Coast Dental Servicescompany logo

Coast Dental Services

Coast Dental Services

Learn how the rating is calculated

3 141 complaints
81 resolved 60 unresolved

Is this your company? Claim it and get a lot of features. Read more

Coast Dental Services Go to website

Coast Dental Services reviews & complaints 121 - 141

Coast Dental Services complaints 141

Coast Dental Services - $10,000 and teeth are falling out within a year!

I have spent over $10, 000.00 to have my lower teeth crowned due to wear from 56 years of use with coast dental Vero Beach and my "NEW" teeth have been falling out and are now decaying due to improper dental practices. I have had 3 different dentists within the group, the last 2 complaining about the work that each other had done. I have been going back and forth with these barbarians for almost a year now after the 3rd dentist told corporate to give me a refund because they did an improper job in Vero. HE WOULDN'T EVEN CEMENT MY TEETH BACK IN BECAUSE HE SAID I HAD DECAY BELOW THE GUM LINE...THIS WAS 6 MONTHS AFTER THE PROCEDURE!!! While visiting Tampa I stopped by their offices Monday with the hope of getting some type of closure without threatening anyone. I am a very civil person. I was surprised to see that the MAIN doors to the corporate office are kept locked. I knocked and was let in by the new employee. She didn't know any better. I waited for 20 minutes only to be told that no one would come out to speak with me from behind fortress #2! That's when I told her to tell them that I would not leave until someone would review my case with me since they never return phone calls. That's when security was called and I was escorted out. I am currently working with the Florida Department of Health, Humana Insurance, and others to make sure that they cannot get away with this type of conduct in the State of Florida. READ THE REVIEWS ON THEM...YOU'LL BE AT IT FOR A WHILE. I believe that their CEO is a VETERINARIAN, not a dentist but you might check on that one for yourself. (If that's the case it's no wonder they don't know how to take care of people!)
Please do your homework before you go to these people. They oversell everything, under staff everywhere, and abandon you after milking you and your insurance company for all they can...THEY MUST BE STOPPED!!!

The place is a boiler room operation. All about money first and lasr

they must be stopped tell everyone you know, word of mouth is the best revenge. File with the State of Fl dentistry board and/or have an attorney send a letter of complaint to corporate. Hurt them where it counts.

Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

Coast Dental Services - terrible dentures

My dentist was the most arrogant man you could meet. The teeth extraction was great but the dentures are terrible. He moved to another location and I was told I had to go to the new location for...

Read full review
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

Coast Dental Services - overbilling

Have a long list of complaints about this place, but the main problem is that they tried to bill me $207 for a periodontal cleaning. I refused and walked out. Just got off the phone with my insurance company, which told me that the fee for this cleaning is supposed to be $45!!!

Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

Coast Dental Services - dental

Heed everyone else's warning. I've gone to them a few times and had a decent experience except for them rescheduling my appointments at the last minute a few times. They always try to up-sell their services but I always declined so it wasn't an issue. My wife went to them on my recommendation and I forgot to tell her to decline all the other services they offer and she left with a $733.99 cleaning. She was sold everything including the rustproofing. By the she's never had a cavity...

She wasn't told what the costs would be upfront and they explain the services as though they are mandatory. I called the office and asked them (as a long time patient) and asked if they would be willing to wave some of the fees and they stated they would rather lose my family's business than do what was right.

This same thing happened to a coworker in my office where he was charged around a thousand dollars in extra services for one appointment.
They would rather gouge you once then retain you as a long term customer. They are a corporation.

Support a local dentist and small business and don't use them. Please.

went to coast dental yesterday. had a cleaning. hygienist said I needed a periodontal cleaning. never been told this before. had a cleaning. no where to spit . in my 50 yrs of going to the dentist, they always had a bowl with water squishing in it to spit in. my teeth did not feel clean.

Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

Coast Dental Services - insurance freud

This dentist received payment from my insurance company on July 27, 2012 and in addition to that, I had already paid the bill in full. So, according to their own office, I am due a refund of almost $600.00 and I have been trying to get that refund since August and it is now December 2012. Every time I call, I am told that it will appear on my next statement and it never does. I have called their corporate offices in Tampa and was told that there is nothing they can do because it is a Bonita Springs issue and Bonita Springs is telling me that their is nothing they can do because it is a corporate issue. Bottom line is that they got paid twice for the same thing and are refusing to issue me a refund.

Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Coast Dental Services - liars and thieves

Going to the dentist can be traumatic enough; but this office truly turns the bad dentist visit into an art form. Due to the economy, I was unable to keep my health insurance and, therefore, hadn’t...

Read full review
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

Coast Dental Services - incompetence, unnecessary radiation, didn't get teeth cleaned!!

These jerks bugged me to death all week about my appt. they said that they could do a basic cleaning for my teeth. I filled out my paperwork the day before and faxed it to them. I arrive for my appointment on time and had to wait for 45 minutes anyway. They finally took me back to X-ray me to death, said that my X-rays wouldn't process, and that they couldn't clean my teeth. Sucking ### Coast dental will be investigated and put down baby! I'm glad they didn't get to touch my teeth now after I've seen the sheer amount of complaints!!!

Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

Coast Dental Services - fraud/patient abandonment/billing practices/not providing due refund

My husband went in for dental work on 2 front teeth in May. He was told it would be $1201 up front and they would restore the teeth, do root canal, and crown the teeth. He went in for the first...

Read full review
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

Coast Dental Services - please notify the ftc!

If you're having an overbilling and/or refund issue, please file an online complaint with the Federal Trade Commission. BBB's complaint system doesn't work, Coast Dental has an F rating, so there's no incentive to make good on BBB complaints. It's easy to file the complaint on the Federal Trade Commission's web site, and this is a neutral government agency who can investigate Coast Dental and stop them from continuing this unethical practice. We may never get our money back but we can do something to prevent others from getting victimized. The more complaints filed, the better chance of getting the FTC's prompt attention.

Coast Dental's comments to our posts implying they actually want to resolve our issues are laughable. I have been in constant contact with them since day one and they give me the runaround each time saying "Your refund is being processed". They obviously have no desire to resolve this whatsoever.

P.S. Smile care is Coast Dental

http://www.consumeraffairs.com/dentists/dds_ca_smilecare.html
Office of Clovis, CA on Jan. 25, 2013

As a former employee of SmileCare in Clovis, this has to be the worst experience ever. I left after only 4 months on the job, as office manager, because of the fraud, fraudulent information given to patients that they all need deep cleanings and everyone seems to have periodontal disease beginning the first visit. The District Manager is even worse; she actually admitted it to me that patients that have pending requests of refunds will never get them, no matter what. The other office managers are ghetto and belong in this type of setting. No wonder this is why it's called SmileCare/Coast Dental. Don't let the name fool you; it will always be a hungry business to increase production.This corporation is not the least bit concerned about your well being or health; all they care about is money. The accounts are so screwed up that there are multiple people that are being submitted to claims without the proper notice. I had calls after calls that I had to quit because I couldn't take the ignorance or the fraud from this company. This company has no clue what they are doing, beginning from the RVP, District Manager, and then to the staff. It's horrible. Take it from me, do not come here ... ever!

Hello,

Coast Dental owes me $140.50 from the 03/06/2013. Stacy (the office manager at the Wesley Chapel location) refuses to tell me her supervisors name. I had dental work done on the 4th of March. The front office told me that I was responsible for 100% of the work, as my insurance would not cover it. I paid using my credit card. My husband contacted our insurance provider and realized that they do in fact cover 50% of the procedure. I contacted the dentist office and said they would submit the information. Coast dental submitted my claim to my insurance and was paid MY 50% that was owed to ME. I called Coast Dental multiple and Stacy(office manager) told me that once they got the check, it would take 12-14 weeks before we would see a refund. On 06/03/13 I called Coast Dental to check the status of my refund and Stacy replied that she did not know that we wanted a refund. I had called multiple times afterwards and Stacy (Office Manager at the Wesley Chapel location) told me that she submitted the paperwork for refund on 06/18/13 (over two weeks after I asked her for the status of my refund) and she said it takes 12-14 weeks to be credited back on my credit card I paid with. On 07/26/2013 I called to inform that my credit card information was stolen, and Stacy ( The office Manager in Wesley Chapel) told me that I need to submit a letter from my bank that I have cancelled my credit card to submit it to her office and that I will not be getting a check mailed to my address as I wanted. I have been trying to reach the corporate office and patient relations of Coast Dental in Tampa and I always get voice mail. I have left multiple messages for somebody to call me back about the status of my refund and that I want to make sure I will get a check in the mail, since I have cancelled my credit card. I have not received any response from Coast Dental and Stacy the Office Manager at the Wesley Chapel, FL location told me that she cannot help me with anything else and refuses to tell me her last name and who is her manager. So It would take an additional 12-14 weeks?????

