Menu
WebWatcher company logo
WebWatcher
reviews & complaints

WebWatcher
reviews & complaints

Learn how the rating is calculated

78 complaints
12 resolved 66 unresolved
File a complaint Table of contents
Claim listing
Is this your company? Claim it and get a lot of features. Read more
Click here to get notifications about new complaints of WebWatcher. We promise not to send you any unrelated messages
Share
ADVERTISIMENT
C
10:51 am

WebWatcher - terrible company..

As most of these other reviews state, Webwatcher will work for approximately a week or two before a virus software update wipes out its abilty to record data. I have even purchased the automatic update service for a total cost of around $140. This does not help. You would have to access the computer every couple weeks to try to perform an update, and even that might not work, as it didnt for 2 laptops I was monitoring. Customer Service is a joke. They simply suggest re-installation of the software and that doesn't work either. Then, then suggest buying a new version for $100, and that will only work for 3-5 days before the same thing happens again. DO NOT BUY this program. NO REFUNDS, NO SERVICE, NO DATA MONITORING! TERRIBLE!

Read full review of WebWatcher
Hide full review
H
7:20 pm

WebWatcher - awful product overall

This product requires additional monthly fees. It does not support Facebook in some web browsers. It will keep your data for only 7 days unless you sign up for a monthly fee. You will need to pay for additional screenshot once you use the minimal amount assigned with your purchase. When you call tech support 5 days after purchasing the product (because you've tried to troubleshoot yourself) they will tell you refunds are only available for 3 days after purchase. This is hardly long enough to find out if the product works!

Read full review of WebWatcher
Hide full review
S
5:52 pm

WebWatcher - rip off

Purchased this software and thought it will work for a year (paid full year subscription) BUT as a matter of fact, after you pay the full price, you still have to keep on paying them for storing your data. It has become functionless after 3 days or so. As a matter of fact their trial one week works, but not the paid version and I think trial is just a bait. Don't think that once you purchase the software it will continue to work as trial. Don't waste your money as it will not work after you have 'USED" purchased storage or "SMART CAMERA'S SCREENSHOTS'

Read full review of WebWatcher
Hide full review
ADVERTISIMENT
I
4:21 pm
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

I purchased and downloaded Webwatcher a short while ago. Recently, the computer I was monitoring got an updated version of Norton Antivirus which has now disabled Webwatcher. I filed a help ticket only to be told that it was a KNOWN issue and one the company had no interest in assisting with...unless of course I wanted to upgrade to their premium...

Read full review of WebWatcher
S
12:04 am
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

WebWatcher - ripoff

Purchased this software and thought it will work for a year (paid full year subscription) BUT as a matter of fact, after you pay the full price, you still have to keep on paying them for storing your data. It has become functionless after 3 days or so. As a matter of fact their trial one week works, but not the paid version and I think trial is just a bait. Don't think that once you purchase the software it will continue to work as trial. Don't waste your money as it will not work after you have 'USED" purchased storage or "SMART CAMERA'S SCREENSHOTS'
Also asking to upgrade (pay more money) to have better functioning software.

Read full review of WebWatcher
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

1 comment
K
Dec 04, 2011 1:43 am

I purchased webwatcher, installed onto my PC to track my son. At first the problem was when he used Google Chrome it did not screen capture and only a few keystroke would be captured. I complained and no response. After 72 hrs, the product STOPPED working. Big nothing. I contacted them, opened a trouble ticket. They wanted me to pay for premium service to help fix their issue and I was not going to shell out more money ($99) on top of the $156.00 I already spent. Needless to say, after 2 trouble tickets, 3 live chats and 1 phone call NOTHING. Product does not work and they refuse to issue a refund. This is ridiculous. They should be sued for their poor performance, poor, rude customer service and deliberately deceiving customers.

Hide full review
B
8:05 pm
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

This program works very well, but be warned. There are so many hidden costs your head will spin and your credit card will smoke! Out of the gate, you might want to spend the extra ten bucks to get an online backup copy, in case you have to reinstall, but that is only the beginning. If you want the special Smart Camera, that does what most programs do for...

