Citifinancial AutoCitifinancial auto breaks the law with reposessions

L

After losing my job, and then my husband walking out on me, things got a little behind. I continued to look for work, but nothing permanent came up except for temp jobs here and there.

I don't dispute that the car note was behind (588/mo), but I am upset about Citifinancial not adhering to things that they've told me they would/could do to help me.

Yesterday I was in the shower when I heard a loud banging somewhere in the house. I live in a duplex and figured it was someone for the people upstairs, and I continued to shower.

My bathroom is directly across from a short hallway leading to another small room at the back of my house, where there is a back door. I had come in from taking out trash (which turned into a messy situation) and jumped right into the shower, not taking any heed to the door that was left unlocked, or ajar.

Imagine my surprise when I suddenly hear a man's voice in the back room! I jerked open the curtain and he apologized, and turned around (I don't know if he went back outside but I continued to hear knocking). I got out of the shower, scared out of my mind, and put on my robe and went to the door.

It was Citi's repo guy. He'd been advised to come get the car because, according to the information that was faxed to him, "she has no job and no prospects, and is not looking for work, and cannot afford the car that she has). Sidenote: 588/month for a mazda is a bit steep; i found out later that at the time I purchased the vehicle, the dealership "padded" my income.

Anyway. Not a week earlier I'd spoken to the lady that I"ve been keeping up with since my husband walked out on me, and she told me that there was no repossession on my vehicle, bla bla bla...but this guy, who wore a badge on his hip (but was NOT a sheriff or marshal) said otherwise.

I called Citi and asked what I was supposed to owe.

The rude ***** that I got ahold of this time asked me, "so what is it that happened to make you get behind like this?" I asked, politely, if she had notes on my account, I didn't want to get back into it. She told me "if you aren't going to answer my question, I'm not going to help you." I told her that it wasn't that I didn't want to tell her, but some of it was rather painful and I didn't want to rehash it all again when I'd been in contact with the previous lady.

She told me, "well, SHE'S not going to give your car back to you, I am, and I don't like your attitude."
So I went back into the story of my husband leaving me and losing my job, etc etc.

They tell me an amount approximately 1000.00 higher than what I was advised when I spoke to the lady I'd been talking to, PLUS I'd have to pay 500.00 in repo fees.

My mind was swimming, but all I could think of was getting them the money. You need a car to get a job, and I don't live on a public transportation line.

This "woman" goes on to ask me, "well, if you don't have a job, how are you going to pay for this car?
Even if you paid it all right now, I wouldn't give your car back without you having a job."

I didn't know what to say because I didn't think it was any of her business how I got the money. I could be hooking on the corner (WHICH I AM NOT), but as long as they get their money, who cares?

I told her I was with several temp agencies and had a temp job lined up next week, and she laughed under her breath. Then she told me that she didn't care, I needed to prove to them I had stable employment, and I would need to fax Citi something showing, on company letterhead, that I had a job.

I called a lawyer after I calmed down from being violated and, I feared, robbed (who walks into a woman's house and stands there while she's naked?? COME ON), and they told me that there was nothing legal in how the repossession was handled.

Normally, I would have signed NOTHING, but I was so addled after what happened, I wasn't thinking clearly. The lawyer told me that that's what the guy was trying to do.

Can anyone tell me if it is legal to deny someone their vehicle for not having a job, even if they pay ALL the past due, repo fees, etc ?

lyn

Responses

  • Ti
    Tim Dec 15, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Yes, technically they can consider you to be in default if you have no job and no prospects. It all depends on what language is in the contract you signed. Take a look at this sample document that's on CitiFinancial's site:

    https://loans.citifinancialauto.com/images/pkg_page_5.gif

    Read the paragraph at the bottom of the page, titled DEFAULT, and note condition 4:

    "(4) the prospect of payment, performance or realization of collateral is significantly impared"

    Also, see condition 1. Miss a payment, you're in default--it's that simple. Now, I know that bad things happen to people, and I think lenders should be a lot more flexible and understanding in working out payment arrangements. But if you lost your job and can't afford a $588 monthly payment anymore, you should have considered selling the car and buying something more affordable.

    1 Votes
  • Th
    Theresa Copenhaver Jun 11, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    You have to be able to demonstate the ability to repay the loan. A lender wouldn't loan you money if you weren't employed and by reinstating the loan by redeeming they would require you to demonstate you could continue in the loan with timely payments.

    1 Votes
  • Ke
    kelly gallahar Aug 30, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I purchased furnirure from Ashley furniture store on 8/21/07with 0% intrest for 12 months. With $973 to be paid before 8/21/08. I admit I am a procrastinator but on 8/21/08 Iwent into the financial office to pay this balance . the gentleman informed me that i would have to pay this over the phone. ok . so i go out to my car call the company from my cell phone and make a payment over the phone, all is good. until one week later when the check has still not come through my account, so i call them back, explained all of this and they inform me that the check did not go through because it was a check from a credit card co. yes it was but i pay most of my bills that way especially any large payments, in order to earn points on it. At this point i have now accumulated $236 worth of intrest. and the only thing the people at CITIFINANCIAL can tell me is to contact thier legal department, in writing of course because the dont speak with customers over the phone. I will never do buisness with them again .

