SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Reelvidz.comReelvids.com charged my state issued child support debit card for some damned membership with them

1
M Review updated:

Reelvids.com charged my state issued child support debit card for some damned membership with them. Thing is I've never heard of them. Never been to their site and havn't used that card for anything online...ever. Rarely use it at all. I've filed complaint with Texas Attorney General and am calling the BBB on monday. The people at Eppicard said we have to file a dispute, will take ten days to get the papers and will take almost two months to finalize and then will probably still be charged anyway so we are out $43 for some stinking movie rental membership I've never heard of. To add insult to injury Eppicard won't block them from future charges. I have to cancel the card and wait two weeks for a new one and pay 5 bucks for a new card. So these jerks at Reelvids.com have now cost me 50 dollars for something I never heard of much less authorized. Hows that for horrible business fraud.

  • Updated by MariaCM · Apr 14, 2019

    I checked my card after sending the cancellation email request (all their links are not working) and I have been charged! :(

    They won't be reachable...

  • Updated by MariaCM · Apr 14, 2019

    And the charge was not supposed to happen as I just signed up for their 7day free trial (but the email would say 5 days) and their links to cancel is not active

Responses

  • Li
    Linda T. Dec 06, 2010

    "Reelvidz" is just the latest name for a scam being run by the same group of guys in Russia who used to do business under a variety of names, all having to do with "downloading movies free (.com)." What they do is put up thousands of sites, each one offering either a low cost introductory trial membership, or a free memberships that just incidentally requires you to give them your credit card number, even though they claim they will not charge your card. (They say that this is to prove that you are a human, but as we all know, the CAPTCHA device used by millions of legitimate servers does that just fie, and for no money at all.)

    With the low-cost trials, the membership period will either be seven days, or a number that is devisable by seven. This way, they can be always be sure of having a weekend free and clear, where they can access your bank, and you are wholly unable to stop them. The charge usually takes place late on a Friday afternoon. Instead of the $1.99 fee you are probably expecting them to take, these scoundrels will usually charge somewhere between $50- $75, amounts just low enough that most people give up fighting to try to recover the loss. Getting that money back is pretty near impossible, as, for one thing, you willingly gave them access to your account.

    Thankfully, most people only get hit once or twice, but I have heard of those who've had their accounts assaulted over and again, on a regular basis. And as you've already discovered, private banks do not seem to be of much help.

    One of the worse things about this whole thing is that these guys act pretty much with impunity, as no one seems to be able to keep them down for long. They do tend to be frightened of the FBI, though, so once you contact them, make sure you let them know you will be filing, or have already filed, an FBI fraud report . You can do this by going to the "Be Crime Smart" page on the FBI website, which is the section that deals with the issue of scams: http://www.fbi.gov/scams-safety/.

    On the right side of that page, you will find a box titled "How to Report Crime & Fraud." Click the link that seems most appropriate to your situation, then be sure to follow through with whatever they ask of you. Unlike most government forms, they tend to be fairly easy to follow, so there ought not be many reasons not to act on this. You can even submit your complaint anonymously, if you are so inclined.

    I know that complaining to the FBI probably seems like small comfort, but at least it is a positive step, one that may just end up helping more than you know. At the very least, it will force the people behind Reelvidz to think twice before they try to hurt you again. (Just be sure you let the bad guys- and not just your bank- know that you have, indeed, filed a report.)

    0 Votes
  • Da
    dalokkster Jan 04, 2011

    I experienced the same problem with reelvidz, Was looking for free movies to watch online signed up with reelvidz and never received a confirmation or anything to began watching movies, a month down the line i received a charge on my credit card statement, luckily the card was at a minimal balance at the time but they took that. I called the customer service number and the line was reel fuzzy and I could barely communicate with the rep. After about three dropped calls i finally got through again and the rep said she would cancel my account but was very rude in hearing me out as to why i was charged when it strictly said free, which leads me to conclude that reelvidz is a scam. sure they will cancel your account after they have gotten something out of you without your knowledge, be it may not be much but do it to enough people and they could get rich. I advise everyone to stay away from reelvidz.com

