Menu
Thousand Trails
Thousand Trails Customer Service Phone, Email, Contacts

Thousand Trails
reviews and complaints

www.thousandtrails.com
www.thousandtrails.com

Learn how the rating is calculated

1.0 150 Reviews 150 Complaints
Verified
The authenticity of the customer service contact information for Thousand Trails has been meticulously verified by representatives from ComplaintsBoard using our proprietary verification system.
Share
Claim Your Business
Take control of your profile: address complaints and engage with reviews
Write a review File a complaint

Thousand Trails complaints 150

ComplaintsBoard
S
2:35 am EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

Year before our Motor home was broken into and people stayed in it using the bathroom and eating the food in the cabinets. We were told they had been caught and was not the norm since it is fenced all the way around. We decided it was safe again so this year I just picked it up and found the battery dead but had just driven it 2 weeks ago to get the...

View 0 more photos
Read full review of Thousand Trails
ComplaintsBoard
J
6:54 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Thousand Trails Trails collection and zone pass

I purchased a membership over two years ago because it gave me a 20% discount on my stay at an Encore park over the winter. This year they dropped my discount and still want me to pay for camping I seldom use. To top it off, all parks are now closed but they still want me to pay. I cancelled my card and will not pay but they keep hounding me to buy out my contract for $250
Like I've got unlimited funds to finance these aggressive telemarketing people so they can keep trying to collect or sign me up for more of their scams. I ask to speak to a decision maker and get placed on hold until I give up.
Don't get involved with this marketing scam

Read full review of Thousand Trails
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
D
4:58 pm EST
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Thousand Trails Customer service is awful

Customer service is awful, called to see if we could get a different spot as the spot they have us on at Topics in Florida is absolutely horrible we can't get level, we can't reach our utilities. The manager said there is nothing she can do as they are full that I would have to call TT and when I did Tiffany was rude disrespectful and when I asked to speak to her supervisor she said she was at lunch. Well I called back an hour later and asked for MS Cooley as Tiffany said that was her name I was told Ms Cooley doesn't take calls from members. 1400 miles from home and stranded this sucks.

Read full review of Thousand Trails and 1 comment
Hide full review
1 comment
Add a comment
T
T
Tomas williams
Rogers, US
May 27, 2021 8:28 pm EDT

Keep calling up to thousand trails to make appointments the road woman keeps hanging up on me every time we try to talk to herAbout reservations to stay in a cabinWe wait for hours for them to call us back just to have them hang up on usI would like my money refunded me the $14, 000 I spent to be talk rude toYou need to work on your customer service nobody wants a rude Customer service wet wrap if I knew it was gonna be like this I would’ve not even put my money $14, 000 in there cashMy name timothy williams I would like to hear from you on this matter

ComplaintsBoard
E
4:26 pm EST

Thousand Trails issues

Phone service sucks they said little over 10 mint's now over 40 minutes. Yous are always about money. And the park manager at circle m always lies. Yous don't investigate that park. First two year's was fine 3rd year what an issue we only do this for are kids or we definitely would not. We will keep telling people how are exsprens is with you. And they messed are reservations up so many times. And we were lide on at times. They were not always friendly at times. Thousand trails

Read full review of Thousand Trails
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
B
6:34 pm EST
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Thousand Trails customer service

I have been trying for two days to make a reservation I have been disconnected several times no one calls me back I've missed making a reservation at a campground that was almost booked up and then by the time someone called me back it was completely booked up, a customer service is beyond ridiculous I am going to make sure that I tell everyone I know not to join thousand trails if I don't get some Kind of satisfactory response, I have been trying to reach someone to help me since Friday it is now Tuesday this is beyond frustrating I've been put on hold for hours on end literally! I've been a member for almost 3 years now in the beginning I was satisfied and very happy with the membership I don't know what has happened lately but it is the worst now ! The next time I happen to get a live person on the phone I feel that it's necessary to take their name down right away so that when I get disconnected (again) I can report them for not getting back to me. I am about to cancel my membership I don't even know if I can get somebody live to talk to to ask them questions about how to do that, I would ask that somebody contact me but I know it won't happen, my cell phone number is [protected], I plan on doing some research on other camping memberships

Read full review of Thousand Trails
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
B
4:09 pm EST
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

We have traveled all over the us using tt and other campgrounds. Only at mount vernon/bow do they assign sewer sites. Others are first come/first serve or the lottery system. Both work well. At bow, this is the 3rd time we were assigned a sewer site that was double assigned. The last time was today. We actually were in the assigned site when someone came...

