Menu
Reliance Home Comfort Customer Service Phone, Email, Contacts
Reliance Home Comfort
complaints

Reliance Home Comfort
complaints

Reliance Home Comfort Complaints Summary

34 Resolved
326 Unresolved
Our verdict: If considering services from Reliance Home Comfort with a critical resolution rate, extra caution is advised. Examine detailed customer feedback to understand the severity and nature of unresolved issues. Be prepared for the possibility of unsatisfactory responses and have contingency plans, including seeking assistance from consumer advocacy groups if necessary.
File a complaint
Write a review
Verified
The authenticity of the customer service contact information for Reliance Home Comfort has been meticulously verified by representatives from ComplaintsBoard using our proprietary verification system.
Click here to get notifications about new complaints of Reliance Home Comfort. We promise not to send you any unrelated messages
Share
Claim Your Business
Take control of your profile: address complaints and engage with reviews

Reliance Home Comfort complaints 360

Sort by:

Newest Reliance Home Comfort complaints

ComplaintsBoard
L
8:25 am EST
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

Dear Madam or Sir: I have been asking for a registration of Postponement of Interest on a client file since April 2017. I have called, I have left messages, I have emailed and I have faxed. All attempts at accepted channels of communication have been ignored. If you are going to the trouble to register these Interests against properties, you should have the...

Read full review of Reliance Home Comfort and 4 comments
ComplaintsBoard
C
2:19 pm EST

Reliance Home Comfort problem with hot water tank change out/customer service/cancellation of account

September 4, 2017 a hot water tank needed to be switched out in my house and Reliance Home Comfort sent out a representative who determined I needed to have a specific tank installed; representatives came to install, who then informed that the tank could not be installed and a different tank would be needed. Third representative came out and said that the newly suggested tank could not be installed and I would have to go with the first one suggested. **Please note, all these representatives came out on different days and I had to take these day off of work.

A new date was given, which on that day I received a call from the person who was coming to install the tank...and they did not show up. I called Reliance, who advised me that they did not have me scheduled that day (even though I was provided confirmation from the representative who was at my house a few days prior.)

End result, I made arrangements with Enercare for a hot water tank installation. I called Reliance and advised them that I was going to be moving over to Enercare and that Enercare would be returning the hot water tank, and to PLEASE cancel all services I have with Reliance.

I have since received bills monthly stating that the hot water tank has not been returned (but I do have a copy of the Reliance Water Tank Return Receipt. To date, I have had to call because I am still being billed for the tank and for a protection plan that I also had asked to have canceled.
I made a call again today to Reliance to have this addressed. The person on the other end is "assuring me" this will be taken care of.

I guess we will now wait and see.

Suggestion: Have all Reliance personnel be on the same page when it comes to installation, suggesting a product, and even customer service needs to be on the same page with cancellation of product requests by customers.

I will never refer or use Reliance Home Comfort again.

Read full review of Reliance Home Comfort
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
M
10:10 am EST

Reliance Home Comfort closing an account - does the prior owner have a legal obligation to provide the new owner information

After a very frustrating exchange with Leo [protected] I still do not understand what is needed to close out an account. Leo says I need to provide the new owner information, I asked Leo was this part of the signed contract for the water heater? Leo says no. I ask what is our legal obligation to close the account. He says I need to provide the new owner information. So we talk in circles and I still have no idea what, in the era of information privacy, I am supposed to provide about a new owner. .

Isn't getting the new owner information your job not mine?

Leo can't answer this question.

In any case account#[protected] is closed. The account has been paid in full.

Someone on the customer service should be able to answer the very simple questions above.

Read full review of Reliance Home Comfort and 1 comment
Hide full review
1 comment
Add a comment
R
R
revange
, CA
Dec 25, 2017 12:05 am EST

An article named Lien on me: Furnace rental contracts can be registered against your home which unveiled Reliance’s immoral behaviors was posted on the news paper The Hamilton Spectator. The writer Al MacRury asked anyone who has had a consumer problem to contact him. Call [protected] or email him at amacrury@thespec.com 

In the article, it said: The Ministry of Consumer Services says it's watching the marketplace and will respond if there's any sign of trouble. So let’s all shout it out and let our voices be heard. We need to work together and put them out of business.

