The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Amazon.com / fraud and cheating!

1 Seattle, WA, United States Review updated:
Contact information:

I've had the same horrible experience that Amazon.com has done to me. As a loyal Amazon.com user for the past several years, this is the single most WORST experience that I've EVER experienced with Amazon.com. They further cancel your account without so much as a rebuttal, without so much as a reply that what their terms and conditions are, or what it entails. I believe that a lawsuit against this company is warranted, if not to get our money back, then at least to show the rest of the country what a HORRIBLE company Mr. Bezos's company has now become, and the way that it treats its loyal customers and 'supposed' Amazon.com friends.

Va
Sort by: Date | DownRating

Comments

  • Ju
      17th of Apr, 2010
    +3 Votes

    Hi all,

    Do not believe amazon mturk. They have closed my account and stolen all my money. My family members and myself lost more than USD 3000. Better they can beg to Indians for money than stealing like this. As I heard from my friends circle mturk have suspended more than 500 accounts and stolen the money. Are they running a charity show?

  • Sa
      26th of Sep, 2010
    +2 Votes

    I agree that Amazon is a fraud!!!

  • Sa
      26th of Sep, 2010
    +2 Votes

    Please don't sell in Amazon they took my camera I sold, and 355 usd plush shipping, and I did everything by the book

  • Da
      29th of Jan, 2010
    +1 Votes

    davepit.com/my-amazon-seller-central-rant/

    AMAZON = CORPORATE FRAUD

  • Na
      28th of Sep, 2009
    +1 Votes

    AMAZON.COM has NO REGARD for their sellers. Their so-called "A-Z Guarantee" provides ABSOLUTELY NO PROTECTION TO BUYERS.

    I sold a $120 book to this guy. I sent the book the day after he purchased it...I also purchased Delivery Confirmation on the item from the post office. The buyer IMMEDIATELY began to e-mail me saying that he hadn't received the book...MIND YOU...the day after I sent the book. I responded to EACH AND EVERY E-MAIL from him and told him that I had already sent the book and would be there in 2-3 days. He continued to harass me with e-mails. After 2 weeks of this, I sent him an e-mail and told him there was nothing I could do and to please stop contacting me. I had delivery confirmation for his order. I told him that he had received his order 2 weeks ago.

    TWO WEEKS AFTER...the guy filed a claim with Amazon, claiming he hadn't received the book. He told Amazon he was forced to buy the book elsewhere because mine hadn't arrived. He demanded for a full respond. I then responded with the tracking #, delivery confirmation documents, and copied all e-mails between me and the buyer. Nonetheless, Amazon sided with the buyer and told me that from here on, profits from every book I sell would go straight to Amazon until they make the $116 back.

    I sent Amazon TWO E-MAILS claiming that I do not agree with their decision and would like them to reconsider. They didn't reply. I sent them another e-mail 4 days later. This is the e-mail:

    ______________________________
    Good Afternoon,

    I am writing this e-mail because I am extremely unsatisfied with Amazon.

    Amazon writes their policies in the best interest of the buyer ONLY, without considering the seller. And I am completely disgusted.

    I have listed several books for sale on Amazon.com. Each book that has been ordered has been sent promptly and with delivery confirmation.

    In a specific case, there was an order placed for $138.99. I sent the book the following day and although the customer didn’t request for delivery confirmation, I still purchased the extra service. The buyer began e-mailing me saying he hadn’t received the book and I was very prompt in answering each and every single one of his e-mails. The book was received at his address a couple days later, and he was still sending me e-mails. (ALL OF THIS IS DOCUMENTED)

    I am EXTREMELY disgusted with the way Amazon has handled this situation. I believe that to Amazon, both the seller and buyer should be treated with the same respect. The buyer should not have 100% guaranteed protection.

    This buyer in particular did the following: he ordered the book and he immediately began e-mailing me STATING he hadn’t received the book. I sent him delivery confirmation and a week later he filed a claim stating he never received it, mind you – filed it weeks after the delivery date…weeks after I had told him the delivery had been confirmed. Why didn’t he act immediately? Why did he not file a claim the moment I told him I had confirmation??

    Regardless, I sent the book & I have confirmation of it being received. So why am I being penalized?

    Also, I would like Amazon to take the following into account: The buyer claims that he had to purchase the book elsewhere because he never received mine. The buyer stated in his claim on 9/9/2009:

    "I have been contacting the seller since the order was placed because I needed the book with Urgency. the seller keeps on saying that the book was end, the last time the seller said that she had confirmation that it delivered at my address, however, the selles never gave me a tracking number nor I have signed for this book delivery. I did not received the book, at this point I had to buy the book from another source and I want a full refund on this order. thanks "

    In this claim, the seller stated that he had to purchase the book elsewhere and this claim was made on 9/9/2009.

