SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Intoxalock Device / rolling requests

WI, United States Review updated:

I was driving my vehicle the other day and I usually put the device box on the console between the drivers seat and the passenger seat. Well, I was driving my vehicle down the road when suddenly it wanted me to do a rolling request. I reached for the device box and I dropped it. My lights and horn were going off like crazy because when I dropped the device I couldn't reach it to complete the rolling request so I had to pull over to the side of the road ( I had to find someplace first because I was on a busy street ) and shut my truck off.

Now the company wants to change the way you blow into the device. Why ? What a bunch of B . S .. You shouln't have to blow, inhale and blow again. If you ask me it's just making it more difficult for the driver to concentrate on their driving. Lastly I want to bring up rolling requests. Why so many in one trip ?. That is just a bunch of nonsense. There should be one rolling request required during the time you are driving and that's it. What is the law afraid of ?. That you are going to drink while driving. You have to blow into the device anyway if you want to start you're vehicle up again. If you are going to do that you are going to fail. All of these rolling requests required, the change in the way a person blows are just making it to difficult and dangerous for the driver.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Be
      Aug 27, 2011

    Bet you'll stop Drinking and Driving - Yes, it is such a hassel, isn't it, especially for the rest of us out there on the road avoiding you

    -4 Votes
  • Ja
      Nov 26, 2012

    ya once it locks out they scam you for a $100 what a rip of - Maine!

    -1 Votes
  • Ja
      Nov 26, 2012

    They rip you of on lockouts

    +2 Votes
  • Mx
      Dec 19, 2012

    CST-Intoxalock is taking advantage of people that are using these devices. $70 to reset a device by computer/satelite when the device went into lockout because of "insufficient pressure"! CST-Intoxalock makes people sign a lease which states a charge of $200 for breaking the lease. Court/probation ordered interlock terms change all the time due to good behavior, being released from probation early, etc. These are calculated bs charges that take advantage of the consumer. I personally have tried to talk to a Supervisor multiple times with zero success. I left voice mails, asked cust service to talk to a Supervisor, and had cust service tell me that a Supervisor would contact me - NO SUCH LUCK! I have filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau.

    +2 Votes
  • Co
      Jan 16, 2013

    Downright Dangerous
    The intoxilock goes off almost every 5 minutes while you are driving and I mean a loud squeel then you have to blow into it no matter where you are and it is down right dangerous for the driver and other nearby drivers. Ive swerved and had several near misses. It gets to the point now where I will only drive on roads that are straight with no round abouts. You would think they could come up with something safer, someone is going to get killed.

    +1 Votes
  • Th
      Mar 28, 2013

    the rolling retests every 2 to 5 mins has caused 3 incidents of near misses of rear ending the vehicle and 2 incidents of coming close to being rear ended. It is not safe to trying to blow for 6 secs suck in another 6 secs and additional blow again for another 6 secs while the vehicle in in motion in traffic or any roadway. I also had an incident on the highway on Wednesday March 26 2013 going 65 miles per hour with the flow of traffic when the unit requires a 4 blow in less than a mile, I experienced being light headed from so many intense blows so close together, the unit keep saying too short and too soft while I'm traveling at 65 mph. I got so nervous that I cause a big wreck on the highway that I made the decision to get off into the breakdown lane and stop completely stop the vehicle to complete the proper blow for everyones safety

    0 Votes
  • Th
      Mar 28, 2013

    this is not a safe handsfree device, texting and driving is against the law as well as talking on the phone without a handsfree device will get you a $100 fine for distracted driving because its not safe for anyone, then how is it not considered distracted and 1 hand driving which you will fail a drivers test for 1 handed driving be not punishable by law if you hand to single handedly drive and blow and suck in and blow again for a total of 18 secs of taking your off the road and to do this every 2 to 5 mins while the vehicle is in motion be any safer than or legal as texting and driving. All of which is only supposed to be done when it is to do so

    +1 Votes
  • Th
      Mar 28, 2013

    Its just a matter of time that intoxalock frequency and numerous rolling retests while the the vehicle is moving especially on the highway will be the cause of death. Operating a non handsfree device is accident and a major lawsuit waiting to happen!