You can read the article by opening the link below:
https://www.thespec.com/news-story/5616616-action-line-lien-on-me-furnace-rental-contracts-can-be-registered-against-your-home/

There are some other authoritative figures we can use to let our voice be heard
1. CBC marketplace
Email: marketplace@cbc.ca
Mailing Address:
CBC News: Marketplace
P.O.Box500
Toronto, Ontario
M5W 1E6
Fax: [protected]

2.Office of consumer affair
This is the place you must go. The link of its home page is:
http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/oca-bc.nsf/eng/home

ComplaintsBoard
J
10:49 am EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Reliance Home Comfort ac and water heater rental and lien on house

I am as shocked and angry as all others who have written similar complaints. i entered into an agreement with Reliance to rent a water heater and AC. I pay monthly and have never missed a payment. Putting a lien on my house was never mentioned. Imagine my surprise and shock when re-doing my mortgage to find there was a lien on my house to the tune of $7, 100!

This is a sneaky and underhanded way of doing business Reliance and I will be sure to tell everyone I know not to do business with you.

I would rather you come and take the AC and water heater away!

NOT IMPRESSED!
[protected]@thespec.com

Read full review of Reliance Home Comfort and 1 comment
Hide full review
1 comment
Add a comment
R
R
revange
, CA
Dec 25, 2017 12:07 am EST

An article named Lien on me: Furnace rental contracts can be registered against your home which unveiled Reliance’s immoral behaviors was posted on the news paper The Hamilton Spectator. The writer Al MacRury asked anyone who has had a consumer problem to contact him. Call [protected] or email him at amacrury@thespec.com 

In the article, it said: The Ministry of Consumer Services says it's watching the marketplace and will respond if there's any sign of trouble. So let’s all shout it out and let our voices be heard. We need to work together and put them out of business.

You can read the article by opening the link below:
https://www.thespec.com/news-story/5616616-action-line-lien-on-me-furnace-rental-contracts-can-be-registered-against-your-home/

There are some other authoritative figures we can use to let our voice be heard
1. CBC marketplace
Email: marketplace@cbc.ca
Mailing Address:
CBC News: Marketplace
P.O.Box500
Toronto, Ontario
M5W 1E6
Fax: [protected]

2.Office of consumer affair
This is the place you must go. The link of its home page is:
http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/oca-bc.nsf/eng/home

ComplaintsBoard
D
9:26 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Reliance Home Comfort comfort aire ductless ac

Call last week and made an appointment for 7-11 aug. 11, to service the unit leaked significant water

-Drain is not block outside
-Tried shutting off unit for several hours and after turning on it again leaked significant water after a while

Got a call from the technician at 7 am and he said that he was off so they should not have booked him

I ask him to call and ensure another tech comes out but there was not call after 30 mins so I called reliance

They said another tech would call me when they are in their way.

About 8pm I got a call from a reliance rep saying no one is coming tonight and they need to reschedule for Sat the 12th 8am to 1pm. I explained they we needed the tech to prioritize us as we had an out of town wedding leaving in the am

She said she would call back.

10 pm after no call back I called and asked for an update. The rep said they were not able to prioritize the tech.i explained thw good customer service would be for reliance to make good on their mistake by providing a guaranteed arrival before 10am as we had to leave by 1130am. No success

To add insult to injury I had setup an account between Rogers communications inc. and reliance when I purchased the unit in 2015. In addition when I first made the service call appointed I signed up for a maintenance contract.

I feel reliance customer service has not corrected the mistake made in any way and we are without air conditioning for how long is unknown at this point.

I feel like pulling the Rogers account. Please response with remedial action

Thanks
Dan Ouellette
11 Belsize dr
Toronto on
M4s1l3
[protected]

Read full review of Reliance Home Comfort
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
F
10:18 am EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Reliance Home Comfort buyout price

My husband passed away in February of 2017, our house thank God is paid off. I came to find out there is a lien on our home through reliance. We had AC/Furnace/Water heater installed in 2011 under the impression through the National sales person that any moneys paid monthly would go towards the purchase of these appliances. We have paid well over $10, 000. I finally spoke to someone at reliance who sent me scribbled on a piece of paper, not an invoice. The buy out price well over $8, 000. Really close to 18, 000? I cannot afford the $178. monthly that comes out of my account, plus I believe a 3% increase annually. My bank has tried to find out an exact buyout price from Reliance, to no avail. I have written letters tried to email with no response. We have never had a service call done., we never received any rebates that were promised. Is it worth seeking legal help with this matter. I have never had to deal with such a scam, that nobody seems to be able to go up against.

