Having problems with Sallie Mae Bank?

File a complaint and get it resolved. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!
Proudly resolving consumer concerns since 2004

Sallie Mae Bank Customer Service Contacts

1844 827 7478 (School Assist)
+1 855 756 5626 (New Student Loans)
+1 800 472 5543 (Existing Student Loans)
+1 877 346 2756 (Savings Products)
+1 877 978 1710 (Upromise GoalSaver Accounts)
+1 888 279 2828 (Upromise by Sallie Mae)
+1 302 451 4912 (School Assist)
+1 877 456 6221 (School Assist)
300 Continental Drive
Newark, Delaware
United States - 19713

ComplaintsBoard.com is not affiliated, associated, authorized, endorsed by, or in any way officially connected with Sallie Mae Bank Customer Service. Initial Sallie Mae Bank complaints should be directed to their team directly. You can find contact details for Sallie Mae Bank above.

ComplaintsBoard.com is an independent complaint resolution platform that has been successfully voicing consumer concerns since 2004. We are doing work that matters - connecting customers with businesses around the world and help them resolve issues and be heard.

Use this comments board to leave complaints and reviews about Sallie Mae Bank. Discuss the issues you have had with Sallie Mae Bank and work with their customer service team to find a resolution.

Sallie Mae Bank Complaints & Reviews

Sallie Mae Bankaccount security

Their 'redesigned' website forces existing customers to submit their FULL Social Security Number AND their Birthdate in the same webform to regain access to their account.

No only is this a ridiculous ask ('security questions' are already in place to use as verification) but it has the capability of undermining the security of client accounts.

Regardless of whether it's over an https connection, this is extremely irresponsible as it exposes the data to interception on the client side.

I am moving my money to a financial institution with a better understanding of web security vulnerabilities and client account protection.

Add your opinion

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Sallie Mae Bank — personal loan

    I wanted to consolidate my debt and in the mail came an advertisement from sallie Mae for a pre-approved...

    Sallie Mae Bank — Parent Student Loans

    Sallie Mae quotes a fixed interest rate in the range of 5.74-11.85 You must complete and submit the...

    The complaint has been investigated and
    resolved to the customer's satisfaction
    Resolved
    Sallie Mae Bankfraudulent accounting practices

    I have been fighting with Sallie Mae for years, I contacted the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau who assisted me with getting a history of my student loan. I found a payment that had not been applied to my loan for over 8 years, I was charged late fees during my forbearance, multiple payments applied to one month then the previous month or the month after shows no payment applied, the full payment amount was applied to a past due amount and late fees were charged. Sallie Mae refunded me over 2 years of late fees and applied the 8 year old payment, but not one penny went to the past due. Demand monthly statements so you can see what is happening to your account. WWW.sallimaeiswrong.com is a good site to help you contact the right agencies to help you.

    Add your opinion

      By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

      Sallie MaeStudent loan fraud

      Never sign a loan with Sallie Mae! First to begin with how they handled my grandfather's account. My grandfather died in August 2013 and immediately we received a letter from Sallie Mae stating that his loan had defaulted. My grandfather had co-signed for my cousin. My mother offered Sallie Mae $15, 000, which Sallie Mae accepted and later they officially released my grandfather from the account. We have a letter signed by a Sallie Mae agent. However, they began sending letters to my dead grandfather and calling my family (we live in my grandfather's house) looking for my cousin. We had already given Sallie Mae her contact information. We repeatedly told Sallie Mae to stop calling us and sending letters to a dead man! However, they refused to. Suddenly, they began telling us that my mother made a payment and that they don't have proof that my grandfather is dead! I am speechless on how low they would go. We had sent them a death certificate twice now and they still deny the fact that my grandfather is dead. I am beyond emotionally distressed.


      Then for my own account. Where do I begin? How about Sallie Mae writing unauthorized checks and causing my bank account to become overdrawn three times? How about Sallie Mae telling me that I don't care about my account, because I explained to them that I am currently injured and can't work? What about the fact that my uncle made two payments for me and they are not listed in my payment history? Now last week I spoke to man named Rob and he told me that my last payment was in April, therefore Sallie Mae is legally able to send my account to collections for default on July 31st. Now I'm being told that I never made a payment. I am so tired of Sallie Mae. I can't sleep, I can't breath, and I feel helpless because Sallie Mae knows that they are protected by the law. They can mess around with people and drive them crazy, because they believe that they are above the law!


      Well, guess what? They'll have to sue me to get the money. When I am summoned to court, then I will petition a class action suit for emotional distress. I am ready for it. I know that I am not the only dealing with lies from Sallie Mae. You make payments, but somehow according to Sallie Mae then this never happened. "We need proof." How many times must I send them the death certificate for my dead grandfather before they leave us alone? I am so tired, but God is going to help me. But I want help for everyone. Let's start a class action suit!

      Add your opinion

        By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

        We are here to help

        • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
        • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
        • Honest and unbiased reviews
        • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free

        The complaint has been investigated and
        resolved to the customer's satisfaction
        Resolved
        Sallie MaeDisrganized flaw - filled poor excuse of a lender

        At Sallie Mae they may make major changes on your account and wont take the time to notify the borrower. They also completely ignore information you send to them, as with a letter telling them you will be moving abroad for one year to take part in a volunteer program and requesting a deferment. It happened to me. When this happened I had already graduated from a 4 year university and was about to begin payments as it had almost been 6 months. As I was planning to go abroad for one year to take part in a volunteer program, I sent them a letter telling that and also asking for a one year deferment. On the phone call I made they sure enough confirmed the deferment for one year so I thought I would be fine as I would be back in one year. Little did I know that they had made major changes on my account that had nothing to do with the letter I sent them. What happened was I had taken a summer school class at a community college that summer I was planning to leave the country. So at Salliemae they had completely change everything, specifically changing my status to being a student that will be graduating all over again and this time from a community college, hence the deferment they granted, completely unrelated to my real plans and not the deferment I was asking for in the letter sent, the letter they chose to completely ignore. So I go abroad for one year just to come back to a tarnished credit record. Be careful if you have to use Salliemae as a lender. They will make major changes on your account without notification or verification, and they will completely ignore letters you send to them, even letters with vital information telling them you are moving to another country and need a deferment. In trying to get this corrected I also ran into some incompetent and unprofessional people. Some workers at Salliemae need to be fired and it is probably because of them that this lending company has a bad rap. They are careless, unethical and wont really want to help you. Best not to deal with this unprofessional, disorganized and flaw-filled company, so if at all possible I would advise any potential borrower to borrow from a different lending company.

        Add your opinion

          By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

          The complaint has been investigated and
          resolved to the customer's satisfaction
          Resolved
          Sallie MaeWe aren't the people that owe anything

          We have received phones calls, non-stop since December from Sallie Mae. They have the wrong person as validated by the last 4 digits of my husband's SS #. He has called them, they said they would correct the information in their system. That was weeks ago. We are still receiving letters every other day or so, as well, even after writing return to sender. Not at this address, on the envelope.
          We are in our late 50's with children who have NO debt. They have mistaken us for another person of the same name.

          Help!!!

          Add your opinion

            By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

            The complaint has been investigated and
            resolved to the customer's satisfaction
            Resolved
            Sallie Mae — Harassing Phone Calls

            My Step son took this loan and I was his co-signer. Apparently he has not paid and I have been paying thi...

            The complaint has been investigated and
            resolved to the customer's satisfaction
            Resolved
            Sallie Mae, Wilkes-Barre, PennsylvaniaLack of respect or compassion

            I have a student loan with Sallie Mae and I went back to school to further my education and the day that I pulled out of school for the birth of my child they have been calling and harassing me day and night. They send me threatening letters and voicemails. I have been having trouble paying the minimum payment but I have been paying on the interest. They are now threatening to send my account to collections. Every time I talk to them to set something up they claim there isn't any assistance that I qualify for but then they call and leave messages saying that there are. So which is it??? These people are crooks. If I would have known this was the result of going back to school to do better for my family then I would have never done it. I hope this company goes belly up because with as many people out of work these days it is very difficult to make these $2000.00/month payments they are demanding. Who makes that kind of money. I am a single parent and living day to day and doing what I can to feed, clothe and house my children. They will get their money when I can give it.

            Add your opinion

              By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

              Sallie MaePersecting the Poor

              Sallie Mae is asking me for $2000.00 per month and I do not even earn that much money. I am extremely financially disadvantaged. I gave them a retirement check and they refused to acknowledge it and after I screamed and shouted for 30 minutes, they finally acknowledged it was posted on August 8, 2013. They continue to hike the fee up an extra $2000.00 each month and then have the unmitigated gall to refuse income sensitive repayment applications or extended repayment options. I went on line and the site automatically calculated that I could pay as low as $384.00 per month, according to my income and other expenses. I have to pay rent. If I do not pay rent, I become homeless and unemployed. They call me at least 72 times in one 24 hour period and adamantly refuse to make notes in my account that I will pay $500.00 per month until I can do better. People need to earn a six figure salary for what they are asking and I do not earn six figures. When you do try to pay them something, they hound and harass you so much, and it appears they do not want you to at least try to comply so you will be in debt to them even after death. I have made Sallie Mae my beneficiary, so they have employed the psychological tactic of terrorizing me via email and on the phone in order to cause an expedited death, e.g., heart attack and stroke. If there is anyone out there that can do anything to stop this organization with their mafiastic, cartel type terrorization, I would be greatly appreciative. I am so fed up, I do not see the point of trying to send anything to them. They have absolutely no right to demand money that people do not earn. If I earned it, they could have it. If I won the lottery, they could have that, but I simply do not have any money to spare. I strongly urge people to band together and file a petition, and to not pay them anything until they curtail their tactics, become honest, and I would also strongly urge that no one borrow from them. It will be as if you had joined the mafia and they will hunt you down until you are dead and even come after you when you are dead.

              Add your opinion

                By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                Sallie Maecheating and find way to impose on penalty without letting you know, the are conspiracy going on to cheat student off.

                I send in my defer status of the loan, they don't process the date as request, this way they find way to impose on penalty.
                They also change my original loan doc. promissory note, which it does not allow tthem to impose certain type of interest on my unsub. loan. I request them to take a look at my origina promissoryl note but they never care to do so, so they can impose a lot of interest. There conspiracy going where they are cheating studdents with all their penalty. I really help, please help me...

                Add your opinion

                  By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                  The complaint has been investigated and
                  resolved to the customer's satisfaction
                  Resolved
                  Sallie MaeStudent Loan Payment Changed

                  My monthly payments, which I agreed to because it's what I can afford, were changed by Sallie Mae. They increased my payments from $89.00/mo to $276.00/mo without my agreement after I had agreed to do direct debit. My agreement for direct debit was based on the original payments of $89.00. How the hell are they allowed to just increase my payment? Why has this country given them carte blanche to do whatever they want to do without any constraints? I cannot afford this so my only option is to again stop payments until they agree to lower them back to what I can afford...I hate these people...I hate that this government has given them power to abuse and enforce unfair policy.

                  Add your opinion

                    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                    The complaint has been investigated and
                    resolved to the customer's satisfaction
                    Resolved
                    Sallie Maecustomer servcie

                    I have had a number of issues with Sallie Mae. the customer service is horrible and i have been told payment dates will be changed i recorded the phone conversation since every time i get information form Sallie Mae customer service i am misinformed or something changes. the company spoke to me and my co-signer who is my father. they agreed to change my due date and even sent me a letter indicating the change. next thing i know we are getting calls saying the account is past due. i told them i have the new letter informing me of the change as well as a recorded conversation with their rep stating the date had been changed. they told me the conversation was not noted on the day in question and that they are unable to get the exact notes from that day. this is not the first time they messed up, the recently charged my checking account multiple times due to a computer error when i set up my automatic payments also. when i called they did apologize for the computer error and charging me twice but i was informed by a supervisor that there is no system in place to return funds that have been debited. i asked Sallie Mae since it was their error couldn't they just $0 out my next payment. the supervisor i spoke with said he put in the request and i would be contacted with 72 hours. that was over 3 months ago i ave written their customer service and never got a response. the company is so bad that my bank (bank of America) actually cancelled the transaction which was a duplicate of my payment because they have seen the issue before with Sallie Mae. I even have recorded calls that were taken on the same day where i call and ask for my account information including balance and then i immediately call back and get told something else. i think there is some type of fraud going one personally because the reps are untrained and unable to give accurate information. this is by far the worst lender and the worst customer service and the amount of complaints the company has online is more ant other lender in the u.s.

                    Add your opinion

                      By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                      The complaint has been investigated and
                      resolved to the customer's satisfaction
                      Resolved
                      Argosy and Sallie MaeScams

                      Both Argosy and Sallie Mae took my school money and Sallie Mae is charging me money for the money both the university and Sallie Mae both divided and making me pay for. I attended Argosy University from March 10, 2009 thru October 15, 2009. I was rushed in by Ben Binus. After that I never heard from him again. I was 7-10 days late in the class. It stated around March 3. The class ended May 10th, I never got my books until around May 12, 2009. This was after the class ended. While in this class. Which was to be a doctrate class. I received a literal demand I must sign up to go to Chicago to meet the professors for my residency. I go what? The residency is usually at the end of the program. Anyway I explained I could not go. I was and am an overseas teacher. The residency was like weekend class and they were insistant. But it was not but a few weeks, I had just enrolled in the Organization Management class. The professor was rude to one of the students. She had made an F and she was saying in a few words, I want to make the grade up. She was wanting to sign up with him and he had not responded, to her. And he going to giving an other F to her. I just got in the class. There I am with no books. The books never arrived until May 10, 2009 at the end of the class. In April I kept receiving correspondance to sign up for the residancy. Anyway the next class they were saying even if I took the second class I would get an F if I didn't go to the residency. Who goes to a residency at the beginning of a doctrate program. I had only read they were at the end of the doctrate program. Well, they were said the next class connected to the residency class and you must go to Chicago. It would be a week-end workshop. I explained I could not go. It was on June 4, 2009 and it ended on June 7th. I am an overseas teacher and could not go. My students would end the year and I would too, on June 11th. They needed me to ended their second grade school year and I would need to pack out my room for next year. Anyway, they university assistant said if I didn't go the workshop I would get an F in the second class. I started that class and the professor was horrible, too. My next was to started on August 2, and I had to attend a NEA convention, because I was a delegate. My books once again did not arrive for the third class. This professor great. Even with out the books I was doing research like I did the other classes. This was a very good professor. But I became ill. I had a breat cancer scare and I needed surgery. I request that the university assistant know I would need to leave the university. By this time I had had about 15 university assistants. Each you time I needed speak to them, they were always new.
                      When I contacted the university they said I would need to play $1800 and all the money from Sallie Mae was returned. Since leaving Argosy I felt no should attend there it was a horrible experience. I cringle when thinking about. In speaking to Sallie mae which I am paying als. But Sallie mae has me oweing 4 loans. I attended March 10 - Sept 15. But the new course would start October 15. And I corresponded with the university assistant at that time. I am so upset, because I had a dream to get my doctrate. They push me thru so fast. I was given this promissary workshops will I am telling them I wanted to pay my bill myself. And you signed all you paperwork to attend. Anyway I owe Sallie Mae
                      2 loans 03/12/09 original loan 4, 250.00 and an outstanding principal of 4, 668.11 with their interest rate of 6.800 and their loan program FFELP; 03/12/09 1, 149.00 the original loan amount and an outstanding principal of 1, 331.72 with an interest rate oif 6.800 and the loan Program FFELP.
                      Also, I owe 2 more loans 07/06/09, the original loan $4, 250.00 and an outstanding principal of 4, 693.34 with a interest rate of 6.800 and from FFELP; and a final loan of 574.00 and an outstanding principal of 664.99 and the interest rate is 6.800 and it is also a FFELP. I mean this is so scammy. I had heard about Sallie Mae. I never wanted to get involved with this company. Even though you pay them they constantly call you every day. They write you threating you letters and warning you. They have already messed up my credit. They are threating to take your medicare. I am 66 years old. If you pay them, they will still threat to ganish your money. They are horrible. I have written BBB and all the credit unions.But they have continued complain. Can President Help here?

                      Add your opinion

                        By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                        Sallie MaeDerogatory Phone Calls

                        I had surgery and am not back at work at my own business yet. Therefore I have no money coming into my household. Sallie Mae knows this. I found a message that started with the typical sallie mae music on my answering machine that proceeded into a derogatory message. I was called a [censored] (among other things) and told I was going to be 'sallied', whatever that means. It seemed to be physically and emotionally threatening to me. This has really upset me. Is it possible to sue them?

                        Add your opinion

                          By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                          • An
                            anonymous_57 Oct 01, 2012
                            This comment was posted by
                            a verified customer
                            Verified customer

                            Thank you Brenda. I am seeking an attorney now. I am also considering posting it on youtube. It shows the true colors of the people who work for sallie mae.

                            1 Votes
                          • An
                            anonymous_57 Oct 01, 2012
                            This comment was posted by
                            a verified customer
                            Verified customer

                            You didn't hear the message.

                            0 Votes

                          The complaint has been investigated and
                          resolved to the customer's satisfaction
                          Resolved
                          sallie mae e dollars bankinghorrible

                          i have financial aid from my school El camino college and they require for students to enroll to get a Sallie Mae debit card because the process would be much faster. but it want i have been waiting two months and still counting for Sallie Mae to unlock my debit card. they keep saying to fax papers . well i faxed ppers 3 times in one week i asked to talk to managers and the told me to call about 8 o'clock Eastern time i did but still no unlock on my debit card . i am about to just give up because for one i have no money to pay for books and two I'm behind in my class. that was the whole point of me going and applying for financial aid to help me pay for books but sadly i cant because of Sallie Mae .. do not sign up for nothing they have customer service people are rude and liars

                          Add your opinion

                            By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                            The complaint has been investigated and
                            resolved to the customer's satisfaction
                            Resolved
                            Sallie Mae Inc.Stafford Student Loan

                            I have an issue with Sallie Mae that everyone needs to know about before you become a vicitim as well. I did a loan consolidation for 3% with Sallie Mae in June of 2005. After I sent in the paper work, Sallie Mae dragged their feet on the consolidation. After dragging their feet for several months Sallie Mae then stated in a 3 different letters to me that they were have problem with the consolidation due to "problem with reference" or "where having issues with reference" or "lack of references", even though these references are the same references I used to get the student loans through the FAFSA site.

                            First, a letter sent to me from Sallie Mae stated that I had a lack of references; I could not understand this as I provided two references on the consolidation application like the application requested. Second, another letter I received from Sallie Mae stating we are having issues with your references, so I updated them online on Sallie Mae's website, I thought things were good, I was wrong, . Latter on within a month after updating the references, Sallie Mae then called me on the phone, I again provided my name of my references with addresses to some foreign speaking person on the phone who stated she work with Sallie Mae and who I could hardly understand as well as her understanding me. I then received a third letter a few days later that stated, "We tried to contact you by phone for updated references but were unable to reach you"'. WTF, I just provided this non-English speaking representative at Sallie Mae with all the reference information, what gives. I thought this was some kind of mistake, since it came a couple days after the phone call, so I ignored it? I heard nothing more after this from Sallie Mae.

                            Any how, after 180 days of being out of school the loan repayment begins. Well I found out on the first payment that the interest rate was at 7.14% not at 3%. I contacted Sallie Mae over and over without any success of getting this issue taken care of. I then threaten Sallie Mae that I would withhold payment if this was not taken care of right away and that I was entitled to do this under federal law (Fair Credit Reporting Act). Sallie Mae wrote back promising to correct the issue. Next month nothing happened, so I withheld payment and contacted Sallie Mae again and offered to pay what I actually owed. Sallie Mae refused to accept the money I actually owed. After this the problems started, I had to sent certified letters and e-mails (near a 100 e-mails) to Sallie Mae, this went on back and forth on the consolidation issue and Sallie Mae did not want to talk about it anymore but they did say they did nothing wrong. I was getting nowhere with these idiots. Then after a few months of back and forth e-mails, Sallie Mae took the position that I had defaulted on the loan and sent the collection agencies after me. Eventually, after a year and half of fighting back and forth with Sallie Mae and the many collection agencies, Sallie Mae turned the account over to NSLP as a defaulted loan. Sallie Mae never disclosed to any of the collection agencies or National Student Loan Program that I was disputing this loan because of the interest rate, Sallie Mae stated that it was an uncollectable debt and I had defaulted on the loan.

                            I let NSLP know what was going and I let the Department of Education know as well. Both stated that they would review the case, but the Department of Education dragged their feet as well; way past the time limit that was establish to answer my complaint, only after I complained about them missing the deadline to respond, did they answer my complaint unfavorably. NSLP stated they would review the complaint, but never followed up at all, I still am waiting on the court review they promised. In 2009, NSLP did a treasury off on my income taxes for 1500.00 and then told the credit bureaus that I owed $80, 000.00 when in fact my loans where less than $14, 000. I have asked the credit bureaus to remove this information and I provided proof. Two of the credit bureaus remove the extra money above the $14, 000 but Experian did not and has refused to remove it. This ended up causing me problems with my job as I need to hold a security clearance to keep my job. DOD seen this in my credit file and has held up my clearance (not denying it or approving it). Well of course my employer, hire someone else and gave me until this October 2012 to resolve it or be laid off.

                            So, I contacted Senator Murray, Congressman Adams, and Attorney General McKenna’s office to get them involved and help resolve this issue, both legislators and Attorney General wrote letters to Salle Mae and Sallie Mae denied any wrong doing. I then provided written copies of the correspondences between Sallie Mae and I showing that Sallie Mae offered to correct the issue. Neither legislator, done a follow up and has done little to nothing to help out so far. Attorney General McKenna did the most foot work, but stated that their hands are tied and I would need to sue.

                            As of today, nothing has been done about Sallie Mae or the National Student Loan Program. Both, Sallie Mae and National Student Loan Program are free to screw my credit up and obviously do have to follow federal law. Sallie Mae and National Student Loan Program are free to put anything they want on your credit record and Credit Bureau Experian does not verify anything that these two criminal companies report even if you provide the documentation that proves different, like I submitted to Experian. I have been forced get an attorney and file a lawsuit for damages as both Sallie Mae and NSLP are denying they have done anything wrong.

                            I do feel for all of you out there who are dealing with Sallie Mae or National Student Loan Program. My advice for others facing similar issues is to get yourself an attorney before it’s too late and it causes other problems like losing your job, loss of your income tax return check, or garnishment. My suggestion is to contact an attorney who does consumer protection law or something similar. As for anyone considering going to school and getting a loan, my advice is don’t deal with Sallie Mae or you will be sorry. You have been warned!

                            Right now I'm faced with losing my job here soon as I have been having issues getting a security clearance, because of the fraud and false credit reporting being committed by Sallie Mae and National Student Loan Program (NSLP). Sallie Mae currently has a class action lawsuits pending against them in the 9th district Federal court for phone harassment and robo calls. Other lawsuits are also pending as well as an investigation, so if you own stock in this company, I would think twice about dumping the stock before you get burned on this. I hope this helps anyone that needs the help.

                            Add your opinion

                              By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                              • Et
                                ethos Aug 14, 2012

                                Go to debtorboards.com and post your questions. those guys have lots of experience in this kind of stuff

                                0 Votes

                              Sallie MaeI want them to stop harassing me

                              I have been receiving calls from Sallie Mae about a student loan. They say I have a private loan with them, yet I never signed for a private loan. I get about a dozen or more calls a day, 7 days a week. I keep telling them I don’t have a private loan with them. I have asked for a copy of the paperwork, showing I agreed to this loan. They say they will send it, yet they never do. All they send is a letter saying I have to pay in full.

                              I have never received a bill for this loan. I just started getting calls one day. I have federal loans through their company, but they are all .consolidated with direct loans. I will answer one phone call from Sallie Mae, and speak to someone, and they tape the calls. I tell them I don’t have a private loan with them, and they start in about me having to pay. I request proof and they get upset. I have requested proof many of times from them. Before I found out my loans with them were consolidated and removed from Sallie Mae, I tried to make a payment, and they called and told me I needed to pay more. I then found out that my loans were removed and consolidated, so I canceled my payment.

                              I told them I thought that was on my unsub and sub loans. If I speak to someone, no sooner do I hang up, when they call right back. It’s come to me blocking their calls, and they call with a different number. I have been screamed at, harassed, and even received calls on Sunday. I will get calls from 7am to 10pm, 7 days a week. I have worked in collections. They violate the collection laws. They leave detailed messages on my voice mail, they make calls past the time they are allowed to, they call on Sundays, knowing they are not allowed to.

                              I want this to stop. I don’t owe them any money. I want them to stop harassing me.

                              Add your opinion

                                By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                                Sallie MaeRepayment plan

                                I was enrolled into a program at the new year and just a few days ago they tell me it was an "error" and say I am 6 months behind and they will default! I am trying to pay my debt and eat still eat is all.


                                I am severely underemployed--(I have my foot in the door with a decent employer, but its only partime at this point)looking for more work and can't afford much---at this point anything over the $50.00 month graduated payment program I thought I was in will eat into my grocery money (and I'm already living on ramen and peanut butter)or gas money (there isnt a well established transit system where I live or work).


                                Sallie Mae says I have used all my forbearnce and deferment but I just didnt think I'd be in this situation with over 25, 000.00 in private loans breathing down my neck.

                                I just need a helping hand in this rough patch--I am not trying to duck out of the Loan.


                                I also filed a complaint with the CFPB http://www.consumerfinance.gov/ last month but that will take time so I am at a loss--what can I do?


                                I have had this company hovering around me since 2004---wish I had never gone to culinary school...

                                Add your opinion

                                  By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                                  The complaint has been investigated and
                                  resolved to the customer's satisfaction
                                  Resolved
                                  Sallie MaeSallie Mae

                                  For the last Year I have had nothing but problems with Sallie Mae. A year ago I filed my taxes and was supposed to get $5061. On February 11, 2011 I received a letter from the Department of the Treasury Stating that Sallie got all $5, 061 of my taxes. A few moths later I received a letter from Sallie Mae Stating that I owe them 11, 199 that I have not made one payment to them. I wrote letter after letter Stating that they got all of my tax return so why wont they accept that as a payment. I get another letter from them stating that I have never made a payment to them which is a lie I got the letter from the IRS stating they did so I to BBB and made a complaint against them. They finally called me back and I received a letter from Sallie Mae Stating they would not take my taxes anymore because they are going to look into it which is a lie. This year I filed my taxes I was supposed to get $2, 019. Well that did not Happened I got another letter from the IRS Stating that all $2, 019 will be going to Sallie Mae. So they got a total of $7, 080. I want to know why they can keep taking my money and then turn around stating They have never received a payment. Why do they have the right to keep sending me a bill when they got their money? This is not right! Either someone is a thief and taking the money for themselves or they are trying to rip me off. What am I supposed to do live the rest of my life while Sallie Mae takes my Taxes every year for the rest of my life? It has been a year this has been going on and it continues to go on. This should have already been resolved yet I am still sitting here waiting and they keep bullying me and trying to get money from me that they already got. I am asking anyone and everyone to please help me with this, I am afraid Sallie Mae is trying to rip me off and still my money.

                                  Add your opinion

                                    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                                    IN THE NEWS

                                    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
                                    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
                                    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
                                    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
                                    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
                                    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
                                    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.