University of Phoenixunethical business practices!

M
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

I just want to urge anyone who is considering the University of Phoenix to please reconsider. First and foremost, the extremely high cost of tuition at the University is not a fair exchange for the subpar education you receive. You will be paying for shorter classes and peer learning, and from the research I've done, most employers do not recognize a degree from University of Phoenix as much more than a piece of paper.

I made the smartest decision ever by changing schools. I now attend Oklahoma State University. Not only is it a division one school more widely recognized, but its CHEAPER! The kicker is, the classes you take at UOP are mostly non-transferable to any State funded or division one school. After many arguments and debates, frustrations and setbacks, a number of Oklahoma colleges finally took UOP to court just to get a course catalog with comparative class information for their courses so they would no longer be left with the burden of trying to determine which classes you need credit for when transferring. Secondly, you cannot get a transcript of your classes from UOP unless you order it from the main campus either online, or by calling at a cost of 7.00 per transcript. Need an overnight transcript? How about a charge of 45.00 + the cost of the transcript itself! Yep, you got it! 52.00 dollars for a piece of paper delivered to you the next day (within 2 days if you don't order by 10am Phoenix time!) I've sent heavy parcel mail via Ebay transactions for less than that overnight!

The bottom line is, The University of Phoenix engages in unethical business practices. I have filed formal complaints against them with the Better Business Bureau. Will that make them change their ways? Probably not. But an informative website like Complaints.com help average people like myself make informed decisions. Should you decide to attend UOP, I'd like to say "I told you so" before you're the next person here expressing your frustration.

Responses

  • Re
    Reviewer18501 Nov 19, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    this school is double charging its students when they try to leave and they also direct your funds to lenders for collections. they are charging you for classes that you have not taken and that is a breach of contract.

    0 Votes
  • De
    DEBTFREEGUY Oct 04, 2014

    I have had practical experience 1st hand. Most of the stories stated here could have been written by me as these are all shared experiences. It seems University of Phoenix and the Apollo Group have perfected a system for defrauding people.

    1 Votes
  • Ms
    Ms. W Jul 01, 2012

    I started attending University of Phoenix for the first time in 2006 to pursue my Bachelor's of Science in Business Management, I had excellent grades. I was working for a job where it was mandatory to work during peak season. I submitted all of my homework, attended all of my classes except the last one, the instructor failed me because I was not able to take off work for the last night of class, and the school allowed her to drop my grade from an A to a D-. My daughter attended University of Phoenix, she was in her core classes, she was told by her academic counselor that she had to take her maternity leave more that three months before she was due to deliver, they held her refund for over a year, and never gave it to her now they are telling her that she owes them 5, 000.00 and cannot get her transcript.

    Now I am currently a student of UoP and every time it is time for me to get my refund I get the run around. Last year they made me pay for four classes then sent me a little over a thousand dollars after I raised holly heck with them. This year I have straight A's not on any academic or financial probation. I was told that I would receive my refund of over 3, 500.00 on June 7th, then on June 15th, then again on June 22nd, then I was told on the 29th that my money was deposited in my account but today is July 1, 2012 and I have nothing.
    I have told these people at the school that I am having medical problems and need to purchase my medication, having financial problems and they claim they care but they don't. Bottom Line is I went online this morning to check my account, University of Phoenix has charged me for my next two classes when they have a letter one file from a year ago telling them that I will manage my own funds. They do not honor their word, nor the word of the students. The have no morals, they are an unethical business and the steal the students refunds, I need my money I am paying for the loan. Then they have been lying to me for a whole month so that they can make me pay for the next two classes that do not start for a month.

    0 Votes
  • Uo
    UofPhoenix Feb 22, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hello there,

    I am sorry that you have not had a good experience with the University of Phoenix. If you have a specific issue that you'd like us to look into, please contact the Office of Dispute Management. They will assist you with filing a formal grievance. Please feel free to contact us at [email protected] or [protected].

    Kind regards,

    Libby Bailey, Sr. Student Relations Administrator
    for the University of Phoenix, Office of Dispute Management

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    TAH1212 Feb 21, 2011

    I want to comment .. I was enrolled with UOP online three years ago .. I completed two written assignments for one class. Was offered a new job in a new state and was relocating. Called them and they said No Problem to withdraw and start up again later on. I asked if I owed anything, they said don't worry about it .. you will get something in the mail, if you do. I asked about my student loan - they said there would be no billing of the student loan because I had completed the required percentage of the quarter or class or whatever .. three years later .. I get a phone call that I am in default of my student loan and it has been purchased by Texas Guaranteed and that they were getting ready to garnish my wages .. at first I thought this was a hoax .. a way for them to get me to send them money .. I took down all the information and started doing some checking .. looks like I do have a student loan and it is in default .. and it's about 3, 000 .. so after talking to the guy at the FAFSA site (who by the way, said they hear stories like this all the time from people) I found out that there is very little I can do about it. Whatever University of Phoenix billed for, I now owe 3, 000 and if I don't do something quick they will be garnishing my wages .. sweet .. I am going to be paying on this loan for quite some time and all I have to show for it is two completed written assignments for one class .. and those assignments are about two paragraphs each .. pretty expensive wouldn't you say ?? .. I just wanted to personally THANK the University of Phoenix for a wonderful experience .. it has been truly rewarding ..