Read full review of Reliance Home Comfort and 1 comment
Hide full review
1 comment
Add a comment
R
R
revange
, CA
Dec 25, 2017 12:01 am EST

An article named Lien on me: Furnace rental contracts can be registered against your home which unveiled Reliance’s immoral behaviors was posted on the news paper The Hamilton Spectator. The writer Al MacRury asked anyone who has had a consumer problem to contact him. Call [protected] or email him at amacrury@thespec.com 

In the article, it said: The Ministry of Consumer Services says it's watching the marketplace and will respond if there's any sign of trouble. So let’s all shout it out and let our voices be heard. We need to work together and put them out of business.

You can read the article by opening the link below:
https://www.thespec.com/news-story/5616616-action-line-lien-on-me-furnace-rental-contracts-can-be-registered-against-your-home/

There are some other authoritative figures we can use to let our voice be heard
1. CBC marketplace
Email: marketplace@cbc.ca
Mailing Address:
CBC News: Marketplace
P.O.Box500
Toronto, Ontario
M5W 1E6
Fax: [protected]

2.Office of consumer affair
This is the place you must go. The link of its home page is:
http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/oca-bc.nsf/eng/home

ComplaintsBoard
R
6:56 am EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Reliance Home Comfort maintenance

We have been with reliance for 11 years our central air unit had broke the down the second week of june . We called them to come take a look and it was the condenser and fan we were told they were gonna order the parts and be fixed the following week. To our surprise the parts never showed up after waiting at home the whole day, we called 4 times after and again they say the parts are being delivered but again
After waiting at home all day parts never showed up, then we get a maintenance guy who was suppose to come fix it and ask us if we had the parts. The purpose if this is reliance is accusing us of stealing the oarts 11 years being with them and this is how we get treated. We told them if its not fix we are doing a stop payment. Unbelievable how they treat their customers. Now we are trying to get a number of the main office to contact them and get this matter fixed its been 2 mths of getting tge run around and not impressed. Any help would be great.

Read full review of Reliance Home Comfort and 1 comment
Hide full review
1 comment
Add a comment
R
R
revange
, CA
Dec 25, 2017 12:12 am EST

An article named Lien on me: Furnace rental contracts can be registered against your home which unveiled Reliance’s immoral behaviors was posted on the news paper The Hamilton Spectator. The writer Al MacRury asked anyone who has had a consumer problem to contact him. Call [protected] or email him at amacrury@thespec.com 

In the article, it said: The Ministry of Consumer Services says it's watching the marketplace and will respond if there's any sign of trouble. So let’s all shout it out and let our voices be heard. We need to work together and put them out of business.

You can read the article by opening the link below:
https://www.thespec.com/news-story/5616616-action-line-lien-on-me-furnace-rental-contracts-can-be-registered-against-your-home/

There are some other authoritative figures we can use to let our voice be heard
1. CBC marketplace
Email: marketplace@cbc.ca
Mailing Address:
CBC News: Marketplace
P.O.Box500
Toronto, Ontario
M5W 1E6
Fax: [protected]

2.Office of consumer affair
This is the place you must go. The link of its home page is:
http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/oca-bc.nsf/eng/home

ComplaintsBoard
J
10:34 am EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Reliance Home Comfort air conditioner

As per your commercial and sales person told we would get a $500.00 check in the mail within two weeks and to date we have not received it.
The air conditioner was installed on June 22, 2017.
We have tried to reach the sales person by phone twice and also sent a e-mail to her and she has not replied at all.
Called again and spoke to a Donna and never got back to us. Called several times but the voice mail was full and would not accept any messages.
Called and spoke to Mary and she did get back to say the sales manager would be in contact with us on Monday. We have called him several times with no response. This $500.00 rebate was if they were unable to install the next day and this was installed six days after purchase as per the sales person who again has never contacted us.

Read full review of Reliance Home Comfort
Update by Joan and Alexander
Jul 19, 2017 10:00 am EDT

Complaint made yesterday has been resolved thanks to Carol in the home office in Toronto Ontario.

Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
K
10:17 am EDT

Reliance Home Comfort service/accounting

Acquired new furnace air conditioner from them. With once a year inspection, since inspection nothing but problems three appointments later one that was cancelled 1 hour before to arrive and a total of 2 days having to be off work as 4 hour windows. Finally found a part was malfunctioning new one ordered another 4 hours to wait for technician.

