The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Basic TalkDishonest in billing

I purchased the basic talk unit from walmart two months ago. My billing date was on the 11th of each month. I got online on sept. 1st and cancelled my account. I got a screen that told me the account would be cancelled as of the end of my billing date. Then on sept 12th they charged my credit card again. Called their customer service on the 13th and was told they would cancel it but could not refund this months service charge. Stay away from this company they are crooks!!! I asked for a home office address and they gave me a phony address. I repeat stay away from basic talk!!!

Responses

  • Da
    davescru Apr 02, 2018

    I'm experiencing the same problems except, I haven't used their services for a couple of years and they still are charging my bank card.

    0 Votes
  • La
    ladi m Dec 10, 2017

    Once you contact basic talk to cancel your service, have your banking institution discontinue their automatic withdrawal immediatedly.

    1 Votes
  • Bo
    Bobbie Williams Gibson Mar 01, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am having the same experience. It has been 23 months since I terminated my service and Basic Talk is still billing my credit card. What can a person do with such a deceptive, dishonest scammer?

    -1 Votes
  • Ni
    nicci620 Feb 02, 2017

    called to cancel basic talk on 12/9/16 and they continued to charge my account for the next two months. I called to get and refund and ask the question of why is wasn't cancelled and they said that it was cancelled in December, but the account was left active and that they only can refund me a month fo billing, that was their policy. ### policy!!! I will now have to keep checking my bank account to see if they really cancelled. Pain in the ###! Heads up, just go with your local phone company, its much easier.

    -1 Votes
  • Cj
    Cjones401 Aug 06, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am extremely disappointed with Basic Talk. I had their service for over a year even though it was advertised at 9.95 a month and that's what I was charged the 1st month. Then after that it was 13.77. I left it alone. Well I moved back in Nov of 2015 and was stating with a friend so I didn't need the service but I knew I might need it when I got my own spot in few months that time.i continued to pay even though I wasn't using it.well I lost my debit card and got a new one at this point I decided I didn't need Basic Talk anymore but didn't know I had to formally cancel I just figured it would cancel on its own. WRONG A few months past their system automatically updated my banking info without my knowledge or permission. Charged me unexpectedly for like 3months. So I called and requested a refund they said they absolutely do not refund so I told them to cancel my service. This was back in April, so here it is now July I had to call my bank again have them restrict any transactions from basic talk because they continued to pull money from my account. And now I just got off the phone with basic talk and the man tried to tell me that I never called to cancel jist called for a refund. I told him it's not my fault that the man i spoke with didn't put that part in the notes. He also tried to get me to pay the past due balance. He finally cancelled after he put me on hold to probably talk it over with someone else, he came back and I could barely understand him he was talking so fast. They have nasty attitudes when you cancel and you better hope they actually cancel you because they will say they will and charge you again so they don't have to cancel you because now you owe them. Please let's start a class action lawsuit against them because their billing practice's are horrible!

    2 Votes
  • Je
    Jeanette Barrett Jul 26, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have had Basic Talk for over a year, and I have never had any problem with them. They bill my account $12.44 each month and I talk all I want. Can't complain about that. I have not tried to disconnect - because I'm happy with the service - so I can't say whether they charge you extra months or not. But my phone service is crisp, clear and reliable (so long as I have internet connection) and if that is true of everyone, I simply can't say that even having to pay an additional month of service (seriously, $12.44?) would be a problem for me, and I am on a very fixed income. Maybe I am not having any problems because I haven't attempted to cancel service and would change my mind if I did. But as I said, I am happy with my service. And I am so sorry others are not.

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    Vickie223 Jun 08, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Ok same thing happened to me I can't cancel.. now that I changed my bank info they have posted on my credit report saying I owe 100.00 plus in cancelation fees
    We need to do a class action law suit if everybody would stick together we could make them pay

    1 Votes
  • I got service from Basic Talk for a few months with no problems. Then I called their cancellation number (the only way they offer to communicate). It is [protected]. I talked to a man in India on Feb 25, 2015 for and hour. He repeatedly told me not to cancel the account. Finally he said he would cancel the account, On March 11 my account was debited again for $12.99. I called on March 13 and was told I didn't have to pay for April because I already paid. I told her I knew that. I asked why the account was not cancelled before the billing date. She never answered this question. I tried for half an hour to ask her why I was charged for another month. She said the same thing over and over again 'You waited till the day after the billing] date to cancel so you are automatically charged for another month'. I got tired and asked that they simply send me an email that the account is really closed. I don't think I'll ever hear from them again. My advice if you want to cancel - change your bank information to a phony account number. See what they do then.

