Menu
Register
Write a review File a complaint
Synapse Group / Magazine Customer Service

Synapse Group / Magazine Customer Service review: cancellation 10

I
Author of the review
4:07 pm EDT
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

I can not believe that they just renew your subscription and when you call to cancel you get this fricking automated system that gives you no way of talking to a real person! I even had to call this other 1800 number that was basically the same thing but when they claim they're going to credit your acct back in 1 to 2 business days they come on with this other offer for some fricking free product and more weeks/additional subscriptions that you just don't want. IF I would of know this was some scam I would of never of ordered these magazines but I had gotten the offer through one of the sites I order products from online. I sure would like to know how you would actually get ahold of someone to talk to. This is not right that they have not been closed down if indeed they are a scam. I thought there was someone that monitored things like this froming happening after the first time! This is ridiculious!

Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

10 comments
Add a comment
T
T
Tony Martin (Doughboy)
, US
Apr 24, 2017 9:59 am EDT

Please be advised: https://www.magcustomerservice.com is the correct, safe and very consumer friendly. I was very very suspicious and doubtful, but managing my magazine orders was a breeze. it even made me want to order more mags to read and review. great website design, they found my orders with just my name address and zip. first you just create an account using the e-mail address you had already used when you got the magazines, just makes it easier. if you forgot what e-mail, easy to do if your like me I created a "spam" e-mail for deals like this. you will be able to find your orders based on just your name on the magazines, address and zip. poof done, and simple. these people who are complaining soo much are soo focused on just one point "auto renewal" just read before you click, all offers are plainly stated more than a few times. it is your responsibility as a consumer to investigate on your investment first before you buy. its called smart buying, you whining lil turds. your truly doughboy!

R
R
Reviewer51536
,
Dec 22, 2015 7:09 pm EST

I called to cancel my subscription on Dec. 04, 2015. They stated that the subscription would be cancelled and my account would be credited for the $42.00. It has not been credited and the reference number they gave me regarding this issue is [protected]. What is taking so long for the credit to be credited to my account. LaVonne Gardner.

R
R
Runner girl
Livermore, US
Jun 14, 2014 11:45 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

This is a scam! I had the same difficulty as Ice Baby. They refuse to cancel my subscriptions and offered me a higher rate with a gift. Well, folks I had to cancel my credit card so they lost access . Imagine, they want to charge me $39.00 for Allure magazine. That would be my "new" renewal rate. What a scam!

S
S
SteveinPhilly
Philadelphia, US
Dec 10, 2012 1:35 pm EST
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

GRADSTUD got it right. It's easy to do on line now. You have to click through a few counteroffers but it works! I buy the $2.00 subs all the time and then just "non-renew" when the postcard comes. I did speak with a rep today and when I was polite so was she. The company depends on folks who forget to non-renew. Amazon is selling auto renewal mags too so this is not just this scam.

G
G
gradstud
, US
Sep 22, 2011 2:12 am EDT

If you have any problems go to magcustomerservice.com and you can look up your account using the "For Existing Customers" OR, you can call [protected] and push 0 until it transfers to a customer service (the wait was

N
N
NO "O"
, US
May 17, 2011 2:59 am EDT

I don't understand why I have had to cancel my subscription for a third time. I called the automated [protected] number and received a confirmation number, which turns out to mean nothing. i've even moved, they've found me and started sending the magazines to me, again. please, synapseconnect, inc. go into your system and clear my information out forever. don't look for me because I don't want to be found nor do I like entities dipping into my funds, after i've told you, no! isn't this stealing? understand, please, no, o magazines, by way of synapseconnect, inc. for me. you need never to kill another tree, on my behalf, because i've gone, "green".

