The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
PuppyFindscam site!

S
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer
Review updated:

Beware of the many pet sellers and so called Kennels on this website. I have been researching this site, and the postings on it. I feel its safe to say that most of the kennels are puppy mills and puppy brokers. I have also found that this sellers can and do remove negative posting from a buyer.

Puppychase, Bulldog alley, BulldogsRus, in my opinion are puppy brokers. I bought a bulldog pup from Bulldogalley at the end of 2006. The pedigree and paperwork was suppose to have come with the pup. Seven months later i still don't have them, and the seller will not return any phone calls or emails. If you want a pup contact a club in your area and they can help you find a breeder.

RESOLVED

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

  • PuppyFind's response · Jun 21, 2019

    Hello,

    PuppyFind.com does not knowingly allow puppy mills or brokers to advertise on the site. Every seller/breeder goes through an approval process but as stated in our Terms of Service policy, because we are a bulletin board service we are not able to offer any guarantees that the individuals listing on the site are reputable breeders.

    If you feel someone has been proven to be a puppy mill we ask for you to provide documentation (such as police reports or other evidence of legal action showing that the breeder is operating outside of the law) so that the seller in question may be investigated thoroughly as allegations alone are not sufficient evidence to have an account removed. If allegations are substantiated with these documents, then we will have the account in question removed from our site.

    ​We do give sellers the option to dispute reviews they feel are invalid due to the abuse of the review system, such as breeders bashing other breeders, people using the system as a message board and other such fake reviews being posted, we have no other choice but to allow sellers to dispute what they feel are invalid reviews.

    It is possible that a seller may dispute a review that could be considered valid, however, when this occurs PuppyFind.com staff will send out a request to the buyer for additional documentation. This could include vet reports, copies of text/email communication, etc. If supporting documentation is received from the buyer, the review could then be reinstated to the site so it is once again visible to the public.

    If you have any further questions, please feel free to contact us at [protected]@puppyfind.com.

    PuppyFind.com Support

Responses

  • Al
    alley maull Jul 24, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I believe everything you said to be true. I was looking for a bulldog puppy and found scam artist and puppy mills. We thought we found a good place but found it was a puppy mill. its so sad. I would love to get a group together to stop puppy mills.

    2 Votes
  • Ni
    Nikki Ritchey Sep 25, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am neutral about this site. I have watched photos, websites, and breeders on puppyfind. Never buy a dog without research! Talk to your breeder, AKC organizations, and breed clubs. Ask around about that kennel or breeder. Never buy impulsivley. Buying an animal is a financial reponsibility. You get what you pay for. I purchased a dog from this site and have a great relationship with my Neo breeder. The dog is great! But I did my homework. And yes some of those other breeders are very shadey. Some are brokers and mills. Some have ben banned from the show rings. But that is reality and those breeders are even in your backyards. Do not blame someone for your own ignorance and misfortune based on impulse.

    3 Votes
  • Jm
    JMarieFowler Sep 25, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I agree with Complaints against Puppyfind but from the other angle I am A respectable and reputable hobby breeder and I work with other local Very respected breeders. We used to advertise on Puppyfind but have since been blocked because of accusations of Fraud. It seems the reputable people are blocked while the scammers are the ones with all the access to Advertise with them. I would never purchase a pup through puppyfind again. I must say also I had a run in with a lady who I purchased a Imported Bulldog through and Didn't get the paperwork for 2 years and even then It wasn't the AKC papers I was promised. She is probably the reason I now Cannot Advertise on Puppyfind (which is fine with me, why tarnish my rep by advertising amongst Scammers) Because I complained and Of course Puppyfind did nothing about it. If you are looking for someone who is going to sell a sound healthy puppy I recommend you go on Recommendations. Do ALOT of RESEARCH on the person you are looking to buy from. There are lots of ways to protect yourself It starts with being Smart.

    6 Votes
  • Ki
    Kim Kirkbride Nov 13, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I had posted a negative review about a puppy I had bought and the review was removed. After contacting puppyfind to find out where my review went I got this as a response:

    "Due to the abuse of the review system (such as breeders bashing other breeders, people using the system as a message board and other such fake reviews being posted) we have no other choice but to allow sellers to delete invalid reviews. It is possible that a seller may delete a review that could be considered valid, but we allow up to 3 times for this to happen. However, reviews are stored by Puppy find when a seller chooses to delete them even though they are unable to be seen on the site. We use these as a means of evaluating the ability of a seller to remain on the site."

    So I just kept re-registering with a new emails and reposting the review until she was eventually removed from puppyfind. I would encourage anyone with a bad review to keep checking their review everyday to make sure it is still their.

    1 Votes
  • Vi
    virginia Feb 29, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    yes, puppymills and brokers must be stopped, i just bought a teacup poodle from carrie sawyer, she has had the dog for over 2 years and neglected to mention the dog was deaf. she has been studding this dog out regardless of his condition., needless to say i am out the money i paid for the dog as i will not have him in my breeding program he needs to be euthanized due to hard placement for a pet home. stay away from MATCHMAKER SERVICES, like the one i got into corruption of this site does make it very hard for the local breeders to sell puppies via this site

    1 Votes
  • Pa
    paige Mar 10, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    It seems that Puppyfind has been working on fixing problems with the site and clearing out the bad breeders and scammers.
    I recently contacted Puppyfind about the scammers on their site and posted their response on my blog. I have also contacted other websites to be able to get their official responses as well because I think people need to be educated about buying puppies. I think too many people don't do their own research because they think these sites do it for them. You have to research who you purchase a puppy from, regardless of where you find the breeder. No website, no local paper, no registry breeders list can tell you what is in a breeder's head, what they have planned to do (either scam you or provide you with a healthy puppy) so it is important that you research them yourself.

