse to rectify the walking problem. I called the Maytag service line, 800-688-9900, spoke to a representative and explained my problem. I have two pedestals, which I paid $149.99 each for, that I cannot use. After I was told that there was nothing they could do for me and I became insistent, my information was recorded and was given another number to call, 800-544-2538. I was informed there that this problem was documented, my information was recorded again and I was told a ‘board’ would be shipped to me to fix the walking problem. I informed the representative that I wanted to seek reimbursement for the pedestals as I did not want to re-stall them fearing further problems. I was told that the previous number I called could offer assistance in this regard. I called back and proceeded to get what I will generously refer to as the run-around. My call, which lasted the better part of an hour was switched to a supervisor who informed that I needed to contact the seller of the units, in this case Bernie’s of Waterbury, CT. I told the supervisor that I did not expect Bernie’s to do anything. They are not the manufacturer and I am sure they would only refer me back to Maytag. She, the supervisor, told me to hold as she contacted Bernie’s. After several minutes on hold she came back on the line to refer me back to the 800-544-2538 number as they were responsible for these matters. I told her what I had been told, twice by the representative at that number, to call the 800-688-9900 number.

    After all of this my level of frustration and disgust with the whole process was beyond describable. I told the supervisor that if there was nothing that could be done and I was stuck with the pedestals to tell me so. She would not. I told her and I will pass along to you as well, I purchased the top of the line models because I do not like dealing with after-the-fact problems. I want and expect high end products to perform as advertised. Had I been told that the pedestals could cause the washing machine to walk during spin cycles, especially on tile floors, I would have passed on them and saved myself $300.

    I don’t know what, if anything, you can do but I wanted you to know, Mr. Hakes, that as CEO of Maytag your customer service department leaves a lot to be desired. I felt and believed that Maytag stood behind their products. This whole episode is leading me to believe otherwise.

  • Fr
      13th of Dec, 2006
    0 Votes

    From June 2006 after buy new washer and dryer, the washer did not work , after much talk they sent their own service to repair, which they could not do with out giving a loaner for a month, well loaner's big tub hose come off and flooded the wash room with damage to new carpet, pad and labor, got the appraisal the ask for and have not heard from them sense, they wanted the no. on the loaner, da it was theirs.. sorry but sad. It's now Dec 12, 2006 lone enough, I think so.

  • Ba
      1st of Jul, 2007
    0 Votes
    Maytag Washer & Dryer - Washer does not get the clothes clean
    United States

    Washer does not get the clothes clean. Have to wash twice. The clothes in dryer come out rough, not soft and fluffy. Sears in Pendleton, Oregon 97801 will not give me any satisfaction.

  • Ba
      1st of Jul, 2007
    0 Votes

    How do I get help? Will the Maytag company help me?

  • Da
      19th of Nov, 2008
    0 Votes

    I owned a maytag washer for 2 years... It caught on fire and nearly burned my house down. I e-mailed maytag/Whirlpool and they didn't call for 15 days after which time I had bought another Washer. They said that I should have kept the old washer, I said they should have called me with in the first week. They didn't care and said they could do nothing... DO NOT BUY MAYTAG

  • Da
      13th of Mar, 2010
    0 Votes

    3/13/2010
    I went to this site because, surprise, my Maytag Neptune washer setting on a base dances better than I do. I had screwed a board to the floor that had holes in it, and stabbed the front feet of the washer into them...seemed like a crude fix but reading the complaints it is probably a fix I will live with.

    As my wife told the appliance store she wanted Maytag appliances 4 years ago, I told the sales person I thought this was a poor product...that I had a dishwasher a few years ago and it was a poor unit. But...we bought a Dishwasher, microwave oven, Fridge, stove, washer and dryer. Sure am glad we did not buy anything else with the Maytag name. The good news is the dryer has worked well. The dishwasher had a tray roller fall off early on and now is having electrical problems. The microwave electronics fried early on. The stove has a couple of burners gone. The fridge makes noises and has a drawer that comes apart. We jumped through a few hoops getting the "special" washer cord for the washer because of some defect. However when people visit they can see our "fine" maytag appliances. It is just my wife and I...if we had these appliances when we had children maybe they would have worn out after a year or so and would have been replaced with one of those lower quality/less expensive counterparts that work well and last for years. Did I mention how very proud I am of the dryer?

    D

  • La
      15th of Aug, 2018
    0 Votes
    Maytag - Top load washing machine
    United States

    Machine is not cleaning clothing. Does not put enough water in machine to wash clothes. Machine is ruining my clothes. Leaves detergent stains on clothes and does not rinse the detergent out if clothes. This machine is a big disappointment. Waited many years to get Matag. Will never purchase Matag again. Big ripoff.

