Resolved Comcast Cableunauthorized charges (pay per view)

D Review updated:

I opened my Comcast bill rec'd today, 10/19/09 date on bill. I saw the total amount owing of 635.38 for two months. I was shocked. There are 14 porno movies charged on this bill. The dates are Sun 9/27, from 6:30am to 2:30 pm, Mon, 9/28 8pm to 10pm, Tues 9/29 6am, Wed, 9/30 12pm, Thurs, 10/4 6amto 1:49pm. I immediately called customer service, complaining that I did not order these movies. I am a single 45yr old mother with a 12 yr old son. I do not have a husband or a boyfriend and no other males in my household. My 12 yr old does not even know what pornos are. Many of the orders were during the week when I was at work (M-F 8-5) and my son was at school. I asked if there was any way somebody was getting into my cable from a remote location, they stated that is impossible. I asked because I live in an apt. complex, they stated the movies were ordered from my home, all of them off of my DVR in my living rm. I live in a 2 bdr apt and there is no way these would have been ordered in my presence. The charges on Sunday, 9/27 had to have been done in my presence and they were not. I watch football all day on Sundays, my son was not at home that day, he was at a friend's home. I told them this and that nobody was at home during the daytime hours that week and they insisted again that it came from my home. Of course, images of some pervert breaking into my home and ordering pornos while we were gone came to mind, they stated again there was no other way any breach on their end happened. I have found information that there are illegal black boxes that are sold and all the criminals need to do is look up codes on a website and they can then get into someone's cable, including ordering pay per view. Comcast is not taking my complaint seriously, I am afraid now that someone is breaking into my home while we are not here because they refuse to acknowledge that it could be any sort of illegal activity. I heard a story from one rep at Comcast (my 2nd or 3rd call) that there was only one other similiar complaint he had personal knowledge of and that was when he states the husband admitted to ordering the porn movies. I insisted over and over again that there is no male in my household other than my 12 yr old son, I felt as if they were implying silently that perhaps my 12 yr old 7th grader was ordering the porn without my knowledge, in my small 2 bdr apt. There were also some charges on my 9/19 bill from 8/22, four movies. I did not pay attention to my 9/19 bill or I would have complained earlier. They stated there was no way they could remove the charges, insisting they were mine. They did tell me how to put a block on the pay per view, which I did. I asked to speak to a supervisor, they stated there was no supervisor present. I asked for a phone # to file a complaint, they stated there is no number for this but I can fax verification of where I and my son were during some of the charges (work and school) and I could also include a complaint with the faxed information and I could write to the "executive" customer care in Fife, Wa. So, I have to jump through all sorts of hoops to get them to investigate this. I have called the Sheriff today and left a vm for his assistant to contact me. I would appreciate an investigation to determine if I have a pervert in my home or if it is on Comcast. I want these charges removed, I refuse to pay for someone else's filth. I would appreciate if Comcast would take this seriously and not imply that it was my12 yr old son or that I am being dishonest. I know, through internet searches, that Comcast is aware of the illegal activity in regards to stolen cable and unauthorized charges, but they are not about to take any accountability for this, instead they make their faithful, long term customers feel as if they are at fault. Please review this as quickly as possible. Thank you for your time.

Responses

  • Du
    Duncan Jan 27, 2009

    I have contacted Comcast 'customer service' 4 times via telephone and once through their on-line chat system to solve this billing issue with no success. My family was without cable/internet services for 15 days following Hurricane Ike. To this date, Comcast has credited our account for approximately 4 days and Comcast is refusing further credit.

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    Rich Ellingham Jan 28, 2009

    Ordered HD Cable, High speed Int. and telephone service. $125.00 was promised in rebates. No confirmation number was ever received. No traceability as to who sold service. Just a big runaround. Comcast is not truthful. They mislead their customers and have no regard for their interests.

    Rich Ellingham

    0 Votes
  • St
    stefon Vermullen Feb 24, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Comcast cable really put it to me on billing me AFTER I requested disconnection.Also billed me for unreturned modems that I DID return. They sent me to a very rude collection agent. They still claim more owed then I really do. Companies get too big and don't care.

    0 Votes
  • Ge
    Geraldine Masin Jun 05, 2009

    They stated that you DO Not have to do anything when they change over on June 12th to digital. Wrong!!! you will lose lots of station that you are paying for unless you get a digital box.