Read full review of WebWatcher
N
12:46 pm

WebWatcher - webwatcher mobile did not work on my blackberry - no refund!

I bought webwatcher mobile for a blackberry and it did not work! I tried multiple times with the help of the "webwatcher team" to get it to work with no luck! So I asked if I could get a refund seeing as their product did not work and they said I couldn't because it had been three days! Absolute garbage. Plus when enquiring about their product they were so easy to contact but as soon as I had paid for the product they were all of a sudden so difficult to get ahold of! DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY OR TIME WITH THESE PEOPLE TRUST ME!

Read full review of WebWatcher
Hide full review
I
1:27 am
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

WebWatcher - bait and switch

Webwatcher Software and service is not reliable and unstable with the Norton A/V products. Have had three occasions when it ceased recording and uninstalled. It even disable ability to access internet entirely after we purposely uninstalled the software from one computer. After spending hours of wasted time with technical help, Webwatcher didn't solve the software glitch. They offered an updated version that supposedly "does work" with Norton which they want to charge an extra $67 for. The old Bait and Switch. The product is a waste of money and the company doesn't stand behind it.

Read full review of WebWatcher
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

Hide full review
G
12:05 pm

WebWatcher - deceptive practices

I purchased and installed WebWatcher version 6 and for the most part, was able to get it to work as advertised. My complaint is that I also spent 29.95 on their "Unlimited Upgrades Package". After less than a year, they started warning me that I should upgrade to version 7. When I went to upgrade, they wanted another $67. I contacted them, and it turns out that their definition of "Unlimited" only extends to patch releases of version 6. Once they arbitrarily decide to change the major version number, forget it. And they even have the nerve to try to sell me another "Unlimited Upgrade Package" with the new version 7. Here's their pitch:

The Unlimited Updates Package guarantees that you never miss ANY

upgrades that we feature for one full year. Every day the software

programs that the person you're monitoring use are being changed and

updated. Make sure you get the Unlimited Updates Package so that

your WebWatcher changes and upgrades to keep up! Without the

Unlimited Updates Package you may miss out on critical activity as time

goes by.

So, they say "guarantees that you never miss ANY upgrades", and yet just because they decided to rename it "Version 7", I must pay again. They're not getting another dime from me...

Read full review of WebWatcher
Hide full review
ADVERTISIMENT
N
12:35 pm
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

WebWatcher - horrible product, no refund

Webwatcher is a lousy product.
-Often detected by antivirus software and rootkit scanners .
-Frequently stops working for seemingly no reason.
-Buggy.
Awareness Technologies' refund/licencing policy is deceptive.
-Many complainers say that refunds are not honored.
-Awarenesstech.com claims that the $50-$100 purchase is ONE TIME and that you own the product for a LIFETIME. This is not true when REQUIRED 'updates' come around every 6 months. You will receive warnings that your current version is 'not supported' anymore.

Read full review of WebWatcher
1 comment
K
Jan 25, 2011 11:25 pm

Terrible product, no customer service, no refunds...DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS FRADULENT COMPANY!

Hide full review
L
3:17 pm

WebWatcher - bad to worse

Not only do they fool you about requiring the upgrade to keep up with Facebook (you can't get much unless you pay an arm and a leg for screenshots) but I have gotten NO keystrokes showing email usage for weeks.

I also get no keystrokes for Word docs. My kid spent hours online but I got virtually no data back for the weekend. It's very buggy -- either doesn't download or blocks the wrong sites.

They apologize and I ask for a supervisor, but all supervisors are in meetings...you get the picture. I asked not for my money back, since I read how bad they are on this, but for an extension on my enrollment to get data.

Any recs on alternate software that does remote monitoring appreciated.

Read full review of WebWatcher
Hide full review
U
12:38 am
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

WebWatcher - cannot register product

BEWARE! I purchased webwatcher 5 days ago. Still not able to install and register. They continue to state they are down for maintenance, try later. This is an expensive program and I have received nothing!
I sent a work ticket to cancel, don't know what will happen. Am also cancelling the charge with my credit card company since this company cannot provide what I purchased. DO NOT BUY!

Read full review of WebWatcher
Hide full review
H
11:49 am
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

WebWatcher is online PC monitoring software from Awareness Technologies and I recommend you avoid this company and their products unless you want a lesson in online scamming. The scam works this way - you signup for their software with terms that don't include any time limits. The software works OK although it's buggy and slow. After a few month...

Read full review of WebWatcher
S
6:41 am
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

WebWatcher - don' t waste your money

I bought Webwatcher a few months ago to monitor my daughters web activity. It worked about half the time and failed to record quite a bit of communications on MySpace, AIM, etc. Also, was very hard to read due to the recorded format.

Then, one day the PC contracted a virus, requiring me to rebuild the hard drive. When I went to reload Webwatcher on the very same PC, it would not allow me register. Contacted tech support and was told I only had 60 days to reload the CD from date of purchase. Afterwords, have to pay again. So, I threw the CD in the trash and bought a different brand that permitted a longer reinstall period. Webwatcher definately wasn't worth the $39. You get what you pay for.

Read full review of WebWatcher
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

1 comment

WebWatcher doesn't cost $39...

Hide full review
ADVERTISIMENT
E
11:56 am
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

Please see my chat with their rep. It never worked and I was never able to get any assistance other than nothing. You are now chatting with 'Ghen' Ghen: Hi there Ghen: Unfortunately, you are beyond our 5 day refund period. As customer service is our number one priority, however, we would like to do whatever we can to resolve your problem and ensure that...

Read full review of WebWatcher
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

WebWatcher - terrible service/never worked correctly

You are about to be connected to a specialist.

If you are already a customer and need support, please log into your account and click "Help".

You are currently #2 in line to talk to an operator. Your wait time should be less than 2 minutes and 8 seconds.

All operators are currently assisting others. Thanks for your patience. An operator will be with you shortly..

You are currently #1 in line to talk to an operator. Your wait time should be less than 0 minutes.

You are now chatting with 'Ghen'

Ghen: Hi there

Ghen: Unfortunately, you are beyond our 5 day refund period. As customer service is our number one priority, however, we would like to do whatever we can to resolve your problem and ensure that you are happy with choosing WebWatcher.

Ghen: http://www.webwatchernow.com/Refundpolicy.html

Mark or Bo Stahl: That is not right since I have chatted over 6 times trying to fix this problem and you have never been able to fix it.

Mark or Bo Stahl: Everytime I chatted no one ever able to fix the problem I was told everytime that I needed to restart my computer, but nothing was ever done to fix the problem

Ghen: I'm sorry for the inconvenience. Your software is checking in recently on 10/29/2009 12:05:52 AM. Are you on the target computer now?

Mark or Bo Stahl: I am not happy about the service or the program. You are just asking the same question as the other rep...but nothing get done.

Mark or Bo Stahl: I just want a refund or I will make it know on the web about your terrible servicer.

Mark or Bo Stahl: This is wrong.

Mark or Bo Stahl: Your web page says 24 hours a day 7 days a week but EVERYTIME I asked for assistance it was useless.

Mark or Bo Stahl: Is there an 800 number where I can call and complain?

Ghen: We can also refer you to our technicians via Desktop Sharing Session to double check settings and ensure software is working and up and running

Mark or Bo Stahl: I have already went through all of that.

Mark or Bo Stahl: Don't you read what I am writing?

Ghen: via Desktop Sharing session?

Ghen: I understand you had chat sessions with our previous reps but it looks like you have not had any Desktop Sharing Sessions yet with our techs

Mark or Bo Stahl: My son. whom In purchased this program for was able to get online and look at porn. Yes the web rep said that my setting were correct but it did not stop it from coming on the computer.

Ghen: They'll also test everything to make sure that it's working properly.

Mark or Bo Stahl: They said they did that.

Mark or Bo Stahl: They did it last night until after midnight.

Ghen: You still have not had any techs via Desktop Sharing. This way, the techs will remotely connect to your target computer and check settings and tests everything to make sure it's up and running.

Mark or Bo Stahl: You know what we were told to do...Same as always.

Mark or Bo Stahl: REstart your computer.

Mark or Bo Stahl: HAHAHAH, I did not pay for a program that does not work or reps who cannot do their job.

Ghen: That's not the one I am refering to Mark. The Desktop Sharing Session is a different service we offer. It's where the techs will REMOTELY connect and get hold of your target computer and tests everything.

Mark or Bo Stahl: I almost begged for the rep to do whatever was needed and he sopposeable did but...I was still told to restart my computer.

Mark or Bo Stahl: I just want a refund as this has cost hours of my time and now thinking th ecomputer was safe to learn my 12 year old son saw everything.

Ghen: Go to HELP > TRouble ticket system > New ticket and send your refund request

Mark or Bo Stahl: Those are picture that no kid need to see.

Mark or Bo Stahl: I was sexually abused growing up. I said it would never happen to my kid but even if his body was not hurt the pictures will never go away.

Mark or Bo Stahl: I do not want to go to some other page I want you to handle it.

Mark or Bo Stahl: Can't you guys do anything I request?

Ghen: That's why I am offering you a Desktop Sharing Session with our techs Mark so that they can ensure your software is up and running. Do you want to take advantage of it? If you are on target computer now, we can get started with the Desktop Sharing

Mark or Bo Stahl: EVERYTIME, I have used this chat you have been unable no unwilling to do anything that needed to be done.

Mark or Bo Stahl: I just want a refund

Mark or Bo Stahl: The computer is in Alaska and I am at the Mayo Clinic in MN.

Ghen: For refund requests---- please go to HELP > Trouble ticket system > New ticket

Ghen: Just put it in the subject line: Refund request

Mark or Bo Stahl: I have called my husband everytime so he could get on the computer to work with you guys at least 4 different time.

Ghen: and indicate the reason why then hit Submit

Mark or Bo Stahl: He is now at work and the computer is locked up.

Ghen: You will be notified with in 24-48hours

Mark or Bo Stahl: Ghen, You are still doing the same exact thing as the oother rep. Do something differnet where you do not have to deal with me or this issue.

Mark or Bo Stahl: Is this what you call service?

Ghen: Mark, I am doing all the best to help you trouble shoot. If you want a refund-- please do submit a refund request.

Mark or Bo Stahl: So they can e-mail me the same bull. Why can't you take care of it now?

Ghen: Refund requests should be in writing.

Ghen: Do it by sending a ticket.

Mark or Bo Stahl: I have just wrote a very indepth refund request to you

Ghen: This is the chat . You need to send it via ticket. Please follow. Go to Help > Then Trouble Ticket system > then New Ticket., Thank you

Mark or Bo Stahl: Thansk for nothing.

Ghen: That will be forwarded to the refund team

Read full review of WebWatcher
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

Hide full review
D
6:34 pm
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

Hardly know where to start. I have logged 13 trouble tickets in the past year but many other problems/issues have gone unreported. Just to name a few problems: - website often down - lose ability to monitor licensed PCs - have to reset software program often, very time consuming - had to reinstall licenses 3-4 times - unintuitive software, poorly...

Read full review of WebWatcher
V
10:36 am
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

I've always had trouble with WebWatcher. I wanted some software to block ***.It Never worked well and is difficult, also support stinks. I tried an Upgrade for $46.95 and it was a disaster. I called to cancel the same day. Well within their generous 5 day trial. I was told to send trouble ticket and did so twice actually. I have called, E-mailed, chat line...

Read full review of WebWatcher

We are here to help

  • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
  • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
  • Honest and unbiased reviews
  • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free
ADVERTISIMENT

WebWatcher contacts

Phone number

+1 888 682 9501
ADVERTISIMENT
ADVERTISIMENT