    0 Votes
  • Sk
    Sky Feb 01, 2009

    Someone very close to me in the state of Georgia has had a similar experience with Citifinancial. They are scumm bags ! She was late on her payments and they made arrangements with her to pay almost half of the monthly payment per month. However, into about the third month of the agreement they reposessed the car on the same date that the payment was to be made even though they accept payments over the phone. Needless to say when she found her car missing she did not make a payment that day. However, when she called they told her she needed to pay the $500.00 reposession fee as well as over $1000.00. That is not legal in my opinion since the car should not have been reposessed in the first place since they had an agreement. Also I believe that in the state of Georgia a ten day warning notice is to be sent prior to the repossession of a car. Of course Citfinancial would not bogg themselves down with such tedious activities as warning notices.

    -1 Votes
  • Th
    thisisbaloney Feb 05, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I just had my car repo'd by citifinancial. I was behind on payments, but have 3 yearss of payments into the car. The people who work for citifinancial have called me during the day when I'm at work. When I tell them I am in the middle of teaching a class, they insist I not hang up until I tell them how I'm going to pay for the car. The times this has happened I've had to beg to let me call them after I get off of work. Then when I do get off work, I can't get through. The line is either a busy signal when I call, or I get transfered and then disconnected. After my car was unexpectedly towed form the school where I teach, It took me four hours of constant calling to finally get ahold of a human voice! Then, only to hear the person on the other line tell me that the car is now handled by their collections dept. and there was nothing they could do. I told them I could pay the money due, and they simply said "sorry, you have to call collections!" The supervisor in collections told me that I would have to pay $19, 000 to get my car back. It isn't even worth that much! Anyone have any advise? I have until Feb 14 to pay off the car or they keep it. Can they really do this, even after I offered to pay the money due to them? Somebody please give me some direction! I'm a single mom with three kids - one in college. If you'd like, you can call me: 850-974-0740. I really need some good advise!

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Sam Feb 21, 2009

    I hade been dealing with CitiFinancial for over 1 yr. before my interest rate jumped from 7% to 8%, 9%10.15%. I had started calling them 1 yr before the market plumed and they sent me to a foreclosure seminar I attended they asked for all my info I e-mail, faxed, mailed out all necessary documents asap.

    I continuously called them for 9-10months left messages on the gentleman that was in charge of my loan modification. HE NEVER RETURNED MY PHONE CALLS...after continuously calling the customer service department complaining they re-assigned my loan to a new agent she after several phone calls returns my call 11 months later now. She says that she needs more info I faxed it to her... then she said I was approved my payment before my adjusted rate was $1409.86

    Jumped with the new loan modification to $1910.86 what a joke that loan mod... I did not agree then she lowered to $1810.50 told her if that was adding taxes and insurance she said not sure let me check. I will get back to you as soon as possible and lowered my down payment from $3600 to $2500 but I was not happy with the monthly amount three days later I received a notice on my door that I was foreclosed and I need to leave in 3 days!

    That's where my health issues started with my current blood pressure, marital problems and losing my home I have lived in for 8yrs. CitiFinancial is the biggest f... Joke their is they do not help the consumers but before that I had a great payment history. They only do what is in their favour.

    I am still living in the home and have hired an attorney please contact me if anyone had the similar situation and if you have an attorney. I will take them as far as I need to. How the government allows them to get away with this I am unsure?

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Majong323 Feb 23, 2009

    Citi flex line of credit is using a tactics to collect extra money from their customer. Their style??? sending billing statement late or not sending it at all so that customer will either pay 15.00 dollar over the phone or pay 29.00 dollars late fee I hope that they will face a mass lawsuit for doing this practices. The only option you have to pay them is either over phone or mail your check how come they don't have an option to let customer pay on the internet wow!!! A big company that doesn't give you to pay on the internet nice one!!

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    Barbara Black Feb 25, 2009

    I have attempted to call to negotiate a plan to protect my credit and avoid foreclosure. CitiFinancial is not in first position on the loan. I had obtain a buyer for a short sale and needed to negotiate a price that could satisfy the lender, I was unable to reach anyone to come to terms, to negotiate with the potential buyer and the deal was abandon.

    I am asking CitiFinancial to product the note that was originally signed. I am looking forward to your cooperation. Thank you.

