Menu
Register
Write a review File a complaint
CB Residential Sales Clayton Homes New manufactured home nightmare
Clayton Homes

Clayton Homes review: New manufactured home nightmare 16

T
Author of the review
11:50 am EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more
Review updated:
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

We recently purchased a brand-new manufactured home from Clayton Homes for $118, 605.94. We had built an engineered structural concrete foundation with utility drops for $25, 000.00. The home was delivered in two separate pieces on September 23, 2019, the first half was the front piece. As the Installer/delivery people approached the concrete foundation with their machine they broke off huge chunks of concrete. We were not happy, but we had come to far to turn back now. Upon arrival of the back half it was soon discovered that the front right wheel was missing from one of the transporting axles. Upon entering the foundation, the axle of the missing wheel got stuck on the edge of the concrete. He tried two times to yank it up creating more damage, as the left rear was off the ground about three feet flexing up and down. The entire delivery was captured on video where you can also hear the sound of wood fracturing. This is where our nightmare began.

We soon discovered damage to the home and the utility drops did not line up. We notified the sales manager of Clayton Homes; Jeffery Levy of the damaged concrete, the missing wheel and multiple problems which totaled 179 issues. He promptly sent out a repair crew and promised to fix the concrete foundation; which is still unaddressed to this day. As they attempted to repair the problems, we noticed that they were only making things worse. The cracks in the ceiling, which are many, they just blobbed on more texture which did not match the rest of the ceiling and ran heavy beads of silicone into the separating corners and used their finger to apply and panted the walls with dirty rollers. After the first rain we noticed that the windows in the office were leaking, which still leak to this day, and went on the roof to investigate and what we found was very troubling. The roof was extremely crooked and had obvious damage. It looked like a roller coaster ride, where the shingles went up and down and in and out. We also noticed many damaged blocks and notified Jeffery Levy the sales manager of Clayton Homes, who came to the property and tried to convince us that everything was fine. We strongly disagreed, so we insisted that these issues be looked at. He ordered a state inspection on October 8, 2019, and accidentally sent us the email also; where he downplayed the damage, and he stated that everything looked fine to him and advised the homeowners were very particular.

