SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Canada Postparcel tracking

1
H Review updated:

So, you might think as I have thought that having a tracking number for a parcel would help you. Check out the screen shot attached. This parcel has now been to Richmond B.C. eight times. It is suppose to be going to London, Ontario. What does Canada Post say? I have a 50 / 50 chance of ever getting the parcel back. I can just watch forever the parcel going back and forth between Ontario and B.C. Why is this happening? The postal code was miss read by someone and entered in a V instead of a N. You would think that Canada Post would be able to recognize that a package had been acrooss the country eight times and you think that if they had a track number that could actually find a package.

parcel tracking

Responses

  • Ti
    tigerstella Sep 01, 2009

    I sent a package to Australia in June and it is now September and it still has not arrived. When I use my tracking nbr. all it says is "International Item has left Canada"! Not only do I have a tracking number - now I have a tracing number and neither one seems to be doing any good. It would not be so bad if they didn't charge and arm and a leg for the crappy service!!! They told me it would take 4-6 weeks to get there - well it took over a week to get it from Halifax to Vancouver!!! I am just so fed up with Canada Post - I will use a courier service from now on!!!

    3 Votes
  • Wi
    winnipeghairextensions Dec 18, 2009

    CANADA POST TRACKING IS TERRIBLE. I paid for Express Post INternational (3-5 business days). USPS passed on in 1 day, sat at customs for 1.5 days, now ‘in processing’ with canada post for 4! There have been no updates, etc. You would think if they are working with another carrier, and acting as their customer, that they would try to do a better job. I tried calling customer service, was on hold for about 45 mins, for the lady to pass the buck onto USPS. She didn’t and tried to avoid the fact that Canada Post tracking has not scanned since the 15th where it was, if in fact it had even left Vancouver, and today is the 19th. What a joke. Canada Post really needs to improve their service!

    1 Votes
  • To
    Tompo Apr 09, 2010

    I also paid for express post international (3-5 days).. what a load of crap!!! It has been in Ricmond B.C since the 1st of April and has been processed 3 times.. today is the 9th and guess what.. being processed in richmond still. even with the Easter Holiday that was the 2nd ~5th. This package has been there for 4 days.. sitting.. so total day to this date is...14 days for the cost of a(3-5 day) express cost.. CANADA POST SUCKS!!! Terrible service.. I will never use them again enless its to send THEM a payment Via EXPRESS POST!!!

    1 Votes
  • Ca
    catspjs Dec 10, 2010

    They should be able to find and stop this and fix it...but no one cares at Canada Post obviously. This is what gets me is the total apathy. Then they turn around and some how find a way to excuse the problem or put it onto the customer instead of apologizing and fixing it. I noticed that they don't fill out the slips properly basically down to laziness. I'm surprised people get any mail at all with the amount of sloppiness that goes on there.

    1 Votes
  • Mi
    micheal lawlor Dec 13, 2010

    canada postal tracking what a joke you can track your parcel as far as the counter you hand it over at.
    they would get lost in bed, they lost a parcel of mine i rang up 40 minets later still on hold what a joke canada post wake up and smell the rose, s you are way behind every one ellse in the postal service.

    1 Votes
  • Gr
    GregWG Dec 14, 2010

    I agree that Canada Post needs to improve on their tracking system. I order international items often and can never count on getting the item quickly and that's why I don't bother with the express international anymore...total waste of money. On a few occasions, the items made it to customs in Vancouver within 5 days only to receive the items at best 16 days later. What's going on there? Even if it takes a couple of days at customs, that doesn't excuse a 2 week delay thereafter. Then the workers have the nerve to go on strike for more pay! You have a better chance of receiving your mail quicker in a third world country.

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    Mark Clavelle Jul 07, 2017

    @GregWG The problem is administration, not the people who deliver. International items are purposely not tracked in Canada: no honour system of tracking except when Canada Post gets paid directly.

    0 Votes
  • Ph
    Phobos Feb 09, 2011

    Canada Post is selective in its response to complaints submitted via their website.

    1 Votes
  • Ph
    Phobos Feb 09, 2011

    Some Canada Post mail carriers simply don't care about the ramifications of stuffing your mail inside a flyer that already exists in your mailbox.