    0 Votes
  • Jo
      Jun 18, 2013

    the device put out by this company is a joke!!! my coworker had a different breathalizer and i made the mistake of choosing this one because i only had to re-calibrate it once every two months...first off it looks like it was built in the early 90s! secondly no missed forgiveness while driving...if you don't hit the on button within its 3 second alert your horn starts going off. thirdly you have to start you car 3-4 days a week for 5 minutes to make sure it doesn't drain you battery???????? what a load of crap. pretty sure the only reason this company is still in business is their device is only 1 of 3 other options and they contract through mechanics making it easier to set up appointments. should have been instantly suspicious when they wanted a deposit when its competition didn't.

    +1 Votes
  • Lo
      Dec 30, 2013

    I had parked my vehicle Christmas night and had been in my home for about 15 minutes when my horn started to blare and the lights were all flashing, this was going on for a couple of minutes while I found my keys and went down to my vehicle. The unit itself was scrolling some sort of message or code across it and when I press the button it did nothing. After trying several things to shut off my horn and alarm and lights I finally disconnected the battery. I could not get a hold of anyone at Intoxalock, not even their 24hr customer care! I had to get my vehicle towed to the service center which was $140.00 and customer service at Intoxalock says "it is not their problem what the tow cost me it is not their fee!" What a scam that equipment is!

    0 Votes
  • Hi
      Dec 31, 2013

    keep in mind do not park in a garage or lot where there are attendants who will move your vehicle after you have exited the vehicle. I had the event of the unit requesting a rolling retest while the vehicle was being parked by another driver the attendant then upon my return to the vehicle 8 hours later the lock out countdown was on and I called intoxalock and they cleared it after I gave then each time frame the unit went off earlier that morning...No one said they were going to debit my bank account the money was withdrawn within days for 80 dollars.I told the lady I wasnt even in the vehicle it had to be parked by a lot attendant .said to wait for the next test to signal blow and then release the car to the attendant that vehicle must be parked immediately. It is also worse than being on the cellphone I am a 74 mile each way highway driver and this unit will signal at the worst moment when split decision thinking and distractions going on at the same time I griped this to probation the answer out of there was pull off the highway then and blow dont think so when I am 68 mph and then some and barreling down on the car in front of me and the guy in the far right lane is moving next door to me in to the center lane .. a great time to be pulling the unit from my console area getting it up to my mouth to blow.. without causing a massive wreck and carnage ...it may keep us from alcohol but now im going to take you out for my being sober and distracted so that some tech guy in Iowa can watch me on his screen probably laughing at the chaos inside my vehicle ..you know who we are.. our inside cab glows red in the dark ..so get the hell out of my way when you see me in a red glare I am definately not looking at you I am looking at my intoxalock and the intoxalock people are looking at me

    +1 Votes
  • El
      Feb 16, 2014

    I have been using the Intoxalock for close to 6 months. I agree that this product is very stressful for the driver. The alarm is too loud and embarrassing, the unit doesn't allow you to miss a rolling re-test like they claim if your in a bad spot to take your attention of the road. It has almost caused several accidents for me. But also the emergency service is not there for you. I have called multiple times and cannot get through and the call back is over an hr. I have had a few freaky experiences with the rolling re-test . It calculated alcohol 8 min after I was driving and made me retest 3 times. Then got stuck and the word blowing was registered in the readout screen for a while, then a few numbers came up which I had no clue what was happening. Tried calling Intoxalock with no response for an hr. I was stressing my ride home. Never would recommend this product for anyone. I cannot understand how I could have an alcohol reading after passing two blows and of course not having anything at all to drink or eat during the ride!!! UNJUSTIFIED. Wrongfully accused. And their response is " it's in the air" how can I help you. I don't see anything wrong with the unit.

    +1 Votes
  • St
      Jun 02, 2014

    I have an Intoxilock unit on my truck and have had a number of problems with rolling retests. I almost passed out twice for not blowing hard enough. Twice, I was in the middle of an intersection trying to turn, and the horn starts going off. People got mad and flipped me the bird. This distracted everyone. I'm 60 years old and have had only 1 accident. I have had almost had 2 since this was installed. I don't condone driving while under the influence, but this device and the way it operates under the law poses, a serious threat. I wonder how many accidents this device has caused? Now I have a panic attack when I hear it go off. Either the law should be changed or a different device should be available. The cost is also a big rip-off! I'm on my 3rd unit in 3 months. If I want to do maintenance on my truck and have to disconnect the battery more than a few minutes, I have to notify them. I did that and they still tried to charge me $70.00 for a new unit. I had to spend 45 minutes on the phone talking to a supervisor to get the charges dropped. I still had to pay to get the unit replaced, as it went into a lockout mode.
    Between the dangerous distraction this causes and the cost, I'm sure there is a better way. This is my first OWI. {I have a mechanic who will not even work on my vehicle, because he can't blow in it right. Other people can't use my truck because of the problems associated with this device}.