The Inspector showed up on October 14, 2019, his name was Derrick Scroggins. We notified him that the installer had lost a wheel and damaged the concrete and there were many problems inside and out of the house. He stated that he was only there to inspect the block and nothing else. Out of 110 blocks, 52 were severely damaged, some were cracked completely in half and he gave the installer 30 days to replace the block. Before departing, we asked him if he could please look at the roof, which he agreed to and after doing so he said yes, the roof is F …ed up and he would notify his supervisor. We continuously and repeatedly contacted Clayton Homes almost daily about the problems from day one, which they would send out their repair crew and only address a few minor items at a time and looked away from the major issues except for replacing the block and the roof cap. When we pressured up the water a huge leak was found and discovered that the water lines were duct taped to the bottom of the floor joist instead of running it through the two-inch hole which is provided in the middle of the floor joist where it is supposed to go so it does not freeze. Upon further inspection, it was found that the electrical was ran in the same manner. After many months of getting nowhere, we began to become extremely frustrated and downright angry and after, hundreds of emails, text messages and phone calls which are all well documented. Timara Harper from SE Homes informed us that she was going to send out a third-party Structural Engineer. In fact, he was so third party, that she didn't want us on our own property or even speaking with him, we informed her we had livestock and you cannot get onto the property without us opening the gate. Benny from RCS Enterprises showed up on 11/08/2019, he did not provide a card nor did he take any notes and it turns out the only ones he did not know before that day was us Paul and Sandy Harpham. He knew everybody involved, right down to the repair crew and informed us that we would not be receiving a copy of the report. It was at this time we felt we needed to contact an attorney. We hired Earl Hargrave Attorney at Law and paid $750.00 to write a demand letter to address the numerous problems. Their attorney responded in writing and used many slanderous names and accused us of being racist. We are not racist and had no idea why he would say such a thing. Now our contract states that this matter needed to go to arbitration, which we felt was unacceptable because the installer had lost a wheel and damaged the concrete slab and the home. Now a second state inspection was in order and we had to write our attorney a $3, 500.00 check to for litigation. The inspection was supposed to be a complete inspection from top to bottom inside and out, and it was from the time of delivery four months later the inspection was scheduled on January 15, 2020. Representatives from Clayton Homes, SE Homes, along with their attorney, the installer and our attorney were present. The inspectors name was Jimmy Turner and upon meeting him, we couldn't help but wonder if this is why they called us racist and could tell this was not going to go well for us, as he had his badge on a chain around his neck and stuck his chest out, with an aggressive look on his face and asserted his authority by ordering us to accept the manuals and keys to the house, which was all captured on video. It seemed like he had a predetermined disposition of us, and we were just wasting his time. We notified him, that the installer had lost a wheel and we had it on video. He was uninterested, and asked where we wanted to start?
Every item we addressed, he stated that he saw no problem here! This is going to meet HUD Standards; I will tell you that right now. WHAT ELSE YOU GOT? As though he just wanted to get out of there. Halfway through the inspection, we came to the conclusion that this inspection was futile, and it was difficult for us to continue, but we did so anyways. After we finished with the inspection of the home, we asked the inspector again if he would please look at the video of the missing wheel to which he reluctantly agreed to, along with the installer who quickly admitted to losing the wheel and damaging the concrete foundation. The video shows the combativeness of the inspector, which we can provide with the proper link to send it to.
Also, our contract states, nineteen separate times that the square footage of the home is 2, 244 square feet at 66-foot-long by 34-foot-wide, and the sales manager informed us that was correct. When the house arrived, there is a sign in the window of the house that states it to be 2, 212 square feet at 66-foot-long by 34 foot wide. After receiving the Statement of Ownership, it states that the front half of the house is 15 foot by 66 foot and the back half of the house is 17 foot by 64 foot which includes the porch, which is only covered and not enclosed, with a total of 2, 078 square feet. Now we have three different square footage totals, which we questioned the inspector on. The response given was unacceptable as he stated that the roof eaves and porch are added to the square footage of the house. Accordingly, HUD interprets statute 3282.8 (g) as follows: In calculating the square footage of a home, the square footage includes all siding, corner trim, molding, storage space, and areas enclosed by windows but not the roof overhang. Which would mean the roof eaves and also the porch.
The house is actually 1, 942 square feet, a difference of 302 square feet from the 2, 244 square feet that our contract states. This is an area larger than the master bedroom, which affects our property taxes, our insurance and the value of the home, which we have the inspector on video trying to persuade us otherwise.
Upon receiving a copy of the inspection report, and out of the hundreds of issues pointed out during the inspection, he only ordered a few small items for the manufacture and the installer to correct and gave 30 days to do so. This appears to be standard procedure for them to fix a couple of things then drag out the rest for months. Now our attorney money, has run dry, we are out $4, 250.00 for attorney fees and have gotten nowhere. We cannot give our attorney any more money and we are no longer able to reside outside of the home. We have no choice as it has been going on almost six months while waiting for them to address the problems. We must occupy the home, which has been sitting vacant during the entire process, and we have also been making payments to the lender for the house. We thought the inspector was there to protect the homeowner, he was clearly not.
We are sending a copy of the report along with some pictures that the inspector thought were unimportant. This includes the twisted roof, the separation of the exterior wall from the interior wall, along with the missing wheel and the damaged concrete foundation. And after viewing the video of the missing wheel it is unacceptable. This has been a complete nightmare for us, and we have never felt so disrespected. They beat you down and wait you out until you are no longer able to defend yourself. This is very unfair; they have unlimited funds and nothing but time. The entire inspection was videotaped. We would like a complete investigation into this matter and will not rest until it is resolved. Also, we have yet to receive our two decks or skirting and we have no way to enter or exit our front door, for it is 3 ½ feet off the ground. Also they made us hook up our own utilities, at a cost of $6, 000.00 and nowhere in our contract does it say we are responsible for doing. We honestly believe their attorney called us numerous names and accused us of being racist because he knew the inspector was African American and used this to influence the inspector's decisions. All we wanted was a nice place to live out the rest of our lives, instead we sit here with a house and concrete that is riddled with damage. These are some of the most dishonest and corrupt people in our opinion that we have ever met. We need help.
Thank you in advance,

