The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Yankee Candleblack soot all over front room

J Review updated:

I purchased a Holly Berry Yankee Candle for the Christmas and noticed after a few days black soot on the ceiling and walls after using, the wall had to be washed down and the room repainted, will never used one again! for an expensive candle this is appalling.

Responses

  • Be
    BevH13 Dec 18, 2020

    My Yankee candle had burned ok for weeks. I trimmed the wick before lighting it every evening. Last night my porch was black with soot damage. I will have to repaint. And the Christmas decorations I had put up will have to be thrown out. There’s obviously something radically wrong with the formula!

    Comments

    0 Votes
  • Al
    Alex Hawkins Nov 24, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hi, I just went through a weird ordeal and it had to do with my ya keep candle. I've always loved them but now I'm scared to burn what I have.
    At least a couple hundred dollars worth of candles. I thought my furnace was malfunctioning. But that wasn't the problem. It was the soot from the candle we were burning.
    Now I have a huge clean up job and lots of candles I won't use now. We do use the sniffer to put them out and also I have the special top for all my candles. I had this happen a few years back and didnt connect until I had the furnace guy come out.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Doggie202 Mar 30, 2020

    I had a Sage and Citrus candle 6 [protected] 3. When it got to the last quarter it started terrible black smoking. Set off the house smoke detectors. Sooted up the bathroom, the ceiling and parts of the rest of the house. I have just refinished prepping and painting the bath. I am NOT a happy camper. I have been a long time user of their products. Until now.

    I don't know to whom I should report this. It is certainly a safety and health issue. And I no longer feel comfortable gifting their candle products, lest I put someone else at risk.

    Maybe there will be a response from the company? I believe it is now owned by Newell Rubbermaid...Jake

    1 Votes
  • Fl
    Flumpsie Dec 27, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My entire lounge is covered in black soot, from a Yankee candle I got gifted to me on Christmas Day, when I blow my nose it's black, my skin was covered in black marks, my walls, brand new sofa is also covered in soot, curtains, blinds, when I took a picture off the wall its was surrounded in soot, I am bloody fuming, I have wrote to them, but I want to know whose going to pay for my lounge to be re-done?

    2 Votes
  • Co
    Coffeeplease Jan 03, 2019

    Everybody complaining, use a candle topper . I bought this American Home Yankee candle at Ollies for 7.99 Im on a budget and cannot afford retail price. I have been burning it all day for a week now. NO soot, none . I havent even trimmed the wick, this candle has burned beautifully. This is an old metal candle topper I have had for years.

    Comments

    0 Votes
  • Fl
    Flumpsie Dec 28, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Coffeeplease I have been using Yankee for years, never ever had problems, this was a first for me, I switched to Darcey's a few months ago as I love their palettes, but because this was a gift, I used it, never ever again, the more I look round my lounge, the more damage I see, and I am so upset over it x

    1 Votes
  • Da
    Dawn Schilling-Sheckells Apr 05, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am in the process of repainting my walls and ceilings. I was wondering what may have caused the black marks on my ceilings and when I googled "Yankee Candle Soot", I found a lot of information about the candles causing the blackened streaks. All of a sudden, it clicked - it all makes complete sense (no pun intended) now. I burn Yankee Candles a lot. I guess this isn't going to be an option any longer. How disappointing in Yankee Candle! I will be reaching their customer service to at least make a report.

    I also have had reactions (shortened breath, sneezing) while burning certain candles from Yankee. Yep - no more! I'm glad to read these comments!

    1 Votes
  • Ju
    Julie Mento Mar 26, 2017

    My walls are a mess & have been sick with this nagging cough! . Black stuff coming out of my lungs!

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    michelle palma Jan 19, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Mike, I have recently burned about eight Yankee Candles during a recent rain storm and when the sun came out there were what looked like shadows on my cathedral ceilings. They turned out to be soot. Not only that, but my heater, located in the attic almost stopped working and my husband pulled out the heater filter and it was totally black with soot also. Who do we reconcile this with? Do we call our Homeowner's insurance company or do we get a lawyer and sue Yankee Candles? I am afraid for our health, because he put a new filter in the heater just five days ago and it too is already black and the candles were thrown away as soon as I realized it was soot on the ceilings. I blew my nose and black came out! Could this be a health risk? What should we do? Please advise.

    1 Votes
  • Ju
    Julie Mento Mar 26, 2017

    @michelle palma I believe we have a class action suit! I have a cough I can't get rid of as well as my daughters. When I cough up its clear with black particles. Our walls are black...it's super toxic!!!

    -1 Votes
  • Vi
    Vicci_scentsy Apr 12, 2015

    Now this is the very reason why I choose to use scentsy. I'm an independent scentsy consultant. I choose this because scentsy is so much safer. We use electric warmers that don't heat higher than just above body temperature. I have 4 children and will never use a wick candle again. Scentsy warmers use a heating element or light bulb to melt the wax there is no soot lead or wick. take a look at the website for more information
    Www.vicci.scentsy.co.uk

    -3 Votes
  • Ch
    Chaz55 Mar 10, 2013

    I've spent the whole weekend re painting my bedroom and took 4 hours to wash all the black off the walls before I could even start the re paint. Not happy.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    John O Connor Mar 03, 2013

    After 2 month`s still no reply regarding my complaint about the soot ruining my walls and ceiling, it took 3 coats of paint to cover the damage, absolutely disgusted with the product and customer service!!!, after searching the internet one has to wonder whether this company even search's for complaints as I found plenty with little effort.

    0 Votes
  • Ed
    Edna Bell Feb 04, 2013

    I want my Yankee Candle to be what it was, without burning black on my walls and ceilings

    0 Votes
  • Ed
    Edna Bell Feb 04, 2013

    I am very unhappy with my Yankee Candle, It burns black, and makes the walls and ceiling black.I would think you have changed, your candle, to a cheap product, and that is SAD so many of us, would only buy the Yankee Candle. Shame on You

    2 Votes
  • Mm
    MMMarie Jan 08, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Mr. O Connor, you will find that I have written a similar complaint such as yours about the candles from Yankee Candle. I have been buying from them for years, and the most recent few years their product has degraded in quality. I have black smoke in the corners of my wall from a evening of burning a Yankee, more concerning was the black smoke such as the soot found in the jar candle was discovered in my ears when I was cleaning the following day with a Q-Tip.
    It is appalling and I am angry that these candles could be making our loved ones sick. The company has no respect for its consumer.
    I will write to them, I don't want a free handout I would rather they get their act together and make a safer product. Soy candles do not burn black and do not create soot - they are much more health and environmentally friendly. At this point I want to warn people and see a plan go into actions because this is about safety and health. I believe we can e-mail or call Yankee and enough complaints should stimulate an awakening from the company.

    4 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.