    1 Votes
  • Ja
    Jahanzaib Feb 24, 2011

    Canada post is a weird service. i thought developed countries might have fast delivery of parcels and their new tracking system is out of mind. Delivery time for international parcel is max 10 days business day. my parcel has passed 11 business days and tracking status says only item has has left canada =(

    0 Votes
  • Jl
    Jllo Mar 12, 2011

    I have 2 Xpresspost packages sitting in London On. Thats what happens everytime. I call in and its on hold for at least 30 min. Then they act like its no problem. It is a problem. A 3 day delivery item is on its 5th day and isnt moving. SO I am entitled to a refund but I have to wait for the item to be delivered first. Been thru this with about 80% of xpresspost sent in the last 3 months. First you have to wait for the box to move which can be weeks. Then if it gets delivered you call in to request refund. But they do not send the refund. You have to call in 3-4 times and hear that an "error must have been made" etc. Most likely you will have to start a formal complain with the ombudsman. Then you get your refund.
    The sad part is Canadapost is the only post. A country like Canada should have a working mail system. Getting refund on 80% of the packages seems like a cheap deal. But factor in the 3-4 phone calls and its costing about $100 a package in admin.

    1 Votes
  • Ap
    apomixis Apr 21, 2011

    I've worked for Canada Post for a couple of years, and I'm hoping to go do something else soon because I'm sick of delivering more flyers than actual mail. I also advise people to use other courier services if they want to "make sure it gets there". Of course no company is perfect, but parcels are the lifeblood of Fedex and UPS. They know how to deliver them, and they know how to track them, at least with a far greater success rate than Canada Post.

    As far as CP goes, you might say that they try to do everything but they're not the best at much of anything. What has really been keeping them alive this long is their monopoly on letter mail, and of course the volume of that has been decreasing over the years. So for a number of years they've been helping keep their revenues up by calling flyers "unaddressed admail" and burdening us (carriers and homeowners) with them. Thousands of them. Just about every day, week in and week out, month in and month out. It's sickening. CP charges companies 14 cents per flyer to deliver them, most of which stays in CP's pockets. I estimate that I've personally delivered about a million flyers in my 2 years of employment. That adds up to a lot of money for delivering garbage. It wastes everybody's time, and it's one of the reasons that they're not better at delivering parcels. They are more fixated on junk mail than on items people care about. The best part? I'm an RSMC (I work in the suburbs and deliver to superboxes, not homes), so I don't even have chiropractic coverage to help with the tendinitis I'm developing in my hands.

    CP sucks. I should know. I'm on the inside. For now. Peace.

    3 Votes
  • Pa
    Patmas Apr 21, 2011

    Hello Canada Post,

    I sent a parcel by premium post [speed post] paying double that of an ordinary parcel. I sent it from India, Kolkata on 03/23/2011. I find from tracking the parcel that it is lying for customs clearance since last 17 days from 04/04/2011. I would be most obliged if you kindly deliver this parcel before Easter as many days have passed.

    Thanking you for your kind assistance.
    Patsy,
    email [email protected]

    1 Votes
  • Ia
    iamdissatisfied Jun 06, 2011

    Canada Post is really a sad example of a functional business. First, I had a package that according to them they delivered and showed someone had even signed for it unfortunately the signature is not mine. I tried to get the package to no avail so I tried the Ombudsman that is a laugh they did not do anything they passed the buck back to the post office. It is like playing football. Passing the ball back and forth except with the post office and the Ombudsman there is no result at least in football someone scores.
    Now I had a packed that they tried to deliver, they stated I was not at home where I actually was, and that they left a notice card except there isn’t one. So I called the Post Office outlet they do not have the package back, so I called the main Post Office no answer voicemail claiming to many calls unable to answer they suggest I call back. After three hrs of trying I called the complaint office they stated that their computer is down I should call later maybe then they can help. I guess I will not be holding my breath. So now, this is my second package that has gone up in smoke. I would really like to know who is keeping all this packages that never make it to their rightful owners.