    Here is the webpage to view Puppyfind's response to my question if anyone is interested. It is dated 02/29/08:
    http://safely-buy-a-pup.com/2008/02/29/is-puppyfind-the-safest-dot-com-to-find-your-puppy/

    2 Votes
  • Ma
    Mae Mar 26, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My problem is with puppy-find and have been sent just about every copy as everyone else.This is a bit difficult to explain but here I go.this problem has been going maybe a year at least.I signed on to be alerted to certains breeds of dogs.Well the only listings I receive are the same person.And its a scam I get everyday Puppy find ays they have never had this a problem like this.But why just me I ask it couldn't be.If you read this and the only listings are as my discription.Give me a hollar

    1 Votes
  • Di
    Dianne Hays Apr 28, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I just recently found out that Puppyfind is allowing breeders to delete any comments that they don't agree with or want there. I was wondering why I never say a negative comment posted about any breeder! This is the biggest scam that I have ever heard of. How can you distinguish the good breeders from the bad if you can never view any negative feedback. Why bother having a review system if you let the breeders pick and choose which feedback they want to keep. No wonder I was taken to the cleaners by the breeder I purchased my Chihuahua from. Beware of KMS Chihuahuas. This breeder advertises that she has small 3 lb Chihuahuas. By the time you figure out you have a large 7 lb Chihuahua, she knows, you aren't going to return the dog. In the meantime, you spent way too much on a Chihuahua that isn't even recognized by the AKC or CKC because it's over 6 lbs. My puppy is now 7.4 lbs and almost 11 months old. I brought this to the attention of Puppyfind and no respo9nse back besides they allow breeders to delete feedback. Well that pushed me over the edge. I'm going to find a way to file a formal complaint against them and this breeder.

    -1 Votes
  • Em
    emeh May 12, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Finding the right puppy can be dog gone hard work. PuppyFind® provides a convenient and efficient means of selecting and purchasing the perfect puppy (or puppies) from the comfort of your home, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Take advantage of our PuppySearch or leisurely browse our directory of hundreds of dog breeds, dog breeders, dogs for adoption, and puppy for sale listings with photos and detailed descriptions. Some puppies for sale may be shipped Worldwide and include crate and veterinarian checkup. Many dog breeders also offer a health guarantee. With over 50, 000 puppies for sale and 100, 000+ active dog breeders, you're sure to find the perfect puppy.

    1 Votes
  • Em
    emeh May 18, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    One boy and three girls the most adorable little Chinese powder puff you would ever find. The male is the smallest brown with white patch down the middle of his face . One little female has all brown faces with white on her neck and body looks like a little lady. One little girl has white face with brown around her eyes with white and brown body. The first born has a black body with white around her neck and white strip down her face. It would be hard to pick just one of the beautiful babies. Home and hand raised Mother and father are purebred . Vet checked de wormed and shots.

    -1 Votes
  • Emeh took that right off of the PuppyFind site so his BS post has no bearing on the truth!

    -1 Votes
  • PuppyFind.com and BeverlyHillPuppies.com are scammers! Beverly Hills Puppies is not a breeder in FL they are puppymills in GA!! PuppyFind how conviently takes off the bad reviews. They make all their money off of these scammers and mills so they are going to allow them to do what they want

    -1 Votes
  • Mw
    MWT Marlene Jul 05, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I breed Italian Greyhounds & I am a small in home breeder. I think puppy find is wonderful. In my add, I tell people I have references, also I ask buyers for references from Vet, co-workers, etc... I too must be careful NOT to let puppy mills get my pups!!!
    Puppfind lets you look at all listings of a breeder. Some of the breeders have 3, 4, 5 up to 9 differant breeds of dog. I saw one that has 49 pups listed & calls them-selfs a small in home breeder!!! That is a bunch of poop! I am one of the good ones & I have met some wonderful people. Thank You puppyfind. MWT