Paul and Sandy Harpham

More Clayton Homes reviews & complaints

Clayton Homes - scam and cheating! 20
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Clayton Homes - bad service 16
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Clayton Homes - Leaking, mold 27
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Clayton Homes - mobile homes services 6
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Clayton Homes - the shingles on the roof. 1
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment to this complaint.
Clayton Homes - dublin va, staff, and miscommunication
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment to this complaint.
16 comments
Add a comment
C
C
Charles McCarthy
, US
May 01, 2024 9:19 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Contact the US Department of HUD, NCSBCS and your local SAA to help guide you through the process of resolving your issues with Clayton Homes.

3282. subpart I is the section of the HUD code that pertains to dispute resolution and non-conformance to the building codes for Manufactured Housing in the United States.

J
J
Joby’s Oakwood
Charlotte, NC, US
May 11, 2023 2:42 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

My 1999 Oakwood/Clayton ‘Home Entertainer’ (purchased new) model has been largely trouble free and has held up well.

My issue(s) have been with the property owner I rent from. Started off well nearly 20 years ago when his parents owned the property (started as a small retirement community half a century ago).

Lots of conflict between the parents and their son over who to allow to move in, management practices, etc. I was NOT wanted here by the son but his parents and siblings over ruled him. Parents and an older sibling are now deceased, while another sibling moved away, avoiding this situation.

I’m now retired and on a fixed income. Traveled frequently for employment before retirement. Problems started immediately after moving in. Theft, unauthorized entry, vandalism, mail tampering/interception and as of today: yard vandalized in recent weeks by someone randomly spraying herbicide like they painting a canvas-opinion from my professional landscaper.

I literally had the nicest yard until the last week or so. Police say ‘move’. In my situation that means abandon my long paid for home and run away as it isn’t cost effective to move it anywhere, even if there was a similar property in the area to move it to (there isn’t).

Conclusion: I would buy another Clayton-Oakwood mobile home in a heartbeat. Renting in a park (admittedly the best area prices and well maintained) can be a nightmare. I know, I’m living the nightmare.😣

Handicapped Senior Citizen

Images are from last fall.

View 0 more photos
P
P
patricia martyn
colbert ga, US
May 29, 2023 7:10 pm EDT

dont buy a clayton home there is something in my home that has made me sick since the day i move in i call clayton and told then about this but they said we just build homes we dont know what in them so i am paying 1200 dollors to gt it tested and i might have to move out i am 77 years old with no were to go and vivans mobile home sales was not that much help

B
B
Brenda Goff
, US
Apr 26, 2023 3:04 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

The entire outfit

K
K
Kimber Cummings
, US
Feb 13, 2022 10:01 am EST

Oh my gosh, Patricia! I am so sorry to hear this. I certainly hope there has been some resolution by now. Thank you so much for your review. I was considering Clayton homes myself. I will rethink this!

M
M
Meetoo2
Smith River, US
Jan 18, 2022 1:03 pm EST

I admire your determination. I've got a sinking foundation that is cracked all the way across the roof is a roller coaster my mirrors are fun house mirrors there's nails coming through the ceiling the floors air coming through the baseboards and a vapor barrier filled with sewage. I have been living in A-tent on my porch or in my vehicle with my 2 senior disabled chihuahuas for the better part of a year. This is a 2019 model in a brand new concrete foundation. I can already see this is going to be like beating my head against a brick wall and getting nowhere. Is there any way all of us can band together and do a class action against these [censored]?

