Reliance Home Comfortalleged damage to water heater

R
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

I recently switched companies to rent my hot water tank. I had been with Reliance for 13 years and another company came to my door and I switched. The new company took uninstalled my tank and returned it to Reliance. A few weeks later I get a bill from reliance stating I owe $250 for damage to the hot water tank. It was fine when it left my house. I called the company and have requested proof of the the damages and I am awaiting a reply. There is a huge competition right now between companies. This is extortion as they will go to a collection agency if t refuse to pay. I have not talked to my new company yet. Has anyone had the same problems and what can be done?

Responses

  • Tr
    trestella28 Oct 14, 2012

    To Reliance technician
    Your lies are so blatant it disgust me.
    First of all you pay a large fee for tank removal
    Second some how the tank is always damaged and another large fee is assessed blaming the customer or new company that returned it. Somehow my pristine white tank now has reddish brown paint on it and is assessed scrap with a charge of $1, 400 buy out fee. I truly believe your technicians damage the tanks after receiving them to get more money out of fleeing ex customers. I was burned at the door when I took over renting my water heater from Reliance. I warn all homeowners do not deal with Reliance.
    Please email me at
    [email protected]
    If you have been treat the same way I have by Reliance. I wish to gather evidence and make the public aware of the companies conduct

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    trestella28 Oct 14, 2012

    The same thing happened to me. please email me your experiences at
    [email protected]
    I wish to gather evidence to take to court about Reliance.
    here is my misfortune of dealing with Reliance.
    I recently changed my hot water tank rental from Reliance to National because National offered a better more efficient tank at lower rental cost. I had National return the tank to Reliance it had a few scratches from when Reliance put the tank in. Low and behold Reliance is trying to charge me $1, 400 for the tank claiming I damaged it. They sent me photos the tank has reddish brown paint splattered all over it. It was white when it was removed from my home. A 3 year old tank that at best is worth $500 is called scrap by Reliance. How the paint got on there is a mystery. I know National and I did not get paint on it. I truly believe the Reliance employee splattered paint all over it to charge me an exorbitant buy out fee. Very convent for them. I have read about other customers being shafted by Reliance. Please send me any experiences you have had with Reliance. I am taking them to small claims court for fraud and slander. On the return form they put down customer got paint on tank. DO NOT DEAL WITH RELIANCE!!!
    they are a crooked company that cannot be trusted. They have upped the cost of the water heater each year until I was paying $30 a month. Now they wish to try to get more money by crooked, malicious, false, slanderous claims. Everyone beware of Reliance. They will overcharge you and when you try to leave they will claim you damaged the tank. Would have been better to buy my own tank than deal with Reliance.

    -1 Votes
  • Jh
    jhc, hamilton Aug 23, 2012

    This is an older claim, but I am going through the same problem with Reliance.
    We switched companies in January and on January 24th a tech picked up the Reliance water heater.My husband signed a form and no damages were mentioned on this form.
    4 weeks later we received a bill for 900.00 for damages to the water heater. The form now showed "Equipment damaged, apparently by customer, dented" Buy out price of 800.00 + taxes.
    We asked for proof of these damages. Show us pictures. No, they told us they are not required to provide any proof. Just pay 900. because we are a big company and we said so!
    We than asked for the water heater to be returned to us, thinking if we pay 900. at least we could try to sell the "damaged heater" on Kijiji or as scrap for a few bucks. We were told that the heater is gone. They destroyed the heater. Well, hold it a moment. You expect me to give you 900. for what? No proof, no dented water heater? Just because you said so. After we refused to pay Reliance send a collection agency after us. I explained to the collection agency that this is a disputed account and they backed right off. We don't have a choice now, but we have to involve a Lawyer and guess who is paying for that.
    I am so angry I could spit. Why is it that big companies bully the average joe?

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    rakman Jun 02, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Reilance Tech, thank you for your input on how my hot water tank MAY have got damaged. I have yet to receive any proof from reliance of any damage. Just a bill. There is no proof, because there was no damage. Would you pay $250 to a company with evidence? My new contract with the new company is for six years, not 15. And the new company has paid for the alleged damage. Reliance has shown very poor customer relations...

    0 Votes
  • Ak
    AKDC Jun 02, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    To Reliance Tech,

    Your comments about being able to leave Reliance at anytime for FREE is false. There is an account closing charge that can be as high as $200+ to get out. Please let me where I can get out for FREE!

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Reliance Tech May 25, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    They store them in Toronto, Reliance is in Burlington

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Reliance Tech May 25, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This is what they look like

    Comments

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Reliance Tech May 25, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hello I work for Reliance.

    When a Competitor removes our tank from your home they take it to a warehouse on a truck and store it for at least 10 days ( this is the period of time in which you have to cancel your new agreement under the Consumer Protection Act) They then reload it on a transport truck and bring it to Reliance un wrapped, hitting other water heaters on the way. It is entirely possible that your new Provider could've damaged the tank enroute either to their warehouse or back to ours.You are responsible for the water heater until we receive it.

    Would you rent a car and let someone else return it for you???

    Call [protected] Option 4 and explain the situation. This is why you should never sign an agreement at your door. Reliance is very accomodating and we strive to make the customer Happy, my man # is 2295, tell them I directed yo. visit www.burnedatthedoor.com, sorry you have had a bad experience but are you also aware that you are now locked into a 15 yr contract with your new provider at a higher rental rate?? Our rental program allows you to leave at anytime for FREE... if you brought back your own water heater unharmed it would've cost you nothing

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.