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Joni Aug 24, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have used PuppyFind with much success to purchase three of my Border Collie puppies. Sometimes when a kennel is just starting out, they have no other way to get the word out about themselves, so they advertise on this and other sites. I did my homework and found one kennel which I had to chance to visit. I found nothing wrong and the owner was more than willing to show me around and let me see all her dogs who were in excellent shape/health. A year later I contacted her for another puppy, but due to health issuses she had sold out. She referred me to another kennel, this kennel also had an ad on PuppyFind and they were very well known breeders. I visited them, (a three hour drive) and they had gorgeous dogs, champions, agility dogs, herding dogs and they too allowed me on every inch of their property. 8 months later I was back on PuppyFind to get a Sheltie puppy. Again, I did my research and found an excellent breeder, had my puppy shipped to me and I could not have been happier. A word of warning. If a ad only list a phone # or email, has hardly any pictures, or the pictures are of puppies in pens, or set up in backgrounds with sheets, blankets, etc and the pups looks scared and not at ease...run. If the person has a link to a website, has pictures of their dogs, pictures of their property, kennels, dogs playing, dogs and puppies out in grassy areas enjoying themselves, then that is more likely a better breeder. YOU cannot blame Puppy Find for selling the pups, they are only an outlet for many to advertise on. YOU need to do your home work, YOU need to make visits, ask for references, ask for vet phone #'s, ask for pictures, ask, ask and ask...once you feel comfortable then you decide. PuppyFind is not selling the pups, the people advertising them are. A newspaper prints ads every day for puppies for sale, but it is not the newspaper's fault if pups are in puppy mills or back yard breeders. It is your responsibility to do your home work and check things out. Good breeders do advertise on PuppyFind and it is ashamed that they are grouped in among the bad. Not all breeders are bad and PuppyFind cannot control who advertises. As for deleting a review. PuppyFind is right, the seller has the right to prevent himself from slander/liable and has the right to take down a bad review. BUT, if any breeder every tells you they never had a problem, RUN, that is a lie. ALL breeders have problems and the one who can admit it is an honest person. If your breeder tells you they don't test for genetic issues, "because they never had a problem", then what are they waiting for? A problem to occur before they do something about it.
    Don't blame PuppyFind. Do your homework. That cute adorable puppy could also be a fake picture of a puppy in good health. Get recent pics, ask for mom and dad pics, ask and ask some more.
    It is your responsibility to yourself and that new puppy.

    2 Votes
  • La
    larry thomason Aug 25, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    THERE ARE ALOT OF GOOD HONEST BREEDERS ON THIS SITE(ME BEING ONE OF THEM).
    THERE'S ALSO ALOT OF DIS-HONEST BREEDERS ON THIS SITE AS WITH ANY SITE!!
    YOU JUST HAVE TO DO THE RESEARCH AND ALWAYS BE ON YOUR GUARD!
    I NEVER SHIP MY PUPPIES AND PREFER YOU TO SEE, HOLD AND PLAY WITH PUPPY BEFORE ANY DEAL IS MADE.

    1 Votes
  • Sa
    Sandy Schrock Nov 05, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am very proud of my advertising site...My Puppy Connection. http://www.mypuppyconnection.com. It has been a long, hard road and a labor of love. The development of My Puppy Connection came after I had an 'experience' with Puppyfind. Some blame Puppyfind themselves for not policing their own site...but I blame the advertisers just as much. Plain and simple, I don't let them advertise. If they slip by me, I urge users to let me know immediately and I will take care of it. I am not as widely known as Puppyfind yet, but I'm workin' on it. On the other hand, I don't charge as much as they do either. You don't have to wait for days where customer service is concerned either. Come check out the Site and don't hesitate to contact me for anything!!!

    1 Votes
  • Pu
    Puppyfindfraud.com Jan 09, 2009

    They have their contact information hidden, but it is listed on the website puppyfindfraud.com They are horizontally and vertically participating in Restraint of Trade and other Federal statutes designed to prevent monopolies, scams, etc. You should check into a Class Action lawsuit, and there will be information about participating in one on the website www.puppyfindfraud.com withint the next 30 days.

    -1 Votes
  • St
    Stevie Mar 23, 2009

    The Boston Terrier that I have had for two week now came infected with Coccidia which a parasitic organism that attacks the intestine and can be life threatening. Coccidia comes from fecal contaminated ground. Obviously an unclean kennel/puppymill situation. Don't take a chance buying from someone you are not absolutely certain about. The best policy is not to buy if you can't see living conditions first hand. When I told the breeder of pups condition she had never heard of it before. PLEASE! If they had a legitimate vet the pup could have been treated and not bleeding from the rectum when I got him. I'm just hoping my vet can cure him and he doesn't end up dying. I really feel bad for the little guy. This was an expensive purchase and a lesson learned. Stay clear of puppyfind.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Daniel Mar 28, 2009

    There are some valid complants about puppyfind, on the other hand it is just a tool for you to use. If you can thank for yourself then puppyfind, is great. If you don't use good sense or think for your self, then you should not complan to much about any dog breeder or "puppyfind" type website. Just use good common sense in any purchase.

    2 Votes
  • Md
    mdd Apr 06, 2009

    Well I don't sell or would ever sell one of my dogs on Puppy Find for one. Or even out of the newspaper ads. Their is a lot of people that are breeding dogs and have them advertised when they are not even born yet, saying litter due soon. No good breeder would sell puppies with them not even out of the birth canal, and telling people before they are born they will be show dogs. They even show a pictures of young pups and say it will be a tea cup, then you see their sire and dam and they are huge tea pots. Or the breed is not of Breed Type and they say they can be shown. Or selling one that they say is pure bred AKC, APRI or CKC and they are not of Breed Type also. I have been breeding and showing for many years and no one can say a dog will be show dog before born or even under 5 months of age. I raise and breed Chihuahuas and show. Don't let these backyard breeders try and sell you one for show intil you go to AKC or the Chihuahua Club of America and do some research on Breed Type and confirmation. Don't fall into being preyed on. Thank you.

