Menu
Register
Write a review File a complaint
Synapse Group / Magazine Customer Service

Synapse Group / Magazine Customer Service review: magazine renewal 65

B
Author of the review
12:26 pm EST
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

I sent for a preview of several Magazines for several months for a very small fee. I used my credit card to pay this fee. This company has sent me a notice that all the magazines that I previewed (7 Magazines) would be automatically be renewed at A really high price and if I wanted to cancel, I could call a number, toll free. After calling the number, they cancelled my subscription and started a new one with no way of canceling on the automated phone call that I had made. When I ordered the previews, there was no mention of the automatic renewals. I feel I been used by this company ! If I ever get out of this I will never preview another magazine again. Do you know an e-mail for this company, I cannot find anything but a bunch of phone numbers ? Thank You, Louis M Castrello

Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

65 comments
Add a comment
K
K
Ken in Dallas
, US
Jan 06, 2020 11:52 pm EST

Jan 06 2020 - It's like dealing with a lobster with no banding on the claws. After reading the comments above though, I went to the website referenced [https://www.magcustomerservice.com/wss/10000041/home.do] and closed each magazine. They use small type faces and word choices like 'confirm' in ways that are very suspicious. I ultimately ended up on two separate subscription cancellation confirmation web pages, but! they both had the same confirmation number. Neither had my account number. I got the feeling I might as well have received two pictures of someone's grandmother. But, I saved a 'copy screen' of each as they did have different magazine titles and then emailed them to myself to record the date (which wasn't on the confirmations) and saved them. I'll be watching my bank card charges. If I need some future charge removed, the emails are dated proof of cancellation at their website to support my claim. What a pain. I'm keeping their little postcard too as it is the only source of my account number. I remember this type of problem all the way back to the 1950s. Their postcard dances right on the line between business and scam. I do believe that removing these charges and blocking his company with the bank credit card is the best way to go. When a charge is challenged, the card company sends a "What is your defense?" query to the vendor. If they fail to answer or don't answer to the card company's satisfaction, the charge is removed and/or the vendor can be blocked. Sending all your 'evidence' in your first contact with the card company is essential as they will not ask for a second go around between the conflicting parties. - Many, many words, but I hope they help someone.

A
A
Azzura
, US
Nov 06, 2019 8:29 pm EST

Never again will I do this. Seems like somewhere around 2 years ago I answered a few questions about a website I was on and then was offered a great deal on the magazines for a year. As far as I know I received all of them, however, no way could I keep up with them. I was unable to determine who was the "owner" of the offer as I couldn't figure out how to get them cancelled until finally, this year, they sent me the postcard with the really high prices indicated would be charged to my credit card unless I cancel by Nov. 27, 2019. This is the first time I have received anything from a company indicating where these subscriptions reside! So, thanks to Google, found this review site and the additional info. Created an account on the https://www.magcustomerservice.com site, went to my email to confirm account was set up. Then logged into the site with my user name/password and was able to cancel the subscriptions easily. And, after doing so, went back and clicked on cancel again and received messages for each one that the subscriptions are cancelled as of today. Yeah! Thank you all for the guidance. Company is just like many others...they rope you in with a great deal but you have to be sure to cancel within a certain time or it just auto renews. Unfortunately, I could never find where the company name was as far as who to contact to cancel these. Good luck, everyone and hope this helps.

C
C
ccwa
, US
Apr 05, 2019 8:21 pm EDT

if you got your magazine subscription from an online retailer as part of a reward for your online purchase with them or a promotion, I would contact the online retailer for the name of the company responsible for the magazine subscription. It may not be the same as the name listed on the postcard. Also, contact the online retailer about the situation - whether or not it is the same company that is responsible for the magazine subscription - that way they will end their business with the magazine promotion company and no future customers will have to deal with this situation.

S
S
Spyder Byte
, US
Feb 02, 2019 1:25 am EST

This is the same company that shut down and reopened under a different name because of all of their previous BBB complaints. https://www.resellerratings.com/store/Com_sub_biz

N
N
Nachomama
, US
Dec 16, 2018 11:12 am EST

Unsub online at:
https://www.magcustomerservice.com

F
F
famG
, US
Mar 01, 2017 12:30 pm EST

I just ran into the same rigamarole. Tried unsuccessfully to unsubscribe after many, many offers I had to decline. Finally the call gave me a new # to call and ended. New number did the same shtick! Luckily I was able to find the original charge on my credit card statement and THAT had a phone # - [protected]. This actually connected to what seemed a real subscription handling line. After the online automated process asked me a few reasonable questions (reason for my call - and cancel was one of the options, name of the magazine, zipcode of the address), my account was located and i was given a confirmation # as proof!