J
J
Jim Gullo
, US
Jun 05, 2021 7:02 pm EDT

Today is 6/5/21, and my wife and I are in Guntersville Alabama. We are staying in a rental for the 2nd time in 3 weeks looking at land with our real estate agent. We are looking to move from New Jersey this year, and decided after looking at many dissappointing and unkept (maintenance wise and in general) houses, we would just buy a few acres in an area that we liked and pursue a manufactured home. She has been looking at Clayton home website for months now as she really like the homes. Your story is well documented and rather unsettling. We literally just drove past their office in Albertville an hour ago, and decided we could not make it back there by 5 pm as we took our dog with us to look at lots with our agent today. We were a little bummed that they are closed tomorrow, but after coming home and looking through the different models, I backed up to the search page and found reviews, namely yours. Now instead of going over on Monday we crossed them off the list and will look for a reputable builder in the area. BTW, what was up with the "racist" accusation? I never imagined that would come up with a house inspection. Bizzarre for sure.
From their website they appeared to be a reputable company. We are retiring, so this will be our last house. We do NOT want a nightmare. Just goes to show, you never know. Good luck with your outcome. I will learn from your mistake.

E
E
Eydie Steffens
, US
May 26, 2021 1:18 pm EDT

Thank You. You have discouraged me from buying a modular from them! They need to go after them for sure!

S
S
SL S
, US
May 05, 2021 10:52 pm EDT

If you haven't already, seems like you ought to see if you can get a free 30-minute consult with a lawyer. Question 1 - can you sue them to include legal fees in the damages. Question 2 - what odds does the lawyer give for winning a lawsuit (or arbitration if that's what the contract requires - they often do).

Subject to the terms of the contract, I'd want them to demo/remove the home; repair the foundation; then either install a new home or (maybe better) refund the original purchase price (plus legal fees and punitive damages).

M
M
Meetoo2
Smith River, US
Jan 18, 2022 1:12 pm EST
Replying to comment of SL S

I spent $450 on an attorney who didn't want to take the case because there wasn't really enough money in it for him. If you look at what we paid for these houses and then what any good real estate attorney charges per hour you can see there's not much in it for them. I would love to do a class action lawsuit about their business practices namely this business practices namely their warranty. I am looking for any other way I can get at them because obviously following the chain that command and and doing everything right and documenting everything and following it through doesn't do anything with these people there is no accountability they just wait for you to run out of money and energy for it.

P
P
patricia martyn
colbert ga, US
May 29, 2023 7:12 pm EDT
Replying to comment of Meetoo2

count me in

B
B
Beverly Schulz
, US
Apr 22, 2021 12:22 pm EDT

My new home is a nightmare. Also started with the instillation contractor, he was worthless. He destroyed property, almost killed my dogs, took out fences, trees, driveway and put the house on the concrete slab less than 24 hrs after it was poured. The HVAC was placed by a company who were 6 hours away and never returned phone calls. They also did not register the A/C unit as they were supposed top. As a result I have had to replace it in 3.5 yrs as it was a mismatched system. The hot water heater needs to be replaced in addition to other plumbing problems, all the doors are misaligned causing air leaks on the outer doors. My gutters leak, the oven was used( it had grease in the bottom the first time I used it). I will never recommend Clayton Homes or the dealership.

P
P
Patricia Curington
, US
Jan 19, 2021 11:16 am EST

I am in the same boat. Nothing but problems...

T
Author of the review
T
The Harphams
, US
Jan 19, 2021 12:44 pm EST
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

We have 9 videos up on YouTube “Never Buy A Clayton Manufactured Home.” We make TShirts, Signs and Bumper Stickers. You should do the same.

B
B
Beverly Schulz
, US
Apr 22, 2021 12:07 pm EDT

I need a t shirt and bumper sticker. I too have had nothing but problems.

M
M
Meetoo2
Smith River, US
Jan 18, 2022 1:15 pm EST

Patricia you are amazing I would love to collaborate with you on some stuff! Since I've been forced to live outside in A-tent or in my car I was thinking I could move my headquarters outside of theirs and sit there with billboards and a bullhorn.

T
T
The Pearsons
Dillsboro, US
Feb 27, 2023 11:24 am EST
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

They have gotten by with this treatment of their customers too long.