    0 Votes
  • El
    elizabeth54321 Feb 01, 2011

    Reelvidz is a bull ### site! everything in the scam report is true - the exact same thing happened to me...even to the detail that the customer service was very rude, kept hanging up on me! they did cancel the account, but won't reverse the charges.
    STAY FAR FAR FAR AWAY
    THEY NEED TO BE SHUT DOWN

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    babyblueeyes882009 May 02, 2011

    they are taking my money too and its off my child support card this people are taking money away from my kids and i have never heard of reelvidz but they wont refund my money and i dont know what to do as far as my them taking my kids money

    0 Votes
  • Ar
    areku May 10, 2011

    has everybody forgotten that it is illegal to download movies for "free" or a monthly fee? Any service online that provides a movie that is currently playing in theaters is providing people with illegal material. You can go to the FBI to file a fraud report but what are you going to tell them? That you were looking for a site that allows you to download movies for "free"? In my opinion, this can cause the fbi to investigate you as well. If you want to download movies that are currently playing in theaters, be smart about it and use newsgroups like the rest of us.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Joeyonli Jul 25, 2011

    The same thing happened to me. When I called reelvidz they literally laughed at me and hung up on me. they said there were no refunds and about three times hung up on me. But I figured out a way to get your money back. Keep calling them over and over...be rude, yell at them and just keep annoying them. After about 3 days of this, they gave up and refunded my money! Their number is 877-801-9072. press option 3, then option 1, then option 2 and you will be directed to a live operator. then have fun with them!

    0 Votes
  • El
    Elzone Feb 01, 2012

    Big scam - please don't trust!

    0 Votes
  • Se
    Selina Ferguson Apr 19, 2012

    I registered for 5 days free movies on my membership but found out it is not worth it even if it is free. I was asked details of my credit card to be charged if I don't cancel my membership before the 5 days free trial is due. I sent email to cancel and explain why but I got reply that my email was rejected, what????????

    Now I am going to tell to cancel my Visa card details given to this no good Reelvidz, com

    0 Votes
  • Se
    Selina Ferguson Apr 19, 2012

    This website should be check thoroughly by the BBB and closed down completely...

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Johnny 4 Apr 24, 2012

    I just delt with a $40 charge called them, could barely hear the rep she was rude and had zero concern for the issue. She said she cancelled the account and I would be refunded in 5 to 10 business days... We'll see if that actually happena

    0 Votes
  • Rp
    rptwyman May 27, 2012

    this group will not cancell my membership and is taking money out of my account .

    0 Votes
  • Te
    terwanda Aug 02, 2012

    This website took money out my account without my damn pemission!! How do I get my money back.

    0 Votes
  • La
    lazyZee Aug 16, 2012

    I just recently had the same problem. I cancelled my card 2 days before my trial was up because the movies on the site aren't worth watching at all but couldn't get through to anyone to cancel the membership. STAY FAR AWAY FROM THIS SITE!!

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Cassia Lael Sweat Oct 19, 2013

    ReelVidz.com won't let me cancel my account either. Could someone please tell me how to stop them from charging me monthly fees when I already cancelled my account several times.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    JOANSCRAPS Aug 30, 2014

    Thanks a lot for this information!! I just gave them my credit card info and when I tried to look for the movie I wanted to see (which was the reason why I signed up) it was not there. I immediately made a search and was directed to this thread. Thanks again because I just called the bank and got that credit card cancelled loosing only $1. I am going to try to get back that dollar not because it is a lot of money but because of a moral issue. I was blessed enough to catch this on time but there will be less fortunate people who will fall on this scam.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Joanne taylor Nov 06, 2018

    Please cancel any of my details you have of mine, every month I'm having money taken out of my account and I don't know why!
    Joanne Taylor
    28 cross lanewest
    Partington
    Manchester
    M31 4eu
    07842532035

    0 Votes
  • Pu
    Pushpa pal Nov 11, 2018

    Why my amount being deducted when it shows 0$ if it so then kindly cancel and refund my money

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    MariaCM Apr 21, 2019

    Can't cancel within the free trial period and the link is not active https://www.reelvidz.com/support

    0 Votes
  • Yu
    Yudha Aditia Jul 05, 2019

    it happened from 2011, and until few minutes ago, they take my money from the card !!! and we are waiting for next victim?

    0 Votes

Post your comment