    My question is the following: Does he have proof of this? Did he send Amazon a copy of this receipt? And, if Amazon asked for a copy of the receipt, is the date on the receipt before 9/9/2009??? Because according to his claim, he purchased a book on or before 9/9/2009 because he hadn’t t received mine. So if this is true, he should have sent a copy of his receipt to AMAZON.COM, right? If he has no receipt, it leads me to believe that he never in fact purchased a replacement book, which means he never needed to purchase a replacement book because he already had one: mine.

    As a buyer, when I place expensive orders, I make sure to request for signature confirmation or sending through UPS/FED EX. I typically go out of my way to request for it because as a BUYER, I am the person who is taking the risk in choosing STANDARD MAIL for my order to be delivered.

    I would very much appreciate AMAZON to reconsider this claim and reconsider the policies which only serve to protect the buyer. I would also very much appreciate for Amazon to SEND ME a copy of his receipt for the new book he claims he purchased. This way, if he did order a new book, he has proof of this reflecting a suitable date (Although it is possible for him to purchase it and simply return it), but at this point, anything would be useful.
    __________________________________

    I have removed ALL my listings off Amazon.com and will never work with them again. And to top it off...when I called customer service and complained about this, customer service told me that they make sure to investigate all claims and are able to figure out whether or not the buyer did in fact receive the order. I asked them how this is done, and they told me... "We call the buyer personally and ask if the order was received."

    So I have a message for Amazon:

    I am going to warn all of your potential customers about your disregard for your sellers...because last I checked, although we're sellers on your website, we're still CUSTOMERS to you. I won't be selling with you anymore.

  • Na
      28th of Sep, 2009
    +1 Votes

    ************************** TO SELLERS******* Their so-called "A-Z Guarantee" provides ABSOLUTELY NO PROTECTION TO SELLERS. ( I WROTE BUYERS ABOVE BY MISTAKE)

  • Sh
      3rd of Feb, 2010
    +1 Votes

    Amazon is run by crooks. They just shutdown my account and kept the whole money as hostage. I can't believe this is happening in USA. This country is supposed to be fair . Amazon does not care for the us government and considers americans and the sellers as a toilet paper. They have blocked my account, and have held our money hostage for 180 days. Due to this we had to layoff 3 of hardworking shippers, and our business almost collapesed. do not ever try to sell on amazon. You will be burned and your whole money will be lost.

  • Ba
      21st of Apr, 2010
    +1 Votes

    Yes... My mturk account also suspended without any proper reason, I lost USD 720.

  • Ha
      18th of May, 2010
    +1 Votes

    Do not trust Mturk. They suspended my account without any reason. They forfeited my hard earned money of USD 1060 :(

  • Ka
      12th of Jun, 2010
    +1 Votes

    we just sold 21 items in 2 days and they shut our acc and took all our money, we are both unemployed and have NO income at all and they do this, i WARN ANYBODY DO NOT SELL ON AMAZON THEY ARE A SCAM

  • Ge
      24th of Oct, 2010
    +1 Votes

    They are a scam, for buyers as well. Someone stole my cc# and used it to drain my account through Amazon, when I called to tell them it was happening, they told me there was nothing they could do and it really wasnt their problem. How it it jot their problem to make sure people aren't stealing credit cards and using them fraudulently? Absolutely no help. So I closed my account and would suggest you all do as well.

  • Io
      12th of Feb, 2011
    +1 Votes

    I agree also.My account was closed as a seller due to not
    issueing a refund to buyer .I told the buyer to return my merchandise, textbook and cd math kit and no answer.
    so amazon issues a refund to her and she kept my math book valued at $200.Im pissed and closed my account.They kept partial payment but not all.I dont have my book which i really want back.its wrong and illegal what they are doing.We should all get together and file a law suit action against them.I have a real job and dont need this joke of a hobby.contact me if interested in filing a class action.

  • Ts
      3rd of Jun, 2011
    +1 Votes

    Amazon has serious problems with information leaks and unfortunately are covering them up. I have closed one CC and about to close another b/c someone got CC information off mine and my wifes account at Amazon (just as a customer). They opened another account using that info and could make purchases which were small about 20$ each (4 on one card, 2 on another). I've cleared the info on the accounts but who knows who has access to that information already so the only choice is to close the CC accounts. Anyway I'll never again do business w/them nor allow any merchant to store the CC info.
    Even the idea that they let charges through on an account opened using the same CC info of another existing account is amazing. I seriously doubt anyone broke into the accounts from the outside, they have an inside breach of security. And yes they are not very informative or cooperative at all. I assume this happens quite frequently with them and unfortuntely no one is really aware how compromised they are.

