CitifinancialOnline & pay by phone method

J
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

I do majority of my banking and bill payments with on-line banking. It is easier, paperless, and convenient with some one who has a busier than most lifestyle. I could not believe it when I went to make my first payment on my Citibank Auto Loan, that there was an ADDITIONAL $14.95 in order to make this payment. Of course I refused to pay it that way. With the economy as it is who can possibly just throw away $15.00? Even worse, and to my surprise, I attempted to pay-by-phone and low & behold the same amount would be assessed $14.95. When I called to inquire about this my service and attnedant was rude. There was NO escape. I have never ever banked with anyone or company that did not provide FREE (Convenient) on-line service or by phone. As for a company as big as Citibank, I jsut cannot believe that they do not provide this service to their customers. This really needs to be looked at as I am sure that there are many more people than just MYSELF, who would much rather pay on-line or by phone without having to give up GAS money, GROCERY money, the hastle and the inconvenience. For this to be my first payment & experience it doesn't leave me with a good feeling about this company.

Responses

  • Jk
    jkyle Dec 08, 2010

    I never paid a charge over the phone to Citi auto. I never used speedy either. I talked to a rep. I found everything went to hell when santandar took over. I paid the car off so I wouldn't have to deal with them. Still waiting on my title it's been 8 weeks now. I called they said it takes 4 weeks . I told the guy it had been alot longer than that he got rude.

    0 Votes
  • Mf
    M. Franklin Jul 29, 2010

    I AGREE - esp. with Beatrice's comment above - without OUR bailout - where would they be? Yet, even though I am UNEMPLOYED - I have made all my payments...and they still give me trouble! I've sent them 3 letters and called and spoken to them many times on the phone (hours of my time lost!) and they can't even show a record of the first two letters!

    Any info on how to file action complaints against them (via TX news stations - like those "shame on you reports" or other investigative series - and SC stations - they have call centers there too). I'll go to the TX Attorney General's website - and let's all look into the Better Biz Bureau (BBB) of TX - I'm going to report them there too.

    These kinds of unfair business practices, and what's with the mix up listed in the earlier comment where they went to repossess the person's car - and THEY WERE NOT EVEN behind on payments?

    THIS IS EXTORTION - and should be stopped!

    Just from my personal experience - they lost my correspondence that I sent to them (3 letters), and all of the departments' unwillingness to EVEN listen or document the file correctly OR try to help the individual loan client - should be addressed and info on their bad business practices (yes- I think we could even find examples that are worthy of a class action lawsuit - are you listening Texas lawyers?) SHOULD BE BROUGHT TO LIGHT and EXPOSED!!!

    0 Votes
  • Be
    beatrice mclaughlin Jul 17, 2010

    I fully agree these people are the rudest!!! they try to degrade, humiliate, and insult me every time I try to reach out to them!!! I will try to pay off this debt and will NEVER EVER finance with CITI FINANCIAL AUTO again!!!It would serve them well to remember without our business and our countrys BAILOUTS they would be out of business!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ao
    A Oregon Jan 25, 2010

    Wow! I just found this web site by pure accident. I was actually late on my car payment (by only a week) and I was trying to go online and make a payment with them.. thinking it would post to my account faster than going through my bank! What a joke! I logged in with my account number etc.. the web page came back with an error. I called the customer service dept. I had to call 3 times - to try to get across that I only needed help with their online payment program. The customer service reps speak very very broken english. It was very hard to understand them. The 3rd person I spoke to told me that if your account is just "one day".. passed due you CAN NOT log onto your account. I asked her as a consumer how that is sapposed to help me in getting money to them? .lol! I hate this company. If you are just a couple days late - like who isn't having hardships right now! They call you everyday.. at least 3-4 times and on Sunday. I have even received a call as late as 9:30 p.m. from them. From the sounds of this comment page - I am glad to see that I am not the only one that is Company is far from professional. It is truly unbelievable that there is actually companies out there that are this bad!

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    mica2009 Oct 17, 2009

    Lets all file a class action suit against CitiFinancial Auto...

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    Kenneth W. Golway Sep 18, 2009

    Citi Financial SUCKS!!!I have had a car loan for three years.It started out with E-loan and was sold to Citi Financial.I have been on AUTO pay since the loan started.No problems until the last payment.I started getting notices that the payment was late, so I am thinking, how can it be late when it is on auto pay?Either the Bank screwed up or Citi screwed up, Right?I figured that it was a glitch in the process.After another notice and a collection message on my answering machine I called to see what was going on.I was informed that Citi does not accept final payments which they term pay offs on auto pay and that I must send in a money order or a Western Union Money Gram, Western Union Quick collect or a money order.Think there is a connection between Citi and Western Union? I was never informed that the final payment had to be paid this way.How are you to know this if you are never told?The person that I talked to (Jennifer) was also rather rude telling me that they had been trying to contact me by phone and had sent letters to me.The letters were only telling me the payment was late and not about how the payment had to be made.The only phone message was one that I got today (9/18/09)that only said to call Citi Financial and nothing about why.The call was more then likely from their collection service which is more than likely in India or Pakistan (as it was some one with a thick accent) to save them money. I will send them their final payment and a letter about my displeasure.I will also tell every one that I know NOT to deal with Citi Financial or Citi Bank!!!Kenneth W. Golway

