The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Whirlpoolbeware of best buy during the christmas holiday!

Review updated:

I purchased a Gateway Notebook for my husband on Dec 9, 2006 as a Christmas Gift. When I purchased it I asked the young man if I could return it.

He said, "yes". I asked if there was a restocking fee. He said, "only if the item had the seal broken." On Christmas day my husband graciously declined my gift, so we decided to return it.

On Dec 29th, I tried to return the notebook and was told it was over the 14 day return policy and I could get store credit. I paid by check and their company cashed my check. I wanted my money back. I was furious to say the least. I, also, called the Customer Service number and was told the same thing. I know they say they have it posted in their stores and it's on the receipt, BUT do you honestly think that at the Christmas holiday customers are reading YOUR store signs or looking at the small print on receipts. The standard customer thinks that you can return just about everything within a 7 day time frame, especially at Christmas time. I think their employees should inform customers of their policy at this particular time of year. Wouldn’t that be a novel thought??

Well I've learned my lesson. I will never make a major purchase at your store for the Christmas holiday again.

I will inform all I can to BEWARE of Best Buy during the Christmas Holiday.

  • Whirlpool's response · Aug 02, 2016

    Hello Krikalde. My name is Melanie and I am a representative of Whirlpool. We apologize about the frustration you have experienced with your refrigerator. If you would like us to look into this further, please provide your name, the site you were contacted on, your user ID name, your phone number, your address, the full model and serial number, and email the requested information to [email protected] We would be happy to review your concerns further. Sincerely, Melanie.

Responses

  • Do
    Don1961 Oct 14, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    wendyscowboy
    8:10 PM (1 hour ago)
    to trish.walker, me

    I Have A 900 Page Printing Job I Needed To Do and Was Shopping Laser jet Printers, I Found One On Your Online Site @ Bestbuy.com and Read The Description That Said Whats Included, I Copied It Here >>>

    What's Included
    Brother HL-L2370DW Wireless Black-and-White Printer
    Starter toner cartridge (approx. 700 pages)
    DR-730 drum (approx. 12, 000 pages)
    Quick setup guide
    Installation CD-ROM
    AC power cord
    As You Can Read For Yourself, So Since It Stated It Includes A 700 page as Well As A 12, 000 Page Toner/Cartridge /Drum/ I Assumed It Could Be A Typo !!! So I Contacted The Chat Dept. to Verify This, I Told Your Chat Rep My Situation What The Description Said and It Could Be A Typo, So Before I Order I Want To Be Sure That I Would Receive Both Cartridges, He Assured Me That Best Buy Was Honorable as I Was Trying To Be and That If I Didn't Receive Both Cartridges in The Box Best Buy Would Definatly Send Me One at No Charge ! I Received the printer and Only 1 Cartridge In The Box, I Contacted The Chat Again and They Said To Take it up with my Local Best Buy, So I Contacted Our Local Best Buy Here In Apple Valley Calif and Talked To The Store MGR Lees Rayes Who Was Rude Disrespectful and Is A Liar ! He Said He Had The Item Description right in front of him and it said it only comes with one 700 page cartridge ! I Told Him Thats Not what it states in the description and He said it did ! I Included Above what it states in the description PLEASE READ IT ! It Does Not State it to Include Only One Cartridge Anywhere ! Furthermore why would it state a 12, 000 page at all for that matter if not included, under whats included ! So This Has Become A Hugh Waste Of My Time And Situation That Has Set A Rise In My Blood Pressure ! Now I'm UPSET ! Please Don't Blame Your First Chat Rep For Assuring Me That Best Buy Would Honor The Second Cartridge if Not Included, He was just Convinced In His Company's Responsible Ethical Standards, He Obviously has not met My Local Store MGR LEES, I Was Honorable And Before Purchasing Questioned The 700 page and 12, 000 page cartridges that it states are included ! So Now I Must Go Buy Another Cartridge, So I Can Finish My Job as well as dealing With This BS !!! Im Very Disappointed In Best Buy At This Point, And now must consider Doing Business With You in the future ! here is a copy of the first transcript >>> Please Let Me Know Your Intentions Regarding This Matter ! I'm A Very Disappointed Customer At This Point ! Don Cone [protected]

    Hello, Visitor-[protected]-18678,
    Your requested Best Buy chat transcript is below. We appreciate your visit to BestBuy.com today and look forward to seeing you again soon.
    General Information