Read full review of Thousand Trails
ComplaintsBoard
G
2:55 am EST

Thousand Trails manager at tt seaside, oregon. suspended our membership w/o notice

My wife and I are elite members and have been with TT for over 10 years. We full time RV and have loved TT. We have spent many month at the Seaside, Oregon park over the years and loved it. But things changed on 11/14/2019 when we received a 30 day suspension letter. We spent 14 days at TT Seaside. When we arrived I set up our site and, as I have done many of the TT parks. I flew my Trump 2020 flag. After the first week my Trump flag was stolen. My neighbot told me that they thought is was a TT member that took it down. I replaced the flag with a revolutionary war flag designed by Ben Franklin, see attached. Please keep in mind that there was a gay pride, rainbow flag flying on the next row. I could have cared less. There were delapided RV's in the park. Sewerhoses on the ground and not on a platform of sorts. Unattended dogs just tied up outside. Multiple electricle cords plugged into a single electrical box. Pool & Spa not open due to budget cuts so they had no one to maintain the pool & Spa and the same for propane.. Not available. The list goes on and on but the flag, my flag was the big issue of the day. Halloween night approx 800pm. A Ranger bangs on my door and tells me to take down my flag. He can't tell me why, just shows me the flag rules but it does not state that I cannot fly this historicle flag. He did not even know what my flag was or what it ment. I told him that I would not take it down and I closed the door. 10 minutes later I took it down and replaced it with the Betsy Ross flag. We finished our stay and moved on to the TT in Newport, WA. Without warning in Newport were told to leave the TT park in Newport and were shown a 30 day suspension letter. No TT employee at Seaside said a word to us after the TT employe knocked on our door 7 days earlier. Since we full time and have paid TT thousands of dollars. This was wrong. They just threw us on the street w/o any warning. How can this be done? How can a park employee do this to the very people that pay his/her salary? We were SINGLED OUT due to our political beliefs while other violations are not enforced. Not only is this wrong, Private park or public. This is AGAINST THE LAW EVEN IN OREGON..

We are waiting for TT Corporate to reply to our many requests about this issue and hope to get this resolved before we have to take further legal action.

Glenn Tucker

Read full review of Thousand Trails and 1 comment
View 0 more photos
Update by Glenn Tucker
Nov 15, 2019 7:27 pm EST

My wife and I full time RV and have loved TT until recently. We were staying at the Thousand Trails park located on the Washington State peninsula called Seaview. I had just set up and attached my US Flag and My Trump flag and I was told to take it down. They do not allow political flags but it is not in the rules. See attached. My wife asked me to take it down as to not cause a big disturbance. As a happily married man. I listened to my wife.

After staying at Seaview we move to the Thousand Trails park in Seaside, OR. I had my Trump flag flying but someone stole it. I advised the rangers of the theft. My neighbor thinks it was a TT ranger that took it off of the pole. a Few days later at approx. 8:00pm. A Seaside ranger named John banged on my door and told me to take down my flag. I had a revolutionary war flag, join or die with the colonies imprinted in the flag. I told him I would not and he left. 5 minutes later I took it down per my wife's recommendation.

After Seaside, we moved to Newport, Oregon. As usual, I had my Trump flag flying for almost a week. This evening, I was told to take it down and vacate the park. I was also told that our membership was suspended for 30 days for not following the flag rules. Again, see attached for review.

My wife and I have been members of Thousand Trails for over 10 years and now they are kicking us out for flying a Trump flag. We have been to TT Parks in TX, VA and everywhere in between and this has never happened until recently and ONLY with the Trump flag. They can hid behind their vague rules but I am 100% positive it is because of the Trump flag. What is next, no stickers on your vehicle? Does the 1st amendment apply anymore? Freedom of speech and expression.

Other Thousand Trails rules are not being enforced such as trash left at sites. Tarps and storage building's that are not authorized. Too many dogs/cats. Aggressive dogs and the list goes on. This is over a flag?