    1 Votes
  • Ja
    Jane Smith Apr 25, 2009

    I am an advertiser on Puppyfind.com and I am not a scammer or dishonest breeder, nor to I qualify as a backyard breeder. My website and all my information are provided and I do not allow a purchase of a pet without having interviewed and surveyed the prospective parents and determined the type of registration to be allowed, if any purchase is allowed. I believe that every site has problems - including this one. It's technology but we are all humans.

    For instance, THIS site allows ME as a generic posted of any type and with any motive for whatever reason, to respond and post anything I want here - this site has NO CLUE as to if I am being honest or dishonest.

    If YOU made an error, it was due to your own lack of research before buying. Not the fault of the site.

    1 Votes
  • Sa
    Sandy Hatch May 06, 2009

    I went on Puppyfind to purchase a Newfoundland. i contacted a person by the name of Heidi Gray. She put me in touch with a "Rev. James Albert in Nigeria that said he had a 12 week old female newfound puppy by the name of "Nina" that he could not keep due to his busy work schedule and duties associated with his missonary work. The selling price was $300.00, I made arrangements to purchase the dog and have it shipped to my home. On subsequent emails, this "man of god" kept pleading for more and more money, the reasons stated was the dog needed a metal shipping crate, he needed to purchase insurance for $550.00, the dog was stuck in Mexico, & an additional $200.00 needed to be paid to the custom officials. All the time he was giving excuses for the need for additional money, he kept telling me that all extra money would be refunded to me upon reciept of the dog. i refused to send any more money, and have not heard from him since. Sandy Hatch

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    marknorman79 May 23, 2009

    http://www.caps-web.org/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=169&Itemid=207&report_id=57


    I bought a dog from these people. They were freaking weirdos. I think they are shut down now. Thank god !

    0 Votes
  • Bu
    bulldoglover Jun 17, 2009

    I totally agree about Puppychase Kennels. AKC is in the process of trying to "nail" Jason because he buys up all of these puppies from people and then resells them. He will buy these litters for $1500 a piece and then sell them for $3500, so BEWARE of him! AKC is concerned because he has all of these males/females but hardly none of the puppies he has on his property is the offspring of his adults...
    Also if AKC is investigating him, and they pull his license, people that have bought puppies from him, their AKC papers will be null and void.

    He is also not very nice to people and does not treat people very well. He is a puppy broker/mill. He has about 40 (I said FOURTY) dogs on his property and is now being forced to move due to "code infraction".
    Good luck with that one!

    There is absolutely NO WAY I would buy a $3500 dog from him when you can buy a GOOD quality AKC for $[protected]... Not only that, his poor people skills and reputations keeps me FAR FAR FAR AWAY from Puppychase Broker/Mill.

    1 Votes
  • Ke
    Kelly35 Nov 11, 2009

    I put my German Shepherds on thinking the site was ligit. WRONG not a site that I want to be affiliated with. Bad all around. I do have to say that I did find one seller that was ligit besides me. It was the first time I had listed my puppies online and I pulled them after one week of automated answers. not one e-mail about my pups. I do belive it is a site for puppy mills to reach brokers to "unload" litters so that people are less likely to notice and as always buyer and seller BEWARE. Look for reputable breeders on Puppyfinder. I also think they were trying to confuse pepole who miss typed puppyfinder and people got sent to puppyfind.
    Kelly T
    [protected]@yahoo.com

    1 Votes
  • Id
    idahojules Dec 27, 2009

    As with ANY site, there are going to be scammers. I advertise almost exclusively on Puppyfind and certainly do NOT fall in the category of backyard breeder or scammer. Most of my puppies sell on Puppyfind. I have never received an "automated" email inquiring about any of my puppies!!

    0 Votes
  • Li
    lilc5 Jan 11, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I found a breeder on Puppyfind.com that sells maltese tea cups.
    11-20-09 I purchased a female maltese pup from a Paul and Cheryl Howard from Claremore, Oklahoma, website
    http://www.pupeluv.com or http://okieteacups.com . I live in NYC. The puppy arrived sick with what I thought to be Kennel Cough as this is my second dog and am familiriar with the symptoms. She was also scratching one of her ears a lot and upon
    inspection I found that the ear was filled with brown gunk compared to the
    other ear which was completely clean. I notified the breeder immediately
    that same afternoon when the dog arrived. Per the breeders contract I took
    the puppy to the Vet the next day. The Vet found the dog to have kennel
    cough, ear mites, hernia, medial patella luxation of her back leg. Breeders
    contract does not cover costs associated with kennel cough (which is
    understandable as most puppies catch it when they are little). However, his
    contract did not cover the ear mites either and anything beyond that which
    is congenital I would have to return the dog via american airlines paying
    out of my own pocket (roughly another $300). I had the Vet provide medical
    bills (to date it is now up to $500) in writing and also
    his findings which I promply provided to the breeder the next day when I
    took the pup for the check-up. In turn the breeder wanted me to ship the
    sick puppy right away. Not only would I have put the dogs life in danger
    because of her grave state but by law american airlines prohibits the
    shipment of sick animals.
    The breeder told me to just use the health certificate that the dog came
    with and AA would never know the dog is sick as its valid for 30 days. His
    contract does not provide refunds, only replacements so I would ship the dog
    back and hope that he replaces the pup with one that is not sick or with
    congenital problems. Breeder was in breach of contract as the dog is not
    healthy as he promised. I flipped out telling him what morals as a breeder
    does he have to even suggest putting a sick animal through such an ordeal
    and only then he said well then wait till she gets better and then send her
    back for a replacement. It took him 3 days to open the medical bills and
    statement from the Vet that I emailed him and then started claiming that
    American Airlines switched the puppies. He said the pup could not possibly
    be what he sent me. 3rd day he also remembered to tell me that the dog he
    sent me has a microchip. The contract I signed did not include a microchip
    in the puppy. Nor did I pay extra for microchipping. He provided a chip
    number and told me to run to the vet and scan my dog and if the chip is not
    in the dog then its not the one he sent me. So like an idiot I ran to the
    vet. The dog did not have a chip but the vet took the chip number down that
    the breeder provided and contacted the manufacturer only to find out the
    breeder gave me a false/fake chip number. I was promised an ACA registration
    with the dog and did not get that either. I told him if the dog is
    microchipped then where is the chip registration papers? He told me they
    don't normally provide that documentation. Did not receive ACA registration
    either which was part of what I was suppose to get per the contract. To date
    I have not received any of the papers for my dog. BUYER BEWARE DONT BUY FROM THESE CROOKS!