    Chat Start Time Chat End Time Chat Duration Operator Interaction ID
    Oct 09, 2019 03:24:34 GMT Oct 09, 2019 03:34:10 GMT 00:09:35 Stephen Roberts INT-va1appis16-[protected]
    Stephen Roberts (03:24:38 GMT) : Thank you for choosing Best Buy, my name is Stephen Roberts. How may I assist you today?
    Stephen Roberts (03:24:46 GMT) : Nice to have you on this chat, Don.
    Visitor (03:24:47 GMT) : hi
    Visitor (03:25:19 GMT) : Im Interested in your laser jet printer hl2370dw
    Stephen Roberts (03:25:55 GMT) : Great! How can I make things easier for you?
    Visitor (03:26:12 GMT) : It say it comes with a toner cartridge and drum is this correct ?
    Visitor (03:26:24 GMT) : Brother HL-L2370DW Wireless Black-and-White Printer Starter toner cartridge (approx. XXX pages) DR-XXX drum (approx. 12, XXX pages) Quick setup guide Installation CD-ROM AC power cord
    Stephen Roberts (03:27:05 GMT) : Let me check and help you with the product specification right away.
    Visitor (03:27:15 GMT) : I Want To Purchase And I Want to Be Sure The Drum Is Included
    Visitor (03:28:05 GMT) : If I Buy And Its Not In There When Your Descrition Claims It Is I Want To Be sent One ?
    Stephen Roberts (03:28:21 GMT) : I see the product come with Brother HL-L2370DW Wireless Black-and-White PrinterStarter toner cartridge (approx. XXX pages)DR-XXX drum (approx. 12, XXX pages)Quick setup guideInstallation CD-ROMAC power cord
    Visitor (03:28:43 GMT) : If I Buy And Its Not In There When Your Descrition Claims It Is I Want To Be sent One ?
    Visitor (03:28:55 GMT) : Can You Assure Me
    Stephen Roberts (03:29:47 GMT) : Yes sure, if in case the promised product is not delivered to you, you can contact us and we will help you with the replacement.
    Stephen Roberts (03:30:12 GMT) : BestBuy is all about customer satisfaction and we keep our promise.
    Visitor (03:30:17 GMT) : not what im asking you
    Visitor (03:30:42 GMT) : If the drum is not included will i be sent one at no charge
    Stephen Roberts (03:30:52 GMT) : Yes you will receive it,
    Stephen Roberts (03:31:06 GMT) : You will get one for no charge.
    Visitor (03:31:32 GMT) : Ok Cause I Thought It Maybe A TYPO
    Stephen Roberts (03:32:47 GMT) : No worries! As I told BestBuy is all about customer satisfaction and we will keep our promise.
    Stephen Roberts (03:33:07 GMT) : You will be sent a copy of the transcript via email once the chat has ended for proof.
    Visitor (03:33:28 GMT) : Alrighty its a great deal then THXS D
    Stephen Roberts (03:33:42 GMT) : Is there anything I can assist you with today?
    Visitor (03:34:04 GMT) : Nope Have A Good Evening
    Stephen Roberts (03:34:08 GMT) : Thank you for choosing Best Buy! This chat session will now end and you will see a short survey. I appreciate any feedback you can provide.
    Sincerely,
    "This email was sent from a notification-only address that cannot accept incoming emails. Your privacy is important to Best Buy. For more information on how Best Buy protects your privacy, steps you can take to protect your personal information and alerts on privacy risks facing consumers, please visit the Best Buy Privacy Hub. "
    Best Buy Privacy Hub

    1 Votes
  • Eg
    Egislave Aug 31, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am a loyal Best Buy customer and have been for many years. Last year on 3-31-08 I purchased phones for my home. I used my Best Buy Reward Zone Credit Card and they told me about the Account Shield Protection that was affiliated with HSBC. I signed up for the plan but after receiving the info packet in the mail I promptly cancelled the plan on 4-11-08 as I decided I did not need this protection. On 4-20-08 I them made a major purchase of T.V's and again used my Best Buy Reward Zone Credit Card. I did not sign up for the Account Shield Plan this time because I knew I did not want this. I have been getting charged for this plan for the past 18 months without my knowledge. I never received the info packet in the mail and if I had I obviously would have cancelled it promptly as I did with my previous purchase. I spent several hours on the phone today with HSBC and got very little satisfaction. I then contacted Best Buy Headquarters in Minneapolis which is where I live and they took my concern and complaint with a grain of salt. My recommendation to future Best Buy customers is if they talk you into signing about for one of their wonderful credit cards I would be very cautious and have the salesperson read the entire agreement to you and what it all means. Debt cancellation on your bill is not interpreted to most people as Account Shield Protection.