    0 Votes
  • Al
    AlSharpton69 Feb 20, 2011

    The University of Phoenix has lost their accredidation! Those would be the headlines that you would be reading today if I had anything to do with it. You've read the complaints on this site and other websites, essentially shady practices by the University of Phoenix. Yet the University of Phoenix is allowed to continue to conduct shady and unethical buisiness practices for one reason, the Department of Education allows it to happen. The Department of Education is as gulity as the University of Phoenix in that even after complaint after complaint to the Department of Education regarding the University of Phoenix, they sit idle. The Department of Education in this case has failed to protect the very people that they are here to serve and has failed in thier mission which is ensure that American's get what they pay for; a good quality education at a reasonable price. That unethical schools are not allowed to exist. The Department of Education is the University of Phoenix's best friend.

    0 Votes
  • Kr
    KRM in Charlotte Jan 18, 2011

    I am so fed up with UOP. I am researching other schools. The financial aid that is rewarded to you as a student goes to pay for classes 4 months in advance. Disbursements are never on time, if you get them at all & for one class I am now paying $1740.00. Tuition goes up just about every semester. I have 3 Stafford loans & a Pell Grant, which is exhausted due to the tuition hike. How can they use your disbursements to pay for classes 4 months down the road? Is that even legal? My academic counselor & financial counselor are often changed, so getting the same story from anyone who works there is almost impossible! I will be reporting them to the department of education and BBB! I am considering becoming part of a class action law suit as well!

    0 Votes
  • Kr
    KRM in Charlotte Jan 18, 2011

    I am attending UOP. I have been for 2yrs now. I am working on my bachelor's now. I've had constant problems with financial aid. I've had to take out loan after loan, as the cost of tuition keeps rising about every semester. For one class per semester is $1740.00. And now I am not eligible for many of my disbursements because the school is using my disbursements to pay for classes 4 at a time. That's right the four classes are prepaid before I even take them. UOP makes sure they get paid, while constantly promising disbursements that I have never seen. Why isn't someone investigating this school. I am trying to transfer to a cheaper school, and I plan to become part of a class action lawsuit!

    0 Votes
  • Je
    jennyb3334 Sep 21, 2010

    educate yourselves before signing anything people! Its not U of Phx fault, its your own for not looking at the financial aid master promissary notes or even your own syllabus. Also, to the person above who was withdrawn automatically from class, you have to miss 2 weeks of attendance before that happens. That entails not posting on at least two days of the week. Again, something your syllabus would have told you. University of Phoenix actually helps its students a lot more than traditional schools do. What other school would go over your entire syllabus with you and help you through your website for your first 9 weeks of class? This school is amazing!!

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    chevydale88 Aug 30, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    i have had it with this unprofessional pathetic "school". I attended a community college after high school and wish i stayed there but figured online was easier. They play games constantly my financial advisor doesnt answer her phones or emails and when she does she makes NO SENSE. My counselor calls me every 10 minutes and i signed up way too easy..i had grants and loans way too quickly extremely scary. Anyway i completed 2 classes which cost me 2, 600 which is CRAZY i was gana stop cause everything was way too weird but my conselor convinced me to stick it out...i started my next two classes and started freaking out when i thought about all the money i was wasting...so i called ans said i wanted to drop asap i attended 3 days of my 2nd set of classes, and apparently now i have a bill for $300 dollars!! 3 days of classes !!! they fd me around long enough im so upset with myself for not looking into this school and researching before i signed up! now im screwed and have to work to pay off this [censor] that wont amounbt to [censor]! dont let them waste ur time!!! and money!

    0 Votes
  • Te
    Temet Nosce Jul 21, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    First I will say, they there were some good expereinces with UOP Online. I basicly aproached them to quickly get a Bachelor degree because my employer was pushing me to do so.

    My compaint is that they do not hold thier staff accountable nor thier "learning teams".

    1st case was when a arrogant teacher had stated at the beginging that he would NOT answer anyquestions that were listed in the directions at the begining of the course. Fair enough. Except that when I followed those instructions, I was marked down for them. When I logged a complaint and stated the fact and the documentation, the teacher acknowledged his mistake, but would not change my grade. The school refused to change my grade, however offered me to take the class over again for free, although I had passed it.

    2nd case and ongoing (which many may relate) is thier policy on learning teams. The teachers (all thus far in the year I was on) did not hold accountable for the other team memebers. We are graded as a team and not individually. I am a manager and when a team memeber is not doing thier job, I warn them, then fire them. I refuse to accept a grade when others did not do thier job in a class I am paying for and the teacher is not holding these lazy students accountable.

    Thus now I am stuck with a new student loan-irony I just had paid off my other, and I would have been better off not going to this school to begin with.

    Do your research. If you are going to invest time and money into something. Invest a little time researching the organization so as to make a wiser decision. I am happy for forums like these, just too bad not many people know about them. Imagine how many other people have suffered and said nothing...only to allow it to continue. Sad...very sad.

    Take care and be safe.

    0 Votes
  • He
    Heather Baker Jun 23, 2010

    " I wanted to go to school for a Bachelor's in Elementary Education, but my enrollment adviser told me that I would have to get an Associate's degree first and they don't have an Associate's in Elementary Education."

    First and foremost, B*LLSH*T they don't. I'm enrolled in that program right now. Don't say things that aren't true. I have also done a lot of research on the University of Phoenix, and I have heard a lot more good things about this school than bad. May I also point out that their Associate's program for Elementary Education has been there for several YEARS. I understand that not everyone is going to be pleased with an experience. I am sure that I could put a complaint about Sprint on here that many people would get angry about, but it would be an HONEST complaint. It would not be some made-up story from my imagination just because I didn't get the service that I want.

    Secondly, the proper posting at University of Phoenix is two substanative posts on four different days of the week. That's not too much to ask. That's kind of like saying to a high school student, or a traditional college student, to discuss two different productive topics on four days of the week. Wow, something they should do anyway. When you attend college, it is to get your education, not to slack off. That's something you have to work at.

