ABSA i-Directvehicle claim

1
A Review updated:

On the 14th of January 2010 I've registered a vechicle accident claim wiht ABSA i-direct. I'm still waiting!! The car has been to the panelbeaters to be assesed by the assessor. Everything has been processed, just waiting for the authorisation code to be issued? Every time when I phone they say tomorrow or before the end of the week. It's been draging for more that 4 weeks, I've never experinced such bad service.

Responses

  • Ju
    Justice Kula Feb 25, 2010

    I do agree with AJ Erasmus because I ma having this problem with you I-direct.
    Only yesterday I faxed to I-direct using 086 580 4480 asking for the feedback on my
    claim and no reply from your side.

    To my understanding caretacy car is to assist me from the time of accident to the day of
    hand over of the car by panelbeaters.

    Strange that you only issue caretecy car for 30 day but it takes more than 30 day for authorisation on your side.
    Can you explain that.

    From Monday I have been calling Absa I-direct but only male voice machine telling me that
    (All consultancy are currently busy please for an assistance) then follows (We appreciate your patient)

    If it take more than 4 weeks for AJ Erasmus to get your approval or dis-approval to fix the car, that tells you have no interest
    to your clients day to day life and that not good for your Reputation

    Please find the fax I sent:

    To : ABSA i-Direct
    Attention : Mpho
    Fax No. : 086 580 4480
    Claim on Opel Corsa Utility 1.8 DJX 586 EC
    Policy number: 005 004 02 * 001 * 001
    Policy Holder : Justice Kula
    This is to bring to your attention that I do not have a feedback from your side on progress for the claim of the above.
    I called I-direct many times using the following numbers : 0861 434 7328, 0860 109 693, 011 3302111and 011 225 7211.
    Only 011 225 7211 and 0861 434 7328 responded which they always up me to claim department that makes me to follow instruction leading me to hold until I get to a point of dropping the phone.
    It’s been two weeks and there is no progress on the car and when I ask the car body works they don’t know what’s going on.
    Your assistance in this matter would be greatly appreciated and hopefully this matter can be resolved urgently.
    Yours faithfully
    Justice Kula
    Cont. 083 284 1949, 043 722 3858
    Fax No. 043 722 3797
    E-mail- [email protected] ; [email protected]

    1 Votes
  • Ri
    RitadP May 21, 2010

    I had the same experience with Absa iDirect. I submitted my car accident claim on 7 April 2010. Today is 21 May 2010 and my car has still not been fixed. Two days ago they phoned me to ask me again for the person’s information that drove into my car. The service is pathetic to say the least. This is my first time that I had to claim for anything from insurance and my first car accident. The whole experience is a nightmare. I’m definitely going to change insurance companies the moment I can.

    1 Votes
  • Va
    VAN WIJK May 30, 2010

    I AM HAVING THE SAME EXPERIENCE AT THE MOMENT AND THIS IS ONGOING FROM THE 05 MARCH 2010. MY CAR IS NOW EVEN WORSE OFF THAN WHAT IT WAS AFTER COLLECTING IT FROM THE PANELBEATER ON FRIDAY THE 28 MAY 2010. NO ONE ANSWERS THERE PHONE IN THE CLAIMS DEPARTMENT . YOU CAN PHONE AND PHONE AND LEAVE MESSAGES.

    Your assistance in this matter would be greatly appreciated and hopefully this matter can be resolved urgently.
    Yours faithfully

    VAN WIJK
    0829638830

    0 Votes
  • Lo
    Lotay Aug 25, 2010

    1. I have complained numerous times about ABSA ATM machines continuously being out of paper or off line at month end. I end up having to go to the oppsition who does not seem to have this problem. 2. Attitude of some ABSA branches & head office is poor when it comes to customer service complaints. 3. ABSA policy now requires me to not only give my ID or drivers lisence but also to complete a form before I may be issued with a bank statement. For security reasons I do not opt for Internet & cell phone banking. This is most irritating and a waste of time. I agree fraud is at the order of the day but there must be a simpler system e.g. finger print scanning etc. This is primitive and raises my blood pressure when a long faced help desk employee has to help me, and this for a statement. By the way - I asked that my accounts be linked, was assured there is no problem yet it gives me error message on ATM. So whether I go inside bank or at ATM I am stuffed in getting what I need. Have raised this with bank manager and regional manager and the policy remains, I have to complete the form. I am beside myself with anger over this. Find other ways to check my security. Cust. Serv. useless!

