The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Empire Today / breech of contract

1 333 Northwest Ave.Northlake, IL, United States Review updated:
Contact information:
Phone: 888 588 2300

Empire today installation 9/21/06 diane graham home elgin, illinois

Agreement was signed by salesman jake ryan and diane graham on 9/20/06 for a hardwood floor to be installed at 1029 polly ct. Elgin, illinois on 9/20/06.
The family room, hallway and master bedroom was to have carpet removed and hardwood installed for the total charge of $6656.00. Jake ryan also gave an estimate of
$2300.00 for the living room and dining room floors to be done at a later date. The special financing was no interest no payments until 1/01/08. Diane graham advised salesman
Jake ryan that there may be tile and carpet under the existing carpet to be removed. He explained that after determination by the installers, there may be an extra charge for underlayment.

On 9/21/06 the installers arrived late and with the wrong trim and no underlayment. Upon further inspection during the removal of the old carpet, it was determined
That underlayment was needed. Denise dering, diane graham's partner was on site for the installation and was constantly on the phone with both jake ryan and also
Tom joy, the installation manager, at installer bob's request. It was determined that we would be charged extra for the underlayment, which we agreed to. Not only
Did we agree to the extra charge, but we had to drive to home depot with the installers following us so they could get the underlayment and the right trim, which was
Brought to the home.

On the first day of installation, most of the morning and afternoon hours were spent with installer bob on the phone with tom joy to determine how to proceed without proper
Underlayment and wrong trim. The workers that accompanied bob were removing old carpet and tile while bob was on the phone. Floor underlayment was started on 9/21/06
And wood floor inspection found that the wood flooring delivered to the home was wrong. Bob was again on the phone with tom joy until the installers left for the day. We were promised
The floor would be installed in one to two more days.

The second day, 9/22/08, the installers started on floor installation after a delay having a different floor delivered to the home. The installers proceeded to install the floor on the
Second day and asked to come back a third day to finish some minor details. After having finished up the third day and moving furniture back in place, we were to call if there
Were any problems with the floor.

Upon inspection of the floor while down on hands and knees cleaning the floor, we noticed several areas where there were large gaps between boards and also some boards were scratched
And chipped. We called empire about these areas and the same installers came out with saws and flooring and removed the areas and replaced them at several intervals in that first year. Installers never tried to fix the gaps in the floor, stating that was the best they could do. Every time we called empire about a problem with the floor, we documented the calls and the results. Dee brown in customer service was most helpful.

Upon further inspection after several attempts to rectify the problems with the floor, tom joy, the installation manager, visited the home in june of 2007. He told us that an inspector from
Shaw flooring would be out to look at the floor to determine if the floor had quality control issues or the fault was with the installers. That day in june 2007 tom joy reassured us that he would be
The last person we had to talk to about this matter.

Tom joy was in contact with us about having a representative from shaw floors come out, but that never happened. Tom was frustrated as were we. After several calls to customer service and
Tom joy, we finally had an inspector come out in the fall of 2007, but he was an independent inspector, not from shaw. He took several photos with a magnifying glass, took samples of the floor
That were left behind by the installers, and said we would be contacted by empire about the determination. After several attempts to call empire: dee brown in customer service and tom joy, we
Were told that the inspector's report determined that we were to get a replacement floor due to both the installation and the product. This, after several months of calls to empire was determined at the end of 2007. Almost one year to the dateof the original floor installation.

At that point, we were called by someone from empire asking how we liked our new floor. Of course, we had no new floor. The communication throughout all of this has been so horribly poor between
Customer service, the installers, the sales department, tom joy and his management who never returned our calls that we are so disappointed about what could have been a great experience.

After it was determined that we were to get a new floor, tom joy said we were to get a call from his manager. He said they would replace the floor and we could re-start the financing without any problem.
We never heard from his manager, nor did we get any information about when we were to get out floor replaced. After exhausting several more months of no action by empire's part, we were
Also questioning the financing and asking for a deduction. After all, we had intended to get the living room and dining room done at a later date. With all of these problems caused by empire we
Were having serious doubts about the integrity of the company.

In the months that followed the promise from tom joy that he would be the last person we would have to talk to about this matter became a joke. He asked us to call his manager, we got no return calls from him.
We were then contacted by another gentleman from empire, who forwarded us to troy pringle. Mr. Pringle has taken our calls and called us back on a few occasions, but mostly we are playing phone tag,
Leaving messages. He has told us that we will have a new floor installed and was to make sure that would happen last fall of 2007 after originally being contacted by tom joy. Mr. Pringle also stated the floor would be discounted and the financing restarted along with an inspector on site during the floor replacement. This conversation took place in the first week of december 2007 and still nothing has been done. Delays in this matter have been further problematic by the fact that we now are being charged interest on the floor and this is ruining our credit. We were promised this matter would be rectified by the end of 2007 because the 0% financing was to end on 01/01/08 ansd we would have the new floor installed and also the financing re-started by then. None of what we were promised has happened.

We are so disappointed by the outcome in this matter and have tried to be patient and understanding about empire's role in getting this matter resolved. Not oly has our patience run out in getting this matter
Resolved, but now the credit we have worked so hard to keep in good standing is now in jepardy because we had trusted empire to take care of this matter as we were promised. Ge card services has called
On the phone with threatening messages and we have exhausted all avenues to reslolve this matter with empire. Promises were not kept, floors were not replaced, and we are now in a battle not only with
Empire but with ge card services. All we wanted was a new floor. We have had new windows replaced in the time since the floors were replaced and have paid in full due to the satisfaction of the product and
Of the professional installers and customer service. We were willing to be patient and reasonable, but after 18 months of this problem not being resolved, enough is enough.

We have been in contact with the better business bureau, our legal representative, empire and ge card services and want this matter resolved without any further time or effort on our part. 18 months since the
Floor was ordered, we still have no resolution. We have been patient and understanding and tried to resolve this matter. We feel empire must rectify this situation as soon as possible. Promises by empire in the past
18 months have not been fullfilled and we feel that we have every right to be very disappointed with the lack of integrity shown by empire. We must hear from empire as soon as possible to rectify this situation.
We have been advised by our legal representative to try to resolve this matter without a lawsuit. At this time we are running out of patience and time

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

Re
  3rd of Apr, 2008
Agree Disagree 0 Votes

Thank you for brining your concerns to the attention of Empire. We are dedicated to providing world-class customer service to every customer. We are currently looking into the concerns mentioned in your post. We will contact you within the next three business days. Please feel free to contact us at CustomerSupport@empiretoday.com for further assistance.

Post your comment

     

Reply to

close
Send