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Donna Heavey Sep 16, 2009

    Oh, let me tell you how angry I am. I had an issue that need to be dealt with immediately. First I tried going on line in the AM and the website was down. I had to go to work so, I flew home and called and sat on hold for 4 hours. As the recording kept coming on every 5 minutes to apologize for the wait, but with the high volume of calls the wait could be in excess of 30 minutes. OK, so 4 hours later and a temper that is above reason. Mind you I have high blood pressure and am on 2 meds for that, I finally got someone on the phone, she asked me if I could hold. When she finally came back, she gave me another number to call but, that office had closed for the day. I find it unbelievable that the CEO of Citi Financial Auto lives the life of Reilly and they don't have enough staff to handle the high volume of calls coming in. I am very, very unhappy with the service that I get from Citi Financial Auto. I was just rediculous and by the time I got off the phone I was in tears from the all day stress. Not to mention the waste of 4 hours. Citi Financial Auto should be ashamed of themselves.

    0 Votes
  • Co
    coe Sep 02, 2009

    I have always paid the $14.95 fee as well by phone and I can't log in to the website either. Tells me error logging in add leading zeros before account number well I tried this and no success. Always needed to pay by phone or online so it would post faster but may have to go back to licking the now 44 cents stamp and save some gas money, grocery money, or simply skating money for my seven year old to enjoy. They need to realize that you catch more flies with honey and there is no need to be so rude. We are attempting to pay under stressed financial conditions and their attitude and actions may be the deciding factor for some of us for our willingness to attempt to pay or just say ...you can have the car and the loan. Half the time you call you their system tells me it doesn't recognize my information. We saved the banks and now the cash for clunkers has save UAW and given those people their jobs back while all the while we who are trying our credit gets worse and worse. I know people who lost their homes due to adjustable rate mortgages and I think the american people need a bail out as well. Do you think they would give us a clean credit history so we could start over? NO! It seems as if our complaints and opinions go unheard as well.

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    Frank Diaz Jr Aug 11, 2009

    I tried to regisiter for on line payment and was sent by 3 different people to a sight that did not work. I basically received no help at all and was never able to regisiter.

    0 Votes
  • Lu
    lucmel12 Jul 23, 2009

    Citifinancial Auto is absolutely horrible. They have the worse customer service out of any company I have ever dealt with. They took out my payment from my banking acct twice when they were not suppose to, then tried to make it seem as if it was my fault. I was transferred from department to department. After many hours I was finally connected with a supervisor. I was left with no money in my bank account for 3 days. The overdraft fees kept accumulating. They said they could not refund it unless I sent them a bank statement. The payment they took from me was an electronic check. Anybody who works with electronic checks know they are not like personal checks. Citi could see that my payment had posted, even though it was not due, and would not refund it. I have seriously contemplated not paying them anymore and let my credit go because I am so frustrated with them. They all say "I am so sorry" and sound so scripted. Their actions did not indicate any concern for my situation. If the tables were turned I am sure they would have demanded "their" money. I owe 18, 000 on my car. If they were smart they would refund me the 465.00 they took out and save their reputation along with the 18, 000 that I am considered defaulting on. I WILL NEVER GET A LOAN FROM THEM AGAIN!

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    Ken May 20, 2009

    I agree that they are a very rude and unorganized company. I have call three times in one day to get three different answers. Luck up with a very nice young lady the third time who told me nicely but bluntly what I needed to do and that the $15 charge was given. They we let you make one payment by phone for free over the entire length of your loan. Not to mention being late, they call my phone at least 10 time per day every day including Sundays even after making payment arrangement. I have been having just as hard of time as others in this economy and have managed to say with the 30 day period that prevents them from putting it on your credit report and they still call. It takes an act of congress to get your payment date changed. I have two year reminding and they will never get any of my money again.


    Okay this am, I'm excited to finally be able to make my payment current only to find out that payment.citi.com is not available. The toll free 24 hours number to make payment that's printed on my current bill does not recognize my accont number or SSN. Customer services does not recognized either number as well, however, Speed Pay which I have used in the past recognized all my information and was able to give me my balance due. Aint that some BS, the contracted company is better able to keep up with my information than CITIFINANCIAL AUTO.

    0 Votes
  • will May 17, 2009

    i have had a total loss on my car 4 3 weeks now still getting calls and bill in mail can any one do ther ###ing job any more and stop beeing rude

    0 Votes
  • He
    heath May 09, 2009

    I agree with all of the above, I wish I could re-finance with another company so I did not have to deal with this company. By far, this is the worst lending institution that I have ever dealt with, and once I am rid of them, I will never deal with them again.

