Wells Fargo Bankstole my money!!!

P
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

This bank stole over $800.00 of my money right out of my account!!! They claim that because my step son's account got overdrawn that they can simply reach into my account and get the money. My step son is an adult and I have no influence on him or access to his account. They claimed that they can do this because I had my wife in my account and my wife had also access to my step son's account. This is total nonsense. This bank is absolutely terrible. I do not understand why my account was linked to my step son's account. I absolutely never gave them permission to do so. This bank stole my money right out of my account. Amazing!!!

Responses

  • Ch
    chris alexander Nov 26, 2014

    Wells Fargo took 1386 from me and then closed my account and said after 3 weeks they would mail me a cashiers checks its been 1.5 months and still no money they took my money is what it seem to me.I don't owe them any money so what's up with that.

    0 Votes
  • Di
    divemaster2007 Feb 10, 2014

    WELLS JUST WIPED ME OUT AS WELL...TOOK 2700 FROM MY ACCOUNT. I now have $2700 in bounced checks that will hit my account today or tomorrow...i am so damn furious that I know its going to make me do something stupid!!! WTF can I do?

    0 Votes
  • We
    WellsFargoSuxxxx Feb 13, 2013

    WELLS FARGO JUST TOOK 7500 FROM MY ACCOUNT. For a business debt that my husband received a notice of default and written off as a bad debt. I TRIED to make arrangements, they said it needs to be paid in full. Then I got my tax money and this f-ing company took it all...left me with a ZERO balance. NO money for food for my kids, milk for my child. I have written a 3k check to get my house out of forclosure that is obviously not going to be paid. There has to be some recourse and who the f- is this b*&^h Michelle Delon...apparentlay someone that will not answer the phone I have been on hold for an hour now trying to get a damn person on the phone to get answers!!! Any lawyers want to take this on????

    1 Votes
  • St
    StanleyMn Jul 26, 2012

    Pacific Heritage Financial are leeches

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    joey 77777 May 06, 2012

    we too think they are thieves..
    stay tuned for what we will do to turn the tables, and have the little snots arrested...

    0 Votes
  • Da
    davejohns Apr 18, 2012

    just got $ 55 stolen from childs account

    -1 Votes
  • No
    No longer a customer! Aug 11, 2011

    I got Charged $35.00 for a .45cent overdraft! They refused to refund the $ 35.00. I have Wells Fargo Bank by default! They took over Wachovia...I went in to tell them that they should refund my money and you guessed it...they said no! This is why I keep most of my money in another bank! Don't trust these people! They will steal you money one way or another!

    1 Votes
  • Wf
    WFCDown Jun 04, 2011

    on early May, 2011, I went into a local branch making a deposit (6 checks) close to $1400. I got the receipt from teller. 2 days later, whatever reason, the deposit didn't show up on my account. Called the local branch and the teller told me it's their mistake. Was credited before the end of the day. So far so good. 20 days later, got a written letter, saying they don't have record for this transaction and will take my money away !!! Unless I present canceled checks. Since they are not my own checks, I have hard time getting those checks. They said the receipt I have from local branch is not counted as a valid statement. WHAT? (Any class action on this sort of behavior if they indeed stole my money?) --> RECEIPT DOES NOT COUNT!!! <--

    1 Votes
  • He
    hellcatcher Jun 02, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    On to part 2: A few years ago they closed one of my account because of inactivity. On a free checking account. They were charging me $25 a month for a FREE checking account. I paid off $600 on overdrafts to a FREE checking account that I never used! To make it worse I had $2.92 in my account when I asked them to transfer the balance into another account and close it. They charged me $3 for a fee I never agreed to, never gave me the $2.92 and left me with an 8 cent overdraft. Then they charged me $35 for an 8 cent overdraft I should never have had. I talked to 19 different people before they reversed that but left me with an 8 cent debt on a closed account and sent it to collections before they even sent me a note. I got a note from a collection agency saying they wanted $350.08 on a charge I should never had had. I went in to the bank six times to pay off 8 cents and each time I went they claimed they had run out of the forms to complete to close it. Now I have a $575.08 bill on my credit that I am seeking legal help for because they gave me charges I should have never had for an 8 cent debt that should never occured. I think we should sue until they are bankrupt and closed.