    1 Votes
  • Ba
    bargo Oct 17, 2011

    I work for Canada Post, they claim that the Customer is the most important person. They aren't. I can't tell you how many people pay for services they never receive, like tracking, signatures, etc. They recently had a customer with a 1.8 million dollar mailing (flyers). They claimed this was huge, but with all flyers it had a deadline to be out by, two days after the deadline it was still sitting in the plant undelivered. Its not the postal workers but management that should have to pay for these mistakes.

    1 Votes
  • Fr
    Frank Trepanier Jan 24, 2012

    Common I am currently trying to find a parcel I sent my daughter that has been checked into the Edmonton facility three times

    1 Votes
  • Bi
    Bill Charron Jul 26, 2012

    Canada Post what a laugh they hire some shady people and care nothing about mail being stolen. I sent a item well concealed in two lairs of cardboard to some one and the letter got there but the item was taken and the letter arrived open. The receiver of the letter went to the post office and they told him that it was sent loose and it invited someone to steal it. Who in hell are they hiring to handle deliver our mail. I am totally discussed with our mailing system. I wish they would return it to a government system and the crime for stealing mail would be serious time in the jail house. I have no more respect for Canada Post they can all go to Hell in a hand basket for all I care.

    1 Votes
  • Ne
    nesan Sep 06, 2012

    Canada post has Bad customer service . the behave so cheap and use dirty tricks to avoid to talk customers.
    parasol delivery up dates are wrong and false. no link or wrongly redirect link to complain to their managements.

    1 Votes
  • Gp
    gpaccess Dec 09, 2012

    A registered letter (tracking #: RW547891670CA) was sent to Canadian Consulate Sydney Australia on July 09 2012. Five months down the road, it is not delivered yet. The item contained important personal documents for immigration file (education, work credentials).
    Any whereabouts of the package and any compensation to sender for loss of contents, time and the misery it caused? Thanks.

    [email protected]

    1 Votes
  • Ed
    edifiel Dec 10, 2012

    I used Xpresspost to International. I was told that my item should be arrived within 4 to 7 days. By now, It is three weeks more passed. The receiver still has not received yet. It is very important document, but now, I feel so bad with Canada post. I won't do any business with Canada post again.

    1 Votes
  • Eh
    Ehren Jan 11, 2013

    One would think that when you pay to have a parcel delivered, and it isn't picked up, then it would be returned to you as a matter of course...part of the SERVICE! Well, it came, but they want to charge me again the entire postal fee to get it back. This is not a service fee or a mailing fee. This is EXTORTION. I used to deliver parcels for the post office, and never once asked for a return parcel payment. This is unethical, nasty, and a few other expletives. Has the Mafia taken over the Post Office? They can hang onto that parcel till f'ing hell freezes over. Worst of it is that there is no one I can find to complain to about it. Isn't that just like the Mafia?

    2 Votes
  • Ta
    Tati74 Jan 21, 2013

    My husband works for Canada Post, St.Michel branch in Montreal. In November, they restructured the company and totally screwed things up. All employees had to re-apply for new routes...my husband being near the bottom of the list, was not left with much choice. He, who had been a letter-carrier by foot before, now got the post to deliver parcels by truck and to bring the mail to the grey boxes for the postmen. His new hours are supposed to be from 8:45-4:45. Problem is that with the restructuring, they added more work to each postmen. Letter carriers on foot are working an average of 4 hours more per day than before. My husband, who is supposed to work till 4:45, has been working till 8:00 pm every day for over 2 months now. That is 12 hour days!!! He is stressed, exhausted and this morning broke down in tears. Do they not realize that over-working their employees just to save themselves money is going to cost them more in the end.Not only are they paying more in overtime right now, but many of these employees will suffer injuries, burn outs...etc No one can last working 12 hour days for so long! Not too mention the strain it puts on the family.
    I work full time too and we have kids. After work I have to pick up the baby from daycare and my son from afterschool program...by the time I get home it is 7:00pm! Kids are cranky and hungry...have to stress to get them supper, check my son`s homework, give them their baths...and bed time all by myself. So now I am physically and emotionally exhausted too! We only see my husband on weekends...This is really putting a strain on the family!
    This morning, my husband`s boss also threatened my husband, who is a very hard worker...to try to get h im to work even more! Canada Post you are ###ED UP!! excuse my language ...but this is totally unacceptable. Your abuse of your employees is disgusting!!!