    0 Votes
  • Sd
    S.DW Feb 16, 2010

    After adopting "rescue/shelter" dogs all of my life, my husband and I decided to purchase a mini-dachsund. We searched for a couple of days and came across Puppyfind.com and Ms. Diane Vantwyver aka The Good Shepherd Kennels. We asked her all of the questions we had been informed to ask before purchasing a puppy from the internet.

    We even followed the advice given by other consumers (not of this breeder) and spoke to Ms. Vantwyver several times on the telephone before deciding on the puppy. We were assured that he would arrive with a veterinary certificate and vaccination records that were up to date. We also arranged to have the puppy transported via ground from MO to FL because we felt it would be less stressful for the little dog. We even asked for recent photos of the puppy so that we could make sure that the puppy we put a deposit on via Paypal would be the same puppy we would receive.

    The day before he was to ship out, Ms. Vantwyver emailed to tell me that the puppy had a slight case of diarrhea but that she would be taking him to the vet the next day. I emailed her and stated, quite clearly, that if the vet found him to be "free from any communicable and/or deadly diseases" and gave him the go ahead to travel, we would resume his continued care once he arrived. This is something that most breeders require of new owners and it was something we had already arranged for.

    I called Ms. Vantwyver the day the puppy was to ship out and she stated that veterinarian had given him a "fecal" and found him to be healthy and fit for travel. For two days we anticipated the arrival of our new family member. He had a room to himself, his own little bed, toys, blanket, etc.

    He arrived on 2/2/2010 at about 8:30 p.m. We met the delivery service and the passenger handed me our new "baby." My husband signed the receipt and we drove the mile and a half back to our home. However, I quickly realized something was wrong. Our puppy was lethargic and not behaving the way an 8 week old puppy should. We got him home and he refused water, food and just about any interaction with us. We simply figured he was tired.

    I placed him in his little bed and laid next to him for the night. Within the hour he was throwing up foamy saliva and having bouts of foul smelling diarrhea. Not wanting to risk his well-being, I rushed him to an Emergency Clinic. It was 4:00 a.m. in the morning. The diagnosis? Parvo, and advanced dehydration. I was beside myself! Anyone who knows anything about dogs knows that a diagnosis of Parvo is akin to a death knell!

    I called Ms. Vantwyver sobbing. Both she and her husband began to question the diagnosis. The test was unreliable, Mr. Vantwyver told me. He was just stressed from the trip, Ms. Vantwyver said. We agreed to withhold any decision until the next day.

    The bill was $190.00 for that night's treatment and I was advised that he had most likely been ill for sometime and that my vet should see him asap the very next day. I already had the first day's appointment so for the next several hours, I held him against my chest and prayed until the sun rose.

    I was at my vet's 10 minutes before he opened. I was rushed in immediately and my vet began a series of tests. My new baby had advanced Parvo, an upper respiratory infection, dehydration, low white blood cell count and was in desperate need of medical attention. As my vet and I discussed treatment, a shot of liquid blood mixed with feces came out from the puppy's behind. It smelled of death and the vet gave him a 50/50 chance of survival.

    I showed him the paperwork that I had received. The vet certificate did indeed state that he was fit for travel. It also stated that he had examined the animal and saw no visible signs of any deadly contagious/communicable diseases. He also referenced the shot records listed above on the same certificate. My vet looked at me and grimaced. There were no shot records on the certificate. The only "proof" of any vaccinations were listed on a make-shift form and handwritten with the dates and names of the vaccines. However, the columns where the stickers that accompany the vaccination vial's lot# and expiration dates were missing. In other words, I had nothing. There was no way I could verify that my puppy had received the shots. Who knows if he ever did.

    The technician had to almost carry me out of the room. I was hysterical, crying and despondent! I had already fallen in love with our new family member and there was no way I was going to let him die or put him down while he still had a chance. He was hospitalized that second with iv fluid drip, anti-biotics, vitamins, glucose...you name it! I left the vet in tears. Not only was my new puppy desperately sick but, I had exposed my two 12 year-old rescue dogs to this deadly dog-killing disease.

