The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Cox Communications / 100.00 rebate

1 United States Review updated:

I had recently switched to Cox Communications from Century Tel as my telephone provider saying that If I switched to Cox, I would get a 100.00 Rebate from Cox. So I did. But to no avail, I tracked my 100.00 Rebate, and it said the it was Denied. Whats up with that? Maybe I should Drop Cox as my Internet, Phone, and Cable Provider, and go with Another Provider. How would Cox feel about that? I'm currently thinking about going with Dish Network and getting rid of cable all together. I just don't think it's fair when they offer you something, and when everything is done, they back out of their deal. Well I'm gonna back out on mine. :)

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Uf
      25th of Aug, 2007
    +1 Votes

    I would highly recommend calling them back and asking to speak with a supervisor. I ended up actually going into the Cox office near my home in order to question why the rebate was not granted. When they realized that they would be losing my phone, internet AND cable business, they realized they had made a mistake.

  • Pa
      6th of Nov, 2007
    +1 Votes

    As far as getting back any rebate monies, I think we've all been taken for a ride. I have been dealing with my $100.00 rebate from Cox since July of this year. No matter how many times I contact the company I get the same run around, which is "we have approved your rebate from Cox but for it to be honored they need more information from Cox",and Cox says there is no other information to send them. I am really tired of paying the price for someones dishonesty. I too am reconsidering my package from Cox, if they can't get a little rebate right, what can they?

  • Ma
      29th of Jan, 2009
    +1 Votes

    I SWITCHED SERVICES FROM VERIZON AND SIGNED UP WITH COX
    PHONE SERVICE. THE PROMOTION INCLUDED $100.00 REBATE
    AND $10.00 OFF MY BILL FOR 3 MONTHS. I HAVE NOT RECEIVE MY $100. 00 REBATE. I SEE THAT YOU HAVE OTHER COMPLAINTS ABOUT THE $100. 00 REBATE. IS THIS A SCAM GOING ON TO GET
    CUSTOMERS FROM OTHER BUSINESS?

  • Pa
      19th of Sep, 2009
    +1 Votes

    I WAS APPEARANTLY RIPPED OFF FOR $300 AS I HAVE THE" BUNDLE OF ALL 3 SERVICES AND WAS SENT A FORM TELLING ME I WOULD GET $100 PER SERVICE
    I HAD I SAY WE GET TOGETHER AND COMMIT TO A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT FOR FRAUD THE SUIT WOULD BE EASY AS INTENT IS THE BIG TRICK, THIS IS NOT A PROBLEM WHEN HUNDREDS OR EVEN THOUSANDS OF CUSTOMERS ARE WRONGED
    I HAVE A LAWWYER IN FAYETTEVILLE AR LETS "BUNDLE SOME RETAINER FUNDS AND TAKE THIS COLABERATIVE MANAGERIAL PLOT DOWN I'D BE HAPPY TO LEAD THE PACK TEXT ME AT PROPULSIONDEVELOPEMENT@YAHOO.COM . I DEAL WITH FRAUD AND INSURANCE CO'S FOR A LIVING MY NAME IS PAUL NICKEL AND I LIVE IN HARRISON AR, I BELIEVE IF WE ALL PUT IN A FEW BUCKS THE ACCUMULATED TOTAL WOULD PAY THE LEGAL AND NO ONE WOULD BE OUT MUCH, I'LL START MONITORING MY E-MAIL FOR THE GROUPS THOUGHTS ON THIS AND MAYBE WE CAN BRING THIS TOGETHER I HATE BEING LIED TO, I BELIEVE I'M NOT ALONE