Please, help with this issue or recommend who I should contact.
Coast Dental owes me my credit balance refund and I 5 months after I still cannot get my money back…

Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Coast Dental Services - unable to get refund

Like others posting complaints about Coast Dental, I have also been overcharged and I'm getting the runaround in receiving credit. I discovered the overcharge myself when I reconciled my insurance statements with my Coast Dental bills. First I was told it would be 6 weeks, then 8 weeks, then 10 weeks, and now 14 weeks. I have filed a complaint with the Federal Trade Commission and I urge anyone else who has been victimized by Coast Dental to do the same. The FTC won't try to get your money back but if they receive enough complaints they will investigate Coast Dental. I'm past getting my money back. I want Coast Dental to be held accountable for their actions.

Dear Sally,
Please call our Patient Relations team at [protected] so we can learn the patient's name and office and address your concerns. Thank you.

We have been waiting 7 months for a refund. Not only did they over charge us based on the insurance company's fee structure, they also kept claim checks that did not belong to them because we had OVER paid them in advance and in full. Checks should have come to us. However, over $2, 000 is owed us. The insurance company has actually written to the local office and am waiting to see if we must take legal action if they don't comply. There is no judge on this earth that would believe they can't put a credit through on a credit card immediately. If they can charge the account, they can credit it. They told us 14-16 weeks. Then 18 weeks. Now they refuse to process the refund at all. These people probably have no funds and are just thieves. They need to be stopped.

Be warned as usual with Coast Dental, you call the number above and get voicemail. They NEVER return calls! I cannot give up on $1201 they have of mine and most of the services not rendered. They have told us $850 refund is coming but the start date for the refund processing time frame is a moving target! We have been waiting since June.

Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Coast Dental Services - refund owed

Had extensive dental work done almost a year ago. found out just 3 months ago that i had a refund of $227 coming and I submitted the paperwork needed to get this refund, to no avail! call the office in port orange, florida weekly and keep getting the same answer...it's been processed! now, they just take meaages and don't return my calls! gonna refer to BBB! pretty obvious i'm out the $227! DON'T go there!

Dear Patricia,
Thank you for your comment. Refunds are processed in the order they are received. The office manager called you earlier today with the information you requested. Should you need any further assistance, please contact me directly at [email protected] Thank you.
Dear Patricia,
Thank you for your comment. The office manager called you today with the information you requested - and before we were aware of this posting. Should you have any further questions, please contact me directly at [email protected] I'd be happy to be of assistance.
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Coast Dental Services - billing fraud

I had a regular cleaning appointment in March of 2012. I was told what my co-pay would be and I paid that with my FSA card. I was informed 4 months later that I had a $57 credit on my account. When I...

Read full review
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Coast Dental Services - over charged still no refund

was over charge almost 1, 000$ for dental services for myself and my family. have been trying since March to get a credit applied to my credit card or a refund check, but keep getting the run around!...

Read full review
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Coast Dental Services - overcharging and slow refunds

On 9/5/13, went to Coast Dental as my tooth had turned dark. Was told it was fractured above the gum line and would have to be pulled. Tooth was actually pulled by the definition of a "simple...

Read full review
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Coast Dental Services - bait and switch sales tactics

Went in 3 weeks ago for a consultation, was told I needed a deep cleaning. I was quoted and given a estimate for $219.00. Went back today for the cleaning, as soon as they put you in the chair the...

Read full review
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Coast Dental Services - replaced tooth, cost over $700 and still look weird.

I went in to get the tooth fixed from bad work done in 2010. I told them I was embarrased to smile. They said they could fix it but that my insurance would not cover it to be redone. I paid full...

Read full review
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Coast Dental Services - reimbursments and refunds

I went to the Coast Dental location off Cascade. The service was prompt and courteous. However, there were issues in billing and I paid in full using my CareCredit Card. Insurance sent reimbursement...

Read full review
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Coast Dental Services - rip you off!

