Menu
Restaurant.com

Restaurant.com review: This company is a scam! 71

D
Author of the review
12:00 am EDT
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

Hello,

I recently bought some certificate from restaurant.com. The purchase was paid with my credit and but I didn't not receive any certificate. I try to contact the company about the certificate through multiple emails and phone calls. I didn't get a reply through email and when I try to call no one pick up the phone. I hope that no one will do business with this company because it is all just a scam.

DK

More Restaurant.com reviews & complaints

Restaurant.com - Scam and unauthorized charges! 13
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Restaurant.com - Huge Scam - Stay Away 29
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Restaurant.com - Hidden expenses & restaurant denies coupon 9
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Restaurant.com - Consumer Fraud 2
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Restaurant.com - buyer bewart 19
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Restaurant.com - Fraudulent Coupons no refund 1
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
71 comments
S
S
sthrnbelle48
Conyers, US
Aug 27, 2010 11:28 am EDT

LoveFist, why do you say it's a joke topic? I asked a legitimate question.

S
S
sthrnbelle48
Conyers, US
Aug 27, 2010 11:25 am EDT

If I redeem mypoints for a certificate from restaurants.com will I have to print it out or will mypoints send it in the mail?

S
S
sthrnbelle48
Conyers, US
Aug 27, 2010 11:22 am EDT

If I redeem mypoints for a certificate from restaurants.com will have to print it or will mypoints send it in the mail?

M
M
mizdmc
Columbia, US
Aug 07, 2010 8:08 pm EDT

I eat out 5-7 times a month and found restaurant.com to be a great deal. Although my home city doesn't have that many restaurants using ther service (26), the cities nearby have 3 times that many. It is also great to use it whenever I travel.

For those who love to drink alcoholic beverages, just note that the coupon DOES NOT include alcohol so pony up for your booze. Also, you still need to tip your waiter. This is not the $1 or $2 buck cheap tip either. (I still have friends that only tip $1. Sad.) We get a great discount so reward great service with a great tip. I have had a great experience everytime I used the coupons. We even used it on our first date. I scored bonus points that night. LOL

A
A
AEvans4
Poughkeepsie, US
Jun 01, 2010 10:51 pm EDT

I have used them for years. I buy them at 80% off - so I get a $25 gift certificate for $2 and a $50. gift certificate for $4. I print them for restaurants in towns we vacation in, and for friends and family as gifts. The only problem I have had is, one restaurant closed. So I called them and informed them. They gave me a credit to pick another restaurant. My sister took my kids to Lake George for a week and I sent her with 2 $50. certificates for 2 different places. She used them both and I only paid $8. for them both. She saved $100.

T
T
Tess_01
Branson, US
May 15, 2010 7:19 pm EDT

I Googled and found this page and am now ready to purchase (and print). I usually tip 20%, so I don't have a problem with the 18%. Fifteen percent has not been standard for at least 10 years, and the tip should always be based on the amount before the discount. I suspect some people would try to tip the discounted price. If the service is bad, you can ask for the tip to be lowered, and tell them why.

A
A
abcolson
New York City, US
May 02, 2010 8:18 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I didn't know (read carefully) that I only can use one certificate at once. I presented three certificate to the waitress thinking she could accept all and she told me that I can only use one at a time. I somehow felt scammed. Gift certificate should not be complicated. But this company offers gift certificat with annoying rules. You have to read everything and know exactly what this company offers in order to use the certificate. I think the person who created this company is smart enough to know so many people don't read the fine details. This company use that for their advantage to make big bucks. Company like thatwill not last long...

J
J
6963joe
Houston, US
Apr 12, 2010 5:32 pm EDT

The reason restaurants stop honoring RETAURANT.COM certificates is because is because it is a SCAM...

C
C
claude kaz
West Seneca, US
Mar 19, 2010 7:10 am EDT

we have purchased numerous certificates, with no problem at all. true, you have to spend a specific amount for a meal, but when you figure, you can get a $35 or $50 meal for $25 off the bill it's worth it.

C
C
ConsumerProtector2
Houston, US
Feb 12, 2010 11:46 am EST

RESTAURANT.COM IS SCAM ARTIST AND CONSUMER NIGHTMARE!

All of you guys that like Restaurant.com are all MOR_NS or work for the company and its affiliates.

PLEASE READ INFORMED CONSUMERS:

LOOK AT YOUR CREDIT/BANK STATEMENT FOR A CHARGE BY "CMI" OR www.creativemarketingincentives.biz ...They change their name and their monthly charge for every customer... I signed up for this service, thinking I was getting a great deal on GF's...only to realize they are royally screwing their customers with a pre-paid service charge every month. My charge was $19.95/month. I called Creative Marketing to ask about the charge and they said I agreed to it when I signed up at Restaurants.com...he also said you can find it on their terms and conditions page...so, I decided to read their Terms & Conditions page and this is the only thing I found "Month Club prepaid membership" but it doesn't tell you how much the charge will be...and too further complicate matters...once you do discover they have been charging your credit card...they will only refund the month you caught them...so go 6 months without noticing you are being charged...too bad so sad Charlie…that is you dum_ fault for not checking your account sooner...

PLEASE PUT COMPANIES LIKE THIS OUT OF BUSINESS by not using their services...They are a typical scam artist company...DON"T believe the good reviews written but other people…because I can guarantee these people work for the company...

T
T
tikecooper
, US
Jan 22, 2010 11:16 pm EST

Really people...if you can't tip...go to Burger King! My God, most waiters/waitresses make around 2 dollars an hour...they count on those tips.

As far as restaurant.com goes...tired of finding out that the restaurant "doesn't participate" anymore. Its embarrassing...(I did tell an owner just tonight..."If you don't participate anymore, I expect to see one of these coupons taped to your front door, saying you are no longer accepting these".) Sometimes the restaurant owner wants you to come in and spend 35 dollars! My point is...unless the restaurant has something in plain sight saying that they are no longer accepting the coupons...then the owner is shady, too! I try new restaurants with these, and if they do not accept the coupon, I would probably go elsewhere. But I should have that option...before I order!

U
U
UHshepp
Houston, US
Dec 31, 2009 3:48 pm EST

And to all the people complaining about the 18% tip, are y'all just giving $0 tips when you go out to eat?

I normally tip 15%, but 3% more is chump change and not a big deal when you get $22-$23 off your bill.

U
U
UHshepp
Houston, US
Dec 31, 2009 3:46 pm EST

To all the people that are dogging on restaurant.com, I am willing to bet that you have a problem with 95% of things out there in the world.

Sometimes its necessary to stop pointing your finger at everyone else and look at oneself.

I have gotten about 10 of my friends hooked on restaurant.com, it's a sweet deal. Read each restaurant's terms and conditions and decide if you are down for that.

Also, until you are an abid user of this program don't buy 20 at one time. Buy like 3 to get you started so you understand it. Once you understand it, then be patient and wait. Once a month a new promo code comes out either to your email or somewhere easily found on google where you can buy these certificates for $2 or $3 a piece.

Restaurant.com has made me and my buddies look like big shots to our ladies, and we are actually going to nice places and spending less than if we went to some casual place like Chili's.

E
E
Engine
Tempe, US
Dec 31, 2009 3:24 pm EST

So basically here's the low down...you're buying a coupon. Not even a great coupon like buy one get one free. Unfortunately I got mine through a reseller (which is forbidden by the terms and conditions.) who sold it at retail.
The only way this is a good deal is as one other person said, "The only true saving comes when you can get a discount such as today when the $25 gif certificate can be purchased for $2."

So if you're thinking about getting this I'd suggest: 1.Read the terms and conditions carefully...this is definitely not a purchase you should make without fully understanding it. 2. Be aware that this is NOT like buying a gift card that can be redeemed as cash. 3. As you go through the "Help" section you'll see that it never mentions that a cash purchase is required..but in every case THEY ARE... to me this is very deceptive but again-if you're into paying for coupons go for it...

M
M
MissPickles
, ES
Dec 28, 2009 10:14 am EST

Guessing by your grammar, you are not a native speaker of English. Maybe that is why you don't understand how the website works. You should check the details of all agreements before getting pissed off.

I
I
ibgordo
, US
Dec 15, 2009 12:11 am EST

@paolo The only way your math works is if you are a really [censored] tipper. It's $15 off the bill no matter how you do the math. That is unless you would leave no tip if given the option. Your counting the tip twice.

P
P
Paolo B.
Los Angeles, US
Oct 30, 2009 4:56 am EDT

Where is the saving? Maybe $6. Let's say I buy a $25 gift certificate for $10. That means I really only have $15 credit. If I spend $50 on food and the restaurant adds 18% gratuities to the bill, that adds $9.00 to the bill for a total of $59. So $25 minus the $10 I paid and the $9 for tips leaves me with a net saving of $6. The final bill is $59 minus $25 which is $34, but you have to add my $10 and the tip of $9 so the meal is really costing me $53. Not much of a saving.
The only true saving comes when you can get a discount such as today when the $25 gif certificate can be purchased for $2. I would then be saving $14 instead of $6.

K
K
Karen the Kat
White Oak, US
Oct 29, 2009 4:42 pm EDT

to leofox - You do not have to spend $50. Usually it is $35 for a $25 coupon you pay $10 for. In essance then, you pay a total of $20 to get $35 worth of food. Unless, of course you select food that totals more than $35. Bottom line, it is still $15 off. In my book, a good deal.

K
K
Karen the Kat
White Oak, US
Oct 29, 2009 4:37 pm EDT

I received coupons for 2 area restaurants last Christmas from an out of town relative. They had been printed on his home computer. I used both of them without any problems at all and will probably get some ofmy own. I would like it if they expanded the number of restaurants for which I can get coupons.

J
J
john1951
Davenport, US
Oct 19, 2009 3:03 pm EDT

We used one for a local pizza place. Three of us went, and the coupon was for $25. The entire bill came to $35. So, in essence, three of us ate for $10, which is less than $4 a person. The food was terrific, and tasted even better knowing we got such a discount. This Restaurant.com is the best thing for trying new places and enjoying an evening out. I highly recommend using them. On occasion, they have a 'special' going on, and you get an even bigger discount. Look for those coupons!

C
C
curlyq
pcola, US
Sep 11, 2009 4:02 pm EDT

I think it's unfortuanate for companies, such as restaurant.com, that 95% of Americans are illiterate. (Note: I am basing this statistic only off my own life experiences and observations, please don't cite in your GED program essay).
I was curious to know what was said about this company by other consumers after I ordered certificates and was charged 9 times more what I approved. However, I called customer service today and very simply the rep. agreed to reimburse my credit card, the process taking 2-3 business days. I did have to wait approximately 10 minutes to speak with someone, but if my reimbursment goes through as i was told I will be satisfied.
I did recieve all of my certificates to my account for printing. I haven't used any yet, but considering the amazing deal I got on them, I honestly am not concerned about the validity of each and every one. I brought about 30. It was stated VERY clearly what the restrictions were to using the certificates. All they really are are coupons.
I thought it was VERY clear when I proceeded to check out that I was being asked to authorize another companies promotion, which stated in fine, but legible, print that I would be charged a recurring $14.95 a month. Any sensible person would realize that a business such as this would have to promote other companies such as 'shopping essentials' to stay in business!

L
L
leofox
chap, US
Sep 09, 2009 6:57 pm EDT

The catch is that you have to buy a $50 min meal and also pay 18% in gratuities.

http://www.dhantube.com

J
J
JacquieDHassan
Palm Harbor, US
Aug 12, 2009 10:23 am EDT

I think some of the people who post here, have air where their brains should be.
Firstly the conditions are CLEARLY specified on each restaurant site. Secondly I have used these certificates, AT DIFFERENT restaurants, at the rate of one or more per week in the Tampa Bay area, from casual dining to high end 75$ per person type establishments AND NEVER have I had a single question or problem.
For the idiot who didn't get her certificates in the mail YOU ARE SUPPOSED TO PRINT THEM FROM YOUR COMPUTER!

T
T
tweety21ca
Virginia Beach, US
Aug 08, 2009 1:36 pm EDT

They are having a promotion - 80% off all gift certificates. Just enter the coupon code PORTION at check-out.

I'm hoping to get one for my wedding reception which will be at one of their sponsored restaurants.

J
J
Jakein619area
La Mesa, US
Jun 01, 2009 7:40 pm EDT

I used them just to test them out and they worked for me like a charm. I'm in San Diego, Ca and I actually purchased them for my business to use as incentives. I purchased 100 $25 gift certificates from a company called CMI AKA www.creativemarketingincentives.biz for $800.00 Anyways, they work like a charm and my customers love them and even come back for more! Of course they have to buy at least $50 worth of product from me in order to get one. That's why I love them so much...They work and they bring me in lots of customers and referrals. This is my experience with working with Restaurant.com certificates. I give my customers the website and a code and they print it from their own computer.

Jake
San Diego
Retailer

K
K
Kim
Clay, US
Feb 20, 2009 10:16 am EST

You're supposed to PRINT them!

B
B
Brian
,
Oct 31, 2008 6:37 pm EDT

I have been using them for years without a single issue. I feel that you have made this complaint out of ignorance. you have failed to read how this program works, you must print your own certificate out. Literacy for the win

M
M
marla
,
Oct 29, 2008 12:56 pm EDT

oh ya, the gift certificates are printed, not sent.

M
M
marla
,
Oct 29, 2008 12:55 pm EDT

i recently purchased some gift certificates with restaurant.com.

i know while paying for these at the end of check out they present you with an offer to subscribe to "shopping essentials" and even offer to take $10 off your purchase.

there is also a button that says to decline this offer and proceed to your printable gift certificates.

its pretty obvious that the offer would lead to a subscription and some spam stuff, but its easily avoidable.

this company is legit, just be more careful next time when you sign up for stuff.

i made sure and called restaurant.com and shopping essentials to make sure i was not signed up for the monthly subscription. shopping essentials did not have anything on file with me, and restaurant.com ensured me that if i declined the offer i would not get any charges.

B
B
Blair
,
Aug 01, 2008 9:19 am EDT

I recently purchased and received my gift certs. They were not mailed but I had to print them through a link emailed to me. They worked fine at the restaurant.

J
J
Jackie
,
Jul 23, 2008 1:12 pm EDT

I have used them many times without any problem at all