American Standard / Americast Sinkdo not buy american standard sinks!

W
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

I purchased an American Standard Americast sink 95 days ago and last week the enamel started flaking off near the drain. I called them, sent pictures and receipts and they called back to tell me it was due to "wear". After 3 months? I don't think so. When I refused that, they said it was due to "impact". Nope, try again. You are completely out of luck on this product after warranty offered by the seller, which was 90 days with Home Depot in this case. Do not buy this product, no matter how careful you will be with the sink. The product is cheap and is backed by customer service that's not just poor, it's absolutely infuriating.

Responses

  • Dt
    D. Trimble Oct 24, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Do to the fact I could not provide a receipt, American Standard is sending me a check for $100.00 which is much less than what I paid for it! Better than nothing.
    I will probably not purchase another American Standard.

    0 Votes
  • Ze
    Zesel Oct 24, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This is my second American Standard sink. The finish on the first one after a year was all gone, it had a large black under coating showing it was awful... I contacted American Standard and after proof I actually bought it and I sent photos they send me a new sink. It was installed and again after a year the same thing happened. The finish is gone on the bottom and the black under coating is showing through on a white sink. I can't get anywhere with them... I will NEVER purchase anything American Standard again... Horrible customer service.

    1 Votes
  • Dt
    D. Trimble Sep 18, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I purchased this sink about 8 years ago. Several years after, it started flaking. I contacted Amaricast on numerous occasions, no one ever got back to me. A few months ago, the sink really started falling apart!
    I purchased this sink because of the lifetime warranty that was offered on it. Lifetime warranty means better quality product, right?

    0 Votes
  • Dt
    D. Trimble Sep 18, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Trying to post a photo of my sink. Site won't let me.
    Keeps saying to check my spelling!

    1 Votes
  • Et
    Ethan Bradley Jun 04, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    You can add me to the list of people with an American Standard Americast sink that is junk. Back in 2006, I purchased a white Americast sink because the salesperson at Home Depot really emphasized the "Lifetime Warranty." It looked great at first, and I was really happy with the sink. However, within months of install, there were stains on the bottom of the sink. At first, I thought someone was leaving the sink dirty or the hard water was leaving stains (odd the stains were no where else). It was the black underneath part of the sink bleeding up thru the white surface of the sink. The warranty department was not willing to help at all.

    I've used the sink with the stains for the past 10 years. It has given me a certain amount of pleasure to at least have it there as a warning to all who visit not to buy an American Standard product. But now, I have begun the process of shopping for a replacement.

    0 Votes
  • Dv
    D'Vontz May 17, 2016

    Since no one makes a replacement for your current sink hole cut out but American Standard, D'Vontz now has a solution for sink replacement without having to replace your granite. See attached picture, then call us for the dealer closest to your location. [protected]

    1 Votes
  • Me
    mellie swaney Jan 12, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    rusting flaking and cracking

    0 Votes
  • Bh
    BH West Aug 19, 2015

    In the remodeling of our kitchen [protected] we purchased an American-Standard kitchen sink which eventually began to wear through the finish enamalled surface now my wife is totally unhappy with the appearance of the sink and feels it reflects on her to have such a mess in her kitchen.
    I have told her it appears that she is in good company. It unfortunately is not the first product of a highly thought of American manufactuer that has walked away from a disastrous product that they engineered and designed poorly . It is a pity that a mfg. can disregard their customers in such a manner and face no consequences. Perhaps the "too big to fail" process has been aound much nlonger than we knew. If the public would rise up more in indignation when this happens many of them would be out of business. Conservative as I am toward bigger government control perhaps we the public need more protection from businesses who refuse to honor warrantys and walk away from their sloppiness and mistakes with impunity. What we can say is that American Standard will not cheat us but once and not only refuse to buy from them again but will let their wholesale and retailer outlets know our feelings and their failure to stand behind their products that injures their businesses also, B H West

    0 Votes
  • Pm
    pmbrooks Jul 31, 2015

    I purchased an Americast double kitchen sink when I had my granite countertop installed a few years ago. I was assured by Home Depot that it was a great product that would be a good replacement for a cast iron sink that was too heavy to use. This is the worst product I have ever purchased for my home! Because of the shape of it, I could not get a replacement of a different brand - which I was ready for a few months after it was installed. I bought sink protectors for the bottom and the saddle to keep it looking good (I thought at the time that that was possible), and it still stained (rust color) terribly. The finish on the bottom quickly became very dull, even with using Barkeepers Friend cleanser. This sink has been an embarrassment in my kitchen and I have cursed Americast repeatedly for their terrible product; I have tried to warn any of my friends thinking of replacing their sink to make sure that they didn't buy such a substandard product. I can't believe that there has not been a class action against Americast, especially because of the warranty they promise but don't deliver. DO NOT BUY AMERICAST!!! Mine is coming out next week, and I couldn't be happier!

    0 Votes
  • Jg
    JG-Mo Jul 12, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I agree with everything stated. We purchased our Silhouette sink whenever we built the house in 2002. We have nursed it along for nearly 13 years but have three prominent places where the sink is chipped up. Now you just nick it the sink and it seems to chip. I wish we would have only known this before we purchased it and so going forward we will be wiser about staying away from American Standard products in general. It sounds like the lifetime warranty is not the worth the paper it is printed on. That is always the true test of a good company or not. It seems that truth is now clearly defined. - JG

    0 Votes
  • La
    larrysn Nov 15, 2014

    It's been a horrible sink we got it and I see American Standard won't help. As with many of you we have granite and replacing granite is not an option on our budget.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    jonasgazebo Sep 18, 2014

    I bought all American Standard fixtures for our home completed in 2007. I wish I would have known the AM is pure crap. All 3 toilet seats cracked in the same place and 3 different people use the bathrooms - so it isn't that we are a fat ### famdily! Their customer service sent out 3 wood seats which was better customer service than most of you have gotten.

    As far as the Americast sink goes, I have the same problem as almost everyone else. My husband blamed me (LOL) when it chipped in the early days of getting it. And, each year more and more porcelain "evaporated" and the sink stains so fast. It is a piece of crap and I, like most others had $10K worth of granite that was cut to fit this sink. Now what can I do????? They finally don't make Americast anymore, but I doubt they will do anything for us. I wish someone out there was an attorney and we could file a class action suit. I should find out who the rep is in this area and take him to Small Claims Court--good idea????? Anyway, what can I do? Anyone out there have any ideas??? My personal email is [email protected] I would really appreciate any response I could possible get. The girl at the store where bought my whole household of fixtures to the tune of $10K-$15K said I could possibly get an over mount sink????? I really think American Standard should be held accountable. Let's try to do something? Please contact me with ideas - Nancy

    0 Votes
  • Am
    Americast kitchen sink Jun 15, 2014

    Can you tell me where I can purchase some almond colored paint that I can use to touch-
    up your lifetime paint which is rusting out on each of the edges on my kitchen sink?.That is the only problem that I have had with the sink.

    0 Votes
  • Fe
    FEH Jun 11, 2014

    I agree "Don't Buy American-Standard". I did with their lifetime warranty. When I need to fix the bath faucet they said they no longer made the part necessary to fix it and there was nothing they could do. Their "Lifetime Warrenty" for leaks was useless. Liars and cheats.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Mikenas Feb 25, 2014

    HELP!! I too, have the American Standard Silhouette double sink/undermount. It is cracked in several places and leaking. My granite was cut specifically for this sink and it is impossible to find the exact sink with the same measurements. I was told my options are to get a fabricator and cut my granite to fit a new sink or get the exact same sink. Well I cannot find the exact same sink, nor do I want it. A drop in won't fit my kitchen and wont work because of the proximity of the current cut and the backlalsh.
    I have no Idea what to do. Any help or suggestions would be great!

    0 Votes
  • Mt
    mtebaldi Jan 24, 2014

    I purchased an Americast double 10" from Home Base in 1997 and every year I have to reseal the right side drain that the garbage disposal is connected. I found this out when I was soaking some baked on casserole dish overnight. In the morning all the was water was on the floor and ruined the wood floor. My wife was upset at me for doing an incompetent job. I sealed the sink with a new gasket and plumbers putty on both sides. This worked fine until 8 to 9 months when we were soaking stove grates and woosh the water drained out over night again and ruined the 2nd wood floor. Home Base had went out of business so I contacted America Standard and got no help except for "it was probably the way I installed it". I thought it might be my garbage disposal so I replaced it and same
    problem. So here it is 2013 and every year I have to pull down the garbage disposal and replace paper gasket and plumbers putty. I will never buy and American Standard sink again. The sink that stinks and sucks for workmanship quality.

    0 Votes
  • Ld
    ldleclair Nov 09, 2013

    Complaints need to be directed to Home Depot, Lowes and other retailers that sell Americast products. When the Big Boys put pressure on American Standard or refuse to retail it's products, then American Standard will stand behind it's products, stop manufacturing junk or go out of business. Sometimes an idea is good, but the execution is terrible. American standard needs to admit fault or quit the business.

    0 Votes
  • Ld
    ldleclair Nov 09, 2013

    These complaints need to be directed to Home Depot, Lowe's and other retailers that sell Americast sinks. They lose credibility as well. Once Big Boys put pressure on American Standard and stop selling that product, American Standard will get the message or go out of business.

    0 Votes
  • Ne
    NEIL BARRAS Oct 13, 2013

    I bought a americast sink about 15 years ago and about 3 years latter the finish was getting dull after taking good care of it. in the last couple of years the edge of the sink started to flake up (like if I dropped something on it and chipped it) and swelled like it was made out of press board. I'm looking to replace it and looking at stainless steel. DON'T BUY AMERICAST!!!

    0 Votes
  • Oz
    ozarklady May 05, 2013

    I just purchased a home with the American Standard Silhouette sink in undermount granite in the kitchen. Didnt pay much attention before the sale, just thought I could replace the horrible sink. Now have found this model is discontinued (no big surprise after reading all the complaints) but now what do I do? I cant afford to pull up and replace the granite and it seems no other manufacturer carries this "unique" shape. Has anyone tried the reglazing or found any other solution? Now I am worried that not only is this sink a terrible eyesore but it may start cracking and leaking as well.

    0 Votes
  • La
    ladycleaner Apr 07, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Reading all of these disappointed posts, I also have a sink that will eventually be replaced. In the meantime, I'm trying to figure out how to repair the cracked porcelain that is rusted and about eight inches in length in the front lip of my sink. Has anyone had any luck with the repair kit that AS sells? Does this porcelain filler actually dry as putty? I purchased a Sheffield Porcelain Filler and Repair bottle from the local hardware but it doesn't look like putty even when I shake the bottle. I don't want to cover it with a material that won't cover and seal the rust. It is the rust that is problematic, since any moisture activates it. Ideas most welcome!

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Midwest Shopper Nov 14, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We purchased a bisque American Standard porcelain/cast iron double sink about 3 years ago. We were initially happy with it up until the beginning of this year. It has started to show rust spots on the bottom of the sink, in both tubs. It has also started to show light black smudge-type stains. Both the rush and black stains cannot be removed. We are extremely disappointed with this American Standard product and will not purchase ever again.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    marsha grossman Oct 26, 2012

    My Americast sink is disgusting!! I just got a huge slice on my hand from loose enamel that I didn't realize was loose. Sink is discolored, rusted and ready to be replaced.

    0 Votes
  • St
    staines 12 Oct 22, 2012

    All I can say is they are a low grade sink, my sink is 12 years old and I had problems with it for 9 years +

    0 Votes
  • St
    stuartara Apr 22, 2012

    I was standing in my kitchen talking to my sister who was visiting from out of town when we heard an awful poppoing/cracking sound come from behind us in the area of the sink. We were mystified as to the source of the sound and gave up trying to figure out what it was. Later, after everyone had left I went under the kitchen sink to change the water filter. As I looked up toward the filter canister, I saw the source of the sound. The Americast sink had cracked open. There was a jagged crack starting at the drain and extending out about 12 inches. It was up to 1/8 of an inch wide at it's widest point. I was shocked, but after reading the previous posts I see that this is a normal outcome of these sinks. Be assured I will tell everyone I know about the extremely poor quality and the poor customer service.

    0 Votes
  • Rd
    R. Dini Mar 27, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I posted a complaint about my American Standard Americast Lakeland sink on March 25th. I was contacted by American Standard the day after I sent an email to them. They have offered to reimburse me for the sink, if I have the receipt. If not, they alternatively have offered to replace the sink with a stainless steel sink of similar size or a $100.00 good faith gesture. I don't think I can ask for more than this. They are trying to do the right thing.

    0 Votes
  • Rd
    R. Dini Mar 25, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I bought an American Standard Americast Lakeland sink about 8 years ago. The underside material on the sink is cracking badly and, when those cracks reach the drain, leaks will almost certainly result. I'm not waiting. I'm hoping that American Standard will back its brand and, if not install a new sink, at least provide me a new sink for installation at my expense. I am awaiting their response as I write this.

    0 Votes
  • Li
    liveand learn Feb 09, 2012

    It's been a long time coming, but now that our Americast sink has chipped on top of all the other defects, I think I will join this forum to offer my discontent. We too have followed American Standard's instructions to use non-abrasive cleaners, like Bon Ami, which I can no longer find anywhere, and it has just detioriated beyond belief. Scratches, dullness, spots, and rust forming around one of the drain rings. It's about 5 years old, and it looks like it's more than 10 years old. Now with the chip, I figure it's time for a new one, but will try to repair the chip myself, and when it's time to sell, then off to HD to buy a Kohler or any real American made sink, that is not "American Standard!" They should change their name to "American BadBrand!"

    0 Votes
  • Ga
    Gailpurdy Feb 04, 2012

    I have an American Standard sink also and the enamel finial is flaking off and it is rusting!!! I was trying to look on line for the warranty and came across all these complaints. Do NOT buy an American Standard sink.

    0 Votes
  • Mh
    mhaney Jan 16, 2012

    Same as the above. We purchased a Sillouette sink back in '05 for a remodel and have experienced the same problems with scratching, discoloring and chipping. I called the American Standard company and was told that they are not selling Americast anymore "no surprise", and there is nothing to replace that unique shape. So, if you have granite like I do that was cut around the sink, you will end up replacing all of your granite just to replace the sink. Big mistake. The company said that it would reimburse me for the sink, but that doesn't really help when you have to replace the granite too! Don't buy American Standard!

    0 Votes
  • Jr
    JRElliott Jan 16, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We had an American Standard Sillouhette sink installed when we had granite counter tops put in our kitchen. The salesman at the big box store assured us it was as good as a Kohler. Sadly it is not. The finish is cracked and stained after three years. When my wife called American Standard customer service (an oxymoron) they were condescending and patronizing. Bottom line is we either are going to have to live with this inferior product or replace an entire granite slab because of the unique cut out design. Of course the granite will not match the rest of the kitchen and we will have to replace some tile work to replace the slab. I highly recommend not buying an American Standard product.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Sass Girl Jan 10, 2012

    I'm an Aarchitect who let her husband talk her out of a Kohler sink on our kitchen remodel 10 years ago. He liked the design and was concerned about the weight of cast iron, which, I agreed, was a plus for the Americast. and we were told it would wear just as well as porcelain. However, after a few months of use and we started seeing scratches, I guess from pots and pans, because we only used Soft Scrub. A few years later a chip showed up somehow - down low on the inside curve - and started rusting. The rim around the drain hole holds water and stains. Overall, it looks as worn as the 73 year old tub in one of the bathrooms! Last week, my son was washing a pan and chipped the side pretty badly. So its off to Kohler for a replacement! For what its worth, I won't be specifying or accepting any American Standard products in the future on my projects, and I sure won't use them on my house when we redo our bathroom. And I am really looking forward to not having to spend so much time scrubbing!

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    BarbMc Sep 08, 2011

    I also purchased an Americast sink because of the large size and previous reputation!! However it is the same as all the other complaints here, poor finish scratched and dull looking although I have been very careful to wash as directed. I never looks clean. I too, email customer service and no help!! What really gets me is that I paid almost $700 for this so I would have a sink for life and my son purchased a similar off the wall brand becaused he liked mine and he has put his through H*ll and back and it still looks great! He only paid $150. NEVER NEVER NEVER purchase American Standard Products again. In fact I wish they would Remove "American" from their name!!!

    0 Votes
  • Al
    Ali S Jun 29, 2011

    Wow!!! I am so glad I just read all those posts...
    I hate my Sink... it got dull and has rust stains inside from putting a rack on the bottom...
    I am constantly cleaning that sink... It is the ugliest thing in my kitchen...
    Never ever but american standard SINKS!!! Just horrible!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ru
    rubantin Jun 17, 2011

    I purchased our Americast sink at Lowes about 4 years ago as a surprise welcome home gift for my wife. She loved it... for about 4 months. We used approved cleansers and it developed scratches. Those scratches stained terribly. Called the company and they tried to sell me a repair kit. Warranty is less valuable than toilet paper... at least toilet paper fills a service..

    It has been 4 years now and then sink is the worst part of our kitchen. It is embarrassing. When we get the needed funds we are going to switch with a kohler or a stainless sink.

    0 Votes
  • Be
    Bernd VanderSchuur Jun 07, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I completely agree with all of the complaints I've read. The Americast product is totally bogus in its claims. American Standard is the epitome of the American company being run by charlatans. They lie about the quality of Americast and when you try to get customer service to stand by the warranty, you get nothing but bull hockey. Beware all consumers of plumbing products: DO NOT BUY ANYTHING MADE BY AMERICAN STANDARD - NOTHING FOLKS. We may not be able to sue, but we can spread the word and run this liars an cheaters out of business the old fashioned way - DO NOT PATRONIZE AMERICAN STANDARD!

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Michspch Mar 06, 2011

    I have an americast white kitchen sink and agree with most of the complaints: the white finish on the bottom of the sink is yellow, thankfully not chipped, but scratched as well. I am not happy but seems like my only option, rather than depending on the company to do anything, is clean the sink and find a way to "regloss" it to prevent further yellowing. Does anyone think this would work? Thanks!

    0 Votes
  • Ff
    FFrank Feb 03, 2011

    I have had 2 of these sinks. One purchased in 1997 and sold with the house in 2005. Purchased another in 2005 for the new house and am taking it to my daughter for her kitchen as we are remodelling and wanted a black sink. Neither of these sinks ever cracked but I agree that the finish is not what it should be.

    I only use Zud to clean it and we have a lot of coffee stains. Zud takes all the stains out and it looks good as new. I see that they recommend using Zud for their other Americast products but not their sinks. I highly recommend Zud. I don't think you will be disappointed in the result.

    0 Votes
  • Sk
    SKEspinosa Oct 11, 2010

    After only 6 years my American Standard Silhouette Americast double, under mount sink is TRASH. The chipping in the first year was bad enough, now it is so stained that it is un-cleanable. Of course it is under the granite and I'm told that I can't get it out. What to do? I think that the fiberglass can be cut around the inside of the sink and (after disconnected from the hoses) be lifted out or lowered out. I'm willing to replace with an over mount. Two contractors have turned me down on the job!

    Any advice?

    0 Votes
  • Ru
    Russtty Sep 15, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Our 5 year old home has an American Standard, Single Bowl, Lakeland Americast(r) sink. It also has chips around the drainage area and the finish has started to wear down (looks brownish) to the underlying substrate. The finish wear on the bottom bowl surface is mainly on the side towards the drain. This is also wear the spigot water flow impinges. Seems as though the finish layer on the flat bottom surface is applied too thin. Very likely a result of poor manufacturing quality control.

    I have read each of the preceding reports of sink finish failures. Seems to me that American Standard should be recalling these sinks from the market.

    Some questions needing answers:
    How toxic is the underlying substrate below the finish to those folks whom may prepare food or do dishes in the sink?

    Why did the company continue to sell these defective sinks and not issue a recall?

    Smells of deceptive business practices that need to be reported and investigated.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.