Where to begin... Dr. Ben Lewis is a total liar. I arrived to my appt. 10 minutes before and waited 3 hours...3 hours!! After 2 hours I asked when I will get in. They said shortly the dr. is still with another patient then after another hour the dentist comes out and talks to the receptionist saying they are unable to get me in . He sees me and goes oh sorry we have been calling you all day to cancel your appt! I was livid I showed him my phone and no missed calls... He seemed annoyed and walked to the back and then the receptionist was like ohh maybe you didnt have service when we called? Umm why would you have me wait 3 hours and why wouldnt you tell me that when I arrived? Or after 2 hours when I talked to you... they put a sonicare tooth brush on my bill without asking if I wanted one... He drilled a tooth to see if it was dead? Which is def. wasn't I still have the drill hole... Then after having a crown done after my tooth cracked they forgot to floss my teeth before the cement hardened and the hygenist starting laughing going OH MY GOSH its stuck! They have to put a rubber thing in the middle and literally saw away at the middle to get them apart. After I had odors coming from the tooth ( I believe it was infected ) went back Ben Lewis said give it 6 months. No way! I went to another dentist who said their is a gap in the back of crown that is building up bacteria so I paid them to redo my crown( way better service at a ma and pa dentist). I will never go back to Coast Dental ever again! I have told many people considering them to avoid them at all cost!!! Now i just got a letter from the collections agency for 100 dollars and they can't explain why... I never complain online about anything but this is by far the worst dentist ever.

Dear Mellybell,
Dr. Lewis usually gets rave reviews. Please call our Patient Relations team at [protected] so we can answer any questions you have about your treatment, and discuss the bill you received. Thank you.
Regards,
[email protected]

I believe your story as I am involved in a similar situation with Lewis. He performed, what I found out later, to be unnecessary, subpar work on me recently. He practically forced the work on me, claiming it needed to be done immediately, almost to the point of "dental bullying". After the unsuccessful, botched dental work I made several attempts to have it rectified, only to be stonewalled by lies and misinformation out of the office. Lewis himself directly lied to my face on three occasions. I am now suffering with the injury he is responsible for, and I have been informed, by several other professionals, that, at the very least, the work Lewis performed on me to needs be redone correctly by another provider, and quite possibly may lead to further extremes. Lewis has shown that he does not care about his patients. Money... seems to be his only concern.

Coast Dental Services - billing and refunds

In February, 2012, I underwent a root canal at this location. At the time of the root canal, I was given a required amount to pay, which I paid on that visit. Upon completion of my insurance review, I learned that I had overpaid by about $67. I have been trying since mid-March, 2012 to get my refund. It is now mid-June 2012! Each time I call I'm told "It has been approved. Call us back in a couple of weeks for an update". Clearly, they have NO intention of EVER giving me my refund. I'm just thankful that it is not in the 1, 000's of dollars. Avoid Coast Dental if at all possible or REFUSE to pay them ANYTHING up-front.

Oh definitely, what a scam. I had to actually have my lawyer friend call them. Now, they are saying I should expect refund within 2 weeks...stated they were going through some transition. Okay, understandable but why couldn't anyone return our calls to let us know this information, if true at all!

So, it only took 5 MONTHS for them to process my refund. What a scam!

Ok, so I finally figured out how to get their attention. I called and asked "To whom should my attorney direct correspondence?". I received the refund back to my Visa within just a couple of days!

I went to the Coast Dental location off Cascade. The service was prompt and courteous. However, there were issues in billing and I paid in full using my CareCredit Card. Insurance sent reimbursement for services to Coast Dental. I have been awaiting credit to be applied to my CareCredit account since late January. I have called the corporate location in Florida several times to speak with an operator. I am always transferred to someone's voicemail NEVER to have any call returned. It is now mid July. AVOID COAST DENTAL!!!

This was the Alpharetta, GA location.

Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

Coast Dental Services - terrible customer service

I don’t know much about the dental work actually done at this Coast Dental, nor will I ever find out. I had an appointment scheduled at the Coast Dental on 9th st in Naples, FL back in May 2012. The day of the appointment I had an unexpected car problem, and called to cancel. In June 2012 I received a $100 bill to the office. When I called to find out what it was for they said it was because of a cancelation fee, but the nice lady didn’t know much about it because she doesn’t normally work in this office and told me Dave, the “office manager” at this location would call me back. I never received a call back so I called him back. Dave was completely rude and had no customer service skills what-so-ever. I asked if we could work something out because it was an unexpected trouble and we called as soon as we knew we couldn’t make it and he had no sympathy at all and his response to everything I had to say was “No”. I totally understand that companies ask for a 24-hr cancelation, but what are you to do in an emergency situation? And $100?! We have spent thousands of dollars at one of their other locations just this year, so we thought going to one of their sister locations we would receive the same professional treatment, but this was not the case. I am so surprised that this Coast Dental is still in business with an office manager like Dave. I am sure I am not the only client that will never return to this location because of him.

1  ...  3 4 5  ...  8