    Cost $99.00 for delivery of box and instalation
    Cost &35.00 if you have the box and they install it.
    Please Email me or call
    [email protected]
    305-2550665

    0 Votes
  • Jc
    JCMA Jun 12, 2009

    Terrible customer service. Placed on hold for almost two hours.

    0 Votes
  • Ne
    neilschuler1 Jul 22, 2009

    I also got charged for a modem that I returned 4 years ago, just now after I cancelled my service. Now it is on my credit. No one will address my problem at Comcast. How many others are getting these bogus modem charges? Let me know. [email protected] Someone needs to stop Comcast from preying on helpless customers.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    sassymomma Aug 04, 2009

    Its not enough said towards this matter this munipulation needs to stop, hidden charges and so called mistakes are plainly misleading and stealing and should be punishable by law.#$#% comcast.

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    Mamalin Aug 14, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I signed up for Comcast internet and was assured I qualified for the $75 rebate. I turned in all the paperwork and just checked what is the status of my rebate, and the message in internet says "Household Limit Exceeded." I never got the rebate. What does this phrase even mean? I have never received any other rebates from Comcast. I was going to sign up for the phone service, but now I feel I will get cheated again.

    What do I do now? I feel I was led on by Comcasst, although I have had good Internet reception. But I signed up expecting the rebate.

    Linda Lindert

    0 Votes
  • Li
    linda farster Oct 16, 2009

    I also am waiting for 125.00 from Oct 2008. After complaining to comcast, I recieved a phone call to say check was returned to them as wrong address. after verifing address three months ago still no check. Does anyone ever recieve rebate from comcast?

    Linda Farster

    0 Votes
  • Um
    uMad? Oct 24, 2009

    I find it hilarious that you make it a point to say that no other males live in your home with the assumption that only a male would order porn.

    Anyway, your son did it.

    2 Votes
  • Di
    disrespected Oct 24, 2009

    You must be a man! How stupid can you be? I know what goes on in my house, and excuse me for not stating that I do not watch this filth, but if you were smart enough to read my statement and not smart enough to figure this out, then that is your own stupidity! Once again, I know my 12 yr old and he is not perverted or into that and I know everything that goes on under my own roof. I do not leave my child alone and the dates/times of when the movies were ordered make it impossible for him to have done this. I will prove that to the cable company, but why am I required to defend my honor and the innocence of my child because some damned huge company does not want to acknowledge that this could be something going on that they need to investigate? Why is it that the customer is the one judged, disrespected and made to defend their family when they have done nothing wrong? In case I failed to state so ignorant people such as yourself can understand, I live alone with my son, there are no other people, male, female or otherwise that have access to my cable services. So laugh away, you ignorant fool, but when it happens to your sister, mother or some other innocent member of your family (could even be a male relative!) and they are accusing an innocent child of this typeof behavior in your own family, then perhaps you will understand. Unbelievable, what is wrong with people today that they automatically jump to the conclusion that a 7th grader who is very carefully monitored, would be so perverted. You are sick and you probably enjoy these types of movies (movies is too much of a compliment for the filth), and you probably started at the age of 12 but I guarantee you my son does not. I am not a stupid women, I go through my life with my eyes wide open. I have worked in a welfare office for 11 yrs dealing with every type of person you can imagine. I will never be a blind mother. So, take your opinions and you know what you can do with them.

    If there is anybody out there that this has happened to, any type of unauthorized pay per views on your bill, please respond. Thank you.

    -2 Votes
  • Kr
    KrisW29 Sep 20, 2017

    @disrespected I have now been charged 4 times for an unnamed "on demand movie" I have contacted Comcast each time it happened and asked to be credited the fees back (who has an extra $9.99 for services not rendered?) I cannot figure out how this is happening, as it happens middle of the night for us, and for the first 3 charges, my Comcast remote did not have batteries in, and my TV remote was incapable of doing anything with the cable such as charging or even changing the cable channel. So tell me, how in the heck is anyone in my household ordering this crap??? So far, they have refunded 2 of the 4 charges, I am currently on chat at work with an "agent" to try and resolve the latest BS charge.