    I called Ms. Vantwyver who demanded to speak with my vet. I certainly didn't object and when she called me back 10 minutes later, she said she would reimburse me for the price of the dog. I explained to her that it was a good start however, that both veterinarians had assured me that there was no way he could have contracted Parvo during his two day trip and show such advanced symptoms as he had demonstrated.

    For eight days our puppy fought to survive his diagnosis but in the end, he simply was too sick. He slipped into a coma and passed away. I then found out that after she had spoken to my vet the first time, she continued to call back but they refused to give her any information. I was told by the office staff that she became increasingly rude and crass.

    Her response the next day? She chastized me for being impatient and told me she would no longer speI emailed Ms. Vantwyver (very nicely and politely) as my little one was stll fighting (and the vet bill had hit the $900.00 mark, ) and implored her to please give me some assistance so that I could afford to give our baby every chance we could. The way my husband and I saw it, it was the least we all could do for him. As long as he fought, we would make sure he could! ak with me. She even called me a nut and a liar.

    However, she didn't address vital point. That she had sold me a very, very sick little dog. She didn't take responsibility at all past returning his sale price. This wasn't a chenille sweater that had a snag upon arrival. It was a life! It was a poor, defenseless puppy who suffered god knows what before he even arrived and then, fought like a champ to make it. He never lived to experience the loving home that awaited him. I will never forget his little eyes turned upward looking at me as I held him against my chest. Did he ask himself why this lady, who held him in her arms so lovingly, wasn't able to make him feel better? Does he know how much he meant to me?

    The entire staff at my vet cried when he passed away. They had all taken turns holding him and hand feeding him while he was in their care. They doted on him so much that he had learned to respond to his new name! Vet techs came in on their days off to see him and after hours to make sure he was alright. Did he know how much everyone loved him?

    That is to say, everyone except Ms. Diane Vantwyver! She didn't have to love him...but couldn't she at least have cared? She believes that Missouri's lax laws regarding these matters will protect her. They won't. My puppy lost his fight, but I will continue to fight for him!

    I have documentation from two independent vets, vet technicians and emergency clinic doctors attesting to his condition immediately upon arrival. I have the incomplete shot records she sent along with him. She has nothing but a cold-heart and the misapprehension that I will let the matter fall by the wayside.

    As a dog-lover, I will never cease to expose her for what she is. As an animal rights activist, I will continue to warn other buyers and as a citizen of this country, I will proceed against her via every legal means at my disposal!

    Until then, please learn from my experience! Do not do business with this woman. It will only break your heart!


    P.S. The USDA has a report online about Ms. Vantwyver a.k.a. The Good Shepherd Kennels from 2007. There were at least three violations concerning the conditions her puppies were being kept in - and the fact that they weren't "labeled" as to the litter they belonged to!

    0 Votes
  • Sd
    S.DW Feb 23, 2010

    UPDATE: I submitted the overwhelming amount of documentation to Puppyfind.com regarding Diane Vantwyver and the sick puppy she sold me that they allowed my NEGATIVE review to be posted!!! Puppyfind. com is notorious for caving in to "breeder's" demands that less than stellar review be shown. However, there was NO way for them to ignore the facts and up it went!

    This small victory doesn't even begin to make-up for the loss of my puppy but, I promised him when he passed that I would continue to fight on his behalf and here we are...yet far from over! Many thanks to those who emailed me personally and to my attorney who has been invaluable to me in my quest to make some "breeders" accountable and responsible for their actions!

    1 Votes
  • Sd
    S.DW Feb 24, 2010

    ...And her page on Puppyfind.com is GONE!

    Comments
    Comments
    Comments

    1 Votes
  • Cf
    C.F. May 08, 2010

    Yes Some puppies on Puppyfind are not good but that is not all of them. Usually if they are asking more than $600-$700 they are good breeders and not puppy mills. You just have to be careful and use your own judgement. There is nothing wrong with Puppyfind.com

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    jade24md Nov 04, 2010

    People please do your reasearch!!!. I personally would not have a pet sent by airplane. Like with any merchandise, I would want to see it first. Now I do order via the internet but what I order is not a living animal. We all are aware of the problems of puppy mills.

    Several of the breeders, will have you thinking they are family oriented and really care for their pets. Some will even have you thinking that they are religious in nature. But in reality, it all comes down to the bottom dollar. It is a business that some unscrupulous people are earning a livihood from.

    Several times I just view pets offered on PUPPYFIND. A good rule of measure is that when thinking of purchasing a puppy from this sight, click on the button that states " View all listings by that seller". If you see that the seller has multiple animals than you know that is a puppymill! A breeder with more 1 type of dog for which they have puppies should be suspect! Even if the breeeder only has 1 type of dog he is breeding, there should not be multiple batches of puppies from various [censor]es.

    Please do your homework!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Cavaliermommy Dec 14, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I purchased a puppy from Sitting Pretty Cavaliers on Puppyfind.com. When the puppy arrived he was severly ill with pneumonia. Months later, I found out this same dog was diagnosed with Syringomyelia which is a hereditary disease which causes paralysis in dogs within months of diagnosis. When all was said and done it cost me over $8, 000 in medical fees for the puppy which the breeder would not refund. When I placed a negative review of the breeder on Puppyfind I was informed that my review was being taken down and was being investigated and I was forced to send them evidence of my claim. I did so and was shortly informed that I did not have the right to place the negative review. What's even worse was that the day my bad review was removed 5 perfect reviews were then submitted. What makes this even more shady is the fact that Sitting Pretty Cavaliers has been using Puppyfind for years and not one review was posted until that day!!! Funny isn't it?????????

