Menu
ADVERTISIMENT
Home Mobile & Cell Phones TracFone Wireless outgoing caller id shows wrong name

TracFone Wireless review: outgoing caller id shows wrong name

C
Author of the complaint
6:15 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more
Review updated:
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

Purchased Tracfone 10/2010. After calling friends within the 1st week, my friends said a wrong name was showing up on their caller id's. Then I stared receiving voicemail messages for the same name/person. Tech support @ Tracfone, after days of calling, talking, answering the same questions, getting ticket #'s, I was told it is not their problem & that I should tell my friends to call their phone carriers to update their info! Obviously, SD Joyner had the phone/SIM card before me & TRACFONE did not even offer a new phone or SIM card. What a crock of ****! Tech support is horrendous

ADVERTISIMENT

More TracFone Wireless complaints & reviews

TracFone Wireless - unregistered sim problem fixed
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
TracFone Wireless - poor service!
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment to this complaint.
TracFone Wireless - tracfone not adding minutes after online purchase
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
TracFone Wireless - missing minutes from account - again
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment to this complaint.
TracFone Wireless - customer (chat) support
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment to this complaint.
6 comments
Add a comment
L
Jun 30, 2022 11:10 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

My iphone XR is now showing a caller ID of my former married name from 20 years ago! I had a different carrier, phone and phone number back then.

I changed my name 20 years ago and have had this phone number for 7 years now.

I switched to total wireless about 2 years ago and it always displayed my current name.

Now just this week I called my work and my last name had changed on the caller ID!

So I called a relative's land line and the same thing happened. Anyone I call that does not have me as a contact sees the old name.

I called total wireless and they were absolutly useless. They told me I needed to call other phone companies of the numbers I am calling to change it in their database. Well that does not work unless you have an account with them. Iphone used to have a way to change your called ID but with the new updates, that option is gone.

G
Apr 25, 2022 6:14 pm EDT

Caller-ID goes to the phone number, not the phone or provider.

Each provider should have a way to set a new name, though.

Names and phone numbers go into a lot of databases, where

you will never get rid of them.

G
Sep 19, 2021 9:56 am EDT

Same here -- my Tracfone shows my wife's name on people's caller ID when I call. At least this makes a little more sense than some of the other complainant's stories, yet my wife never owned this phone nor SIM. So, maybe it has something do with... i dunno... possibilities are endless. Anyway, not sure about the path forward to fix it at all.

G
May 01, 2022 9:25 am EDT

Names go with phone numbers, not phones or SIMs.

Did your wife previously have that number, or sign up for a

phone (cell or landline) with that number?

But yes, Tracfone should be able to change it, though as I understand,

it can take days to actually get through all the databases.

A
Feb 03, 2019 2:05 pm EST

Got a new SIMs card and after asking repeatley to keep my old number I get a different number. So ok no problem but it is showing a name of Jose Reyes! What gives? And talking to anyone at Tracfone is a joke!

D
Apr 15, 2011 5:39 pm EDT

Same issue and same response from Tracfone support! My issue goes much farther as I was getting calls from bill collectors looking for the person listed on the caller ID. I would get voice mail messages demanding a call back. At one point I had over 200 calls and messages. When I attempted to make a call many times the voice mail would sound and interupt my call. Many times the call would get dropped. When I would call back they would not believe me noting I was the person they were looking for as that persons name came up on their caller ID. The do not call list didn't help nor did a new Tracfone number and a second do not call list assignment. The final straw was when these bill collectors somehow obtained my personal land based phone number and began calling on that. I alerted Tracfone and I was advised that there was no way someone could access my account information. I noted that perhaps their security isn't as tight as they thought it was. I stand by my story. They noted they would or could not do anything about it other than to give me another new (third) phone number. I am afraid to do this as what next will a Mob loan shark get my address a come to break my leg! I am through with Tracfone and want to warn other customers to watch out as it appears that dishonest people may be getting Tracfones and honest people end up with the numbers and getting harrassed.

ADVERTISIMENT

Learn how the rating is calculated

495 complaints
102 resolved 393 unresolved

TracFone Wireless contacts

(added by reviewer)
Phone number
Address
9700 NW 112th Ave., Florida United States
Website
Category
ADVERTISIMENT