The TT rules DO NOT STATE no political flags. This was harassment pure and simple

Update by Glenn Tucker
Nov 18, 2019 3:04 am EST

Forgot to attach flag picture

The “Join, or Die” illustration was first published in 1754 by Benjamin Franklin as a political cartoon for the Pennsylvania Gazette, an early American newspaper. The cartoon is a representation of all of the British Colonies in a cut-up segmented rattlesnake, which Franklin described as “the present disunited state of the British Colonies.” (Source)

The “Join, or Die” illustration. (Source)
The letters next to the snake are abbreviations of each colony in geographical order, running south to north (South Carolina, North Carolina, Virginia, Maryland, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, New York, New England). Because of this, it can actually be viewed as a map of some sorts. Georgia and Delaware are not portrayed on it, and the New England colonies are listed together rather than having their separate segments. Originally, the cartoon was created as a woodcut, which is an illustration carved on a piece of wood.
PURPOSE OF THE FLAG
Ben Franklin’s goal was to unite the colonies during the French and Indian war, which lasted seven years. When Franklin published the woodcut, it became the first political cartoon. It was based on a superstition, being that if a snake was cut in two and the pieces were put together before sunset, the snake would return to life. (Source) The cartoon was recognized for its meaning and many newspapers reprinted the cartoon throughout the colonies.
Franklin expressed in his editorial that the colonies would become stronger if they were united. As Franklin wrote, “The Confidence of the French in this Undertaking seems well-grounded on the present disunited State of the British Colonies, and the extreme Difficulty of bringing so many different Governments and Assemblies to agree in any speedy and effectual

Hide full review
1 comment
Add a comment
J
J
John H Date
, US
Oct 02, 2020 12:18 pm EDT

Sue them plain and simple!

ComplaintsBoard
L
1:24 pm EDT
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

The hiring of one nationality Hispanics... I a member of three yrs put in about 3 app for work here at the park. I've been overlooked numerous times, and I believe it's because of my race which is black. I have talk to the person who oversees the process to only him telling me I'll look into it. I the mean time they have hired 7 people with in last week of...

Read full review of Thousand Trails
ComplaintsBoard
C
9:22 pm EDT
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

I had several issues during our stay October 4-6, 2019. I addressed most issues with the campground, partying by neighbors until 1:30am, power tools two mornings in a row at 7:00am, no activities happening despite being scheduled, overall campground was run down and honestly in a bit of disrepair. The campground manager apologized for the state of the...

Read full review of Thousand Trails
ComplaintsBoard
P
9:31 am EDT

Thousand Trails reservations

We are very dissatisfied and upset with the membership we purchased. It was explained to us that with our membership we would be able to reserve sites at Forest Lake Rv Park in Advance, NC. without a problem since the RV park was so large and we were escorted around the entire park to be shown all the amenities and camping areas. We were also shown many nice sites throughout the park that could be chosen on a first come first served basis. This was a total false representation. First of all 80% of the park are full timers, secondly, the remainder of available sites are reserved for both retail, which we cannot reserve, and then members which we have found out are very limited. Given these restrictions it is almost impossible to make reservations at any time. We were also told that the wonderful part is that we can reserve 60 days out with our basic membership. We are not even able to get a site 60 days out into December which is not even peak season. Furthermore, there are retail sites available at any time when going through the booking process, just not for members. Membership services told us that if we upgrade our membership we can reserve more than 60 days out having a better chance to get reservations which to me is bate and switch, plain and simple. Is this fair business practice? This is what we were told and this is not what was true about purchasing a membership. Why in the world would we want to renew our membership for another year when we can't even use it?

Read full review of Thousand Trails
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
S
3:06 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Thousand Trails customer service

I called the thousand trails customer service because there's a problem with our membership, to begin with didn't know that there was a problem and first I sat on hold for 20mins before actually speaking to a person, who clearly didn't know what she was doing and had to get another person to help me and this person was rude and obnoxious her name was DONNA, every time I would try to speak she would rudely interrupt me and proceeded to scream at me that I was screaming at her, so I said that I would just like to cancel the membership and she said that wasn't possible and I also couldn't get my money back because it was passed the 30day window even though my husband and I haven't even gotten the chance to use the membership. She also kept saying that they sent a letter in the mail about said issue with membership but we never received any letter in the mail. We as a active duty military family are severely disappointed in thousand trails membership services and the very disrespectful, rude and unprofessional attitude of their customer service employees, especially the customer service employee named DONNA

Read full review of Thousand Trails
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
I
5:08 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Thousand Trails membership cancelled still taking money from my bank account