Accounting were suppose to cancel old plan as new equipment, did not happen they opened a new account and were deducting from account. Called was offered a credit which did not seem to matter as three months in a row have deducted from account regardless of credit.

They blame on accounting system not smart enough is it really the system.

Read full review of Reliance Home Comfort and 1 comment
Hide full review
1 comment
Add a comment
R
R
revange
, CA
Dec 25, 2017 12:13 am EST

An article named Lien on me: Furnace rental contracts can be registered against your home which unveiled Reliance’s immoral behaviors was posted on the news paper The Hamilton Spectator. The writer Al MacRury asked anyone who has had a consumer problem to contact him. Call [protected] or email him at amacrury@thespec.com 

In the article, it said: The Ministry of Consumer Services says it's watching the marketplace and will respond if there's any sign of trouble. So let’s all shout it out and let our voices be heard. We need to work together and put them out of business.

You can read the article by opening the link below:
https://www.thespec.com/news-story/5616616-action-line-lien-on-me-furnace-rental-contracts-can-be-registered-against-your-home/

There are some other authoritative figures we can use to let our voice be heard
1. CBC marketplace
Email: marketplace@cbc.ca
Mailing Address:
CBC News: Marketplace
P.O.Box500
Toronto, Ontario
M5W 1E6
Fax: [protected]

2.Office of consumer affair
This is the place you must go. The link of its home page is:
http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/oca-bc.nsf/eng/home

ComplaintsBoard
F
8:54 am EDT

Reliance Home Comfort a.c. very noisy

On May 13th reliance sundan a technician to my home to service the air condition outside two and a half almost 3 weeks later and half a dozen of phone calls they finally came and fix the air condition so they say today is June 12th I called them again that my AC is very noisy you cannot even barbecue at the back they say they will send a technician on Wednesday which will be 3 days after I called I told them please fix it right this time which I have a daughter with disability she's in a wheelchair the whole time and she sweats a lot if it's hot I told them the very first time but they don't seem to care I don't recommend them to nobody.

Read full review of Reliance Home Comfort and 1 comment
Hide full review
1 comment
Add a comment
N
N
Neil Phillips
, US
Jun 14, 2017 6:49 pm EDT

Frank, share your experience with BBB.

ComplaintsBoard
J
9:19 am EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Reliance Home Comfort rental hvac

I am extremely upset….. Over 5 years ago I signed a rental agreement with reliance paying $170 every month for protection and rental of all three equipments. I did that as I was told that after the contract is finishes I will be the owner on these equipments. Thus, after paying over 5 years I called in to find out what would cost me to pay out from the contract. I was told that $8090 +tax….. I was totally shocked. Apparently I will never owe these equipments ever unless I will pay $8090+tax….. This contact and this company are crooks ….. Never sign any contracts with their representatives to rent equipment…. You will end up better if you buy your own…. Does anyone this we can have a class action against this company? I feel absolutely ripped off…. Reliance definitely going out of my house… and sooner rather than later…

Read full review of Reliance Home Comfort
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
S
7:35 am EDT

Reliance Home Comfort service for broken water heater

had a HORRIBLE experience with your company. my hot water heater stopped working on Saturday April 22 2017. the pilot light constantly goes out. i called reliance and they sent someone over finally on monday afternoon. the repair people were there for 10 minutes they said they fixed it temporarely and advised me it will keep going out and to keep re-lighting the pilot light each time it goes out until the new gas valve they said they have to order comes in. I have 2 young kids and tenants in the basement of my house. I have never had such terrible service from a company in my life. To leave a young family with no hot water for 3-10 days is UNACCEPTABLE. customer service basically brushed us off each time we called. I asked for the tank to be changed instead of waiting for the gas valve to come in because it is an older tank and was told NO wait the 3-5 days and we will get back to you. WE are very upset about this whole matter feel free to call me a t [protected] if you have a better solution than the customer service rep we talked to that just didnt care.

Read full review of Reliance Home Comfort
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
P
7:42 am EST

Reliance Home Comfort water heater

As the service is not been provided by Reliance Comfort, so I wish to buy out Water heater. Below is the detail for my compaints which I had email them through feedback form, but no action has been taken place yet.

