Belkcredit charges

N
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

Did you know that people get fired at Belk department stores for not opening charge accounts? It doesn't even matter how long or how loyal they are to the company. I think it is so sad. They are good loyal people that work hard and do a great job. Employee's should not be fired for not being able to open a charge account. I do believe that they should ask, but you cannot hold a gun to someone's held and make them open it.

I believe this is harassment.

Responses

  • As
    Asst Resource Manager Jun 12, 2013

    wait until you become seriously ill, and unable to perform your duties. Even with leave, personal and vacation time available will not be enough to save your job.. Just pray that you don't become seriously ill with blackouts, fevers, seizures, fluid in your lungs, fatigue, dizzy and coughing up blood from having tumors in your throat. I missed about 7 to 8 days that were all called in and also accompanied with doctor notes, hospital notes, surgeon notes. I came back from having fluid pulled from my lungs and three biopsies taken from my neck to find that ANISSA, the Store Manager who makes life at Belk so hostile for everyone. If she could learn to stop cursing and insulting associates, then maybe she can be tolerable. But, her addiction to Adderall just prevents her from being a honest and self respecting manager at Belt Turkey Creek. Anyways, after I came back from the hospital, she said I was demoted. I was forced to work cosmetics. There was no compromising. It had already taken place. But, it was a very unreasonable position to do in my physical situation at the time. Especially with the faints and seizures. Nevertheless, I did the job so not to stress. I was going to have surgery in 2 weeks to have the tumors removed. I called my District Human Resource Manager, MS Nunez and explained my situation about having surgery soon and also about feeling not sure about my position as Human Resource asst. I was demoted once already for being sick and now I will be out for 2 weeks after surgery. I explained the hostility there anbout being forced to take a demotion just for being a few days out with medical reasons. Regardless, Ms Nunez and Anissa Terminated me right before my Surgery. They also cancelled my health insurance coverage. Just very vicious and not human. Belk says that they stand behind cancer awareness and prevention. ###, Once one of there own gets ill they terminate them in a terrible way. I pray no one in their family ever gets ill and that happens to them. Karma is a ###. It may not be them or their love ones, but there kid's kids. I will Let the EEOC handle this. I bet Nunez will throw Anissa under the bus.

    0 Votes
  • Lp
    lpnc Jul 15, 2012

    I can relate. I am a loss prevention manager in a Belk store and I was attacked by a violent shoplifter during an apprehension. I sustained pretty bad injuries and had to go to the hospital during work. I was denied a claim because apparently I was made well-aware of the risks that go with the job. Thats all well and good, but this lady slashed me with her car key like a shank, and bit me on my hand, which broke the skin. I had to get stitches from the incident. Aaaaaaand Johnny Belk doesnt think he should at the least spot the bill. Pretty messed up.

    0 Votes
  • As
    ashbash Apr 09, 2012

    They really dont care i was a star in getting credit getting over fifteen hundred credits but when i got pregnant they left me alone in the busiest department during christmas season then would yell at me for being tired and not getting all of tge recovery done. They sent me home because i was sick then when i came in the next day they wrote me up and threatened to fire me they dont give a ### about anyone they made so many bonuses off of me then i wont even get a good reference they will just confirm i worked there

    0 Votes
  • La
    Ladynole Dec 13, 2011

    I love working for Belk. I really believe this is one of the best companies out there. They pay you for the work you do and not who's b-tt you kiss. I work very hard but am rewarded for it and appreciate them. My Manager's work twice as hard as I do and are always willing to help me when called upon. I find it very easy to exceed the credit card application goals. We all try hard in our store because we want our store, Managers and ourselves to shine. When I retire from my State employment, I plan working full time with Belk because they treat their employees well.

    -2 Votes
  • Xc
    xcorrx May 27, 2011

    u agree to the job when u take it knowing ur goals why accept if u feel its unfair

    1 Votes
  • Xc
    xcorrx May 27, 2011

    i love belk

    0 Votes
  • To
    Too Much!!! Jun 23, 2010

    Belk is a bad place to work because they hire you with a certain salary, and if sales are bad for what ever reason, they cut your pay, over and over again until you either quite or fired for not opening credit cards. They force you to open up credit accounts. They force their emplyees to do the work of three people, the managers walk around doing absolutely nothing to help their overworked sales people.
    The company is so unorganized it's a joke. how did it ever survive this long is beyond me. The BBB need to look into their business practices.