  • Am
      29th of May, 2014
    +1 Votes

    AMAZON ARE DEFINATE SCAMMERS, CHEATS and FRAUDS. I have had both a seller, a buyer and an affiliate account with them. My affiliate account was making about $140 to $310 per month. Not big money...but some money and it was consistent...I even had 7 specialty stores for Amazon (Star Trek, Levi Jeans, Paula Dean, Barbie, Book & Bibles, Cell Phones & Computers) .

    All of a sudden...I stopped getting paid...for 3 months in a row! I finally called them. I explained that I could see hundreds of orders...but had not been paid. They said, "because none of the products you purchased apply." I said, that's bull crap! She put me on hold and came back in like 15 seconds...and said, "This is an affiliate program not a discount program we do not pay you for your own purchases." I said..."listen, out of the hundreds of items maybe 10 belong to me. Again on hold for about 15 seconds...she came back and said, "We also don't pay you to refer your friends." I said that is the stupidest policy I ever heard. (Sorry I don't have much patience with Amazon). Besides, there is no way I know all those people. Again, on hold for about 15 seconds (I realized she was just asking someone what to say.) She came back and said...now you will not believe this... and she said, "That includes all your Facebook friends." Now I am really out of patience. It's true...I have nearly 1000 Facebook friends...but I can assure you I probably know about 50ish. She said that was their policy and would not be paying me. I said, "that I don't think any of the orders come from my Facebook "friends""...she said, "Sorry sir" and hung up.

    Now comes my seller account. We have sold thousands of items all 5 star feedback (on Amazon, eBay and our own site). When we got a 1 bad feedback on Amazon it turned out they went to eBay and bought something there within 10 minutes and left negative there too. She opened a new account on eBay to buy from me and she could have bought both on Amazon...obviously, she wanted to leave the negative.

    Then I received an email from Amazon saying, "It has come to our attention that the comments field of one your listings is being used inappropriately. Specifically, Asin:XXXXXXXXXXX." I checked...everything looked fine to me. They said I had 24 hours to comply or I would be suspended. REALLY FOR THAT!!! You would have thought I pissed on a goddess Adi Shakti statue (one of their [India's] deities) ! Well not 24 hours but 37 MINUTES they suspended my account. So I called them. The rep looked at the item...and told me to do what the email said. I said the emails says nothing. He said well I looked at the item and it does not appear to be inappropriate in any way. By the way, you cannot talk to the review board...and you cannot email them. You must send a ticket to support and they will forward it. Anyway, I told him that I didn't know how to fix it. He said he didn't either...I told him I was removing the item...and that should fix it...he agreed. :) I removed the listing. I figured I could re-list in a month or two and all would be fine.

    The review Board said in 24 hours they would respond to me. It was 9 days later when they finally responded to me to tell me that, "a review of your account indicates you have misclassified the condition of your Marketplace items." 99%+ of my items are BRAND NEW and marked as such. The few, maybe 4 items that are used are marked as such. Really, again?

    Oh and they said, "in order to reply to us...do a search in Help for Appeal." Why not just hit an Appeal button? Two other pieces of info...the first issue, "It has come to our attention that the comments field of one your listings is being used inappropriately. Specifically, Asin:XXXXXXXXXXX." ... this was the purchase from the buyer that left negative feedback. Now, I know it is killing you...but what did she leave negative feedback for? Purple? She said our movies were recorded on DVDs with a purple tint. Say what? You know I went and checked all kinds of DVDs...data, movies, etc...and there were some purple, some silver and some gold. I even went back to our vendors where we buy DVDs and movies and asked them...and most of them never heard of this. One said that CDs are solver and DVDs are purple. How about contact me and say, "I don't like purple?" I would have gave her money back...and she could have kept the item...she only spent a few bucks.