  • Pa
      19th of Sep, 2009
    +1 Votes

    I BELIEVE WE NEED A RECORD OF THE NUMBER OF TIMES THIS FAILURE ON THE PART OF COX HAS OCCURED IN MY CASE THIS INVOLVES $300 WHICH IS A SUBSTANTIAL AMOUNT OF FUNDS. I AM A REGULAR CUSTOMER WHO SPENDS OVER $4000 A YEAR ON THESE SERVICES LETS GET TOGEHTER AND FIGHT THEM MY E-MAIL IS PROPULSIONDEVELOPEMENT@YAHOO.COM WE COULD INDIVIDUALLY CONTRIBUTE TO A FUND EVERYONE CAN ACCESS AND PAY A GOOD ATTORNEY TO
    SUE FOR FRAUD DAMAGES ON TOP OF THE ORIGINAL AMOUNTS BECAUSE WE LOST OUR TIME WHICH HAS VALUE IN CASES WHERE PEOPLE SWITCHED SERVICES. THESE SAME PEOPLE WILL NO DOUBT BE DOING THIS AGAIN. WHAT IS YOUR TIME WORTH? MINE IS IRREPLACIBLE AND I SUSPECT THAT THAT IS THE RULE FOR ALL OF US. ASIDE FROM THIS I JUST HATE BEING LIED TO AND I FEEL FROM THE VERY NICE GENERAL FEEL OF THE COMPLAINTS THAT I'VE READ THAT GOOD & PATIENT PEOPLE WHO ARE NOT LIKELY AGRESSIVE ENOUGH TO FIGHT COULD USE AN ORGANIZER, I AM VERY BUSY BUT I DEAL WITH LEGAL REGULARLYAND I WOULD'NT MIND WORKING ON THIS, LETS FIND OUT HOW MANY OF US THERE IS
    I'LL REPORT THE # OF FAXES UNDER A HEADER CALLED "COMPLAINT TOTALS" SO YOU THE PEOPLE INVOLVED CAN FIND THE DATA EAISLY. I'LL GO (3) DAYS BEFORE I REPORT UNLESS THE #S BREAK 1, 000 RIGHT AWAY IN WHICH CASE WE NEED TO GET BUSY WITH AN ATTY AND STOP THIS FRAUD IF THAT IS THE CASE

  • Tg
      2nd of Oct, 2009
    +1 Votes

    I, too, have gotten the runaround with Cox over the rebate...makes me so mad because I used DishNetwork and switched due to the rebate promise. Makes me so upset that I switched now.

  • Tm
      4th of Dec, 2009
    +1 Votes

    I have been waiting for my rebate also, they expect the bill to be paid on time so why can't WE expect them to HONOR their end of the contract...

  • Va
      19th of Jan, 2010
    0 Votes

    Checked the status on mine and it said they DENIED me because of ordering the wrong services, which I know I didn't! I will be waiting for this letter from the ripoffs!!

  • Ed
      8th of Mar, 2011
    -1 Votes

    've been waiting for a $100 rebate. The offer was e-mailed to me on 11/8/2010. I replied within a couple of weeks. The deadline on the offer was 11/31/2010. The offer's condition was that I would lock-in with my current cable services for 24 months. I called in to the number posted on the e-mail attachment to lock-in. I also inquired about the rebate. The COX rep. assured me that the lock-in request was tagged on my account and that the rebate will be credited within 6-8 weeks as explained in the e-mail attachment. I agreed. Today (3/7/2011), I've received a statement showing an increase of $2.25 for "Advanced TV" (under monthly services). The email offer excludes franchise fees, other surcharges and regulatory cost recovery fees, charges for pay-per-use services, charges for additional premium channels or digital video programming tiers, or charges for telephone features or phone usage charges. Advanced TV is not on this list, yet I was charged. I spoke with a supervisor today. He explained that my account is locked-in but only for basic cable. ... How convenient? Why was not this made very clear in the offer? Why didn't the COX rep. that took my initial call explain this “minor” detail to me at the time? As far as the $100.00 rebate, he explained that records do not show any such offers tied to my account. I provided a promo code and also offered him to review the e-mail attachment, as I would e-mail it back to him. He did not want to have anything to do with it. He claimed that there are hundreds of customers (I bet! ... No, really there must be!), that claim such offers and that he can’t take them seriously. The only item that’s accountable is on his record. This includes the limitations of the lock-in to basic service only. What a bunch of BS? I asked for a number for a marketing supervisor. At least a customer service manager who may be able to authenticate the e-mail and promo-code.
    He said that he did not have such information, and that he would only be able to send a paper statement from last year, that would show the details of my locked-in account. As
    I stand today; I’m a locked-in (15 year +) customer, with an account that I don’t care about, (since apparently there could still be penny pinching increases applied to it) and without my $100.00 rebate. I’m blazing mad. I say class action case all the way.

  • Ok
      23rd of Apr, 2011
    0 Votes

    Signed up for Cox Wireless Telephone with the understanding of receiving a $100 rebate via a Visa Card. Submitted all information on Apr 11, 2011. On Apr 23, 2011 received a small card in mail ( it looked like junk mail) saying my submission was invalid. It also said I must resubmit information prior to May 2, 2011, only 5 business days, actually less if you include mail service time. I called phone number on card, of course the office is closed on Saturdays. Called my local Cox office, they said they couldn't do anything about it. I filed a complaint on the FCC website. This seems like another scam to avoid fulfilling rebate offers. Most people would have thrown away the card without reading it, I almost did myself. Cox needs to be held accountable for this type of unscrupulous advertising. I'm mad as he!! and I'm going to call them until I make someone as mad as I am.

  • Cm
      13th of May, 2011
    0 Votes

    I was lied to about three different rebates, the cost of service, what is included and was charged for additional service and fees. Now I want out and they won't even waiver the $350 fee. If you're considering Cox cell...DON'T do it no matter what they say. They'll say any and everything and later apologize over and over but they won't let you out of the contract!!