    0 Votes
  • Un
    unhappy with citi Mar 09, 2009

    I opened an account January 9, 2008, for a 12-month, no interest fee. I called the beginning of January (Jan. 7 ) and talked to a customer representative and paid my balance in full. I was told I had NO interest on the account. On Feb. 27, I was called and told that I had a balance of $47, which quickly escalated to $247. After an hour on the phone, I was told I had been given a forgiveness on the account, that my balance was $0, and that my account would be closed at my request. On March 9, I was called again and told my balance was $47, which then escalated to $267. Both the customer representative and account manager (Yvette) told me that I had been told incorrectly by the previous 2 customer representatives and account mananger and that I must pay the remaining balance. When I explained that I had been told that I had a zero balance, the account manager then preceded to tell me that I was "having a dispute with myself." The account manager preceded to tell me I could call and talk to someone in the Dispute Department but would only give me a fax number. When I asked for a phone number to talk to a HUMAN of all things, I was told that they dont have a number and dont talk to customers. THIS BILL WAS PAID IN FULL BUT SUPPOSEDLY 2 CUSTOMER REPRESENTATIVES AND 1 ACCOUNT MANAGER HAVE TOLD ME INCORRECTLY AND IT'S MY FAULT. WILL NEVER DO BUSINESS WITH COMPANY AGAIN. No wonder they are having financial troubles. Who would want to do business with them.

    0 Votes
  • Br
    brian Mar 12, 2009

    i have a loan through citi and i will say they are hands down the worst company i have ever had to deal with, rude people and none of them have brains.i tell people EVERYDAY to stay away from them .i really hope all the workers at citit lose their jobs, and the company close's very soon.and then banks will start hiring people that really care about PEOPLE!!! i almost forgot STAY AWAY FROM citi THEY ARE EVIL !!!

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Mike Mar 16, 2009

    Now they are raising interest rates in the amount of 18-24%. The way the economy is now they are really taking advantage of the consumer. If anyone hears of any lawsuits please reply, I will be one of the first on the list.

    0 Votes
  • Tm
    tmyers Mar 21, 2009

    I have a car loan through citifinancial at this time and I too am behind on payments but it is because of them. They let me defer my payments for 3 months and during the 3 months I faxed them all kinds of paper work that they asked for in order to get my $567 payment on my Nissan lowered. When it came time to make a payment the amount was $733, I called them and had multiple complications getting through to them, I told them I can't do $733 they said it would just be temporary and I told them I can't do it, they said well if you don't we will just make arrangements to come get the car, I told them fine, you want me to bring it to you? Then they said well your account manager isn't in, I will have him call you tomorrow and you two can work out the details. Well he never called and I never could get a hold of him, then 3 days later my aunt called me and told me citifinancial auto did an automatic draft from her bank account in the amount of $733 and the bank let it go through. Now since then they won't send the money back and my aunt's bank is having to start proceedings against them and now I am a month behind on payments. They said that I had that bank account on my car account and that is not true, I used her bank account one time to make a check by phone payment and she was right there and they talked to her and she okayed it. These people are ###. Anyone who has replied to you in a negative manner has evidently never dealt with these idiots. I will never, never again use citifinancial auto for anything. I am preparing to file bankruptcy as we speak because there is no telling what kind of charges they will put on me after they repossess it.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Jacluv Apr 12, 2009

    I am fed up with Citifinancial. I had paid what I thought was the balance of a promotion, when I realized I owed $71.00 more I called the company and was toold to submit the remainder of the payment. The payment was recieved a day later. I was charged the enite finance fee. I wrote better business, to report the comapny. The comapny response was they hasd no record of the call and becuase the payment was recieved after the due date, the finance charges stands. I have paid off the past promotional charges when they were due. But Citifinancial is charging me the enitre finance fee which was a little over $800.00. NOt onoly that they raised my interest rate and now is charging me interest on the interest rate----a seperate charge. I can't wait to pay this off. This company needs to be closed down.

    0 Votes
  • La
    ladybugs Apr 17, 2009

    I too have had an awful time with citifinacial. They have called me for months now. I havne't had a job in over a year and I explained all of that to them. I told them to come get my car, I offered to bring it to them... however they keep telling me that they don't repo cars they just send my info to the legal dept. I just got off the phone with one of them... I couldn't understand her name... and she got real nasty with me. I told her if they dont want my car fine I'll sell it to the junk yard I really don't care anymore. But there is NO WAY that I can afford my payments. I have 3 kids and no job... I am barely making it now... the car is my last worry. Bring on the legal dept... because I don't give a $h**!!!