    Anyway, I would stay clear away from Amazon! By the I have sold for over 15 years on eBay and no negative feedback until this Amazon buyer came over. Attached is the 1 star I received from this customer. I feel like the CIA blacking things out...but when you have a custom that says, THANK YOU {My Business Name} or they mention me by name or they mention the product by name...I have to black it. :) The circled transactions...this was my double trouble on both Amazon & eBay. Like I said...the Amazon order came first...then 10 minutes later the order came on eBay and she had to open an account on eBay for that order. Both items were available on Amazon...and connected since they were related products. To me, and perhaps I am too close...she just came to try and attack my business. Oh...you will notice the one 4 Star Feedback on Amazon (The rest are ALL 5 STAR!!!) The 4 Star Said, "Great customer service!!! Love the info on the DVDs." What happened was, She played the DVDs fine on her home DVD Player and on her computer. But they kept saying "No disc error" when she tried to play them in her Van's DVD Player. At first she said on the first 2...I asked if she would verify all 10 DVDs and let me know. She didn't respond for about 4 days...so I sent PRIORITY MAIL the 2 discs that wouldn't play in her car...but played on her PC & HOME DVD Players. The day I shipped is the day I heard from her. Oh well...dumb luck. She said she didn't have time to check them all yet. OK...I re-burnt a special order from her...changed the Parameter's and slowed the burn from 10x (Some burn as high as 24x---but I find too many errors" I slowed hers to 4x...and adjusted the burn parameters on a full set...and mailed her PRIORITY MAIL again...they arrived 2 days later and she checked them in her Van...they all worked fine! Now she had two full sets...one for her house and one for her car plus 2 more to give away...keep whatever. She left m4 4 Stars.

    I was a little taken back so I emailed her...and she responded very kind and very polite and said, "I thought you would be pleased with 4 stars...5 stars is for perfect and this was not perfect." I thanked her for being so generous and for being a great customer. I guess she is right. But I wonder how many people guarantee that their media will play in every machine on the planet? I wonder how many would manufacturer her a complete order (stopping production...delaying other orders) in order to adjust parameters that MIGHT work in her other machine? But is fine...I will take the 4 and she wasn't trying to hurt me...she was leaving what she felt was a fair feedback...and I do thank her.

    We do not use permanent marker, peel & stick labels and we use top of the line media for our product. When it arrives at your door it is professionally packahed...and other than the "purple" tint...it's absolutely perfect. I get emails all the time saying how please they are and how they wished there was more space on feedback.

    But back to Amazon...stay away. They have hundreds of dollars of my money on HOLD for at least 90 days...if I ever get it. But I should be so lucky...I have read where they suspended accounts and they are holding thousands of dollars. I have read, $5000, $7000, $15, 000 and $770, 000! And the later took a loan for $200, 000 to ship his products...he had a run on his item after his product was featured on some TV show. Amazon suspended him for some ridiculous thing...to date I have no idea if he ever got paid. There was/is an active class action suit in Seattle, WA against Amazon.

    They will lose this class action and have to pay. BUT...they will keep doing it. The only way to get them to listen is to hurt them. ALL SELLERS BOYCOTT THEM...and ALL BUYERS BUY SOMEWHERE ELSE and cancel your AFFILIATE PROGRAMS...you aren't being paid anyway. By the way...the other day I bought a book about a month ago for $25.00 off Amazon...I would have bought it else ware but it was out of print and I couldn't find it...even in some of the rare book stores on liine...so I broke down because I really wanted the book. IMMEDIATLY in my AMAZON AFFILIATE ACCOUNT (all my links are down)...out of curiosity I looked and sure enough I had a payment to me for $1.36. I thought it was 6%? Oh well...LOL...they will probably read this...realise their mistake and reverse it.

    OH yeah...as far as feedback getting removed on Amazon...forget it...They have "Guidelines" and the fact you have proof of fraud from your illegitimate buyer...they don't give a flock of seagulls in Alaska! I have ran out of patience with these fools and the more I read how other sellers and affiliates have had their money stolen...and their accounts suspended for no reason whatsoever...it makes me want to set that place on fire. Good Luck!

  • Ja
      4th of Jun, 2014
    +1 Votes

    Amazon.com does not take care of its sellers! They rob them! They create new fees and ruin sellers businesses! They recently created a $1.00 referral fee to all sellers on Amazon.com they said. That was a lie and I have proof. Anyhow the $1.00 is the minimum Amazon commission on items less than $6.67. All items like $1.95 retail have to be jacked up atleast $1.00 to cover the new fee. 2/3rds of my inventory is small items. I think Amazon has put me out of business because of this, I think. We will see.

    I have a personal friend that sells on amazon.com and does about $700, 000.00 in sales per year. Amazon.com did not impose the new fee on them! That is my proof of their lies and how they are robbing the sellers. They hand picked sellers to impose the fee on so they wouldn't lose the big sellers/

    I am looking for a new place to sell at, online!

    Thank you!