I have been in contact with Thousand Trails through customer service and member services. I have communicated by phone, email, Facebook message. Each person I talk to says they fixed it and they will refund my money. 2 months of unauthorized payments have been taken on my bank. I complained to the BBB, no word yet. I have documented over 20 calls and emails. Numbers I have called : 800-338-7788 800-205-0606 and 877-226-7661. They will not let me access my account to change my method of payment in order to stop these withdrawals from my account. So, I have no account but they are still taking the money? the reason we cancelled is that we got no notice and they raised the cost per month and it was far too much for the quality and ability to book a spot.
Prior year paid $ 35.42. Noticed the increase to $48.75 in my bank account. No notice from TT. The year prior I got 10 emails asking me to respond to continue as our contract was up. Never wasI told that they arbitrarily increase the amount and with NO notice.
THe email sent after we realized they began a new year :Assistance needed immediately!CANCEL

Ina Kropf
Mon, Aug 5, 5:52 PM
to memberservices, bcc: Verle

Thousand Trails
Membership #: [protected]

I was under the assumption that our TT membership was to end this month. We had sent a cancelation notice (although we were told by some customer service persons that we did not need to do so) yet I am still being billed, and at a higher rate without giving you the authorization to do so! I do not want to continue our membership. I was told by your customer service repeatedly that this was a one-year at a time contract and I could renew it if I wanted to. Yet you charged my credit card without my permission. Customer Service said that the original paperwork states it became an automatic renewal. We asked repeatedly if it was a one-year deal when we began this past year's membership and were assured I would have to renew myself or it would end. I looked and our lawyer looked it over and we can find no such clause regarding anything about the auto renewal. In fact the years prior they solicited our continuation of our membership and did not auto renew! I want to be assured that we will not be billed nor responsible for the entire upcoming year because we are canceling now. The customer service person on the phone (both of them) was a little evasive on that issue. So, I am paid in full through August 2019 and want you to stop auto pay from my bank immediately. I would have stopped it myself but I am now unable to access my payment method after my phone call with your Customer Service department. That alone is rather "fishy". I would like the statement in writing that you will not bill me for the next year as your customer service person assured me it was on a month to month basis as of August 2019 and that we have a 0 balance due. I would like confirmation of the receipt of this email so that there is no misunderstanding in the future or "lost" paperwork regarding cancellations. We no longer want to be members and do not authorize any further payments from our bank account. We are not and will not be liable for any further payments. There should be a zero balance on our account, not the $536.25 that it shows now. I feel as though we are being somehow duped in to some TT money making scheme and we want NO part in your underhanded and quite unlawful actions.

Read full review of Thousand Trails
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
S
11:49 am EDT
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

I have been a member for about two years at thousand trails in Gloucester VA. I have sent several complaints to the campground on its current conditions with no response. This campground has become a trailer park. Almost all the prime sites have people living on them. Adults are driving Round in golf carts at night drinking, and also at the children's play...

Read full review of Thousand Trails
ComplaintsBoard
C
11:29 am EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

We stayed at this cottage Aug3-10 and upon arrival our cottage had no hot water, stove didn't work and the fridge wasn't working. We patiently waited while our freezer items defrosted in our cooler. Finally at 9:00 that night the hot water was back working. We were offered $50 off our stay but still have not seen that discount on our bill. The fridge...

Read full review of Thousand Trails
ComplaintsBoard
J
9:20 am EDT
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

I'm a seasonal at alpine lake. JOSHUA Clifford cite 128. Apparently I'm having issues with one new neighbor. Saturday the 13 other campers were in the st in front of my cite, which I didn't know them. The woman in front of me was upset, see threatened people. Apparently an egg was thrown at her camper. Another neighbor watched my kid's and I walk into our...

View 0 more photos
Read full review of Thousand Trails
ComplaintsBoard
C
10:04 am EDT
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
Thousand Trails has left an official reply on this complaint.

Thousand Trails membership services

I'm a disabled veteran that was trying to use thousand trails full time but my vehicle broke and I can't afford to fix it. I also can afford the membership or dues. I tried to consult a customer service rep and they told me that I'm out of luck, too bad, you can't cancel until your unused $5500 membership is paid off. What a scam... I wish I had done more research into the downfalls instead of being blinded by the advantages. I'm going to end up with my credit ruined because of thousand trails.

Read full review of Thousand Trails
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
B
9:19 pm EDT

Thousand Trails Membership

We have been members of thousand Trails for years, we live in the Pacific Northwest. We bought this membership because it was a private camp ground now it is a public campground. We as paying members should be able to reserve a camping spot before they are given to nonmembers. It is pretty sad when you can't get into a reserve weeks before you want to go, yet there is empty sites reserved for nonmembers. We pay thousands of dollars for a membership plus hundreds for dues every year and can't get in to a preserve that has empty sites saved for nonmembers! Are there other members who are experiencing this? With this happening, We would not recommend Thousand Trail membership to anyone.

Read full review of Thousand Trails
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
C
8:31 pm EDT
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

The manager is a very pleasant and capable person, the one major mistake she made was you can't hire family and friends, it just doesn't work. Her husband dictates what little work he will do in the campground on a daily basis and he is also not a people person. His attitude sucks!. Thousand trails gives a very little budget to do repairs in the park so...

Read full review of Thousand Trails
ComplaintsBoard
M
2:29 pm EDT
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

Membership # [protected] Mildred Campos My son and I reserved a weekend to stay camping at circle m for his 16th birthday. My family has been camping with thousand trails for years. We went to the indoor pool witch has a sign that says 14 and older do not need to be accompanied by an adult. So I decided to head back to the campsite to start dinner. My son...

Read full review of Thousand Trails
ComplaintsBoard
G
7:13 pm EDT

Thousand Trails Adult pool

I am also very upset about the loss of the adult.pool. I do not want kids splashing water and playing games while I am trying.to take a swim, relax, and enjoy my time in the pool. We purchased this membership for our retirement. We use wilderness lakes in Menifee. I Our kids and grand kids were small we used the family pool...also my husband had not been able to fish for over a year because of tide pods being placed in the canals. We use wilderness lake in Menifee And it has always been a place where we took our. Is marketing more important than happy members?

Read full review of Thousand Trails
Hide full review

Overview of Thousand Trails complaint handling

Thousand Trails reviews first appeared on Complaints Board on May 11, 2011. The latest review Adventure membership site availability was posted on Nov 16, 2023. The latest complaint membership services was resolved on Jul 22, 2019. Thousand Trails has an average consumer rating of 1 stars from 150 reviews. Thousand Trails has resolved 2 complaints.
Ratings on other sites
Trustpilot
Trustpilot
2.8
3 review
Trust badge
Collect Your Trust Badge
Be recognized for outstanding customer service
  1. Thousand Trails contacts

  2. Thousand Trails phone numbers
    +1 (800) 205-0606
    +1 (800) 205-0606
    Click up if you have successfully reached Thousand Trails by calling +1 (800) 205-0606 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Thousand Trails by calling +1 (800) 205-0606 phone number Click up if you have UNsuccessfully reached Thousand Trails by calling +1 (800) 205-0606 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Thousand Trails by calling +1 (800) 205-0606 phone number
    General Information
    +1 (800) 388-7788
    +1 (800) 388-7788
    Click up if you have successfully reached Thousand Trails by calling +1 (800) 388-7788 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Thousand Trails by calling +1 (800) 388-7788 phone number Click up if you have UNsuccessfully reached Thousand Trails by calling +1 (800) 388-7788 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Thousand Trails by calling +1 (800) 388-7788 phone number
    Customer Service
  3. Thousand Trails emails
  4. Thousand Trails address
    2 N Riverside Plz Ste 800, Chicago, Illinois, 60606, United States
  5. Thousand Trails social media
Thousand Trails Category
Thousand Trails is related to the Travel and Vacations category.

Our Commitment

We stand for unbiased reviews

We make sure all complaints and reviews are from real people sharing genuine experiences.

We help resolving issues

We offer easy tools for businesses and reviewers to solve issues together. Learn how it works.

We advocate freedom of speech

We support and promote the right for reviewers to express their opinions and ideas freely without censorship or restrictions, as long as it's respectful and within our Terms and Conditions, of course ;)

We ensure transparent and fair ratings

Our rating system is open and honest, ensuring unbiased evaluations for all businesses on the platform. Learn more.

We care about your privacy

Personal details of reviewers are strictly confidential and hidden from everyone.

We are easy, free and open to everyone

Our website is designed to be user-friendly, accessible, and absolutely free for everyone to use.