B
B
Big Sam
, US
Dec 02, 2016 2:20 pm EST

I have done business with this company for a few years, and I haven't had any issues with them. My initial subscription prices are usually $2/yr or $3/year. When the initial term is almost up, I always receive a post card stating the new rate for the coming year, or I can cancel prior to the higher rate beginning.

For example, today I received a postcard stating my Bloomberg Business magazine would be renewed for $79/yr. unless I notified them by January 4, 2017..

In many cases once you refuse the "new higher rate", you are given an opportunity to renew for the original very low rate.

Today I declined the "new higher rate" of $79/year, and received an offer to continue at the rate of $2 plus a $1 handling fee, or a total of $3. I have renewed some magazines over and over for the very low rate. But, you don't always get the opportunity to get the low rate extended. In those cases I simply cancel the magazine and no "new higher rate" is charged.

I like the fact that all this can be done via an automated system that saves you from a human attempting to get you to renew for the much higher rate.

The key is to keep the info and notify the company promptly when they send the renewal post card.

Thus far I have never gotten stuck with a subscription I didn't want, and many times am able to enjoy another year with the very low rate I started with.

You must keep on top of things and respond promptly, or you will probably get renewed due to your lack of response when they advise you that you are being renewed at the "new higher rate."

A
A
Aline Wolff
, US
Nov 22, 2016 9:03 am EST

When I called to cancel 3 magazines that had re-started without my agreement, I was stuck for a few minutes in the automated system. At every point where I had to give a response, I asked to speak with a representative. When I was connected, he was able to cancel 3 unwanted subscriptions and provide a cancellation reference number. He also confirmed that my credit card bill would be reversed. He was polite and helpful throughout. This is clearly a terrible scam, and I'm sure it preys on people who are not comfortable in dealing with automated phone systems and predatory companies. Shame on SynapseConnect!

L
L
Lola77777777
, US
Sep 22, 2016 8:59 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I currently work at Synapse. I am part of the customer service center, I deal with customers on the phone/email all day five days a week. There is nothing worse then answering a phone call and getting an angry irate customer. It is not our fault our company has sneaky ways, I'm just trying to put food on my table. I understand the renewals are kind of a scam for customers...but if I had my way I would fix the problem. Please when you call to get help ..don't scream at us or call us names or get mad at us directly. I've been called "[censored]" "f***in ###" by strangers on the phone..it hurts my feelings when I'm just trying to help you get refunded...think if you were in our agents shoes

N
N
Nachomama
, US
Dec 16, 2018 11:14 am EST

I can only imagine. However, they should publicize the fact that you can cancel online at https://www.magcustomerservice.com

L
L
Linda Gayton
, US
Aug 15, 2016 10:35 am EDT

I didn't sign up for any magazines with automatic renewal. I know better. So how was I signed up for auto renewal? I received free magazines as a bonus for purchases made at an online merchant. No where was I told this was the deal. I received a postcard that stated if I didn't cancel my (3) subscriptions (at the highest rate possible) by such and such date, that I would be charged for same. I called the number to cancel and of course it was an automated system primed to bate you into receiving more issues. Each magazine had to be entered separately, so the same speil was offered with each one. By the time it was over, I think I was yelling into the phone, I was so upset. These people are going to be reported to my state Attorney General and I suggest that everyone else do the same. Apparently since I'm over 60, they were hoping I would ignore the number to cancel or subscribe to even more issues when I called, due to my "aging brain". This is one of those scams targeting seniors. Put a stop to it.

