Menu
American Home Shield [AHS]

American Home Shield [AHS] review: insurance fraud 44

S
Author of the review
12:00 am EDT
Review updated:
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

Ahs insurance home warranty.

Sub: escalation of issue.
Reference: work order no.[protected].
Reason for escalation: unable to get the service.
History of the case:

5/18 — while operating cook top under a very normal circumstance, there was a big blast and the cook top developed multiple cracks.

5/18 — reported the issue to american home shield.
5/23 — technician came for inspection and charged us $50, acknowledged what we described and went.
5/23 to 6/23 — many calls were made to ahs and there was even a remark that order has been placed with the manufacturer and that it would take 10 days etc. one full month of the customer calling ahs receiving varying responses.

6/24 — another technician came for inspection.
6/26 — we were informed that the damage was "impact" related and that our protection was only against normal wear and tear and did not include impact related damages.

We have been talking to a number of representatives and finally escalated it to a supervisor, feda.
I tried my best to understand what the term "impact" means, for which I did not get any satisfactory response. the supervisor became more skeptical, requested for recording the conversation which is a good thing and asked me two write to a po box.

There was no convincing answer given when asked why it has taken more than 1 month to tell us that this work order will not be honored.

More American Home Shield [AHS] reviews & complaints

American Home Shield [AHS] - the truth about ahs 83
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
American Home Shield [AHS] - unable to cancel the policy 11
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
American Home Shield [AHS] - don't trust them 22
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
American Home Shield [AHS] - rip off 19
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
American Home Shield [AHS] - beware 3
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
44 comments
J
J
John Pace
, US
Dec 03, 2023 4:39 pm EST
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

my contract fee was doubled , when i tried to cancel they used an expired credit card to continue to charge me. also charged me to end contract 117.08 , no indication in contract a fee will be charged. 6 visits to resolve a an issue with washing machine . this was the last straw.

H
H
Howard Ryan Brown
, US
Nov 06, 2023 11:03 pm EST
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

On 10/19 I signed up for AHS. I was told my new home would not be covered until 11/19. I asked to review my contract and was told I couldn't read my contract until the coverage started! This is BS. I agreed to the contract on 10/19 and demand I have access to read my specific contract prior to being obligated to it.

J
J
Jannis Rusher
, US
Oct 22, 2023 9:03 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Tue. Oct. 18. #[protected] called for refrigerator, stovetop and Venta hood was referred to Quality Service will repair on 10/17/23. CSR stated could not repair more than 3 things on the same day. I said fix the refrigerator for now and I was referred to True Vine appliance repair 10/11/23 to fix only the stove and venta hood. Fridge was canceled.

D
D
Debbie Pinard
Maineville, US
Oct 23, 2023 12:46 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I have called twice and been on hold for over an hour only to be hung up on twice. Someone needs to contact me before I take this matter further

Robert and Deborah Pinard

[protected]

Contract#[protected]

Conf#[protected]

J
J
Josh Her
, US
Sep 26, 2023 5:50 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I have been waiting for our cash payment on a pool motor and filter. Its been a year and still no resolve. This has caused me to cancel my long time contract and still cant get them to stop billing my credit card.

W
W
watchingu
Billings, US
Jul 25, 2023 10:50 pm EDT

I have had horrible customer service with this company. I opened a service request over 2 months ago, and still no response from them. Yo cannot speak to anyone because they disconnect your call. This is the worst hpme warranty company I have ever had the displeasure of dealing with. Someone needs to do something.

L
L
Lauren Horsch
, US
Jul 22, 2023 5:27 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I am trying to cancel my contract. I've had to call 3 times, no one will call me back, I wait on hold forever only to be transferred to someone else and have to repeat everything all over again. No other service I've ever subscribed to has ever been this difficult to work with or cancel.

C
C
csanders1
Hueytown, US
May 28, 2023 4:20 pm EDT

Prices go up every year. I cancelled my warranty and they charge me for the month I already paid. Stay away. If your air breaks on the weekend forget about service until the next working week.

K
K
Ken Murray
Edgarspring, US
Apr 02, 2023 11:42 pm EDT

called in a service order for a heater and have gotten a total run around and the work order was canceled twice now and have payed twice for a work order on my heater and still no heat for my home and the operator not having any idea the issue with the weather here in Missouri this week. Im a retired Veteran and on disability

E
E
Earl Michels III
Marshall, US
Jan 15, 2023 4:50 am EST

I am trying to contact American Home Shield's home office and have been unable to make contact with them. I have tried emailing customercare@ahslink.com and the email is returned and I have not been able to find any other email address. No one can resolve my issue by phone. My agreement number is [protected], my name is Earl Michels.

M
M
Ms. Perry
Stockton, US
Jan 04, 2023 7:20 pm EST

This company is AWFUL! BEWARE!

80 plus year old mother has had no hot water for 1 week. 3 representatives have over-talked, hung up, out right said"no" to escalating call to a supervisor, laughed in face, technician cannot communicate due to not speaking/comprehending english, contractor will not answer phone for 4 days, BUT ANSW'D FOR AHS

H
H
harold carmody
DUNLAP, US
Jan 02, 2023 4:19 am EST

march 23 i call/had you come out and ok the part. I have been told the part was order then it was back order the the part was coming to my home.and that it was drop off on Dec 2 it never came here please we need the tub for my wife health . your add said if we cant fix we will get you a new one !

D
D
Don Hokanson
Eads, US
Dec 26, 2022 6:43 am EST

Placed svc call on friday dec 9th...To date svc call has not been assigned to a plumber...Cannot talk do anybody that can tell me when someone is coming to repair..Long time policy holder and never experienced anthing like this.

Donald hokanson

[protected]

450 cherry road

eads, tn 38028

M
M
M-A
Los Angeles, US
Dec 10, 2022 6:15 pm EST

This scam artist of a plumber, goes to homes, does not work, claims the issues are not covered, collects his fee and moves on to his next AHS victim. He needs to be removed from the AHS contractor list. He isnt even registered with the better business bureau.

V
V
vanessa caldwell
clarksville, US
Nov 29, 2022 7:38 pm EST
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

We pay a monthly contract for home warranty. we placed and paid for a service request for our gas furnace to be fixed. Now they want us to use an outside company because they have no contractors who will work with them in our area. They won't refund money for service request or find someone to fix to fix the furnace.

E
E
Errol Samuel
Jacksonville, US
Nov 06, 2022 12:39 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

1) Screws weren't secured on microwave & screws on floor; 2) was told control panel was infested w/roaches but was not shown roach infestation & dishwasher is running fine; 3) still leaking water. CSR called 10/26/2020 @10:04am re: non- sufficient funds &relayed the above, CSR did not take note & I was hung up on when asking his name. JUST RUDE.

R
R
robertmcc
Merchantville, US
Oct 03, 2022 12:54 am EDT

I have been waiting since 8/15 for a repair and have called several times with no help from american home shield

Y
Y
Yvonne Novy-Cutler
Old Bethpage, US
Sep 15, 2022 1:16 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I recommended a friend to AHS last week. They told me they were offered an AARP discount.

I was never offered this discount when I signed up in June 2022.

I would like to have that discount applied to my account now.

T
T
Teffiney Nick Rich
, US
Aug 29, 2022 5:19 pm EDT

I started this claim in May of 22, it is now the middle of august and still no progress has been made, its getting absolutely ridiculous, a work order has now been sent to the same company 3 times, they are cancelling it because they are to far away from me. there is a couple companies in my city that work on wells but they are not with ya'll,

J
J
JRLg
EL PASO, US
Aug 15, 2022 6:14 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

My contract # [protected].

AHS is not responsive. AHS do not care about their customer's satisfaction. I live in Texas with weather around 100 degrees and AHS just do not care.

I am not sure how AHS remains in business. I am elevating this complaint to the BBB.

J
J
JohnHailey
, US
Sep 25, 2019 12:22 pm EDT

I was told my customer service that I was authorized to call a repair specialist and repair or replace my air conditioner. I sent the bill in to AHS and was informed September 4 that a check had been issued. when I called 09/19 was told no check exists. I will complain to Texas Department of insurance and BBB.

R
R
RCervantes
, US
Jul 02, 2019 12:09 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Date Incident: 6/3/19
AHS contract# [protected]
On 6/3/19 spoke to AHS rep Charles for service request on my water heater leaking in garage flooding. Sent service request [protected] to Clean rite drain Dispatch [protected]. 3 weeks waterheater has not been fixed no hot water in home. See photos attached.Negligence of service is unacceptable Repairs ne

View 0 more photos
J
J
J West 2
, US
Jun 10, 2019 7:16 pm EDT

Your customer service department is stressing me out. They assigned my work order to company that is banned from coming to my house and charge me several times. I am still working on getting refund since March. Request put I again. Now trying to get AC fix and been assigned to same company again. Sup. Hang up on me. Employees try to charge again.

I
I
iamtraveler
, US
Mar 18, 2019 5:10 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

American Home Shield is the worst company I have ever dealt with and I am 55 years old. Do not give them one dime of your money. Search elsewhere for a home warranty company! I have so many complaints about them. It would take 50 pages to tell you everything about them. DO NOT USE THEM!

R
R
Rick Jarvis
, US
Nov 20, 2018 3:19 am EST

call call call call call call
no response waited 1.5 hours on hold

G
G
gorania_h
, US
Nov 14, 2018 7:34 am EST

Requeted Repair NOT working water hear on 10/18/2018, and, They have still NOT fixed it, excuses ordered part, delay in part delivery, staff not in, delayed pert order etc
This is now 11/9/2018, water heater still NOT fixed ?

G
G
gorania_h
, US
Nov 09, 2018 12:37 am EST

How long more to get Water heater fixed, already 3 weeks and NOT DONE.

G
G
gorania_h
, US
Nov 09, 2018 12:35 am EST

Very Poor and Slow Repair Service/long delay to get water heater repaired, no hot water for almost 3 weeks now

C
C
Carolyn Browne
, US
Oct 22, 2018 4:30 am EDT

American Home shield has kept me on hold for more than 3 hours. Company has poor customer service, and you don't get a response. Need a supervisor to contact me ASAP!

S
S
ScottGab
, US
Oct 15, 2018 6:13 pm EDT

Why if the service rep repairs my water well I pay $125.00 If he can't I must pay $625.00 ?

P
P
Patrician Adams
, US
Sep 19, 2018 1:52 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

The problem was not the service the problem is that I'm getting a payment due letter of which I paid when service was done. My check has cleared so you need to talk to the company that did the job.

BrookeLeigh
BrookeLeigh
, US
Sep 10, 2018 9:27 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I have five rental properties covered by AHS. Every time I call the main number, it takes 25-40 minutes to speak with an agent. This is unexceptable.

H
H
handymanmo
, US
Sep 01, 2018 8:21 pm EDT

AHS did not renew my contract and when I inquired about renewing it, they want to charge me double the fee I was paying last year(for the same coverage) and make me wait a one month waiting period before I am covered. Basically a month paid for no coverage. I feel that this is dishonest.

T
T
Tigerhatr
, US
Aug 28, 2018 11:31 pm EDT

To much to email, I have service records and proof of fraud from your contractor, I need a return call today from someone that is in a position to fix an issue. I have had it with this run around and about to go to the BBB. Jason Williams [protected]

L
L
Loujohnia
, US
Aug 26, 2018 10:04 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Talked to 2 AHS CSR 's Alvin & Jan; Alvin didn't listen/understand what I told him & lied to me about what Brandon at Air Control Experts told him on the phone. When he lied & told me my Air Duct work was not covered due of lack of capacity, I had already explained to him the 1st Techs from American looked at wrong A/C & reported capacity issue.

A
A
arfan ali
, SA
Aug 20, 2018 5:43 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

i want complane about louis mount universt californya hes take my money about visa he is not give me visa please sir contect me i have provd voice record and picturs and send money docoment.i hope you comtect me .

T
T
Tjsartori
, US
Aug 21, 2018 1:10 am EDT

New a/c installed by America home shield now leaking and they want to charge me to fix it again.

K
K
kevin tam
, US
Aug 15, 2018 5:16 am EDT

1) unable to govern outsourced contractor to handle customer's issue.
2) outsourced contractor unprofessional. Huge ethic and moral hazard problem.

V
V
Viktoria A.
, US
Aug 15, 2018 5:49 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Air-conditioning is broken on 07/16/2018. The multiple service requests are not for filled. AHS have left my family on 110F Houston heat without air-condition for a week so far.

P
P
Patrick Carberry
, US
Aug 13, 2018 7:24 pm EDT

I have tried multiple times and have been on hold listening to elevator music waiting to talk to a Supervisor. Two of times, I was hung up on. Very bad customer service and response time.

M
M
marni yeates
, US
Sep 12, 2018 5:21 pm EDT

I had the same thing happen and I have not had my service resolved since July 2018. My daughter was throwing up because of the heat and my animals were panting. They keep closing my claims and not sending any contractors