    0 Votes
  • He
    hellcatcher Jun 02, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Just recently I deposited money into my account and while I was having a charge disputed from a fraudulent seller they gave me a provisional credit and took it out of my account twice. They told me that they had not decided in my favor. They took out of my account twice the amount that gave me. To make it much worse they did not know that I had the payment tracked through Paypal and Paypal had decided in my favor and gave me the money back but Wells Fargo never mentioned that they received the money. It never showed up in my account and they kept it!! They downright STOLE my money!! I spent 17 hours on the phone trying to find out where it went. NO ONE knows. WF is charging me for what they stole and adding overdraft fees to account already with a positive balance. They said they don't do anything until the next day but when I checked before 5pm I had a positive balance. After 7pm I checked again. I have overdraft fees but I have no charges incoming or pending. I tried to talk to someone about it but CONVENIENTLY that department is closed. STAY TUNED FOR PART 2!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ap
    apay123 May 15, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    my alertpay acc. in hold status.i have sent many email they dont responsed me. I THINK ALERTPAY IS GOING FROUD .PLIZ HELP ME.

    0 Votes
  • On
    onegoodgirl! May 15, 2011

    my daughters colledge fund account was depleated to 1 cent! They said I had overdraft fees and didn't have enough in the accoun to cover the charges! Liers! I have overdraft protection and had 17000 in my savings accont! 900 bucks in overdraft fees were charged to my account! I travel for work and didn't get my sttement for 3 months. Wow! Thanks wells fargo for messing with my 3 yr olds colledge fund. OH and to top it off when I went in to complain they took off 2 of my overdraft fees and put them on my kids account and charged her 50 bucks for having less than 300 in her account! She is 3 and has a collection company sending her letters now! And this is on HER CREDIT!

    0 Votes
  • We
    wells fargo are thieves Mar 19, 2011

    wells fargo closed my account without my knowledge and stole $20 that i had in my account.this happend today march 18 2011.im upset.come to find out they swindled 2 of my co-workers as well.their full of trick's.
    WATCH OUT.your money is not safe with them!

    0 Votes
  • Th
    Thaux Mar 04, 2011

    I don't know if anyone else has noticed this or not, but my wife has begone to write down our account balances at night.  In the morning she has started to notice a small difference in the account total.s  60 dollars here, 40 dollars there mission.  No statements showing were the money is going.  We got a credit of 42 dollars paided back to us and it never showed up in our accounts.  Were did the money go?  We are closing all four accounts and seeking a new bank.  Don't even get the wife and I started on the 35 dollar over draft scam.

    0 Votes
  • Sp
    Sprtster53 Feb 14, 2011

    Wells Fargo Bank just recently accessed a $12.00 fee for a check that I deposited in my account which got returned for the following reason; "UNABLE TO LOCATE ACCOUNT" . I found out from the issuing bank, US BANK that the account number on the check was a legitimate account, but that it was an old account which reference a newer account number, so US BANK was ultimately responsible for the error. I called Wells Fargo Bank to try and get the fee reversed, I got an answering machine offering various selections, but none connecting me to a live rep. I finally selected option #2, then press O and I got hold a live person, but they abruptly transferred me to another answering machine which asked me to leave a message. I did leave a message, but they never returned the call. I called again did the same aforementioned process and got a hold of live person again and this time the conversation left me feeling that it just really sucks to me. They refused to reverse the fee. I guess "CUSTOMER SERVICE" is really dead!!! The only thing I can do is to refuse to do business with them and that's the bottom line.

    0 Votes
  • De
    Defrauded homeowner Feb 14, 2011

    Never ever EVER do business with Wells Fargo. They will cheat and defraud you.

    0 Votes
  • Gi
    GI_DUANE Dec 16, 2010

    They ripped me off, too! I kept a line of credit with them for emergency only. I did not use the checking account associated with it. Needless to say, I spent part of November calling in to get $25 annual and $10 overdraft fees refunded (to no avail) then worked with a rep to get the line of credit paid off so I could just close the account. (Did you know when closing your account after annual fees post they don't refund annual fees anymore? ) SO, I had the rep on the phone telling me exactly how much interest was due. I paid the interest with him on the phone.

    Not the end of story. December rolls around and I get an email that my empty checking account was charged $25 to pay a monthly line of credit payment, resulted in another $10 overdraft fee and I was paying interest on $300 transferred from the line of credit (which I had just paid off with a rep on the phone!).

    I called Wells Fargo after receiving an email and they determined I sent too much toward principle, not enough to interest. I ended up with an $0.11 CREDIT on princple and a $0.11 debit on the interest. Yes, 11 cents cost me another $10 plus 27 cents in interest. Highway Robbery! You would think the system would have picked up on that, but it didn't. Based on what the system showed, you would think the HUMANS at Wells Fargo would understand and refund the overdraft fees. They didn't. Even though I had a credit to balance the debit on the SAME line of credit account, they couldn't see their way clear to refunding the overdraft fee. THIS AFTER I JUST PAID THEM $35 plus interest for a $25 annual fee on an account I don't even use!!!

    I've had an account with Wells Fargo for 20+ years; I'm an Army soldier; I work as a financial services technician for the federal government and I am closing my Wells Fargo account immediately.

    0 Votes
  • Co
    Corpus Christa Oct 19, 2010

    Wells Fargo did the same thing to me! They emptied my account because my brother in law was overdrawn. I'm on my step dad is on my account, and my step dad is on my brother in law's account, so why the hell did they wipe me out? Logically, they should have taken my step dad's money, since he's the one connected to the overdrawn account. I just went in to the local branch to argue my point. Their reaction was a pitiful look and the phrase "It's a tough lesson to learn".

    Not once was my step dad or I notified about what was happening. In fact, my account showed that the money was moved via a telephone transfer! My step dad and I had to call customer service 5 TIMES to finally get a straight answer as to who took every last cent.

    As a result, Well Fargo lost every account my family had with them (a total of 12 accounts). I'm definitely shouting this story from the roof tops, and can only hope that this joke of a financial institution wises up to the fact that customer's are not WF's personal piggy banks!

    0 Votes
  • Ss
    sssrrr Oct 19, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    [email protected] please let me know what happened with your case, I am having the same problem.

    0 Votes
  • Fi
    Find another bank Sep 09, 2010

    I strongly urge anyone with a Wachovia or Wells Fargo Banks to close all accounts as these people are as corrupt as can be. My experience with them has been nothing but headaches. Their disregard for their customers is despicable.

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    Richie2010 Apr 30, 2010

    I agree with everyone! I just had $39 overdraft and it's ridiculous that wells fargo charged me $35 overdraft fee, then, another $5 for "CONTINUOUS OD LEVEL 2 CHARGE" within 2 days ? What??? Fargo gotta stop stealing from people!

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    viny Apr 27, 2010

    Well Fargo stole $25 from me, which I had enough money from the previous two months in my account without any withdrawal whatso ever then charge $5 4/5/10 before using the card $5 for using the card 4/6/10 at the market which was $23.70 then charge $5 for having the card in my wallet 4/7/10, 4/8/10, 4/9/10 CONTINUOUS OD LEVEL 2 fees that all!

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    rockgeology Apr 19, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I just had 678 dollars stolen from me by wells fargo. When I called them, I was told it was from a collections account and given this # [protected]. When I called the number, it was Wells Fargo business services. I have always paid every account on time and am not sure why they would do this to me. I am definitely switching banks.

    0 Votes
  • Lc
    lcb21 Mar 08, 2010

    i just went through a short sale on my house with the first and second from wells fargo. the second was supposed to go into negotiations after closing for a pay-off amount or payment plan. less than 1 month after closing the equity department has not contacted me to start the negotiations. their collections dept seem to miss the memo because they just drained my checking account of $2000 and bounced 3 checks for a total of $230 in OD fees all with absolutely no notice to me. most absurd thing i have ever experienced from a bank, or any buisness for that matter. i have talked to 2 wells fargo bankers in person, then was given a phone number which i waited on hold for 20 minutes only to be transfered 2 more times, each rep promising the next dept could help me with my questions. now i have voicemail box to try to get through once every hour. still nothing.

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    riverosprey57 Feb 11, 2010

    yeah, after many months of reassurances that Wells Fargo would not take the money in our personal account due to us being behind on a business line of credit...today I find our account is $625 overdrawn. The representative I talked to on the phone had never heard of this happening before but he forwarded me on a a Michelle DeLeon at [protected]. Oh well...I'm stopping the autopays and will close our account with Wells Fargo.

    0 Votes
  • Su
    sungrrl40 Jan 13, 2010

    They stole $600 from my son's account and applied it to my accounts. They are total complete you-know-whats. They should have the logo: We Don't CARE!!! Thats what they said when we explained this was my son's rent money.

    0 Votes
  • Ww
    wwrre44 Dec 17, 2009

    Wells Fargo stole $ 2, 153.00 from my savings and checking account . They justified it saying it was an off - set from a home loan 2nd on a house i lost due to foreclosure . Then after stealing my money they then charged me apx. $ 400 in over darft fees . I am suing them & if anyone else has been in similar lawsuits and won against this Bank please write immediately . [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Da
    daviddd Dec 16, 2009

    wells fargo took $530 from my SAVINGS account!! they said they have a legal right to do so! its called "Right Of Offset"!!
    I hate them!!

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    montishaya Nov 18, 2009

    I've cancelled overdraft "protection, " or so I thought. Wells Fargo continues to pay transactions that lead to overdrafts, even though I've requested that they NOT do so. I know I've not mananged my finances to Fortune 500 standards, but hang it all I'm having a really hard time, and losing my house, and barely scraping by. Wells Fargo has helped itself to over $250 of my money in overdraft "protection" fees and CONTINUOUS OD LEVEL 2 fees. I know that in the scheme of things $250 isn't a lot of money, but if I had it, I could get milk (you know the regular stuff because I can't even think about organics) for my kids and fruit because it's good for them. This isn't the first problem I've had with Wells Fargo, and I'm sick of their nonsense and garbage and crap!

    1 Votes
  • We
    Wells Fargo SUCKS! Sep 17, 2009

    When I bougt my car over two years ago, it was financed through Wells Fargo. About a year ago, I opened a Wells Fargo checking account. Due to the economy, I fell behind on my car payments. This morning, I go into my acoount, which had almost $400 in it last night, only to find out that I am now -$400. I called to find out what happened and have been transfered to 4 different departments. I had to leave a voice mail and plan on doing so every hour on the hour until I get this issue resolved. How can Wells Fargo justifying their actions when at the time I purchased the car I did not have a Wells Fargo checking account? This is totally illegal in my book. If they don't see my point, then I will be forced to stop my Direct Deposit and Wells Fargo will have an even harder time trying to get the back payments or car for that matter. No wonder Wells Fargo turned a huge profit this year. They rape their customers!

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    Mad as hel Dec 04, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This bank is a joke, They did the same to me, they wiped my accout causing it to be overdraft and casusing me more fees. I was running late on a loan, talk to the collection team and told them not to take money from my account because my mortgage payment would be comming through but they took it any way. will never do business with this bank again.

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    BankKnowledge Sep 19, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This does sound bad, but I think I might know what happened. If on you account your wife was a signer that mean she has legal authority to those funds. Next if her sons (your step son) account had your wife as a signer she has legal authority on that account as well. Now if the son overdrafted the account and never paid it back off the bank has the right to take the funds it needs from an account that ANY of the signers have to pay the bank back.

    So to make it short, that bank took the money that was owed for fees out of another account that had a matching authorized signer. Just because your name is on the account doesn't mean the money is only yours.

    The bank sees that the signers on the account owe the bank money, so they take the money from another account that has the same signer. I believe if you do the research its called Right to set off, or right to pay off.

    Hope this helps. ;)

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.