    0 Votes
  • On
    onemorelostcustomer May 12, 2009

    My husband purchased a used car in 2003. With a bankruptcy in our past, the only financing we were able to get was through citifinacial at an intrest rate of 19.99%. When we agreed it was explained to us that if we paid on time for a year we could get the loan refinanced at a lower rate since we whould have established credit with them. At the time that made perfect sense to me. After one year I contacted Citifinancial and was told they do not refinance loans. We continued to pay our payment on time each month for the next 6 years. We are now within two months of paying it off. My husband lost his job in 2006. Even though we were struggling financially we continued to pay every payment on time. My husband started working at a job in 2008 that paid less than half of what he was making before. We still continued to get those payments in on time. Last December he was laid off and didn't go back to work until April of this year. In March I could see that our payment was going to be late. For the first time in 6 years I was not going to make it on time. I called Citifinancial and spoke with a representative. She was very friendly and listened to my story. I told her when the payment would be made, I told her why it was going to be late, and I explained that we were going to do everything we could to bring it back current and pay it off on time. She assured me that she would make the notation on the account and that it would be no problem as long as we showed the effort to continue to pay the loan. When I got off the phone I felt like I did the right thing, and I felt I was treated with respect. The next month I was again going to be late with the payment. One day after the payment was due the phone began to ring. I answered the first time and the representative would not speak to me because the loan is in my husbands name. I told him that I had spoken with someone on this account before with no problem. I do understand that they have the policy of not speaking to someone that is not authorized on the account. I tried to tell him that the payment would be late, but it would be paid soon. He was rude, he was in my opinion very disrespectful to me. It seems odd to me that I had no problem talking to someone when the account was current, but after it became late they would not speak to me. After that day our phone has rung every hour from 8am until 10pm 7 days a week. I have answered it a few times and tried to explain that my husband does not talk on the phone. I called customer service again today and was told that they would not discuss anything with me. I spoke with a supervisor that insisted that my husband would have to call them. I again tried to tell them that my husband does not talk on a phone. All I was trying to do was to tell them when the payment would be there. Which by the way is only one payment that is two weeks late, and was on the way to them now. I wanted them to stop the phone calls. We have only two more payments on this 6 year loan. We have been a good customer for 6 years and have paid more than three times what the car was worth. Enough is enough. I will never deal with Citifinacial again and I hope to stop others from doing so also. I know that our Sears account also goes through Citibank. We have never defaulted on that account, but I will be closing that account. I will not continue to do business with a company that has no respect for a good customer.
    I know in these hard economic times that people will be struggling to get by. I hope if anyone sees this post that has a loan or a credit card through Citibank that they will transfer those accounts to another bank before they get behind. Citibank is the worst bank I've ever delt with. I will not deal with this company again.

    0 Votes
  • Lu
    lulu May 20, 2009

    MY HUSBAND GOT ME A TRUCK FOR MY BIRTHDAY 3 YEARS AGO BACK IN JANUARY HE HURT IS FOOT AND HAD TO HAVE SURGERY DONE ON IT SO WE GOT 2 MOUTH BEHIND ONTHE PAYMENTS TALK TO THEM ABOUT IT BECAUSE MY HUSBAND WAS OUT OF WORK BECAUSE OF HIS FOOT AND WOULD NOT GO BACK TO WORK TILL JUNE 1 THEY SAID THAT IF I WOULD COME UP WITH ONE PAYMENT THEY WOULD LOWER MY PAYMENT SO I DID THAT BUT THEY DIDNT DO WHAT THEY SAID THEY WOULD DO AND BACK IN MARCH I MADE A PAYMENT AND THEY SAID THEY WOULD DO A AMENDMENT AND CUT MY PAYMENT IN HALF BUT AFTER RECIVEING PAYMENT WE DID NOT QUILFY FOR IT .BUT THEY SAID THEY WOULD DO AGAIN IF WE MADE PAYMENT AT THE MOMONT THEY ARE DEMANDING FULL PAYMENT AFTER I OFFERED THEM A HALF PAYMENT. NOW I HAVE ON CHOICE .BECAUSE OF FINANCIAL PROBLEMS .TO LET THEM REPO IT AFTER HARASSING MYAND HUSBANDS FAMILY AND ALONG WITH CONTRACTS THAT DIFFER IN PERCENTAGE RATE IN WHICH WE FAXED ARE COPY TO THEM AND THEY REFUSED TO SEND US THERE COPY NOT ONCE BUT 3 TIMES AND OUT OF MANY HAND FULLS OF THERE REPS.ONLY ONE TRIED TO WORK WITH US BUT WAS SHOT DOWN BY A SUPERVISER

    0 Votes
  • Has anyone contacted their Attorney General??? I am trying to fight them as well, there verbal and written communication on payments are never the same. My car was take in October (3 years into making basically perfect payments). They will call you over and over, but don't have records of you calling. I left messages in which they state they do not have voicemail, I have phone records but they state they never talked to me. So, I was talking to someone each time. They give you the run around and no one has the same information. Now they are threatening to send me to collections on a letter they even admit they just sent out and that's why I haven't received it, they sold my car and supposely now own them $10, 000 which with that amount I think they back dated the loan and gave my car away for free. This company is ridiculous and I find thousands and thousands of complaints, but I think people should start writing their Attorney General as well as posting them to various websites.

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    MoD Jun 15, 2009

    In November 2008, citifinancial increased my APR without sending me a notice. A month later i received a notice for a new increase of my APR with the option to closed my account and pay the balance at my current rate. I had until January 30th 2009 to contact them. On January. On January 4th i contacted customer to let them know that i wanted to close my account and paid off my balance at my current rate. I was informed by customer service that the account has been closed since November 2008 without reason, and my APR have been increased twice during the same period. I was never late on my payment, so, i informed the agent that no payment will in this account starting January 16 2009 until the APR is adjusted. They ignored my warning and kept my APR the same. As a result i stopped making payment, and Citibank rushed to report that on my credit file. I dont think that was a good incentive for me to make payment. As long this record remain on record, and the APR to the roof, they will not make anymore pennie out my wallet.