    0 Votes
  • Ve
    VeeVeeOO Mar 11, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @disrespected my mother is going threw this right now. A boxing match was ordered for 79.99 and she wasnt even home!! comcast doesnt care and they are stating the charges are authorized and will not be removed. very upset with comcast right now. Pushing her to disconnect!

    0 Votes
  • Js
    jsigler Oct 25, 2009

    "You must be a man! How stupid can you be?"

    Hahaha ^

    Yeah, your son definitely did it.

    1 Votes
  • Pr
    ProtectYourself Oct 25, 2009

    Ma'am, you are an idiot.

    Please kill yourself now.

    -1 Votes
  • Ta
    Tanks Oct 25, 2009

    Lady, you sound like a blabbering ###. I love how one person's simple comment has caused you to pound out a long paragraph of stuff nobody cares about.

    And yes, I'm sure the story about the pervert breaking into your apartment just to watch porn is a plausible explanation, you fool. Anyway, I hope you have $635.38.

    -1 Votes
  • Ta
    Tanks Oct 25, 2009

    By the way, your son did it.

    0 Votes
  • Ns
    *nsk* Jan 27, 2010

    i dont think your crazy at all! my mom had the same problem she lives by herself and she didnt order them and the charges are like 2:30 2:35 2:40 etc.. we called customer service and the lady said dont say anything but comcast does charge for ### u dont pay for. this is completely insane and its always pornos too! its nothing else makes no sence...

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Mintoss Feb 16, 2010

    The service is fine but the reason for continuing price increases makes no since to me. The world is having money problems but this company is still making money with no concern about its customers financial situations.

    0 Votes
  • Le
    leprechaun67 May 02, 2010

    I entered into a contract with them last year; where I was to have the existing service for 2 years--the first years was to be a little under 50 dollars and the second year was to be 57 dollars now their telling me that the contract did not include all the channels associated within the contract. so another words I would be paying under 50 dollars for all the channels for one year then lose alot of channels and pay 57 dollars the second year no one wouldve agreed to that. ill see if they intend to remove the channels next month (June) if so im going to file a complaint with the better business bureau and the ftc if anyone else is aware of this issue associated with them I suggest you do the same!! as well the original poster of this complaint!! These companies do anything to make a buck at the expense of losing customers! I will definitely never go back to comcast if that happens!!!

    1 Votes
  • Li
    Little John Jun 09, 2010

    Comcast is a despicable Company, Their employees, Contractors, and customers all agree, so why cant we get rid of this piece of dung! Maybe we need to destroy all of their operating equipment? Its about time for these folks to go down!

    2 Votes
  • T
    _T_ Jul 21, 2010

    I noticed that I was being charged for PPV not ordered and called Comcast. The CS woman was very helpful and helped me put a lock on those channels secured with a 4 digit pin.

    The following month, 3 more PPV charges showed up on my bill. I called Comcast again and this CS representative was very helpful as well. She credited me back the charges and gave me a no fail solution to the non ordered PPV charges.

    All you have to do is call Comcast and tell them that you want to set your PPV credit limit to ZERO! She then said that even if someone got a hold of your 4 digit pin #...they still could not order any PPV.

    The only way to order PPV after this point would be to go to the local comcast office to order and/or increase your PPV credit limit.

    I hope this info helps all of you that have problems with PPV showing up on your bill. :-)

    2 Votes
  • Li
    lizeegrl Sep 11, 2010

    My billing since signing with Comcast has not been as stated when I first signed up for their triple play.

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    scrwdbycomcast Dec 01, 2010

    I did advertising with Comcast in Nashville, I paid my bill in full, now they are saying they have no record of my payment. What a bunch of [censor]s. Avoid these guys and don't advertise with them, you will regret it!

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    john owens Dec 02, 2010

    i just got off the phone with comcast you know they had good comercials it is for sure that they paid those people for there testimonys they have the worst custimer service and every thing when you are trying to explain to them they interup you when you ask for a superviser they say that he wont come to the phone what kind of service is that no one sould ever use them it is not right they treat people like that

    0 Votes
  • Cl
    cleopatrais42 Dec 29, 2010

    have you resolved this? i too have billing issues... cleopatrais42 at yahoo dot com

    0 Votes
  • Co
    comsucks Apr 30, 2011

    Having same problem with mother in laws bill they say she order porn on 3 diffent days at 8:30 in morning on 2 of the days and 9:30am one one of the days. I told them I know for sure she don't order on at least one of those days I had taken her to doctors appointment and she lives alone. They called me a lier and said has to pay. I say billshit and fighting with them now.