    0 Votes
  • Kb
    kbsgriffin Aug 25, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I had the worst customer service experience at best buy today, I will never do business with them again! After waiting 15 minutes for a sales person, aparently none of the other 20 employees could help me that were all standing around doing nothing! I finally showed my printout from the computer for a fax machine I just saw advertised that day, the girl says to me " no we dont have it" thats it, after I waited all that time! Then I say, well the add says you can order it here if you dont have it in in stock, she tells me " you can go ask him to try and find it on the kiosk" So, i go up to the young man and say she told me to have you order this on the kiosk, he mumbles " she could have done it herself" are you kidding me with the attitude?! anyways so he says " so what store do you want me to look up " I say 'the one down the street' and he very sarcasticly says " which one" and starts naming like 4, I say" the westwood one ', he says no, then I say " what about any stores in like a 30 mile ratius" his computer screen comes up showing all the stores none of thgem have the fax machine advertised. But the part I'm most disturbed by is the fact he could have pulled up that page first, he didnt have to talk to me the way he did! Then that was it he just turned away. It was the worst customer service I have ever seen, where do you get these people, I had just gone to McDonalds and had gotten incredible customer service! So, I proceeded to go to Office Depot and there was a fax machine adversised for $10 less, (I just needed an inexpensive one to send a batch of faxes ). The manager went out of his way to accomodate me incredible service!

    0 Votes
  • Km
    K. M. Hamilton Aug 10, 2016

    I have had a Best Buy MasterCard since 2003 as I believed the "Reward Zone" points were a sincere reward for customer loyalty. Thus, on my brother's birthday, May 14th, we went to Best Buy to complete the transaction for the purchase of an approximately $1, 200 television (Luckily you came today, we were told--the price goes up $100 tomorrow). At the time, I witnessed the initial part of the sales while my brother showed the current published as to the clerk (she said that she was the manager of the department), discussed reward points, delivery, etc. The television set was delivered a week early, my brother hired a mover and received the set at home. He then discovered that the model was NOT the model ordered, was a cheaper set and did not have the 3-D feature he wanted. He took the TV back to Best Buy with all documentation and encountered the same sales woman. She had a number of 'party lines' as to why the TV could not be exchanged: we can't honor the price after the week it was published, we can't match the on line published price, we don't have the model in stock, you'll need to pay $100 extra as the price has gone up, etc. Finally, with the input of the supervisor, it was settled that my brother would "split the difference" and pay $50 more. I was astounded at these shabby practices and will all but cease use of my credit card associated with Best Buy unless my brother is compensated. Happy Birthday, indeed! Will continue with this complaint as necessary if information changes.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    David HockeyDad Aug 08, 2016

    The company misled about lead time. They shipped the items out separately and the slowest delivery possible. The customer experience was horrible. Links for tracking didn't work - they were directed to the wrong carrier the items were sent with. Lead times for processing were originally shown to be 0 - 1 days and then after a day were updated with 5 - 7 days. Customer service was not helpful. It was hard to find a way to email or send in an issue on the order. When I did email I got no response.

    Horrible experience from a customer perspective. Don't shop with Best Buy.

    0 Votes
  • Dr
    Dr. Balakrishna Rao Aug 02, 2016

    I have been making prompt payment of 100 dollars per month since I bought a TV from Best Buy- using the no interest promotion for 36 months option. I made a payment of 100 dollars on 17th of December 2010 which was inteded for January payment. I made a payment on Jan 8th 2011 to cover the payment through Feb. 2011. I have received a payment due notice that indicates thae two payments were clubbed together or January and I need to pay min. payment of 11.00 Dollars on February 1, 2011. I was out of country and reached my home late night on Feb. 1, 2011. In my opinion, what you have done is wrong. Would you please review the procedure you have used. If I do not get a satisfactory explanation from your office, I intend to proceed to take appropriate action on this matter using legal channels. My effort to contact your office has ben futile. I think a company like HSBC must have better operating procedure. Please contact me by e-mail. I sent another hundred dollars through on line banking arrangements I have with Union Bank on February 2, 2011. which would take an additional few days for your bank to get that money. I am hoping you bank is will not be charging interest claiming that the 11 dollars wer not paid on time. Actually I have paid the months due amount on January 9, 2011. Please review your accounts. Thank you.
    Dr. Balakrishna Rao.

    0 Votes
  • Sf
    sfn Aug 02, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Today we took a non-working LG microwave back to Best buy in Arkansas. When we purchased the microwave we purchased a three year extended warranty. About 30 days after we purchased the first microwave it decided to stop working correctly so we took that microwave back and got a new one. Today, the second microwave decided to stop working and we took that one back. After standing in line at Best buy (only one other customer at the counter) we were waited on, during that time of trying to help us.

    3 of the Best buy customer service employees were more interested in the missing “biscuit” from McDonald’s (this was 10:00 am.) than in trying to get customer satisfied. After an hour wait and their many discussions of the “missing biscuit”, we were told that the 3 year warranty was considered as”fulfilled”(even though it wasn’t up until 2012), ok I wasn’t happy with that and then just because the microwave we received was higher(same brand, same model) we ended up paying more money(really wasn’t happy with that).

    Needless to say, it maybe a long time before I shop at Best Buy. AND…I hope they found their “missing biscuit” or better yet “eat before you come to work”.

    0 Votes
  • Ou
    Ousmer Aug 02, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Has anyone had any issues with their GE dishwashers turning on automatically and catching fire or close to it? I purchased a dishwasher a little more than 3 years ago at Best Buy for more than $1000. A couple of weeks ago I went to bed only to wake up to a terrible burning plastic smell in my house. I followed the trail to the dishwasher and low and behold, it had turned on to the heat cycle and melted all of the heat resistant parts. GE denies there is an issue and offered to sell me a comparable washer for $468. The COnsumer protection Agency came to investigate the dishwasher and said there were other brands with the same issue but GE was not listed yet.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    santacruz9 Aug 02, 2016

    I placed an order for a new washer and dryer BBY01-[protected]. Then I called the next day like the email from BBY said to do to arrange installation and purchase the accessories for hooking it up (BBY01-[protected]). The sales rep did not include this order on the original order so when my washer and dryer was delivered, there was no way to stack the washer/dryer and install it. The accessories and stacking kit was scheduled to arrive the next day. The fact that I actually called and talked through this entire delivery and installation and it still got screwed up is amazing to me. I had to take a day off of work to be available for delivery and now I will have to do this again because of poor management by Best Buy. I am furious at the lack of common sense that your team has. Most people would understand that you need to have the stacking kit attached to the delivery of the washer/dryer and not have them arrive a day later. How can you install a washer/dryer without all the parts? Why would I want a washer/dryer delivered but not installed the same day? I will never purchase another thing from Best Buy and I actually own stock in this company. Now I know why your stock performance lags the competitors. I am still amazed at how a simple task like this could be so mismanaged. I will post this on every online site I can find so that others will not waste their time like I have.

    0 Votes
  • Th
    The Retail Action Project Aug 02, 2016

    Best Buy has some of the worst scheduling practices in the retail industry today besides other total injustices. Are you fed up with low wages and a lack of respect? Do you know your rights as a retail worker? If you are having difficulties at work or need help to advance in your career contact the RETAIL ACTION PROJECT now for FREE ADVICE AND WORKSHOPS on the retail industry at [email protected], 646.490.5925 or visit our website www.retailactionproject.org

    0 Votes
  • Th
    The Retail Action Project Aug 02, 2016

    Best Buy has some of the some of the worst scheduling practices in the retail industry today besides other total injustices. Are you fed up with low wages and a lack of respect? Do you know your rights as a retail worker? If you are having difficulties at work or need help to advance in your career contact the RETAIL ACTION PROJECT now for FREE ADVICE AND WORKSHOPS on the retail industry at [email protected], 646.490.5925 or visit our website www.retailactionproject.org

    0 Votes
  • Ya
    Yaroslau Aug 02, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Purchased mattress set with promotional free Samsung 40" LCD HD tv at Best Buy free! Model stipulated by Rooms To Go LN40C500 not on display at Best Buy and not in inventory at any Best Buy stores. Store clerk advised model c500 not available and was replaced by LN40C530, which they carried at a HIGHER PRICE! They would not, or could not substitute and advised me to go back to Rooms To Go, which I did. Manager of Rms To Go had no authority and would not help. I purchased more expensive model and advised salesman, Keith Davis of my displeasure at how things were handled. Salesman will discuss with Mgr and have him call me. Have not heard back as yet! I need satisfaction and reimbursement of $75.

    0 Votes
  • Co
    Cosmo01 Aug 02, 2016

    I have had horrible customer service & received "junk" phones from Best Buy Mobile for almost 2 years now. They have sent my phone off to the wrong place to get fixed twice & then tried telling me that they would not honor their "lemon policy" because it wasnt sent to right place. I finally got a new phone that has now, 5 months later, decided to shut off during phone calls & etc. They did not switch the insurance to the new phone but has been billing me for it every month on my credit card. So I was unde the impression that I had insurance on it & they tell me no & that they are "sorry". I will NEVER recommend Best Buy Mobile to ANYONE & I will do just the opposite. I may even stand outside & let people know just how good their customer service is & how they will screw you over any chance they get!

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    mother2 Aug 02, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Best Buy has sunk to a new low! Forget about all of the little kiddies traumatized by seeing “Mommies” attack Santa. All I see is competition for the big money, no toys being sold here only electronics for adults… so why use Santa at all? Who doesn’t see that there is no future for this way of thinking… who is “Mommie” going to kill next year? So much for the warm fuzzy feelings! Best Buy thanks for one more reason to not enter your stores. Your 2011 Christmas Commercials are a complete insult to everything that is Christmas, and for the life of me I will never understand why Best Buy has decided to attack Santa at all…

    0 Votes
  • Th
    TheWayItIs Aug 02, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    if it is after year 1 and you are in the extended period, Best Buy per say doesn't handle the administration of the claims, NEW Customer Service does. The store is out of the loop. Did you put in claims for food spoilage? - all plans have this component. Sadly, you are at the mercy of the service administrator NEW, whose goal is to save money from their end, not deliver outstanding customer experience. You are also at the mercy of their intents to save money on parts and not necessarily use the best techs in the field. Good luck. Without a month is insane. Get your local Action News Consumer Reporter on the case.

    0 Votes
  • Kr
    Krikalde Aug 02, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    About 3 weeks ago my refrigerator stopped working..A Whirlpool model purchased from BestBuy along with an extended warranty. It took several days to get a tech to my home to diagonose the problem and he couldn't fix the problem then and had lots of difficulty assessing the problem and needed constant phone communication to determine the problem.

    It took several days to get the parts and even more time for another tech appointment. The same tech that was here previously showed up and was not able to handle the job so another tech came. They worked for a couple of hours and still could not fix the problem. Moreover, they managed to put a burn hole in my kitchen floor.

    Once it was determined that the referigerator could not be repaired it was decided to give us another refrigerator.

    We went to BestBuy after getting everything confirmed and even then it was a hassle. We were told that the refrigerator could be delivered on Saturday, March 12th. But then they told us that we had to wait until Monday the 15th.

    The time period without a refrigerator is now a month and we've lived out of a couple of ice chests during this lengthy process. In addittion I have 5 grandkids and my daughter living with me for now adding more problems in keeping the ice chests filled with ice.

    What concerns me is the techs lack of knowledge, the incredible waiting time for appointments, the carelesness of leaving a burn on the kitchen floor and most importantly the infifference of BestBuy to solve the problem in a reasonable time frame. After all the waiting time for appointments, parts and not being able to fix the refrigerator BestBuy could at the very LEAST delivered a new refrigerator in a more timely manner. The process left a very bad taste in my mouth. It is a real pain to constantly change the ice in ice chests for a month, suffer the loss of food, to feel the constant frustration of back and forth communications with inidiferrent people. On a scale of 1 to 10 for efficicient service BestBuy ranks a 0.5.

    0 Votes
  • Jl
    jlb03805 Aug 02, 2016

    Bought a 50" Plasma TV with 3-d, having issue with halo around peoples head and images overlapping. When we contacted Samsung customer service, found out tv already had been purchased before and a ticket was placed to have the problem fixed. According to customer service with Samsung, TV was to be returned to them and no placed back on the floor to be sold. I have been on the phone with Samsung customer service on several occasions in the last week and spent over 5 hrs and still nothing from them. Currently on hold with Samsung Customer Service as this is typed. Now the person in Executative Customer service is trying to schedule service for a TV that was previously told could not be serviced.

    0 Votes
  • Th
    TheWayItIs Aug 02, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    If you ordered online and you were no-stocked, you are entitled to your money back. It's quite simple, they can't hold your money. Email customer support. The store has nothing to do with your online order, that's why they are passing the buck.

    0 Votes
  • Uv
    Uvolde Aug 02, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I ordered a TV from best buy's website on Dec. 25th. I was supposed to pick up the TV at my local best buy store on Jan. 2nd. The TV was never sent to the local store. On Jan. 3rd, I got an email from best buy saying that my order was delayed. I called the number within the email and the person there told me that best buy didn't have any more of the TVs. I asked him when I would get the TV and he said he didn't know. I then asked him if I can get a different TV at the same price ad he said that he couldn't do that. I then asked to speak to his supervisor and he told me he was the supervisor. He said that he will forward my information to another office and I will hear back from them in 3 to 5 days. I asked him if he had a phone number for this office and he said no. Never once did he mention that I have the option of canceling the order.

    0 Votes
  • Th
    The Customer Aug 02, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I had read that purchasing the Best Buy extended warranty was not really necessary. If the product you had purchased was going to fail it would most likely do so within the first year when the manufactures warranty was still in effect.

    Wrong, the Gateway laptop computer I purchased did fail within 8 months of purchase. However Best Buy continues to have you return the product to their service department where no service is performed. After they are certain that the warranty no longer applies, they tell you to get lost. You did not buy an extended warranty and there is nothing else we are going to do.

    What a terrible organization, Best Buy.

    0 Votes
  • Je
    jeff Aug 02, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This is not a situation of "the computer laster 45 days, " it's "I broke my computer in 45 days." And if a product has a 1 year warranty, which Best Buy will honor, and they offer you a 2, 3, or 4 year extended warranty, which you decline, why should they repair the product you broke. Why would you think that making a purchase at a retail store grants you lifetime service and/or free replacement of the product you are clearly too inept to maintain properly.

    0 Votes
  • Wa
    Wanna Birdwell Aug 02, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Bought a computer from Best Buy... It lasted 45 days... Took it back and they told me it would be about one week... Took three weeks... It lasted 60 days this time... Took it back and they told me it would be about one week... Took three weeks... Got it home and it would not work... Here I go for the 3rd time... They called me in about three weeks and said it was ready... oh, wait... they did not send the battery back with it... Said we will call when we get a battery in... I called weekly and they said no battery... Then I receive a letter and tell me they are going to sell my computer if I do not pick it up in a week... I called the geek squad and they said the letter is wrong... We will call when the battery comes in... Went to the store and told them I wanted my computer and it repaired or my money back... Yes, they told me it had been there and repaired for 3 weeks... I did not say a word... I have passed the word on to anyone that will listen...

    NOW THE END TO THE STORY... THE COMPUTER WILL NOT WORK... LAWYER TIME...

    I am tired of being ripped off by these companies...

    0 Votes
  • Be
    Bestbuyiscrap Aug 02, 2016

    Best buy always provided a lamp for and installation of my DLP TV. I ordered the lamp through best buy and the technician said to call back when I received the lamp and called Best Buy.

    They said that since I didn't set up the installation time with the purchase of the lamp, they would not come out to install the lamp. They flatly refused. I told them the technician told me to call back. Best Buy's response was we are not coming out to install your lamp.

    They just lost a customer. I have a Best Buy credit card and am a member of their rewards program. I will never set foot in a Best Buy unless to see what is available and then purchase on Amazon

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    JohnHem Aug 02, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    How are you special? If you're outside of the return policy and the product is broken then it gets sent to the depot for repair. Why must other customers have to do this and you magically get an exchange on the spot?

    Products break, get over it. That's why warranties exist.

    0 Votes
  • Valerie Aug 02, 2016

    I bought a camcorder at the end of February, used it 2 or 3 times, inside.

    I took it back in April because I couldn't see anything in the viewfinder when I tried to use it outside.

    When I took it back to Best Buy, they refused to give me a refund. They never even offered to let me exchange it for something different (which is really what I wanted). When the manager came to the service counter he simply repeated the same phrase as the customer no-service rep..."Best Buy policy". He told me he couldn't give me a refund because he couldn't change the computer. When I asked for someone who had that authority he quoted the 888 number for Best Buy.

    They told me only the manager could grant an exception to the policy!!!

    When I confronted him with this, he said he wasn't going to do it. No reason.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    marie nnarraidoo Aug 02, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have had my camera for 3 months and returned it to best buys because of the faulty battery lid that keeps opening and they would not exchange it for me. their manager was not helpful at all and as far asi know if i have my receipt they should have cahnged the product which has a years warranty. they refused to do this and said the only thing thet can do is send it of for repair which will take a month. How inconvient for them . I have my nephews wedding in two weeks time and cannot taKE ANY PICTURES BECAUSE OF THIS. IM SO PISSED OFF WITH BEST BUYS AND THEIR MADE UP POLICIES. I will never buy a product from them again.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Mambel Aug 02, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I ordered a Whirlpool, 36" range hood. Best Buy advertised online that they had this product. They did not. They had to special order it. After they took all my info, including my credit card, they informed me. Two weeks later I was given a date of arrival by J.V. Hunt, their shippers. However, Best Buy had no record or confirmation of this delivery and told me it was still on back order. I cancelled the order which took two hours on the telephone as they insisted they could not cancel a special order. One hour after cancellation their shipper called me to say the hood would be delivered the next day. However, since I had cancelled the order now they could not deliver and asked me to reconsider and call Best Buy. I did so and was told I could not change my cancellation and would have to wait and start all over again. Best Buy and their delivery people do not communicate with each other or with the customer. Many apologies and another wasted day on the phone with Best Buy. Because I had ordered via the phone aka the internet I could not go into the store either. Best Buy is insane.

    0 Votes
  • Th
    TheMouseIsFinished Aug 02, 2016

    1 days ago by Rose and Sam 0 Votes

    Again Dan I am going to ask you seeing as how you brought it up earlier...Why were the necessary upgrades and refurbishing put off for many years???????
    Why were we told time and time again that the upgrades were going to be done before next year...(every year for the last 6, at least years).

    Exactly WHERE were the monies diverted...third party management...actually for the large loan that Raintree owes...Starwood.

    Again NEVER were we ever told in the 12 years I have been a member, that Raintree...or whatever you want to call yourselves...when you change your name to borrow more monies...that the monies collected were not sufficient to cover costs.
    We were promised everything as far as upgrades and given certificates for added weeks, (through RCI that were as worthless as the paper they were written on) PROMISES...PROMISES... and never PRODUCTION.

    DAN, THEY ARE FEEDING YOU A BUNCH OF BS AND YOU ARE TRYING TO FEED IT ALL TO US...

    HOW MUCH LONGER ARE THE CHARADES GONG O CONTINUE?????

    I AS A MEMBER THAT IS PAYING YOUR SALARY OUT OF THE MAINTENENCE FEE MONIES...FEEL YOUR JOB IS DONE...YOU HAVE SAID ALL YOU CAN SAY ON THEIR BEHALF...THEY CAN CUT AND PASTE AS WELL AS YOU CAN...SO DO US ALL A FAVOR AND SAVE OUR MONIES FOR OUR MAINTENENCE ITEMS...


    And as Joes said above...our economy is very bad at the moment...many have lost their jobs or have hours cut back and decrease in salary or hours or both. How can this company in good faith...do what they are to the members...???????
    They have mismanaged the monies and overleaveraged themselves so badly and want us to bail them out. Sell off some properties...do not in this economy buy more properties and expect us to come up with your downpayment.

    ALL THIS RIDICULOUSNESS NEEDS TO STOP NOW...

    0 Votes
  • Valerie Aug 02, 2016

    Greetings, I bought two video cameras from Best Buy and the service was poor. I was told it would work with my mac computer it did not. I order to return it I had a pay a restock fee.

    I lost money buying the DVD and memory card already. Do not go to the Destin Best Buy.

    At a previous time I bought a microwave that caught fire. I was not able to return it either because it was past 30 days. I had only used it a handful of times before that incident.

    I wish I had read more reviews about a store first. I will be very very careful in the future buying from anyone.

    0 Votes
  • Th
    The Customer Aug 02, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I had read that purchasing the Best Buy extended warranty was not really necessary. If the product you had purchased was going to fail it would most likely do so within the first year when the manufactures warranty was still in effect.

    Wrong, the Gateway laptop computer I purchased did fail within 8 months of purchase. However Best Buy continues to have you return the product to their service department where no service is performed. After they are certain that the warranty no longer applies, they tell you to get lost. You did not buy an extended warranty and there is nothing else we are going to do.

    What a terrible organization, Best Buy.

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    Til Glisson Aug 02, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Beware Best Buy. Their warranty service is horrible. Slow to respond, fail to keep appointments, etc..... You are better off buying online and using local factory authorized factor service. You'll save money, also.

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    Scott Street Aug 02, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My son purchased a camera and a laptop from Best Buy, at the time he was in uniform and told the sales person he was being deployed to Iraq. He stated I know something will happen and I want insurance to cover anything that could go wrong, he was sold the extended policy and told it would cover everything, he was then handed a small pamphlet that explained it all. The camera failed to work before he even got out of the states, it is a little hard to do business when your a gunner on a humvee in remote Iraq, so I was left to deal with it. I was lied to from the very beginning, given false names, phone numbers that sent you to computers that just ran you around and around. After months of playing their stall game I did find a manager that took pity and sent us a replacment camera which was a floor model. It came to us not working so now the story became that floor models were not covered by the warranty. I couldn't even get the broke one back and they convienently kept loosing papers and correspondences. Finally they said I would have to bring the camera in, I live over 600 miles away from the store. I sent it to a family memeber who brought it in and never heard any more, when I contacted them they denied they even had the camera. Two weeks later it was returned by their repair department stated they had no instructions on what to do with it so returned it. I contacted the store and they said I would have to bring it in in person again. Words flew. I drove the distance for a face to face only to be told that Best Buy does not extend any warranties to service men serving outside the country. It was in the brochure they gave my son when he paid for the insurance that they immediately voided. Each time I talk to them they refuse to talk to me because my name is not on his account, even though I have sent them a total of 6 copies of power of attorney that allows me to do that. Soldiers deployed have to write their wills and sign over power of attorney. I no longer even care about the camera, now it is a matter of principle. I went right to the corporate office and was told "BEST BUY DOES NOT EXTEND WARRANTIES TO SOLDIERS SERVING OUTSIDE THE COUNTRY, THAT IS OUR POLICY AND WE ARE NOT CHANGING IT" I have started a letter writing campaign and intend to even picket the store this summer. Nice customer service, do ya think? This is a company know for lousy guarantees, I experience it 30 years ago and it has not changed. Go to the Best Buy official website, scroll to the bottom and click 'contact us' and send them your thoughts. I hope their corporate office gets moved to Bagdad.

    0 Votes
  • Cr
    crystal longden Aug 02, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My husband and I Paid 1st, last, and deposit upon moving into one of Mr. Actons homes. in June of 2007 we were given notice to move after we had paid our rent for the month. We did move, however, Mr. Acton did not return our last month rent that we had over paid and he refused to give us an accounting of what, if any, monies were used out of our deposit. He refuses to speak with us or return the July rent that he had been prepaid. His business practices are very strange to me. I know that he has a legal obligation to report such monies and provide us with a statement of such. Others need to know of his behavior. And He needs to return our money to us. It has been over 7 months now and we still wait.

    0 Votes
  • Wi
    wifi8827 Aug 02, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    $600 for an Asus is outrageous. Asus is garbage.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Katie be Aug 02, 2016

    So I got this laptop (Asus) in around February and the guy said it was all new and all even tho he took it off of the desk where you can test the laptops at first I didn't want it but the dude kept saying its new and it's works great so I payed 600-700$ and then when I got home it wasn't working that well. It wouldn't charge completely and when it did it would shut off and not turn for 2 hours I had this laptop for about 4 months now and it doesn't charge anymore until the next day.
    So while I was waiting for it to start working again I got the box for the laptop to see if there was anything I could do to fix this and I find this yellow paper, it has all the defaults of the laptop and its everything that my charger is doing so I look at the box again and it says "open" so I read under it and it says this product was used or fixed.
    I packed up the laptop and went to the store and said I wanted the exchange but i didn't have the recite my dad had it cause he helped me buy it so I called him ask for his credit card number and they check on the computer but couldn't find that I brought it so I told them to go get their manager.
    I waited about 15 mins for him to come and all they say is we can't exchange it unless you have the recite because its a laptop and I replied saying then why won't your employes tell people when theirs something wrong with the laptop and then I showed the note about all the defaults and they said "this shouldn't be in here" so I lifted and I'm still looking for the recite but they should be more better on the products they sell to people instead of ripping them off!

    0 Votes
  • Ss
    ssjdevelopmentllc Jul 27, 2016

    Bought high end appliances to be delivered. Had to call about 11 times to see when someone was going to deliver. When appliances delivered a 30, 000 pound truck was used. The truck cracked my driveway and broke arm on automatic gate opener. Now I'm having a difficult time having someone call me back about the damages and who is going to fix it.

    0 Votes
  • Po
    pobarjenkins Jul 14, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    If the policy is not on the receipt, but somewhere else: "They should put in on the receipt!"
    If the policy is on the back of the receipt: "Who reads the back of the receipt?!"
    If the policy is on the front of the receipt: "That text is too small!"
    If the policy is on the front of the receipt in highlighted bold print: "I still want what I want!"


    So you ask, who reads the back of the receipt? A smart consumer.

    0 Votes
  • Fo
    Forest Jul 14, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I thought everyone should be warned about Best Buy. They presently have a 15% restock fee on any returned items, and the terms are on the back of your receipt. Who reads the back of a receipt!!!

    And your refund is issued by Corporate which takes 7+days, but it doesn't take them 7 days to charge you or take your money.

    This is a rip off so everyone be forewarned and ask the return policy before purchasing anything.

    Walmart and Kmart refund no questions asked, and they don't charge restocking fees. Definitely BUYER BEWARE!!! Ask before purchasing!

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Renaldo0211 Jul 13, 2016

    Staff assured Xmas gift purchased could be returned after Xmas. When returned unopened12-27-10 retuns person Jessica tore open the previously unopened box then pointing to the tear she made stated it had already been opened and wouldn't accept it. Letter to Best Buy CEO has not been answered. This complaint was posted on another consumer blog and was answered by an obviouly Best Buy service who's job is to repudiate complaints posted on the internet. In my opinion, anyone patronizing BestBuy is gambling with their money and the chance of being pleased with their purchase.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Jam K Jul 12, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was buy a net book in the Best Buy with a Webroot Spysweeper with AntiVirus Software, for 6 months of use, the vendor says me if I will do not need to cancel anything and I will not be charged again, but 6 months later I receive a e-mail inform that I will charge again in my credit card in US$ 39, 99. I send a e-mail to best buy making my complain but the atendent says me if I need to call to Best Buy to cancel the service, but how can I cancel a service if I do not order? This is ilegal!

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.