Clayton Homesdon't buy from them

1
L Review updated:

Me and my husband went purchase a mobile home from Clayton homes in thibodaux. For a few weeks everything was going good. We was approved for the home on there lot. We put 1000 down and they said that the one on the lot was ours. We was so excited. We started getting all the permits on the land. We was trying to hurry Clayton homes cause they new we needed the 8000 tax credit. Well they started ignoring our phone calls and we caught them starting to lie at things. We kept telling them come on we need to sign a purchase agreement. They kept pushing it off by saying it wasn't there fault they was waiting for wells Fargo to contact them back. Then they had called and said that we can go in to sign..well my husband took off work we went in to sign then they said well y'all cant sign it today cause we don't have all the information. My husband didn't want to miss work again so they let him just sign it. We had looked at the top of the page it had said a 2009 with the serial number. Well a week later we called back and they said they still don't have it done were i could sign. The day before the 8000 ended we contacted them after hours of them not answering our phone calls, and we found out the truth. We found out why they took so long and kept lying..They SOLD our mobile home to someone else. They was trying to give us a brand new one but the only problem with that was it would not have been built in enough time to get the 8000 and they knew that. They screwed us bad. Now we have no home and lost the 8000. We talking to some lawyers and trying to do something about this. They are horrible people and liars.

Responses

  • Da
    dawnlynnp35 Jul 23, 2010

    OMG. ur story sounds just like what were going threw now, we haven't signed nothing but are considering buying from them, i have a gut feeling were doing the wrong thing, we are trying to get the 6500 tax credit, but need to close by sept. 30th. and our finance lady is telling us there's no way they will get done in time... we have been dealing with clayton for 10 months now...
    what to do???

    0 Votes
  • Da
    dawnlynnp35 Jul 23, 2010

    anyone have stories with vanderbilt mortgage, that's who there trying to put us with??

    0 Votes
  • Bi
    Birgit Burnsed Jul 18, 2019

    @dawnlynnp35 We did don't do it they trying to push all there customers into Vanderbilt even when they have their own financing. Vanderbilt and Clayton's are related companies and under Federal investigation

    0 Votes
  • Oh
    ohsheila27 Aug 31, 2010

    I bought my place in July 09. The interest rate is ridicolous with Vanderbilt. We have also had so many problems. The well has sulfer in the water. They didn't dig it as deep as they said originally. They didn't "clear" our land. The company they used pushed it all down into the back of our property. The ground around our septic caved. Now I find out that the HVAC unit is undersized and so is the duct work. The landscaping was cheap. The house is put together cheap. All the trim around the doors and on the corner of the walls has at one time falling off and had to be nailed back up. All and all I would not recommend you use Clayton Homes. I also feel like they grossly overcharged us for all this stuff and they refuse to show us receipts where they paid for it to justify the cost. All they say is WE have an agreemnet with THEM, not the contractors. CLAYTON HOMES SUCKS!

    1 Votes
  • Bi
    Birgit Burnsed Jul 18, 2019

    @ohsheila27 We are in the same situation, file a complain with your state consumer protection. We are in process to file a lawsuit against them.

    0 Votes
  • Oh
    ohsheila27 Aug 31, 2010

    I want to find out if anyone is suing Clayton Homes or has ever sued them cause that is where I am at now.

    4 Votes
  • Bi
    Birgit Burnsed Jul 21, 2019

    @ohsheila27 We are

    0 Votes
  • Br
    Brian Clark Jan 13, 2011

    Everyone PLEASE LISTEN. We should all file a Class action Lawsuit against Clayton Homes. We where first time home buyers, and had to move from our current location. We looked at a lot model that was a close out 25 anniversary addition Rutledge home, and they sold us that one on the lot, put the sold sign in the window and we put a $500.00 deposit on it. We had the land already cleared and ready, and was waiting for them to call us to sign the paper work, after serveral weeks had went by, we called them. They said that they had a problem and couldn't sell us that home, but lucky for us they would give us the "exact" same home in a 2007 model. It was nothing like the home we purchased when they brought it up and set it on our lot, excited home buyer that we were we had no choice to move in, but we called them and said this home is not what we purchased, they did nothing but ignore us, and never did we sign any acceptance paperwork. We had all kinds of issue, even the light fixtures in the bathroom rusted, the sinks coating was so thin the fiberglass was showing, the molding was cheap, strips on the wall. They basically sold us the floor plan, with all the cheapest possible options.