    0 Votes
  • Ej
    E. Johnson Jun 16, 2009

    I purchase a Jeep through Citifinancial Auto 2 years ago. The initial payment of $733 was steep and we immediately got an amendment to lower it. Fine. Last year my wife lost her job and half our income. I asked this company to help us get another amendment to lower it a little more. What should they care; it's our only car; we are going to be paying it until it's finished anyway. I was told that I needed to make 3 consecutive payments then they would lower it for 6 months. Great! My insurance agent somehow let my insurance lapse and Citi was quick to send a piece of paper stating they had added their insurance to the monthly payment because of this. Huh? So now I have to pay the car payment, my insurance, and their insurance. A fight with my insurance people resulted in me leaving them. My wife is still looking for a job to supplement my income to manage the bills. Citi called and demanded payment at my job! The car is 3 months late, but I agreed to pay them $545 at the end of this month. Nope not good enough, they demanded 781.00 plus the $14.00 check over the phone fee. In the beginning did I not say my wife had lost her job??? These people don't give a crap about their customers and they make promises over the phone that aren't true. It's just talk. When this is over, whether by repo or refinancing, I'm NEVER GOING TO BUY A CAR THROUGH CITIFINANCIAL AGAIN!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    Balinthemout Jun 17, 2009

    I called them last month before my payment was due and asked for an amendment because my income was reduced due to the economy. No problem, did the faxes twice, did the over the phone evaluation and was told I qualified. Well, its a month later now and after being given the run around I'm now told they do not do the amendments if your late. Well, I wouldn't have been late had they not kept telling me to call back, fax the paper work again. My interest is 14.9 and I was also told I could reduce it after a few months of on the time payments. When the time came to take them up on their offer, I was told they don't refinance on their customers loans. Seriously, this is ridiculous! I'm not asking to get out of paying for the car, I'm just asking for a reasonable interest rate. I mean after all, didn't we Americans just foot the bill for bailing them out? Don't we deserve a break in our interest rates in return! Yes, I do believe we do!

    0 Votes
  • Ag
    Agword Jun 24, 2009

    Talking about rip off's?? HA I got you one better!! I've had my car loan with them for 4 years now, never been late on a payment until FEBRUARY!! I make my payments through my online banking, in February I made a payment of 420. I started getting late notices, so I called, they claimed I didn't make the payment, 2 weeks I made another payment, I thought was March payment, 3 weeks later that money was redeposited into my bank account, I called them the next day told them what had happend and needed to know why? I made the payment again, well needless to say that payment came back as well, for 3 months I have proof that my car payment was made and put back into my account? I've called, talked to customer support which blows big time, asked to speak to managers, faxed bank statements, and I still don't have it corrected yet? Got a call yesterday that they were going to repo my truck since I was behind, I told them that if they did they could expect legal recourse for it. Until I get to speak to a manager to find out what happend to my February payment and why my payments kept getting redeposited into my account they better not send anyone to set foot on my property for any reason. A rep from my bank has even tried to get things straightened out and they won't even talk to her. I have one year left on my car, and it's still in excellent shape with low miles!! I will NEVER finance anything with them again after this. Oh and yea by the way, when you set up your account to pay through your bank like I do, keep a check on the address that's on your statement, they change collection company's without notifiying you of it... we think this maybe one possible problem but I still can't get them to accept a payment, wheather it be by phone, online bank or mailing a check.

    0 Votes
  • He
    Helpmrbill Jun 28, 2009

    The same thing is happening to me. I belive they are coming for my car. they said they will work with me and have plans for the situation. Ive made a payment a week ago. it still hasnt showed on my online statement. since then theyve called for another partial, I said that amkes me current right, yes. But they have only took 0ne dollar and one cent out of my account? so far. I belive they are plaining to get what they can and come for the car, even though im current now. someone parked in my driveway the other afternoon. I went out couldnt find the person went back in and someone jumped back in their car and left. I think repo guy is checking it out but not to until they get what they can from me. qualityalarm[email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ms
    Ms. Libby Jul 06, 2009