    I understand that not everyone is going to have a good experience with this school. I have honestly not had the best one. Financial aid has REALLY been d*ck*ng me around, and it makes me very angry. However, I have had nothing but GOOD experiences with my teachers, my enrollment advisor, and my academic advisor. Now that I have a new financial aid advisor, things are going much smoother. If you all want a bad school experience, deal with the things I had to at the community college in Trenton, MO. No explanations about anything at all. Not school work, not enrollment, not financial aid, NOTHING. I'm sure other's had a great experience there, but I didn't.

    0 Votes
  • Mm
    mmlv Jun 18, 2010

    oh i attend university of phoenix i dropped out now i got to pay them im so poor i also dropped out from harvard they are not accredited harvard a bad school im worthless im complaining because i dropped out shut the [censor] up people all ya'll do is [censor] and [censor] cry me a [censor]ing river and get the [censor] over it [censor] and bigots mama me la verga

    0 Votes
  • Zh
    Zhernandez May 08, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The want to charge me $745.00 for fulfilling their requirements to enroll for doctorate degree. They told me the class was free and would replace the ACT test. You know ACT is not $745.00. When I told them to take me off their rosters of classes they kept adding me to, they ignored me. They told I had to wait a month for my financial aid to kick in. They did not want me to pay, but they wanted my financial aid.
    I contacted FAFSA and change my school code in my financial aid form. I also called [protected] for direct loan information changes; will contact state license for complain at [protected] x 226; and reported the incident to state education inspector general hotline report student aid fraud, waste and abuse at [protected] or www.ed.gov/misused.
    I took 2 courses and paid out of packet 5 years ago and I had no problems. I guess because they did not have a financial aid package to over charge or abuse.

    0 Votes
  • An
    anon student-person Mar 15, 2010

    I agree that UoP is not my favorite school and I have experience with lots of colleges because I am prior service military and travel so much.
    In the past, their course descriptions have been almost impossible to get, however they now are on their website. Their counselors aka recruiters are more salesmen than educational professionals in my experience as well.
    However, if they are as saavy as they seem to be, I am sure that they are working to improve their product.

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    rainman601101 Mar 02, 2010

    I was a student getting my masters degree in education at University of Phoenix. I am also a very outspoken atheist as well. Over the last 6 months I have been going to UOP I have received emails demanding that I stop making any references to me being an Atheist. I still have the emails from my counselors asking me to stop. There are also many other students who post in their biography that they are of different religions and they hear nothing from the school. THis school discriminates against Anti-theist people.

    I also recently had a teacher who was a religious nut from Orlando as I am now finding out. I google searched her name and the results showed many complaints in teacher ranking websites discussing her lectures having an over abundance of pro religion topics. I had an issue with a group member in a group project and the teacher over the last 4 weeks of the course refused to answer any of my emails about the problems I had after I turned in a paper about evolution and the disgust I have with it not being taught in Orlando. I of course was mad that my teacher would not address my issues at all and feel it is because of my Atheist viewpoints. I also tried to get help from my counselors that my teacher was not helping me and they told me I had no right to report her and I just had to deal with her. After much frustration I started taking my issues I had with my team member public.

    I am a straight A student now facing expulsion and having my credits wiped out of UOP records. Maybe somebody knows an attorney that would be able to help me in my situation as I am having a hard time finding someone.

    please contact me at [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • So
    soldierwife Feb 18, 2010

    For money School!!! PLEASE i beg you put your education in the hands of a school that actually gives a damn. This school only wants to suck your pockets dry and leave you with a confused look. Confused look meaning when you go out to find a job in a fast food restaurant or at Wal-mart because you found out that your degree isn't worth the paper it's printed on and that hardly any company will take you serious with a degree from UOP!

    I thought going there would be a good idea since I am a military spouse and mom and we constantly travel all the time. I learned quick fast and in a hurry that the professors don't care and that if you tick them off about anything they will lower your grade. Also if there is a natural disaster they WILL NOT work with you! They will give you a zero if a large ice storm comes along and tears up the city and there isn't any power, and when you tell the teacher about it they will just say "well we have snow here and we get our work done" You then want to tell this underachiever where they can go!!!

    But the day comes where you get fed up with all the "Fakery" and you transfer, only to get your head snapped off by the financial advisor, to a REAL school and realize what a good wholesome education you were missing out on. So yeah PLEASE CONSIDER YOUR OPTIONS!!! DON'T ATTEND UOP I'T'S THE WORST MISTAKE YOU WILL EVER MAKE!!!

    0 Votes
  • Le
    lee majors Feb 16, 2010

    Sad, but I wish I read this information before I completed my AACJ. Now I am working on BSHSM, and I'm in my fith class. My instructor from Florida is a racisit, her along with 3 other's that have worked in cahots with each other. I am being forced to attend a class that she has told the student's not to work with me. I have called the enrollment counselor and academic counselor as well. No solution. The teacher does not call me back, but speaks daily with the other three. I have sufferred emotionally, mentally and academically. By not allowing student's to work with me, that is an automatic zero. So a failing grade is sure to come. What am I to do. I have never seen anything like this before. One of the ladies told me in class that I have "big ones" what?! But I am sure it is I who will suffer. Today I plan on visiting Troy State University in Phenix City, AL in hopes of a transfer. I could use any suggestions from the public, for I fear I am lost. My email is [email protected]

    Thank You!

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    Mary Ann Denton Feb 12, 2010

    I am so thankful that I found this website! You talk about being unethical - that is TRUER than you think! I call them heathens because I am a minister and they refuse to put my name on my degree which I paid for not the school - but they won't put it on there because it has to do with religion...I paid for this degree - not the school and I am going to get an attorney - and we will win this - I thought I was the only one in which this had happened to - but it appears even during class sessions as well as online chats with some of those so-called professors (laugh) - there was identificiable discrimination and racism...

    1 Votes
  • I never thought to check online if there were complaints made about UoP. The fact is I was only interested in obtaining a B.S. degree to gain the minimum educational requirements to enter a law school program which has been my life long dream in becoming a lawyer. I'm 53 years old and thought "it's better late than never" University of Arizona Law School here I come!!!

    I recently applied at UoP to enter a BSCJA/HS degree program which I thought would be the fastest way to obtain the minimum requirements for UOA Law School, and the application process went smooth with the help of a smooth talking, very articulate, and very nice looking counselor. I mean she called me everyday at least 2 times to update me on my financial aid process. She came across as someone who really cared about my success in reaching my goal, but something happened that changed the picture.

    About 5 days after I applied a "snag" occurred. The National Student Loan Data System was reporting that I was in default on a student loan which prevented me from obtaining financial aid.
    I explained to my counselor that this was obviously an error because I was actually in default 25 years ago but since had that debt discharged in a Federal Bankruptcy proceeding and provided her with indisputable proof. Additionally I immediately contacted the U.S. Department of Education and had them update the information in the NSLDS and also I had a 3-way personal conversation between my counselor and a U.S.Department of Education representative which they informed her that I was eligible for title 4 financial aid because I was not in default status.

    Despite the fact that U.S. Department of Education provided a fax document of proof that a student loan was not in default, my counselor wanted the Department to re-word the documentation to fit the UoP language of acceptance. All of a sudden "Red" flags went off. I realized the counselor didn't know what she was doing. She was now questioning the officials from the USDOE, the one's who reported the errounious information and retracted it.

    Thank God for the NSLDS errounious reporting and the ineptitude of the UoP staff. I was able to immediately read between the lines that their only concerns was to obtain and secure my financial aid and after doing a bit of research I immediately withdrew my application before starting class.

    I am now enrolling in the University of Arizona, a very reputable entity, and starting over. I realize that it may take a little longer to reach my goal but the rewards and recognition will be charished.
    Take your time and follow your instinct before committing yourself. Some people aren't as fortunate to encounter "snags" that save their dream. Good luck on your choice!!!

    1 Votes
  • Me
    Melanie B Feb 04, 2010

    I graduated from the University of Phoenix Online with a Master's degree in Information Systems and a GPA 4.0. Unfortunately, I know nothing about computers or technology. Does that make sense? Of course it does if you are familiar with the University of Phoenix and their unethical business practices and poor quality education. They will tell you anything you want to hear to get you to sign up for classes, the educational material is poor quality and the instructors are completely worthless. I am out $30, 000 and have nothing to show for it. They give you A's so when you complain about the instructors and classes they can say you are doing great and what are you worried about. The education that one receives at the University of Phoenix is worthless and a complete joke. I have also submitted complaints to the UOP, but they will do nothing to rectify this situation because they are unethical and only out to steal your money. Please, please if you have complaints against the University of Phoenix, submit a letter indicating your complaints against the University to the Higher Learning Commission. This is the organization that accredits the University. We must stand together and make the Higher Learning Commission aware of what the University of Phoenix is doing. Please send your letters of complaint to Higher Learning Commission, 30 North LaSalle, Suite 2400, Chicago, IL 60602.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    janesmith57 Jan 29, 2010

    I have maintained a 3.97 average until my most recent completed block of classes where I still got A's but inexplicably dropped back to a 3.95. Yes, I had problems with one of the professors due to technical problems and he didn't check his email for the "back up" assignment. Yes, things have gotten even worse with this block, including technical problems and I am inexplicably failing one of my classes while still maintaining a passing grade in the other, despite assignments dis allowed in both classes because they posted with 0 content. Yes, there are definitely biases associated with this school, yes, I am probably going to change, and NO, I don't think I would recommend this school for anyone. I'm doing the work, the only way they can fail me is not to play by the rules, or to change them to suit themselves. I will pursue my education elsewhere. Thanks for providing the information that lets me know it's not me. It still hurts though. I hope someone does call them to account. I am planning on sending a letter to several accreditation agencies to let them know. I would suggest you folks do the same.

    0 Votes
  • Wo
    wolf442 Dec 28, 2009

    I had a great experience at UoP (MBA). Enjoyed most of the classes and the instructors but found that the majority of students really did NOT belong in a Masters level program. Yes I earned a 3.97 and yes I put in 3-6 hour a day 5-7 days a week for both on ground and online but It was the same as University of Maryland UC online and Drexel online. Is it a "for profit" business - yes but so are the State Universities. They are all businesses which many people forget. It sounds like most people on here are just whining to cover their individual lack of effort - sorry folks ... a degree takes work. Is it the best, most respected degree? Probably not. But that is because the student body generally are people that think getting a degree is easy or should be - come on did you REALLY expect to put in only 3 hours a week???

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    Scullen101 Oct 27, 2009

    I attended UofP online and found it to be the most overpriced, sub par education I have ever encountered. The student classroom discussion was a complete joke. The assignments ranged from being ridiculously easy, to being extremely difficult. Professor feedback was usually a cookie cutter response to assignments that offered no real constructive critique. I should have heeded the warning signs in my head when I first talked to my guidance counselor. He was all about signing me up as fast as I could KNOWING that I didn't have a up to date computer that was capable of using their site. After the first 9 weeks my enthusiasm waned greatly. I could honestly say that I learned absolutely nothing of value. So please, PLEASE stay away from UofP. Go to a real college and get a real degree that actually means something.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Paul1434 Oct 10, 2009

    It has been over 100 days since my first post on this site. I have achieved A's in my first 4 classes and have A's in the two I am half way thru now.

    I subscribed to receieve e-mail notifications to stay tuned to others feedback on this site as it progressed. I searched for 4 months on every piece of information I could find about other peoples experiences with regards to UOP. I wanted to make the best decision I could before signing away the next thee + years and $30, 000 +.

    The factors that finally motivated my decision were the fact that the school is accredited, and has been doing the online thing the longest and how fast I can get it done. I took out student loans, so I don't care how much it costs. I will make all that back from the career I get, once I am done. The cost is about the same of a really nice car. My potential earnings completely out way the negative impact of the large amount of the investment. I plan to continue my education after my BA to prolong my payments and continue to make myself better, to get more money and a better career.

    As I stated before, you have to go into this thing prepared to work. If you aren't a self starter, or confident, or able to tackle problems on your own, then online learning might not be for you. I spoke with an instructor one night for over two hours about the school, the students, and the potential after graduaton. He told me there are many students attending that just don't belong there. They either aren't prepared for the cirriculum, or don't speak english well enough to comprehend. Either way, the school could do a better job of ensuring people are able to handle it before accepting them, but its not like that is really an easy thing for them to do, and who is to say who can or can't handle it.

    My advice to anyone considering ANY online school is to ask your self if you really want it. It took me 5 years to finally make the choice to go. In those years I had gone to councellors at different schools and came close to actually going a couple of times. By the time I made my choice to go to UOP, I was ready. I wasn't going to be detered by challenges that I knew I could face on the way. I committed my mind that this is what I am doing, and that I will work through all the things I need to.

    UOP has presented a few situations where I was challenged to understand or deal with things. In these situations I contacted the correct people and was persistant in getting the information I needed to secure my own feelings. It is dissapointing to see so many people who seem to have these troubles, but UOP is very large and there are many peole involved. If you aren't satisfied with the information or treatment you are receiving, try looking elsewhere. Be persistant and push to get the answers you need.

    Most of all, prepare yourself to work. I find that my Monday's are usually pretty open as far as school work goes, and the work builds to the weekends. My Sunday's are usually spent sitting at the computer for up to 6-8 hours doing the assignmnets that are due that day. I could spend the week doing them but am usually busy with my job and my kids and the reading that prepares me for the big assignments due Sunday. This is just the way I have built my own schedule and works for me and my wife.

    It's not as bad as people make it seem everyone. Some of you no doubt have gotten a bad deal, but in any organization as large as UOP, those things are bound to happen. I am just subbmitting my HONEST experience which has been positive to help balance all of the negativaty that is out there. If your reading these posts and have had positive experiences at UOP then share them so otyhers who are afraid to make the choice can know that it isn't as bad as a lot of people make it seem. Making the choice and getting started is the hard part; after that, you just can't give up what you chose to do.

    WORK IT!

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Jamie40 Oct 10, 2009

    I have been attending the Univ. of Phoenix for almost a year and am very happy.

    I study the syllabus and ask questions if I do not understand when an assignment is due, I then create an "Assignment Schedule". If my assignment is due on Mon. 10/5 by Thursday 10/1 - I have it finished and I am posting it to my forum. On Friday I start the reading for the next assignment.

    For all of you students who think a regular college is better - Dream On. I attended a university before UoP and was disappointed. I dreaded my Monday morning class I knew for two hours the instructor would talk about what he did all weekend. I had another instructor I could not understand and was told he was the only instructor for that class. A class I needed for graduation.

    If an individual does not do "Due Diligence” before starting something then they have no one to blame but themselves. Before I started classes I knew exactly what I had to pay out of pocket and what my FASA loan amounts would be and I knew exactly what the class policy was because I studied the manual.

    And for that person who wrote that anybody who does not agree with him/her must be on the school's payroll - I am not paid by the school and I repeat I am NOT paid by the school!

    0 Votes
  • Je
    JECC Oct 06, 2009

    I, too am a Phoenix. I received my Masters of Organizational Management Degree in 2004. I thought the best thing about the school was the flexibility. Now, don't get it twisted, there is work that has to be done-you personally must find the time to do it. I attended classes on ground. I found the experience interesting. The most benefit I received from UofP was the weekly speaking assignments. I have a real fear of speaking in public, and I must say that once I graduated the fear has lessened, not gone-just lessened. Another thing about UofP that I am actually proud of is the fact that my writing skills were strengthened because of the professors who taught there. OMG, if you leave UofP and do not know how to write a paper-APA formatted paper-shame on you! It was my experience that I had excellent, qualified and competent teachers. In Marketing classes, I had professors who were involved in marketing-whether it was many years working for someone else or running their own business. In my Business Law class, the professor was a practicing attorney, and on and on. I must say that I am not so sure that the professors at UofP should or have to be tenured like the ones at the "regular" colleges, because once a student finishes the class-mission accomplished-does one really need to continue to be connected to the professor? That was not my experience at my "regular" undergraduate university, either. I am sure there are problems that are experienced as with any school/program or whatever. I believe that everyone's situation is different and should be taken on a case-by-case basis. I recommended UofP to my sister and she absolutely hated it! She was not a team player and hated the team approach to the classes. Now, I know firsthand that my sister was more of the problem than the solution, however, she will never admit to that. So with that said, I know you get out what you put in at any university.
    Good luck to all, wherever you go!!