    PLEASE everyone contact us, if you was done the same way. There would be strenght in numbers in a law suit, and I beleive we all could win our cases are to similar. It shows a pattern of how they scam a new home buyer.

    Brian and Jackie Clark 1-276-930-5082

    1 Votes
  • Fa
    farm girl59 Jul 06, 2011

    I live in Union S.C. and have been dealing with Clayton Homes of spartanburg. l have been told one lie after another . the sales lady tells me one thing and 10 mins. later the manager calls and tells me something else. l placed the order for my home and paid my down payment with the understanding that my home would be ready in five to six weeks. After six weeks with no word from the dealer l called to see how much longer it would be. The manager called me back and said that l would need to come in to order the home first. l told him that l had already ordered and signed off on the home with him. l was told he did not remember that and he would check into that and get back with me. l called the sales lady and she told me that he would not order the home because l would not give them the deed to my land.l had agreed to do one acre of land in lue as they call it. l told the sales lady that it was my understanding that that one acre would be deeded to them at the closing and that l had already had the land surveyed and that piece of property seperated from the rest of my land. l then get a call from Vanderbuilt telling me that they had wanted all of the land. l never agreed to that and l never will. the agrement was one acre not 15 l would never be that stupid. l am now being told unless l sign over my land they can not move forward and that they will not return the ten thousand dollars that l paid bucause l am the one who is not upholding the agreement. l have faxed the original paper work to vanderbuilt and to the sales lot that shows that it was only one acre not 15 and now they wont even return my calls. l dont know what anyone else plans to do but l for one am going to sue!!!

    -1 Votes
  • Cl
    Claiborne Feb 13, 2012

    File a complaint with the Better Business Bureau. I had to do the same thing bc of there deceitfullness and lies. After the complaint was filed...that got the wheels turning. They put up resistance and caused me a lot of headache. But, in the end got what I wanted. They do not like a complaint hangimng over there heads at the sales center.
    They tried everything in the world to get me to drop the complaint. I didn't. then at closing they had me to drop the complaint or said they would not sell the home to me. Said vanderbilt was the one that said that. Which was a lie. I called them and they said No. They sent no such paper. I ended up signing, not really wanting to. I knew that I would encounter the same headaches at the other Clayton Homecenters.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Johnsonamber27 Dec 05, 2015

    We have been dealing with Clayton and Vanderbilt for a few months now. We were told that we were approved, all we had to pay down was a $1000.00. We were told that we should be in our home by December 6th of 2015... Well that's tomorrow and we're not. We have already moved out of our previous home and tore it apart, selling things and getting rid of what we don't need and now Vanderbilt is saying that they need $5000 more dollars before we can proceed. We don't have that and cannot pay it so here we are homeless for the time being. And it's christmas.

    3 Votes
  • Ve
    Verna B Dixon Sep 14, 2018

    This is September 2018 and I just purchased a new home from Clayton Homes and I can tell you of the disappointment. I have made an appointment with a lawyer Monday to discuss what my options are. I am in the home I chose in a 55 or older community. Lots of issues, bad flooring. I have been in the home for two months and I have not been able to use the oven. Today I had two men come out and look at the home to see what my issues are. He said he would turn in a report to CH on Tuesday of next week and they would have to contact me. I am ready to sue both them and our community as they misled me to believe this was a good, well built home. Anything for the almighty dollar. V Dixon, Orlando, FL

    0 Votes
  • Cl
    C Lords Angels Jan 06, 2019

    @Verna B Dixon Have you talked to an attorney? If so would he/she be interested in a class action? I live in South Carolina, the 2018 home I bought has leaked since before it was delivered to my land. Since I have confirmed leaks in all walls, all ceilings, and all windows and doors. Major floor damage and mold growing everywhere.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    In The News

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem