Complaints & Reviews

bait and switch

Webwatcher Software and service is not reliable and unstable with the Norton A/V products. Have had three occasions when it ceased recording and uninstalled. It even disable ability to access internet entirely after we purposely uninstalled the software from one computer. After spending hours of wasted time with technical help, Webwatcher didn't solve the software glitch. They offered an updated version that supposedly "does work" with Norton which they want to charge an extra $67 for. The old Bait and Switch. The product is a waste of money and the company doesn't stand behind it.

deceptive practices

I purchased and installed WebWatcher version 6 and for the most part, was able to get it to work as advertised. My complaint is that I also spent 29.95 on their "Unlimited Upgrades Package". After less than a year, they started warning me that I should upgrade to version 7. When I went to upgrade, they wanted another $67. I contacted them, and it turns out that their definition of "Unlimited" only extends to patch releases of version 6. Once they arbitrarily decide to change the major version number, forget it. And they even have the nerve to try to sell me another "Unlimited Upgrade Package" with the new version 7. Here's their pitch:

The Unlimited Updates Package guarantees that you never miss ANY

upgrades that we feature for one full year. Every day the software

programs that the person you're monitoring use are being changed and

updated. Make sure you get the Unlimited Updates Package so that

your WebWatcher changes and upgrades to keep up! Without the

Unlimited Updates Package you may miss out on critical activity as time

goes by.

So, they say "guarantees that you never miss ANY upgrades", and yet just because they decided to rename it "Version 7", I must pay again. They're not getting another dime from me...

horrible product, no refund

Webwatcher is a lousy product.
-Often detected by antivirus software and rootkit scanners .
-Frequently stops working for seemingly no reason.
-Buggy.
Awareness Technologies' refund/licencing policy is deceptive.
-Many complainers say that refunds are not honored.
-Awarenesstech.com claims that the $50-$100 purchase is ONE TIME and that you own the product for a LIFETIME. This is not true when REQUIRED 'updates' come around every 6 months. You will receive warnings that your current version is 'not supported' anymore.

  • Ks
    ksleyden Jan 25, 2011

    Terrible product, no customer service, no refunds...DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS FRADULENT COMPANY!!!

    0 Votes

bad to worse

Not only do they fool you about requiring the upgrade to keep up with Facebook (you can't get much unless you pay an arm and a leg for screenshots) but I have gotten NO keystrokes showing email usage for weeks.

I also get no keystrokes for Word docs. My kid spent hours online but I got virtually no data back for the weekend. It's very buggy -- either doesn't download or blocks the wrong sites.

They apologize and I ask for a supervisor, but all supervisors are in meetings...you get the picture. I asked not for my money back, since I read how bad they are on this, but for an extension on my enrollment to get data.

Any recs on alternate software that does remote monitoring appreciated.

cannot register product

BEWARE!!! I purchased webwatcher 5 days ago. Still not able to install and register. They continue to state they are down for maintenance, try later. This is an expensive program and I have received nothing!!!
I sent a work ticket to cancel, don't know what will happen. Am also cancelling the charge with my credit card company since this company cannot provide what I purchased. DO NOT BUY!!!

We are here to help

  • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
  • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
  • Honest and unbiased reviews
  • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free

scam

WebWatcher is online PC monitoring software from Awareness Technologies and I recommend you avoid this company and their products unless you want a lesson in online scamming.

The scam works this way - you signup for their software with terms that don't include any time limits. The software works OK although it's buggy and slow. After a few months AwarenessTech sends a notification about an upgrade. Now this is online software so there's no such thing as an "upgrade" you can only ever use the "current" online version. After a little while more they inform you that unless you pay then some more money to "upgrade' they cancel your login.

They then cancel your login.

If the terms of sale on AwarenessTechs's web site were upfront about their limited time subscription then this would be perfectly OK but they fool you by clearly marketing themselves as "nothing more to pay".

Don't be fooled avoid these guys.

  • Pe
    peterwong May 23, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    that is so right, they told me I only have to pay one time and that is all. Never mentioned anything for all other extra fee for upgrading software this and that...most of the time no data recorded and you need to contact them for help! It will not work on Firefox!

    0 Votes

don' t waste your money

I bought Webwatcher a few months ago to monitor my daughters web activity. It worked about half the time and failed to record quite a bit of communications on MySpace, AIM, etc. Also, was very hard to read due to the recorded format.

Then, one day the PC contracted a virus, requiring me to rebuild the hard drive. When I went to reload Webwatcher on the very same PC, it would not allow me register. Contacted tech support and was told I only had 60 days to reload the CD from date of purchase. Afterwords, have to pay again. So, I threw the CD in the trash and bought a different brand that permitted a longer reinstall period. Webwatcher definately wasn't worth the $39. You get what you pay for.

stay away

Please see my chat with their rep. It never worked and I was never able to get any assistance other than nothing.

You are now chatting with 'Ghen'

Ghen: Hi there

Ghen: Unfortunately, you are beyond our 5 day refund period. As customer service is our number one priority, however, we would like to do whatever we can to resolve your problem and ensure that you are happy with choosing WebWatcher.

Ghen: http://www.webwatchernow.com/Refundpolicy.html

Mark or Bo Stahl: That is not right since I have chatted over 6 times trying to fix this problem and you have never been able to fix it.

Mark or Bo Stahl: Everytime I chatted no one ever able to fix the problem I was told everytime that I needed to restart my computer, but nothing was ever done to fix the problem

Ghen: I'm sorry for the inconvenience. Your software is checking in recently on 10/29/2009 12:05:52 AM. Are you on the target computer now?

Mark or Bo Stahl: I am not happy about the service or the program. You are just asking the same question as the other rep...but nothing get done.

Mark or Bo Stahl: I just want a refund or I will make it know on the web about your terrible servicer.

Mark or Bo Stahl: This is wrong.

Mark or Bo Stahl: Your web page says 24 hours a day 7 days a week but EVERYTIME I asked for assistance it was useless.

Mark or Bo Stahl: Is there an 800 number where I can call and complain?

Ghen: We can also refer you to our technicians via Desktop Sharing Session to double check settings and ensure software is working and up and running

Mark or Bo Stahl: I have already went through all of that.

Mark or Bo Stahl: Don't you read what I am writing?

Ghen: via Desktop Sharing session?

Ghen: I understand you had chat sessions with our previous reps but it looks like you have not had any Desktop Sharing Sessions yet with our techs

Mark or Bo Stahl: My son. whom In purchased this program for was able to get online and look at ***. Yes the web rep said that my setting were correct but it did not stop it from coming on the computer.

Ghen: They'll also test everything to make sure that it's working properly.

Mark or Bo Stahl: They said they did that.

Mark or Bo Stahl: They did it last night until after midnight.

Ghen: You still have not had any techs via Desktop Sharing. This way, the techs will remotely connect to your target computer and check settings and tests everything to make sure it's up and running.

Mark or Bo Stahl: You know what we were told to do...Same as always.

Mark or Bo Stahl: REstart your computer.

Mark or Bo Stahl: HAHAHAH, I did not pay for a program that does not work or reps who cannot do their job.

Ghen: That's not the one I am refering to Mark. The Desktop Sharing Session is a different service we offer. It's where the techs will REMOTELY connect and get hold of your target computer and tests everything.

Mark or Bo Stahl: I almost begged for the rep to do whatever was needed and he sopposeable did but...I was still told to restart my computer.

Mark or Bo Stahl: I just want a refund as this has cost hours of my time and now thinking th ecomputer was safe to learn my 12 year old son saw everything.

Ghen: Go to HELP > TRouble ticket system > New ticket and send your refund request

Mark or Bo Stahl: Those are picture that no kid need to see.

Mark or Bo Stahl: I was sexually abused growing up. I said it would never happen to my kid but even if his body was not hurt the pictures will never go away.

Mark or Bo Stahl: I do not want to go to some other page I want you to handle it.

Mark or Bo Stahl: Can't you guys do anything I request?

Ghen: That's why I am offering you a Desktop Sharing Session with our techs Mark so that they can ensure your software is up and running. Do you want to take advantage of it? If you are on target computer now, we can get started with the Desktop Sharing

Mark or Bo Stahl: EVERYTIME, I have used this chat you have been unable no unwilling to do anything that needed to be done.

Mark or Bo Stahl: I just want a refund

Mark or Bo Stahl: The computer is in Alaska and I am at the Mayo Clinic in MN.

Ghen: For refund requests---- please go to HELP > Trouble ticket system > New ticket

Ghen: Just put it in the subject line: Refund request

Mark or Bo Stahl: I have called my husband everytime so he could get on the computer to work with you guys at least 4 different time.

Ghen: and indicate the reason why then hit Submit

Mark or Bo Stahl: He is now at work and the computer is locked up.

Ghen: You will be notified with in 24-48hours

Mark or Bo Stahl: Ghen, You are still doing the same exact thing as the oother rep. Do something differnet where you do not have to deal with me or this issue.

Mark or Bo Stahl: Is this what you call service?

Ghen: Mark, I am doing all the best to help you trouble shoot. If you want a refund-- please do submit a refund request.

Mark or Bo Stahl: So they can e-mail me the same bull. Why can't you take care of it now?

Ghen: Refund requests should be in writing.

Ghen: Do it by sending a ticket.

Mark or Bo Stahl: I have just wrote a very indepth refund request to you

Ghen: This is the chat . You need to send it via ticket. Please follow. Go to Help > Then Trouble Ticket system > then New Ticket., Thank you

Mark or Bo Stahl: Thansk for nothing.

Ghen: That will be forwarded to the refund team

terrible service/never worked correctly

You are about to be connected to a specialist.

If you are already a customer and need support, please log into your account and click "Help".

You are currently #2 in line to talk to an operator. Your wait time should be less than 2 minutes and 8 seconds.


All operators are currently assisting others. Thanks for your patience. An operator will be with you shortly..

You are currently #1 in line to talk to an operator. Your wait time should be less than 0 minutes.

You are now chatting with 'Ghen'

Ghen: Hi there

Ghen: Unfortunately, you are beyond our 5 day refund period. As customer service is our number one priority, however, we would like to do whatever we can to resolve your problem and ensure that you are happy with choosing WebWatcher.

Ghen: http://www.webwatchernow.com/Refundpolicy.html

Mark or Bo Stahl: That is not right since I have chatted over 6 times trying to fix this problem and you have never been able to fix it.

Mark or Bo Stahl: Everytime I chatted no one ever able to fix the problem I was told everytime that I needed to restart my computer, but nothing was ever done to fix the problem

Ghen: I'm sorry for the inconvenience. Your software is checking in recently on 10/29/2009 12:05:52 AM. Are you on the target computer now?

Mark or Bo Stahl: I am not happy about the service or the program. You are just asking the same question as the other rep...but nothing get done.

Mark or Bo Stahl: I just want a refund or I will make it know on the web about your terrible servicer.

Mark or Bo Stahl: This is wrong.

Mark or Bo Stahl: Your web page says 24 hours a day 7 days a week but EVERYTIME I asked for assistance it was useless.

Mark or Bo Stahl: Is there an 800 number where I can call and complain?

Ghen: We can also refer you to our technicians via Desktop Sharing Session to double check settings and ensure software is working and up and running

Mark or Bo Stahl: I have already went through all of that.

Mark or Bo Stahl: Don't you read what I am writing?

Ghen: via Desktop Sharing session?

Ghen: I understand you had chat sessions with our previous reps but it looks like you have not had any Desktop Sharing Sessions yet with our techs

Mark or Bo Stahl: My son. whom In purchased this program for was able to get online and look at porn. Yes the web rep said that my setting were correct but it did not stop it from coming on the computer.

Ghen: They'll also test everything to make sure that it's working properly.

Mark or Bo Stahl: They said they did that.

Mark or Bo Stahl: They did it last night until after midnight.

Ghen: You still have not had any techs via Desktop Sharing. This way, the techs will remotely connect to your target computer and check settings and tests everything to make sure it's up and running.

Mark or Bo Stahl: You know what we were told to do...Same as always.

Mark or Bo Stahl: REstart your computer.

Mark or Bo Stahl: HAHAHAH, I did not pay for a program that does not work or reps who cannot do their job.

Ghen: That's not the one I am refering to Mark. The Desktop Sharing Session is a different service we offer. It's where the techs will REMOTELY connect and get hold of your target computer and tests everything.

Mark or Bo Stahl: I almost begged for the rep to do whatever was needed and he sopposeable did but...I was still told to restart my computer.

Mark or Bo Stahl: I just want a refund as this has cost hours of my time and now thinking th ecomputer was safe to learn my 12 year old son saw everything.

Ghen: Go to HELP > TRouble ticket system > New ticket and send your refund request

Mark or Bo Stahl: Those are picture that no kid need to see.

Mark or Bo Stahl: I was sexually abused growing up. I said it would never happen to my kid but even if his body was not hurt the pictures will never go away.

Mark or Bo Stahl: I do not want to go to some other page I want you to handle it.

Mark or Bo Stahl: Can't you guys do anything I request?

Ghen: That's why I am offering you a Desktop Sharing Session with our techs Mark so that they can ensure your software is up and running. Do you want to take advantage of it? If you are on target computer now, we can get started with the Desktop Sharing

Mark or Bo Stahl: EVERYTIME, I have used this chat you have been unable no unwilling to do anything that needed to be done.

Mark or Bo Stahl: I just want a refund

Mark or Bo Stahl: The computer is in Alaska and I am at the Mayo Clinic in MN.

Ghen: For refund requests---- please go to HELP > Trouble ticket system > New ticket

Ghen: Just put it in the subject line: Refund request

Mark or Bo Stahl: I have called my husband everytime so he could get on the computer to work with you guys at least 4 different time.

Ghen: and indicate the reason why then hit Submit

Mark or Bo Stahl: He is now at work and the computer is locked up.

Ghen: You will be notified with in 24-48hours

Mark or Bo Stahl: Ghen, You are still doing the same exact thing as the oother rep. Do something differnet where you do not have to deal with me or this issue.

Mark or Bo Stahl: Is this what you call service?

Ghen: Mark, I am doing all the best to help you trouble shoot. If you want a refund-- please do submit a refund request.

Mark or Bo Stahl: So they can e-mail me the same bull. Why can't you take care of it now?

Ghen: Refund requests should be in writing.

Ghen: Do it by sending a ticket.

Mark or Bo Stahl: I have just wrote a very indepth refund request to you

Ghen: This is the chat . You need to send it via ticket. Please follow. Go to Help > Then Trouble Ticket system > then New Ticket., Thank you

Mark or Bo Stahl: Thansk for nothing.

Ghen: That will be forwarded to the refund team

poor product / worse service

Hardly know where to start. I have logged 13 trouble tickets in the past year but many other problems/issue...

Resolved no refund

I've always had trouble with WebWatcher. I wanted some software to block ***.It Never worked well and i...