    1 Votes
  • Mp
    M. P. Forrest Mar 13, 2015

    This was stole. From my a. Punt for 7 months. They never gave me a phone
    number with the device and I never used it. They gave me the phone # the day
    I called to cancel the service after discovering the charges. THIS A RIP OFF
    DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY.

    1 Votes
  • Mp
    M. P. Forrest Mar 13, 2015

    I never received a phone number for the basic talk device so I couldn't use the device
    I my account was charged 7 months before I became aware they were charging me. I
    Wanted my 7 mo charges refuned. They offer no help no phone
    No refund, the never gave me a phone # for me to use to connect to the basic talk system.
    I was told it was on the instrument it was not it was on nothing in the box or any paper work. I never used the system. I didn't even know I was being charged all those months
    Until I saw it on my latest bank statement. There is no one that you can get to
    to resolve a issue and the help are all in another country and they all have pat answers
    "We give no refunds" don't waste your money this is a rip off

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    John Castro Feb 03, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I too was ripped off by Basic Talk, (Vonage)?? The person i spoke to about cancellation was in India where they said was where the "Cancellation center" is located. they admitted that the product was mane in the USA, but did now know of a phone number in the US to refer me to. I called the number to activate new service and was reluctantly told that they were located in Manila. Finally, I found an address on my packing list which came with the product and googled it. I got in touch with a company called RR Donnelly and Sons. At first I was told that this was not the headquarters for BASIC TALK. TOLD THEM THAT THIS WAS THE ADDRESS ON MY BILLING STATEMENT AND THAT i WOULD VISIT THEM IN PERSON. All of a sudden in an AHA moment she told me oh OK, I will connect you. That connection of course was a recording and I left my name and number with a brief message. I have yet to hear from them.
    HERE IS THE ADDRESS AND PHONE NUMBER;
    RR Donnelly and Sons (Basic Talk)
    825 Riverview Pkwy
    Austell Georgia, 30168
    Tel: [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Su
    SusanH64 Dec 09, 2014

    How on earth do you cancel this service??? "Bob" from Pakistan said I have to set up the account to cancel it. I ordered it, but cant find an internet provider I can afford. I havent even received the package in the mail yet and they wont cancel it!

    0 Votes
  • Ms
    M. Schumaker Mar 02, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was charged on the 18th of Feb $ 12.07 and $2.14 on the same day then on the 24th I was charged $12.07 again please let me know why.

    0 Votes
  • La
    Landlinelady Jan 13, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Basic Talk gives deceptive, misleading, and incomplete information on its web site about services, including "customer support, " and "easy" connection equipment. The name of the company is a misnomer because it does not TALK, or give basic, honest, needed information to its prospective customers and intentionally makes no provision to TALK with consumers once they are current Basic Talk customers. In particular;
    Basic Talk initiates automatic deductions for its phone service from the date of phone number transfer, rather than the earliest date at which the customer is able to actually use the phone through Basic Talk connections.
    The Basic Talk web site does not reveal (most) customers transferring land line phone service from a modem will need to find and buy elsewhere electronic various and different devices to use their current phone and "save money". There is no live customer tech support, as promised when placing the order, to resolve undisclosed connections problems. There is no information in the Basic Talk box brochure
    on foreseeable connections problems, or identification of where, and at what cost, needed equipment
    can be purchased.
    There is limited, slow customer service. Big Hint; there is no phone number for customer service. I'm told there is no supervisor over Customer Service, only Sales. Only potential customers are given a "sales" phone number. When you call the (only) phone sales number a recording forces callers admitting they are current customers to "use the chat line"; employees answering the only (sales) phone attributed to Basic Talk refuse to answer or forward customer services issues. Twice I was unable to get anyone to "chat" about my inability to connect the Basic box to my phone and internet.
    Lack of live customer support or education produces inconvenient, even dangerous, lapses in continuous, reliable land line phone service. In my case I was without a land line phone for 11 days because Basic Talk did not TALK about how to resolve connection issues.
    They promise an "immediate" refund from the date of request, not from the date of transferred,
    unusable phone service through Basic Talk.

    My advice is; when offered Basic Talk, WALK AWAY. Take action via FCC or BBB to report Basic Talk.

    2 Votes
  • Ma
    Margaret Scarbrough Nov 10, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I couldn't wait to get basic talk. but they are not honest people they are crooks in my view. they cant wait to charge your card on file or your checking account but as soon as they can not charge you they are ready to shut you off in just a split second and they even call on a Sunday to let ya know they are shutting you off if payment is not made. they wont even work with you.

    -1 Votes
  • Ph
    phyllis massengale Nov 01, 2013

    i want to remove basic talk from my checking acc i havent had nit hucked up so please cancle the basictalk from my checking thank you phyllis massengale 4407 brown ave amarillo texas 79108

    -1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Submit

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.