    1 Votes
  • I have sent an Express parcel and somehow it has just disappeared off the face of the Earth! It was tracked from the post office that it was mailed from to the Edmonton processing facility and has disappeared from there. Forget about getting any help from any employee. They just tell you to call back in five business days. What the heck is the point of getting a tracking number...it does no good! I was mailing important immigration paperwork for my spouse to be sponsored to come to Canada. That package had sensitive information and documents that I had spent almost a year preparing. Many of the documents cannot be replaced. Where is the responsibility and accountability here? I have called Canada post seven times already and even went back to the postal outlet and NO HELP!!! I can't believe this is happening with the postal system in a developed country. Such a shame!!! Canada Post...thanks for ruiningg my life!!!

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    mahnazsalimi Jun 03, 2013

    CANADA POST express service to US is totally inefficient and slow. NEVER USE CANADA POST services.

    1 Votes
  • Sa
    Saint John N.B. Jun 18, 2013

    The whole Canadian Postal Service seems to be mismanaged. Sent a small packet to a customer in the U.S. from a postal outlet at a cost of $3.00 taxes in. Get this, 12 days later I get my customers order back asking for $5.15 MORE for postage. Now, I wouldn't have minded except I watched the girl slip it through the allowable postal slot for the allowable size. Package weighed 35 grams. I live 5 kilometers away from the main post office and it took them 12 days to return it to me for insufficient postage. SERIOUSLY? 12 days? I again take it back down to two different outlets, they recheck it, and $3.00 NOT $8.15! Called the 1-800 # and got very little in help from the customer rep (Don't waste your time here as they just take your dimensions etc. and tell you to "pop it back in the mail). I asked her to put a call into our main post office to see that it cleared and she flatly refused. When I asked her for a guarantee this packet wouldn't come back another 12 days later, she said she couldn't. So they offered me a refund. I paid in cash, they repay their customers in their useless stamps. Good thing plumbers don't refund you in ****. But then again, they'd be no worse than the INEPT Canada Post! So, I paid the $8.15 postage fee for fear my customer may have to wait ANOTHER 12 days only to have it returned to me again. Now I'm out $11.15 cents postage for a letter checked 3 times coming in at $3.00. Mismanaged and Unable to fathom even the simplest problems. Maybe it's time to be contracted out. It couldn't be any worse!

    1 Votes
  • Ph
    Phoenixx Jun 19, 2013

    Canada Post has not once, not twice, but 5 times stolen parcels that me or my fiance' order and they suddenly "disappear" in thin air. Just recently I ordered a 200$ TV through Future Shop, with expidited guaranteed delivery day shipping. It was being shipped from Mississauga, ON to Montreal, QC. The delivery date has now passed and the last thing on the tracking is being in transit still in ON and never reaching Montreal. Now I have to wait over 2-3 weeks for an investigation and to get any type of refund for my non delivered package. What's fun is it's gone and because Canada Post won't let me open an investigation I have to wait 8 days for Future Shop to put in an investigation request, cause they won't do it any earlier. Even for guaranteed delivery. Then another 0 days for the investigation, and another 10 days after that to get my refund. For all the inept companies I swear if I didn't have to go through Canada Post I'd tell them to shove it up their ###. Unfortunately Future Shop ONLY sends parcels over a certain weight through CP, it's ridiculous. I'm amazed they have no backlash with workers stealing packages like this. Before this I've had birthday money/checks stolen right out of the card and the person receiving it gets it nicely ripped and in a plastic bag with a "sorry it was damaged in the mail!" and the money gone. Once sure, but 4 times? Get real CP.

    1 Votes
  • Ph
    Phoenixx Jun 19, 2013

    "Then another 0 days for the investigation" Should be "Then another 10 days for the investigation" Mistyped

    1 Votes
  • Sa
    Saint John N.B. Jul 17, 2013

    As a bonus to my Saint John Comment above- I'VE NEVER RECEIVED A STAMP FROM THESE INEPT FOOLS. Government rip-off! They need privatized competition! Great job! Didn't seem to have a problem calling me while I was at work, but were always "away from desk" whenever I'd call them. You had my Name - Phone Number - Venture 1 Card # - Address etc. Hmmmmm. Maybe this wasn't enough info for the supervisors and manager I talked to. OR maybe the stamps just got LOST IN THE MAIL!!! IDIOTS!!!