C
C
Clinton Hall
, US
Aug 04, 2016 10:19 am EDT

I would like to cancel all magazines. I tried using the phone, dam machine.
Address:- Clinton Hall
PO Box 201
Gilbertsville, ny [protected]

D
D
dragonkitty66
, US
Jul 16, 2016 11:55 am EDT

I just received 2 renewal notices for a total of 5 magazines. This is the 3rd time that I have tried to cancel these. The number on the postcards, [protected], is TOTALLY automated. There is no way to talk to an actual human. You have to listen the their selling spiel in order to cancel. The renewal prices a EXTREMELY jacked up. If I am charged again, I WILL be contacting the credit card company and have this charged as fraudulent.
This is the website address where I was able to make an account and cancel the subscriptions, yet again. https://www.magcustomerservice.com/wss/CommunitiesLogin?cid=1
This was displayed when I was finally able to log in.
"Payment Information
For security purposes current account information is not displayed."
So they DO NOT allow you to see what information they have on file nor are you allowed to delete this information. They keep it for as long as they want.
I will be contacting each of these magazines directly and letting them know what is going on with this company.

M
M
Mildred Dove
, US
Jul 05, 2016 1:53 pm EDT

I just received a card in the mail from SynapseConnect, INC about my Good Housekeeping Magazine for automatic renewal at a cost of $38.00 for 12 months., which is a lot higher than what I have been paying. I called the phone # [protected] if I wished to discontinue before Aug 03, 2016. Please note that their address is now shown as P O Box 30468 Salt Lake City, UT 84130.. The Since this call was most likely answered by a recording I was not able to ask any questions I promptly said "Go to Hell and hung up.. I suppose now I should contact Good Housekeeping magazine to make sure my subscription has not been canceled.

R
R
Reviewer12398
,
Jan 25, 2016 5:30 pm EST

I did not agree to subscribe to four journals. I was supposed get them free of charge with a lengthy survey.

H
H
HEISTER
Cambridge, US
Feb 14, 2015 1:41 pm EST
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I DID NOT ORDER THESE MAGIZINES, TIME, COSMOPOLITIN, BLUMBURG BUSINESS AND I DO NOT WANT THEM. I TRIED TO CANCEL ALL OF THEM BUT I AM STILL RECEIVING THEM

B
B
Bjorntolouse
, US
Oct 31, 2015 2:39 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

The number on the "renewal notice" postcard [protected]) was disconnected... either when I dialed a 1 first or dialed it as a local call. I found the 800 number on this site (thank you!) and was able to cancel. I am glad for the comments about because they helped me detect the very tricky sales in the cancellation. I dealt with the automated "gal." It seemed weird to say no to the option in which she said "do you want me to cancel your subscription ... and extend the deal." But I did and she then tried another "deal." She finally - at the end of the conversation - said the subscription was cancelled without me having to respond.

The subscription was a gift to me from a child and the "automatic" renewal notice was for $32 for 6 issues. It is a good magazine but this shady practice of "automatically" continuing the subscription by using my credit card (I don't know how they got the number) is so obnoxious that I will not buy the magazine again.

S
S
seven2
, US
Oct 23, 2015 11:23 am EDT

My own experience pretty much mirrors everyone's here. I actually never received the warning postcard that my subscription was going to auto-renew at top price, and only discovered the charge when checking my account for something else. I had, however, saved an older warning postcard from last year b/c I was already suspicious...I called the number printed on the card to demand an explanation but it is thoroughly automated with NO option to discuss w/ a live person anything more complicated than Y/N answers. Oh! And the auto response for my subscription stated that the *last* transaction on the account was the $2 debit from a half year ago, NO mention of the more recent $52 debit! Anyway, many thanks to chiyan above who provided the number to call to speak with an actual rep: [protected]

Y
Y
Yongtao
, US
Oct 13, 2015 10:41 am EDT

Jeez. I called the number on the postcard [protected] many times and made sure they said my subscription has been canceled. And then I just called the number provided by someone here, and the live representative said I didn't call and didn't discontinue the service! How shady it is! Anyway, I canceled the service now and will see how it goes

D
D
Dawn L Stubbs
, US
Oct 10, 2015 1:19 pm EDT

I had much the same difficulty in cancelling the subscriptions to the 4 magazines I was receiving. I called the phone number on the postcards I received and thought that was the end of it. But, I was reviewing a recent credit card bill and saw charges for all 4 magazines on it. So, I called the phone number on the bill and had to go through the automated system and was not willing to subscribe to anything further, so I just hung up. I called the phone number on the original postcards that informed me of automatic renewal and the option to cancel and went through the prompts and was informed that the subscriptions had been cancelled when I originally called. I used the email address that someone provided on this site and saw that all of the magazines were cancelled. I saved copies and will send them as attachments to my credit card company should it need proof of my cancellations and need to note the justification for my refusal to pay those charges. I will not use such a service again, no matter how good the offer sounds. If it is this difficult to cancel an order and they don't care enough to have a human being available at the numbers provided, then they are not worth my time.

C
C
cruz flores
, US
Sep 27, 2015 10:38 am EDT

Please note that for cancellation it is necessary you hear instructions carefully. There are catching questions that may confuse you. Note that if you answer "NO" to most of the questions they will cancel your subscription and they will provide a cancellation number which will be the same even if you cancel several magazines on the same call. But remember to cancel all. If you don remember all the names of the magazines the sistem will listed for you.

P
P
patricia Dupree
, US
Sep 23, 2015 4:59 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I was very upset they charged my card even though i called that number on the postcard could not talk to a real person just the automatic system.This is a shaded company. I got on the computer to see if I could get some help. They was suppose to refund my money, have'nt done it yet. Thanks for the information, it really helped.

N
N
ny1050220
Ann Arbor, US
Mar 31, 2015 12:19 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

OK, here's my story about SynapseConnect. Same as mentioned above, I got free magazines for a year last May for completing some survey, well, I did pay $2 as processing fees. I did get all the magazines, which is good. And I received a renewal notice yesterday, saying the same thing as some of you have seen, "If you wish to discontinue, call [protected]" by some date and no charge will appear". So I called, and the automated system used the same trick, I heard something like "Do you want to cancel this subscription with blahblahblah". So I said Yes, and I heard "Great! You have agreed to continue receiving this order". I feel being tricked and used. And luckily I found this forum. Thanks to whoever set up this forum. Following you guys' advice, I called that number again and kept pressing 0, despite that the automated system kept requesting information. I got to speak to a representative, and I was told that it won't be automatically renewed and I would not be charged. OK, good. However, I think I will call my credit card company as a preventive move.
I do agree with someone on this forum who says that this kind of company has to live by playing these tricks to fool people. OK, that's fair. However, we shared our stories on this forum so that we can finally cancel the subscriptions.

W
W
Whoops, Fooled Me
Kingston, US
Mar 16, 2015 11:30 am EDT

I'm With You! I'm glad this board has been created to bring awareness to the shadiness that is still going on. Today, Mar. 16th, I to had the same HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE as the majority of you. It's apparent that they have been conning for years. My cancellations were not working prior to getting my institution involved (remains-to-be-seen), it's a pity I HAD to have them on the phone with me; they're probably debiting me while doing this write-up. I guess I should have known the initial offer was 'to-good-to-be-true'. There NO POSITIVE EXPERIENCES HERE. But there was a very positive write-up for them on page one, which means they're either the founder, spouse, or child. Who else would have such high acclaim for swindling but a benefactor. Now, Time-Warner - not the greatest cable company, strong dislike for them as well. I hope this reads as 'THUMBS DOWN'.

T
T
TGSD
, US
Jan 30, 2015 7:57 pm EST

When I discovered 4 odd charges totaling $103 my credit card, I called the synapse connect and they told me it was an auto renew for some magazines I had ordered 4 yrs ago. However, they somehow had my new credit card number that is only a couple of months old. I called Capital One and their fraud specialist did a 3 way call with Synapse. When I asked them where they got my new credit card number, their new story was that I had filled out a survey at bizrate.com and this was my " reward". I absolutely did not. The rep said he would remove the charges. We' ll see. I still have no answer on how they got my number. Was it stolen, or did another merchant give it to them?

B
B
Barbara S Ellis
Honolulu, US
Nov 01, 2014 7:01 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

On this date, 1 November 2014, I have paid through Pay Pal $25.00 to cancel the magazines, US Weekly and People. After reading many complaints about your service I will also ask my bank not to pay any bill that comes from you. It would seem from the complaints I have read about your service that this service is not above board. I would like an email informing me that my account is cancelled. Subscription ID #[protected]

F
F
FairCritic
San Jose, US
Aug 26, 2013 1:41 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I received a card in the mail today and it indicated that if I do not call to cancel by Sept 14, I will be charged for 4 mags that I tried. Following the suggestion by some, I went to the website "www.magcustomerservice.com". After entering your name and address and magazine title, and after clicking "No Thanks" twice, you come to the last page that tells that your request has been processed. I would advise you to take screen shot every step of the way as a proof you have done this correctly. After I have cancelled all 4 of them, I went back to check the status. At least for now, they all showed "active, no renewal", which is what I wanted. This is relatively easy, for now.

L
L
Leanne Shults
Stanwood, US
Aug 12, 2013 12:15 pm EDT

I want to cancel my Entertainment Weekly magazine and called your phone number.
The automated person isn't intelligent enough to understand that yes, I did cancel a subscription in April but have another one (the 2 were combined) that I need to cancel; am moving and will not have an address for a while. The sub # is [protected]. I am frustrated that I couldn't get hold of a real person that could understand what I needed and not a stupid programmed woman.

M
M
Miss Spud
Garden City, US
Jul 26, 2013 2:00 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I'm glad I'm not the only one who this happened to! I got my "super duper offer" of 4 mags for $8 from RecycleBank. I kept the date of expiration printout handy on the great filing place - the fridge. Was waiting expectantly to get the cancellation notices. What I got was a 5x7 postcard with very tiny print that included only 2 of the magazines and the [protected] # to call. Did so, went through the aggravating "NO" "NO" "NO" which takes almost 9 min. Continued waiting for the notice to cancel the other 2. Never came.

Went to my online banking to check my balance. There were the charges for the other 2 magazines. I never agreed to them! There are many automated #'s to go to, but the one that's been used by others here does still work and has a live human. [protected] I spoke with a young man who answered like you would expect a poor soul with that job to do, with dread. Like momma said, you can catch more flies with honey. He was actually very nice when treated kindly. Within 72 hours my money should be back in my account, apparently one issue of Mens Journal has been sent, so out $2. I guess I can live with that.

You live and learn. I will be letting RecycleBank know what a stain these people are. SynapseConnect, Inc are shady, scamming, thieves and still doing their thing!

M
M
mouses
Oakland, US
Jan 19, 2013 8:31 pm EST

After purchasing from Bumble and Bumble, I was prompted with a "take a short survey and receive a gift of up to $100". I thought I would be given up to $100, cold cash. No, that was too good to be true.

Took survey and was then given option to choose 4 magazines, 1 year subscription each for only $8, "a $100 value!" (so that's what they meant). I liked some of the magazines they had available and so decided to give it a try.

BAD DECISION. My Mom was so ticked when she found out. Obviously, she has had to deal with this kind of crap before (and survived, with many wounds to remind her).

1 year later I got a postcard in the mail (from SynapseConnect, Inc. C/O Processing Center PO Box 30468 Salt Lake City, UT 84130) saying my subscription was going to end, but for "my convenience" they would continue my service because I signed-up for their "open-ended, customer-friendly" subscription method. (Bunch of malarky!) They gave a # [protected]) to cancel if I wanted to. I called immediately.

An automated voice-command service was all I got - no human.

Here's where it get's bad.

I hit #1, the "I want to cancel" option. First they loaded me with some of their "new, special discount deals", and then gave me two options, 1) "say yes, if you want to cancel your current subscription and start your new 15 month special for just "blankly-blank" dollars" OR 2) "say no if you want to continue with your subscription". I didn't know what to say! I didn't want to say yes, but I didn't want to say no either!

I was silent. She said, "I'm sorry, I didn't hear that. Please say yes or no or repeat." I decided to say no. She then said, "I'm sorry you no longer wish to continue with your subscription, no further charges will be made to your account." I liked the sound of it, plus she gave me a reference #, but I had a funny feeling something was still afoot.

1 week later...

I get another postcard in the mail saying my 4 magazines were going to start their new terms because I said I wanted to continue. I tallied up the price of each new subscription, a whopping $122! They said if I wanted to cancel to call [protected]. (I was surprised to see a different number, but called anyway). Same voice/command and same options. I accidentally pressed a key and was given a new # [protected] and told to call that number if I wanted any further help. Holy crap! Another number?

I called it. Same old, same old. Nothing was working. I couldn't cancel anything because I had already canceled my subscription, and my new term was about to begin (though it hadn't started yet).

I found this forum after entering on google the keywords "synapseconnect customer service".

tripoley1966, thank you, thank you, thank you! The gods must have smiled down upon you, because the number you gave [protected]) really did have another human being on the other side!

I spoke with Andrew, who was pleasant, and told him I wanted to cancel my subscription. Gave him some personal info, which he asked for, and then he told me everything was canceled. I explained to him the trouble I had gotten into by not knowing whether to answer "yes" or "no". He understood and apologized for the trouble and said nothing would be charged, everything was canceled, AND the magazine company would like to send me 1-3 free magazines to say "sorry". I asked if it was possible NOT to get any of those free magazines. He basically said no, reaffirming I wouldn't be charged for them, but that I could do whatever I wanted with them once I got them. I have a few good ideas...

I asked for a confirmation #. He gave it to me. I feel satisfied, or at least, slightly safe from getting my money stolen from me.

I hope nothing more will come of this.

Here are some things I learned:

1) Never get sapped into offers online for special magazine offers (or other $$ offers) for taking surveys or doing anything else
2) If you happen to get suckered into one of these magazine ploys, get out of it NOW!
3) When you have ended your "free" subscription, or whatever it is, IMMEDIATELY begin to call and get out it - if I had waited another 2 weeks, I would've been charged and would've had MORE trouble. Don't put off for tomorrow what you can do today.
4) Every time I was given a reference# or confirmation# I took it down & put the date next to it, so I remembered what day I did everything. I put all those papers in a place I would remember (behind my calendar) and that I could get to quickly.

I hope this helps some of you out!

M
M
Michael James Miller
Middleton, US
Jan 12, 2013 10:48 am EST
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I missed cancelling a subscription for "Sports Illustrated" by two days of the annual deadline and got a $51.00 renewal charge on my debit card, but no refund of my remaining issues was listed - as it should have been since I used the automated service to cancel. I wanted to speak to a live person to ask why my refund (which should be about $48 or $49) was not listed. You won't get to a live person using any of their many toll-free numbers for automated service.
I took a shot that one of the older posts on this page was correct and just called [protected]. A woman named Odette answered the phone after just one minute, and without any voice prompts. I explained the situation with my magazine subscription. While she didn't explain why I wasn't granted a refund yet, she said I should be getting $48.27 credited back within a few days. I will be watching my bank statement to ensure that I get my money back.
I suggest anyone dealing with this company call [protected].

P
P
petes123
, US
Dec 12, 2012 11:49 am EST

if you want to cancel mags, and they were done through synapseconnect, ic c/o processing center po box 30468 salt lake city, ut 84130 or misc company, you can bing/search engine the exact address it takes you to their site the ph # is [protected] it will take you to automated (susan) or whatever automated with list of menu items but that only helps if have sub # otherwise dial # above and hit zero it will give live operator he/she will in turn tell you same junk as automated be firm say cancel, cancel cancel this also good word to use with automated but they will trick you and say want refund and cancel in same sentence dont say no or yes say cancel, you should recieve refund on statement within 1-3 days. hope this helpful to some.

J
J
JamesInOregon
Corvallis, US
Nov 20, 2012 1:56 pm EST
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Heads up! Here is the phone number to SynapseConnect to cancel your supposed subscriptions! [protected] (here is the catch, you must hit 0, 0, 0 when they start talking). When you here the auto talk just hit 0, wait a moment and do it again, then again. You will get a person then. Get their NAME, Location (Most likely Costa Rica), and the Reference number for cancelling. We got caught up with them when we started a cheap subscription with Smithsonian. I verified that Smithsonian does business with them and the card is not a scam and was told "they are a very reputable business). We NEVER authorized them to re-up our magazine let alone charge our card. I am awaiting a call from a Manager from the Smithsonian and will turn this over to the Oregon Dept of Justice.

D
D
Delsia Hankins
Rossville, US
Nov 01, 2012 6:38 am EDT

I received a card from you some time ago advising me that you were renewing my Country Living sub. for $36.00 if I didn't call you by Oct. 2. I didn't read the card at the time- just today read it because of the $36.00 charge on my Discover bill. I had renewed my sub. for $12.00 thru CL. & certainly don't want to pay $36.00 for it. I've notified Discover that I don't owe this. Please withdraw your charge with Discover. I'm sorry I didn't notify you by Oct. 2, but from the amount of trouble I have had this morning trying to reach you by phone it wouldn't have made any difference because talking to a real person in your company is impossible. Thanks Delsia Hankins

C
C
cindy buckenberger
Danville, US
Sep 25, 2012 10:32 am EDT

This is a sham! I never ordered free magazines, just innocently ordered mags in the usual way. One of these was a gift from a friend and even that one was on the list. I called several numbers, none of which I was able to speak to a person. I would have been able to cancel the one's I already paid for, but I did not want to do that either. I finally found a number that worked and they say everything is back to normal. The # is 1.877.294.1093. Hope this helps someone else.

P
P
Perplexed customer
dc, US
Mar 08, 2012 7:04 pm EST

The real problem comes when you have multiple "free" (low-cost) subscriptions that came from filling out surveys like I did on Biz-rate. I received 9 months or so of two mags, then got new free subscriptions for the same two mags "that would take 6 to 8 weeks to process". A notation with the 2nd deal said to cancel auto-renewals by some upcoming date, but then I received cards in the mail regarding cancellation of my automatic renewal [which I believe is for the original deal---that I had originally cancelled any auto-renewal---so i shouldn't be receiving cancel cards for that deal].
I have no doubt I will be receiving overlapping subscriptions of the same magazine [something like this happened 8 years ago], but what I really don't want is to receive THREE of each, while being charged full-price for one of them, and trying to get my $ back.
I found at least 9 phone #s for this place, and they all give the same woman robot (Is that you "Rachel--from cardholder services" ?) Some things you need to be able to TALK to a human about.
P.S. while I was typing this, on hold with [protected], I actually got thru after pressing a few zeros and a long wait !

W
W
Will B
Galesburg, US
Nov 30, 2011 7:08 pm EST

I got a charge on my credit card for $57 and didn't know what it was for. I called the 800 # listed on my credit card online info and got a completely automated system where I was advised that I would receive advance notice of a subscription continuation. I never received such notice. After trying several phone numbers and only getting automated responses (one such call said press 0 for assistance and all I got was more automated nonsense) I finally got to a "live" person who was able to verify my cancellation and who told me that my credit card would be credited within 72 hours but it might take 1 or 2 billing cycles for the credit to show up. I originally subscribed through Fandango Movie Service. Clearly I will never do that again. I have serious misgivings about the honesty and integrity of a company called Synapse Connections, Inc.

M
M
Mycle
, US
Aug 14, 2011 7:23 pm EDT

I went online to www.magcustomerservice.com and was apparently able to cancel from the website. (I say apparently because it's too soon to tell for sure.) NOTE: read the questions carefully! The first question I saw was "It this the correct magazine." That's the only one I answered "Yes" to. I had to answer "No" to all three of the next questions, including the last misleading one: "Would you like to cancel the upcoming billing for [name of magazine]? You would still receive the issues that you are entitled to receive, but you would never be charged again." The answer here is "No." The next screen should say "A cancellation for [name of magazine] has been processed. Your confirmation number is XXXXXXXXXX."

Hope this helps.

Y
Y
ybnormal99
Hawthorne, US
Aug 06, 2011 5:02 pm EDT

to cancel online for synape connect go to this site https://www.magcustomerservice.com/wss/home.do#top

G
G
gulfgirl
Gulf Shores, US
Jul 30, 2011 1:59 am EDT

You have to listen very closely and say no or no thanks and GET A CANCELLATION CONFIRMATION number at the end or call back and go through it again saying no until you get that CANCELLATION CONFIRMATION number!

F
F
Fifthcat
, US
Jun 08, 2011 6:20 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Hello All:
I recalled some months later when I signed up for 4 magazines that the magazines would auto renew - I just couldn't remember when. So I used my magazine subcription label and went online to Subscription Services for each magazine. I canceled via each site AND called Synapse (the magazines provided the contact info. I did this on May 12. 2 days ago, I recieved a postcard notifying me that I needed to cancel by June 24 or be charged the renewal fees for the magazines. I called the number and cancelled each magazine one at a time - again. I was in their sytem as having cancelled on May 12the but wanted to be certain. I also visited the website to ensure that I will not be charged (www.magcustomerservice.com). It was a bit of a pain, but it can be done!

Learn how the rating is calculated

Write a review File a complaint

Synapse Group / Magazine Customer Service contacts

Phone number
Website
www.magcustomerservice.com
Category