L
L
Littles_77
Redmond, US
Jan 16, 2011 7:52 pm EST
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Update: I got a live person and hopefully a true credit of my charges - will need to wait and see.
I called TWX Mag # [protected]. Then pushed "0" until I could get to customer service. I waited less than a min and got a live person! I noted her name and was very polite. I said I was calling to look into charges to my bank account and that I thought I had cancelled these mag subscriptions. She took my info (name, address) to find me in the system. Asked me questions about what magazines I have been charged for. And she never tried to make me any offers! She confirmed that I had cancelled one (Shape) of the 4 mags, however it was after the the due date(noted on the post card notice). My second mag (Psychology Today) I never saw a new charge for but wanted to confirm it was cancelled. She said I had successfully cancelled that one. Even though I had called that cancellation in the same day as the first mag (Shape). I told her I was still showing a charge for Shape and 2 more. She said she would cancell the other two and I would rec'v the credits in 1-2 billings cycles. That I might cont. to rec'v a mag or two but I wouldn't be billed. Good luck and take notes, names and confirmation #'s!

L
L
Littles_77
Redmond, US
Jan 16, 2011 6:54 pm EST
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I had the same problem as icebaby69. I did rec'v a notice from synapseconnect, inc. about my magazine renewal including the number to call by a certain date to discontinue. I called the number: [protected], the day after the cut off date. they said the charge already went through but they could cancel if I called another #: [protected]. when I called that # they said they could cancell or give me some other deal =15/$21 (shape mag). I opted for cancel. I rec'd a conf # and was told: "they had cancelled the future term". the day after these calls I had charges for 3/4 magazines appear on my bank account. one of them being "shape". two months later i'm still trying to get credited. my next step is to call bizrate who's name shows on the notice I rec'd in the begining. if you're in the same boat as me - keep details notes. good luck!

D
D
dhb1
Lansing, US
Aug 31, 2009 2:53 pm EDT

I just canceled my subscription, no problem. You just have to listen & respond accordingly. I've dealt with them many times before, same thing. Listening seems to be a lost art.

J
J
Jerry 390
, US
Aug 18, 2009 4:08 am EDT

I have had magazine subscriptions through Synapse Connect and have never had a problem. They tell you that it is a auto renewal when you order. Before the renewal date, they send you a reminder. I have not had another company do that. They just renew your subscription without any reminder. If you do not want the magazine renewed you just call and cancel. If you miss the cancelation date, you can call at anytime and cancel and receive a refund of the remaining subscription. They sometimes make and offer for a lesser amount when you call to cancel. If you do not want the offer, all you have to do is say no. Seems very easy and straight forward to me.

  1. Synapse Group / Magazine Customer Service Contacts

  2. Synapse Group / Magazine Customer Service phone numbers
    +1 (877) 755-8550
    +1 (877) 755-8550
    Click up if you have successfully reached Synapse Group / Magazine Customer Service by calling +1 (877) 755-8550 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Synapse Group / Magazine Customer Service by calling +1 (877) 755-8550 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Synapse Group / Magazine Customer Service by calling +1 (877) 755-8550 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Synapse Group / Magazine Customer Service by calling +1 (877) 755-8550 phone number
    Customer Service
    +1 (203) 595-8255
    +1 (203) 595-8255
    Click up if you have successfully reached Synapse Group / Magazine Customer Service by calling +1 (203) 595-8255 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Synapse Group / Magazine Customer Service by calling +1 (203) 595-8255 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Synapse Group / Magazine Customer Service by calling +1 (203) 595-8255 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Synapse Group / Magazine Customer Service by calling +1 (203) 595-8255 phone number
  3. Synapse Group / Magazine Customer Service emails
  4. Synapse Group / Magazine Customer Service address
    225 High Ridge Rd, Stamford, Connecticut, 06905, United States
  5. Synapse Group / Magazine Customer Service social media
  6. Nick
    Checked and verified by Nick This contact information is personally checked and verified by the ComplaintsBoard representative. Learn more
    Jun 14, 2024
Synapse Group / Magazine Customer Service Category
Synapse Group / Magazine Customer Service is ranked 121 among 198 companies in the Magazines and Newspapers category