    0 Votes
  • Li
    lisa May 08, 2009

    i just tried to make a payment on www.payment.citi.com, and was no able to log on, tried 3 day in a row, i've been using this site for the last 4 months to make my paymentsw no fee, so i called they said the system is down and my only option was pay them there fee $15, has anyone been able to log on ? or did they cut off access to this free service

    0 Votes
  • Ad
    addison Apr 16, 2009

    Just a follow up for anyone trying the www.payment.citi.com. address. It pulls up nada...nothing. I called the customer service number and brought this to the attention of the rep. His reply was that it's a very old address that no longer exists. When I told him it was printed on my latest bill statement he hesitated and said he'll "make a note of it". So I was told my only options were to go to the regular site, when he assured me the service charge will be added, or I can go the standard postal way.
    What an inept company.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Michelle Dwyer-Lawrence Apr 03, 2009

    I agree with this, that is why for a long time I just mailed in my payments, how dare them, if you a making your payment, why not provide employees to process as part of their regular job without requiring consumers to fit the bill. It is just outrageous, for heaven sake we are given dem money not taking it away from dem. Do away with this $15 charge.

    0 Votes
  • Cl
    C.Loeb Feb 23, 2009

    I have been behind on Dec.2008 pmt. I paid Jan. and Feb.2009, received my bill 10 days later and they never deducted the 2 recent payments, the bill showed 3 pmts. due also, when you're behind in such a way as that, they don't bring your pmt. current and places it on your credit report as 90 days delinquent, even though you made 2 paments after that, I am aware of that 1 payment in Dec, but they
    are a very ungrateful company and don't care much for the people like myself and they have shown to be very disrespectful by phone, even 2 days after the pmt has been posted . Also, my car was categorized as a lemon under The Dept. Of Transportation 10 months after purchase and not a service dept available that I take it to has respect and fully honors "The Lemon Law" ; were talking about a
    2006 Chrysler Sebrin ok ! Citi Financial will not do anything about this issue and don't care ! they still want there pmt of $452.00, but they only act concern when they call to harrass me and say " what
    is the condition of the car "! the lemon law settled with
    a hundred thousand miles or by 2011, I was told at 35, 000 miles I need a tune up after parts had recently been replaced that combined with a tune up..and wanted to charge me 245.00, no I would not go further and make a foolish mistake like that. This
    car stays in the shop at least so far since May 2006 about 15 times, not to mention every time I get it back something else is wrong.. What in Gods name should I do, being up side down already in, due to credit issues ?
    Ms. L

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    jayne ceballos Feb 17, 2009

    I would think they would be happy that the payments are getting made ! Times are hard right now. Charging extra money just to pay them ??? Doesn't make sense. Yet, we all get screwed by not getting it in the mail on time... I like to pay on line myself, and I'm terrible about getting it put into the mail on time. Shame on me for that, but shame on them to charge us to make a payment to them !

    0 Votes
  • Ew
    ewyatt Feb 17, 2009

    I ran into this same issue with my monthly payments except the bill pay they have set up doesn't accept credit cards!! The fact that they are charging an extra $15 per payment with such limited options is ridiculous. I was referred to chargesmart.com to make payments there with my credit card. There was a $7 fee but it was much better than the $15 I was paying before, plus i get airmiles.

    0 Votes
  • Wa
    wayne ford Feb 10, 2009

    Citifinancial complainants-lets all contact the Texas Attorney General.
    Citi's corporate office is in Coppell Texas, Dallas county. Just bring up the Texas attorney Generals web site and let the complaints fly!!!

    0 Votes
  • Wa
    wayne ford Feb 10, 2009

    I agree all the way around with all the comments but any one who uses the free payment loophole that Sara found BEWARE if your account manager finds out you are making payments there your access to it will be cut off. Then if you are late on the payment all your online access will be cut off. Citifinancial is a poor excuse for a customer service company and you would think any bank that is taking MILLIONS of tax payers dollars in bail out money would be much nicer to the customers and not make paying your bill so hard. Wayne in Va.

    0 Votes
  • Su
    sufur Feb 09, 2009

    They are very rude. I spoke with someone on the phone and they ask if I wanted to give my car up. I'm not even behind.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Joan Feb 05, 2009

    I agree with you . They are the worst company I have ever dealt with. The customer service representatives are very rude and obnoxious.They sent someone to my house to repossess my car although my payments were not behind. I called a customer service rep to find out what was going on and she was sooo, rude! The problem I am having with Citi Auto is car insurance they included with my car payment and I have my own insurance, which they sent a letter telling me to send proof of coverage. I took care of it promptly. The rep told me my insurance had elapsed which was not true. I am still trying to solve this nightmare with these rude people. They call me everyday and every weekend!

    0 Votes
  • Ed
    ed Nov 12, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    contact customer service [protected] & they will set you up to have your payments taken out each month on your due date free of charge. The account has to be current or they will not talk to you.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Sara Nov 11, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I experienced the same issue and have payed that extra 15 for a very long time now, until I discovered a loop hole. www.payment.citi.com. you pay there with no extra fees!!! I hope this helps! Sara

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.