    0 Votes
  • Fo
    fortitude Aug 06, 2009

    Btw, I agree with Tanya Suss' comments. I read these positive comments about UOP and they seem planted. There is no way that UOP can be a fantastic school with knowledgable instructors who are genuinely interested not only in teaching but in their students' welfare! Why? Because the majority of comments are the total opposite of what these positive comments say. Not only that but the negative comments are more telling, descriptive than those general comments which dismiss them as only rants as well as those that say UOP is completely faultless.

    Sure I went to traditional university (bricks and mortar) and had a few absolute dolts passing for professors, but never did I have to suffer to get my degree as how my husband is suffering to get his.

    Another thing is the damned lie about the flexible study hours and so forth he got sucked into. He could've accomplished more going to school in person even with a heavy work schedule I am so sure of it. But now he's stuck.

    0 Votes
  • Fo
    fortitude Aug 06, 2009

    My husband spends practically 24 hours each day trying to make sense of the subjects he's given. There are no breaks not even for winter and summer holidays like there are in the real world. There is no time for any personal life because he's stitting there forever. There was perhaps one or two classmates that he could count on for help in explaining the subject matters. But this was only in one class. The rest of the classes there is no one to depend on for help. He contacted a tutor online once and this boob asked my husband how he did the problem, what program he used to figure out the problem. He ended by telling my husband to go ask someone in his class. Some help. How this boob got a job as tutor is beyond me.

    The class provides a roster of contact phone and email addresses, but once when he tried calling no one answered their phones. It's really bad. He is not being taught in the traditional sense. The instructor seems to interact seldomly and leaves the students to teach themselves. This is ridiculous. The only difference between Univ. of Phoenix and just ordering books and self-study is that you can't buy yourself a degree although that's what you do when you get trapped with Univ. of Phoenix. I had a stupid, tenured professor in my major and he assigned us the textbook and left the room each time. He never taught us because he could get away with it. I feel this is similar to what's going on at Univ. of Phoenix.

    I must say also that from what my husband has told me some of the students are really nasty types-real a**holes who think they know everything and put down others like my husband who is struggling. I'd like to ask those know-it-all's if they knew so much then why they're only now doing their MBA programs. Their attitude is so disgusting that now know why they're so many nasty managers out there.

    I just wished my husband had not wasted his money on this crappy so-called MBA program. He could have had a better experience if he'd have signed up with the local university I am sure. He just thought it would be better in terms of studying as he works. Well, it's just not that way because he's tied up struggling and like I said is online almost 24 hours daily.

    If anyone is considering Univ. of Phoenix for their online degree program DO NOT DO IT. It's a ripoff!

    1 Votes
  • Th
    theresa highsmith Jul 23, 2009

    Before I attended University of Phoenix, I thought online degrees were a joke. I attended UOP and started classes, and let me tell you, I did not have a social life for 2 years. I worked harder online than I did in a brick/mortar building. I feel like my education at UOP was well worth it. It is a serious curriculum, maybe a little expensive, but all-in-all I am proud to be a Phoenix. It takes dedication and committment to attain any degree and anytime I had problems, my counselors, professors, and tech support were right there to assist me. I will tell anyone that online is much tougher, but if you stick with it and communicate with the staff, you will succeed, I did.

    -1 Votes
  • Pa
    Paul1434 Jul 01, 2009

    I cannot believe all of the horrible experiences outlined here. What do you people think college is all about? You have to work at it. I have a full time job that gives me 50 hours a week and two kids and a house. I am online everydayworking towards my degree. Even if it is just 30 minutes to see what has been posted; I am there. You have to devote yourself to any college. You have to develop the skills of time management and work it.

    I could never atted a brick and morter school and be eligable for financial aid if I didn't attend an onlione university. UOP is accredited; thats all that matters. You have to take that piece of paper and work an interview to get a job. How do you get a job when you don't have a degree? You show the person that you have what it takes. The paper gets you in the door. You have to do the rest.

    I understand that there are issue's that come up that we find distastefull. Doesn't that happen everywhere? Don't you struggle in all aspects of life? Aren't there road blocks everywhere that we have to overcome? I am not an instructor, and I don't work for UOP. I am a struggling father of two living in Michigan trying to WORK my way out of a bad auotmotive economy.

    WORK the problem people. Stop blaming this or that, and work it!

    -2 Votes
  • To
    Tonya Sus Jun 16, 2009

    The UOP sucks and anyone who thinks differently is working for them while they are typing positive posts. Think about it..why would anyone that was happy with the school be reviewing the complaints board. All of you ### can kiss my ###. you fake bithces and fake ### instructors.

    2 Votes
  • Lo
    Logicandreason May 28, 2009

    Why you should Read the Following: 25 years as a student at 7 different collages including Privet and State. 15 Years of working within Privet, and State Schools. I've heard it all.

    My takeaway from this is that the people who gave the school Neutral or Positive feedback make so many more legitimate, non-circumstantial points, compared to the folks that had a bad thing happen, and want to point a finger. I fear that as someone who hasn't had a perfect education experience (nor should I have expected one) people coming to this website and reading this could miss out on a very purpose-fulfilling educational degree program. UOP and more over Privet Education is not for everybody. But I chuckle when I read 90% of the complaining in this forum can be said for any school at anytime. Here is my advice and I think it almost cover any issue anybody faces in collegiate studies.

    ~Know what YOU want from YOUR education?
    ~Know what your educational needs are? (flexible schedule, more hands on, etc)
    ~Understand your true motivation, and driving force.
    ~Consider some of the road blocks or obstacles that may come up, think of plans to work through them, and think which School can better adjust for it.
    ~Research on your own all the Financial Options that are available to students. (Pell Grants, Call Grants, Stanford Loans, Privet Loans, GI BILLS and Scholarship.) And understand the implications and benefits of each one.
    ~### what your education and the POSSIBILITY of a better future is really worth to you.
    ~Talk to your friends and family about creating a net of supporting you in the time you will be going to school.
    ~Make sure the school has been around for a while and is accredited.
    ~BUT MOST IMPORTANTLY TAKE YOUR EDUCATION IN YOUR OWN HANDS, DON'T LOOK FOR LAZY/EASY WAY OUTS, TAKE YOUR EDUCATION SERIOUS, DO REAL RESEARCH, and DO THE INTELLIGENT THING THAT ALSO FEELS RIGHT.

    Lastly, do not expect there not to be unforeseen obstacles or things that happen which may seem unfair. Life is unfair, schools are not run or employed by saints/perfect people.

    Good Luck

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    frustrated May 27, 2009

    I was extremely mislead from the beginning and as many times as they tell me my best interests were taken into consideration, they weren't. My main concern was how my previous completed college credits were going to transfer and before I know it, they had me signed up; credit card number and all. They told me I would see how many trnsfer credits applied after a few weeks but by that time I had already been pressured to start class. I TOLD THEM FROM THE START MY MAIN CONCERN WAS WHAT CREDITS WOULD TRANSFER. They didn't allow me ample time or suggest other options and never once went over the cost of the rediculous fees for admissions. A friend of mine got his masters from here but after reading some of these blogs, I seriously regret my decision to attend the U of Phoenix. High pitched sales tactics were not expected from a "supposedly" good school or how they make themselves out to be. I expect this kind of sales pitch from a used car salesperson, not a college. BEWARE ALL!!! Make sure your best interests are being considered, not theirs!

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Lindsey Mar 26, 2009

    As an employee of UOP, I will say that after reading MOST of these complaints, it sounds more like ranting than anything else. Like someone else mentioned, every educational institution has it's benefits and it's downfalls. I can honestly say without bias, this is a great school. I am a counselor and speak to my 20 students each week, and out of those 20, maybe 2 or 3 have had issues. That's pretty good odds compared to what I hear in the beginning from them about the school that they attended prior.

    Obviously, we can't all be "phoenixes". If you are the type of student that has failed in the traditional environment, and prefer more hands on, this could be a great program for you. If you are a lazy student, who is looking for a program that it one night per week, but you really think all you have to do it show up and participate, then you are mistaken. One thing I have noticed is that the students of this program are in their own culture. We deal mostly with "professional procrastinators". Those who have always been "too busy" for education, or have just not found the right fit yet. Also, we have those who are firsts in their family to graduate, and have either no support from family or very little. It can be a really great experience, or a really bad one, all depending on how you look at it.

    I urge you, if you are considering feeding into all the negativity, to ask yourself what are your alternatives? Do you have the flexibility to go to a traditional college? If you have other options, we are usually more than happy to assist you no matter where you choose to go. We even keep the information at our fingertips for you to use us as your resource when finding out other colleges price of tuition, financial aid info, curriculum, and more. Why make 10 calls when you only need to make 1? We aren't the cheapest college, but we aren't the most expensive. Some would say- you get what you pay for. We pride ourselves on the service we provide our students, increasing their probability to graduate. Granted, you must do the work. But during those hard times, when you want to throw your computer out the window? We are here to listen.

    We really try to make it an easier process for you to get into college, because most of us know that getting in is more than half of the battle, and it can be quite the discouragement. We are here to support your decision to go back to school, find your true motivation so that you are less likely to stop (as many have before) and we are also here to see you graduate! The reason we don't stop calling you is because there are plenty of students out there that appreciate being called and pushed forward toward their goals. How often in a JC would you get a call from a counselor to give you support? Yeah that's what I thought.

    We are here to see lives change, because it is such a great thing to be a part of something positive. If students want to consider that a negative, that's fine! We don't care to call students who don't want change in their life! Simple as that.

    Please think again before seeing us as all for profit. Sure, we are a profitable business, as we definitely should be. We have plenty to offer, and our graduates can tell you that as well. In fact, most of our leads are from referrals and alumni! Not once have I seen a graduate call or say how they regretted their experience. They have a wonderful graduation team, they meet lifelong friends on their learning teams, and they learn a lot about themselves. How they learn, how they interact with others, their strengths, and their weaknesses. It's a scary process, learning about ourselves, and at the same time, exciting!

    Some of you may have legitimate complaints. We are the largest private university in America. We are bound to not do everything right. But it isn't in our best interest not to improve. We aren't out to get you! LOL I promise.

    Who am I? Just an enrollment advisor. Not a perfect one, either. A little about my job: I make 0ver 100 calls per day and out of those I talk to maybe 3 students. At least one of those hangs up on me or curses me out. It's sad, really. Students request info and when we try to reach them to give the info- we are a "bother." I admit- after making so many calls and hoping for one nice person to answer the phone, even I start to sound repetitive and boring. But that 1 student that talks and appreciates what we are doing, will make my entire day.

    My job is to do whatever is the best interest for the student. Not to enroll everyone. That is a false statement. The issue if anything is that not enough students are deciding to go to school because of the economy. This is the time to move forward, not sink deeper.

    So if you want to be a Phoenix, go to the website. Call us and form your OWN opinion.

    Thanks for taking the time to read this.

    -1 Votes
  • Di
    Disappointed & Disgusted with UOP Mar 21, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Does anyone know if a Code of Ethics existes for the professor's at UOP? I ask because as students there is a Code of Student Ethics that we must adhere to. I agree that this Code exists but is there one for the professors? I am currently going through a horrible time with the school regarding one of the professors.

    The school has made it virtually impossible for me to obtain any information I have requested regarding my complaint. Warning sigh!

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Mark Nov 23, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I graduated from UoP in 2008 from the Houston campus. I started my first class (GEN300) online and realized about the third week into that class that posting to discussion threads was important to earning participation points. Because I failed to review and follow the syllabus correctly, I came out of that class with a C. From there, I signed up to take ground courses at a UoP campus. Some of the courses were difficult to grasp and some of them were easy. Given that I work full time and have family responsibilities, I had to learn to manage my time to attend the classes and get my assignments completed on time. I also was accountable to other team members for weekly projects as well. Long story short... I completed my degree and feel extremely relieved. Do I think I can go into the corporate world and be completely functional? NO. All jobs require specific training to the needs of the company.
    Yes.. I have had my share of frustrations with academic counselors not responding to my inquiries on time. Yes, I have had some facilitators (instructors) who appeared to not know what they were talking about and virtually "rockheads." If I had to do it again, I would not hesitate to return to UoP for another degree. Yes, it is expensive, but I found no other institution that would allow me to attend classes five weeks at a time; around my work and family schedule.
    Some of you are complaining about this institution. I met many like you in person. Most of those I know are lazy and want the other team mates to do the work for them. They have to be held by the hand all the time. Well... a college student has to learn to be self sufficient and productive, and learn to work with others. These are a few life skills needed in the work place. If you cannot handle following instructions of a syllabus and do nothing but complain, how can you get through any university? How can you expect to be productive and get promoted if you cannot be positive in what you do? I've read most of the grievances here and some do not have supportive arguments to their statements. So therefore called "fallacies."

    Good luck to those who choose to earn their education in any institution. Just know there is not an educational institution that is perfect. Set your goals in a reachable and sensable fashion, and stay with them to completion.

    0 Votes
  • Le
    Lee White Nov 19, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Yes, I have had a suit against the University of Phoenix going on now five years. Been dismissed and have intervened in the Hendow/Albertson action as well.

    What the problem with Phoenix is that it does not comply with the academic year of the law, Title 20 USC 1088, which is 30 weeks of instruction; 24 semester credit hours. The Department of Education has not granted Phoenix a waiver on the Instructional Hour Component as well that mandates that Phoenix provides the instructional hours.

    In the Bachelors Program, under student aid, states 4 weeks of instruction for 5 weeks for 3 semester credit hours is 20 hours of instruction. A semester hour by United States law in the student loan program, which Phoenix gets over 90% of its income from, is one half of the academic year. Thus, it is the law a semester credit hour is 15 hours of instruction - no if, ands or buts about it. What Phoenix is doing is tantamount to fraud, charging the government for 45 hours of instruction when it is only providing 20. So bad is a degree in Phoenix, that a 120 instructional hour bachelor of science program would be 20 x 40 units or 800 instructional hours. Thus a Bachelor of Science Degree at Phoenix, as compared to an associates degree at a community college requiring 60 credit hours or 900 instructional hours is even 100 hours short of an associates degree. Thus resulting is the solid fact, Phoenix cannot be accredited it is 100 instructional hours short of an associates degree in the bachelor of science degree program.

    But worse is the fraud on all the colleges in the united states. It is a fact that Phoenix provides 800 hours of instruction and charges the government for 1800 hours. That's is right by law, 15 hours of instruction for one semester credit hour, at 120 instructional hours in an average bachelor of science degree equates to 1800 not 800 instuctional hours. Thus Phoenix which received 2.3 billion dollars in 2006 stole from our government in the Title IV student loan program over 1 billion, one hundred and fifty million dollars.

    And of course getting 20 hours and dividing it by 15 does not equal 3 semester credit hours as Phoenix states but only one hour and 20 minutes, of which is only one and 1/3 credit hours. See Title 20 USC 1088 to see the truth for yourself.

    1 Votes
  • Cy
    cyndyragan Nov 16, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    While I agree that UOP is expensive, I knew that going in. I had an awesome enrollment counselor who followed through with everything she promised me. She did such an oustanding job I was able to help my fellow students. If I was unclear about anything. I would be making some phone calls so I was gained a better understanding. I am in my 4th week of my first class, and recieved a D because I had forgotten to attach my week 2 assignment. However my professor told me to resubmit it and no late points would be assessed. To me that sounds like a generous offer. I have not found any negative experiences. I recieve calls all the time by my acedemic team to let me know they support me, and any calls I make to them are always promply returned. I am saddened some have such a negative experience, but really what s your part in the situation, and how do you reach your solution???

    -1 Votes
  • Li
    Lisa Williams Oct 14, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I attended a finance class for 3 weeks with a grade point average of an A-. Storm Ike hit the City of Houston with a powerful impact leaving behind massive destruction. The University of Phoenix took advantage of students, closed its doors and with many of the other local businesses. There was no communication from UOP except that students needed to attend a make-up class. I was given a D+ in finance. My grade averages is an A- and has been for the 3 years that I attended the University. I filed a grievance to know resolution about them taking my money, approximately $1, 400 for the class, closing the University doors when the storm hit, and failing to communicate students' expectations and issuing low and failing grades. What an insult to one of the University's finest students. I would not recommend one student to the University if this is the way they treat students during a catastrophe. There was inconsistencies in faculty grading as some members averaged out the students 3 weeks and grading them accordingly. How inconsidered and uncompassionate. I was without lights for 13 consecutive days. Sleep deprived and food deprived. All other resources such as libraries and forms of communication were shutdown for weeks after this storm.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.