    +2 Votes
  • Gs
      Sep 16, 2014

    I agree that the ROLLING RETESTS are very dangerous and that some innocent person is going to get klilled. Exactly, if its against law to talk on a cell phone while driving then it is surely should be illegal to be messing with these the intoxolock units especilly whrn they malfunction all the time

    +1 Votes
  • Du
      Jan 14, 2015

    I feel so sorry for you drunk people that still drink and trying to drive your car I've had the intoxalock for almost 1 year now I've only had one problem and in the winter the battery does die my alternator was s*** maybe maintain your car a little better and you would know that so tomorrow I will turn my car on after two hundred and seventy eight dollars and I will be able to drive and to all you stupid [censored] again like me don't drink and drive if you didn't get the ticket you wouldn't be in the situation plain and simple

    -4 Votes
  • Di
      Sep 08, 2016

    I am at least happy that so many people agree that this is one of the most dangerous and distracting things you could do to ANY driver. I know I got caught and so now I must accept the punishment. Why should that endanger everyone else on the road though? I also agree that is it just a matter of time before this whole system gets pushed under the rug. Lawyers are now finally starting to question the accuracy of these types of units. If you need to punish me for longer for my offence, so be it. Punish me, make me wait longer to regain my driving rights. Putting everyone else on the road at risk by distracting me is not the correct solution. I would have happily worn a BAC anklet or any other monitoring device rather than drive distracted. I am seriously considering contacting a few news outlets and see if they would be interested in doing an expose on intoxalock as a shoddy business with shoddy customer service and worse of all, a crappy product that gives false positives, zero reliability, and continues to distract every driver using it. This unit is dangerous and it is only a matter of time before enough people die from being distracted from it. If a drunk driver kills someone, that is awful. If a distracted driver kills someone, how is that "less" awful? Well, I'm off to go talk to Fox news and or anyone who will listen.

    0 Votes
  • Fl
      Nov 28, 2016

    I have had it detect alcohol when I haven't been drinking. I had already passed 5 mins prior. Had to wait a few mins and it passed - 0.00. Also, the unit is so faulty that during an attempt at about 10 rolling retests it kept stating, 'blow harder' as I was getting quite flustered and nervous while on the freeway. I had to pull over and park in a not so safe area in Los Angeles worrying I might have to get my car towed for a lockout. I call customer service and wait on hold forever as usual. Had to take out the screws on bottom of device and then blow into the device differently then I had been (3 beeps exhale/2 beeps inhale/2 beeps exhale). That ended up fixing it luckily. The next day it did the same thing except my new way of blowing into the device wasn't working. I then had to call again and tech support says too much air is getting into the device and to cover the hole on bottom halfway! Wtf! Super stressful and very unsafe. One more thing. I've sent in paperwork for a rebate through mail twice now and email 3 times and they claim they are not receiving it. Been a nightmare.

    0 Votes
  • Sm
      Mar 22, 2017

    They have the worst customer service and device. I agree with all the complaints. The device drains my battery, I have to call them at least twice a week because my car wont start and then you're on hold anywhere from 15 mins to an hour. Everything is a fee. I called today to say my car wont start and i need to have the car jumped. They said i may get a lockout fee and I should be using the power save which i do. I was then told the power save only last for 16 hours but of course that is not in their manual or on their site. I let the customer service rep know this and she checks with her manager and then says that its a "luxury" they provide and not required to be noted on their site. WTH??? If you tell people the power save only last for 16 hours and you need to start your car before then it would be helpful. Why should i have to pay a lockout fee for your defective device! I can't wait to have this device removed. I'm even more pissed because I had the device installed 7 mths earlier than needed to based on information given by my attorney. Intoxalock wants me to have it uninstalled and reinstalled. We all know how costly that is. I feel like this is all a scam!

    0 Votes

Post your comment