    1 Votes
  • Cs
    csquared2 Aug 27, 2013

    As of today, it's now been 2 weeks since I trusted Canada Post xpresspost international with a very special package to arrive in London, UK . I was told it would take 4 business days! What does it mean when a package arrives in the city of it's destination (LONDON, UK) but that the package is "on hold"? It's been on hold now for 8 days somewhere in London! How does one try and find out where this package is?

    1 Votes
  • Mo
    mohammad hodaly Nov 19, 2014

    I sent a package to Jordan in Sep21, 2014 and it is now Nov19, 2014 and it still has not arrived. When I use my tracking nbr. all it says is "International Item has left Canada"! Not only do I have a tracking number - now I have a tracing number and neither one seems to be doing any good. It would not be so bad if they didn't charge and arm and a leg for the crappy service!!! They told me it take 6 days - well it took over a 2 months and I am just so fed up with Canada Post - I will use a courier service from now on!!!

    1 Votes
  • Ta
    Tania Bergen Dec 06, 2014

    I am very disappointed with the service provided. I have sent out 3 parcels. One big parcel was send to my daughter. & family in Winnipeg. Not only did the postal worker forget to insure her parcel as stated for $200.00 She placed it on another parcel going to Victoria.(Which was observed after the fact.) My daughters parcel that was going to Winnipeg, track # 0130397001006637.I was very relieved to know that I did pay for signature to be required by her. I paid for this service which states clearly on my receipt . It was written very clearly. I was glad that was not erased off the shipment. My daughter arrived home from work & investigated that this 10.240 kg parcel was sitting on the front door step of her home for 4 long hours. There was a note on the track # that she was following informing her that a signature option was not required. So this parcel was a huge & very special. I am very disappointed that the postal workers would make such a big mistake. I have paid extra insurance of $4.10 that an error was made by your employee for $200.00 insurance placed on another parcel:Tracking #0130397001006644.Also paid $1.50 for my daughters signature required on delivery as explained above.. What have I paid for? Thank God someone did not steal her parcel from the front door sitting on the porch in Winnipeg. Can you justify this problem. I am very disappointed with the service. I sent 10 parcels/ year & this last shipment cost me $89.00 for everything. I do not mind paying, but I do not feel confident in your service. Tania Bergen

    1 Votes
  • Bo
    Bonnie Waine May 05, 2015

    On February 26, 2015, I should have received my Scotiabank bank statement, my Sears account statement and my Capital One account statement. Canada Post still has not delivered these items to me. Where are they?

    1 Votes
  • Bo
    Bonnie Waine May 06, 2015

    On April 10, 2015, I should have received my CIBC World Markets account statement. I called CIBC to confirm this. This statement, along with the three other statements that I complained about not receiving, has not been delivered to me. All of these statements contain personal information about me so this situation bothers me. These documents have to be somewhere - but where?

    1 Votes
  • Mi
    Micccc May 19, 2015

    Is there any point to writing a complaint for a lost parcel?! Does anyone read these complaints? And if so, does anyone actually care? What I'm wondering is why should I have to declare
    what's inside the parcel I'm sending? Sounds like an invitation to steal the goods inside. Hmmm...let's see...an iPod in this one...cool!! I could use a new IPod!
    DONT TRUST YOUR PARCELS TO CANADA POST!!! They charge REDICULOUS rates for insurance, and there's NOTHING you can do when they decide to keep whatever it was you sent. So much for that birthday gift 😝

    1 Votes
  • Li
    Li Mo Jul 07, 2015

    I made an online order (international), the tracking # said that the parcel arrived at Hamilton June 29, 2015 @8:36 and the expected delivery is July 3, 2015. Now it's July 7, 2015, still up in the air, I could not find a phone number to call to check what is the problem. What king of service is it? What is the point to have a tracking number? I wonder - is anybody working in Canada Post? yes, when they demand more pays! The Canada Post Office close to my work, there was a guy working there, his wife had a store kind of thing selling some art items and had a fax machine - charged $30 for a fax sent from Hamilton to Toronto, it was cheaper to go there by bus/train. A year later, his wife also became a Canada Pose employee! and their son too! Is Canada Post a mamma papa shop? No wonder it has the most crap service!

    1 Votes
  • Nigel Shindler Jul 21, 2015

    On July, 03, 2015, I paid for a package to be delivered Registered Mail; a valid signature was not provided by the recipient.

    1 Votes
  • Li
    Liz Clark Jul 30, 2015

    Recommendation: Upon checking the online tracking system for a parcel, I discovered that CP had attempted delivery and that a pickup card was left. I checked my mailbox and there was no card. About two hours later I checked again and it was there indicating I could pick the parcel up the next day after 1300 hours. During all of this time I was home waiting for deliver of the parcel. I checked my email and found a notice saying that the parcel was being held at the post office. When I showed up at the post office they indicated that the parcel was still with the delivery person but that the delivery person doesn't even try to deliver the parcel to apartments (or condos in this case). My suggestion is a) change the online information from "attempting delivery" to accurately reflect the status and if there isn't going to be an attempt at delivery made at apartments, deliver the parcel to the post office so that I can pick it up there rather than having it cruise around uselessly all day in a truck. This lack of coordination has resulted in confusion, a wasted trip to the post office and a 1.5 day delay in delivery of the parcel. (It only took 1.5 days to get from the U.S. to here and has now been delayed an equivalent amount of time within the delivery city.) Seems like should be an easy fix to improve customer service.

    2 Votes
  • Ds
    DStirk Feb 23, 2016

    Canada Post tracking is a joke, and so is the organization. I've never been able to track international parcels with Canada Post. Sometimes tracking reports an item as delivered, when it has not been (well, not to me at least). And once I got a delivery notice slip for a package that had been returned to sender! If my signature is required the postie just sends it to my local post office rather than seeing if I'm home. Or doesn't bother with the signature part at all. Their tracking is fictional from what I can tell, and not worth paying extra for. Complaints are brushed off or ignored. In short there is no accountability.

    1 Votes
  • An
    Anita McNamara Mar 09, 2016

    I order items from the US on a regular basis and typically I pay for Priority service which is expensive. I am supposed to be able to track the items all the way to my local post office. 90% of the time the package arrives in Canada in two or three days, which is USPS holding up their end of the deal.
    Then...Canada post gets the package and you wait and wait some more and the package passes it's delivery standard and you see that the package has not been tracked for 6 days which is Canada post's responsibility.
    If you are unlucky enough for your package to end up in the "Black Hole of Mississauga", it is sure to languish there until some lazy CPC employee throws it in a bin of other abused parcels and it's lashed to the back of a team of Oxen for the long journey across the great plains. Beset by weather, frequent coffee breaks, and union regulations about how far the Oxen may travel in an 8 hour period, it arrives in the wild frontier town of Calgary and before it is swallowed up in the byzantine workings of the CPC warehouse, the weary Oxherd stops for a few beers and twenty minutes upstairs with a soiled dove, at the Molasses Saloon.
    A few days later your item is handed off to an express rider who swiftly mounts his Camel for the final leg of the journey to your local postal outlet.
    Later that week, you hurry down to your post office giddy as a school girl at the prospect of finally receiving your valuable property.
    The sturdy Postmistress conjures forth a battered, torn, cardboard box, rimmed with mold and smelling of urine. She places the wretched thing on the counter in front of you and says, "I'll need a signature for this."

    1 Votes
  • To
    Tony Ruggiero Apr 28, 2016

    Haven't seen the mailman in three days, what is happening to the delays of my mail delivery, and where is my mail that I am expecting to receive during the periods that the mailman doesn't work?

    1 Votes
  • Ei
    Eikels Aug 01, 2016

    Priority package shipped from Calgary to Shelburne did not arrive on expected date. As with many other similar complaints, the package was tracked to a Canada Post depot less than 60 km from the delivery location, where it is sitting awaiting pick up for delivery. The sender paid a high rate for guaranteed delivery and Canada Post standard for delivery is one day for the postal code area.

    Another epic fail by Canada Post to deliver what they promise.

    1 Votes

Post your comment