    Well it seems they have a pattern with their customers! I too have fallen pray to their lies! I am a disabled single mother of 2 and I lost part of my income and asked back in April for a Hard Ship loan adjustment (this is to help lower the interest rate which lowers the payment). I was told that since I made March's payment and was current then I could apply for the hard ship and to fax them my income information, did that. Then after several phone calls to them, I was told no decision was made yet and that I MUST have a fax number for them to send me the documents to sign. I explained that I only have the local library to fax from and that they will not take incoming faxes, so if they would overnight me the papers I would fax them back that day and I would also send the originals overnight to them as well, all at my expense. Well May came around, still calling them and no decision made yet and finally a manager did tell me they needed more information, expense break down, so I gave her the information and even faxed everything to them again so my bases where covered. The manager also told me, during that call, that they wanted to defer 2 payments so my loan would still show current while they were making their decision. I waited a few days and called them again for their decision. Again they told me I MUST have a fax number and again I explained the whole fax thing and was told she would note it on the account so the documents would be sent overnight. Now several calls have been made to them and no one knows anything so I've left several voice mail messages left for supervisers who never call me back and I still do not have an answer. Well today though they called to ask for my payment for June, which I didn't pay yet and was a few days late so they would have to call me. After I explained the past few months to the man on the phone, I asked to speak to a manager. Now once the manager got on the phone I again went through the whole story: April - asked for a hard ship loan adjustment & faxed information; May - manager finally tells me they need expense information & that she deferred 2 months in payments; June - no one will tell me anything. Well the pot thickens when this manager processed to tell me that they denied my hard ship request because I asked for the 2mth deferment on payments, it canceled out my hard ship request; I can't do both. ARE THEY SERIOUS!!! First of all I Never asked them to defer the payments (they made that call), like my lost of income would be better in a few months, I asked for the hard ship loan because my income was lower and wasn't going to go back up! Secondly that would be really stupid of me to do that knowing it would cancel out my request for what I desperately needed!!! So after almost 2hrs of arguing with them on the phone I am told that if I make Junes payment and they will put in another request for me but that I probably wont get it and should really wait 6-7mths and try again! Now after 3mths of being lied to and they deferred my payments without my requesting it, I am screwed! I will NEVER do business with them again, NEVER recommend them again, and I will NEVER let this matter come to an end and will contact whoever I need to regarding their very poor business practises!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ga
    gary dean Jul 29, 2009

    I would seek legal advice because of what the repo guy did. They cannot barge into your home like that. They can come to your door if they want to talk to you and tell you what their there for. In most states, there is such a thing called "Breach of the Peace". Check with your State Attorney General's Office by looking up their website for information on repossesion laws.

    0 Votes
  • Ss
    SSaunders Aug 02, 2009

    I have been dealing with Citifinancial since Novemeber 2007. In October 2008 my hours got drastically reduced and by Janurary 2009 I was completely unemployed. I contacted Citifinancial immediately to inform them of my situation so I could make payment arrangements. The account manager I was assigned to was very unpleasant to say the least, nevertheless, she arranged a two month deferment. I felt in these hard economic time I would need more than two months to find employment, but I was told that two months was the longest deferment period Citinfinancial offered. Needless to say, it took me until April to find a permenant job and took till May to see my first pay check. As soon as I started getting paid I made two payments a month to get caught up. Citifinancial harrassed me relentlessly. It was so frustrating and irritating. Then to make matters worse, in June the state did not pass a budget and are not paying the state workers. We were provided with letters to give to our creditors to explain the situation. I faxed the letter to Citifinancial and requested another deferment. At first I was told I was not eligible because there has to be six months between deferments, which was less than two weeks away. After fussing with customer service they agreed to take an application for the deferment. A few days later I was contacted by them and was told I was denied the deferment because I needed to make six consecutive payments before being eligible again. I told them that I was not about to be harrassed by them when I am unable to make payments due to no fault of my own. It's bad enough to have to go to work every day and not get paid and have no idea when I am going to get paid because politicans want to grandstand. I'll be damned if I am going to be harrassed about some car when I don't even know how I am going to feed by kids. So on Monday when they call, I am going to put them on hold and call the governor's office on the three-way and let them explain when I am going to be able to pay. Citifinancial can kiss my a**!!!

    -1 Votes
  • Df
    D F Aug 09, 2009

    my car was repossed on yesterday. i am financed with citi financial. has anyone had a positive experience with getting your property back after repossession with this particular company?

    0 Votes
  • Su
    sudesh sharma Aug 11, 2009

    Dear sir,


    I have applied for personal loan in your call center thru your executive mr. vikas whose phone no. is 9971729199. I am your existing customer of citi financial having loan account no. 15067537. I have paid 15th EMI. But when I have applied for top up then your bank send the statement of civil checking that there is no loan existing in my name at your bank . will you please confirm me that if there is no loan is showing in your civil checking report then why you are taking any EMI from me why you are dragging money of every month from my account and if the EMI is showing in my account statement then how can your bank send this statement that I have not taken any loan from your bank.

    Will you please let me know your clarification they why you decline my file and can you discuss with your executive mr. vikas at the above said mobile no.

    First time he told me that in your civil checking report we have not received any information of loan existing in your name but we have sent mail to our senior and that exact status will be come by next day and when I asked him next day he told me that your file is declined. Can you believe on this . how disgusting this reply.

    Now I request you kindly contact me for further discussion at my mobile 9971725055


    Sudesh

    0 Votes
  • Br
    brivalsymens Aug 11, 2009

    Send all complaint to:

    Federal Trade Commission
    Bureau of Consumer Protection
    Office of Credit Practices
    Washington D.C. 20580
    &
    Board of Governors of Federal Reserve System
    Division of Consumer and Community Affairs
    20th & Constitution Ave, NW
    Washington D.C. 20551

    0 Votes
  • Go
    Gods_speed Sep 04, 2009

    I am a 26 year old lady who has a little 2001 honda accord that Citi Finacial financed for me along with a co-signer! I just recently lost my job and I have had to move from where I live because of bad situations! I am two month's behind on my (300) car payment! I have applied to so many places and still cannot get hired. I am about to lose my car! I don't know much about how the whole reposession process works but, if anyone has any information that will help me at all, please let me know! My car is the last thing I have to my name! I have been late on payments before but I have always come up with the money. This time, I don't have it! I need help, I don't know what to do!!!