    0 Votes
  • Ne
    neels faber Feb 17, 2011

    on the 25January 2011 i where involved in a accident with my bakkie.
    the claim process where finilized on the 31January2010
    but where my problem came in is withRenew it panelbeaters where my bakkie where taken and now choice where given to me where it should go
    from the 03Februarie till now the 17February the bakkie are not fixed as yet
    the only things to be done where the bumper, mudguard and light
    the dates given by Tony at Renew it is every day diffrent when you contact them first it where the 15 then the 20th then the 22nd and final the 28 maybe?when the accessor phoned me i where informed that its 60 hours of work to fix the bakkie.so where does the miscommunication come in at this stage, as im still waiting for my bakkie
    thanks Neels Faber 074 860 8539

    0 Votes
  • La
    LazarusN Apr 26, 2011

    I have just submitted a claim and I hope I am not going to experience the same problems, but if I do, ill go as far as the ombudsman... ABSA can just try beating me around the bush... I have no time for their bull$hit... I know that their helpline sucks coz I called and waited over 10 minutes before I could get assistance for roadside, which I am logging a complaint to ABSA now... I mean seriously, imagine if I really needed them in real emergency, I would probably be dead five times over... if I do get crap service, I will leave ABSA insurance once my car is done... I have never had this problem with Budget or MiWay...

    0 Votes
  • Si
    Sizwe Cele Apr 29, 2011

    The accident took place on the 30th of March 2011, and on the same date the claim was launched. After three weeks of waiting(with no updates on the proccess), I received an SMS confirming the Claim approval. The next morning, I decided to check with the panel beaters to see if really the claim had been approved. They were given the "go-ahead", but they were advised to use PIRATE PARTS (generic) to fix my car in order to cut the costs!

    When I called ABSA Direct about that, they promised to call me back and that was the last time I had anything from them. I've tried several times to call them, but can't get any help from them! The worse part is that "the caretacy car is due to return on the 30th of April 2011".

    The service I have received from ABSA Direct is incomparably BAD!

    Sizwe Cele - 0829696993

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    shct May 25, 2011

    This company has been pulling $80.00 a month from my checking account. I thought it was service charges from directv, but have since found similar complaints online. They are no better than street thugs, at least muggers have to exert physical energy when they steal. lazy dishonest sob's.

    0 Votes
  • Bt
    BT kelso May 31, 2011

    I had a geyser that was leaking about 4 weeks ago Absa send out a contractor to come and look at it. Oh the contractor says nothing is wrong and he gaurentees that the geyser does not have to be replaced.
    Come Saterday morning at 02:00 am Woosh the water is running down the walls and the whole floor is wet after they just fixed the painting on the ceiling and walls this Wednesday past... I am so furious who the HELL do they think is going to pay all this money again for the geyser people and for the people who painted the walls and ceiling due to the damage of the GEYSER!!!

    0 Votes
  • Mt
    M. Taffara Jun 23, 2011

    I have been struggling to access my accounts via the internet for the past month. Either I get the message "Internet Explorer cannot display this page" or I get onto the home page and then I get automatically logged off. I cannot run my business and personal accounts like this. IT IS EXTREMELY FRUSTRATING!! I need to make urgent transfers and cannot do this. When I then have to go and make cash deposits to pay people, I'm charged with a cash deposit fee by some companies. This is simply unacceptable and needs to be addressed.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Chobe Jul 02, 2011

    Ek is tans woonagtig in Botswana en kan nie op die internet my rekening betaal nie!! Is die heeltyd logged off.

    0 Votes
  • Se
    Sean Kruger Aug 20, 2011

    We get paid Us dollar into our account. We have to phone the bank half to lick their behind to get our own money yet after they charge a fee to do the transaction. Secondly I can not see in this modern way of living why there cant be international bankers on duty on Saturdays as well. Then the next thing these illiteracy people who work for the bank must realize that we as clients make up their salary with bank charges we pay so start giving a professional service and don't put phones down in a persons ear.
    I think ABSA must wake up in life. They give ### service to clients.

    0 Votes
  • Se
    Sean Kruger Aug 21, 2011

    Hi I do not have problem on the charges they charge but the big problem is the illiteracy of the employees who cant finalize a transaction and them when it time to go home put the phone down in your ear and let you wait a whole weekend just because the bank does not have a international banker to help over weekends. You must remember the money deposited is not the banks money it is a clients money and the service charged for using there facility is bank money. I am saying banks must treat clients with better service as without us a bank and there employees are nothing

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Rozz Atanassova Oct 27, 2011

    Thank you very much for your feedback. Please note that we are active on our Facebook page (http://www.facebook.com/Absa.Bank
    ) and we encourage you to engage with us there, alternatively please e-mail your details to [email protected] and we will get in touch with you.

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    Hannes Bester Nov 15, 2011

    I am currently ensured with Absa i-direct, I was involved in a car accident on 19 September 2011, I reported the accident the following day (20 September 2011). Absa referred me to Auto Magic in Centurion for an assessment on the damage, Auto Magic indicated that they won't be able to repair the car as the damage was not fit for them to repair. A couple of days there after a representative phoned to inform me that i need to take my car to a different Centre for repairs and i wanted to know if another assessment needed to be done by them, he said no. He also replied that a consultant will phone me shortly for arrangements to be done accordingly, nothing happened, about two weeks after that i phoned Absa and wanted to know the status of the Claim, where to go? and what to do? a consultant informed me that the consultant that handled my claim was on leave and another will come back to me shortly with all the detail. Today is thee 15the of November 2011 and I am still waiting for some one to get back to me, I already spent the money kept aside for the excess payment. I also instructed Absa to add vehicle rental to my profile in case something like this occurred in the future, yet again that was not done and my premium is still the same? I have never experienced service like this in my entire life!!! I am disgusted and I think Absa should be ashamed of the way they treat their customers and the manner in witch they do business!!! can we as consumers expect any reaction/action regarding this matter seeing that so many people complain about the service?

    P.J. Bester

    082 371 9117

    0 Votes
  • Yu
    Yusuf Moosa Dec 12, 2011

    My mum passed away 4 months ago and despite having to sort out all the provident fund information with the trustees in October, the monies have still not been paid out to the family. This is unacceptable and eveytime we call either Elize or Azima, we are told that they are giving this matter their urgent attention, which is obviously not the case if they can take 1, 5 months to make an "URGENT" payout. We are being shunted from pillar to post and no one is taking accountability to ensure that this matter is sorted out. We want ABSA to enusre that the monies are paid out to the family before the 16th December 2011!!!

    0 Votes
  • Yu
    Yusuf Moosa Dec 12, 2011

    I totally agree and ABSA is notorious for dragging their feet with everyting they do. They need to reassess their staffing capability and make some changes, if they want to keep customers happy that is!

    0 Votes
  • Ah
    ahrendse Nov 13, 2012

    i hadthe same problem with my geyser. blow me down the line it happened again. everytime they replace the eliment and there is no hot water at all. my roof is leaking and the assesor tells me it needs to be fixed, but turns the claim down everytime.

    0 Votes
  • Fe
    ferial Feb 03, 2014

    Untrained staff

    Dear Abs
    Your staff is the reason why Abs gets a bad name from there clients so please sort out your staff. I am very pissed of how people don't take there work seriously.This is to Maritsa Strydom who works at ABSA Kenilworth who made a mess with my check account, she worked at Claremont ABSA branch and was Enquiry clerk setting up my dept orders from my savings to check account. She made a mess of it due to her my Bond was not paid on the 1 Feb 2014 and i have to go back to Claremont branch to do it al over again. I know nothing will be done about this complain. I will be billed extra for late payments and extra charges not MARITSA STRYDOM of ABSA Kenilworth.

    Regards
    CLient

    0 Votes
  • Dr
    DR. Nkosi Feb 10, 2014

    Absa Idirect insurance is like robbery at day light, I'm also ensured by Absa Idirect and my car was involved in an accident in November 2013 and it couldn't move after the accident which means no transport for me up until now. Absa Idirect only approved the claim in Jan 2014, the rented car was only provided for 30 days, the assessor recommended that they don't fix all the dameges on my car, I was never advised about what is approved and not approved, towards the end of Jan 2014 the panelbeaters informed me that my car was complete, I went to check the car and it was still not moving and some damegis at the back were not fixed, when I enquired i was told that they only fixed what was approved by the insurance, I phone the insurance and they referred me to the assessor who rudely told me that the insurance approval was based on his assessment that the other dameges were as a result of previous ecident and NOT this accident, therefore, they will not be fixed I should take my car as it is and he doesnt want to discuss further about this issue, I must take my car to AA for technical inspection.

    My concern:

    The damegis were not there before this accident
    The car was moving prior to the accident
    The previous accident was also fixed by Absa insurance recommended panelbeaters
    Absa Idirect can't even bring my car back home as they picked it up not drivable
    I still don't still don't have transport as my car is not fixed and I am told to take my car to AA for Technical inspection while it's NOT drivable.

    Why did I have the car insurance when I now have to suffer like this??????

    DR. Nkosi

    072 583 7801

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    Vincent Chauke Feb 17, 2014

    I insured my car with ABSA Idirect and my car was damaged through hail. This happened on the 28th of November 2013 and ABSA Idirect only collected the car on the 18th of December. They declared my car as a write off and they didn't even bother to inform me. I have been calling them since until I spoke to Nair who sent me the detailed report for assessment. Assessment report came out on the 17th of January but I am still waiting for the payout. Everyday they tell me it will be done tomorrow, next week or the administrator will come back to you and he never does. They ended up giving me contact number for the person in charge by the name of Sithee Naidoo but he does not pick his phone. The problem now I don't have a car and I am unable to buy another car since
    I am still paying for the car that does not exist anymore.

    ABSA service sucks

    V.M Chauke
    0732122637

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    MARCELLEC2 Apr 24, 2014

    I phoned this morning @08:00 and was told that a consultant will call me before 12:00 - I called back again at 12:10 and asked if they are aware that I am trying to lodge a claim as nobody had responded. I was then told that the consultant EMILY will call me back - well it is almost 13:00 and still no call. Why do ABSA employ the most inept staff available, don't they realise that they need the likes of me and the other complainants to keep them in the insurance business??? I made sure I called early as I need a courtesy vehicle... What is wrong with ABSA????? This is beyond pathetic. Marcelle Clarke policy number : 00651908 - call me 0845638809 urgently - ABSA should get rid of those lazy consultants they employ, I'm sure they will do better with people that actually care.

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    Badanile May 29, 2014

    I lodged a claim on the 02nd of May and I have been having the run around with Absa indirect. The consultants are very rude, I spoke to one yesterday and he rudely told me that they were waiting for other docs from the loss controller who is currently on study leave. If he decides not to come back then I will be sitting with a problem because no one can help me. I'm really disillusioned with Absa I direct. The car is still parked in my garage and no one communicates with me. Mr Mkhontwana 084 250 2569 policyno: 00504542

    0 Votes
  • Th
    Tholoana02 Jun 30, 2014

    Eish i.m going through the same...I never went through such experience in my life. The courtesy car expired before they even took my car for repairs. I waited more than 7
    weeks for authorisation code...Pathetic service. How is this website helping us i dont see any responses...

    0 Votes
  • Th
    Tholoana02 Jun 30, 2014

    ABSA IDIRECT ...i HATE THIS EXPERIENCE AND I WILL NEVER EVER FORGET WHAT I WENT THROUGH WITH YOUR COMPANY. SINCE MAY I HAD TO REMIND IDIRECT HOW TO DO THEIR JOB ---THEY DONT CARE NXAAAA

    1 Votes
  • Sh
    Shariffa Ismail Sep 25, 2014

    I am currently facing the same problem, no one at the claims answers calls or keeps you Updated. My claim was submitted on the 17th Sep 2014 and to date no ones even been to see my car to assess it at the panel beater. When we pay our premiums on time why should we receive such bad service. The funny thing is, the guy that smashes me is also insured with Absa, and his was a company vehicle and his car is almost fixed! Is it because we are private individuals and not a company that Absa I direct chooses to treat us this way?
    With all these complaints being posted, is there anyone from Absa actually addressing
    Their poor service delivery?
    Mrs S ismail

    1 Votes
  • No
    Nomthyv Apr 07, 2015

    I am also insured by ABSA idirect and just had an accident last week. i'm really shocked by what people are saying about ABSA. I hope for the best with my claim.

    NV Manana

    0 Votes
  • No
    Nomthyv May 14, 2015

    Absa Idirect is the worst company on earth. I urge anyone who is their client to cancel it before you learn the hard way like some of us did!!!

    0 Votes
  • Gu
    Gugu M. Jul 30, 2015

    I am also insured by Absa idirect and had an accident on the 3 July 2015, after i read comments and complaints about Absa idirect i was shocked and scared whats gonna happened on my claim, but am glad to say my claim went successful until the end, i never experience all this that said about Absa idirect, as we speak my car was paid off now am looking for a new car.

    0 Votes
  • Wi
    Wilyp Mar 30, 2016

    Policy number 00059953*005 - MR W Phago

    On the 17th November 2015, I was in a motor vehicle accident, I registerd my claim with my insurance company absa Idirect and my claim consultant was Mrs Lisle Hood's.


    The accident happened during the lunch hours of the day where a Truck Driver reversed on to my car, causing damage to the front section as well as the rear bumper minor scrtches and admitted guilt as he said he did not see me.Police accident report was compiled by both the Truck Driver and myself at Morningside Police Station.


    During the claim process I was unfairly treated as I had penaltie's which were later withdrawn and thus causing confusion as to who to claim from. (Third party or my insurance)


    The vehicle damage assessment was done by Absa Idirect assesor called Alec.He assessed the car and concluded it as a posible repair. The second assessor from third party insurance also went and assessed the car and advised that the car is a complete right off as the engine wont start.He said the engine is not sparking.


    Alec from Absa was asked to reassess the vehicle by myself, as there was a little confusion coming from both the assessors. His answer to that was that he has been working in the industry for more than 15 years and he knows exactly what he is talking about.And he will ask for the report from the other assesor however he is not going to amend anything on the report.


    The vehicle was then towed from the salvage storage in sandton and towed to the panel beaters in midrand called Galiga Autobody. Galiga Auto BODY, repaired the body damages and told me that the car was complete however it does not have compression from the engine side, a lady called Michelle called and advised me on that. She also advised me that the vehicle will be taken to an agent to assess as to what is the cause of the problem.The car went to Linda Saker, the engine is stripped and there are engine components in the boot. And I am being told to come and collect the car.


    The vehicle was taken to Lindsay Saker in Edenvale where the report came back as the cause of the engine failure is not accident related.Prior to the car been involved in an accident, I was driving it myself and I can confirm that there was no problem with the car. It never had any compression issues nor anything failing in the engine.During the accident there was a grinding noise coming from the front before turning the engine off and Alec was alerted of that.And luckily it happened right in front of my workplace where more than 8 people were watching.


    Absa Idirect is now telling me that they won't entertain the engine claims as it was not caused by the accident. Please advise me what is the solution as I have been for almost five months without a car now, and I have never missed a single premium.

    -1 Votes
  • Ph
    Phago Mar 31, 2016

    Is this website really working? I am not seeing any response

    0 Votes
  • Ar
    A Reddy May 21, 2016

    I am a platinum client of ABSA for a good few years and have many accounts with the bank. I am also a business owner of not one but two businesses and both the accounts are held by ABSA. I have various other accounts with this bank including a home loan.
    I have introduced my family to ABSA and they all have dealings with the bank.
    My mum sold her home and invested her funds with this bank.
    I issued two cheques of small amounts and called the bank and requested they do not RD the cheques as I have a huge payment made to my business account the day before from another bank, as it's show up the next evening. The lady that I had spoken to ignored my request on holding on to the cheques just for a few hours and RD them. This is now put a negative record on my account because of inconsideration to good clients.

    0 Votes
  • Fh
    Fhulu Jun 11, 2016

    On the 20th of May 2016 I've registered a vehicle accident claim (00557369*005*004) with ABSA i-direct. I'm still waiting!! The car has been to the panel beaters and has assessor on 30th May 2016. Quote, send to Wesley for the authorisation code to be issued? Every time when I phone he says tomorrow or before the end of the week. It's been dragging for more that 2-3 weeks, he said the problem the quote is too high; the company authorize him to do anything as part of verification including provoking. I've never experienced such bad service. He is now provoking my wife and causing dispute to my family looking for loophole for avoiding payment.

    I have a courtesy car. To my understanding caretecy car is to assist me from the time of accident to the day of hand over of the car by panelbeaters.

    Strange that you only issue caretecy car for 30 day but it takes more almost 30 or more day for authorisation on your side.
    Can you explain that?
    Regards
    Fhulu
    0729551218

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    Rashids Jun 21, 2016

    I submitted a claim on the 26 May 2016, the car has been sent to the panel beaters to be assessed, I am still waiting for the authorization for my car to be repaired, it is almost a month now, my claim number is: 00648909*002*003, the person that is suppose to help is Thandeka, contact numbers is: 071 361 9230 or 011 501 8146, terrible service,

    0 Votes
  • Li
    lisborn May 05, 2017

    am so shocked I also insurd my car with absa direct its now 5weeks the car is with panelbeaters its assessed but still waiting for authorisation, they always promise to call but not calling instead am the one calling them, the service I receive is very unacceptable and poor, i rented a car and now problems occured

    0 Votes
  • Be
    [email protected] May 24, 2018

    So many scammers on here! I got help finally. Happy to share my experience and help others.

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Rebotile Mabelane Jun 30, 2018

    Absa i direct won't stop deducting money from my account.im an absa user, my vehicle is financed by absa.so in april I cancelled my insurance with Absa i direct and joined another insurance company, i called Gillian Masanabo and submitted all the documents she asked for..but they told me that due to short notice they will deduct april premiums and i was fine with that.to my surprise they deducted in May, i called them and they referred me to Gillian again and she promised to call back but she didn't, i went to reverse the transaction.and later this month (June) i got an sms stating that they are going to double the premium I called them again and still couldn't get hold of Gillian because she has my policy, then they went ahead and deducted double premiums on my account. I'm so disappointed in the conduct of Absa i direct so so disappointed.i have an insurance but they still follow me around with other insurance companies when you don't pay a premium they don't cover you and they let you go..so with absa i direct I really don't know what they want.Gillian is so rude and unprofessional.. I'm not happy with this conduct
    Mabelane M.R 0791258602

    0 Votes
  • Zu
    Zukomduba Jul 01, 2018

    I submitted a claim to ABSA Idirect which was approved but to my amazement the repairs to my car have not yet been done but there they are increasing my premium.
    I find this very strange as they have not yet paid for the repairs and I might cancel the claim and repair my own car repayment of which would be far less than the increased premium.

    I am totally not happy with this.

    BZ Mduba
    Cell 072 170 8362
    Address [email protected]

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    In The News

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem