Shell Vacations ClubWe feel we were lied to and sucked!

T
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

My wife and I have experienced problems with Shell. We feel we were lied to and sucked into buying a timeshare. We purchased 4500 at the Legacy in AZ. First they sit you down and tell you how the cost of hotels will go up each year. Then they tell you how your timeshare is a "great investment." The cost will save you thousands over the years. They tell you the maintenance fees will never go up. The brochure we have even says the cost of your timeshare will never go up. The sell you on good investment. We are paying $340 for the loan and $76 for the fees each month. We are paying $8.60 a day in interest alone. In the next 10 years we will be paying $50,000 to go on vacation 10 times, and that only covers the condo, not airfare etc. How is that a great investment? Then we were told that a condo is x amount of points based on the season (red, white, blue). When we booked out trip to Hawaii it was somehow "platinum season."

Another issue we have is that we were bribed into buying. "You buy now and we'll give you this, that, and another thing. One thing was a weekend in San Diego in their resort which is supposed to be on Yachts in the harbor. It ended up being a Non weekend stay at the Radisson in a poor neighborhood. The we were supposed to get 4 tickets in the suite for the AZ Diamondbacks. We got to will call to pick up the tickets and they weren't suite tickets. I called and they said that they overbooked the suite and would not compensate me.

I was told that their website would be updated were I could view points online and book things. They have not updated their website since we bought almost 2 years ago.

One last thing. They never return phone calls. I have mad 4 to them this past month and have not gotten a call back.

My wife and I are in a financial bind because of this. As you know you cannot resell these, especially owing what we owe. What can we do about this problem? I know we signed a contract, but no attorney was present. Nobody brings a lawyer to a presentation. We feel we were scammed. Thanks!

Responses

  • Ti
    Tim and Leisa Jul 14, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We are looking for anyone who would like to file a complaint with us in Arizona against Shell Vacation. We have been taken for so much money by these con artists that we are now going to the Attorney General office and then it is off to the attorneys to get back what is rightfully ours...our money. We have been billed multiple times throughout the year with statements that have wrong account numbers. Our payments went to wrong accounts and then they were unable (or not smart enough) to figure out where the money went...also known as bad billing practices!! We have tried talking to the company in Arizona (not worth our time) and then off to Chicago and then to the big Kahuna's in Hawaii (again a waste of time). So Shell Vacation leaves you no other choice but to file suit and retrieve what money you possibly can. Let us know if you have any interest in sharing your story at the Arizona AG's office.

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    banjobill Apr 22, 2015

    All, SVC resale memberships can be obtained for FREE on ebay, as there are many owners wanting to unburden themselves from the annual maintenance fees. Not only are they brokered FREE, some owners will even pay you money to accept their contract obligation, They will pay all of the transfer and closing cost and also perhaps the annual maintenance fee for that year too. In addition they also must pay the broker agents fee of $500-1000 for finding a buyer and doing the escrow paperwork with Shell. The more points in the membership, the more difficult it is to find a new owner, as the maintenance fees go up with the number of points. That said, you should only obtain a free membership if you truly understand it has a negative value and to unload later will cost you a couple thousand. If you understand this, and that you may need to book out 1 year in advance to stay were you want, then you are good to go. If you buy from the Developer as a result of a sales pitch you are just throwing your money into the trash.

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    Travellvr Aug 07, 2013

    I have owned with Shell since 2001. I initially purchased 1250 points and stayed in San Francisco at the suites at Fisherman's Wharf and was very pleased with the accomodations. I have purchased additional points along the way and am now an Elite owner. If all I ever do is fly to Hawaii and stay in a great condo or just go to Napa and San Francisco it is well worth staying in a property that you consistently know will be lovely. If you are looking for economy then don't buy a timeshare. They can be passed along to your family as well. Many benefits but not economical by any means. Don't get pressured into something you cannot afford!

    0 Votes
  • An
    angryjessi Nov 26, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Listen people, you can rave about how great this timeshare is, when you are NOT lied to. These are pushy sales people who are promised such great commissions upon the completion of a sale.
    Facts are the maintenance fees do go up! We were promised they would never increase. We were sold on "this is a pet friendly resort"... it, most certainly is NOT.
    When you are defrauded, there are laws in each state to protect the consumer.
    One, call your state attorney generals office. Two, google search "class action suits" and the timeshare company . they are filed regularly.
    you do have options. you may feel trapped and alone, you're not. Good luck!
    & post your experience, or helpful tips you find along the way, there are many here who feel trapped and alone.

    0 Votes
  • Am
    Amadhatter Nov 26, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    These people are scammers to the hilt. We went on vacation to Hawaii, the room was disgusting. The toilet had surgical tape to keep the cover together the bathroom door panel was fall apart. Then they make us go to a meeting with them Shell and ask us to add to what we have - the nerve of them!! They showed us a room that was very nice and they put us in a room that was so horrible it ruined our vacation. They would not put us in the nicer place they are rip offs. I think we should all write our Congressional people so they can review these scamming idiots.

    0 Votes
  • Am
    Amadhatter Nov 26, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Do not not buy Shell Vaction time share - it is truly a scam. We joined and what a mistake. We just went on vacation to Honolulu - the room that was booked for us was probably a rating of 1 star or none. The toliet cover was taped together with surgical tape, the bottom of the bathroom door wood panel was completely frayed and coming off. It was a disgusting hotel, so of course we did not enjoy our vacation like we would have liked to. Then they expect you to attend their meetings and take one whole day talking to you about buying another time share while there they had 2 guys talking to us one was sporting a diamond ring with 6- 1/2 carat diamonds, the other talked to us about his 2 million dollar home and how he has traveled the world with his wife. They made their money that was evident. Then at the end of their scheduled talk they took us to a very nice room that we could not get into because it was booked. I certainly think that no matter what the circumstance we would never get into such a room. They are liars and full of thievery. Congress should get investigate them for misrepresenting their product. DO NOT BUY SHELL VACATION you will not get your money's worth not at all.

    1 Votes
  • So
    sorry I purchased Jun 30, 2011

    Feel that customer service when you get to "supervisor" level is extremely poor. You are placed on "hold" for long periods, then after voicing the complaint, are told, "I will call you right back". That return call never occurs. Shell Vacations Club pricing is not a good value; any traveler can do much better online purchasing a vacation through a major airline, Bookit.com, Travelzoo, Expedia, etc. with much better customer service to boot. I do not recommend anyone making a purchase with this company.

    0 Votes
  • Wi
    WillemPenn Jun 15, 2011

    I agree, completely bamboozled. The fees are insane. We read the contract, interlineated it and it was supposedly approved by management for a break on fees. Well when I started getting charged fees later I called to complain and was sent round and round and no one would help. Billing said it was not their problem and customer service says it is an issue with the billing department. Yet they refused to roll over any of our points until the dispute is resolved and continued to charge us outlandish fees. I finally pulled the contract so I could file a complaint in small claims court -- and the photocopy of the contract they provided us excluded the interlineations from the original contract we signed! FRAUD! Stay away from Shell. They *will* lie to you and steal your money.

    0 Votes
  • Lu
    LuckyLady114 Feb 24, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Simple rule to live by... NEVER sign up for a timeshare unless you have money to throw away. Timeshares are a money pit. Just stay in a hotel.. you pay for the room rate, taxes and other incidentals (room service, movies, etc) and THAT'S IT!! Unlike timeshares, hotels have no monthly fees, no ridiculous interest charges, and no lengthy contracts. You go in and then you go out.. simple!

    1 Votes
  • Ch
    Christian Dan Feb 20, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Well, my wife and I love the club we purchased at, Vino Bello in Napa, CA. I can't remember if I asked the first time I bought whether the HOA and club fees would go up, but every time I have asked since, they said yes, but that is decided by the HOA which includes all owners, hence HOA. We decide, apparently. So let's not bump up that rate guys. What doesn't change is the value of the points; the number of days/nights you get for the number of points you have depending on where you bought (what your home club is). If your Home Club has a high value the trade value will be high. Where you get the value is in having more points. Buddy, go in for an update and consider how many points you have. If you go on vacations, the more points you have, the more you can leverage them for really good discounts. If you own a week, you get a week. If you own at the Premier level however, you can start leveraging. Don't fret my friend. Too bad you got a bad sales person. The Shell Vacation Club is the best.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Jackie Grear Jan 17, 2011

    My husband and I have been with Shell 15+ years and until now would not be able to utter a bad word about them. HOWEVER like they say "everything comes to an end" this too is one of them. Now that we have fallen behind in our maintenance payments, we are called several times during the day and sent e-mails. We have tried on many occasions to try to resolve this situation but the lack of communication is remarkable. You call and no matter who you speak to, its the wrong person. You trying calling the "right" person and they refer you back to the "wrong" person and on and on we go. They have dinged our credit and we have no idea how to deal with this anymore. These are very hard times for everyone and even though we have been with them a good amount of years and continued to purchase additional points to be "elite" members, (yes, I know ... STUPID) there is no help given. Has ANYONE got any suggestions?

    0 Votes
  • Mb
    M Bowers Dec 20, 2010

    I have been an owner with Shell for 5 years and have been very happy with the service and availability. You cannot expect to get a last minute reservation at a popular resort. In general, the staff have been great. When I did have a complaint, I was called at home to discuss it. I have had 3 good experiences with owners' updates. My experience with Shell has been much better than my experience with HSI, whose sales people are much more aggressive and definitely dishonest.

    0 Votes
  • Na
    Nancy215 Sep 26, 2010

    I have been an owner since 2003 and love it. Bought another unit in 2006 and bought another 2 yesterday. I have never had a problem booking anywhere, even on March Break in Orlando. Service has always been amazing. My maintenance fees actually dropped this year.

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    kimsjiffy Sep 22, 2010

    We went to the sales pitch 2008 on Hawaii, of course hated it, $ 20, 000.00? Any ways came back to California & bought same deal with extra points of 2weeks, worth for $4, 000.00 at " time share.com" but still regret it!!! After that we tried to book every year to any Hawaiian island [we are scuba divers], never got their nice condominium but second grade hotels. Membership fees are now almost $1, 000.00 a year. If you book early you can get nice hotels for that price any where & when you want without any restriction. If you save so called points, did any body tell you it cost money to save & reuse it not to mention there is expiration date? please do not buy any time share or vacation club, it is total waste!!! We tried to sell ours on line but cheaper price & more saved points deals are popping out everyday because of the bad economy. At the same time membership fee $1, 000.00 is dew next month again. Every time we think about we get so bitter!!! Kim California 09/22/2010

    0 Votes
  • An
    angryjessi Sep 06, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    If we all get together we can start a class action suit! there are consumer protection laws to prevent this kind of con! I filed a complaint with the better business bureau in my state! nothing was done they just make excuses! I want my money back! I paid over 7 grand for 1250 POINTS at Crotched Mountain Resort! it was pet friendly when I bought the GHETTO timeshare... they went & changed everything before we couldeven use it!!! on top of that I pay a RIDICULOUS amount monthly for maintenance fees, ON A TIME SHARE I CAN'T EVEN USE!!!
    for those who want to perticipate in this class action law suit please reply to- [email protected]
    let them know where we stand!!!

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Joe C Jul 30, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I tried the explorer package and it was a huge mistake. The customer service, after a lengthy hold to get to them, is okay at best. Most have to place you on hold for long periods of time to ask question. I was told as long as I booked my flight before my points expire then it would be ok. Not so much. I now have 2 weeks to plan a trip somewhere to not waste the money. They also won't let you fly the airline you want. The only airlines they allow charge for luggage and the points can't be used for that.

    0 Votes
  • Ae
    Aeuja46 Jul 24, 2010

    Fortunate for us, we purchased shell 7 years ago and have had a great timr with our points. Turning yhem into airline tickets, dining cards etc... Yes, when you go to the 90 minute, it doesn't matter what company you go with, RCI, SHELL etc... they are all agressive. The thing is to make sure it is for you. In hine sight, we would rather of purchased a condo in mexico at the time, prices were good.

    0 Votes
  • Su
    sunneeb2 Jun 19, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    When I went to the presentation at which I bought, I knew the maximum I could afford to pay off the loan immediately in CASH, and didn't let them sell me more than that. The maintenance fees seem reasonable to me, and I've never had difficulty reaching them by phone.

    I'm single and would never take a vacation except to see family if I didn't own SVC points. I own the bare minimum, but it's been enough for a short week in San Francisco several times now. A couple years ago, a friend and I used my points for a week at the beautiful Holua resort near Kona on Hawaii and had a blast. It's great to be able to cook your own food, because you can get healthy, inexpensive fresh fruit and veggies at the farmers' markets on the side of the road, and fresh seafood at the beach. There's even a Costco there, where we stopped the first day and bought our beverages. With the money we saved on overpriced restaurants, we rented a convertible and went to the beaches, went SNUBA diving, and drove to the other side of the island to see the volcano!

    If you use your points with the SVC-owned properties, they go a lot farther. I can't wait to visit the one in Napa Valley! The all-inclusive in Puerto Vallarta where we used the incentive weekend (the days after Thanksgiving, no less!) was a beautiful setting and a decent hotel. We didn't take the $32/day/person all-inclusive option because we wanted to experience the local eateries, nor did we waste another 90 min. listening to another presentation. They weren't really thrilled with us, but what could they do?

    I'm happy with my purchase. I don't want more points, but I go to the presentations for updates on what's new (and whatever gift they're offering!), and they serve great lunches. I'm not selling, I'm including it in my son's inheritance.

    0 Votes
  • Ad
    adevivye Jun 09, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I would like to ask people who left positive feedback and happy to have business with SVC. Could you do me a favor buying my points.
    I don't want to complain about service because I haven’t had any problems with that, but financial side of the deal is questionable for me...
    Few years ago we bought a small package. We used our credit line to pay off timeshare, and was feeling good as a owners of SOMETHING, but one year latter we got a bill with increased maintenance fee. After that moment our "SOMETHING" come to "NOTHING". You can ask "why".
    Originally our SOMETHING save as about $150-250 (my "math" is simple: regular price of room minus club fee per year) and this small amount of saved money would give us a chance to re-sell it. One year latter maintains fee was significantly increased, hence, owing this time share doesn't make any sense for us at this point, since it would be cheaper for us to buy a regular room every time we go for vacation. For example, this year we spent our points for 2 years on a 5-days vacation in January (staying i a suite), which we spent on about $1300 as maintenance fee for 2 years plus $300 for extra points. However, the same hotel was offering 2 bedroom suite with kitchen for $250 per night, meaning $1250 for 5 nights! As you can see, the cost of club membership is actually higher than cost of room for non-members! So, can anybody explain the advantage of being a member of Shell Vacation Club??!!!
    I would greatly appreciate it if somebody could buy my points or find a buyer for them. If anybody happened to successfully sell their membership and could share the experience, I would also appreciate it.
    [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ce
    cesiler Jun 07, 2010

    I too am a Shell Vacation owner and just purchased more points (3rd time). Part of the reason I like this so much is that I never went on vacations. I went camping but never stayed in a hotel because I hate them! This is not like staying in a hotel! And since I own it and amy paying for it, I go as often as I can, usually on small trips.

    I've stayed at the Peacock Suites to take my granddaughters to Disneyland and at the Legacy Golf Resort in Phoenix (2x). My son stayed at one of the resorts in San Francisco and loved it. His wife is very particular and she really enjoyed herself. My granddaughters and I have really enjoyed every trip. We are going to the Desert Rose in Las Vegas next weekAny issue that I have had has been addressed to my satisfaction. They always answer my questions and are very helpful, on the phone and at the resorts.

    I have not yet used the RCI exchange but hope to next year. Also, I arrange my own financing since the Equiant rates are astronomical. You really need to understand what you can afford and what you want before you buy. I've gone to several owner updates and simply said I couldn't afford to buy at that time. I was out in much less than 90 minutes and they fed me and my granddaughers. Always a pleasant experience.

    I'm sorry for all of the people who had negative experiences but you really do need to educate yourselves before you go.

    0 Votes
  • An
    ANC Steve Apr 10, 2010

    We bought points in Las Vegas in 2007 and use them in Hawaii. The first thing we did, at the suggestion of the sales person, was to refinance the purchase through our credit union. Paid off in 4 years, low interest. Maintenance fee is reasonable and indeed the total cost is less that comparable lodging at hotels. The real saving comes in preparing some of your own meals - no need to eat at restaurants continuously. We have been Timeshare owners for 15 years (different resort on Kauai) and have never considered this as an investment. It's an excuse to take vacation and we've seen some great spots on exchange. IMHO - you have to be willing to understand what it is you bought and then be willing to use it. We've even given some points to friends and family to use and still consider this to be a great purchase.

    0 Votes
  • Bi
    Billalice Feb 25, 2010

    I have owned Shell for four years, have never had a problem with places to stay, using points, getting what was promised. the finance fees are crazy, but i knew that. Dont blame Shell, blame the deadbeats that use the free stuff and then don't pay the bills.

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    Tim Desmarais Feb 19, 2010

    My my this story seems to be repetitive - is anybody else beating a broken drum here? What gets my goat is that we purchased in 2006 just after Hurricane Katrina (8/2005) and were told that the yearly maintenance fee would only be a few hundred dollars and that it had been like that for several years. So upfront we paid our $10, 000 dollars and our first year maint. fee of about $314.00. Since then it has risen dramatically with no end or limit to what they can "force" us to pay...$557 2007, $700ish in 2008 and now $904 dollars. Mind you, we have never used the timeshare (our own fault, but we now live 1500 miles from our home timeshare location) but seem to have dole out the cash as they demand. So basically according to contract if the raise the annual fee to $5, 000 we have no choice but to pay or they take us to a 3rd pay claims agency and destroy our credit. We do not mind paying a little more each year but to have it triple in 4 years this is unbelievable. I want to call me congressman and complain about their unethical behavior, because lets face it - they have us by the ca hones. A Shell representative (Raven) told us on the phone that there were no president or vice president that we could speak with - come on a company that is huge like this that has no Bard of Directors and a Pres., V.P. seriously, do they think we are idiots? I guess we are, after all we listened to their "lies" and fell prey to them like the rest of you here.

    0 Votes
  • Ar
    Art Vandalay Jan 16, 2010

    I have actually sat through the Shell sales pitch twice, both times in Kauai to get discounts off of our activities. Did not buy either time, but I did end up getting about $200 in discounts both times. (I fulfilled my end of the deal by listening to the sales pitch.)

    The largest problem I have with the plan is the maintenance charge. My understanding is that it includes property tax, insurance, and property services. For a two bedroom in Kauai, the deal was basically $28, 000 for the purchase of one week, and $1, 500 a year for the maintenance charge.

    In Kauai, an apartment on the beach (which this one was) might be appraised for $1M, so you could use the logic that one week might be worth $20, 000. The bigger issue is that you will pay $1, 500 a year, which will likely increase due to inflation. (Kauai does have somewhat high tax rates, plus I assume their insurance is high, since they are living on top of a volcano.)

    Frankly, I just don't see the logic in paying for an asset (one week of the year) and a yearly fee. It might make sense if you plan to come back to the same one or two locations, but even that seems to include some risk as to whether a timeshare will be kept in good shape or if you can get the time and place you want.

    But, to pay a form of maintenance fee (which still seems exaggerated, when you assume that everybody for that one apartment will be paying $1, 500 a week) seems very excessive. $78, 000 per two bedroom apartment per year in insurance, taxes and upkeep? (Yearly tax for a $2.5M home is only $10, 000 per year, insurance is around the same I would guess, so we are talking about $50K in profit for each two bedroom apartment for each year.)

    Is this a scam? I would initially say no. I think the deal is just very bad. I also don't think it is a very good idea to invest in real estate in which you have little control over the property, and that includes the resale. The fact that they can control the resale, and place you at the end of the queue seems to hurt the value.

    I also believe that you can build your own vacation over the Internet much less (and with more flexibility) than the timeshare route, but that is my opinion and others may disagree.

    I still think the best part of the experience was when I mentioned that I was married to a girl from Thailand, and he remarked that his first wife was Thai. I quickly asked what her first name was, since Thais usually have first names that have a meaning of some sort. He looked confused and said he did not remember.

    "You don't remember your ex-wife's first name? Really."

    0 Votes
  • Sm
    smaraschino Dec 06, 2009

    Wow I am surprised by all of the complaints! But hey, I guess this is a "complaints board". I own will Shell and have had nothing but great experiences. I read the fine print ahead of time and new exactly what I was getting... In addition, I purchased something I wanted that I COULD AFFORD. It seems like so many are complaining about the cost when it was something they agreed to! So many numbers and calculations are being thrown around in this board; why couldn't this have been figured out from the get go? Shell offers great products and great incentives. Their customer service is A+ and really a step above the rest. Every representative that I have spoken to has assisted me with 100% intelligence, accuracy and concern. They know the products, they answer questions accurately and are helpful with getting you where you want to be. SHELL VACATIONS IS GREAT!

    0 Votes
  • Bi
    BigRipOff Dec 06, 2009

    DON'T buy ANY Timeshare! We have an RCI Points timeshare and we can NEVER find a place to stay. It seems everything is booked AT LEAST one year in advance. If you have kids...FORGET IT! For every spring break, holiday break, summer break, etc...they are Booked! Just try and get rid of your timeshare. Only if you want to give away your "DEEDED" real estate you own.. and yeah... real estate always goes up in value...yeah right! All Real estate...BUT YOURS! AND, we have a premium Orlando, FL Timeshare. 5 minutes from Disney! Nope, save your money and stay in 4-5 star hotels and you're be better off!

    0 Votes
  • Da
    davidtan78 Nov 27, 2009

    I am one of the victim. I still keep paying the loan until now, i found out the point worth nothing. who can help me out?

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Dave W. Jul 22, 2009

    I am an OPC for SHell Vacations (Not a salesman but the guy thst signs people up for presentations), and reading all of this is very disheartening. And I will be researching into this further. If I find I'm working for a scam company than I've gotta quit. I will say this however, about 19 out of 20 owners I meet out in the field seem happy with Shell. I do meet people that complain every once in a while, but most of the time the resposnse is positive. However, reading all of these comemnts is disturbing so I've gotta look into it. I would never work for something that I think screws people over like this.

    0 Votes
  • Qt
    Q. Tran Jul 14, 2009

    SVC is a scram, lying, and cheating us

    We bought a SVC for 2500 point for the amount of $16, 000.00 and we paid around $500.00 a year for a fee. At the day that we bought the Sale man said with 2500 point we should get 1 to 2 weeks every year for 2 bedrooms. When got the member binder book and look at the point chart we only get 2 to 3 nights with 2500 points a year. The second part is the sale person showed us, the rci.com website with the "last call vacation". He told us it is available every where any time in the US, it turned out it is only available in a few states such as CA and FL. We signed the contract with them on may 27, 2009. But we can not book a vacation or check online throught rci.com until July1, 2009 which is a month later. When got a member binder book on june 5, 2009 about two weeks later and find out that they scam and lying to us. We try call them to cancel and they response back to us on july 10, 2009 which is a month later and they said we can not cacel because we passed 7 days within cancel period. I wish I can go to court with them and tell the jude this is a scram company and should be shutdown right away. With $500.00 a year to pay the fee to them, we can get any resort any hotels we want to stay at any time. it turned out to be a nightmare for us to buy SVC.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    SHELL SOUL REAPER Jul 13, 2009

    *****************************
    *****************************
    *****************************
    *****************************
    *****************************
    *****************************
    *****************************
    OK! LET'S MAKE THIS SHORT!
    WE'RE ALL GO TO THE OFFICE IN CA AND BURN DOWN THE PLACE, KILL ALL SHELL VACATION CLUB, DESTROY ALL OF THEM. KILL THEIR FAMILY, FROM ALL 3 GENERATIONS!

    WE RISE AND KILL ALL OF THEM! I'M IN TEXAS AND I HAVE LOADED WITH GUNS, GRENADES, BOMBS, ENOUGH TO BLOW UP 2 MILES RADIOS.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Marcy Lynn Jun 29, 2009

    I also bought into Shell. I have also had problems booking and getting time to stay at a time share even in Phx, AZ . The person that signed us up is no longer avail to talk with (phone was disconneted). I bought into it April 09 and everytime I have called to book they say I dont have enough points and can only book for 2 days in a studio. I was invited to the time share for a Time Share meeting this Sunday July 5th. I want them to know that we are not happy and wish to probably sell (if we can). We also where lied to by the representative. He said we would be able to use our points anywhere. That is not true and only would have to call a wk before going (that also not true) I was told have to book 6 months in advance. I do not want to do that. Also we got the lowest points and we can not use them outside of the AZ area. Our deed says we own it in Chicago. (what is that about) I was told we don't own it yet until paid off in 6 yrs or so). Then you do not get your points after that. They also did not tell me that if you make a reservation the first 2 are free but after that you get charged a $25.00 fee. And you might as well not ask if you can rent one they tell you all booked. The Resort if you call them directly they say they have them avail but you have to call Shall. You pay atleast by the time you finish as the Assistant on the phone told me $125.00/dep and fee + use up all your points. I am very upset about this but what can I do.

    Marcy from Phx, AZ

    0 Votes
  • Mw
    Mwa Jun 01, 2009

    after reading all of the comments on this page, i'm convinced that the 2 positive comments about SHELL's program were probably posted by their own people/staff...the truth is that the evidence is overwhelmingly in favor of this being a 100% scam.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    ShellSucks May 09, 2009

    OMG if anyone has a way of getting out of this i really would like a mssge, we went for the free disney dollar thing too and got screwed
    we had 30 days to cancel and we did, we even got a lawyer involved to cancel the contract and now those ###s are all like they apparently received no notification about a cancellation and now they continue sending letters
    we tried ignoring them but they even got a registered letter sent today and now we're screwed cuz they know we're getting their letters
    someone PLEASE help it would be EXTREMELY appreciated
    [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    shellvacscam May 04, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Buddmann has a great suggestion... I think also the key to get out of this is to NOT USE your points... It's hard to claim you don't like a service and you want out of it when you use it every year... I'm just saying... I was one of lucky few who was able to get out of it completely but I also had not used a single point since I realized it was a scam (almost right away!). Anyway, as I mentioned before, I had my attorney write a letter stating the facts and since SVC know they are in the wrong and scamming people, they simply canceled my contract and refunded all monies paid (just got the final refund check today!) as it would have cost them much more to go to court. Stand your ground and please let me know how I can help. Good luck!

    0 Votes
  • Bo
    boxerlover Apr 30, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    and if it is on your credit report?? Because I know it is on mine...

    0 Votes
  • Bu
    Buddmann Apr 30, 2009

    Hello

    I also could rant on and on about this, but i wont. I had a good friend/lawyer tell me this...

    If you dont want it dont pay for it they can not come after you for this. He even bet me that if it did show up on my credit at all he would pay the whole amount. So i took his advice stopped paying for this over 3 years ago and have never had one mark on my credit from them. So about 6 month ago we was talking about this again and i ask him man how did you know that they wouldnt come after me. He stated well i knew cause they was never reporting to your credit and loans like this a very high risk loans that they have to carry themselves
    My advice to all of you would be to check your credit to see if indeed Shell is reporting to your credit as they never did to mine not once while i was paying them nor after i stopped.

    This was also at the Legacy Resorts Off 32nd St in Phx

    0 Votes
  • Bo
    boxerlover Apr 30, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I feel like I was also completely lied to and scammed. It is not anything they say it is! This is definitly the most asinine thing I have ever done! They made it sound like you can convert your points into money on an american express card and you can you it anywhere as long as the place accepts american express.. LIE! You get a special card that only allows the money to be spent on the hotel. No extra stuff, no dinner, no transportation. no shopping. Basically, nothing they said it was. AND, for every 700 points is only worth $100. I feel so stupid and cheated and like this will never ever pay off. They also told me I had 7 working days to cancel. Well I went to do that thinking I was only on day 5, but they said no, it's 7 calendar days, even though they aren't open 2 days of the week. So I was screwed with a timeshare that is horrible and nothing they say they are. Oh and about the stuff they add on is only during the week and it's nothing they say it is again, what do you know?? And it expires!!! This place is a joke!

    1 Votes
  • An
    annnnnnonnn Apr 25, 2009

    Out of 120k owners, it seems that your all the small percentage of people that are never going to be happy no matter what. You bought this program because you wanted a change. Remember exactly WHY you bought it...

    -3 Votes
  • Sh
    shellvacscam Apr 20, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    !!!UPDATE!!!

    Hello everyone!

    Just like all of you, I dread the day I have to submit payment (not to ruin my credit) to Shell Vacation for a product I was promised but did not receive. I shared my experience 2 weeks ago and mentioned that I would have my attorney send Shell Vacation a letter. Well he did, requesting the termination of our contract and the refund of all payments already made. I went online to pay today and to my surprise, my account was invalid. I got excited, hoping SVC got smart and made the right decision by canceling my contract and avoiding further legal battles. YES! For once, SVC played it smart. Of course, they were not professional enough to inform me but in any case, it was a pleasant surprise. I checked my credit card statement and they had even already refunded my $185 deposit. They know they are dishonest and are lying to people so when they are exposed, they have to fold. Stay positive people and please let me know if I can be of assistance. Good luck.

    0 Votes
  • He
    HELL VACATIONS CLUB Apr 06, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Thank you brother for you solidarity and support, we most probably will need you to gather strength in numbers in order to get some of our money back.
    Please let us know what your lawyer tells you and I will do the same in my quest for justice.
    You are right this must stop, not only are they taking our hard earned money, but they can ruin your credit. Just about 2 weeks ago I recieved a threatening bill telling me that if I didn't pay $215 dollars from the first 3 months of my Maint. fees they will send me to collections and that I would be forced to pay the complete years annual fees and what ever cost they incur in the collection before I could use my membership. I can't believe that after paying in full my membership over $13, 500 dollars just a month after I signed up with them and only geting measly 2, 500 points, they are going to send me to collections over missing 3 months of maint. fees. I guess this was the winning strategy their CEO was talking about that turn them around, read the following quote from one of their press release articles:
    "As our CEO, Sheldon Ginsburg pointed out at the time, we had “a cow that was eating grass and not producing any milk”.
    Isn't that ironic, but is now us who have that cow that eats our green dollars and doesn't give us much in return. further in the article he points out;
    "Some of the key “surgical” sales and marketing elements involved standardizing things that were previously far from standardized. This included company-wide pricing strategies, points packages, first-day incentives, sales and marketing collateral, and even a standardized sales process. From Kauai to Canada, everything was the same!" NOW WE KNOW WHY WE ALL HAVE THE SAME COMPLAINTS, ALL OF THE SALESMAN ARE TELLING US THE SAME LIES AND HIDDING THE REAL COSTS. Further in the same articles he reveals the secret to his success:
    "it’s all about the people that we have recruited, trained and motivated. The PEOPLE! They are the ones who have taken us from the brink of bankruptcy to our current position of respect and sustained competitive advantage." WOW, I'M SURE WITH THAT CODE OF ETHICS ANY COMPANY WOULD SUCCED.
    I think if we will have any chance to get some or most of our money back we should do the same thing that the people of the state of Washington did and complain to the DA. Thank you brother for you solidarity and support, we most probably will need you to gather strenght in numbers in order to get some of our money back.
    Please let us know what your lawer tells you and I will do the same in my quest for justice. You are right this must stop, not only are they taking our hard earned money, but they can ruin your credit. Just about 2 weeks ago I received a threatening bill telling me that if I didn't pay $215 dollars from the first 3 months of my Maint. fees they will send me to collections and that I would be forced to pay the complete years annual fees and what ever cost they incurr in the collection before I could use my membership. I can't believe that after paying in full my membership over $13, 500 dollars just a month after I signd up with them and only geting measly 2, 500 points, they are going to send me to collections over missing 3 months of maint. fees. I guess this was the winnig strategy their CEO was talking about that turn them arround, read the following quote from one of their press release articles:
    "As our CEO, Sheldon Ginsburg pointed out at the time, we had “a cow that was eating grass and not producing any milk”.
    Isn't that ironic, but is now us who have that cow that eats our green dollars and doens't give us much in return. further in the article he points out;
    "Some of the key “surgical” sales and marketing elements involved standardizing things that were previously far from standardized. This included company-wide pricing strategies, points packages, first-day incentives, sales and marketing collateral, and even a standardized sales process. From Kauai to Canada, everything was the same!" NOW WE KNOW WHY WE ALL HAVE THE SAME COMPLAINTS, ALL OF THE SALESMAN ARE TELLING US THE SAME LIES AND HIDDING THE REAL COSTS. Further in the same articles he reveals the secret to his success:
    "it’s all about the people that we have recruited, trained and motivated. The PEOPLE! They are the ones who have taken us from the brink of bankruptcy to our current position of respect and sustained competitive advantage." WOW, I'M SURE WITH THAT CODE OF ETHICS ANY COMPANY WOULD SUCCED. If you want to read the complete article here's the link: http://www.shellvacationsclub.com/shownews.html?id=190
    The more I search the ugglier it gets. I think if we will have any chance to get some, or most of our money back we should do the same thing that the people of the state of Washington did and complain to the DA. For all of you who are wondering I have the web link to Kamaka Harris the DA of San Francisco:
    http://www.sfgov.org/site/frame.asp?u=http://www.sfdistrictattorney.org/
    who is first? It might not be easy since they were sued in 2003 they have revamped their contract. I was just reading it this morning and there was a page were they had me and my wife initial like 10 to 15 times and there were clauses like: the contract was explained completely and that we understood all of the rights we waived. That any verbal promise from the salesman won't be legal, That they can change things in the contarc or raise fees as they see fit, and many other things that I'm sure covered their butts.
    And to make things worse in May of 2007 they merge in to Shell Hospitality where they are now renting the rooms that don't get occupied by the members. which means that it will be even harder for memebers to get availability. So this company is maximizing their profits, they're using our money to buy or develop properties and allow regular people (non members) to rent a room when supposedly they considered will not be occupied by a member. Is that legal, or is it double dipping? read the article:
    http://www.resorttrades.com/articles.php?showMag=Management&act=view&id=270

    most of this article is in Shell's own web page but they omitted some stuff that wasn't good for them. Here is the link to the same article in Shell's site dated May 17 2007 date read an compare:
    http://www.shellvacationsclub.com/shownews.html?id=259
    I belive that no matter how strong their conatrct is, I beileve that our strenght in numbers it can be broken and end this HELL VACATIONS ORDEAL

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.