    0 Votes
  • Cu
    cuddlebug2j May 11, 2011

    Why on gods green earth do these service techs have to come work on someones line at 4 am. I could understand if it was a busy road in the burough, but on my street there is nothing moving til 6 am and then all of the people work so why not mid morning or something.

    0 Votes
  • Ci
    cinnagirl76 May 16, 2011

    This happened to me continuously for about 2 years. The only reason I put up with it for so long is because Comcast has a monopoly on cable service where I live. It was always pornos-never just a regular $5 movie. It happened at times when I was home, when I wasn't and at the same time as when I had ordered a regular movie. The only ones they would take off my bill were the ones that occurred within an hour of another movie. They claimed they had never heard of this happening to anyone else, which is ### I'm sure. I was always made to feel like I was lying. They always swore it could only have been ordered from my box and remote. I put a code on PPV ordering, even though I live alone, and it still happened. I can only assume that my dogs are really horny! It only stopped when a tech came out to shut off my neighbor's cable and shut off mine on accident. When I had mine reconnected it suddenly stopped. Hmmmmm...

    0 Votes
  • Kw
    Kwest51 Jul 23, 2011

    I'm actually experiencing this with Time Warner Cable. My set actually told me I had purchased a movie...at the same time I was on the phone with a Time Warner service rep. Insane.

    0 Votes
  • At
    atvchick95 Aug 28, 2011

    Number one YES ONE REMOTE CAN OPERATE MORE THAN 1 TV in its line of fire - MY Comcast TECH not only told me this BUT SHOWED ME THIS. when they installed my service in March he used the remote he just set up for my living room t.v. went in to my daughters room with it (next to living room) Changed her channels, went to my sons room 2 rooms away turned on his T.V. went to my room other end of the house turned my t.v on and changed my channels ALL with my living room remote - When We lose a remote in our house We bum one from some one who isn't using it at that time!

    Your not the only one being billed for things you never watched On my paper bill it does NOT show any PPV charges but when I log on line and view my bill summary it does it states "One-time fees, PPV, Usage (Non-recurring charges) $12.99" Doesn't say when or what it was other than PPV and $12.99 I have a LOCK on mine no one knows the code but me I have NO use for PPV movies, and I sure won't pay $12.99 for something i only get to watch once. I'll rent it or go pay a few extra dollars and buy the DVD

    Comacast is the WORST for messing up bills That is why I dropped them before After 5 months of bills being wrong every month I got fed up.. I switched companies for a year - their service was all messed up - freezing up I'd lose everything Internet, tv, phone BUT they got my bill right every month! I came back to Comcast this past March ... June - Bill stated I called and requested My TV package be downgraded and my internet be shut off - up until my internet went out on a Sunday night I never once called comcast I ordered the service online! after several hours on the phone with them they saw it was a mistake on their end and credited me and put everything back the way I ordered it

    July - open my bill It states I called and had my Service Protection Plan Removed - AGAIN I NEVER DID NO SUCH THING Called they credited me and put it back on

    here it is AUGUST - I look at my bill on line to find that PVP charge - I have NEVER bought PVP!

    They give Guarantee's they do not keep! I've also had a Boat load of trouble with my Internet - called Comcast on Thursday Because my son's Set top box for his TV went out and wouldn't come back on (The clock wasn't even on! and everything else using the same plug worked) We told them about our internet issues. The lady reassured us She would tell the tech who was coming on Saturday to Put a modem and a new set top box in his truck for my Call - He gets here and ONLY has a box for the tv Has NO idea what I'm talking about with the modem it was not on his work slip, he was never told anything there for did not have one SO after calling AGAIN they're sending a person out SUNDAY to do that

    When I ordered my Xfinity service on line it said I would get a $250 visa gift card I waited and waited and waited - that was going to be used on my kids school clothes/supplies It never came I contacted them VIA their LIVE CHAT, I was told I was supposed to be sent papers to sign and mail back to get that - NEVER was anything mailed to me! I was then told it was to late to get it. Called customer service Finally got some one who knew their ### from a hole in the ground and He Credited me the gift card to my account

    Again tonight i used the LIVE CHAT about this PPV Charge, I'm told "it is strongly advised you only look at the "Soft copy" of your bill where it is all itemized - - NO I will not that is how you people screw people over when its like that you bunch all the charges together and don't tell any one what the charges are for, that is why this PVP charge does NOT show up on my Paper bill only does it show up on my Billing Summary, When I log on to check my account

    I am about done with Comcast /Xfintiy For good I'm about to call and order Dish Network My mom has used them for over 10 yrs and has NEVER had a single problem with her bill or service.

    I even asked the Live Chat Rep - Where I can go look to see what this PVP movie was and when it was supposedly ordered and they would not give me a answer. So I found this page During my GOOGLE Search on how to view PVP Movies that have been ordered on my Account, I also found Several other Pages of all complaints about Porn movies being added to their accounts when the Customer did NOT order them

    I do have all 3 things from them and I do use a router to get 2 computers on line but I have them High Secure and Locked tight No one but Me knows the keycode to get into my network.

    But Comcast has NOT heard the last of me I will be calling them 1st thing in the morning. I thought when I stopped seeing Comcast commercials and only saw Xfinity commercials there was no more comcast I see i was wrong Its all the same place just 2 different names and They BOTH SUCK and can't get nothing right!!!

    0 Votes
  • Re
    reply1987 Aug 28, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I think Comcast is doing it to rip people off because there is no "real" way to prove nothing was ordered. My father lives alone, there were two movies rented, both EXTREMELY chick flicky and something he would NEVER EVER even if I paid him to watch it, watch. He's seriously old school (68 years old) and the on;y channel I have ever seem him watch is the one with cowboys and indians kind of thing.

    I called Comcast and they tried the same thing with me, saying that he HAD to have ordered them. I told them there was no way, he didn't even know what the on-demand button was and if they didn't remove the fraudulent charges I would contact the state attorneys, the district manager and cancel my fathers account. They complied and took those charges off and I ordered a block of any paper view or any moves that could be bought through the remote. Needless to say, I dont have that issue with them anymore.

    Check out comcast.com and see what names you can find, and shoot e-mails off to them. I did this with a billing error for my dad, ( he accidentally send them his rent check and they cashed it and refused a refund.) I e-mailed the district manager Saturday morning and my dad picked up his check the same day.

    I don't know their format has changed but I would try [email protected] AND [email protected] I think a good start would be contacting Rick Germano SVP of customer relations. Also try Neil Smit, he is the President, Comcast Cable and Executive Vice President, Comcast Corporation. Also include the lower down ones, like a district manager and ALWAYS include the press person too.

    In my e-mails to everyone on my dads behalf I made sure to mention I would go to the press and contact an attorney if the matter was not handled or at least confirmed to be looked at by a non-auto reply message within 24 hours... I requested the matter also be resolved in my favor within 5 days. This lit a fire under them.


    Please let us know the results.

    0 Votes
  • Di
    Disjionted Apr 07, 2012

    Comcast cable received and cashed my on line payment. I verified the transaction with Chase bank .Repeated calls to Comcast, result in big runarounds.This amounts to theft !

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    RitaEllaLouise Apr 14, 2012

    I, too was charged, and I don't even have cable TV, only Internet. However, they did deduct the charge further down on the statement. So I am just going to watch it from now on.

    0 Votes
  • Cu
    Custody battle May 02, 2014

    I'm sorry you are experiencing this. I'm in the middle of a custody battle. My husband got cable for free in our home as he owns an apartment complex. I have over 75 movies purchased in the past year, all porn. The account is under his name, however, even though he doesn't live here, someone ordered these movies. We have Time Warner Cable and it is very sad that because I do not have hard evidence that we didn't order these movies, that I could lose custody of my children. I don't know how these movies are being purchased under his account. If he did it, I can't prove it. He has not lived with us in over 3 years. I would greatly appreciate it if any one out there could help me as to how I can prove that I didn't order these movies. I have gone in circles trying to get information from the company. My attorney is going to send Time Warner an order so we can obtain records. Honestly, I think my husband is setting me up. I really wish I knew a way that I could prove my innocence . Good luck with your case.

    0 Votes

Post your comment