Hello

Please contact me on [protected]

As I was having a problem with my water heater and your technician was not able to fix it. So he told me that if i have to call technician from outside then I have to buy out the water heater. So now I want to buy out the water heater. So for that I call on Monday ie., 6th March 2017. But they told me that Reliance representative will call you in 24-48 hours, but till today 9th March 2017 no one has contacted me. Here is the reference # [protected] for my call which was given to me on Monday.

What I need from Reliance is that how can I buy out my water heater and my call recording for the thing I had called you till now. If your representative had call me and left the voice mail then please send me the call recording for the same. i want to go to consumer forum now for this matter. So please send me the call recording.

Thanks
Pramod Patel
Mobile: [protected]
Home: [protected]

Read full review of Reliance Home Comfort
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
S
7:43 pm EST

Reliance Home Comfort furnace repair contract

On Thursday February 16 my furnace stopped working, I called home comfort that evening. Friday a service technician (Mike) arrived and determined that a new motherboard was required. The part arrived the same day and was installed on Saturday 17th by technician (Dan), the furnace still failed to operate. The technician being frustrated advise me that there was a ground fault and a electrician was required, he then left. I made an arrangement for a electrical contractor to look at the power supply to the furnace, the result was negative, there was no problem with the electrical supply or ground. On Friday 24th technician (Mike) returned, the new motherboard that installed previous was determined to be the wrong one. It appears the supplier shipped a aftermarket product and not the original. Technician order the original. On Tuesday 28th technician (Dan) returned and had the furnace running within a half hour.
My electrical service charge was $62.15, I am looking for reimbursement as your technician made a wrong judgement call.

Read full review of Reliance Home Comfort and 1 comment
Hide full review
1 comment
Add a comment
D
D
dissapointed customer1
, US
Jun 14, 2017 9:33 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

My experience with Reliance has not been a pleasant one, first dealings I rented a hot water tank and furnace from them. Last winter on the coldest night of the year I came home to a icicle of a home. I called and was told it would be a couple of days before they could send someone out...on the coldest night of the year. They said it was the best they could do. I told them I was going to call the Windsor star and the BBB, low and behold they send me a repair man right away. Secondly I had an appointment with a sales man to pitch me a purchase of a airconditioner, he was a no show. No call, nothing, I called their sales and they told me he showed up. She actually argued with me that he was there. Gosh like I wouldn't know since I was waiting for him at home all day while I had contractors at the house already working. They said they would look into it and call me back, no call back, then I talked to someone when I CALLED and they again said they would get back to me and NEVER followed through. Now my furnace rental is leaking water like a sieve and I have been waiting since Monday and there still not there. THree days later and still waiting. They are suppose to show up between 7-11am, I ask that they come first thing in am and of course what do ya think happen... NO SHOW. I asked to buy out my furnace of 7yrs and they want 4500 dollars for it. Hell no, they can take it out and I'll buy my own along with a airconditioner. They have lost my confidence and business and will tell anyone don't deal with this company and their lousy customer service. POORLY RUN BUSINESS.

ComplaintsBoard
I
7:10 am EST

Reliance Home Comfort buyout of furnace

Dear Sir or Madam,
I purchased a furnace and A/C unit from you on a 7 year term. The price was $7499 plus HST as shown on the agreement the salesman drew up. That agreement also says that all payments go towards buyout if you buyout earlier.
I am in the process of moving and will be buying out the agreement in May.
I asked how much was owed and was told by your Customer Service that it was $8770 plus HST. It cannot be possible that I owe more than the original cost. What they quoted was the total that would be paid if it ran the full seven years.
My first payment was July 2015 so we are at month 20. As you will see from the attached documents, the amount owed at 9% interest is approximately $6114 plus HST.
Please confirm to me in writing the actual amount owing and show the payment schedule for the next 4 months so that I can pass it to my lawyer.
Yours truly,
Ian Trott

Read full review of Reliance Home Comfort
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
B
11:14 am EST
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Reliance Home Comfort being charged for an invoice

In November, 2016, Reliance Home Comfort charged my elderly sister, who suffers from vascular dementia and who has been in long-term care since June, 2016, $11.30 for an invoice to confirm that she had paid out the rent-to-own money for her furnace and air conditioner. We needed the invoice/letter because her house had been sold and we needed to prove to the new owners that the appliances were paid for. Despite several conversations with different Reliance "staff, " where I told them invoices for money exchanged were required by law and that they couldn't charge for them, they passed the $11.30 onto a collection agency. Reliance is a master of rip-off. My sister did not need the new furnace or air conditioner; her old ones worked just fine, but some Reliance con artist showed up at her door and convinced her she needed them and that she could afford them through rent-to-own at $180 per month. We figure she paid over $12, 000 for the pair, once we bought them out. Well done Reliance. You took advantage of an elderly widow, in the first stages of dementia. You must be so proud of the money earned from her.

Read full review of Reliance Home Comfort
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
F
6:53 am EST
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Reliance Home Comfort new furnace install (not submitting ieso rebate or honouring $500.00 no frustration guarantee like promised)

I got a new furnace and ac installed by reliance on November 11th, 2016 originally scheduled for end of October but got delayed due to the wrong furnace being ordered. On the day of installation(Friday) I asked the installers to also clean my fireplace . I went downstairs to check on how things were going there was a bad gas smell . The installer told me he leaked some gas when he bled the lines and that the smell would take a few days to go away. I spent the next couple of nights at my boyfriends house. Sunday night me and my daughter came home and the smell was still there . Not thinking anything of it because of what the installer told us we ignored it and went to sleep. Monday night my boyfriend came over noticed the smell and told me that this was not right I explained what the installer told us and he said no way call union gas there's a leak. I called the salesman from reliance and told him he came over and shut off the gas. I called union gas and they came over and noticed within minutes a major gas inside the house. They said the installer never tagged the line to show it was tested and said that there was no way it was leak tested because the leak was so easy to find. There was also a leaking gas valve outside . Union gas could not come back til Tuesday to fix the valve and reliance was to fix the inside leak. We had no heat until Tuesday night . Union gas then inspected everything else they said the fireplace was not put back together properly and shut off my fireplace they capped the lines going to my garage saying the lines were not up to code because they did not have swing joints. I found out that reliance had subcontracted out the install so unknowingly I lost money on the fireplace cleaning that I paid them because it had to be re-done . I also had to pay $1700.00 to have my garage furnace changed and lines up to code which I did not have the money for and was not planning on doing right away. Since then I have contacted the saleman and the office to get my incentive Id number because of the rebate program going on. The salesman told me the office was supposed to submit the paperwork the office told me the salesman was supposed to submit the paperwork. Nobody submitted the paperwork. I called the IESO to check to see if it was submitted usually a week or more after I called reliance. I called the head office for reliance before Xmas about this issue and got a message to call Mike from the Sudbury office. I talked to Mike on December 12th explained all the issues I had and about the paperwork for my rebate not being submitted. He told me not to worry it was all going to be looked after right away and I was to get the $500.00 no frustration guarantee that they offer on their website for all the problems that I had. Today is January 23rd I haven't received the $500 and I called the IESO and they still have not submitted the paperwork for my rebate and provided me with my incentive id. I called the IESO a total of three times checking on this and still nothing and they told me they usually receive it two weeks after an install . I tried to call the head office for Reliance on Thursday January 19th was transferred from one person to another put on hold for 15 minutes then hung up on before I got to even talk to anybody. I am a single mother and currently laid off work and really did not need this aggravation. I am very disappointed with the false advertising on the reliance website ( I chose them thinking worry free) and all the guarantees . It has been over two months since the install and I have called several times and I am being told it will be looked after and nobody is bothering to do it and was promised the no frustration guarantee and didn't get it. We could of died due to the incompetence and now we can't even get our rebate or anything. Just being told lies and brushed off!

Read full review of Reliance Home Comfort
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
K
5:13 am EST
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Reliance Home Comfort billing

I have conducted a comparison between reliance home comfort bills and enbridge "charges from other companies". I was only able to access from 2015 with enbridge but since january 2015, I have been charge for the heat water rental by both you and enbridge. I believe, once I acquire the bills from enbridge from 2013 and 2014, I will see that I have been charge twice since I moved into my home.

Within the range of january 2015 to january 2017, I have been over billed $537.77 by enbridge for reliance. If this is consistent for the additional two prior to january 2015, I suspect there is another over billing of at least $500.00.

I have contact both reliance and enbridge to rectify this large mistake. Neither company is conducting accountability or quality assurance checks on their billing statements.

It would be interesting to know how many other person are being over charged in this way.