  • Ak
      26th of Sep, 2014
    +1 Votes

    Amazon cheats by selling the new phones online.
    I have ordered new i-phone 4 and i-phone 5 through Amazon few weeks before. And paid in full for the new i-phones, but the sellers cheated me by shipping me the old/used phones. I came to know about this fraud when I visited Apple for the performance issue of these phones. I bought the new i-phone5 in Feb, 2014 but Apple says it was activated and used in 2013.
    When I came to know about the fraud, I contacted Amazon but it doesn't 'act' on this report. I have got really funny reasons from Amazon for not refunding the money - Amazon gave a reason that the order has passed 90 days so A-to-Z guarantee claim cannot be filed and in addition the seller has ordered a 'shampoo' through Amazon, so money cannot be refunded. Below are my order and product details and also the response from Amazon.
    I have all the supporting documents and communications, please suggest me what to do?
    Order and item details: Product: i –Phone 5, Black, 16 GB, New.
    Order Placed: February 9, 2014
    Amazon.com order number: 113-7253028-3677841
    Model: MD654LL/A
    Serial Number: F2LKRRD9F8H2

  • An
      10th of Aug, 2011
    0 Votes

    I am a seller at Amazon. Yes, Amazon steals money. They will favor a buyer any complaint. Just any. Customer can say "item is not as described", they will get a full refund. Customer filed a complaint "item is not received". I provided a tracking number showing the item was received. Amazon granted a full refund to the buyer stating there was no proof of delivery.

  • Ti
      5th of Jan, 2013
    0 Votes

    I started selling on amazon a month ago and sold a few things. Unfortunately someone filed a A-Z claim on me. I provide all my shipped items with a signature confirmation/tracking just in case someone opens a "item not received" claim to screw me. Well it happened. I was a new seller I had no clue what to do when the claim was filed, i am EXTREMELY disgusted with the way Amazon handled this situation. I believe that Amazon should treat both the sellers and buyers with the same respect not 0% to the sellers and 101% to the buyer. They gave me 3 options either refund buyer, escalate claim to amazon, or other options which includes contacting the buyer. After reading so many posts, I was shocked to learn I am 100% going to lose the case either way and had to refund the buyer without my item back. I was fine if they returned the item to me but they message me telling me she'll think about it and let me know her decision. After 14 days still no response and it seems like amazon had already made there decision which was of course in the buyer's favor. They took my money and said that the buyer can keep the item. I'm out on a 50$ item which I sold for 44.95 with shipping. Also the fees are so high!!! I sold the item for 44.95$ and the total I received was ~36.68$ that is about 8$ in fees!! This is definitely higher than ebay's!!! At least ebay will protect you (seller). I had a case on me once on ebay for "not received item" the tracking proved that it was signed and received so I won the case easily. But with amazon it's different, if the buyer (probably a scammer) filed a "not received or any case against you" you will 1000% lose your money and your item. SELLERS BEWARE!!! IM NOT BEING RACIST OR ANYTHING BUT I JUST WANT TO ADD WE ARE TREATED LIKE BLACK PEOPLE BACK IN THE DAYS AND THE BUYERS ARE THE WHITE. EVERYTHING THEY SAY OR CLAIM IS RIGHT. KEEP IN MIND BEFORE SELLING ON THIS FRAUD WEBSITE. AMAZON, WITHOUT THE SELLERS THERE IS NO BUYERS. I'm so mad for losing my money and item!!! They also suspended my account, they told me they can't tell me. Ok? Whatever. I'm done with this website this is the most DISGUSTING place I've ever ventured. This is so nerve racking, worrying about how they'll steal your money either today or tomorrow... Hopefully no more dishonest buyers open claims for the next 90 days... Just read NatM post and I totally agree

  • Ac
      20th of Dec, 2012
    0 Votes

    Because Amazon is a fraud company so instead of complaining, all of us should try to get our money back from these ###, one easy method is to purchase anything of heigh value on amazon through a credit card (not from a seller it should be directly from amazon as we only want to get our money back from this fraud company not any other poor seller) and after getting item, file a charge back with your credit card issuer just by telling them that you got item broken and it was due to poor packaging (other wise it will go to shipping insurance company not amazon) and in most of cases credit card issuing company will grant you money back, i am sorry i am telling people to cheat hear but i think to do cheating with a cheater is absolutely right

  • So
      18th of Sep, 2010
    0 Votes

    Can someone please help me? I recently placed an order from Amazon for over 700.00 dollars worth of merchandise. They charged my credit card then closed my amazon account and said it was because it was affiliated with other accounts! BS! So now my account was charged all this money but I am not to receive any of my order! Someone please tell me what I can do! I have contacted amazon by phone but no one ever gets back to me like they said they would and they tell me they cannot discuss my account with me on the phone. Please, someone help me!!!

Post your comment