    0 Votes
  • Go
    Gods_speed Sep 04, 2009

    I am a 26yr old student who got a little 2001 Honda Accord financed through Citi Finacial with my grandmother as a co-signer. I lost my job about six months ago and I just had to move because of bad situations in the home. I have applied every where for a job and have not recieved one! I am two months behind on my (300) car payment. They are about to reposses my car and I have no money to pay right now. I have been late before in the past but, I always came up with the money! I don't know much about their repossesion process but, if there is anything that I can do to keep my car, if anyone knows anything, please let me know! My car is all I have! I know that if I call them, they won't care, they just want the money!

    1 Votes
  • Bu
    bubbigirl1045 Sep 17, 2009

    CitiFinancial was bailed out with our tax dollars of more than $ 50 billion dollars, they should be damn lucky we bailed them out! Isn't it funny how we the tax payers bailed them out yet they will not help us out or bail us out when they have already received our money from the Fed Govt.

    This is so unfair to us, yes, more than 1/2 of americans are out of work due to the collopse of banks like them. It's unfair that they threaten us and treat us like crap. I would have called the police and pressed charges for unlawful entry into your home. If they want your car, take it; they have no right to enter your home without your notice. The lawyer had it wrong because he/she failed to see that this man just walked into your home unannounced, unwanted and unwelcomed. He had no right to do so just because he was there to repo your car.

    Isn't it funny how these banks got their money up front, and we have to wait to see a return on our investment if there is one??? An investement that shouldn't have taken place before the Federal Govt bailed out main street first. What are we supposed to do? It wasn't my fault nor your fault that greedy a** ***** stole from wallstreet looking out for themselves and forcing us to take care of them. When will we be taken care of? When will mainstreet be taken care of by our own govt?

    This pisses me off to no extent! How dare they take our money and then not help us! Who do they think they are? It's because of them, 1/2 of americans are out of work, can't find work and will end up homeless and have to file bankruptcy.

    This is so unfair and OBAMA needs to RECOGNIZE WE NEED A BAIL OUT TOO AND NOW! NOT LATER!

    1 Votes
  • St
    StoneMountainGeorgia Oct 02, 2009

    I called/faxed Citifinancial to do a voluntary repossionsion because they are refusing to give me a lower interest rate to lower my payments. My income is lower today and I cannot afford to make the payments.

    They keep telling me my file is being worked on by upper management. It has been two weeks already and I still have not heard from them. I keep calling and the keep saying the same thing. I just got off the phone with Chris asking him to transfer me to a manager or supervisor and he put me on hold and never came back to the phone.

    I want to give the car back, however, I am getting no information from them as to how they want to do this...I know they simply want the repo fee. Chris was very rude.

    I will not recommend Citifinancial to anyone.

    0 Votes
  • Cg
    CGT Oct 07, 2009

    I too am dealing with Citifinancial, they repossessed my car from an impound lot, it was there because I had no insurance which has never happened to me. I havn't worked since April and lost over half my income due to no more child support and my son is in college. I spoke to the gentleman at the lot and told him when I could get my car, at any rate he contacted Citifinancial and told them they were in jeopardy of losing their property. At that point Citifinancial had someone pick the vehicle up. I received a certified letter in the mail stating that they had my vehicle, and that it would be sold in 26 days of the notice, and that I had 30 days to retrieve my possessions from vehicle. I was surprised because in talking to the man at the impound lot he told me no problem . But dealing with Citifinancial has been a nightmare, I too have paid on time every month for 3 years, I even paid in advance at one point for three months. Citi told me they would extended the date so i could come up with the money to get my car back, after being told no they wouldn't. So I had until the 6th of Oct. I paid on the 5th, then put insurance on vehicle and faxed them the paperwork they needed, they in turn faxed me a reinstatement letter, which they told me the following day that i needed to fax back to them . And that was only after calling the Auction where they sent my car to find out that they had not received a release letter from Citi, so i had to once again lose a half a day waiting for someone at Citi to answer the phone. I was also told by the Auction that I had to pay them a bunch of fees, and I wanted to know why? I wasn't the one that tried to sell the vehicle. And noone had told me there would be other fees besides the ones I had to pay Citi for the impound fees, and transport. And talking to a supervisor at Cit she argued the point with me that I was told, and I know that I wasn't.
    The representative told me its standard procedure, well i have never had a car repossessed, so how am i to know that. Now the supervisor said the hold for my car is up and if i can't tell her when i am going to Conn. to pick it up then it would still be sold. I am in Mass. I am not vehind any longer and do not owe any money but yet the threat is still there. I was told before it got repossessed that it ws't in jeopardy of being repo'd. They sent me a letter saying they could help me get caught up and when i called they couldn't help me or wouldn't help me. They are rude and ignorant, and think they can speak to you in any manner. I have given them over 1500.00 dollars and now they want me to pay the Auction. I was told by my brother to let them keep it. I wish I had listened. The car is a piece of crap it's a 99 Toyota, Camry, but I got ripped when I bought the vehicle.
    CGT, MA.