I will be obtaining the previous bills by enbridge to acquire the total amount I have over paid in the last 4 years.

Read full review of Reliance Home Comfort
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
R
8:00 pm EST
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Reliance Home Comfort heat and cool system

Loan on my house for furnace rent
On August 2012 I called Reliance to buy furnace and AC. Next day came a lady her name is Bitty. and she show me two models and I choose Carrier model.
She told me the price totally after tax is $8400.00, which I can pay it now or I can rent the appliances for $141.00 plus tax ($159.33).
She told me that after 5 years I can cancel the rent or I buy the appliances with its value at that time, which will be less than the price at the purchase date.
I asked: if the house is sold before 5 years what will happen? She told me there are two options:
1- the buyer accept to take the lease contract over with the same conditions, or
2- I can buy it off and in this case they will calculate how much I paid until the closing date and I have to pay the rest.

After almost 4 years (June 30 2016) I sold the house and the buyer didn't accept the lease contract, then I had to choose the second option. Then came a big surprise, Reliance registered a loan as 2nd Mortgage of $8920.77 against my house (Loan # [protected]. The lawyer cut it from the price. I thought it is okay because Reliance will pay me back what I paid in 4 years (about $7650.00).
No cent, They refused to pay any cent back and they continue to withdraw $159.33 from my account automatically for 2 months after the closing, until I asked my bank to stop it.
After 3 or 4 month they send me cheque $26.55, yes believe me 26 dollars and fifty five cents. THANK YOU RELIANCE.
is this fare? the took the price twice?

I believe that Reliance have to refund me what I paid in 4 years minus reliable percentage as intrest in 4 years.

Name: Raafat Ghobrial

Read full review of Reliance Home Comfort and 1 comment
Hide full review
1 comment
Add a comment
C
C
Charlene Morrison-Walkington
, US
Feb 01, 2017 10:02 am EST

Reliance is a bunch of [censor] artists. We had the same program and we called to get the buy out price and were told it was more than the original amount as well. We purchased in 2011 and they are still looking for $10, 000.00 for us to payout if we want to own the equipment.

ComplaintsBoard
P
7:48 am EST
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Reliance Home Comfort lien on my house (for a rental heating and cooling system)

Just got a call from our banker informing us (Today 12/12/2016) that we have a lien on our house in favor of in favour of 2035881 ontario inc.
This is a reliance home comfort company. Not only we did not know, we had and have never been informed by reliance that the rental from reliance would result in a lien on our house.
We will be contacting our lawyer, meanwhile if anyone has initiated a class action suit, please post the name of the legal firm to contact.

Read full review of Reliance Home Comfort and 2 comments
Hide full review
2 comments
Add a comment
M
M
Marie Shims
, US
Apr 15, 2023 5:39 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

What ended up happening with this ? Was it because of a furnace ? I have water softener products and wondering if they will try to scam me .

O
O
Out of no where
Inverary, CA
Jul 20, 2022 7:10 pm EDT

I was just informed that there is a Lien on my house? We rent the furnace. AC, water softener as well as a tank less hot water system. We were NEVER told that there would be a loan against our home to rent this equipment!

Trust badge
Collect Your Trust Badge
Be recognized for outstanding customer service

Reliance Home Comfort contacts

Website

www.reliancehomecomfort.com

Elevating the Voice of the Consumer

Empowering Real Complaints

At ComplaintsBoard, we understand the impact of genuine consumer grievances. Our platform is a dedicated space for authentic voices, where complaints, both positive and negative, are shared with honesty and transparency.

Dedicated to Validating Complaints

We are committed to ensuring the authenticity of every complaint. Our team uses rigorous verification methods to confirm that each complaint stems from a real customer experience, maintaining the integrity of our platform.

Encouraging Detailed Complaint Narratives

We value complaints accompanied by concrete evidence. Be it a photo, a detailed narrative, or additional documentation, such substantiation lends credibility to your complaint, aiding others in making informed decisions.

Balanced and Constructive Dialogue

ComplaintsBoard is more than a platform for airing grievances; it's a community where balanced dialogue is encouraged. We welcome complaints that not only point out issues but also recognize any positive interactions, promoting a fair and comprehensive perspective.

A Free and Impartial Platform for Complaints

Our unwavering commitment is to provide a free and unbiased platform for all complaints. Every complaint is given equal importance, ensuring your concerns are heard and respected, irrespective of their nature.