    0 Votes
  • To
    Too Much!!! Jun 23, 2010

    Belk is definately the worst company to work for. The Belk Brothers are greedy and selfish. They line their pockets with bonuses and give thousands of dollars to different organizations, while cutting their employees pay and firing the rest for not opening credit cards in this tough economy. They put an enormous amount of work on their employees in bad work conditions. It's like working in a sweat shop in a third world country.They are taking advantage of the fact there isnt a lot of job opportunities out there, so they literally do what ever they want to their employees regardless of how unfair, inhuman and humilating it may be. Belk brothers SHAME ON YOU.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    JoDub Jun 14, 2010

    DO NOT get a Belk card. CAVEAT EMPTOR: they have no way of tracking payments though electronic funds transfer. I made my payment through my banks (very reliable) online bill pay service. Three weeks later I received a bill from Belk with late fees and warnings that I had not paid the previous month's bill. When I called customer service and gave them the date of the transaction, the amount, the EFT number, etc. they told me they would "file a statement" but that I was responsible for paying the whole amount again as they have no way to track electronic payments that come into them.

    DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH BELK. I've been patronizing them for 40 years and it stuns me how much their customer service has gone down hill over the past 5 years.

    0 Votes
  • So
    sohpia rose Apr 06, 2010

    IT is true I work at a Belk and they HATE their employees. They treat their employees like they are ###. We have meetings every morning to talk about why or how come we have not opened enough credit cards our manager has actually asked us during a meeting "raise your hand if you like getting your pay cut" (well I don't because mine has 3 times) Well we have to keep our sells up and credits up in order to do this. Hmmm but each employe is expected to do the work of 3. mark downs, stock, set sales, get mountains of clothes out of the fitting rooms, run the register, chase people down for credit cards, etc. I have decided Belk has made some sort of deal with the devil and that involves opening credit cards.

    1 Votes
  • Mi
    miriam hodges Mar 31, 2010

    Trying to pay bill on line is terrible. I don't have an hour trying to get site. Tired of this each month. What is the problem?It needs to be fixed.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Michael Taylor Mar 25, 2010

    The Belk's website is a joke. I spent hours attempting to make a recent purchase of men's dress clothes. What's really funny is, due to some website error, I was able to purchase several items ranging from $50-$130 for $.01 each due to system errors. That kind of profit loss should draw some ones attention to the issues.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Marcie Jul 29, 2009

    Belk sucks and they are still firing associates for not making their goal! However, they also still have a lot of associates that are still employed and not making their goal...go figure...they need to be taught a lesson.

    1 Votes
  • Fi
    FiredfromBelk Jun 01, 2009

    Another Belk employee fired for not soliciting enough BELK crappy credit cards!!!
    SHOPPERS do you really like to shop where employees are getting fired for not harassing you enough to open and instant credit!
    Please don't shop at Belk.

    2 Votes
  • Lo
    lorrien Feb 03, 2009

    this is the hardest site . when you tried to pay your bills . it would be nice if you could make it less difficult. it takes about 30 minutes to get on to what you need to do

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    hamans1 Dec 13, 2008

    Same here, i got fired for not getting credit applications, and they said i brought apon myself...

    0 Votes
  • Rh
    Rhonda M. Swift Dec 03, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    can not make a payment at all online and the site makes it hard to even find to make payment.

    0 Votes
  • Li
    lili Nov 16, 2008

    Go to the belk.com site. Click on "Belk Credit Card" at the bottom. It will direct you to the payment site.

    0 Votes
  • Me
    Mel Clarke Nov 01, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I agree. The Belk website is next to useless, and they need to get a webmaster to fix it. It shouldn't be difficult for Belk to clearly indicate how payments may be made online.

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    scNhell Sep 23, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Belk, is the worst company I've ever worked for . I don't understand how they sleep at night. we can't even get a restroom break .
    Our store manager talks to us like we are dogs, I would like to talk to someone who could help me in reporting them about several things including credit applications

    2 Votes
  • Bh
    bharr79 Aug 28, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Please send me the Belk online payment site.

    Thanks!

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Karen a Mcbride Aug 08, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I want to make a same day pmt and cannot find where to go to make the payment

    0 Votes
  • No
    Norman S Hooks Jan 27, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Web site out of order!

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.