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    shawny57 Jan 20, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I bought 2 toy poodles from a breeder in florida. she was awful. i found out one of the pups has PRa and she didn't even care. she promised me a partial refund at first and then stopped all comunication. i called pupyfind to find out about leaving a negative rating> They said since my subscription expired I would have to pay again to leave the comment.
    Then i was just shopping for a border collie and I responded to a breeder. she wrote back how she already placed it with a guy who is leaving on a mission to Africa and I could just pay shipping. Oh my that is the most common story for scammers and they always write in wierd english. I am done with puppyfind also. thanks for warning everybody and giving us a chance to tell all this.

    0 Votes
  • Su
    sujeto Jan 28, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hello, I used a breeder from this web site and ever again! It looked like a puppy mill she was kept outside and she also had kennel cough when I got her. Now, my dog has to have a MPL (Luxating Patella) surgery. This is a inherited condition, meaning she was born with this issue. I'm very saddened that there are people in this world that would breed dogs with underline issues. This surgery is going to cost $2, 800.00 and she has to have it taken care of before it presents other issues. I will do everything in my power to inform interested pet buyers about your operation before they choose one of your pets to become loving members of their family. I have a boxer and the breeders name is Timothy Sensening from Sinking Springs PA.. DO NOT BUY A PUPPY FROM THIS BREEDER!

    1 Votes
  • I bought 2 puppies from Cypress Farm Kennel, both with full blown parvovirus infection. The one that died was still used on the breeders website for over 3 wks. Krystin and Linda Johansen terminated all contact with myself and the other sick parvo puppy owner when we asked for a refund to help with the thousands of dollars of vet bills since the puppies were obviously very sick BEFORE they decided to just ship them anyway. My PuppyFind bad review was reposted after quality management reviewed my 20 pages of documentation that proved my review was "valid" after the seller, Cypress Farm, asked it be removed for being "invalid." These people are serious con artists, and should be shut down immediately. They have not responded to any of the BBB or other complaints filed with the appropriate agencies that I reported their blatant breach of contract, negligence, and unethical business practices to...

    0 Votes
  • Ak
    akitamomm Jun 10, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hello everyone. I have successfully bought two beautiful puppies from puppyfind. Of course in the process of buying I ran into mor scammer than real people but thas withh every site. You can only blame yourself for being scammed. Wire money? No. Meet? No. Go to their home see the environment. I traveled four hundred miles to get the pups I wanted. As said before do your research don't be so gullible. Sorry but I definitely disagree. I have two great champion dogs. Than ks puppyfind

    0 Votes
  • Ne
    newbreeder Jul 07, 2011

    I am a breeder who advertises on Puppyfind. I am not a puppy mill, I own the male and female I breed, they live in my home, have their own bedroom in my home and are very spoiled. I care about all my puppies and will not sell to just anyone. I also will not ship any puppies as all potential buyers must come to my home so I can meet them and they must answer quite a few questions before I will allow them to purchase, I have turned people down as I don't believe they were a good fit. So all breeders on puppyfind are not bad or puppy mills. AS much as there are bad breeders there are also buyers who blame the breeders but they themselves should have done more research before sending a person money for a puppy without seeing the puppy or knowing it's environment where it's coming from. Instead of blaming breeders, search for a puppy close to home where you can go see it's surroundings. Also on puppyfind you can see all listings for that breeder, if you see they are selling 4-5 different breeds of dogs, then yeah they probably are a puppymill. Just don't automatically accuse every breeders on the site to be bad, do your research, find one local, just don't go for the cheapest price, you may have to pay more for a local one in some cases but at least you can go see where they are coming from and what you are getting. Make sure they are vet checked before you get them, I give vet health certificates with each puppy and I give buyers a week after buying the puppy to take the puppy to their own vet so they have the opportunity to see if something is wrong

    0 Votes
  • Cs
    CSRM Oct 05, 2011

    Greetings,

    My name is Matt and I'm the Relationship Manager with Puppyfind.com. As you all know, Puppyfind.com is a website that provides space for people to advertise dogs that they have for sale. The site also provides space for people that want to purchase a dog from the members that do the advertising. According to the original complaint, and many replies posted to the complaint, Puppyfind.com has sadly been aligned with all sorts of less than desirable people, and has become known to some more for the negative, and not the positive.

    While it is burdensome to know that the public image of Puppyfind.com is oftentimes connected to thieves, scam artists, and just plain bad breeders, it must be understood that Puppyfind.com does not agree with anything in which the aforementioned individuals partake. Puppyfind.com does not support scams. Puppyfind.com does not support puppy mills. Puppyfind.com does not support bad breeders.

    Puppyfind.com works daily at keeping scammers off of our site and removing any scammers that have been found to make it to the website. Through advancing technology, a better understanding of how the scammers operate, and assistance from members that turn in scammers when they spot them, Puppyfind.com is taking steps to make our site as safe as possible while still providing uninterrupted service to all members who want to legitimately use the website.

    I acknowledge that our website is not perfect. We have our flaws and we are aware of them. As we work on the flaws to make a better site, we appreciate the patience of all our members, and ask that if anyone out there has an issue with another member, be it over a scam situation, a review situation, or any other situation where it appears Puppyfind.com is lagging, please let us directly know.

    Many readers may say, “I have complained, and nothing was done!” To that, I do apologize. If a legitimately bad situation has taken place between yourself and another member of Puppyfind.com and nothing was ever done about it, please let me know.

    It must also be understood that in situations where Puppyfind.com has made attempts to assist members concerning scams or bad reviews, the reason a 'bad' member may still appear on the website is because we were not given proper documentation to properly deal with the situation. While this may sound like an excuse to some, it must be understood that we do our best to handle disputes in a fair and neutral manner, using only facts given to us to make our decision concerning matters between the two parties who have brought a dispute to our attention. When it is necessary for Puppyfind.com to mediate, we ask all participating parties to provide evidence and documentation for any sort of action to be taken on our part, if clear enough evidence does not already exist within the Puppyfind.com account in question. Sadly, improper documentation is sometimes provided or no documentation is provided at all, therefore leading to a slowdown in the mediation process. There have been many cases where one member points their finger at another and says “They did A, B, and C to me!” so we ask for the proof and it never arrives. Meanwhile, the accusing member tells their friends that we are not doing anything to help them. I mention a scenario like this because it has happened on more than one occasion.

    Ultimately, I would like everyone to know that Puppyfind.com is not turning a blind eye to what's being said about our website, as we are desiring to assist any member that has a legitimate claim about anyone violating our Terms Of Service. It has also not been our intention to appear that we are turning a blind eye to what is happening on our website concerning scammers and the like. Puppyfind.com wants to be the best website it can be for those who desire to use our services, providing an open and safe place for all members. As we work on our review system, our scam fighting system, and our website in general, we appreciate the patience and support of all our members.

    Thank you for your time,

    Matt
    Puppyfind.com Relationship Manager
    http://www.Puppyfind.com

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    jacobsmommy May 03, 2012

    "hi all, i just wanted to send a thank you to blake for posting about cypress farm. i hadn't heard of them until my friend was actually posting on this site in regards to a complaint about a local business near where we live. i had been looking for a boston terrier for a while but hadnt found the right puppy because i hadnt found a breeder i was comfortable with. i read your complaint and was shocked! how can a breeder do this to an innocent puppy buyer? i was shocked both because of the situation you were in and to find on cypress farms website that there were bts of color. i couldnt believe bostons came in blue so i started more research on the breed. if it wouldnt have been for your many posts on a multitude of online mediums i likely would have disregarded cypress as a reputable breeder to get a puppy from all together just by reading this page. maybe it was the sheer amount of times you went posting about cypress online that made me delve into them as breeders further? to myself viewing you posting this story anywhere possible gathering comments from all these random individuals in what seemed like an effort to mob and destroy them on some personal level peaked my interest even more. comments made by individuals were obviously made by those who have issue with cypress apart from this parvo thing for whatever reason or sometimes the contents even seemed like yourself agreeing with your original posts? it was because of these reasons i began an interest in cypress and decided to do further research on them. in my search for a reputable blue boston breeder i realized quickly just how far above other breeders of blue Bostons they go to to be sure their puppies are of the best quality and healthiest they can be before they go to their new homes. i was not able to find one other breeder that offered blue puppies for sale at cypress prices who's puppies were not only from health tested parents but also had the puppies juvenile hereditary cataract tested clear, baer hearing tested, and pre-patella tested along with being registered with akc. i decided to complete their puppy application and an hour later we were talking on the phone about my getting a pup. i was very pleased when before going into details about their available puppies for sale they asked if i had looked into adopting from a rescue first. i have never had a breeder try to help me rescue a dog before trying to sell me a dog. we talked for a couple hours that first day. i learned so much about the breed that i hadnt known before. i was very impressed with her diverse knowledge of the breed. i never did bring up the parvo, until she did. yep she did! she asked me if i had read their faqs page, which i had. she asked me if i had read about the events of jan 2011, which i had. she then went through the events over the next hour going over any questions i had about it. the phone conversation was incredibly educational and again, she went above what i expected. i was sold on them being the place i was going to buy my new boston puppy from when i was ready. i am happy to say that i asked to be added to their waiting list and after a wait that wasn't to long thank goodness my puppy was born. the next 8 weeks were horrible waiting to bring him home but they were made so much easier with the tons of updates that cypress farm kennel provided me with during that time. i received 14 video updates, including video of her home and where the dogs all live and play since i wasnt going to be able to go to their home to pick up my puppy. that was perhaps the most comforting. i received a ton of pictures in countless numbers there were always so many pics coming in. i felt like i got to watch my baby grow up from birth in person. it was great! i am very happy to say that i got my lovely blue baby the beginning of march and he is everything i could have ever asked for and now two of my friends are currently on cypress list awaiting their puppies but it sounds like its going to be awhile as the list is lengthy. i truly thank you blake for posting about your experience because if you wouldn't have, i would have never learned about cypress. i want to thank you additionally for posting about it through so many avenues because if it weren't for your persistence to tell everyone about your experience it would have never lit the fire under me to learn more about them and i wouldnt have my gorgeous jacob. thanks again blake! "

    Comments

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions