Bottom Line Booksunsolicited book!

J
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

Bottom Line Books keeps sending their annual book despite notes sent to the on the prior bill. These books are unsolicited and there is no apparent way to stop delivery. According to others in this predicament, if you fail to pay for this unsolicited book they threaten to mess up your credit report.

This is an out and out criminal scam on the part of this unscrupulous company and we don't seem to have any recourse except to pay.

Responses

  • Az
    azflower Oct 20, 2018

    i would appreciate knowing why these books were shipped tome as i did not order them.

    0 Votes
  • Su
    Susan Deese Nov 08, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Certainly there is much to complain about, but I must admit to a love - hate relationship with BOTTOMLINEINC.com and all of there affiliated marketing. Yes, they send junk mail and email. The more you order the more you get. But, I browse them anyway, in the reading room / while sitting on the "throne". Sooner or later an order gets placed, and- read the thing before you return the card to get your order started -somewhere there is most likely some fine print saying something to the effect of "you may receive future things to preview..." which means more things will arrive later that you must either pay for or return!
    They certainly don't want you to do the latter, so they send the later, unexpected book (for instance) along with an invoice "acknowledgement" perhaps with a ship date on it likely 2 weeks prior to your receiving it - leaving 2 weeks before your free preview ends... YIKES! But, you did not ask to see this book, or worse, you are not in town that week and it got left on your doorstep in the rain, or whatever - You DON'T WANT IT - but you need to return it on time... WHAT TO DO:
    1. Make some sort of copy of the bill, envelope for it, and any other pertinent info as backup for your records.
    2. Go to https://bottomlineinc.com/customer-care and then to the appropriate division (i.e., Bottom Line Books)
    3. Click where it says "Print Return Label" (or something similar). It may not look so much like a link, as the first part of a paragraph. It is a link to (as of this date 11-08-17) print their postage paid return label, through USPS. Print, copy, and mail!

    1 Votes
  • Su
    Susan Deese Nov 08, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Susan Deese (continued...) There will not be any return label with the unsolicited shipments, nor any clues for returning at their expense. I had to hunt it down after reading the complaints on the web and BBB.
    I even though of this before I found the link... since there were other junk mail from them in my reading room still, some of which contained a postage-paid envelope for sending in a "free preview" request (to a different PO box than is on payment envelopes): perhaps the envelope could be used to send them their book back, just change the address? Nah, might be illegal.
    But, why not use it anyway, if they continue to bombard you with previews after you say STOP!
    Stuff your prepaid envelope with whatever message you really want to get across to them, perhaps their own junk flyers by the pound? A request for money instead of future mailings? You personal letter to the CEO about their disregard for your request to be removed from their list? If you do enclose their preview order card though, be sure to obliterate any part of it that may be construed as a "Yes, I want to see it".

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Romaine Willliams Jun 29, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I've been receiving Bottom Line Newsletters for quite sometime, until I decided to stop the subscription, I wrote a letter, canceling my subscription, and I thought that was the end of it, until they continued to send me the newsletters, and I would write refused on the newsletter, and return it. Now they are calling me, but I blocked their number because it is nothing to talk about, and if this harassment continues, I will contact the Better Business Bureau.

    0 Votes
  • Re
    rebecca & david wortham Jun 03, 2016

    I saw an ad for a free book of things you can take to heal yourself, so, I ordered it. When I received it came in this big box, I thought nothing about it, thinking the book was probably with all these remedies. So, I opened the box inside were these three little paper back books, that was the free books, which is okay. But, this thick hard back huge book came with my free books that I never asked for nor knew was coming. But, now, they are expecting me to send this thing back, pay for it, or take punishment on my credit. I did not have an option in receiving this thing so why should I be held liable for it. I should be able to take out in my back yard and burn it if I want to !

    0 Votes
  • 27
    275407 Jun 03, 2016

    always looking for a free ride David and Rebecca Wortham are con artists who hide behine their Christianity.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Rottenbooks Mar 30, 2016

    I specifically told them not to send anymore books to my 90 year old mother.
    6 months later, a book arrives. I take it right down to the post office, with return to sender written all over it.
    Now, the bills arrive for $43.95

    I tried to call their customer service number [protected], it answers with a list of numbers then dials a number, followed by an error message.

    Talk about the run around

    BAD COMPANY TO DEAL WITH! They send you items you never order, Bill you, and then you can't reach them.

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    MontyBeFree Feb 12, 2014

    I may have ordered a book, hoping it would be free, but it wasn't. So I paid my bill. Well come to find out what I paid for was another subscription to the magazine. You can't pay for a book online, they don't have that capability, how convenient. I bet this collection agency is a subsidiary.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    pammieK Dec 19, 2012

    Do you know what Bottom Line Books is doing is against Federal Law, 39 USC 3009. Legally we can keep the book as a "gift". The best approach is to hit them with what the Federal Law says and send a letter to the State Consumer Protection Agency in the State of Iowa, and one to your own State CPA. Paying for the books and trying to deal with their persistent billing is non-sense. Appropriate action has to be taken to stop them. Never "refuse" the book, request they send you a "call tag" if they want their book back, and give them a time line to do so or you will be keeping it as a gift. My 2013 box states "Free Gift Inside"...guess what, it does not say what that free gift is and the only legal way for a company to mail any merchandise is as a FREE gift, so they are doing a play on the legalities, however they are doing so fraudulently. I was going to be nice, but after reading all this negative, I think I will just go right ahead and file legal action against them.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Josie Hoyle Mar 19, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I received A book i did not order and want to send it back .but do not think i should have to pay return postage. Thank You Josie Hoyle

    0 Votes
  • De
    DEANNE KOKAL Mar 19, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I never ordered these books . account no; [protected]. DROPPING IN THE MAIL
    TOMORROW 3/20/12

    please don't send another order of books or bill. IF YOU DO I WILL FILL OUT RIPOFF FORM AGAINST YOU.

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    Ray in Florida Mar 18, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My 90 year old mother was sent a notice from collections for non payment. The book was paid for and I have a copy of the cancelled check. Will have to go to Bottom Line Books and the collections agency to try to sort this mess out.

    These folks were sent a letter from my mother stating that it had been paid for but never even received a reply.

    I intend to have her name removed form the mailing list as she gets automatic mailing of these books without even requesting them.

    They ticked me off and that is a big mistake. If this is not resolved immediately the attorney general for my state will be contacted.

    0 Votes
  • Je
    jennysman Feb 16, 2012

    Sending books and invoices for items never ordered on requested

    0 Votes
  • Cl
    Clara B. Simbana Jan 14, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I used to buy books from Bottom Line Books, but now I am older and my eyesight is terrible and the last time I paid for a book, I told them to do not send me any more unsolicited books. Back in December 2010, I received a book Health Breakthroughs 2012 which I did not solicited and I went to the Post Office and send it back to them. Today, January 14, 2012 I received a bill for $42.95 when in fact I deliver it back to them and now I have to start sending letters to Bottom Line back and forth.
    This is not right. This company should stop doing this, when a customer say "NO" is "NO".

    0 Votes
  • Kw
    kwoods63 Mar 28, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    all you people must be crazy!!! i called customer service, [protected] they sent me a shipping label & took me off mailing list .
    i can't believe u all are having such a hard time . do your research !!!

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    Fred Goldstein Feb 25, 2011

    Bottom Line Books sent me a bill for $47.94 for a book called "Treasury of Health Secrets" that I NEVER ORDERED. Now I am disputing the invoice by following the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act.

    0 Votes
  • W9
    w9pnr Feb 16, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Books sent that were not ordered - even after an explicit letter to remove me from all mailing lists and data bases in their company. No response to letters of complaint. The books just keep on coming.

    0 Votes
  • St
    Stan67 Feb 05, 2011

    All- understand that they can NOT ruin your credit record. If they try to, you have a free $5, 000 coming to you when they cannot present your order for the book. They know that and they prey on the people who don't. If you did not order the book, you are NOT obligated to pay for it. You need only to make a REASONABLE effort to return the book to them and this is satisfied by requesting a pre-paid shipping label from them to return the book.

    They can NOT ruin your credit record if you did not order the book!

    0 Votes
  • St
    Stan67 Feb 05, 2011

    Do NOT/NOT pay to ship the book back to them! If you did not order it and they sent it to you anyway it is a gift. Send them a note in writing that you will send the unordered book back to them if they send you a pre-paid mailing label. When they refuse, keep that letter and enjoy your free book. On the off chance they DO send you the label, then send it back in a box with a few bricks in it. They will be forced to pay for the brick shipment and will eventually understand that their scamming you costs THEM money and they will stop.

    0 Votes
  • St
    Stan67 Feb 05, 2011

    In [protected] they would send me their big book of secrets that I never ordered. They started to harass me for payment and I told them each time that I did not order the book and thank you for your generous gift. I made copies of each note I sent like this and they finally sent a response telling me to ship the books back to them or they would send me to collections. I told them they were welcome to come to my house and pick them up as I wasn't going to spend a penny to ship their crap back to them. This went on for 5 years until they took me off of thier sucker list.

    I still have the books if anyone wants them.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    James T Davis Sr Feb 02, 2011

    I recieved books that I did not order.

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    Trumanboo1313 Jan 20, 2011

    $36.92 seems to be their standard scam amount. They are a horrible company and I will never order from them again. They have terrible record keeping and their customer "service" people are rude.

    0 Votes
  • Le
    leona laws Jan 18, 2011

    I owed a balance for 2 books. I sent separate checks for both. Both checks were cashed. I received a notice for collection if I didn't pay another 21.97. I had paid 16.97 thinking that was full amount of bill. I called got a run around. Called again got alittle more information found that I did owe 5.00. Wanted to pay it over phone. Told no call back tomorrow 1/18/2011 to speak with special not there today holiday. Called on 1/18/2011. Told call back in 3 days cause she is requesting money to be moved to right book acct call and talk to specialist in 3 days. Can't pay 5.00 balance cause they will take the 21.97 all over again. Wrote aletter of complaint to specialist with given address along with 5.00 check. want it remedied so I can put this to rest and move on. what does a consumer do when you cannot trust the billing office or acounting office of a business?
    How do you protect yourself from their shooddy business practices when you paid them and they claim not to have gotten paid or they hold on to the checks and applied late payments that should have never been. What do you do when you talk with representatives who are only given some of the information and can't see the bottom line to fix the problem?

    0 Votes
  • Bo
    bottomline books Dec 18, 2010

    recieved and billed for book i did not order

    0 Votes
  • No
    NORMA MURREY Dec 07, 2010

    I NEVER ORDERED THIS BOOK. I NEVER OPENED THE BOOK. I SENT IT BACK REFUSED. NORMA MURREY 12-06-10

    0 Votes
  • Hi
    Hillbillybadboy Dec 01, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Welcome to the club. The best avenue to take to stop them is to write or call the attorney general in the state of Iowa and wherever the bills come from. You will get result fast. That is how I reslove problems with companies that think we are all stupid. Gil

    0 Votes
  • Po
    postadavis Nov 29, 2010

    We returned the book unopened. Then, we received a bill. I called the number [protected] pushed 1 for customer service and gave my address to the lady. She confirmed that the returned book was received and that my bill was zero. She said I could ignore the bill. I hope this is the case, and their operation is reformed from the way it was in the past.

    0 Votes
  • Th
    ThankfulinCT. Nov 09, 2010

    File a complaint with your state attorney generals office, the company is just trying to generate sales. You can file a complaint on line. Just do a Google search for your state and make a complaint. Bottom line will have no choice but to listen, when they here from them. That one reason we pay taxes, might as well get some use out of all that money we send them.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Charles Bass Aug 11, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was told, they were FREE.
    Now, I'm told, "I OWE THEM"

    0 Votes
  • Th
    TheXtremeDude Jul 17, 2010

    These Bottom Line [censor] are trying to force me to pay for a book that I don't remember ordering but paid for anyway (3 months ago) by threats of ruining my credit. Thanks to those who posted the contact info. I will be calling on Monday. I hope whoever answers my call ate their Wheaties and slept well Sunday night because I'm ready to RUMBLE!

    0 Votes
  • Na
    Nancy Fraser Jun 09, 2010

    To whom it may concern,

    I did not order book and or never received book. but Bottom Line Books keep sending me a Bill. I will not pay for something I never ordered or received

    Thank you,
    Nancy Fraser
    Raymond, NH.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Joe Briggs May 17, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I never recieved my Installments bills. I just recieved a bill saying I need to pay the full installment. Is there any way I can still pay the three installments. It would help me pay this bill much easier. Thank You!

    Joe Briggs
    [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • St
    Stephen G. Browning Apr 22, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Bottom Line Books: I recieved two packages in the mail yesterday and I opened the billing notice, One of the books, I already have. The other two books I did not order. I tried to send them back and the Postoffice told me that I had to pay for the shipping on the books. I am unable to make contact with you to get an authorization to ship back the books and you pay for it. I will keep the books here and when you decide to pay the return shiping, I will not pay for them.

    0 Votes
  • Be
    betty james Mar 24, 2010

    i ordered two books that i think id like and got 2 more in the mail i know i didn't order, this is frustrating. i am going to send back to them and write on the mail didn't order this want no more. i will call better business bureau if they keep harrassing me

    0 Votes
  • Le
    lears charlie Mar 11, 2010

    Have requested no more books and they keep sending their garbage

    0 Votes
  • Pr
    Prakash Thakrar Feb 12, 2010

    no phone #'s provided; keep sending books and invoices

    0 Votes
  • St
    straycat19 Feb 11, 2010

    My retired father sent me a copy recently of a collection notice from North Shore Agency, Inc. on behalf of Bottom Line Books. He told me that he merely requested the advertised free health booklet, not subsequent booklets sent him. They are seeking $47.94 from him.
    I'm replying to them on his behalf, disputing the claim.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    James Michael Walsh Feb 02, 2010

    Waiting to hear from you what to do with the other set of books.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    James Michael Walsh Feb 02, 2010

    I order ONE set of books, you sent me TWO. What would like me to do with the other set.


    James Michael Walsh
    North1997 Cassidy Road
    Lyndon Station Wisconsin [53944]


    Email [email protected]

    Phone # [protected] ACC#37-o38-[protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    julie2010 Jan 24, 2010

    I have just received a book that I did not order from Bottom Line Books. They have sent me a bill for 49.94 with this book. Since I have seen where they continue to bill even if you send the book back what should be my next step?

    0 Votes
  • Vl
    VLYNN Nov 18, 2009

    My parents received books also. I found online a telephone number of [protected] and called them. I told the woman who answered we did not order or want their books, she told me to send them back and I told her I was not paying the postage if she wanted them she was to send a prepaid label and I would return them to the post office which she agreed to do.
    Hope this helps the next poor soul they try to con.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.