The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
American Expressunethical practices

My husband and I have been an American Express Card carrier for close to 10 years now. We have never been late on a payment since we have had the card. This now being the second time this year that we have received a notice that our interest rate is increasing. The rate will be going to close to 20%. All the bills that we have are paid before the due date, but it seems that American Express is punishing their good customers. Next we are waiting for them to start lowering our credit limit and hurting our FICO score. In this economy everybody needs a good FICO score. I called twice to speak to someone about lowering our interest rate, but they would not budge. It is wrong that American Express is allowed to hurt customer's FICO scores. I have looked into starting a class action suit for all the grief they are causing not to mention the stress. This is very wrong and American Express should be liable for what they have done to good paying customers.

Responses

  • He
    HessKWEM Mar 20, 2009

    Something has to be done to stop the unethical business practices of American Express. We have had our Gold Business Card since 2007. We have used this card as a small business to help with "cash flow" the way the card was "pitched" to us. We have been EXCELLENT cardholders. Paying the balances in FULL every month.
    In October 2008, AMEX sent several invitations to sign up for the "extended payment option" as another useful tool for small business! Their exact wording is: "YOU'LL HAVE THE FINANCIAL FLEXIBILITY YOU NEED TO MEET UNEXPECTED BUSINESS CHALLENGES WHILE STILL RECEIVING ALL THE BENEFITS OF YOUR BUSINESS CARD". Being a small business in these tough economical times it seemed like an answered prayer or maybe a reward finally for being a good customer! During Novemeber and December we used the extended payment option while also continuing to pay the minimum amount due in full on time and sending extra towards the "flexible payment" total. Suddenly, in January 2009 AMEX decided to change their minds. No longer were we credit worthy for the extended payment option. There was absolutlely NOTHING different with our credit, or our spending, or our payments from 2 years ago never mind 60 days ago! After endless phone calls and being informed about EXPERIAN and the "debt/credit ratio" script that they read from, they now want the ENTIRE BALANCE of the EXTENDED PAYMENT in FULL and since we couldn't do that because we were told in black and white proof "this was flexible and extended", they stopped our ability to use the card!
    Without any Warning, without doing anything wrong they put this small home contractor business to a complete hault. We explained over and over, why this is so wrong to do to excellent customers. What would our country do if all of a sudden the banks that hold our "balances" on our mortgages and cars, all of a sudden changed their rules, and they called you and said, thanks for all those years of ontime payments BUT we want your FULL BALANCE now or else, (take your car, lose your home, etc). This has to be illegal. I know they cover themselves with microscopic legal jargon about they reserve the right to change..blah blah blah, but c'mon, this is ridiculous. I made it perfectly clear that without the ability to use the card as our cash flow tool in this line of business (especially without any warning) it would cause us to not be able to purchase the materials to finish the jobs, which means there would be no income to pay them at all. Wouldn't it be better for everyone if you could allow your Excellent customer to continue to use their card (keep in mind they make interest on the balance carried in the flexible/extended pay option too) so they can continue to get their materials to do the work, get paid, and pay our bill? I don't think you need to have a MBA in finance to figure that out! I think AMEX is trying to default accounts. Purposely trying to have more deliquent customers so they can get a bigger chunk of the stimulus bailout! There has to be some criminal minded reason for this kind of logic, but it's beyond our comprehension in our honest, hard working minds! Because of their unethical business practices we will not be paying our AMEX on time this month. It kills me because we worked so hard for good credit and they changed the rules and brought this on themselves. Honestly, it will only hurt us because it is my belief AMEX is trying to establish more deliquent accounts and they certainly don't care about all the people and businesses they destroy in their deranged process. I too am a woman, if that is one of their targeted accounts to harass and close. This has been embarassing for my husband being declined in public while trying to purchase job related materials. This has caused a financial hardship for our business and our family. I am open to any legal actions or anything that can be done to STOP this. It's a disgrace. Isn't there someway congress or President Obama can be made aware of this? Let's make AMEX feel the pressure like the stooges from AIG !

    0 Votes
  • Gn
    gnlhall Mar 22, 2009

    I too I am a woman with 3 cards with American Express, I had sterling credit until financial hardship in December 2008. AX refused to work with me in setting up payments on 1 of the cards, after I contacted them they closed all my accounts and refused any payment other than the full balance. They lowered my credit limit to the balance owing causing me to go over limit every month due to the increase in the interest rate they imposed to 29.99%. I have written them 2 letters, sent numerous emails and have spoken to very rude customer service reps. The original amount owed in Dec. has increased by $2500 because of additional charges and then yesterday I was served a summons that they were suing me.
    I agree this has to be against the law and they need to be stopped from ruining peoples lives.

    0 Votes
  • Am
    AMEX Stinks! May 08, 2009

    I have been an American Express cardholder for over 11 years. Or I should say I WAS a American Express cardholder for 11 years. This company is really crossing into a gray area with their ethics. Even though they send the statements out every 30 days, I was just charged 2 late fees of $39.00 within 15 days of each other. They refused to drop just one of the late fees, so I cancelled my card.

    I have also heard of them lowering people credit lines, applying your payment a day after the due date, and canceling people's credit cards without fair warning.

    AMEX cardholders should BEWARE! This is a greedy company right now!

    0 Votes
  • Vr
    vrustigian Aug 24, 2009

    Until recently I worked for american express (i refuse to capitalize their name)and would like to let any of thier business travel cuatomers know that they are being scammed by the company in regards to transactions that can be voided within 24 hours per agreements with the airlines but if done so american express looses transaction fees. The company line is they only void if it is their mistake. Not how you look out for your customer.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Pat69 Sep 14, 2011

    WE have had American Express for years first are limit was 6, 000 dollars then when down to 4, 000 dollars now it is 3, 4000 we have never paid late always pay more than the minimum payment who do I call to put in a compain about this . This is lowing my credit score .

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.