  • Ki
      15th of Aug, 2018
    0 Votes
    Maytag Centennial Washer HE - Worst washer ever!!!!!
    Yukon
    Oklahoma
    United States

    I have had this washer less than two years!!! Now it won't spin and just took apart, gear box was stripped and corroded! Now we have to buy new washer! Thanks Maytag! NEVER AGAIN!

  • Na
      15th of Aug, 2018
    0 Votes
    Maytag - washing machine model mvwb750ywd ser C30570291
    Staten Island, New York
    New York
    United States

    this is the first porcelin top of any machine i have purchased that rusted over time like this it sat the point where my clothes are getting stained when we use the machine as along time costumer of maytag prouducts i hope something can be done to correct this situation i understand my warranty is up but seems like this may be an exception

  • Ta
      16th of Aug, 2018
    0 Votes
    Maytag - Maytag brovo washer
    Fairfax, Missouri
    United States

    Everyone I was clothes it leave white marks all over my clothes. I am very unhappy with this product especially after spending that kind of money on it. I have tried cutting back detergent and extra rinse cycles and nothing works! Please help as I am very disgusted with your product.

  • Te
      21st of Aug, 2018
    0 Votes
    Maytag - maytag bravos xl washer
    Shallotte
    North Carolina
    United States

    Not happy! Purchased October 2017. One set of queen size sheets done on 'bedding' cycle roll up into a ball and lay on side of tub so machine goes off balance.

    Happens too frequently. Also with queen size quilt.

  • Jo
      26th of Aug, 2018
    0 Votes
    Maytag - Maytag Gemini Stove
    Long Beach
    California
    United States

    Burner Valves are defective. I have replace all five of them them twice! Now another one has broken. It has broken in the ON position, making it impossible to turn the burner off without unplugging the stove. I have had this range four years. Valves are under warranty but the labor to replace them is not, so I have spent about $1K so far in labor.

  • Bl
      10th of Sep, 2018
    0 Votes
    Maytag - washing machine
    Rincon
    Georgia
    United States

    I purchased new washing machine MHW3505FW in July 2016 for $700. A little over a year old and I already have to replace the power supply board that is going to cost me $576. Unbelievable. I purchased this unit under the impression that Maytag made a good product. I guess all the 'built to last commercials' are to fool dummies like me.

  • Cr
      10th of Sep, 2018
    0 Votes
    Maytag - refrigerator
    Goodrich
    Michigan
    United States

    Control panel quit and warranty was expired by 6 months that was a few years ago ! I will not give up my pursuit to receive a new control board at a highly discounted price as a refrigerator should last more than 2 and 1/2 years !

  • Ja
      2nd of Oct, 2018
    0 Votes
    Maytag - The Washer Bravos XL model MVWB835DW1
    Vacaville
    California
    United States
    maytag.com

    My washer has been leaving soap residue on my clothes. Doesn't matter what detergent I use. I only use a small amount of soap. I have to put the clothes thru a second rinse and spin. Sometimes that works but not all the time.

  • St
      15th of Oct, 2018
    0 Votes
    Maytag - Substandard dishwasher product
    Katy
    Texas
    United States

    Less that 2 years old and dishwasher already needs new pump and motor
    MDB4949SDZ0
    F65119057
    Not what I expected with the Maytag name. My previous Whirlpool D/W lasted 6 years before first service needed. I want Maytag to repair or replace.

  • Je
      15th of Oct, 2018
    0 Votes
    Maytag - Washing machine
    Mount Pleasant
    South Carolina
    United States

    I bought the Bravos XL Steam less than a year ago. I had an issue with the detergent tray filling up with water. A technician came & ordered a new dispenser, which he installed over a week later. I then got an "LF" error message as he didn't secure the hoses. He had to come back a few days later to reattach. It worked but is still filling w water.

  • An
      22nd of Oct, 2018
    0 Votes
    Maytag - dishwasher mdl 8959sfz4
    United States

    Dishwasher was purchased about 2 weeks ago and has not ran more than a dozen loads and now the door keeps popping open mid-cycle and leaking water on floor. I'm not sure if latch is busted or if this is just the quality I should expect??? I'm not happy

  • Je
      22nd of Oct, 2018
    0 Votes
    Maytag - bravos waher
    Las Vegas
    Nevada
    United States

    I bought this washer in may 2015 and by December 2016 it stop working repair guy came out to fix the agitator and June 2017 it stop working again!! They are not helping me out with this problem I call customer service and ask to speak with a superior and they hung up on me twice!!! I'm very upset and I will never buy a Maytag product again

Post your comment