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    Balinthemout Oct 08, 2009

    "Imagine my surprise when I suddenly hear a man's voice in the back room! I jerked open the curtain and he apologized, and turned around (I don't know if he went back outside but I continued to hear knocking). I got out of the shower, scared out of my mind, and put on my robe and went to the door."

    WTH! That is breaking and entering! I don't care if its the owner/s of Citifinancial, they don't have the right to walk in your house, let alone in your bathroom! Did you call the police or an attorney?
    --------
    An update for me: after lots of calls, paperwork, etc., I finally got my payment reduced a couple of hundred dollars. My income had dropped but not my job. I believe they will help if you still have a job. Also, they have a program that will help you if your car breaks. They pay a portion of it and it has to be at least $1000 in work needed on your vehicle.

    2 Votes
  • Do
    DougS Nov 16, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I tell anyone who asks about Citi Auto, Home, whatever, to RUN LIKE HELL!!
    BOYCOTT CITI-EVERYTHING!! AVOID THEM LIKE THE PLAGUE!!
    REFUSE TO DO BUSINESS WITH ANY COMPANY OR ORGANIZATION WHO USES CITI!!

    0 Votes
  • Po
    poor people Nov 18, 2009

    If you people would pay your bills you would have no problems. Citifinancial took your word that you would pay for the vehicle and you are not. Why should they care if you lost your job, I wouldn't - I would just want my money you owe me. You should have thought about losing your job before you made the purchase. You deadbeats should have taken the insurance at time of sale that says they will make your payments in the event you lose your job or get layed off. Don't blame the bank for your terrible financing. Only spend what you can afford idiots.

    0 Votes
  • Ia
    iampissed1 Dec 02, 2009

    Um, it probably takes so long for them to get a fax, and follow through with customer calls and complaints because when you CALL them, you are speaking to someone in the Phillipines... damn shame they outsourcing everything

    1 Votes
  • Gr
    grl1972 Jan 06, 2010

    Okay, here goes, two years ago my girl friend and I bought a car financed through citi, the payments were 472, per month, after about fourteen months, the economy did what we all know it did, I had to take a cut in hours of about thirty percent, came out to about two hundred per week loss, at the same time my daughter and son-in-law were going through the same ordeal, loss of income.They were in thier early twenties with an infant child.My girlfriend and I had no choice but to help our children, maintain a roof over their heads, they wound up filing bankruptcy, I contacted citi, told them there was no way we could continue paying the car payment, after many harassing phone calls, I told them if they could drop the payment to two hundred and fifty dollars for one year, then resume the original payment until the debt was paid we would be able to work through it, they informed me there was no way!I told them where the car was and asked them if they would please pick it up or I could deliver it to them, after three months of harassing calls, they finally picked up the car, at that time we owed 18000 on the car and the book value was about 16000, within two months I recieved a call saying I needed to send them a certified check for 9000 dollars, I laughed at the man and asked if he thought I had 9000 dollars under the bed, did he really think I'd have let the car go back, I was just served today for a lawsuit in the amount of 13000 dollars, so here we go!!!

    2 Votes
  • AuntieM Jan 13, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    They suggested I get the amendment first and if I still needed a reduction in my payments to call them back and get the payment adjustment where they add years on to the payment making it more affordable. Now they tell me that I have to make 6 months of regular payments before they do the loan adjustment. And I didn't talk to just one rep about applying for the amendment versus the payment adjustment, I spoke with more than a handful their at Citifinancial and they all said the same thing to me about doing the amendment first. I've been paying 15% for over 2 years on my car, have only made 3 payments thus far for the new amendment payment and it's like no one their recalls what they said to me about doing the loan adjustment. No wonder why Citi is going down the toliet. Most of us here could keep our cars if they worked with us giving us a more affordable interest rate, but seems they have other agendas? Maybe the repo business is a better business for Citifinancial? Simply amazes me how they can do this to people. Just plain lies and its not just one their, its like they are ALL trained to do the same and say the same.

    1 Votes
  • AuntieM Jan 13, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Ooops sorry for the type O's.

    I wanted to add, that before anyone ask for an amendment; unless you are secure with your income increasing or your situation getting better after 6 months of reduced payments, its a really a good idea to consider the loan adjustment instead of the amendment.
    Yes, your car will cost more in the long run, but won't it anyways? My car cost $25, 000 2 years ago, I owe a little over $23, 000 on it now (yeah, I need a mathematician to figure out why I still owe so much) and KBB says its now worth less than $12, 000.

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    In The News

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem