Aeroplanmileage reinstatement

A Review updated:

I collected on behalf of my daughter (on her own account) 60, 000 miles over the years to get a ticket as her graduation present. Her miles expired on November 13/15 following one year of no activity. Less than two weeks after expirationI, on Nov 27/15, I called Aeroplan to have the miles re-instated. I was told that to re-instate the mileage I was required to pay $30 Admin fee + $600 for Mileage! I was shocked, as I have been an Aeroplan member since 1989 and collected hundred of thousands of miles on my own account. To say the least I am an Air Canada "frequent Flyer". After my call on Nov 27, I was told that I had to pursue my request through the FAQ section of the Aeroplan members site. I did. Surprised by this impersonal method, I received on Dec 4/15 an automated email from Aeroplan stating that these type of requests cannot be dealt through the website! I just called back and talked to a very polite agent, who after 20 mins of back an forth confirmed that 1) Aeroplan does not have a customer service department 2) there is No escalation process and 3) There is no Ombudsman that I can contact. Can anybody suggest what to do? This is outrageous and offensive for anybody, and particularly for somebody who's been a member for over 25 years. Alain

Responses

  • Ri
    Richard Bédard Jul 29, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was a member of the Aeroplan greed and uncompassionate luring business since 1988. Loyalty is not part of their vocabulary. I lost 72, 907 miles on 31 may 2019. I am a 30 year veteran and had no business around my town. I have had 3 surgeries and the last in June 2019 for cancer of the prostate. For a long while I coudn't travel because of health and I to wanted to redeem for a gift for my daughters wedding anniverssary travel in August. Since they took the miles away I get one to three e-mails each day to solicite my business. Shame less must I say!!!
    Richard Bédard 29 July 2019

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Maria Velletta Jan 18, 2016

    I have no more to say except I have a bad taste.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Maria Velletta Jan 18, 2016

    We went on a long trip by auto and i used her Aeroplan Card extensively at restaurants gas stations etc but the worst part after being a member for such a long time and to be kicked off without any warning and to lose a substantial amount of miles is hard to take, particularly with my husband who has been a member since the outset.

    0 Votes
  • Ae
    Aeroplan Jan 11, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Since I have 22000 Miles I would like to add to this amount

    0 Votes
  • Ae
    Aeroplan Jan 11, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My wife had a Aeroplan account that she used mainly for purchasing various merchandise and Auto re-fuelling her car and suddenly her 22000 miles were dis-continued, can they be re-installed ?

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.