  • Cm
      13th of May, 2011
    0 Votes

    The $149.00 rebate is for TWO phones but they all, including the supervisors continue to promote for one phone. I''m not sure if someone buying two phones will even get their rebate. It's all a scam.

  • Be
      24th of May, 2011
    0 Votes

    After waiting several months for our rebate (100.00) and the website saying processing...we ended up switching to verizon. still no rebate check. we were cox customers since jan - april. sent out rebate in feb. Now they are saying it wont process because we are no longer customers. I argued with the supervisor saying their was no stipulation that I had to stay a customer 5 months later, but for some reason they feel its okay to not follow through on the rebate even after I sent in my invoices and filled out the rebate form back in feb. I will contact Wavy tv 10 on your side and see what can be done about this situation. I think the whole cox rebate is a scam and their customer service is lousy. They will lose many more customers because of this.

  • Be
      24th of May, 2011
    0 Votes

    If anyone wants to contact wavy tv ten theres a form online and you can submit your complaint, maybe if they hear from enough of us they will help, also on the back of the cable bill there is a website http://www.scc.virginia.gov/puc/inq.aspx and you can fill out the complaint form.

  • Be
      24th of May, 2011
    0 Votes

    after talking to the supervisor I checked my rebate status 2 hours later and now it suddenly says "You did not suscribe to a qualifying service or you did not suscribe within the promotion window. what a bunch of bs this is. They told me I qualified and sent me the rebate form and now after 4 months of "step 2 still processing" thats the excuse they want to use to NOT fullfill what they promised. Big Rip-Off. Im sorry for those that got stuck with a contract with them.

  • Be
      26th of May, 2011
    0 Votes

    I dont know if anyone checks these posts anymore or just got discouraged and gave up but I got a call today from a lady at cox cable (shes high up) and wanted me to let you all know if anyone is still having issues not getting their rebates (from whatever rebate program) to call her...number is 757-222-8436. (kathy german) is her name. fyi

  • As
      7th of Jun, 2011
    0 Votes

    I JUST RECIEVED MY REBATE ON FRIDAY I CALLED THEM A WEEK PRIOR TO THAT AND ASKED WHAT WAS GOING ON AND THEY CONNECTED ME TO A MANAGER I ASKED HER WHY I HAVENT RECIEVED IT WHEN I SENT PAPERWORK IN MARCH . SHE TOLD ME SHE WOULD CHECK INTO IT AND I CHECKED MY MAIL ON FRIDAY AND MY REBATE CHECK WAS IN THERE :-)

  • Al
      28th of Oct, 2011
    0 Votes

    I am COX's Internet customer for about a year now. Since December 2010 to be exact. I was enrolled in automatic payments and have never missed my payment. Recently, my credit card information was stolen on-line. Before I even knew it, my credit card company spotted fraud and closed my account and sent me a new card. It all happened around the time my COX bill was due. Because, I didn't realize it, the payment of 37.99 to COX was declined. So, COX sent me a paper $50 bill via snail mail. For example, the same thing happened to couple other nationwide companies with whom I was enrolled in automatic payment. NOBODY charged me ANYTHING. Both sent me e-mails saying that payment was declined. So, I took care of it right away. Anyway, I called COX as soon as I got this "nice" letter treating to disconnect my service. The not so pleasant customer representative told me that as huge favor to me, (once in lifetime) COX will remove those 50 dollars. Two weeks later nothing happened. I sent COX an e-mail trying to figure out what's going on. . I got automatic response: " Your email will be processed in the order it was received and you should have a response within 1 business day." 5 -FIVE business days later NO ANSWER. So, I called again . . This time a nice customer rep explained to me that supervisor denied my request saying that it's basically my problem.
    So, I did pay those $50. I mean if you go to Starbucks and your card declined for whatever reason are you charged 50 dollars? Even returning check fee is standard $35 and in case of paper check there is actual work involved. This is simply a scam to rip off own customers. Good news for COX is that my contract is not up till December 2012. But I'll make sure I switch to another company the day it's over. So, COX can have those 50 dollars. I was honestly looking into switching my land line phone to COX and adding COX TV. Thankfully there are choices these days. I'll make sure COX is NEVER my choice in the future and I'll make sure to put a "nice" word for an "understanding" company such as COX.
    Sincerely, your client till December 2012.

  • Ch
      5th of Mar, 2015
    0 Votes

    I have had cox now for 4 months and i was told that i would receive a $200 rebate just after 3 months of being a customer, I called to find out about my rebate and now they say i need to fill out the rebate form. I was never told that, and now I am trying to get ahold of someone to help me fill it out and i am getting the run around and cant seem to get anywhere. Argh!

Post your comment