The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Woodforest National BankWho gets the money of the deceased

B Review updated:

I have a small problem with this bank that has escalated into a fine little argument. My daughter was deceased as of Dec15 and little did i know that her friend was on the acct. First they told me that there was a second name on the acct, later i went back and they say beneficiary. My question to this problem is who gets the money in the checking acct, me or the beneficiary? The beneficiary would blow it and i need it for funeral expenses not yet paid. HELP

Responses

  • Wo
    Woodforest National Bank Mar 29, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    At Woodforest, we take every concern seriously and make every effort to resolve issues promptly. We have resolved your issue and have attempted to follow up with you by phone, but have not been successful in reaching you. We would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you. Please contact our Customer Care department at [protected] and ask to speak directly with the Regional Vice President over the branch. We look forward to speaking with you soon.

    0 Votes
  • Jd
    jdmack Apr 20, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    No bank, can just allow someone to withdraw funds from someones account. Unless, they are on the account... If the person has passed,
    and DOES NOT HAVE A WILL, you have to get a legal assistance from the State, saying that you are the Executor of your childs Estate.
    Afterwards, taxes must be paid. Some states charge "Death" taxes. The Federal Government charges up to 50% in "Death" taxes.

    Good Luck.

    0 Votes
  • Re
    reality919 Jun 09, 2010

    If someone else was on the account as co-owner, that person needs to present a death certificate to the bank. The account is still that co-owners account. The beneficiary does not come into play unless the decease was the sole owner of the account. Hope this helps.

    0 Votes
  • Re
    reality919 Jun 09, 2010

    ok, first of all, I am sorry for your loss. If the deceased was the sole owner of the account, with a death certificate, the beneficiary listed on the accounts' signature card will get the funds remaining in the account. Now if there was someone else co-owning that account, the funds are now that persons funds and the beneficiary person is not a beneficiary yet, because there is still an owner on the account. Hope this helps.

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    Trayyy Nov 12, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was In church messed up went astray fit a few years returned to Christ soon after my mom passed. I was informed by my siblings I'm sole beneficiary only after they made several attempts without me .my problem is 5he i.d I have is a birth certificate my dad got for me it the only form I have since resurfacing . I've tried to get state i.d but they require several other forms of id I don't have right now the most important other is a utility bill with my name address showing that I've been tx resident, the money in mom's account would help me with goals, my question is can I have a chance accessing the account with my birth. Certificate plus I have personal friendships with a known dallas attorney a pastor if a church of christ church and a dallas county sheriff patrol officer all of which has been in there profession 20 plus years . Have them come with me sign idk affidavit or notorized letter stating I am who I claim to be will I gain access using this idea, birth certificate 3 up standing guys professionals I also have mom's bank statement he SS number account info and death certificate

    -1 Votes
  • Tr
    Trayyy Nov 13, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Trayyy I get the money I'm the beneficiary me I am the guy with my birth certificate as I'd along with death certificate her last four ss number and account info Im yes I'm sole beneficiary

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    Trayyy Nov 13, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Trayyy I understand this is a platform for complaints about experiences with company's..for the record this is in any way a complaint about an experience with wood forest bank ..I have not spoken to any one yet ...I'm trying to get an answer.. before approaching them ..Im praying I'm on right track I could use whatever funds available .also can someone with clear knowledge tell me is her 40

    -1 Votes
  • Tr
    Trayyy Nov 13, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Trayyy Tell me will her 401k and her pension funds be attached to the checking and savings accounts at wood forest bank or is that a separate deal also since I'm beneficiary over her bank account will u be the overseer rightfully so it legally or by policy of bank ect is 401k and pension attached or connected to her wood forest portfolios if so am I intitled to that thank you guys yall are so sharp smart knowledgeable .I wish I knew y'all's name so I can thank our father individually calling out your names for
    being unmovable in place lined up with his plan for equipping whatever y'all need to do the service ur doing thank yall

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.